Proton Saga FLX 1.3L – first drive impressions

There’s much ado about the new Proton Saga FLX, and for good reason – the entry-level offering from the company now wears a continuous variable transmission, and the variant also finally brings stuff like ABS and EBD to the playground, so you can expect that there are plenty of questions as to how the just-launched variant shapes up.

Nothing like sampling the car then, and though it was a only a short workout, it did reveal enough about the new prospect and whether things buzz as well as the promise suggests.

Proton arranged a test drive session of the P2-11C, to give the car its internal code, yesterday at its semi-high speed test track in Shah Alam, and also provide more detailed info on the changes and new tech featured on the FLX.

While not radical in number, the revisions are nonetheless substantial, given that the FL Saga was introduced into the market less than eight months ago. Meaningful would best describe it. Leading the way in for the new is of course the CVT unit, which comes from Belgian manufacturer Punch Powertrain. No mention was made of the model being used in the FLX, but given specification requirements, it should be the VT2 that’s on the car.

Plans for the introduction of a new drivetrain began at the end of 2008, and among the options looked at were five- and six-speed autoboxes as well as DCT, with CVT eventually being the pick. While improved driving comfort and fuel economy are the primary draws, the company says going the CVT route offers other positives, among them a lower cost due to its simple structure, the usage of less components as well as easier operation from a smaller, lighter package (it’s 25% lighter than the current four-speed auto).

Other pluses include less engine fatigue and a more reliable transmission on the whole, since the discrete gear changing forces the engine to run at an optimal speed. And, there’s no full service requirement with this one, which should offer a 200,000 km service life and has 25% less moving parts than the 4AT. The wet clutch design features a oil cooler to help combat that CVT bugbear, high operating temperatures.

On the FLX, the CVT features a six-speed artificial Stepped Auto mode called SAT, which is engaged by a push-button switch next to the gear shifter, as well as a L mode.

When engaged, L mode brings the ratio a step lower than the current cruising ratio, allowing for improved response to acceleration for overtaking or climbing a gradient. The mode can also be used to provide engine braking if you’re going downhill. There’s no manual sequential option here, but word is that this will come about in future applications for the transmission.

Oh, and the manual variant of the FLX also sees a change, this being in drivetrain choice, the Aichi Kikai five-speed tranny making way for a Getrag five-speeder. The selection goes the same route as that chose with going with CVT – better efficiency and improved fuel economy.

To wit, the final drive’s ratios reveal much; on the Japanese gearbox it’s 4.7, while the Getrag’s is 3.8. There was no manual FLX during the drive – the word is that it’s coming about soon, and the Getrag stick shifter will make the transition to the FL as standard fitment as things move along.

Elsewhere, the 1.3 litre CamPro four-pot mill on the FLX is now of the IAFM+ variety, the plus suffix indicating that some minor revisions to the cam profile have been carried out, addressing some quality-related issues and for better integration with the CVT drivetrain. In terms of output figures, there’s no change – 94 hp and 120 Nm are still it, the same as found on the FL.

There’s also the inclusion of ABS and EBD, which is only available in the 1.3L Executive, essentially the M-Line version of the car. Other additions to the FLX are a new interior finishing called Tempest Grey, an exterior colour called Elegant Brown (as seen in the photos) and new graphics for the instrument cluster meters, the last offering better legibility and visual appeal compared to that on the FL.

New instrument meter graphics (top) compared to the old.

Additionally, the FLX also features changes to the suspension setup, something that wasn’t mentioned in the presentation. The revisions are again subtle rather than radical, but for what’s on, offer a nice jump in handling performance.

The new package features stiffer springs, a thicker front anti-roll bar (21 mm, as opposed to the 19 mm one on the FL) and revised shocks – among other things, the APM-made units feature a reworked rebound rate, offering 20% to 30% more stiffness. Also, the stopper length at the back has also been increased, essentially to stop the rearward sagging look of the car.

The result on the whole is reduced body roll and the promise of more neutral handling into corners. A more aggressive handling package was also delivered during trials, which offered even better performance, but at the expense of ride comfort. This one then strikes the best balance between ride and handling, and these changes are set to make its way on to the standard FL Saga.

On paper performance figures for the CVT show improvements across the board in fuel consumption as well as CO2 figures, as noted in the photo below. We were told that the figures in the chart are for the unit operating in pure CVT mode; while engaging SAT continuously doesn’t change the torque curve, it does affect overall consumption through its modified behaviour.

Across the speed spectrum, the CVT-equipped FLX is also quicker getting to the 0-100 km/h mark than the 4AT Saga – not exactly blazing, but its 13.20 seconds in that particular sprint is 0.9 seconds (or 6.38%, if you’re percentage inclined) faster than the 14.10 seconds managed by the Saga FL 1.3. Of course, the manual still gets to the century faster, taking 13.0 seconds to do so. Top speed for the CVT variant is 155 km/h, and 160 for the manual.

In use, it’s not night and day, that timing difference is, not as far as going round and round a test track would ever show, though the FLX felt a bit sprightlier being pushed. I started out in a FL, which provided handy direct comparison in terms of feel and perception.

Stood on, the FLX felt more willing to go, and felt more composed – and smoother – doing so, from a propulsion point of view. Tonally though, I actually preferred what was coming off the engine/4AT pairing on full-on acceleration; the CVT isn’t louder, the overall scope with throttle wide-open being about the same volumetric-wise, but it certainly is raspier sounding, decidedly sharper in note.

Of course, barrelling along with the right foot stomping on the accelerator pedal isn’t the measure of everything, and settling into cruising at 80-100 km/h changes things in favour of the CVT, the FLX feeling that more poised and quieter.

A lot of it has to do with the marked difference in the FL and FLX’s RPM band at various speeds – the FL’s four-speed AT runs at 2,400-2,500 rpm at 80 km/h, and at 100 km/h the revs sit at 3,000 rpm. The CVT leans this out by being 500 rpm less across the two speed samples – 2,000 rpm at 80 km/h and 2,500 rpm at 100 km/h.

Taking it up to 120 km/h brought another corresponding 500 rpm increase, to 3,000 rpm, showing things to be very uniform for each 20 km/h gain. Hence the perception of the FLX being smoother and quieter – running less revs means less engine drone, and that surely helps.

As for behaviour, the CVT’s characteristics are clean, the Punch box exhibiting good linearity. Its D mode is preferable to that in SAT, at least to me. I didn’t quite like the induced shift-shock feel’s transients, which feels a bit lazy, especially when the car is pushed.

The video shows how the CVT behaves in both modes under full acceleration, as well as normally in SAT mode. Still, I suppose those wanting the behavioral patterns of an automatic will no doubt find the SAT nice to have around.

The suspension revision looks like being a standout, based on what was suggested during the countless go-round runs. Belting around an oval test circuit doesn’t best show the improvements, but even then the FLX showed better turn-in feel and a sharper response in agility. Big pluses here, by the looks of it.

Questions remain, as they inevitably do, coming off such a short sampling in rather determined conditions and terrain. How the CVT shapes up in daily urban use – both consumption and performance-wise – and what gains it offers over the 4AT will only be answered by doing the grind in real-world conditions. Based on first impressions, it all looks quite promising.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Wah, Nice review paul…Good job Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • David Bates on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:55 am

review was by Anthony la… not Paul :P

Thumbs up Anthony!

• Wisdom on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:49 pm

I’m waiting for your comparison test drive between Saga FLX, Myvi lg best, maybe u can slot in Hyundai i10, Suzuki Alto, and some other cars in 45-55k price range…

Please come up with such reports and be fair and unbiased :)

• Mega/Liverpool on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:33 am

Great review Paul, well done………nice to see real progress from Proton, But CO2 figs VERY poor for a 1.3 !

Just hope that Proton can mate a high-tec motor to the CVT & new models for UK market.
    Mike

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:10 am

First batch must prove that CVT transmission is ZERO defect…. and if PROVEN… sure P2 sales, viva and myvi will drop instantaneously.

AWARD that given to SAGA: (Google it, dont trust me)
      ————————————-
      – best people’s car and best value for money family car awards at the Asian Auto – Auto Industry Awards 2011
      – BEST CAR AUTO INDUSTRY AWARD
      and more…

AWARD that given to MYVI:
      ————————————
      – Best Local Assembly Compact Car award at the Asian Auto Industry Awards ceremony
      – MyVi award as the best local installation of the car compact category

you see??? BEST VALUE(Saga) for money and BEST LOCAL ASSEMBLY(Perutdua)??
      -myvi and perutdua dont produce BEST car..but assemble car….and the stupidjapanesewannabe buy it..

-prtftthhhh <–copy peyno footnote..haha

• lkf0512 on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:01 pm

So PeYn0 Fanz…what are you expecting here???

If I do not want to buy P1, then I move on to other makes.
        As simple as that…it’s called open market.

If Saga+CVT+ABS+EBD cannot outsell, it might NOT be the problem with the product or number of awards it won.
        It could be some wrong marketing strategy or how P1 define their product range.

P/S: My 2 c, if FLX is coming then don’t roll out FL in the 1st place…as some FL drivers are already pissed off

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:49 pm

HAHAHA.. why u so sakit hati? i’m just debating based on FACTS…..

• lkf0512 on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:13 pm

So now you know why buying P1 is so sakit hati…

leave alone the quality…but you have to wonder: If I buy this FLX now, will P1 roll out another Simply Better Saga???

So, that’s why I find P1 marketing is funny…

Just my 2c…

• PeYn0 Fanz on Jul 29, 2011 at 7:54 am

yes, it is your 2cent and that one not valid anymore..
            u think buying Brand H or Toyo or Perutdua no defect ???
            please ask their service center first la before give your 2cent..

if u want to promote your myvi, berterus terang la..hahaha..

for sure, i just want to remind others New Myvi tagline, Jangan Menyesal Kemudian Hari..

• Myvi Cacat lg best.. on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:44 am

wei..

P2 Myvi aso..

Myvi
            then Myvi SE
            then Myvi LE
            then Myvi SE LE
            then Myvi Exec.
            then Myvi Exec SE
            then Myvi Exec LE
            then Myvi Jambu Pink edition
            then banyak lagi..
            then come with new Myvi cacat..

ok mah merketing macam tu…

just my 2golddinar

• no wonder myvi production engine is still the same n fake… see the father toyota la.. exp avanza n inova… wtf totally out of date and still can make facelift??

• thats not open market….that what i call “choice”..the choice to choose

• trav_da_man on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:11 am

The review is done by anthony. Why praising the wrong person? Sometimes i dont understand the mentality of paultan readers…..

Btw decent review and this car looks promising, finally Proton has a proper competitor to challenge the so called “lagi best”.

• MoFaz on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:52 pm

here, everyone is Paul. usually the readers act like more they’re experienced than Paul.. they can even write review based on their imaginations.

• simasen on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:42 am

agreed..hope the next generation of S4PH derived engine will focus more on reducing the co2 emission while maintaining its performance..maybe higher compression and forced induction is the way to go..

• squall_shinoda on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:07 pm

Raising the compression ratio does not help in improving emissions, but only worsens the emission as there is higher tendency to cause preignition and detonation, besides of making the engine no longer suitable for RON97.

• simasen on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:36 am

ya ka that way? or rather higher compression will improve efficiency due to more complete combustion, n some more with direct injection technology, preignition detonation ie. knocking can be avoided?

n if high compresstion do make the emission worse, then why turbocharged engine direct injection with comp. ratio up to 11.0:1 are used by european car manufacturer? ya, the one most of u worships..

• squall_shinoda on Jul 29, 2011 at 4:31 pm

In theory the higher compression ratio may improve power, but let me tell you that in reality most carmakers build engines with the compression ratios around 10:1. 11:1 is still acceptable, but only racing cars that can have higher compression ratio, because engines with higher compression ratios need to use higher octane petrol to avoid detonation. Even normal cars will have to use higher octane fuels during their later service life because the accumulated deposits inside the combustion chamber will increase the compression ratio. So, are you going to say that those older cars are more efficient then?

• Mazdda on Jul 30, 2011 at 8:33 am

Right now I think only Mazda Skyactiv offers compression ratio of 14:1 which compatible with RON95.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 01, 2011 at 12:40 pm

Is the Mazda Skyactiv engine a GDI engine? If yes, then the slightly higher compession ratio is possible because the petrol being sprayed into the combustion chamber helps cooling it and therefore lessen the chances of detonation, making higher compression ratios possible.

• I think CO2 figure is quite higher because our petrol is still stuck in Euro2M or engine combustion of Campro is not so much efficient.

• theking on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:47 am

mega/liverpool,

tis saga flx not tuned for uk market.

• mike@liverpool, this 1.3iafm plus is not tune to euro market bcoz different fuel grade n regulations. In malaysia, we only run on euro 2 grade n euro step 2 regulation, eventhough the engine is euro 5 ready,the fuel is not cleaner enough to reduce it. But with euro 2 fuel, they manage to reduce co2 than previous one. I think only 1.6iafm plus n cvt n manual will be available for uk market,not 1.3 iafm plus. Since saga r will only appear in 2014, so i think no saga at the moment for uk market. Just wait for exora mpv turbo n persona replace next year that will enter uk market first.

• Mega/Liverpool on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:21 pm

Thanks Matt
        I guess thats ok for local markets, UK NEEDS low CO2 output…….we just started getting Nissan Micra with 95 CO2 outputs.
        Mike

• bobdbilder on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:56 pm

Aw come on. Why don’t you keep on appeasing skinheads and their nice shiny fightsticks. The money’s not in right wing Europe. BRIC! Wake up! The number of years trying to save Earth goes down the drain every time a volcano erupts. This CO2 crap is a tool for them to push diesel tech down our throats. Its just trying to stymy the Eastern Economy eventual rise. Its trying to keep jobs for economies that continue to borrow money that they can’t pay.

• poolie on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:01 pm

human in this land bought this car becoz it’s CHEAP. Extensive review like this is Rather pointless.

• KarimSopian on Aug 01, 2011 at 12:38 am

Actually, I find this review very much useful Mr. Poolie. I’m sure there are others who felt the same. Positive suggestion please. If not, don’t bother to put up comment like this. It’s belittle other people effort (Paultan website) to share good news with Malaysian who appreciate Proton.

• Jiun Shyong on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:19 pm

CO2 emission:
      Suzuki Alto: 110g/km CO2 emission
      Saga FL: 180g/km

Fuel economy:
      Suzuki Alto Auto 5.3L/100km Manual 4.7L/100km
      Saga FL: 7.68L/100km

• Bob Vettel on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:06 pm

Kerb Weight:
        Suzuki Alto Auto: 915KG Manual: 880KG
        Saga FLX Auto: 1055KG Manual 1017KG

Engine Capacity:
        Suzuki Alto: 996cc
        Saga FLX: 1332cc

Maximum HP/RPM:
        Suzuki Alto: 67/600
        Saga FLX: 94/5750

• Who cares about Suzuki Alto???? never even consider/ think about it…….

• its not apple-to-apple comparison.why don’t you compare the saga’s engine with enjin mesin rumput instead?

• Baachaan on Apr 11, 2012 at 4:54 am

Honda Ex5, mesin rumput worse, 2stroke enjin boleh stim free kena asap dia :=)~

• at what speed? test condition?

• ah lee bin ah tan on Aug 20, 2011 at 3:25 pm

ALTO NO backside SAGA got backside so lagi banyak barang bole tarok maa!

• how u calculate one? next time calculate properly first than only publish,

• why compare 1.3 subcompact sedan and 1.0 mini car?

• key234 on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:28 pm

myvi slowly die, mintak nyawa, mintak nyawa

• jusoh on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:43 am

so cool!!! like a skuter with 4 wheelssssss

• RON97 on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm

i dont know if this latest CVT trick by proton can buy people (people with less brain of course). but 155km/h??? come on…this is 2011 not 1981.

• Dr.SD on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:26 pm

yaa” sekarang 2011…adakah pembuat kereta perlu mencipta enjin yg setanding Bugaati Veron? top speed up 400km plus? berapa road tax yg berlu dibayar setiap tahun? berapa petrol yg pelu dibakar setiap hari?

yang pasti anda mahu kuasa engine pilih la kereta yg sesuai dengan keperluan…dari pilihan Bugati Veron, Range Rover sehinga ke P2 viva….

Kenapa Tata mengeluarkan Nano? adakah sebab tahun 2011?

Adakah kerajaan Malaysia harus mengubal kembali tahap had kelajuan lebuhraya dari 110km ke 400km ?

menulis la seperti org berakal Encik RON97

• Dr.SD on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:31 pm

yaa” sekarang 2011…adakah pembuat kereta perlu mencipta enjin yg setanding Bugaati Veron? top speed up 400km plus? berapa road tax yg berlu dibayar setiap tahun? berapa petrol yg pelu dibakar setiap hari? yang pasti anda mahu kuasa engine pilih la kereta yg sesuai dengan keperluan…dari pilihan Bugati Veron, Range Rover sehinga ke P2 viva….Kenapa Tata mengeluarkan Nano? adakah sebab tahun 2011? Adakah kerajaan Malaysia harus mengubal kembali tahap had kelajuan lebuhraya dari 110km ke 400km ?

menulis la seperti org berakal Encik RON97

• coinstar on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:11 pm

i think you are the people with less brain

• lalok_stylo on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:43 pm

jgn percaya sgt la encik RON97…..
        as i remember, proton claim satria 1.5 only can reach 160kmh or 170kmh..
        but i still can push it to 185kmh….
        but the rpm was around 6000, u can think how the engine sounds..
        i think the same goes to saga flx…
        i think the car can go to 170kmh, maybe 180kmh…
        but, just like Dr. SD said does every car manufacturer should make an engine like burgatti veyron’s??
        like satria neo using DOHC V12 engine??

come on, u should know the price of fuel in malaysia….
        i dont think engine like veyron can use RON95, plus the engine is very “thirsty”…
        if u want a car with 200++ top speed, why dont u get a 10-seconds car R-34, evo or supra??
        or if u want 300++ top speed, u should get a lambo, ferrari or burgatti veyron…
        think b4 u say something…..

• you’re too smart to live in m’sia

• desmond on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:03 am

From the video you posted, it feels the same as Honda City’s CVT. Although the SAT mode is quite lazy to me. (Doesn’t have the punch compared to City’s 7 speed mode) but overall Good Job Proton!

• Lightning McQueen on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:13 am

Nowadays no more 7 speed bro for HCity… the latest version only have 5 speed setting…

• Wisdom on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:56 pm

And that 5 speed is a conventional torque convetered auto, not a cvt.

• kawpoaaa on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:47 am

7 speed mode is just a marketing hype, its a CVT, you can even put 10 speed mode and it makes no different.

• infinity on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:08 am

Anthony, hope u can explain the difference in between the “D” mode and “L” mode, and its mechanism.

Btw, will there be a Saga 1.6 FLX?

Thanks!

• Lightning McQueen on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:14 am

Bro… D for drive
      L for lockup mode especially to prevent your car from slinding back during hill climbing…

• alldisc on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:16 am

i believe the L (for Low) mode is to hold the gears just like putting an auto tranny in 2 or L poisition. This is to prevent from ‘upshift’ especially during climbing and dropped of power.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:41 am

In D mode, the CVT behaves normally for most driving situations. However in L, the CVT ratio is maintained in high ratio (low gear) for better engine braking as well as for maximum climbing power when ascending steep roads.

• Peterpj on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:04 am

In addition to the questions above, how do I downshift if I want to drive a bit more sportily or when I am going downhill (Genting or Camerons for example)? Do I shift to “L”?

• taboogen on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:12 pm

just used the brake lah.. got abs and ebd already….bising2 mau abs..but now what to break using engine…. tak paham malaysian lah…

• squall_shinoda on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:37 pm

Cannot always rely on brakes too much or else the brakes will definitely fail, even with ABS. That’s why engine braking is important. In Toyota Prius, there’s a gear position called B for engine braking and it turns off the regenerative braking as well.

• unimpressed on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:58 pm

“Cannot always rely on brakes too much or else the brakes will definitely fail”
            i agree. for example, kalau naik/turun Genting, (for normal 4AT) better use gear 3 instead of using gear D with constant braking. boleh berasap kot brek kalau turun Genting pakai gear D.

• Peterpj on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Are you nuts to just rely on brake’s all the way down Genting/Cameron? My car come’s with all the acronym’s ABS/EBD/TC/etc but its still good to use engine-breaking for descending hills and also to avoid the brake-pads from excessive wear.

Anyway, I saw the comments from above which is to shift to “L” mode for engine-breaking – thanks guys for clarification.

• Wisdom on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:28 am

It could be more interesting if they include ‘S’ mode…

• Garfield on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Using CVT, at lower speeds the virtual gearing ratio will also drop. Which means the gearing is almost always at the correct ratio (better response without having to ‘kickdown’ the A/T). Going downhill u should feel engine braking at that instant (unlike conventional A/T where one would either put into L or disengage the O/D). However, do put ur car into L if you think you’re losing ur balls.

I drive a Sylphy. I once read that an uncle mention he was not happy and accuse the Sylphy of not really saving fuel coz when going downhill the car automatically goes into engine braking mode instead of gliding downhill at unsafe speed. Stupid unker? Or am I more unker than this uncle?

• Garfield on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:57 pm

My bad, when I say the ratio drop, I actually meant the gearing goes lower (i.e higher ratio).

• taboogen on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:16 pm

seems like that everyday you guys/gals drive up and down genting on daily basis…if yes then u might want to use high temperature brake pad then and ensure u check ur brake periodically. but as malaysia like me to… we always talk talk.. cannot lah impossible.. cannot lah not enough man power… then even proton decide to give DCT gb also will not satisfy everyone. Dunia Dunia

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:37 pm

that unkle needs to understand that most modern cars cuts off its fuel injectors when coating or doing downhill…..

How can going downhill NOT save fuel??

• At the price tag, the closest rival is Viva, surely not Myvi…
    Yup, it was different segment but it shows that super thin Viva or even junkie Myvi was overprice….sigh~~

Good job proton..Please bring more and more “Produk Utamakan Rakyat”

~peace~

• Wak Lambung on Jul 28, 2011 at 7:24 am

Went will Persona gearbox will be replace with CVT???

• tokmoh on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:54 pm

Early next year dah nak tukar terus ke Espire/Tuah/something, heard it’ll come with Campro turbo… and maybe CVT with it fuh fuh… delicious :P

• acerman on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:44 am

Now, this is what we call “People’s car”

• Unforgiven on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:04 am

Myvi is wearing the original Daihatsu badge in Indonesia.
      As long as the badge is Japanese, the quality should not be too bad…

• MicGo on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:01 am

Yea man. Hyundai i10 also don’t come close. Now this is a value for money. Reading this review gave me interest on this car. ABS,Dual Airbag,CVT,Sedan all for below RM45.
      Reliable or not,at lease you have a warranty. Better than buying a second hand car.

• Moktharan on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:24 am

I like the new Facelift….. Nice.

BTW, MYVI is a woman’s car

• There is most likely be a Saga 1.6FLX but whether it will be offered in Malaysia is uncertain. This is due to the fact that over here, Proton offers a S16 which is essentially the Saga 1.6 that was offered to the taxi companies in Malaysia. Due to the coming legislation that requires mandatory electronic stability control in all newly registered cars in 2012, Proton has no choice but to either put in the EBD or its cars will not be eligible for sale. In this state, the government has pushed for its implementation this year though all carmakers have one year reprieve. Even my relative’s 2011 Nissan Micra ST (base model) has EBD as standard.

Thing is the government now pushing for inclusing of inflatable curtain airbags (IC) and running adverts ot that effect in conjunction with asking the public to demand 5 star ACAP rating cars. Lucky thing my XC70 still has all those stuff onboard despite a few years old already. Good thing Volvo emphasis on safety. Proton needs to do a lot more to make a truly global car if it is serous about it.

• Faddd on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Volvo is far ahead in terms of Safety Technology, just look at their crash lab facility, the most advance in the world. But I’m sure Proton is heading there, there are lots of effort being put in by Proton so far.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 29, 2011 at 9:19 am

Agreed. If you look closely to the Saga FLX meter panel, there are even blanks for the upcoming ESP.

• Peterpj on Jul 29, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Don’t understand why a Saga 1.3 would require ESP though. I know I am going to get thumbs-down for my comment but this regulation silly as it really makes budget cars more expensive whilst not really bringing significant benefits (especially where you don’t drive as a “samseng”)

• One big question – the reliability of CVT gearbox. The theory said it is better then conventional gearbox in terms of lifespan as less moving parts. I used to drive MPV with CVT gearbox, imported new from Japan, maintained by local agent as schedule, normal used, but the whole thing need to replace only after 80,000km. The sad story is it cannot be repaired in Malaysia! The cost for new gearbox is RM10,000 cheaper than FLX price.

Proton should consider offering at least 100,000km warranty for gearbox.

• Life time Warranty Better~

• squall_shinoda on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:38 pm

The reliability of CVT gearboxes is always a big concern for all carmakers. Early CVTs can only handle low-torque output which is associated with lower cc cars. Slowly, the technology of the CVT improves and today the CVT can be used in mid-sized cars as well. In fact, some carmakers like Mitsubishi aleady uses CVTs as their main auto gearbox.

• TurboMan on Jul 28, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Let me guess.

Your Jap SUV is Nissan Murano. Yeah!! The CVT is its archiles heel

• azrai on Jul 28, 2011 at 7:40 am

P2-11C, to give the car its internal code. Haha.. The internal code for this SAGA is P2? Sense of humor then.

• tokmoh on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:57 pm

Should check out the brochure, the Saga FLX’s tagline is “it’s even better”. Cheeky, cheeky Proton hehehe :P

• Cucukman on Jul 28, 2011 at 7:48 am

Huh…nowadays….i tell u guys… Saga can simply beat and cucuk your car… haha..

Saga can beat Myvi of course..because Myvi do not offer more space for BOOT…

But once Persona R launch…

Anthony LIm, Top Speed for this Saga how much you get?

I heard can get 200km/h.. hehehe

• albag on Jul 28, 2011 at 7:51 am

a piece of junk for rubbish drivers… damn ugly piece of shit…

• MoFaz on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:58 pm

what the heck wrong with this albag? no commision because he can’t sell Viva / Myvi this month? or his brain affected by nuclear radiation from Myvi engine?.. only God knows.

• simasen on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:22 pm

same as the cicak..butthurt cos this saga is “even better” than “lagi best”..so have to resort to this laa..ini saja yang mampu..

• BadBET on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:23 pm

beauty is subjective, it may appear ugly to your eyes, but others may say otherwise.
      but why the buyers/drivers also you wanna bash? so.. what kind of machine that you drive? it must be some divine engineering from god it self, right?

• good job p1..n paultan.org too..

• theanswer on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:06 am

110kmh at ?rpm paul?

• 2500rpm 100km/h
    3000rpm 120km/h

this is what i call a very very sweet moment of saga

• makeitmine on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:24 am

Proton can catch up with the global market if the 0-100km/h is 10 seconds or less.

Reference:
    Audi A1, Engine : 1,390cc i4, 122bhp and 200Nm
    Performance : 203kmh, 0-100kmh 8.9 seconds, 5.3l/100km

I think Proton needs a better engine not just CVT powertrain.

• BadBET on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:33 pm

if proton come out a saga on par with audi performance, quality or reliability, the price also with match an audi or just a little less … then those people who can just afford an entry level car will have to buy perodua for the rest of their live.

• makeitmine on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Proton will never beat Audi specs at current price.

But there are smart people in Proton.. I think they can make the car 0-100km/h in 10 seconds as long the market can convince them to do so.

What the market deserves I think is the supercharged version of this car.

• Give them sometimes to improve then… bcos they just offer u CVT, ABS +EBD…

• Kancil_Redbull on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:34 am

Very comprehensive review; thanks Anthony.

• gtmaniac on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:36 am

And it’s good to know a manual is still offered!

In the video of full acceleration mode, it is spooky to see the speed increased when the rpm is almost static at around 5,400.

• it look like proton is doing very hard to bring back the market shares.

well, hope their CVT can last at least 200,000km. because we could not find any other GB to fit in after the CVT give away.

will go for a test drive and see is it worth to get 1 unit of this or not. anyway i’m always a satria neo fans. haha….

• BadBET on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:37 pm

a satria neo with 6 speed getrag gearbox? hehe just imagine the feel make me drool

• d*mn! acceleration without SAT really makes the RPM needle NEVER going down in every gear change. it just keep up and up and maintain below red line. compared to when the SAT is on where the rpm needle is drop after gear change.

i don’t know if ah lim really pedal to metal in testing the acceleration, but roughly counting the CVT without SAT is about 13s and with SAT is 14s which is self explaining as the RPM without SAT NEVER drop!

• Johnny on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:55 am

Good effort. But why cant proton just do it right from the start? People who bought the early models tend to lose out a lot, like a guinea pig.

• taboogen on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:16 pm

did the word PROGRESS remind you of anything….

• SukaTgkOrg on Aug 04, 2011 at 7:22 am

last time people complain..Wira/old saga – more than 10 years still the same technology.. only facelift…now with better and faster rate or improvement.. also people complain. the truth is with technology , you will always gonna lose out on the future market… just like when you are buying computer or handphone… you buy when u need a new one.. after that next month new model come out..if you think you want the new model..then trade in lah the old one..bare some loses.. if not.. just live with it until you have the money for the future new one..

• Hugo Chong on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:58 am

Woh, nice !! So much update done on saga flx. Feeling wan to trade in my saga blm 1st batch. Haha.
    Good Job Proton. Hoping more this kind of car in malaysia.

• iamisiamwhatiam on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:58 am

*quote*
    Oh, and the manual variant of the FLX also sees a change, this being in drivetrain choice, the Aichi Kikai five-speed tranny making way for a Getrag five-speeder.
    *unquote*
    Hope the manual gear user don’t go thinking their car is Porches, BMW and suchs :P

• I am thinking of Anthony doing a shoot out of the FLX with equivalent models from J & K. That should give buyers some useful information on how FLX compares to those models. Thumbs up to Proton for the upgrades.

• pentium4 on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:02 am

Wow… 120 km/h = 3000 rpm… what a fantastic improvement…! If using 1.6 L, I believe the rpm will be lower at that speed…

• xprezzy on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:08 am

hopefully there will be FLX 1.6 IAFM+ variants.. or FLX 1.6 CPS perhaps?
    keep it up P1..

• LE buruk on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:09 am

now we wait for turbo engine mate with this cvt gearbox….walla….nice..

• Fauzzury on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:13 am

For the first time i’m keep asking my friend to understand your english in this article.

• MOHA774 on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:15 am

…At least Proton takes the initiatives to improve the car handling by working with the Supplier hand in hand….not like some manufacturer who is sourcing from separate supplier for their front and rear absorber to improve the handling…

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:16 am

I think Proton should still at the very least offer the 1.6L matched with the CVT. FC increase would be minimal, but improvements in drivebility would be significant.

Tip for proton. Why don’t you make a Saga based 1.6 CVT wagon, not much unlike the KIA Rio?

• squall_shinoda on Aug 05, 2011 at 10:41 am

The current market trend shows that wagons aka estate cars are no longer as popular as what it used to be, especially in the 1970s and 1980s. If I can recall, the last wagon model being brought in Malaysian market was the Nissan AD Resort 1.6 in 1996.

• Proton Suprima S is your answer,bro!

• pekan on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:22 am

good job proton.. IMHO this is far better than myvi..

• nothing special , just SAT is the thing i prefer in CVT, else engine sound will be bragging non stop

• my 1995 wira 1.5 3 speed auto 0-100 12.0 second much faster than this. 13.10s It takes years to reach the century mark

• Saga FLx on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:35 pm

the engine capacity makes the different not the gearbox. If FLx come with 1.5 engine yr wira will be cook & smoked… any way care for century sprint?

• simasen on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:40 pm

of cos ma..your car 1.5, this one 1.3..totally differrent class, differrent displacement..how come u want to compare side by side..

• then how u wanna compare a 1995 year old car with 2011 and how u wanna compare a smaller car and a slightly bigger car, no doubt 1995 wira is 1.5 but its output hp and torque is almost equivalent to the current generation 1.3 , come on a stock 16 years old car can outperform this 2011 car LMAO Hahaha, dont forget wira is slightly heavier in kerb weight . So it should be an overall counter balance. I did not say 1 1995 wira is good , but anytime my 1.2 tsi Volkswagen polo could smoked this piece of saga anytime , which means to say Malaysian car are still miles away from Euro Mobiles haha

• your 1.2 tsi Volkswagen polo got no boot for balik kampung
            saga got plenty of room
            cheers

• PakAbu on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:09 pm

Bragging on the internet is telling people your fart smells like roses. People just give you strange look and won’t get near you.

• saga FLx on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:37 pm

any other car you want to compare the saga with beside “YOUR” TSi…..

• coinstar on Jul 30, 2011 at 12:06 am

can compare like that ar? 1995 RXZ can smoke your TSI anytime…

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:34 pm

right……. I used to also have a 1.5 3 speed auto.

Sure it probably goes a little quicker on paper but feels much more lethargic as the gearing on the 3 speeder is all messed up and always catches you off the powerband. Full throttle acceleration is faster but part throttle normal driving is pitiful. The 3 speeder is fucking lethargic and take forever to downshift…something the CVT would undoubtedly cure.

Try being less of a keyboard warrior throwing numbers around and drive more real cars.

Liking your 1.5 3 speed auto’s real world fuel consumption much? ;p.

but FWIW… 13 secs to 100 is still pitiful no matter how you cut it. Still no big fan of the saga 1.3. Should offer the 1.6.

• Safee Sali on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:29 am

Proton,you’ve finally heard us! :D

Thanks Paultan! You are the best!

Yup2..Same Q,will there be Saga 1.6 FLX?

• $45K for a car with dual airbags + CVT + ABS + EBD + improved fuel economy why complain when you can get all these goodies under a small price? I can see improvements have done in Proton, just give them time to improve their product lines. I am sure that the upcoming Persona would be a great hit. I couldn’t even get a Myvi with ABS+EBD +CVT as standard, and it even costs more than $45K to get a basic standard Myvi with only dual air-bags offered.

• that is bcos the myvi and viva is terribly overpriced and underspecced just like their parent company. perutdua is damn greedy, they love your money thats why they have two peruts….banyak makan duit!!

• The bloodline originated from Toyota, the grand master lodge of cekik darah. What do you expect :D

• Pro-Nissan on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:06 pm

yes…just like their boss behind—toyota….overpriced their piece of shxt with outdated technology!!!

• ThePolygon on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:57 am

What can I say… a job well done. For the price it’s asking, you get a good 6-speeder. Come on guys, which other manufacturer can give you at such a price? Give them a clap at least…

:D

• TurboMan on Jul 28, 2011 at 7:34 pm

Other manufacturer can give us such price and has been giving us such a price for a long time.

But AP……….( u guys complete the sentence la ).

• bongek on Jul 31, 2011 at 12:22 pm

-it is our market,so good money should go to our local company… only stupid nation will let money to go the outsider just like that …
        -for u , the mistake is to have local automative company,,,… somehow i agreed 40%
        -for me, the mistake is the other south east asia nation don’t want to make their own local company, if indonesia,thailand,philipine,vietnam have it, so .. at least we can have great competition in our own south east asia market…

• Tekno on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:58 am

Gud car, gud job & gud price too but, bad wheel design.

Proton shud improve wheel design for saga & it will look more exclusive.

• almostthere on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:00 am

I’m kind of unclear at the moment of this statement

” – the word is that it’s coming about soon, and the Getrag slush-box will make the transition to the FL as standard fitment as things move along.” – Meaning the Getrag 5 speed is an AT? Kindly clarify

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:46 am

Oh my, amidst sorting all those numbers, I can’t believe I typed that! What was I thinking! Not a whole lot, it seems! :)

• Proton? Do not trust proton…..or you will suffer…..

• MoFaz on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:16 pm

so, what do you suggest?

1. buy cheaper but small and crampy car, with sampan handling like Viva?
      2. buy more expensive and still a small car with no boot space like Myvi?

more people will suffer if they trust you.

• Saga FLx on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:39 pm

pop…trusting you lagi tak ada guna

• Saga FLx on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Do a comparison between Saga FLx and the Myvi. Let say go for a week vacation with family of 5 around malaysia. Perhaps with a toddler. Then decide which one “Lagi Best” and which one “Even Better” that is Truly Malaysia.

• lalok_stylo on Jul 31, 2011 at 12:29 am

well, who should u trust??
      T&H??
      my satria already 10 years but still ok and no problem…..
      if u buy a T or H car but dont maintain it, it’ll get problems quickly….
      dont blame proton if u dont maintain your car….

• almostthere on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:11 am

“IAFM+ variety, the plus suffix indicating that some minor revisions to the cam profile have been carried out” – to correct the IAFM = Intake Air Fuel Module has been modified to improve on the reliability of the unit especially on automatic models (This can be seen by the vacuum hose connecting to the brake slave cylinder to solve one of the reasons why many IAFM failure cases occurred in automatic BLM’s)

• FLX is really a good car, CVT, revised suspension, ABS, EBD, plus a good looking facelift appearance. I can’t find a reason why not buying this FLX to the new Myvi.

• tattoo sleeve on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:21 am

this is really a step foward by proton. good job proton. my wife’s car is saga fl and it gives no problem at all.. a very value for money i can say :) .. and it can fit my double stroller easily!!

• asgard on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:21 am

great reviews, testing both saga fl and flx is very nice,
    next one should be the new manual gearbox from getrag versus the old from aichi

• anonymusssss on Jul 29, 2011 at 1:21 am

Getrag is old manual transmission.. its being replaced by kikai lever shifter for accurate shift.

CVT has been over 50 years in technology.. its been popularised recently though.. and this CVT gearbox affix to the saga comes with 100,000km warranty and its from belgium. Some automaker like kia, bmw, hyundai is using this gearbox on their production line as for their durability and less problematic.

Guys, its sad to see each of us bashing one another.. this car comes with handy safety features to commute us safely.. where to find car with all features for rm44,998? Fikir la.. i know, you tak suka proton.. then don buy it.. this car is meant for people who think of safety and feature and don have to pay lots of money for features.. ya ya.. becos proton, all car expensive you will say…so don be judgemental.. it happens liao.. so make do.. and now this flx come cheap so everyone gets a bite.. so comment with positive please people..

For me, this is a car to buy.. it can get me to work safely with cool aircond.. im happy.. you all should be too..

• cvt always feel that ur running an engine attached to a rubber band…good for city use..saga getting better..getting sick of myvi’s, the new one not that nice..will buy this instead

• Mr Blue on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:41 am

kalau tempah FLX sekarang, dapat tak before hari raya?

• Dr.SD on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:52 pm

dapat…saya dah tempah, dalam 2 minggu boleh dapat, lagi lama ambil masa untuk tempah lagi lama tempoh menungu, sebab setiap hari peningkatan tempahan terutama untuk musim raya

• Mr Blue on Jul 30, 2011 at 6:35 pm

td xjadi ambil saga flx, jatuh cinta kat proton persona sebab sangat besar and sesuai dengan family…lagi pun interest saga flx 3.75% while persona b-line 3.2%… beza dalam rm20 tiap bulan…loan 7 tahun..

• wlighter on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:44 am

wow.. reading this piece feels like reading a google translated version of a chinese article… u got to improve how you compose your sentence man.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Sorry, oh. Native is not my English language. Pardon reading if difficult. :) Gotta try a new translate software then!

• Dogbert on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:27 pm

A human translator will be best. There’s plenty of proficient bi-linguals around !

• Hitamputih on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Maybe is not Anthony write

I heard paultan team hire one panda from chengdu

• tokmoh on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Some say that The Stig’s Malaysian cousin did it.

:P

• PakAbu on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:50 pm

And drink more English tea … instead of Chinese tea :mrgreen:

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:50 pm

I usually do. Marks & Spencer Fairtrade, Extra Strong. Puts chest on your hair. :)

• PakAbu on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:14 pm

I’m sure you mean “hair on your chest.”

I can’t imagine “chest on your hair.” :lol:

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 29, 2011 at 1:08 pm

Indeed. Just playing around with words, as I am wont to do. ;)

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:47 pm

its ok uncle Anthony, we love the report !! :)

• jl@ipl on Aug 08, 2011 at 5:40 pm

LOL………

• armchair critique on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:05 pm

Too many dashes in a sentence. He is trying to say too many things at once. That’s all.

Overall, the article is still very readable to me.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:15 pm

Indeed, that is my biggest problem, trying to say too many things at once! :)

• Driver on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:50 pm

I used to be like this. Perhaps u could try to make the sentences short & sweet. Always consider your reader when writing, not the editor/writer. A well crafted writing makes is nothing if the meaning cant be properly conveyed to the reader.

U may have known the above points, just sharing.
          Chill~

p.s: personally, i enjoy your stuff, keep up d good work!

• Jonnie on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:45 am

0-100 in 14s…

• rosdi on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:49 am

Good review Anthony… complete with acceleration video… now do a review of MyVi vs SAGA, 0-100 SAGA lose to MyVi but compare the price, features, practicality etc.

• Yes, a must have. Paultan have kind of missed out on such kinds of reviews, pitting 2 cars that malaysian normally buys against each other.

Note that the source of the cars must not be directly from P1 or P2 since this might enable them to cheat on QC. Best is to borrow the cars from friends.

As rosdi said, please compare price, features, practically, QUALITY, NVH, and others. This will surely benefit those who are still in a dilemma of choosing which.

Paultan, I hope you make me proud!

• Paul Tan on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:13 pm

Working on it. Takes alot of effort and logistics though. It’s easy to do it “cincai”… but the mechanics that we use to ensure a comprehensive test takes 3 to 4 full days of work, and when that happens, there is no one around to cover launches and news.

We have pulled it off once and intend to do it again… the D-segment shootout.

http://paultan.org/2011/03/15/the-japanese-d-segment-trinity-shootout-honda-accord-vs-nissan-teana-vs-toyota-camry/

The next few stories of this nature already in planning.

• hantu on Jul 28, 2011 at 9:12 pm

Better if you could include the Saga FL 1.6L since people would like to know whether it is better to get the CVT or to get the bigger displacement engine with 4AT

• Cool, after this you should do the latest Japan vs Korea shootout. (Altis/Civic vs Forte/Avante)

• Will the 1.6 follow suit soon ?

• edperdana on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:18 am

Good review Anthony
    Thanks

• DewaSemut on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:34 am

Well done, Proton… next step to move forward is to produce Hybrid and EV powered cars… not forgetting it must also be visually appealing design in and out

• before anything came out of your mind dear basher:
    please recall what will you get on “beloved” ViVa over the FLX as they’re on the same price range i may say, not to mention Mr Lagi Best. Thank you, have a nice day :)

• what has proton done but to force the government place expensive taxes on foreign cars like toyota, hondas and hyundais (these cars are entry level cars in developing countries)

toyota vios is 55k for the J spec without exhorbitant tax.
    honda city is 57k for S spec.
    volkswagen polo 70k.

the question is.. would you still buy a proton or another car.

if you still think proton gave you a great car. no problem. i am not too sure if the pricing are as such.

• Which country that to take the car price?

• water on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:25 pm

the price? just check the langkawi price lor.

so many stupid ppl just saying yes to everything..

• taboogen on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:23 pm

then go and stay at another country lah… why barking over here…
      ps: u dont have to buy proton… no one force u to buy proton.. still got perodua.. inokom.. cherry.. i think those car fit your budget right…. or work a bit harder.. then go and buy at least honda city lah.. haha

• janganjadilembu on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:51 pm

cliche…go to another country…brape byk ko leh jimat kalu harga keta kat msia murah??? jgn jadi lembu ada otak tp kene cucuk idung!

• callenish on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:09 pm

ko la lembu, dgr ckp org jer, tp ckp tak pakai otak… ko pergi negara lain pun, kereta murah tapi benda lain mahal.

nak kereta murah, tapi keje malas!!!

• taboogen on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:21 pm

aku sokong… setakat kerja cukup2 makan tapi berangan tinggi… itu lah malaysian.. dah terlalu manja sangat…

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:46 pm

You guys are hilarious.

Asking ppl to pergi negara lain. GROW UP.

Langkawi is close enough..or you don’t think Langkawi is part of malaysia? Checked thier car price lists lately? The Vios J (MT) is 53k with change.

Cant is just making a point that the government is taxing our cars like mad. and you guys jump off the edge and ask people to leave the country.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:06 pm

since they are the cronies that care less shit to the public who really drive the car day in day out…

• sukasuki on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:00 am

pegi la tinggal kat langkawi. roti canai rm1.50. uh!

• sfssd on Jul 29, 2011 at 7:32 am

Don’t forget Labuan also, hehehe.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:19 pm

cant, yo are indeed rights. Those disagree with your point and ask you stay at another country is sore loser, better go to M@44 building and jump out then clasiffied as suicide.

• taboogen on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:23 pm

then u also go back to VN lah see if you can live peacefully there.. dont disturb our harmony malaysia… nang boti nang qui butu qui.. (hahaha)

• simasen on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:58 pm

still saga exec will be around 40k+, persona H-line around 55k, still cheaper than vios or city WITH TAX..

mind u that persona is bigger in every aspect compare to vios or city, not to mention polo (vios n city are compact sedan, same class as saga while pesona is compact executive sedan class with the likes of civic n corolla altis..the difference is which end of the spectrum in the class range the car were put..)

if u can afford to buy the one in the higher end of the spectrum, then you are most welcome to do so..most of us still can’t afford, n if we do we want to buy a bang for buck car..at least proton is improving and not giving us rubbish anymore so we have plenty of choice..

• Isaac Cheah on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Wow. So in ur opinion

saga similar class to city/vios
        persona similar class to altis/civic
        inspira similar class to ??? (pls dun try to tell us it’s accord/camry)

• Saga=B
          Vios=B
          City=B
          Persona=C
          Altis=C
          Civic=C
          Inspira=C
          accord=D
          camry=D
          Perdana=D

• simasen on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:46 am

ria already answer your question, and inspira is not in the same class as camry/accord..it is the same class as persona but at the different end of the spectrum..

• research on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:34 pm

persona bigger than city and vios? duh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• PencenRider on Aug 01, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Some say….Vios is even bigger than perdana……………………………………………………..

• callenish on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:07 pm

people live in reality, so accept the reality. if you ever dream to have a non taxable country, go to other country if you can find one.

even proton’s car is subject to tax la bro, go a find the fact please.

• PakAbu on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:41 pm

“… proton … *force* the government… ” ? :-?

• Garfield on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:54 pm

At the end of the day, it’s the govt policies that push the price sky high. And the car companies also cash in while complying with the policy. They may sell fewer cars but they make more margin per car. P2 especially rub their hands in glee with P1 getting the all blame.

In the case of P2, they have been getting benefit both ways. They get to sell many cars here (with their national car status) AND they make a lot of margin per car. Myvi cousins Passo and Sirion sell badly in Japan, but the Japs are thrilled to see Myvi making them a lot of money. Perodua gives higher ROI than Toyota themselves, just so u all know.

Pricing wise, Myvi could be sold cheaper. But it was never the intention of the Japs for it to be THE people’s car. Instead it was the vehicle to make more money (pun intended). Higher list price has it’s advantage anyway; at the end of the year they can afford to ‘give’ high discount to satiate the Malaysian market i.e zero downpayment purchase.

• much awaited reason… tax.. eehehhehe

• Globalist on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:33 pm

Thumbs up cant. Shame to all those katak dalam perigi who will always harp on “go stay another country” everytime the high car tax price is brought up. Must be the Gomen got give you guys duit kopi to tolong support high car tax policy.

• Ash Menon on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:16 pm

I thought katak is bawah tempurung? Apasal pulak terjun dalam perigi? Ish.. katak suicide. Dahsyat.

• Realist on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:06 am

Nope, the Gomen didn’t give me any duit kopi… infact I’m the one who gave Gomen serious amount of tax money. Of course I would like cheaper car price but let’s be realistic for once.

All those subsidies that Gomen gave for petrol, minyak masak, gula, tepung, beras etc etc need to be financed from somewhere. Not to mention lampu jalan, gaji polis trafik, lampu traffic lights etc etc.

I figure, it is better for them to get some of it from the car industry.. coz most of us do not change cars so often anyways. Furthermore, high new car price will translate to a better 2nd hand value for our old cars. So all in all, don’t think we lose so much.

Now let’s go to the country that sell cheap cars.. like US & Qatar. In US, cars maybe cheap.. but food & petrol are expensive. You can’t have medical & dental treatment unless you have insurance. Almost everywhere you go, you must pay tips (that’s an extra 10-20%!). Qatar.. cars & petrol are cheap.. but everything else are expensive.

My point is.. no country is a nirvana. It is very unfair for rakyat to expect everything to be cheap & free. We don’t want MY to be a bankrupt country like Greece & US.

Though I agree that it is a bit childish to ask people to “pindah negara” everytime they complain about MY car price… it is however equally childish on the part of the complainer to keep bringing the subject up. Please be more open minded and think from macro point of view.. Don’t be so silo.

Malaysia is still a developing country. She needs all the help & support she can get. If you can’t be part of the solution, then just stop being part of the problem.

• MoFaz on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:40 am

you’re a true realist :)
          those who keep on blaming the gov were brainwashed by pembangkang.
          they said price of petrol in arab very cheap, why malaysia can’t give the same price? but they never study more… russia is 2nd largest oil producer in the world and Ron95 there is RM3 per litre! in Australia you need to pay RM1.20 of tax for every litre of petrol!
          and many said Vios is very cheap in Thai, just about RM55k. but do you see that price of imported cars are much higher in Thai compared to Malaysia? Hyundai Tucson is RM177k in Thai but only RM139k in Malaysia. that’s almost RM40k more expensive!! don’t you guys see that Thai is protecting their CKD business? now, which country imposed higher import tax to protect their local companies?

• Globalist on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:00 am

There are many ways to improve govt income & expenditure. The opposition ‘s prudent fiscal policy lecture is widely available on the internet.

But definately not via imposing ridiculous sky high car tax on the people. Another way to put it: the real reason for the sky high tax is to protect local protong. Without it, the local jaguh kampung is straight headed towards oblivion.

Arguing for pro sky high car tax via comparisons of food, petrol, dental and medical costs doesn’t make sense too. Imagine the tremendous amount of savings the rakyat could have with much much lower global car price. Imagine further how these capital freed up could be better spent and invested by the rakyat on improving the Malaysian economy. A free liberalised economy will create much more synergy. Economic synergy will not happen on a tightly regulated economy with arbitrary sky high car tax imposed to burden the already hardworking rakyat.

What the rakyat wants is a true global car price aligned with the rest of the world with reliable quality and performance. Protong can be let off to survive on its own. If it is not capable, then it should close shop and not further burden the rakyat.

Notice the protong cyber troopers are keen to bring up this type of comparisons everytime someone complains on the sky high car tax policy.

• MoFaz on Jul 30, 2011 at 3:54 pm

lower the import tax and remove fuel subsidy? this is double-edged sword and should only be used when you know how to handle it.
            yes, individuals may get cheaper global car, but what about the country? this will cause trade deficit, similar to Thailand in 1980s which forced the country to ban import cars!
            yes, you may get cheaper vios (RM50k) but u still have much cheaper saga and viva for around RM20-40k. if you remove tax and subsidy, only those who buy vios feel great (spend 20k less) but what about those who can only afford viva & saga?.. they will need to spend RM1 extra perlitre on fuel in the long run. that will only bring more benefit to middle and upper income group while burdening the lower income group.
            yes you may have more money by paying less instalment every month, but remember that fuel price hike will also increase price of everything else, including foods and the cost to build house. now u have to pay more for house instalment, more for foods, and more for petrol. so, we’re back to square one, the amount of money you saved maybe just similar to before ‘import tax removal’. how about the poor ones who drive saga & viva? they’re now becoming more stressful.
            simple scenario:
            let’s say you pay RM800 now for vios instalment (9 years), if remove tax and car become RM55k, instalment might drop to RM600. wow, you have RM200 extra!. BUT.. petrol now increased to RM3 perlitre, you fill up 40l every time, 4 times a month, and you’re actually paying RM160 extra for petrol now. you might say that you still have RM40 extra, but remember now electricity, foods, and houses also costs more than before. back to square one.

• Hoochiez on Aug 01, 2011 at 2:20 pm

Globalist, you are spot on.

However, readers like mofaz are just beyond incorrigible. Perhaps, Mofaz is at the receiving end of being a crony – as it appears to be. Never cease to be “amused” by how blinded some ppl could be to the state of our country after >half a century from independence – just look at the our purchasing power vs neighbours downsouth across a tiny bridge – where do we stand ? A clue – no where in sight.

Another clue – how much would the exhorbitant taxes from the automotive industry “help” in terms of providing all the subsidies u mentioned, vis-a-vis the dividends paid to the fed gov by Petronas ? Yet another clue, a drop in the ocean.

Automotive taxes “IS” to protect both P1 & P2 – stop living in denial, if you could.

I rest my case.

• MoFaz on Aug 01, 2011 at 11:45 pm

haha..am i a crony? fyi, i work in singapore. i’m not even doing any kind of business with proton, but my whole family buy proton cars, we have 5 of them.
            those who keep asking for tax removal are only thinking about themselves. selfish. you just don’t care whatever happen to malaysia as long you could drive import car?
            the tax is to protect country economy. Thailand banned import cars in 1978. does thailand has any national car program in that time? NO, it was due to trade deficit. imports was far greater than exports.
            yes, we know that the opposition would spin the facts and saying that the tax is to protect p1 & p2. I believe even without p1 & p2, the tax could be still high, or maybe higher than now. compare these price of the same CBU car in Thailand and Malaysia:
            Hyundai Tucson: RM139k in MY, RM177k in Thai
            Jaguar XF: RM488k in MY, RM616 in Thai
            BMW 730Li: RM648k in MY, RM727k in Thai
            you may noticed that tax in Thai is far higher than Malaysia, even though Thai exports hundreds of thousand cars every year. what are they trying to protect?
            if you study history of Japan, Korea and even Thailand, they banned import cars to enable their local industry to grow. we all know how terrible are korean cars in previous generation, yet they were able to sell millions of it because no foreign brand allowed in Korea. this is the true meaning of being “FORCED” to buy local brand. if you go to Korea now you can see that less than 5% of the cars are imported, and the most popular import is BMW. why not Honda & Toyota? because H & T are direct competition to Hyundai & Kia. You may wildly guess what Korean gov do about it. does it ever happen in Malaysia? you can still buy foreign brands here, u just have to pay more.
            Proton was setup to enable rakyat to have their own car. the cheapest vios with ABS and airbags in Thai is about RM63k. we have saga with ABS and dual airbags, just RM45k.

• Hoochiez on Aug 02, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Again, selective reading and digging up history while conveniently ignoring the present situation.

Point is, how much annual oil revenue does the Fed Gov receives from Petronas which it uses to manage our country and its economy and yes, in providing the necessary “subsidies” for the needy ?

Take that, and compare with the annual tax revenue that the Fed Gov receives from the automotive industry – how significant would the latter be ? or should i say, IN-significant ? Do you really think that the automotive tax ALONE can significantly contribute in providing the necessary subsidies ???

And btw, we are not saying that ALL automotive taxes should be removed – just not at unreasonably sky-high rates like now !

Is that so hard to understand ? And after so many decades, do we really think that P1 quality is on par with other competitors ? No air-bags for BLM or else hard to keep prices “competitive” ? What ??

And Mofaz, why are you working in Spore and not in Malaysia ? Why are you not contributing your taxes here in Malaysia to help the needy that you appear to so grandly champion for ?

And Mofaz, stop comparing with Thai / Korea automotive industry alone ! We are talking about the entire economy where despite our vast natural resources, where the hell are we now as compared to our neighbouring countries – one of which surprisingly so happen to be your choice of employment ?

To keep saying that our automotive taxes are for the provision of subsidies and NOT for the protectionist policies of the local industry (P1) is just plain imbecilic. But i suppose, when one is not facing the situation as-is, it is much easier to just rant giberrishly on the internet.

• MoFaz on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:49 pm

have i ever attacked you personally? why did you accused me of being a crony? and what’s wrong with me having job in Sg? with my previous job in KL i only pay around 2-3k for income tax and zakat. with my current job now i bring back much more cash and spend on “Made in Malaysia” products. wasn’t that good? People like me bring the money into Malaysia, but people like you are the one keep the money flowing out.
            and I didn’t get PTPTN loan or MARA or Gov scholarship. the one you should blame is those students who didn’t come back.
            maybe you failed to realise that most of the countries with low fuel price are running a monarch system. the kings are already rich, they don’t care much about tax. well, you don’t have democracy over there!
            Brunei could afford to give more fuel subsidy because less than 20,000 new cars registered there every year. Malaysia has more than 600,000 new cars every year! how much is consumption in Brunei? How much in Malaysia? and don’t compare with Arab, their oil production is at least 10 times more than Malaysia.
            other countries like UK, Australia, and Singapore have tax for every litre of fuel you buy at pump. fuel tax in UK is 175%!. since you like to take Singapore as example, would you agree to have RON95 at RM4.50 perlitre like Singapore? so, instead of spending billions on fuel subsidy, gov get billions from fuel tax and they can spend that money to develop infrastructures to be like Singapore. and how much is car tax and COE in singapore? Exora is RM70k in My but RM170k in Sg.

• Hoochiez on Aug 03, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Again Mofaz, you are beating around the bush, totally avoiding the main points altogether. You seem to enjoy quoting lotsa irrelevant info, very selectively as it appears, so as to avoid the main argument here. You come across either as obliviously ignorant of the topic or just being annoyingly childish as you cannot accept the truth and have to always have the last word in.

What is the relevance of bringing fuel subsidy comparison vs Brunei laa…Middle East la… ?? Did i ever mention anything close to that at all ?

The main point, again, for your lost sake – you and your P1 cyber troopers always have this delusional notion that our automotive taxes are a necessary evil so as to help provide for the subsidies to the needy, and NOT for the protectionist policy of our industry for P1. Who are you kidding ? Just yourselfs mind you…..plss laa…wake up your idea !

My point to you: The contribution of the local automotive taxes are pittance in comparison the the main income of the fed gov courtesy of Petronas – RM30billion for last fin year alone i.e. half of the fed gov income. You still dare proclaim that the automotive tax is significant enough to warrant it’s sky-high rates so as to help provide forthe subsidies ? Where got significant Mofaz ? Significant ah ?

Plain simple fact No.1: Our country’s riches have been exploited for the benefits of the cronies no thanks to the current ruling coalition since independence.

Plain simple fact No.2: After 30 years, P1 has definitely failed to deliver. It was suppose to drive the local automotive industry to competitive levels. Admittingly, there has been notable improvements over these few years, albeit slight, but after 3 decades, is that all P1 ? Personally, i support the rebadge of Inspira, infact, Satria GTi aside, the Inspira is the other proton car i would be proud of. The rest, enuff said.

So please, there was no intention of a “personal attack” whatsoever. I agree with you P1 cyber troopers that P1 has shown some improvements of late, but is just isn’t something to shout about really, bcuz, it’s been far too long.

It just gets under my skin when you P1 fanatics make sweeping statements about the automotive taxes and deny about it’s true intentions all along – the protection for P1.

And Mofaz, your funny analogy of RON95 and exora prices in Spore are based on simple conversion from SGD to MYR, yes ? So, are you suggesting that:

(i) RON 95 – A person working in Msia, buys a car in Msia but will go over to Spore to purchase fuel ?

(ii) Exora – A person working in Msia, but will go to Spore to buy an Exora ? Wait.. ade AP tak ?

You are humorous – but not funny.

After all this, if you still wanna beat around the bush, and not respond to the main points duly highlighted, i really really rest my case.

• MoFaz on Aug 04, 2011 at 2:09 am

you’re the one who keep circling but too afraid to argue with concrete facts. and when you know that you can’t counter the fact i mentioned here, you resorted to name calling and accusing me of being P1 cyber trooper.

1) i’ve already explained, tax for imported cars in thailand is far higher than Malaysia even though they do not have ‘national car’ there. Thai exported almost 900,000 cars last year, so why their import tax is still high? as i said, the main purpose of import tax is to protect country economy. if imports are much higher than exports, economy will collapse.

2) income from petronas alone is not enough to run the country. and the bad news is; our oil reserve is depleting. Malaysia is once upon a time a producer of tin and gold, but those are already exploited by british.

3) car import tax are not small amount. about 600,000 cars sold in Malaysia every year and if half of that are imports, and each imports are taxed RM20,000, it’s easily RM6bil. i believe the amount is much higher than that by including excise and sales tax on P1 & P2 too. now, how much is fuel subsidy last year? RM8bil and it’s estimated to rise to RM18bil this year due to higher crude oil price. somehow, yes.. it can be said that car import tax is being used to subsidies petrol. and without this tax, i believe fuel subsidies will also be removed.

4) i’m not trying to be funny. the reason why i mentioned the price of RON95 and Exora in singapore is because you like to take that country as example. price of fuel should be around RM3 without subsidies, or S$1.20. buy they’re paying S$2.00 due to additional tax. Exora should’ve been around than S$30k, but they are paying S$70k due to tax and COE. did you see how tax protect singapore economy from excessive imports of petrol and cars and at the same time funding the growth of singapore? yes, everybody want a modern and first world status like singapore but are you ready to pay the price for it? from your comment, no.. i don’t think you’re ready.

• Hoochiez on Aug 04, 2011 at 8:29 pm

Haha…this mofaz very entertaining indeed – his delusion of the reality, added by his constant confusion btw “past” & “present” tenses, so darn comical. Anyway, really enjoy laughing, not with you, but at you. Mofaz, we are talking about the real reason for sky high “IMPORT TAX” and “EXCISE DUTIES” for imported CBU cars i.e. the likes of BMW, Merc, Audi, VW etc. We say it’s for protection of P1, you say it’s to help the fed gov provide for subsidies. Clear now ?

Ok, allow me try to clarify the points you have put forward thus far, notwithstanding how irrelevant and incumbent they are in supporting your delusion – haha… :

1) Korea banning car imports many many moons ago – ergo, your reason that this is the “true meaning” of “FORCED” to support the local automotive industry. How different is it with our fed gov imposing sky high “IMPORT TAX” and “EXCISE DUTIES” on imported cars such that it is beyond the average Msian’s reach ? Are these ppl then not “FORCED” to settle with P1 then ? Is it not for the protection of P1 ? Your JOKE No.1.

2) High automotive import taxes in Thailand to “protect its economy” – What is there “protect” ? Ok, maybe you meant “to support the economy”. Still, it don’t make sense cuz is it not the entire automotive manufacturing & export industry helping the Thai economy ? You are seriously lost ! Your JOKE No. 2.

3) “Income from Petronas alone cannot run the country – oil reserves depleting” – hello Mofaz, this is common sense. When did i ever say that the govt is relying solely on Petronas dividends ? I was just pointing out the comparison btw the oil revenue vs automotive taxes ! Besides, what other “concrete facts” you require to realise that our country’s riches have been abused and squandered by the current ruling coalition ? We have oil, natural gas, timber, palm oil, rubber etc. Ape dah jadi ? Besides, we have various forms of taxes by the fed gov – income taxes, corporate taxes (which Petronas pays too on top of the RM30b dividend), real property taxes, indirect taxes like sales and service taxes etc etc… You really think automotive taxes alone is significant enough to contribute to the subsidies, and not to protect P1 ?
            Your JOKE No.3.

4) “Car import taxes not small – estimated at RM6b at least” – who are you kidding Mofaz ? FY2010 TIV for passenger car was apprx. 550k units registered. Of that, 35% was P2, 29% was P1, 13% was T, 8% was H, 5% was N, 2% was Naza. The rest, i give u la – ALL CBU IMPORT – kena IMPORT TAX and EXCISE DUTIES – got RM6b ?? Perhaps when you are the head of MITI, then possible ! And why consider P1 & P2 Sales tax 10% ? We are talking about sky high IMPORT TAXES and EXCISE DUTIES for imported cars !! Your JOKE No.4.

5) Singapore as comparison – why not ? Didnt they became independent not too long after us ? Do they have natural resources like us ? Yet, as u said, they are first world status, but us ? What does this tell u ? Enuff concrete evidence that our country has been severly mis-managed for the benefit of cronies ??? You cant even make sensible comparisons of purchasing power. And by the way, the high automotive taxes and COE in Spore are meant for an entirely DIFFERENT REASON – to control traffic congestion ! And by the way, COE prices are floated based on supply-demand !! During the recession in 2008, the COE cost only SGD20 !! Your JOKE No.5 !

6) Am i ready to pay the price for first world status ? You must be crazee, anyone would !! Isnt that why you are working in Spore instead ? What rubbish…. You choose to leave, i choose to stay to make a difference. Were you there during 907 ? Tanah tumpahnya darahku ! You ?

Am so looking forward to more rubbish from you. Really eases the end of my stressful day in office. Hahahaha !!!!!!!

• MoFaz on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:40 pm

me too, i’m enjoying your stupidity every time i read your comments.
            Do you know the difference between “BAN IMPORT CARS” & “HIGH IMPORT TAX”? to ban imports is to remove competition completely like what Korea did. but high import tax will still enable people to buy import cars. I can’t believe that i had to explain this to you.
            Did I ever firmly said that total car import tax is RM6bil? Read my post again and please don’t miss the word “IF…” I’m just using that number as example based on the difference between Vios price in Thai and Malaysia. if you have the exact fugure, please share.
            and joker like you will always find a reason to justify why Thailand and Singapore tax are higher but you can’t accept Malaysian tax which is much lower than those two.
            and what so great about 907? people in middle east and thailand are willing to fight to their death to topple their government. but here, water cannon and tear gas are enough to kick your ass and chase you away back to wherever you came from.
            it’s no use pouring water into a cup which already full. similarly, there’s no use to share information and knowlegde with someone who thinks he know everything and he always right. it’s no wonder, such person is usually ‘kepala batu’.

• Hoochiez on Aug 05, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Kekekeke….jangan buat malu sendiri la Mofaz. I call u “P1 cyber trooper” u marah. I suspect u “crony”… u marah. Based on what all u have said, you are definitely BOTH la !!

1) All your “points” to support your “belief” that high IMPORT TAXES and EXCISE DUTIES to help with gov subsidies – CRAP ! Beaten down by easily by common sense.

2) U asked for concrete facts – yet, you can even make a reasonable estimate of the income from automotive taxes – Beaten down by simple common sense again.

3) All in all, you have NOT address the main argument – despite me highlighting in all my post.

4) You comparison btw Msia vs Thai & Spore automotive taxes is downright absurd. Spore TIV for FY2010 was just about 50k units registered. Support Spore economy with automotive taxes ? Buat malu la. Thai automotive industry is supporting its economic growth – have u been there ? Look at the streets – kereta ape yang banyak ? A clue – “toyota”. U think the automotive taxes on import cars is significant ? By the way, both these countries have got NOTHING TO PROTECT !! Msia ?? Protect P1 lor….. but u dont bliv…. Buat malu la…

5) U know what our country needs ? GST – like in thai & spore. But fed gov takut to implement cuz election. By the way, fuel subsidies in Msia are being gradually removed, electricity tariffs have increased – so by your “reasoning”, the fed gov needs to INCREASE import taxes and excise duties FURTHER ! hahaha… buat malu la.

6) You think 907 was meant to “topple” the fed gov. Shame on you. How not suspect you are “crony” ?

Conclusion: Mofaz = P1 cyber-trooper = Crony. Buat malu la… Perhaps, you would be “better off” if you had went to MARA instead – then again, suspected CRONY, so tak mungkin la. Buat malu la… tsk tsk tsk….

• MoFaz on Aug 06, 2011 at 2:18 am

siapa yang malu? aku tak rasa pun apa yang aku cakap ni memalukan. i understand that you’re just emotionally unstable kid. maybe your mom didn’t breastfed u enough. i know what to expect from future generation. babies nowadays drink too much ‘susu lembu’ and that’s why they think also like ‘lembu’.

i’ve already explained much earlier about what thailand is doing and what they’re trying to protect yet you still say thai has nothing to protect? i’ll give you another clue.. many local vendors in thai producing parts for the japanese car makers. if they remove import tax and allow CBU imports being sold at low price in Thai, what would happen to the vendors? trade deficit will happen again and then again, they ban import cars just like 1978. they already learned from experience. u, in the other hand asking us not to study automotive history of other countries? u drink too much susu lembu, that’s why you don’t understand.

i don’t even care if u call me crony or cyber trooper. it doesn’t hurt a bit. but for sure i’m not lowering my standard playing a childish act like you.

• Wah this is a good development. So if Proton is moving to be a true global player mean it also the right time for Malaysia to allow a true global car price. Don’t just be jaguh kampung n perasan bagus….

• water on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:09 pm

yes. honda city costs 65k without “proton-protection” tax.

would pay around RM 100 ringgit more in loan repayment and get

honda city
    120HP
    5 speed AT
    paddle shifters

• sukasuki on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:02 am

yes, but at that time the insurance will be 2x higher than now. and also road tax. ever think about it? i dont think normal malaysian do think about it.

• scgtimk1 on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Honda city may cost Rm65k if no protection but you think loan can be 9 years ka? max almost only 5 years and interest will be more than 5 %. like before zaman proton.

If all else equal like u say than pricing will be like below (base on langkawi price) :

Saga FLX 1.3CVT : RM42,698 DP10% 5%int RM800.59monthly
      VIOS 1.5E 4 AT : RM60,882 DP10% 5%int RM1,140.41monthly / Diff RM339.83
      CITY 1.5S 5 AT : RM58,480 DP10% 5%int RM1,096.50monthly / Diff 756.68

You think with city 700 ringgit dearer monthly it’s gonnna be cheap enough for people to go for city? you must be dreaming la…

• scgtimk1 on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:19 pm

Sorry wrong Calculation

City Rm295.91 More per month than saga FL.

• ayamxxx on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:12 pm

I think if new Myvi include with CVT gearbox, sure easily passing 20~22km per liter.
    Because it used variable valve timing.

Not like campro iafm, just play with the ratio of air goes to engine only.

• some people here comparing saga with viva.. ofcoz viva win hands down. viva name is way too sexy compare to saga. with viva you get V …not one but two V V .. with saga you get a tail hanging down between two rounded shape a…saga need some blow job to make the tail go up first.

• first batch BLM manual can go up to 190kmh ! how come new gb from getrag can go up only 160kmh . German tech going backward than Japanese ?

• Where you seen that figure? On youtube right?
      Maybe some modifications that are done by the owner to push the saga blm until 190km/h.

• my father drove his saga to test its limit against his old nissan bluebird ! suprisingly the BLM manual can almost as fast as bluebird top speed but require longer time to reach that speed .

• simasen on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:00 pm

man, my old beetle can go as fast as that too only it’ll take forever..

• So you think you only have to change the gearbox to get a faster car?

Please tell our rempits that they only have to spend RM40 for a new set of sprockets, as expensive big bore kits, racing exhaust, bigger caburettors etc. are not necessary in your opinion… ;)

• save fuel or more power??is it average people will driving 160km/h daily??

• Langdon on Jul 28, 2011 at 12:49 pm

Airbags is a good first step. But I’m advocating for all cars to have ESP/VSC and ABS. This is more important than airbags in my view. Accident reduction is better than survivability after the fact…

Imagine a car swerving out of control heading towards you and you’re standing by the roadside… . Plus some research has shown drivers of cars with airbags actually drive faster and more recklessly….

you get the picture…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VZ0b_jAshl8&feature=player_embedded

• HAW-LOONG on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:24 pm

100kmh still around 3k rpm. FUel economy is not there. I aspect at 100kmh rpm should be around 2.5k

• Hitamputih on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:25 pm

U must be blind panda

Story clearly say 100kmh is 2500rpm

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:30 pm

It is. 2,500 rpm at 100 km/h on the CVT, 3,000 rpm on the 4AT.

• wuha-wuha on Jul 28, 2011 at 7:12 pm

Any video of RPM reading when normal cruisng speed of 100km/h?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jul 28, 2011 at 7:52 pm

No, unfortunately I didn’t take a video of that. But I did note all the 80, 100 and 120 km/h rpm readings mentioned in the story from going around the track.

• is going better now saga . My old junk 120Y spinning at 3000rpm for 90kmh ..btw 4 cogs only. for 100kmh at 2500rpm is good enoiugh alr unless bashers are looking at 100kmh at 1000 rpm..then built your own car & gearbox….LOL..hahaha

• semalam (27 july 2011) kulihat 2 sedan proton mirip dengan foto di atas, di jalan raya di jakarta, indonesia. mungkin sebentar lagi akan dijual di indonesia.

unfortunately, desain dashboard terlihat kuno, seperti era tahun 90

• maserati on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Why r u guys bashing anthony’s review? Its perfectly ok. U ppl really must hv failed english.

Back to topic, saga 0-100 kph 13secs? Thats even slower than a tortoise man. Come on lah even a myvi can do that in like 11 secs.

New transmission? So what, the engine is still shitty and crappy.

If lets say honda city sold at 57k here and saga sold at 19k here, nobody would even.bother bout this piece of junk.

Myvi might be a bit more exp but remember, what u pay is what u get. And good things nvr come cheap. So guys , learn how to spend a lil bit more for better stuff instead of saving every cent that u can. Rmb, savers are always losers.

• MoFaz on Jul 28, 2011 at 1:49 pm

savers are always losers? that’s kind of stupid. no wonder you failed to get your dream car maserati.

• i would go for 19k price tag, no need to pay the loan up to 7 or year instead

• “maserati” confirm P2 salesman…..good things never come cheap???? Which part is good thing????? Myvi still same Engine & Gear Box!!! just shape diff!!!! coming 1.5L same out dated Avanza/ Alza engine….Good What??? 60 to 70k??? Good price??? Keep it in ur Museum like Nautica!!!! Wakakaka!!!!

• normal_user on Jul 29, 2011 at 8:41 am

Helloooo!!
      Saga is 100kg heavier than Myvi. That explains its slower acceleration. Does it matter to have 11 sec 1-100 figures? U always race to beat traffic lights or what???

• “And, there’s no full service requirement with this one, which should offer a 200,000 km service life and has 25% less moving parts than the 4AT.”

200k km (or less) and its to the workshop for a new CVT gearbox. Good luck!

• 6.28L/100km @ 90km/h? Proton, you lying b*stard. My BLM 2008 1.3 Auto can’t even get CLOSE to that la. Typical, just like their Government masters: twist and turn facts to confuse people. Please la Malaysians, you are smarter than that. Don’t fall for this trap again.

• saga FLx on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:35 pm

Hello…. the figure given by proton is in control environment lah….. change your driving style and you should be able to get a decent FC . a lot of other factor contribute to good FC….but if you tekan like hell …… proton dont care what the hell figure you get…

• So if the figures are taken from a “controlled environment” then why they flash it up? Marketing right? 6.28L compared to 9L is really wrong. I am sure you don’t own a BLM that’s why can talk so much.

Yah, i didn’t know that if I tekan the pedal my FC is lousy. I’m a blonde bimbo, like that. *twirls hair*

I have this stupid car for 3 years already. I have tried EVERYTHING from going slow from start, driving at constant 2500 rpm AND turning off the A/C (with the windows up of course, how can I forget the factor of turbulence – would you even know what turbulence is, saga FLx?). There is absolutely NO WAY an Auto 1.3 BLM can get 6.28L.

Malaysians can give all sorts of excuse to protect this stupid company. Fact remains that this is an overpriced piece of crap priced artificially by the G of the day.

• sukasuki on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:16 am

my ancient saga kereta kebal only consume rm30 of petrol all the way from JB to KL, make it around 3 hours. driving around 100-130kmh. 1 person in car, use air cond. I think your car need ECU retune. I dont have any ECU or EFI, just ordinary carburetor, but I do ask my mechanic to retune it everytime I go for engine oil change. by the way, I clock 10,000 km every month.

• mizzuddin on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:29 am

kereta anda bermasalah…

tak proper runner-in kut

• lalok_stylo on Jul 31, 2011 at 12:55 am

brader, the same goes to all car manufacturer…..
          they do the test on FC in a controlled environment…..
          they run the can constantly at 90 kmh without braking….
          if u drive in city, of course u wont get 6.28l, especially in KL…..
          with all the jams, can u get 6.28l??
          i have a BLM….
          if u dont like it, then dont buy proton…
          buy another car, like T or H….

• i can get that easily with my gen2 cps 2010 driving at 90kmh… seriously……

• my inspira manual got 6.3L/100km as per spec given..proven during trip to north recenlty. How come that 1.3 consume more ? something wrong alr with yr car….better sent to yr doctor for check-up !

• bonceng on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:08 pm

2,500 rpm at 100 km/h that good for national car..but still can’t beat insight which 2000rpm/100km/h…but totally cannot compare to hybrid..

• saga FLx on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:36 pm

apa la lu…kamu memang pembonceng…. sendir kutuk sendiri jawab..i

• well my BMW e39 can do better than that. why are you comparing totally different cars? why don’t you compare yourself to women since you cannot have babies?

• bonceng on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:29 pm

are u idiot or what?..both saga and insight have 1.3cc engine..that why comparable..don lie here said got BM and some more accuse me a guy..u better go to “tanjung rambutan”..ha.ha.ha..

• maserati on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:21 pm

Mofaz, i suggest u go read up and enhance ur knowledge first.

• SimulateMan on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:21 pm

Tak payah la beli Myvi tu. Mengkayakan org jepun je. If u want to buy local car, pls buy this Saga FLX. Develop by our Malaysian from scretch. Why so proud about Myvi? We shud be proud of Saga FLX. Ciss.

• Kasi kaya org jepun?

Kroni-kroni vendor parts rosak lagi lah kaya, kira OK jugak lah? Bongok!

• lol, at least the money is in our malaysian hands compared to japanese… even though those kroni got so much money, some of the money will be poured into their staff pockets which will be used to buy things in malaysia…. at least… i know that the portion is small… but i agree with you about the parts rosak laa… please proton, change your vendorsss…..

• tattoo sleeve on Jul 28, 2011 at 2:31 pm

drove viva n saga.. handling wise, viva need a major improvement, very teruk… saga much much much much better..

• saga FLx on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:40 pm

safety wise and the way viva owner drive…. viva need to taken off the road

• so many people worried if going uphill n downhill genting in d position for this cvt. Punch cvt has its own tcu which has uphill n downhill recognition will cause the ratio will increase 20 percent than normal to induce engine braking n pickup. It also identical to invecs ii in waja,gen2 n exora that have auto engine braking when it sense downhill acceleration. The only difference is this cvt not only has its own tcu, but with new 32bits ecu ems,they work hand in hand to give the best for this little 1.3 liter engine. Its not only the cvt help,but also the new ecu also including new injector timing,new cam profile timing more bias towards low rpm n iafm system that allow wider torque spread through out the rev range even in paper the max torque doent show any different. Wait for the cvt test drive unit n manual one arrive to test drive it. I’m sure u will be smiling that this saga is perform like it has a new engine, not 1.3, but seem like 1.5. Dont compare with myvi coz it nearly 100kg heavier than myvi@like two more people onboard myvi. The equal test shud be 3 people in myvi versus 1 person in saga flx,then u can get the equal weight,then u can judge the powertrain performance.if u wiling to do that,that will be fair comparison.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 29, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Good info, bro… :D

That should explain on why the Saga FLX has lower redline and yet maintains the horsepower and torque figures.

• tokmoh on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Arrgh, my comments lost? I remember I write 2 comments with links to other blog/news site, where are they? huhu -.-

I remember writing 1 with comments about the meter panel is white optitron when lit, which looks very cool.

Another with regard to another news site citing Saga 1.6 CVT will come. I just hope it’ll become true, the 1.6 with CVT will make this Saga as complete as can be!

• Malaysian on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:36 pm

Any car oso is people’s car ,their money,their own choice..
    only in this BOLEHLAND high pricing of car make it not friendly to become people’s car either p1 or p2.
    hope govt should revise policy to make car price even lower by tax reduce,we not asking subsidised,just reduce tax of everything thing so we could save more……that only truly PEOPLE’s FIRST,then only people’s car…

• Just me on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:14 pm

Asking gov to lower import duty is like asking them to prepare graveyard for P1 & P2. Will not happen at least for many years to come. Just look at Thailand/Singapore, Proton has sales office there, but how many proton you can see on the road. Close to none.

• Let me share a little secret with U…

The P2s are supposed to be sold at 15-20% (depending on model) lower than what it is now. When P2 submitted that figure to the G for approval it got rejected and was told to sell at the current prices now. No prizes for guessing why.

The G is only interested to protect P1 and no one else. END OF STORY.

• Bob Vettel on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Quote source or it’s not END OF STORY.

• Go ask any internal P2 staff. Even their IT folks know about it.

But it doesn’t matter if U believe or not. It’s the rakyat’s loss at the expense of protectionism (for a failing company).

• sukasuki on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:07 am

give us the reference of the source
          tak baik buat fitnah, nanti Tuhan marah

• Garfield on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:51 am

Sorry, I want to quote what I said earlier:-

“At the end of the day, it’s the govt policies that push the price sky high. And the car companies also cash in while complying with the policy. They may sell fewer cars but they make more margin per car. P2 especially rub their hands in glee with P1 getting the all blame.

In the case of P2, they have been getting benefit both ways. They get to sell many cars here (with their national car status) AND they make a lot of margin per car. Myvi cousins Passo and Sirion sell badly in Japan, but the Japs are thrilled to see Myvi making them a lot of money. Perodua gives higher ROI than Toyota themselves, just so u all know.

Pricing wise, Myvi could be sold cheaper. But it was never the intention of the Japs for it to be THE people’s car. Instead it was the vehicle to make more money (pun intended). Higher list price has it’s advantage anyway; at the end of the year they can afford to ‘give’ high discount to satiate the Malaysian market i.e zero downpayment purchase.”

Common knowledge, no need fitnah one…..

• smokey on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:42 pm

can i buy the new manual gearbox, springs/absorbers, antiroll bar and rear stopper separately?
    i wonder how the rear stopper looks like? i dont wan my car to sag so much…

• chanel on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:52 pm

2000rpm @ 80km/h is same as last gen VtEC City with CVT….quite impressive given its 1.3 vs 1.5…on paper of course….

• Benny on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:56 pm

Correct me if i’m wrong, but the Iswara’s 0-100km/h dash is slightly faster than that of the new Saga FLX.. Nonetheless, the FLX marks a great improvement in Proton..

• BOYRACER on Jul 28, 2011 at 3:57 pm

After reading the article, it seems that the FLX is getting better.I hope the manual gets better shift quality.Might buy 1 someday.

• callenish on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:20 pm

0-100km/h measure is really a hype created in automotive industry, what is the purpose of having those figure while you may not going to utilize it for the rest of the car life span?

traffic light drag? show-off you car is faster? then die faster?

• Benny on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Well, of course its important because it has direct correlation to the car’s acceleration, which in turn, affects everyday driving, etc.. no one wants to drive a sluggish car, right?

Good, decent acceleration comes in handy in emergency and life threatening, situations.

• normal_user on Jul 29, 2011 at 8:54 am

Well, I believe 40-90 figures are more important (for overtaking maneuvers) on single carriageway or kampung roads where slow lorries and tractors crawl.

If u tekan from standstill, ur car is going to eat lots and lots of fuel.

• Just me on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:21 pm

Fuel consumption is very bad for 1.3L car. Much worst than 1.5/1.6 Jap car.

• SquarePetrolHead on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Which Jap car? I think the new consumption values with the new transmission are very mainstream now…

• Just me on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:22 am

If you look at the data supplied by proton on 7.91L for every 100km at 120kmh, that will translate to 12.6KM/L. My 1.8 toyota can easily achieved 14 to 15km for every litre of petrol. My the other 1.6 six speeder turbo can achieved 13 to 14 km/L and yet I got much more power than proton. So which car is more Fuel save??

• Wisdom on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:56 am

Which Toyota 1.8 can get 15km/l @ 120km/h?

12km/l is acceptable but 15?

• oh why don’t you tell us that your 2.0l toyota car could achieve 21km/l like savvy and your 7 speeder turbo can achieve 15km/l like kancil?

• squall_shinoda on Jul 29, 2011 at 9:45 am

Perodua claims their MyVi to hit 17 km/L but most people can only managed to hit 11-13 km/L. Is that what you say as good?

• Just me on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:54 am

That is proabably the number they quote were from they test track, not considering extra power when overtaking car, hill climbing, etc. The number quotes by customer is a more realitic number obtain during actual driving, actual driving/road condition.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:27 pm

The problem is that there is no uniform standard for Malaysia to measure FC under realistic situations. For example, Proton uses a constant speed of 90 km/h to measure FC. Toyota uses the 10-15 mode for FC, which is unrealistic (refer to paultan’s previous posts about 10-15 mode), while Honda uses the standard set by from TISI (Thailand Industry Standard Institute). European and American carmakers use the triple-mode to measure FC (urban / highway / combined).

• KarimSopian on Aug 01, 2011 at 12:42 am

Owh..nice car you have there ya Mr. Just me. I’m sure you have all the fuel consumption numbers in hand. But, still, you do have interest in reading about Proton ya =)

Gotcha.

• AvayaCisco on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Great job, good progress but interior still sucks especially the steering wheel……

• squall_shinoda on Jul 29, 2011 at 9:32 am

What to expect… it shares the same platform with the Savvy, while the steering wheel is the same as the Satria Neo’s. If you want better design, then just wait for the Saga replacement model laa…

• AvayaCisco on Jul 29, 2011 at 3:08 pm

Actually only Exora and Inspira steering wheel look nicer…..the rest all super sucks and keep blocking the instrumental panel……

• Sparc on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:26 pm

Aren’t everyone here praised continental car? We have more than 27 Millions people in Malaysia. So negative and positive comment will always there regardless any P1 or P2. Even P3 wimax also people will complain.

If I understand correctly, the CVT gearbox is made by PUNCH – Belgium Company who also acquired German based company ZF Getriebe NV. If I understand correctly, ZF made CVT gearbox for BMW, Hyundai and Chery as well.

While people driving BMW with CVT gearbox no complain, We rakyat driving Proton with CVT gearbox also shouldn’t have any complain?Gear box EUROPEAN SPEC.

If I not mistaken, Campro engine developed by Lotus-Proton Engineer too. Engine EUROPEAN SPEC. Emission, not sure!

Not sure, but I believe Chasis + Handling also developed by Lotus-Proton too. Handling EUROPEAN SPEC.

Crash Test to meet NCAP.Safety EUROPEAN SPEC.

While I’m a bit off topic now, but I do support Proton 100% to penetrate European Market and let them open their eyes that we can meet the stringent requirement imposed by them.

So, we must support them. I always proud to see Proton’s Car cruising in other country and make me think back my little 15 years old Satria back home. Haha, that’s UK spec with Airbag too!

Always the main problem is replacing the parts which come from nowhere, repaired by unqualified mechanics, use parts not complied to the original spec, modification, add bodykit, etc. after all, blame the manufacturer for providing low quality parts.

No argument that all parties need to responsible, from Car manufacturer, vendors, authorized service center, owner as well…

I can see the improvement for Proton Savvy, Proton Saga, Proton Exora and Proton Inspira, Proton Persona compare to year 2000 – 2006 Wira, waja, gen 2

So Good Luck ! and I’m waiting you Persona R turbo campro.Don’t let me disappointed !

• Dr.SD on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:11 pm

u are pure Malaysian spirit..love ur comment

• RedBeanBun on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:15 pm

u are pure Malaysian politician/parts supplier spirit…love ur comment…..

we will think after read…sorry..

• Sparc on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:44 am

Oh ya, forget to tell….Proton is least likely to suffer mechanical breakdown….fifth place against, Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Mazda. But how they record it, I have no idea…

I’m not part of any politician or parts supplier. I’m just a construction engineer.

My 15 years old satria clocked 250k km.

1 time top overhauled, 2 times timing belt changed, 1 time radiator tank changed, 2 times water pump changed, 2 times distributer changed, 1 time carburetor changed, 1 time brake pump changed, 3 times absorber changed, 3 times aircon cooling coil changed, 1 times steering rack changed, 1 time drive shaft changed, 1 time power window changed, 1 time alarm system changed, 3 times clutch set changed.

Is that too much to maintain a 15 years old car since day 1?

Why I changed so many times? because when i change, some parts I use 2nd recond parts. Cheaper compare to new and original parts. If we ask around Proton owner, how many of them will replace with new and original parts. So the chances to breakdown again is higher.

• Since Malaysians can’t buy this Saga with Saudi Arabia Proton price (starts from RM19,299.00), then Proton must give Life-Time Warranty with Life-Time Free Parts & Labour to local Proton car buyers as fair compensation.
    Now that’s worth the oath-taking (Proton quality pledge) and the extortionate NAP price.

Proton Life-Time Warranty with Life-Time Free Parts & Labour!

• shawal on Jul 28, 2011 at 4:32 pm

if you like hatchbacks, get a myvi, tho the top-spec is not cheap, if you must have a 3-box sedan , get the top-spec saga FLX, either way, both are good cars…

• i heard some stories that cvt may attracts ghost at highways compare to normal auto or manual. be careful those who drive late at nite with this car.

• Hahaha….this is a fantastic comment.

I hope more people Likes this. I did.

• SquarePetrolHead on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Errr… what u hear and where u hear?? Really relevant meh??

• Faddd on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:22 pm

Where the heck you get that idea? the most silliest thing I’ve heard…..

• blackjkx on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:59 pm

hahahaha..thanks for making me laugh before going home from work today, mate.
      Anyway, look forward to this model.

• BadBET on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:37 pm

hohoho… now I know why VW use the DSG, thanks man.. you enlighten me

• sukasuki on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:13 am

wow! so lets test drive saga FLX at Karak Highway. maybe hantu look alike kilafairy will appear. ngeh3. or maya karin :p

last nov 2010 I drove hilux vigo down to kl from terengganu, driving thru karak at 3pm also meet hantu what? alone driving and meet hantu. serious.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 29, 2011 at 9:27 am

Hahaha… lawak la bro… it reminds me of a Proton ad a few years ago about a pontianak being thrown out of a Waja for not wearing the rear seatbelt.

• May be there are some truth in the story. CVT engine is quieter than non-CVT and ghost is more likely to appear in quiet rather than noisy place heh..heh.

• mohsin on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:02 pm

Proton,
    Pls handover Saga FLX to PT for comprehensive test drive!
    Kasi pinjam la utk satu bulan!
    What say you?

• seven on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Have you check out the Saga FLX website? http://www.epicsaga.com.my/ looks nice, but this article tell me more about the car though =P

• Faddd on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:27 pm

Great review by Anthony Lim, very full of information and pics….., so condense.

Nobody mention the Getrag 5 speed transmission? from what I heard, that g-box is bulletproof…..!

• Sonic Boomz on Jul 28, 2011 at 5:35 pm

Don’t miss this opportunity!

Buy this Proton Saga and we guarantee you’re an idiot!

• Annoynimal on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:01 pm

Nice review…

• This is the cheapest, lowest spec entry level car from the Proton stable. What you guys expect? Gosh. Btw, this is a great car for the budget conscious consumers. If you are rich, got get a Toyota or Honda. OK?

• jolly_idiot on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:17 pm

The video shows macam no power. Slow dragging from 0-100km/h. Gearbox setting problem?

• LauBeh on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Full accelation to 100km/h: 14seconds
    SAT Accelation to 100km/h: 14seconds +/-
    Normal Accelation to 100km/h: 30seconds………zzZZZZZ
    Jeremy Clarkson won’t be too please if he got his hand on this in Top Gear :P

• Consumerism on Jul 28, 2011 at 10:54 pm

and give us one reason why malaysian should listen to him in the first place?

• BadBET on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Jeremy who?

• Rockmebaby on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:00 am

I can bet all my money, more people know about Jeremy than all Proton & Perodua car driver put together. Any one want to take this bet???

• Let’s face it, we don’t expect Protong Blind supporters to know who’s Encik Jeremy Clarkson. But if you ask them who is Mawi (from AF) they’ll might recognize. We are in the BolehLand afterall.

These type of people that likes to watch berita TV1 at 8.00pm, pat themselves on the shoulders and to live in a fabricated world of “dunia angan-angan mat jenin”. Hoping that Protong “Petiais” Juara MPV would be “setanding dengan” Toyota Alphard or Honda Oddysey. Afterall, that’s the only brand these unfortunate people gonna to drive for the rest of their lives.

• DewaSemut on Jul 29, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Bro… looking at what u say it seems its a “big sin” to use Proton cars… please don’t label Proton car owners as having a low life etc.. etc…

whatever car that ppl used they bought it with their hard earned money and they are not asking a single cent from you!!! It’s their life.. they can whatever they like – daydream kaa, apa kaa… it’s their right and it has nothing has to do with you. Even a Mercedes or BMW owner wanted to “berangan-angan” driving a Ferrari, Rolls Royce or a Bugatti… it’s a perfectly fine, coz it’s their right to do so!!! Call you call these ppl unfortunate also, ah?

• You didn’t read the details, details buddy, details buddy, you miss out the details, you’ll miss out everything!

“Let’s face it, we don’t expect Protong Blind supporters…”

That’s the keyword I’m referring too. Unless you’re one of them. Blind and fooled. By the way I did owned Persona and Gen2 CPS. All sold to some unlucky customers. Hope they have better luck with both cars that cost me like an import to maintain.

Please do not mislead my statement. Don’t make me your “batu loncatan”. Get your own original idea.

• Cik jah on Jul 29, 2011 at 7:40 pm

What is so great about that old engilshman….

• Julian Lee on Jul 28, 2011 at 6:47 pm

I think BMW transmission better

• alistair lim li wei on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:18 pm

then go and buy a BMW.

• sukasuki on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:20 am

my fren, he tells me beware of BMW
      last year his father E60 525i go for gearbox repair, costs rm21k
      not changing new one, but just repair it.

BMW = Banyak Masuk Workshop

*by the way, i am a proud driver of saga kereta kebal, mercedes SL320 R129 and volkswagen beetle 1.6 1963

• paul any videos that show the FLX cruising 2500rpm at 100?

my perception is that this can be achieved only at constant speed. any jab on the accelerator it will surge the tachometer.
    or if the car in heavy load probably it tend to up ratio to suit the power match load. same as the situation of the car moving up gradient .therefore it could be 2500 + or ++

• cappucion on Jul 28, 2011 at 8:52 pm

I think I can rev my fren’s basic iswara using 3 gear to reach 100km/h in less than 10seconds.

1st gear: 60km/h
    2nd gear: 80km/h
    3rd gear can go up to 110km/h.. i think this is why i love manual. fully in control of the speed.

• Benny on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:49 am

Yeah, i think you are right. The Iswara (manual version, of course) does feel quite lively.. I drove the Saga BLM a couple of times..it felt rather sluggish…. the new FLX with CVT should see some improvement, but not drastic enough to be much punchier than the old iswara..

• RedBeanBun on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Why always try choose P1 Saga over P2 Myvi, Viva, etc and claim value for money (please, NO CAR in malaysia is value for money. Car is expenses, not investment)

P1 should build a car that can match Vios/City/207 in quality, and lower price. Only until then, P1 can call it a success.

Its always P1 vs P2, that is the mental problem. Always compete internally, but not globally.

• you are right about the value of money, but for people who has average income, they have no choice but to buy national car. Furthermore, a so called basic “imported car” like Toyota VIOS is 2x more expensive than Saga BLM, but the build quality definitely not 2x.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 29, 2011 at 7:46 am

A Corolla in USA selling at what Saga price now. What does it reflect?

Saga is making money, by providing less quality due to the rule of the game side their way.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 29, 2011 at 7:49 am

The choice is taken away by father of proton when it first launched.

The average income people consumer benefits has been took off from day1 (only they don’t realized and blindly follow only)

• Expatriate VN on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:57 am

Yes correct, buying Proton is just like keep on voting BN, and let them suck the consumers/rakyat like there is no tommorow!

• asgard on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:31 pm

i vote for BN but i didnt buy proton

• Unforgiven on Jul 30, 2011 at 3:56 pm

True, the dirty money is anytime for a Mercedes Benz. Brabus from Naza is also a piece of cake.

• dick10 on Jul 29, 2011 at 3:43 am

aren’t they fighting with T and H already? your dugong car got ABS and EBD anot?

• bonceng on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:45 pm

that why it’s call Proton ‘katak bawah tempurung” coz proton cybertroop here only dare to compare to P2 only..

• makeitmine on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:31 pm

Looking at past Proton offerings: Campro, Campro IAFM, Campro CPS,..Smart guy will not be in hurry to buy this Campro IAFM+CVT because there is ALWAYS flaw in each model.

Furthermore, owning a Proton car is a pain than a gain.

I also see little soundproofing to improve the NVH in this model.

Instead I recommend Proton R&D to go back to the drawing board and rationalise what they should be improving the Proton Saga 1.3 in the next 6 months.

Proton engineers should have developed Saga 1.3 as having the driving feel like a 1.6+ L car by increasing torque, faster 0-100km/h, signature engine/exhaust sound, etc.

If not, the current Saga 1.3l is meant for uncles and aunties who are short of hearing and have little concern about NVH.. Moreover using the car, they will suffer from heart attack by revving hard to move this car from point a to point b.

This car is not for the young at heart who needs a comfortable drive to work and drives at low rev (60-80km/h) leisurely.

• shuhaimi on Jul 28, 2011 at 11:59 pm

wth are you talking about? we are talking about basic car here, not some kind of “subaru” type of car.. signature engine/exhaust sound? what? this is not supercar..

• Dr.SD on Jul 29, 2011 at 1:24 am

pilihan dipasaran untuk kereta bawah 45K….(viva, myvi & saga), sila buat uji pandu dan upload comment anda disini, saya dan rakyat malaysia menanti review dr En Makeitmine

terima kasih atas kejujuran yg diberikan

• sukasuki on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:23 am

i dont prefer family sedan car with sportscar exhaust sound
      u want boombastic sound, go for sportscar la

subaru impreza version 8 just rm120k ++ for 2nd hand rite now, go get it la

do u ever bring elder people inside sport exhaust sound family sedan car? sure u get curse kaw2 punya

i have that experience b4, pening kepala wooo

• makeitmine on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:03 pm

Friends, you lack understanding of what is a signature exhaust sound that is mentioned required from Proton cars.

Right now, I can say that there is a gap between Proton engineering capability Vs Proton Marketing capability.

Proton engineers can build a great car but marketing people says hold on.. who will buy? The game has been going on for decades.. but marketing people failed to see that although Proton Satria Neo sales volume is small, but it contributed the greatest in marketing the Proton brand in Rally.

From engineering point of view, the exhaust system may feature larger tubing for increase power without the typical drone or boom usually associated with Campro when installing larger diameter pipes. The Active noise cancelling chamber eliminates the drone while creating a more pleasant driving experience.

Key Features
        – Large 3-inch mandrel bent tubing for maximum flow
        – Durable, polished 100% 304 stainless steel
        – Double-walled 90mm signature stainless tips
        – Adjustable Tips for straight even design or the staggered look
        – Improved midrange power & torque
        – Gains of 12-15 HP over stock configuration; Additional HP with ECU programming

Performance Specs
        – Power 15+ HP
        – Torque 7+ Ft Lbs

In addition, by reworking on the Active Noise-Canceling Muffler on Proton cars, the results can be are as follows:

1.By using an active muffler the exhaust noise can be easily tuned, amplified, or nearly eliminated.
        2.The backpressure of a conventional muffler can be essentially eliminated, thus increasing engine performance and efficiency.
        3.By increasing engine efficiency and performance, less fuel will be used and the emissions will be reduced

Imagine a 1.3l Saga with 109 HP (94+15) and 127 NM (120+7) torque.. it is much closer to current Persona 1.6l and not to mention better fuel efficiency.

• FanaCorner on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:05 am

ape2 pun syabas to Tan Sri Haji Syed Zainal yg bwk perubahan ketara pada Proton. byk baikpulih kualiti & pengenalan teknologi baru yang di hasilkan serta produk2 baru yg telah & akan dikeluarkan. Teruskan usaha dalam baikpulih & peningkatan kualiti ke tahap yang sepatutnya & berterusan.

* byk komen buruk dari yg baik diutarakan adalah kerana pengalaman pahit yg dilalui oleh pengguna proton termasuk diri saya sendiri. setidak tidaknya proton sekarang terus menambah baik kualiti dari tak buat langsung…. ADA BETUL??????

• sukasuki on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:31 am

betol2. my brother get rid of his waja after countless problems and repairs. go for 2nd hand EG9 Honda Civic. engine tip top no problem, just a bit rust problem on the body. i drive a saga kereta kebal (LMST), all over is good, and most of people says that mine is among the fuel efficient and good condition saga ever seen before. but i have power window problem with mercedes benz SL320 R129 that my uncle borrowed to me last time. malu woo bayar tol kat sg besi, bukak pintu. dahla pkai mercedes! I guess im very lucky of getting good proton saga, its a luck actually. maybe not many people do have good luck with their proton as me. its your own experience and thought, so i think every people should complaint, but please no bashing. no bad words, please use good words, coz it shows how matured you are and the level of your thinking and your civic. cheers! :D

• zainal abidin on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:27 pm

I own and drive an FL auto bought in January 2011. So far so good, TQ Proton, everything is reliable enough – power windows included. The only gripe with with car is I get only ~ 330km urban and ~ 460km highway (full tank), because of the 40L tank. Proton should have introduced a 45L tank in the FLX. If I were to buy this FLX I’d get the 1.6 one.

• squall_shinoda on Jul 29, 2011 at 4:20 pm

The bad thing is that in order to get a larger fuel tank, you’ll need to sacrifice the boot space because normally a typical fuel tank is located under the rear seat (except for certain cars like Honda City which has its fuel tank below front seats).

• Izhar on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:58 pm

bagus lah lu bro…mmg betul sume kete ada masalah masing2.bila rosak mmg complaint nyer…standard lah tuh.pengalaman mengajar kiter…kalau aku xpakai kete yang wat hal..aku rasa mmg aku xkan tau pasal kete. dulu nak check minyak itam pun xtau..tp sekarang kalau tukor skit2 barang bolehlah…proton dulu mmg ada problem, masa start zaman wira mula dalam pasaran…dulu pun aku kutuk gak proton…tp masa aku kutuk dulu, zaman tuh aku masih bangang lg…xtau ape2…kutuk sedap mulut jer…tp lepas tgk dari tahun ke tahun dan aku sendiri amik tau pasal kete…aku nampak proton improve.
        pada aku, kite ni kene faham kete kite..kalau beli kete first hand, kite dapat tau pe’el kete kite dari awal…pendapat orang2 pengalaman pun kene tanya gak..membantu untuk melambatkan part kete rosak..maksud aku lifespan part tuh boleh lanjutkan lg.
        orang sekarang untung, baru keje boleh beli kete 0 downpayment pastu bayar installment 9 thn. road tax below 1.6 pun murah…service centre dan bengkel pun bersepah…dulu kalau kata orang pakai kete ni..kire orang berduit jer…

• Wisdom on Jul 29, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Yeah. That keta kebal is good workhorse. No need civic.:)

• akinablue on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:26 am

betul betul betul :-)

• A note of concern though, Proton mentioned that the CVT has a service life of 200,000kms (actually, it depends on driving conditions, etc etc..) , after which I reckon it will have to be replaced, and doing so would be an expensive affair as CVTs cost a bomb.. Perhaps the manual version might still be the better option after all, as manual gearboxes are much more durable and can last way longer… What do you guys think? =)

• loveit on Jul 29, 2011 at 7:06 am

I don’t think I ever top 200,000 km on any car that I drove before (and I’m driving now)…those who did that is the laziest person in world (never use foot at all to move)

• Well, some people have to drive long distances due to the nature of their work, etc. and will reach more than 200k very quickly.. can’t simply generalize and say that they are lazy, right? hahaha..

• kamaji on Jul 29, 2011 at 4:05 pm

So I guess salesman, taxi drivers, construction workers, businessman etc are a bunch of laziest ppl in the world huh…… cant really imagine that.

• udasalleh on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:12 am

its ok i guess… since most people would have got rid of their cars long before it reaches 200k.

• MoFaz on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:13 am

the prie difference between Saga FL 4AT with this Saga FLX CVT is just about RM1-2k. ABS+EBD also included in the price difference. i don’t see that Proton’s CVT cost a bomb, because I can’t buy bomb with RM1k.

• once cap ayam remains a cap ayam looooo

• kamaji on Jul 29, 2011 at 1:27 pm

You mean my favourite canned sardin. It’s always good.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 29, 2011 at 3:09 pm

For food – I think he means canned tuna cap ayam, good breakfast = tuna + mayonnaise + roti.

For Proton – If he means car, even though Inspira rebadged from Lancer, it remain suxx x 10 time. Needless to say Saga = buntut + Savvy (TUV certified).

• sukasuki on Jul 29, 2011 at 8:15 pm

why so butthurt?? ur butt already being hit by savvy+buntut = saga ka??

• fatiha on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:04 am

hopefully this saga have more refine manual gearbox…..becoz the FL when hitting 17+km/h the rev meter are at staggering 6000rpm….and at normal highway speed (110km/h) the rev meter read at nearly 4000 rpm….good job proton

• Harry Plotter on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:29 am

true..my sentra 1.6 110km/h @ 3000rpm…maybe 1.3 get higher rpm..

• DewaSemut on Jul 29, 2011 at 3:57 pm

saga FL nak bawak sampai 170+km/h buat aper? nak terbang ker?

• fatiha on Jul 29, 2011 at 4:06 pm

tu sje nk test power je……nk tau laju maximum bole sampai berapa…..

• Dr.Sd on Jul 29, 2011 at 7:24 pm

bawak laju pun sampai kat tol kena berhenti jugak…nak pulak tol kena beratur, apa yg dapat? minyak kena bakar + engine working in hard condition, ikut ja speed limit peace in mine surat saman pun x sampai

• izack04 on Aug 01, 2011 at 11:43 am

Betul ke 110kmh rpm dekat 4000?????
      Macam b16a gearbox….

• P1 latest model looks promising,but has P1 sort out the quality issues that plagued earlier models?I just don’t have the comfidence in P1 &P2.My wife’s Myvi power windows failed on 3 sides after 1 year.It will cost me $200 to fix one..and then there’s no guarantee it will fail again.I buy a new car,expecting a peace of mind,not to trouble me here and there.Quality is the single most important stigma affecting locally produced cars and if it isn’t sorted out soon,perception will not change for the better.Msians mostly buy P1 &P2 becos they r affordable,not becos they’re in love with it..once we become more affluent,we buy korean/jap cars..and that’s a fact.

• 1 year no warranty already?

• DewaSemut on Jul 29, 2011 at 3:55 pm

Within a year should have been covered under warranty bro… in not P2 conned ppl laa like that!

• fully agree , peoples bought the car because these 2 brand are most affordable , not because of patriotism , but the thing is the quality of these 2 brands are so so , even for new car , there are a lot of issues …

• wait until you now how bad japs car handling is lol

• I use to own a civic ES model and i can vouch for the supreme ride comfort and great handling.Quality is top notch,everything worked perfectly for 6 yrs..something that took me sometime to get used to as i drove a Waja before this.Every time i send in the car for service,i just have to say ‘Regular service’ only..no prob whatsoever.Honda even calls you a week later for service feed back.

In every car there r bound to have parts failure,but it’s much much higher in P1 &P2.In regard to foreign cars,it’s really your bad luck to have a defective car,but in case of P1/P2 it seems to be your bloody good luck to have a defective free car.Local car manufacturers,give us a good, reliable, up to date tech cars at an affordable price, and i’m sure Msian will be appreciative and supportive of your models.

• Izhar on Jul 29, 2011 at 12:34 pm

GOOD JOB PROTON!!!improve, improve, improve…

• kamaji on Jul 29, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Looks like P1 is going west for tranny instead of the jap make…anybody can share this bcos in my opinion euro parts are always more expensive to replace.Whichever, proton must hv a capable team of expert to troubleshoot or re-building the entire cvt box b4 or after the warranty period.Afterall it’s cost a big fortune to replace one.Looking forward to test drive soon.

• chanel on Jul 29, 2011 at 3:27 pm

with improvement carried out on the performance side to better enhance FC…wonder if the ergonomic side was improve, it’s not NVH i’m talking, eco car dont expect good NVH.. I’m more to the concern of the pedal footing of the Auto version as I’m owned one…seem for me the gas & brake pedal are not so ergonomically positioned…the brake is higher than gas pedal, so u need to lift you leg to press the brake…2. both gas pedal & brake shall be made further closer to the firewall compare to pre-FL version…my knee cant stand long to drive this….our knee always on bending position…shall design to allowed our knee to be more straight….

• this is very true, what proton should do is either make a telescopic adjustment steering so that the seat to pushed back to release the strain on feet at the same time the steering within a good reach.
      or proton makes the steering wheel closer or longer hub so that a good steering reach with relaxed feet.

we cant have proton steering reach far, because the heavy nature of the steering really need a strong hand. if the steering a bit closer turning a heavy steering will make easier.

or else proton makes a lighter effort steering.

or solutions,,,, remove original steering, put boss kit, put guick release hub, put a half inch steering spacer and put 14 inch sport steering. (second hand momo)
      but wiper and turn signal switch handle a bit hard to reach but ok

• or you can put a deep dish sport steering with boss kit that will extend the steering wheel towards you and you’ll be able to slide the seat a bit backward hence you will have a relaxed feet and braking without having to bend your knee or literally raise your leg.

anyway we know that the paddle arangemet is not the best.
      we hope PROTON TAKES NOTE.
      (comment for the batterment0

• ApaMacam on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:37 pm

jom beli proton FLX sebelum stok habis .

• Edmond on Jul 29, 2011 at 5:59 pm

wonder when will possible to change my current saga to CVT. Wonder how much is the total cost?

• chanel on Jul 30, 2011 at 12:23 am

i’m wondering too, my own car was vtec city with cvt. very much like the seemless driving….with honda cvt, for super precaution purpose, they ask us to change CVTF every 20k, costing about rm 120….ironically, my wifey Saga which im driving it lately, just sent for 20k major…; (20k consider a major service by proton)…it cost me about rm 410…changed semi oil, oil filter, gearbox oil (rm 155 for 5L), spark plug, & labour,…why normal 4AT need change gbox oil every 20K??? any idea???

wonder how about FLX CVT maintenance???

• tm_guy on Jul 31, 2011 at 5:59 pm

no need to change GB oil in SAGA BLM or FL 4AT every 20k…
        it was stated in the manual book, every 40k only…
        please make it clear before you sign the service sheets…

• Seriously chanel is right. i had the same case too…

now, im scared everytime my next 20k service coming in…im due for my 40k service soon… erkKk!!!

• SAGA BeLum Masak 1.6 on Nov 03, 2011 at 7:45 pm

It’s because the gearbox can easily masuk air, especially during this monsoon

• should be every 40k.. change service center, there s a lot of service center bulshitting customer..

• 7.68 L/100km equals to 36.78mpg (UK). That is worse than BMW 318i Auto, which has 42.8mpg, 143bhp, 140Lbs/ft and excellent driving ride handling pleasure! Interestingly BMW 318i kerb weight is 1390kg! Talk about engine efficiency, if that big engine of BMW can pull extra 200kg of weight than this Saga yet still gives 6mpg more than the Saga-FL… what are the Proton boys are boasting about again? Efficiency? Fuel consumption? What..? What? hehe

• roman on Jul 29, 2011 at 8:15 pm

oh i think you don’t have to give comment because you don’t even know how to differentiate between orange and apple

poor you

• Expatriate VN on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:59 am

I think you are the one that better not to give comment! mpg comment is world benchmarking about fuel efficiency engine irrespective of price comparison. You are the one keep on insisting for Jaguh Kampong to conduct ayam kampong cock fighting while mpg talk about best of the best, world class players engage in stallion horse racing.

• tussi on Jul 30, 2011 at 9:23 pm

hello you buy car with what? with your comment or money?
          where do you live actually, heaven? everything is free?
          wake up please , world benchmarking is nothing here unless all people can afford all cars

• lambert on Jul 30, 2011 at 9:26 pm

you don’t know anything about world class champion neo do you?

• Yeah go buy a BMW then, about 6 times more expensive, the cost of service, again expensive, how long will you have to save if you save on patrol to equal the save on buying a cheaper Saga FLX high line.

• I agree with what mpg said.. the thing is, because of the heavy import duties and tax imposed on foreign cars here, cars like BMWs are expensive. But that doesn’t mean Proton can just be satisfied..they’ve got to keep pushing on for better fuel economy, driving dynamics, etc.. it has to keep getting better in order to be competitive when the automotive market is finally rationalized here in Malaysia.. well, at least they’re taking steps towards that.. at least they’re doing something..but guys, you can’t say that mpg doesn’t know how to differentiate between an orange and an apple.. the fact is, if not for the tax, cars like Honda City will be as cheap as the Saga..and the City is already far more fuel efficient..as high as 23km/l.. No excuse for Proton to stay stagnant.. thankfully they’re doing something about it.

• I’ve looked at car prices in Langkawi, the City is more than RM60,000.. still more expensive than Saga.

• webby on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:15 am

do something also wrong, what la you guys
        honda is an old player , want to compare with proton?
        the proton ev car is still under development,
        proton is coming!

• Get rid import duty and all the tax… it’s still expensive than this flx. lol

• hi mpg, why u compare bmw 318i n with saga flx 1.3? Its 1.8 versus 1.3 engine n u also mentioned on the power fiqure of 1.8 compare to 1.3, of course la 1.3 kalah. If u want to quote power figure, why not quoting bmw prince na engine versus proton own 1.6 cps,is it so far away the figure? N for fuel comsumption, u cannot used direct comparison from bmw uk, get fc from bmw malaysia n then u can compare. By the way, mr syoh, lama xjumpe? Sedap mulut ckp blind supporter, ko tu blind basher. Sapa yg blind sbenarnya? Dulu ko kata ko beli waja,ckp byk problem, pastu duk sumpah2 n serik, pastu ko cakap ko beli persona plak, duk sumpah2 gak n serik, pastu ko beli gen2 cps (walupun tau gen2 n persona adik bradik,kalu penyakit,kdg2 sama jer), pastu ckp serik n mrh2. Apa ni, kalu dah serik,patut xyah beli. Aku masih ingat ko ada ckp dulu nk bg chance pad persona, tp ada problem gak,ko ckp ni yg last, tp beli gak gen2 cps(gen2 cps kuar pas persona kuar). Apa kes ko nih, sakit mental ke? Pastu jual kete problematik kat org, ada bgtau owner dia x problem aper kete ko? Kalu jual kt tgn org kena bgtau kalu x maksudnya ko menipu n menganiaya org,brdosa tau. Ops lupa, ko kan mental,so xda masalah.

• Bob Vettel on Jul 30, 2011 at 12:13 pm

Obviously, the BMW has better power to weight ratio than the Proton, meaning that the car don’t need to run the engine at higher RPM to achieve similar speeds.

Top Gear once did a test back in series 14 or 15 pitting a BMW M3 & Toyota Prius running 10 laps at speed. The BMW had better fuel economy than the Prius! It’s hardly an apple to apple comparison.

• so what if even bmw is better , i’d rather put my money for house, go to hell with expensive car then losing much due to depreciation

• hantu on Aug 01, 2011 at 1:00 am

hwi dude..u buy small house RM150K, i buy bonglow RM500K…u want compare for what..what the

• fraz006 on Aug 12, 2011 at 5:37 pm

Here, 7 FLXs= 1BMW. conclusion, u still lose more money no matter what. BMW save petrol a lot also u lose money to other things: initial price, maintenance, 2nd hand value, taxes.

why people so concern about FC? money, right? it got no point other than berlagak comment online. in malaysia, you have to change ur mindset a bit.

• CVT tech the same as skuter V100, VS125, yamaha LC bla bla..the only different thing it does’nt use timing belt but a timing steel (sama dgn timing chain)..just imagine put a skuter in your car…

• clavicle on Jul 30, 2011 at 1:07 am

if they put disc brake at behind will be much better…handling(even got ABS), & cosmetic..anyway,nice job PROTON!!

• makeitmine on Jul 30, 2011 at 9:50 am

Why would people buy this car?

First time car buyer who are ignorant about fuel consumption, 0-100km/h, NVH, and torque will regret the rest of the years owning the car.

You pay what you get.. affordable now but you may end up paying more after warranty. Be wise. As fuel price increases, you may get better cars with what you are paying now and lower resale value of what you currently own.

• so,which car i a better buy? may end up more after warranty? if warranty is five years, just sell it after that,case closed. if buying vios with more 30k more,so is it better than buy this saga becoz can save u alot???save what???with diff of 30 k, u can get invest for your future n your children of course. car never end been a good prperty becoz it depreciate. dont tell me if u buy vios today at 75k, after 5 years become 100k??? i learned a lot on investment bcoz im an account degree holder, never heard cars make good investment unless the classic one@collectors items.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 01, 2011 at 11:54 am

Are you a desperate Perodua salesman or what? The Saga is intended to be the rakyat’s car, to provide most average Malaysians with basic means of transportation for their families, so that people who previously cannot afford to buy a family car can finally have one. The Volkswagen Beetle, Tata Nano and even the earliest Honda Civic models were built to be the rakyat’s cars of their respective countries.

• rakyat_my_foot on Aug 02, 2011 at 7:57 pm

Forget about the rakyat.. if they can’t afford a real car, they can’t afford the rising fuel cost to maintain a car.

Proton is not a rakyat company, it exists like any other company to make money. With high FC, you only helping the government to make money out of you or bankrupting the government with fuel subsidy!

• fraz006 on Aug 12, 2011 at 5:56 pm

nooooo lahhh

u buy vios or honda city or kia, after several years u want to sell back. of coz la in term of percentage price drop wont seem so much.

tell u what, even proton cars price drop percentage might seem bigger, the money lost is actually smaller compared to imports… trust me..

people talk like that coz they alredy bought imports. they want to feel sedap hati sikit. actually, sama aja the amount of money u lost in total, can even be more, compared to proton, why? simple the initial price is like 2x local cars.

• Mentari-o-korea on Jul 30, 2011 at 3:15 pm

Korean car manufacturer will laughing lookin at this llatest technology fr proton. They said, thats all u have proton???

• Unforgiven on Jul 30, 2011 at 4:06 pm

Sorry, they won’t compare with Proton.
      Korean’s cars are everywhere in the world.
      They are fighting with the better.

Who on earth actually wanna fight with proton? VW? Daihatsu?
      We all know that when you drive a proton, you are driving the No1 car in Malaysia.

• bongek on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:02 pm

u know what….korea actually laughing at you…

• this guy/girl must be K-pop punk

• tripod on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:12 pm

60:40 foldable rear seat is still missing.. ‘sigh’

• Jonathan Lee on Jul 31, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Agree with the reviewer here, the “gear changes” while in SAT mode is a bit sluggish.

Have to enquire, are the FLX models going to replace all the existing FL models in Proton’s lineup? If not, then what’s the point of retaining them?

• agree! + fuel consumption tinggi sikit…

wish i can trade for the FLX now! jimat petrol :-)

everything else on new saga is just ‘A’ OK !

• query on Aug 03, 2011 at 5:48 pm

can install NGV fuel system to this FLX campro IAFM+ CVT ?

• zainal abidin on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:06 am

Install NGV at your own peril! If you do wish to install NGV, insist the installer give you @ the car comprehensive warranty coverage just in case the modified systems fail (that includes standard engine / fuel related items modified to accept NGV). Usually the expensive ones get that but the cheap ones as fitted to taxi’s are the ones you have to be careful about.

Otherwise it’s going to be very very very messy later when the car’s warranty becomes void due to modification to affected parts.

• when saga flx 1.6 will be launched? any info on this/

• Sya Isya on Aug 05, 2011 at 1:52 am

i still haven’t chance to have a look for this FLX. wanna try it also

• cvt are good.congratulation.proton in the right way.

• abg.tinggi on Aug 08, 2011 at 12:29 am

government is taxing our cars also still can considered good. if no high taxing, all the cars in malaysia will become cheap, and alot of malaysians will afford to buy car and by that time, our traffic will always jammed. do u all want this?

and if government reduce the tax for our local make cars, the price sure will become more affordable, and at the same time the government implements above 10 years cars to get scrap. make 9 yrs loan, after 2 yrs, say good bye to ur beloved car.

u all want this??

• jl@ipl on Aug 09, 2011 at 9:37 am

Guys,

Any news on the CVT gearbox warranty?

I remember that, the C***’s CVT’s belt come with lifetime warranty. ( But the whole gearbox does not ).

• mountainlee on Aug 16, 2011 at 8:12 am

I LIKE IT

• from bro mat

. Just read something interesting at lowyat.net, new owner of saga flx report on fc, for rm 35.70, manage to get 245km which translate 13km perlitre. 70pcent town 30 pcent highway, speed average 80-90kmh n sometimes 100-110kmh. For a new car with tight engine especially cast iron block,this is really good. After running in the engine,it will be better. One more thing,he mentioned the highest rev he had done was 2.5k rpm only. Wow,pretty low for 1.3 engine even for overtake which he mentioned some times he over take other cars.

• Actually current CVT had improved SAGA BLM power to weight ratio, overtake a car is much more easier than much more listen to driver foot. Just not so confident on the realiability, did Proton install the gearbox oil cooler or not? 6 years on engine and gearbox or 300K mileage warranty will be more attractive…

Reliability was the crucial point beside price. Hopefully it can last at least 8 years w/o major problem then it was the best and affordable sedan ever made for people.

My family got 1 SAGA BLM 2009. So far so good except FC ok ok only but still better than proton wira 1.5A

• cvtf cooler positioned vertically, quite sizable for the function.

• hi guys.. wana know which car is better.. FL 1.6 or FLX 1.3..

• Rentap on Sep 04, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Tahniah sekali lagi proton kerana FLXnya cuma proton kena ingat bahagian yang dipanggil “ASSY-TENSIONER ACC DRIVE ( injin campro) kerap mengeluarkan bunyi bising bila diganti mencecah RM400.00(habis jaminan). Cuba baiki kelemahan alat itu wahai proton…

• Rentap on Sep 04, 2011 at 1:45 pm

Bahagian yang dipanggil ” ASSY-TENSIONER ACC DRIVE” pada kereta proton campro selalu mengeluarkan bunyi bising,bila diganti harganya hampir RM400.00,jadi proton kenalah mencari penyelesaian tentang bahagian itu.Rugi besar pembeli proton berinjin campro. Namun sy tetap setia pada proton 1 Malaysia.

• Tezara Cionita on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:57 am

I am an Indonesian living in kuala lumpur. I am going my Phd in UPM. i brought a proton saga fl because it have a big boot space and it is comfortable for 4 person to sit in. Car in Malaysia are very expensive compare to indonesia. I would not have brought a proton saga if not for the cheap price and the size. to me myvi is too small and very expensive.

I drive a toyota vios in jakarta for your information.

Miss Tezara Cionita

• Sobear on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:12 pm

Anyone bought n driving the Flx.

Test drive is different from owning it.

Just got the FL before Raya as FLX no stock then. Also afraid new CVT running hot, need to spend more to change gear oil…..

The FL auto gear a bit dissappointing but acceptable lah.

• cvt running hot?
      they got cvt cooler radiator.
      you know what, proton will change normal from 4 speed to cvt ,all, newer maodel will have all cvt.

• Sobear on Sep 18, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Already took the FL, follow salesman pitch……..kind of regret but also afraid of long-term CVT reliability.

Short-term defnitely CVT better. Salesman said CVT also need to change gear oil more often? The big cooler sitting in front of the radiator was what made me afraid the most, very visible unit……..if bump bump bump…..cooler jams……….adoi.

• pentium 4 on Sep 19, 2011 at 8:35 pm

How long Proton give warranty for the CVT gearbox? Is it every 10 000 km we need to change the gearbox oil?

• PE service center will answer all your doubts.
            talking about cvt,
            nissan teana, nissan x trail, they are all big cars using cvt.
            latest mira japanese k car that might one day be a viva replacement is cvt.

• if bump bump. once bump it gives you a headache. what ever car , no matter proton toyota honda mercedes bmw.

so this is no issue.its something that everyone dont want it.

• if you are talking about cvt unreliable.
          you are talking about years of late 80s and early 90s thats the period where cvt hasnt refined in its design.

so 20 later…………now cvt is used even in bigger car with bigger torque.

• same talk proton gave about the outgoing savvy AMT like oredi in use in many modern cars but come to proton, the SC themselves dont know how to fix and solve when problems appear. Worst they suggest the owner to replace the parts that cost thousands. And lastly the proton MD just confess that it is inherent AMT problem. Like confession can solve problem. Lastly, the poor owners are the victims. And I suspect, when new MD comes in, he’ll just bypass all the inherent problems and starts new project making statement for his own achievement.

• Yes, im also victimised by P1 when they stop produce spare parts etc,. Now the case of savvy car theft also slightly increased. To support or not to support our national car is now become a question after how they show how ‘responsible’ they are to their crap car owners…

• Roberts on Oct 12, 2011 at 6:36 am

Cars are getting more and more easier to drive. Where has the REAL fun of driving gone to?

• i owned a saga flx 1.3 now.. there’s a problem with the handling i think.. it does not feel like it is a power steering wheel.. it’s heavy.. much more heavy than driving a naza kia.

i wonder why the first saga blm handling is lighter than the latest saga flx handling. my expextation is that the saga flx handling is light and easy to turn.

• pentium4 on Oct 15, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Really? Maybe another FLX owner can share their experience here regarding the handling matter… by the way, how’s your fuel consumption? Full tank can go to how many km’s?

• that is not handling ,it steerig
      proton steering imput is a little heavy. but fast driving it good to have a firm steering.

and for the handling (cornering and high speed stability) i did drive a flx last time it has a batter handling than a softly springed FL ,

you need to dig out what it means by handling. and what the flx changed in enhancing the handling.

• Fat2bear on Nov 06, 2011 at 12:34 am

Hmmm had no problems with the FL’s handling.

Added a rubber slip on adaptor in between the rear coil springs….reduce the rebound rate and hopefully the sagging when loaded.

Power steering pump needs to be inspected. Saga is not Merc or heavy bodied car so the steering is never too heavy.

Even my saga NPS is only heavy during stationary parking……at speed it is as light as a feather. Just like lotus, that is the actual feel on the road.

• Tong tong on Oct 21, 2011 at 4:10 pm

Save the money for rainy day bro….why spend on car? You get there I also be there only a bit late n slow n safe….take the money go n enjoy life better….car is just for convinience transport. Just drive with new technology will do….

• Fat2bear on Nov 06, 2011 at 12:28 am

Finally tested the FLX Auto……….dissappointed with the transmission whine.

Shocks a bit too stiff for town use but improves when speed goes up.

Suddenly felt lucky I got the FL instead of waiting for the FLX.

FL gearbox not so strong on 1st and 2nd gear but after that it is acceptable.

The horn area of the steering was vibrating weirdly….so much for PDI QC…all gone out the window….the steering wheel itself was ok.

Proton still experimenting with us? I will not be surprised if they come out with an X CVT soon.

The FLX’s gearbox is totally different from the Japanese ones……..maybe that is why it is not sitting in the Pesona or 1.6 yet.

Good luck to all of us.

• I heard new FLX 1.6 will launch at end of november. Some website already put show the pamphlet. I hope paultan can reveiw soon..

PS: so sad already buy 1.3 FLX T_T

• azman bin jumat on Mar 18, 2012 at 12:03 am

boleh kah jikalau saya ingin menukar kereta viva saya dengan saga sedang kan saya hanya pakai setahun

• Kunaselan on Jun 20, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Guys. I was told by a friend, Saga FLX would have aircond problem by a year and to service the aircond the technician need to dismantle the entire dashboard to carry servicing. Is that true ? Any suggestion or idea ? Kindly advise

• arizal on Jun 23, 2015 at 5:18 pm

Salam.aku penguna flx ni nak msk 5 tahun..sepanjang aku pakai kerata ni (first hand)aku tak berapa nak puas hati sbb apa,first penyakit kereta aku dpt bering belakang,sudah lah mahal kerap rosak lagi,second aku dpt rosak black out satu kereta,bkn ada pasang bahan penambah mcm woofer atau aksesori lain,sekarang baru terjadi 20/06/2015 gear box aku problem,tauke tu cakap semua barang dlm gear box tu MADE IN CHINA,bearing tu semua hancur.nak cari spare part mmg susah.sekarang aku menerima kesan yg amat dalam utk membayar kos pemulihan yg dianggarkan RM2000….thank Q proton sbb buat kereta yg luar malaysia dalam china…aku akan tukar selera MALAS NAK PAKAI PROTON MADE IN CHINA…