Caltex refreshes look of its service stations in Malaysia

Chevron Malaysia has given its Caltex service stations in the country an image refresh, and the first station to bear the new look, in Bandar Utama, was launched today. The revamp is part of the company’s new brand strategy called Enjoy The Journey, aimed at enhancing the Caltex experience for its customers.

The image refresh features a new design has been standardised to a simplified but more colorful and sleek look to enhance the appearance and function of the service stations. Features include forecourts that are brighter and more attractive, with canopy lights providing a safer welcome at night.

The company is set to refurbish over 60 of its existing retail stations nationwide to reflect the refreshing image by year end, with 25 service stations already completed. Currently, there are more than 420 Caltex stations in Peninsular Malaysia, which means the revamping of the rest will be completed in phases, spanning the next two to three years.

Caltex plans to build 15 to 20 new service stations each year, and it has added six new ones to its network, the latest being in Sungai Petani, with nine more to be built within the year. In 2010 it opened 18 new service stations in the country.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• asgard on Jul 29, 2011 at 9:56 pm

esso station in my area rumour to be closed down because business not good, even after they renovate the station, people in my area prefer to go to shell station so much that they always run out of fuel, same goes to petronas station

• People replenished their fuel because of brand and not by the quality provided by each petroleum company. You can see it this phenomenon at the after Sg. Besi Toll towards South. Overthere have two petrol stations namely BHP and Shell. Guess what? Shell is more preferable by people to refuel their car instead of BHP because of brand mentality. For me BHP far more better fuel than other rival.

• cappucion on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:06 am

I prefer Esso to Petronas. More mileage… Since nearby my uni only have these 2 petrol station. .Tried both many times and everytime i filled petronas, i regret..WOnder how caltex perform.

• g4eights on Jul 29, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Nice! I fills my car with Techron 95 and they work well for my old 10yrs old Fiat!

• poolie on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:21 pm

why there is no caltex station in sabah kk ? why?

• thunder cats on Jul 29, 2011 at 11:38 pm

one thing about Valdez n esso stations is that they have the cleanest toilet compare to others

• syedhs on Jul 30, 2011 at 12:10 am

I find Caltex provides good mileage for city driving. Shell is good for highway, for city could be the same or less mileage with Caltex but Shell is ‘less spirited’ fuel. Petronas probably sits in between Caltex and Shell for most cases.

• Never really had the chance to try Caltex as most stations nearby are either Shell or Petronas…would love to try Caltex though..

• Ariff on Jul 31, 2011 at 8:36 am

I have to agree on the city driving mileage, Caltex is far better than Petronas & Shell.
      Caltex, Shell & Petronas have equal mileage for highways.
      At least i’ve tested on Kancil 850, VivA 1000, Iswara 1300, Naza Blade 250 (Motorcycle) & 135LC motorcycle.

For Kancil 850, Shell gives me about 25 kilometers less than Caltex for every RM20 (11 liter approx)..

• I hope Caltex opens more outlets on the North-South highway. Driving north there is only a Caltex at Bukit Gantang. I use Caltex diesel and I find it gives better performance and less black smoke compared to Shell. BHP is best, but frequent travel on the NSE makes it impossible to use the fuel due to the lack of outlets. Even in KL area there are limited outlets.

• komenturg on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:17 am

once a while i would fill up with caltex, helps clean the fuel injectors, plus slightly better power, can’t determine on milage cause i tend to mix fuel… unless i stick to one particular brand then can gauge the milage for that week. yeah, think i’ll do just htat n c what kind of milage a particular brand gives.

• mokkf on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:21 am

It’s good to hear they have brighter lights. But I would prefer to have more security facility put in to protect the customer.
    Had heard a lot of robbery happened at petrol station where cashiers will only lock the door inside regardless of what happened at out side.
    I don’t know how u guys feel, but I would prefer those petrol stations which are safe to refuel. Not branded petrol station that lying somewhere in the middle of desert with no people at all.

• PutraRocker on Jul 30, 2011 at 1:01 pm

thisisbestbro

• shawal on Jul 30, 2011 at 2:00 pm

eh?….caltex is still in business? lol….

• Chaucer on Jul 31, 2011 at 1:36 am

Colour not color.

• Kimberly on Jul 31, 2011 at 9:33 am

Spelling is correct either way. Just whether you want to follow American (color) or British (colour).

And I feel that there is not enough Caltex stations compared to the Shell, Esso and BHP. Would like to test the fuel but that would require several refills to get a more true feel of the fuel’s performance. And I don’t fancy driving a long way just to fill up the tank. The other three brands are only within 5 minutes drive away but Caltex…15 minutes.

• english teacher spotted..

• SoMeOnE on Jul 31, 2011 at 4:42 am

its sad caltex has so few stations currently because i really think it gives the best mileage..i commute using a few types of cars of different makes (all petrol so dun ask me about diesel) over the course of the week due to certain reasons and i been driving about 7 years now and the fuel calculators in all these cars always drop each time i fill up at caltex…for example if shell’s showing 7.8 l for every 100 km…if there’s caltex in the tank..it drops to a substantial 7.1 or so…and i have seen it on a number of cars…i dont think its because of how i drive because i do have consistent style/route and this calibrations come 20 min into the driving..so yea…and it does give a 20.30 km advantage per fill..it just sucks that the lack of stations mean that im not able to fill it often….oh well…..

• The best fuel i ever had. I love Caltex!

Please open new station in Tol Plus Sungai Besi area, Bdr Baru Bangi or Nilai please :(

• Albert on Aug 01, 2011 at 3:18 pm

To think that there are SIX caltex stations in my adopted state Perlis…. including one in mountainous valley of wang kelian… just make me wow…

• malleswary gavarasu on Oct 07, 2011 at 11:35 pm

i m planing to open caltex petrol station in sungai petani. whom i have to contact ?