Nissan plans ASEAN expansion – Thailand and Indonesia integral to six-year development plan

Nissan has announced a new six-year business development plan for the ASEAN region, with the objective of more than tripling sales to 500,000 units with a 15% market share by the end of 2016 from the 150,000 units and 6% market share it had in 2010.

The new mid-term plan, unveiled by Nissan Motor Asia Pacific (NMAP), identifies a number of areas to achieve its goals. The first is preparing for Indonesia’s low cost green car programme, which is initiated by the Indonesian government. The second is to double the regional production capacity from 350,000 to 700,000 units per year.

The plan also calls for an acceleration of localisation of R&D as well as powertrain production in the region – the Nissan Technical Center South East Asia will be expanded in Thailand and Indonesia with a tripling of total engineering staff by 2016.

In addition, Nissan’s affiliate company JATCO will invest 20 billion yen (US$250 million) to establish a new manufacturing plant to produce continuously-variable transmission (CVT) units in Thailand. It will be the first company to locally produce CVTs in Thailand.

The automaker also plans to invest 25 billion Japanese yen (US$312.5 million) in Indonesia for further growth, primarily on plant expansion – to increase production capacity to 180,000 units by 2013 – and a new engine assembly plant.

The establishment of NMAP, which is a new, strategic regional headquarters located in Thailand, will be in charge of developing the progress of this expansion.

Alongside all this will be the introduction of a “Power Up 2016” program by the company in Thailand, and this one looks to deploy more than 10 new models during the period. The first of these is will be the company’s second eco-car in the country, the Nissan March sedan. Production of the Honda City / Toyota Vios competiitor – very possibly the Sunny, as it’s badged in China – scheduled to begin in September.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• jflee169 on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:04 pm

So pathetic that Malaysia is not included. Is this mean that Malaysia will only receive “outdated” model?

• Potato on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:53 pm

Thanks to our not-so-national automotive policy (NS-NAP), we are losing out on all this jobs and opportunities to neighboring countries…

yes, proton did spawn few local vendors + suppliers here and there, BUT
      if Malaysia were to become a manufacturing hub for the global car makers, with all the infrastructure and industries supporting it, the possibilities are endless.. talking about high income society.. now we can only sulk on the jobs/investment that we squandered away in the name of NAP…. sheesh.

• korean and japanese do not need other to develop their car industry…if they can malaysia oso can

• Not only as what you think. Do you think out why Singapore have many $$$ but they do not have factory? This is the reason. Think out of the box.

• kingjoke on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:09 pm

The old sunny still can be seen on d road…strong n reliable.

• becoz still a lot of old people driving cars..they love their car…not like young generation keeps on changing cars & adding loans until clogged up & bankruptcy..LOL

• yuhuu on Jul 27, 2011 at 6:38 pm

hahaha.. the SUNNY 130Y a.k.a SUNNY BOY

• what a pity…Malaysia was not even considered

• Expatriate VN on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:29 pm

I hope it will come true, don’t treat ASEAN as dumping gound for old models. Our Nissan Sentra (other country is Sunny) is already too old, out Serena is C24 still selling notonly in Malaysia, but also Indon and Philippine. Time to change to C26. Please offer latest models first, then talk about capture 15% market share in future.

• Unforgiven on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:19 pm

We love to collect dumping cars, most of us can only afford the recon Estima/Harrier, etc…

When UK/Jap dump their BMW/Merc benz, we happily collect it and sold it as recon cars…

I don’t see anything will change in the near future…

• carlocaraddict on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:28 pm

i agree with you. i hope they would update the Philippine line-up as well. Nissan Motor Philippines is under Yulon Motors of Taiwan.

• GreenEco on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:38 pm

Nissan second eco car which is the first sedan eco car of Thailand is likely to name Almera. Planned launch in September, price expected in the range of Nissan March K13 (RM 38K – 54K)

http://www.nissan.co.th/en/web/news/news_26661.htm

• david on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:41 pm

Bad news for Malaysia government…

• they dont care.
      as long as melayu and cronies get rich at expense of rakyat of All races.

• lonelyobserve on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Thanks to Boleh Land’s NAP, many foreign car makers go to Indon and Thai for car assembling and manufacturing.

• udasalleh on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:51 pm

Manufacturers setup in Thailand n Indonesia becoz of cheap labor and the size of that cheap labor. Compared to M’sia 27mil population… Thai has 67.5mil people (slightly more than 2.5 times of M’sia) and Indon has 238mil (10 times of M’sia) and a vast majority still willing to work cheaper than our citizens.

We can never compete head to head so to speak.

• Cowabunga! on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:38 pm

We fail behind the veil of pride that eludes us from achieving greater potentials for this country.

cheaper labor does not make it the reason for not being competitive.
        there is alot of factors that allows FDI into this country…. and this country is just too proud to allow it. You forget the greed factor here that plays it role on why we are becoming “expensive”.

• udasalleh, you idiot. its the politics/ NAP/ protection of national car junk Proton and Perodua thats making malaysia bankrupt while enriching politicians and cronies.
        fool…

• Cowabunga! on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:02 pm

but but but..we should be supportive of our national cars….we should protect them…safeguard them from being competitive. Continue this progress for another 100 years.. IF possible, and make the citizens keep paying for their pride…

20+ years and going back to Mitsubishi models again…. guess that’s call achievements.

• Ash Menon on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:41 pm

I didn’t know there were people like you still harping on about Inspira’s Mitsu origin. Seriously, the matter has been explained, and it makes perfect business sense. Grow up.

• MoFaz on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:06 pm

you don’t have any other point?
        rebadging is to save cost of development for small market. Proton only sell less than 1000 inspira, but 6000 unit of saga every month. that’s why they develop saga by themselves but rebadge inspira.
        if by your standard a 25 years old company should develop every single model themselve, let me tell u that Peugeot is more than 100 years old. why don’t you bash Peugeot for rebadging Mitsu ASX and iMiEV?

• isuzuki on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Why most investment in non-Malaysia? What’s wrong if built CVT in Malaysia? Malaysia not ‘conducive’ enough to do business?

• tikus on Jul 27, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Ask govt lar….Come out with the stupid NAP.

• MoFaz on Jul 27, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Japan and Korea also have similar policy in 1940s – 1960s… i know u won’t believe whatever M’sia gov explains. so, can you please ask Jap and Korean gov why they have such policies?

• zainal abidin on Jul 30, 2011 at 9:03 am

Very true….and they have the same policies implemented till now…..Due to protectionism their car companies expanded to world beaters….But hey, then again why would they want to buy foreign when they have the best world beating cars? Pardon the pun.

• chempedak on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Wow… CVT Gear Box plant just in time for use in Proton Saga FLX…..and Proton Inspira and soon Proton Exora…. Proton soon become No. 1 supporter of thailand gearbox plant… yay….

• zainal abidin on Aug 08, 2011 at 8:25 am

Dude….this Belgian CVT gearbox is assembled @ made in China….

• isuzuki on Jul 27, 2011 at 1:57 pm

To add on, this FDI will be higher if…….

http://malaysiakini.com/news/171160

• sukasuki on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:53 pm

malaysiakini is not a reliable source, too much bias towards the PR, and lots of lies there. I more prefer reading Sinar Harian. fair and accurate.

• Cheng on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:05 pm

looks like nissan malaysia/ tan chong is out… no wonder they have to team up with subaru?

• kamaji on Jul 27, 2011 at 2:13 pm

It’s sad that every car related investments goes to our neighbours.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 27, 2011 at 3:17 pm

But cronies is the happiest chap in this Bolehland, non-stop flow gravy train.

• blue uncle cars. mid-life crisis…

• Mask Ryder on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Q1, If u r a mid life uncle & can only afford a Sunny, then u r definitely in “Crisis”.

• kelso on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Lets all join hands and say, Bye Bye Gravy Train!

• Patriot on Jul 27, 2011 at 4:44 pm

Our new NAP policy (coming out end of year) is 100 pages long. It will be a failure.

Too many rules, regulations and conditions. If the government want Malaysia to

be a manufacturing hub, make it 1 page

• Expatriate VN on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:57 am

There are 101 pages but 100 pages are all related to gravy train to P1/P2 but imposed tariff and non-tariff barrier design to kick out other from P1 & P2 territory (mainly car for A, B, & C Segment): –

a) Tariff – impose prohibitive taxes up to 280% so that all imported non-national car become sooooooooo overprice beyond the affordability of average Malaysian to own. E.g. excise & import duty.

b) Non-tariff – WTO’s interpreted as illegal measure but our semua boleh gov introduced quota to restrict the nos of car that can be imported, in the form of AP (i.e. which benefited AP King tremendiously), normally up to 10% of yearly total volume of vehicles sales.

c) Those foreign car manufacturer intended to set-up manufacturing plant, 1st condition is it must be 2.0L (normally D segment) and above, at least 80% of the car must be export. No wonder all go to either Thai or Indon to set up plant.

d) Install and select AP King, Cronies vendors, rent seeker or the like, treating car industry as a fat cow with unlimited milk flow to fatten them beyond imagination. To achieve this, P1 need to be given “national car” status and camouflage under NAP to survive. Shame on you jaguh kampong, after 25 years, still have to grasp with quality issues.

e) Maybe last page 101 allocate to non-national players with all tough conditions to comply.

• Barkcrack on Jul 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm

as a indonesian i shame with my government, after 60 years independence Indo still dont have national car. And now they give ‘Cheap car project’ to japanesse rather than build local car. Sighh

• BadBET on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Indonesia population is rank 4 in the world, its a giant not yet awaken, they have the resource and labor to work with. find the right solution and they will emerge as asean power house.

• ungrateful indons on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:09 pm

You should be glad that your country now have more foreign automotive investor now rather than your government dig all your country fund to built a ‘national car’ and impose bloody high duty & tax on non-national car.

Else you now either force to own an aging TIMOR national car or just a kapchai.

• surewi on Jul 27, 2011 at 10:45 pm

Hahaha.. you sounds more like a Malaysian to me.

• Jakartan on Aug 05, 2011 at 1:49 am

I am also Indonesian, and I think you’re wrong saudaraku! Developing our own car industry isn’t that difficult, the problem is: ada yang mau beli atau tidak? Look at Proton? Nobody wants to buy it unless Malaysians, and that after how many years? 20-30 years? Do not so narrow minded. People in Indonesian government aren’t stupid, they realize that we still have a lot of poor people who need jobs. The easiest way to get those jobs are from FDI. You should be grateful that Nissan and other foreign companies still want to invest in our country. Not that I’m not patriotic, we still can develop our national brand later, the opportunity will come. Look at China, when they get money it’s easy to buy IBM laptop division and turns it into Lenovo. With a large number of population and increasing income per capita, domestic market will get stronger, it will become easier to develop our own brand. Belajar dari kasus Proton Malaysia saudaraku, they’re going no where…:)

• Expatriate VN on Jul 27, 2011 at 5:58 pm

I like Nissan car, especially Serena. But they offer old model and treated us as dumping ground.

• peYno on Jul 27, 2011 at 7:12 pm

Now we have Saga FLX with latest CVT gearbox, you still want to own a Nissux that design & built for poor country?

prffttttt…

• Expatriate VN on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:35 pm

You old time PT visitor are suck, go and find out Serena C26. Saga is built by cronies but for poor chap like you.

• b.boom on Jul 27, 2011 at 8:27 pm

more car we buy & more money the cronies get, not matter what car is it !!!! either way they all get the money.

• Unforgiven on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:51 pm

This is just so true, if you buy a brand new E90, probably RM70k or more is going into them…

If you buy a recon E90, money still go into them due to the AP…

Either way, your 9 years loan will immediately go into their pocket in single day…

• carlocaraddict on Jul 27, 2011 at 9:33 pm

I hope they would revamp the Nissan Philippine line-up

• jamal on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:23 am

so many cars nissan plan to build. i wonder if they will can sell as many. hahaha nissan dream too much.
    thailand and indonesia will soon conquered by MYVI. thats what my crystal ball told me.