Great Wall Motor comes to Malaysia – Haval diesel SUV at RM120k, Wingle pick-up truck starts from RM59,888!

UPDATE: Mega hi-res gallery added after the jump

There’s a new auto brand in town, and it’s the Great Wall from China. Brought in by franchise holder Green Oranges Sdn Bhd, the brand, which is privately owned and named after China’s famous world wonder, will be introduced to Malaysians via two models – the Haval H5 SUV and the Wingle pick-up truck.

The two are the brand’s most traveled models, and are sold in Europe and Australia, among other markets. What this means is that they would have passed the higher safety and emissions standards that these markets require.

Let’s start with the Haval H5. It’s a five-seater mid sized SUV that’s much larger than the other Chinese SUV in our market, the Chery Tiggo. With a length of 4,649 mm and wheelbase of 2,700 mm, the Haval is 84 mm longer than a Honda CR-V, and almost all that length advantage (80 mm) is in the wheelbase.

And at 1,735 mm, the Haval also stands taller than the current crop of SUVs except for the similarly boxy Nissan X-Trail.

But we reckon that the Haval’s main selling point isn’t size, but its diesel engine, as the only other SUVs offering oil burners are the Hyundai Santa Fe and Chevy Captiva, both priced much higher.

This 2.0 TCI engine is a modern common rail unit (CRDI system by Bosch) with Variable Geometry Turbo (VGT, by Borg Warner), and it produces 148 hp and 310 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 2,800 rpm. Mated to a 5-speed automatic with Shiftronic, fuel consumption is rated at 6.8L per 100 km.

The Haval is a part time 4WD machine, and changing modes from 2WD (rear driven) to AWD can be done on the fly at speeds of up to 70 km/h. The standard kit list includes dual airbags, ABS, EBD, Traction Control, leather seats (with electric adjustment for driver), reverse camera, cruise control, auto air con and a full colour touch screen factory head unit with DVD/USB/Bluetooth compatibility.

One unique feature not found elsewhere is a tyre pressure monitoring system (TPMS) that’s displayed at the rear view mirror.

The other model is the Wingle double cab pick-up truck. This is the latest version of the Wingle, and it features a smart looking VW style nose in place of the cartoonish face that some might remember testing on our roads some time back.

Its Isuzu roots are obvious from the dash, but the Wingle has steering audio controls and adjustable height headlamps, among other standard kit. Dual airbags, ABS and EBD are also in the list, as are leather seats.

The Wingle is powered by a 2.5-litre commonrail diesel engine with 107 hp and 300 Nm of torque, the latter produced from 1,800 to 2,400 rpm. The Mitsubishi derived turbo unit isn’t the VGT type, but the standard type. No auto option for the Wingle; the engine is exclusively paired to a five-speed manual ‘box. You can however, choose from 4X2 or 4X4 variants. Shift on the fly is available on the latter.

Both Great Wall models will be locally assembled at Green Oranges’ own plant in Gurun, Kedah, but the few early units are brought in from China, which is a common arrangement. Green Oranges CEO Mohd Azli SM Nasimuddin said that CKD production will start in mid August, and assured that parts will not be a problem – the company already has RM2 million worth of parts kept in Segambut, and all 12 dealerships nationwide are 3S centres.

If all goes well, Malaysia will be the right-hand drive production hub for these two Great Wall models. Green Oranges is already stepping into the Cambodian market as we type, and today signed an MoU to collaborate with a Cambodian GLC.

The Haval SUV is priced at RM120,000 OTR while the Wingle is priced at RM59,888 for the 4X2 and RM69,888 for the 4X4. The SUV comes with 5 years warranty (or 150k km), 5 years free maintenance and 5 years auto assist, while the Wingle comes with a 3-year warranty.

If you want to check the cars out in the metal, head on to the new wing of Sunway Pyramid, where Green Oranges have set up an outdoor display area.

Brief driving impressions

Great Wall Motor comes to Malaysia – Haval diesel SUV at RM120k, Wingle pick-up truck starts from RM59,888!We had a chance to test drive the Great Wall models two weeks ago. The route was from Taman Tun Dr Ismail (TTDI) to the Shah Alam Stadium.

I started with the Haval SUV from TTDI to Shah Alam via NKVE and came away with some brief impressions, although a proper verdict would require a longer drive.

Due to the lack of time, I didn’t sample the Wingle.

Stepping into the Haval, I was pleasantly surprised with the number of features available, as well as the decent looks of elements such as the instrument panel and the touch screen colour LCD head unit.

The user interface for the HU was quite slick looking and easy to use, and is far from the worst we’ve encountered. It doesn’t look that cheap either.

Great Wall Motor comes to Malaysia – Haval diesel SUV at RM120k, Wingle pick-up truck starts from RM59,888!The inclusion of kit such as cruise control (with buttons on steering), electric adjustable seats (driver’s side) and leather seats are plus points, too. Admittedly, my expectations weren’t very high since the Haval is a China designed and made product (the units we tested were CBU), but first impressions were positive.

As for materials and fit/finish, the Haval is not at the level of say, a Honda CR-V, although the general integrity of the cabin is good. The plastics are of the hard variety, which is expected for a budget SUV, but the tactile response from some parts could be better.

An example of this is the cubby in front of the gear lever that shuts with a slam. The centre console box also felt slightly flimsy in operation. Fit is generally fine – one area where the gaps were big was the dash top centre, but bear in mind that we were actively looking out for it.

In general, touch and feel quality in the cabin is decent. I also did not notice any ergonomic or visibility issues.

On the move, the Haval drives competently for a 4X4, although one shouldn’t expect a modern crossover driving experience ala CR-V or Tucson. It feels more like a traditional off roader with high ratio steering (very light) and brakes that require some effort from your foot (the latter is a positive for me, although a touch more boost would be good).

The diesel engine feels contemporary, although the initial turbo lag is rather apparent. Get past that and engine pulls cleanly and the torque comes in handy. There isn’t much to report on the gearbox, which is a good thing.

At highway speeds, I noticed that the Haval’s noise insulation is quite good and tyre noise was quite minimal. By then, the engine would have also settled to a hum, and the suspension isn’t overly soft, so long distance cruising could be a strength.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_VNxVcSl7A

Great Wall Haval H5 SUV

Great Wall Wingle

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• cam.shaft on Jul 30, 2011 at 4:41 pm

Haval > What you get when you cross-match a Nissan X-Trail + LR Discovery back lamps…and combine it with a Mazda Front… one word.. fugly..

cam.shaft

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Mr. Biggy on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:57 pm

I beg to differ. I find Ssangyong’s are much more uglier than these cars. I see the local automotive scene are becoming more interesting and competitive these days. Can’t wait for your review on these cars soon soon Danny.

• wuha-wuha on Jul 30, 2011 at 8:38 pm

while in Indon the latest generation of Kia Picanto & Hyundai Accent already launch, we here still getting old stock…

• Loh wai hong on Jul 30, 2011 at 9:57 pm

Hv u seen the latest SSangyong Actyon ? Giugiaro did a great job IMHO. He will be sad if u says it is ugly…perhaps u can do better.

• Black Dog on Jul 31, 2011 at 11:19 am

The time has ARRIVED for Korean cars, but definately not yet for China cars. Wait a few more generations then can consider. IMHO

The logo looks very manly though!

• farizY on Jul 31, 2011 at 2:48 pm

I smell a troller……

• shawal on Jul 30, 2011 at 4:50 pm

but izzit safe…?

• Panamera on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:09 pm

If it can enters europe, I am sure it is safe.. But the question mark is whether they uses the exact same model with europe model..

• shawal on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:53 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nzoRdDssL1w

does this look safe to you..?

remember, china just had their first high-speed train derailment , don’t get me started on the fake eggs….

some things you just don’t buy from china…

• Alpha on Jul 31, 2011 at 2:29 pm

That’s a stereotypical way of thinking u knw~

• Peterpj on Jul 31, 2011 at 5:32 pm

Its not stereotypical – it’s the same as “lousy power windows”, once you ruin the perception, it’s hard to build back the trust.

• But the japanese and korea can.. y cant we or china did as jap/kor do….perception and brand image take time to built…jap/kor have lousy product in their early days..after WW2 for japan and early 70s for korea….

• Are you ok, now this is the model we talking here
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IhtubaEeZtI

• Ah-Tan on Aug 01, 2011 at 12:25 pm

if u can accept P1, u can take the chinese made!

• seancorr on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:09 pm

It should be considering it’s being sold in Europe before coming here. A good first try from China. Prolly the 2nd gen would be much better.

• Alpha on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:34 pm

it’s being sold in Australia and Europe.Which means they hav to pass quite a high safety requirements.

• I believe, at least, it is way safer than our Tanjung Malim products. Hehe.

• gen2lama on Aug 01, 2011 at 8:54 am

u still survive man!!!!!!!i can’t believe u drive that tanjung malim products (waja, persona & gen2) for years and still can read this article today…

• klaka seram on Aug 01, 2011 at 11:13 am

waja is not from tjg malim plant. it’s from Shah Alam

• Tanjung Malim or Shah Alam will it make any difference? Haha.

• Alifz on Aug 01, 2011 at 9:55 am

It’s got Aussie NCAP for 4-star..not bad…
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XaQbia61ghM&feature=related

• Andrew on Jul 30, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Not my cup of tea for sure

• pekan on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:00 pm

person A : “I’m driving a Wingle”

person B : “What the f*** is a Wingle?”

• gtoforce on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:15 pm

100hp for a pickup?
    its cheap though

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Don’t think that would be a problem. Wingle has 6hp and 40Nm more than Malaysia’s best selling truck!

• MoFaz on Jul 30, 2011 at 6:21 pm

and it’s CHEAP.. now i can buy 1 for my father to carry rubber from estate :)

• Theophilus Chin on Jul 30, 2011 at 6:55 pm

40Nm more is quite substantial.

• Downs on Jul 30, 2011 at 6:59 pm

This is one thing most Hilux purchasers don’t realise – severe lack of power.

• Loh wai hong on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Danny, u ‘ve left out the new Ssangyong Actyon,The diesel engine is very good on paper too. :)

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:09 pm

Yes you’re right, I forgot that SsangYong is still around!
          Haven’t tried the new Actyon (Korando) yet, but from what I remember, their XDI engines are decent.

• Nodame-chan on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:18 pm

nicely kitted, simple to operate and I kinda like the front and back of the Haval but the B pillar kinda looked cheap though, to me lah….hmm, wonder if my old dad wants to replace his ageing 10yr old Isuzu Wizard with this…?

• Presentable.

• kawpoaaa on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:24 pm

Dont want chinese car in Malaysia!! Syuhhh go away!

• wuha-wuha on Jul 31, 2011 at 12:44 pm

It will be same in other countries when people saw our great Proton and Perodua.
      LOL

• Alpha on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:33 pm

Hey,they actually look kinda nice for a China model.The Haval looks like a CX-7/9 at the front and some X-Trail/XC90/Honda Crossroad traits at the back~And the Wingle seems like a bargain at only 60k~

• nebula87 on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:57 pm

this is what i going to shout out…XD

• cappucion on Jul 30, 2011 at 6:09 pm

I prefer Mitsubishi Triton 2wd at RM65k!

• Triton Lite has no turbo, no common rail and no features but same 2500cc road tax.

• Forgot to add… why pay more for less? This is why I don’t understand Triton Lite owners. Yes, the truck is cheap but u can buy an used 2007 Triton for RM 70k and have everything for the same RM 830/year road tax.

• Rockmebaby on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:36 pm

And, my favourite question (maybe lot of M’sian’s too). How long does Proton need to design & build an SUV & a Pickup Truck???
    I am afraid…not in the foreseeable future……
    These China manufacturers really terbang…..

• MoFaz on Jul 30, 2011 at 6:27 pm

MPV, SUV and pickup truck were not as high ‘in demand’ as passenger cars in 1980s-2000s. the trend is changing and we see many MPV on the road now. I believe Proton’s SUV (developed for Youngman China) is in progress, i’ve seen spyshots of the SUV doing testing in China before.

• Alpha on Jul 30, 2011 at 8:03 pm

Last time there were rumours about Proton’s SUV/Pickup using the Exora’s platform.I think Proton should really consider a SUV and decent looking pickup in their stable though.SUV and Pickup is selling quite a lot in malaysia~

• Mind you there were plan to produce a malaysian brand 4wd by rebadging the isuzu trooper back in 1997, but was scrapped due to the economy down turn. It was from Hicom though, not Proton, and salesperson were sent to KL for training. too bad it did not work out as I really like the trooper!

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 01, 2011 at 1:59 pm

The Trooper ended up as the first generation Honda Passport, which was replaced by the Pilot shortly thereafter.

• jay79 on Jul 31, 2011 at 2:45 am

Proton arena rings a bell? its still a pick up

• bongek on Jul 31, 2011 at 11:56 am

-proton don’t have a real competitor… coz malaysia market is too small ..so very long time to ‘terbang’
      -great wall have competitor in their own market too.good for them to ‘terbang’
      -for malaysian company, we actually expect indonesia,thailand,vietnam and philiphine to create their own manufacturer and compete among us,,, but they dont want to join us, instead they only want to become technology user only,create money for the worker only, not to learn technolgy at all… very frustration for south east asia mentality…

• isuzuki on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:42 pm

going to Sunway tomolo to look see look see. :)

• Rosmah on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Holy cow! better value than my precious diamond ring. I want to bring these to kazakhstan.

• Notless on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:51 pm

Give them three years to waste money and effort marketing their half-baked creations. Then its back to China where these things belong

• nebula87 on Jul 30, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Wingle does have VW Golf GTi front lamp…>.<

• Put some HIDs and people will keep away once u approach them. Haha. Good one.

• Aris Fortezen on Jul 30, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Will you choose this Haval or:
    a. Sportage
    b.CR-V
    c.X-Trail
    d.Tucson
    ???????

• Mat Mitsu on Jul 30, 2011 at 6:37 pm

It’s quite a good value for money for the appearance and drivetrain offered. Just have to wait for its durability to be proven.

• MoFaz on Jul 30, 2011 at 6:46 pm

eh??.. W plate numbers has already run-out? now back to single letter in front and additional letter after the numbers?

• William on Jul 30, 2011 at 7:03 pm

the Haval H5 SUV is overprice for a China SUV !! I wouldn’t pay 120k for a china car….. I have much more choice for an SUV with 120k from japanese to korean…..

• wuha-wuha on Jul 30, 2011 at 8:43 pm

today i just saw a RM80k Chery Tiggo SUV out of probably thousand of SUV

• umpgambang on Jul 30, 2011 at 7:07 pm

I love 5 seater!! Aiming at young market… 5 years Warranty + 5 years maintenance.
    This really boost my confident about the brand!
    Must go test ride! Love the Macho but and Stylo front.

• sick&tired on Jul 30, 2011 at 7:12 pm

The car looks very disproportionate! and the center console plastic looks like it wont take abuse well.

• MrDDR on Jul 30, 2011 at 7:28 pm

Haval dashboard identical to Satria Neo

• Out of Luck on Jul 30, 2011 at 7:41 pm

Is that bi-xenon headlights on the Haval ? Got nice ICE, photochromic rear mirror, on the fly selectable 2WD/4WD and great price. Impressive! However, the interior doesn’t looked good. Interior colours were plain dull. The leather seats looked cheap, as if it’s made of PU. Overall, looks like a promising vehicle. Can’t wait to test drive it myself. In the meantime, just had to wait for more extensive test drive review to come out in the web.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:13 pm

No xenons, but the headlamps are automatic and height adjustable

• What engine used on Wingle? Is it the 4D56 common rail from Mitsubishi? Doesn’t look like it.

• Out of Luck on Jul 30, 2011 at 8:22 pm

I think it’s their self-developed diesel engine but has similar model number to Mitsubishi. Click below for more info:

http://www.auto-chinese.com/great-wall/gw4d20-diesel-engine-instruction-great-wall-motors/

• kucingfight on Jul 30, 2011 at 7:48 pm

doesn’t look too bad, definitely not the ugliest around. On a serious note, howmuch better is a Proton haha

• Maniam on Jul 30, 2011 at 7:56 pm

I’ve seen quite alot of this suv on china roads, was wondering then, how good if it was made available here. Looks ok, better on the move. But when it arrived here, gosh… I won’t buy it. Hahahaha

• Peter on Jul 30, 2011 at 8:18 pm

From the 1st image, I thought it’s asking too much to sell a HALAL car in M’sia. On 2nd look only I realized … XD

• abill on Jul 30, 2011 at 8:34 pm

Err?will choose dis over a crowded lrt train dats foe sure?bt noting else! Dis car has huge perception problem,hard to get respect if seen in one,

• china doll on Jul 30, 2011 at 9:09 pm

When Cherry Easter n Tigga came into scene 2-3 yrs ago we malaysians said all kindda nasty things about the 2 models….but now how often do we come across these 2 cars esp the easter on our roads??? They are in every nook n crany of our bolehland….cherry easter in particular is still doing well in the market…500++ units are sold each month…china made cars are slowly conquering the world…give them another 10 yrs top u’ll see what i mean…not like our P2…dah 25 thn hanya gah di kampung sendiri…

• shawal on Jul 31, 2011 at 12:00 am

P2 is perodua , I live in KL , and Myvi is everywhere…. Myvi has been the No.1 seller ever since it was first introduced..
      what are you smoking…??

• lonelyobserve on Jul 31, 2011 at 7:09 am

What china doll mean is that national cars just only sell well in Boleh Land.

• treblecase on Jul 30, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Oh well, they said the same thing about Korean cars years ago. But the name Great Wall will not work everywhere except China. Imagine…what car do you drive, mate? Your answer? Great!!

• Jackk on Aug 01, 2011 at 3:44 pm

Well… I can’t see what’s wrong with it. At least Great Wall is english and we do speak english in Melbourne.

Perodua, Myvi and Naza or Nasa… sound funny.

Great Wall is doing great here. They’re not everywhere but they are selling well although they aren’t even selling the diesels. When the diesels come at the end of the year, sales are expected to rise significantly becasue most utes sold here are diesels.

The Haval is called X240 here and obtained 4 stars and although interior fit and finish isn’t Lexus’, they have been mechanically very reliable.

The S220 was crash tested WITHOUT airbags and obtained 2 stars. Not that bad considering that the new Mazda/Ford BT50/Ranger tested with airbags (Navarra, Triton, Hilux) only obtained 3 stars.

• haval h5? it is known as hover h5 at european country…

• Pointer on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:03 pm

Did anyone notice the typo printed on the sunvisor??? Simple mistake, but degrades the image of the SUV. I don’t mean to bash, just pointing out the fact. Peace.

• Mask Ryder on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:09 pm

Beware : B4 ur getting cloud 9 over the Great Wall price, go check out wikicar & youtube on Wingle ANCAP test result.

• rulered on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:13 pm

The Chinese have more than a billion (yes, that’s a ‘B’) population to support their car industries. Our population is not even 10% of that, minus sceptics. Just to put some perspectives into fellow forumers.

• Aver_Eng on Jul 30, 2011 at 10:14 pm

I had try out the Haval as a passanger, several times.
    This Haval is serious contender to any 4wd in market. The Haval I tried is older generation. The car goes through light off road terrain in construction site and drive across China with different climate. In total over 150k milage for a 2 years old construction company car.
    What’s the best from Haval? NO IRRITATING SOUND FROM PANEL after such abuses.
    The car is in inner mongolia of China.

• isuzuki on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Maybe it is a Mitsubishi engine under the hood? Or was it the 2.0 diesel?

• Leseid Obrut on Jul 31, 2011 at 12:29 am

I think Aver_Eng was referring to the absence of rattles that typically bug some cars after repeated/continuous driving over rough terrain.

• alpha999 on Jul 31, 2011 at 3:19 am

u hav a point, being 3rd nation independently send human into space, they make good products when they are serious

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 01, 2011 at 2:10 pm

No no no. You got it a bit wrong.

They are willing to make good products when you are ready to pay for them.

Their A grade stuff makes their to all over the world. Plenty of well made products coming out of china. if one is willing to pay that is. Apple for one.

its just that Malaysia getting the short end of the stick. We can only afford the cheaper of the chinese goods! Catch 22 really. Chinese goods are looked down as bad quality, hence we are only willing to pay peanuts for them, but when we pay peanuts, we get bad quality goods…and the cycle repeats.

• GW is a better brand than Chery, Wingle is a good item, no Haval for me at the moment though.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:01 pm

there will be more china made car here for sure. As new car auto to the world, china made car already penetrating Euro and Aussie….excuse me P1..
    can we have any sales figure to compare?

• takin on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:15 pm

suv tu depan dia smart..tp blakang dia out :)

• Dr. Sri Rao on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:15 pm

What a load of crap from china…..that 2 RM120K . This car is just a pure duplicate of Nissan trailer at the back and side body with Land Rover back lights and Honda CRV front head lights and the nose of Nissan Muranno.
    The day u invest in one the value drops by 50% the very next day……it will be fine in Europe due to high standards but here …..i rather buy proton.

• Expatriate VN on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:58 pm

That is not the crap from China @ RM 120K,, but sucker NAP make it in that way.

• The way you give comment tells us that you are not a Dr.

• Hmmm... on Aug 01, 2011 at 5:29 pm

True that… And many people still don’t realize how the govt has been cheating us for over 20 years, with the NAP, heavy import duties(up to 300%!!), an APs to support certain cronies.. And people don’t realize that the only reason why P1 and P2 cars are affordable is because other cars’s prices are raised because of those ridiculous policies..and while we’re at that, P1 and P2 cars aren’t really affordable actually..if you minus the tax on foreign cars, you won’t think P1 and P2 cars are that “economical” anymore.. we have a “false pricing environment” here in Malaysia.. Sorry to sound harsh but this is a reality. No doubt, i do salute the current Proton Chairman for bringing the company to the next level..

• freeze on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:44 pm

Checked out crash tests of these cars on youtube…

SUV was kinda ok looked like 4 stars
    The truck buckled at the centre, but seems to fare a lot better than Dmax and Ranger

• 550-556 on Aug 01, 2011 at 7:07 pm

i think u never drive dmax of ranger or even ride it. About which good about SUT, better ask Sarawakian or Sabahan… they know tones about this type of vehicle.

• shawal on Jul 30, 2011 at 11:57 pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IhtubaEeZtI

how many stars is that actually…?

• Hmm…
      CRV NCAP

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qg5FmyH-prQ

Anyway was wondering the difference between NCAP and ANCAP..

Saga ANCAP crash test..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SbX4Ld_QiM

and Exora… (but not ANCAP)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EKX0XvHZChI

• Hmm… now I know why Proton Arena is not selling anymore… :( Or are they still on orders?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uh22Pm7GwW4

• I guess it is pretty safe! The A-pillar is still firmly in place! which meant 4 star is in easy reach!

• Sparc on Jul 31, 2011 at 12:02 am

Some history,

Great Wall Motor established in 1976 and initially only manufactured Trucks. As of 2010, it is the only Chinese car manufacturer sell car in EU country.

General;

With that price and the spec. you get, I think is a good bargain. It depends how you think about chinese car manufacturer. You can say they are low quality, easy to breakdown, low safety rating, etc. But their car able to sell in other country, and the chinese car company acquired the technology from the west and learn to improve.

So after some time, their car will be getting better and better. Most importantly for car owner is the maintenance, spare parts availability and people that able to repair the car. As of the resale value, i have no comment. for RM 60K – pickup trucks, I think is good.

In terms of durability, I’m not sure, but i saw quite number of Great wall car in the middle east too. So, I guess should be ok.

As for 120K car, you have more choice other than Haval but you will not get diesel engine.

• isuzuki on Jul 31, 2011 at 8:54 am

What about the Mahindra Scorpio 2.2 diesel with 7-seater? Anyone driving one here?

• Sparc on Jul 31, 2011 at 6:09 pm

Yes. topped the list Mahindra Scorpio too within the price range.

• Quite an old company. Probably after China open their doors to investments from outside did they improve their products.

• Leseid Obrut on Jul 31, 2011 at 12:30 am

Presumably the Haval adopts a traditional body-on-frame construction?

• 120k is too expensive for a China car!if 12k is still ok lah.

• gw4d20 engine http://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XMTY4NTg2OTU2.html

• Looks similar to an old 4G63 design from Mitsubishi. No timing chain, only belt.

• great wall owner’s club forum in australia

http://www.gwownersforum.com/great-wall-vehicles/

• As with any Chinese product, the English is very poor… DEBOND? Can’t they use UNPAIR like everyone else? Or what’s Operateration? Why not Operating? Why missing an ‘s’ for Instructions?

The phrase, “extraordinary driving delight” is WTF? Either dispose the sticker for, “Intructions for Correct Operateration of TOD” or fix it.

Naza better hire someone to fix all the errors FAST!

• Revolvolution X on Jul 31, 2011 at 7:56 am

Danny, sunvisor instructions on shift on-the-fly says up to speed of 70kmh but u wrote 40kmh…it’s 70kmh i suppose? Coz 40kmh is too low compared to other’s at 90-100…
    And yeah, typo on visor’s “intruction” is really too much especially when they sell this car in European countries???

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jul 31, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Yes, you’re right, 70 km/h. I remember them mentioning 40 km/h for the Wingle and that figure stuck.

• SOmeone says it’s crap, it’s steering wheel quality looks better than most Proton we know, so Proton is even more crap?

• bongok on Jul 31, 2011 at 9:25 am

the touch screen more better than Lagi Best, conclusion Lagi Best is crappier than this car.

• i think i will definately consider Great Wall over a motorbike…..

firstly the brand sounds like a singlet brand…. and i guess everything looks rosy in pics until all the plastic bits start falling off one by one….

• Maybe once a while Paultan .org just need to provide the technical information and a lot of pictures on the newly launch vehicle without mentioning the vehicle’s name or country of origin. Blank out also any symbol that’s related to the brand. Let the readers commented first – positive or negative. Then only we’re free to comment without perception or prejudgment.

Update later with full information and see how the final reaction would be :-)

• ericmaxman on Jul 31, 2011 at 11:22 am

we dont deserve such crap on our roads. bring in nicer Conti or even Koreans, and keep these out!!

• refuse vehicle hire on Jul 31, 2011 at 11:27 am

The great wall of China is known as China’s great wonder. As I can see, this car is worth the name because it looks good. It has lots of new features and I hope that will be as durable as the Great wall of China.

• Tooluke on Jul 31, 2011 at 11:47 am

I still remember many of you compared japanese and koreans, during the time when korebs are just about to break the ice with forte/tuscon. Comparing how the tuscon is much better in terms of price and features than a crv or xtrail, although crv xtrail has a better ride quality and aftersales. This was just after the fail getz, problematic spectra and fuel guzzling ria moment.

Now china brings this, a cool, large suv with more features than the koreans and japs cpmbine. And now u guys say the price is too low, and how the chinese brands are low in quality although it has nice features, its large, its diesel ane its cheaper. Wasnt the korean cars bad too? Which then evolved into a technical butterfly after 1 new model? Great wall is doing the same, so accept it and buy it .lolz

• Why i felt that steering wheel looks so familiar one…like T brand… :P

• Mask Ryder on Jul 31, 2011 at 11:52 am

Australia ANCAP result at a Glance :

Pick up Truck Catagory

Isuzu DMAX = 3 Stars.
    Holden Rodeo = 3 Stars.
    Mazda BT-50 = 3 Stars.
    Ford Ranger = 3 Stars.
    Toyota Hilux = 3 Stars.

Great Wall Wingle = 2 Stars.

Source : ANCAP Australia Website.

• Jackk on Aug 01, 2011 at 3:55 pm

The Wingle didn’t get 2 stars.

That was the S220 WITHOUT airbags of any kind. And also, improvements were made following the test results but the vehicle hasn’t been tested again.

The V240 (Wingle) obtained 3 stars.

And a 3 Star Hilux in a head on with a 5 star Nano will come out on top because there’s a big difference flinging a vehicle against an undeformable, massive, rigid object as in a crash test and real life 2 vehicle collisions.

• their design almost cut n paste in very model they produced……cheap to buy ….hard to maintain….after few expensive maintainces…..dispose the car to those kedai besi buruk 1 kg…..RM1*…….

• justin on Jul 31, 2011 at 2:38 pm

wow!!this is way hotter than overpriced korean suv craps..I’ll take this anytime over the koreans. 5 years maintenance free is a sweet deal, really impressive!!!

• farizY on Jul 31, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Really good package for RM120k!!

• Jimmy on Jul 31, 2011 at 8:07 pm

At this price RM120k (CBU Vitara, 2.0G Altis, Sportage, Tucson, Civic, Navara Top Spec etc), if the width is not at least 1950mm, no smart person will buy. It would better be 2000mm in width. Silly pricing? Ee, no six airbags???
    At RM60K, Triton 2×2 manual diesel a smarter choice?

• desmond on Jul 31, 2011 at 10:42 pm

120k SUV with in dash navigation+DVD. Jaw droppingly cheap! See those 2.7V/2.5G Toyota Fortuner…apa dia bagi? cd player WTF Engine sucks too =.=

• taboogen on Aug 01, 2011 at 2:10 am

is it just me of the front lampt for the pick up truck seems so similar with VW GTI

• AnakSarawak on Aug 01, 2011 at 5:43 am

MAke The Haval Cheaper laaa…. then everybody can have a taste of having one themselves….kalau mahu tunggu P1 n P2,,bila lagi mau buat….????And if it materialised,sure over 100K oso maaa….

• nighttrain on Aug 01, 2011 at 9:14 am

hey! It might even be an imitation Great Wall by some backyard chinese factory… y’know how they are.. if they can imitate whole Apple stores, everything oso can imitate.. is Green Orange a NAZA sub? Funny senseless name, like chinese company..

• duDeT on Aug 06, 2011 at 2:03 pm

It’s a nice looking car regardless of what kind of car it seems to look like. I’ve driven both and it seems to generate enough power for a pickup & SUV. A car that looks nice is a plus in my book. Who would wanna buy a car looking like $hiT anyways,right..?

I’ve also seen it in action @ the shah alam off-road spot (near stadium) for the product testing. Anybody with doubts on the performance & handling should go test it out before posting non productive comments/bashing/flaming…

Go experience it urself and see whether it’s ur cuppa tea or not..

• albag on Aug 01, 2011 at 10:02 am

typical design from a communist country… never gets intersting…

• Industry Observer on Aug 01, 2011 at 10:13 am

This model costs between RM 65k-80k equivalent in China depending on trim levels.
    So we are expected to pay a premium to get the privllege to own a ….. Chinese car?

• good luck and hope it can sell and highly hope that they have mechanic can repair the engine too… come with 5 yrs warranty and not one can fix this is pointless also.

• musalmah endut on Aug 01, 2011 at 10:39 am

Its looks exclusive and expansive with that pitch black tinted only..!
    don’t get cheated! ha ha..

• new brand, new market & less spec should not priced too high ! Just a plain SUV with basic 2 airbag some TC & EBD cost >100k. Supposed to be priced 70k only ! Wonder how much this car cost at Langkawi without tax ! could be 30K only !

• ichi24 on Aug 01, 2011 at 1:45 pm

ohhh i’ll bet ‘cha didn’t know that it cost even more than mainland when transporting the car back, you dumb 3rd world mentality basher.

• OMG…RM120K for this China G.W.Haval ….will not sell well…but if below RM 100K like Chery Easter….will still can sell lah..

• kamaji on Aug 01, 2011 at 4:55 pm

They hv got the pricing all wrong…too close to other rival.

• J@CK LIM on Aug 02, 2011 at 8:39 am

Diesel car?
    improve diesel first pls.

• Wisdom on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:04 am

The word ‘wall’ is not synonym to a car/ vehicle.

Any body want to relate their car to the wall?

They should get their corporate image and branding sort out nicely coz they indeed have quite good product.

• Ricky Ong on Aug 02, 2011 at 10:42 am

way still expensive. if suv under 100k should can be consider…. korean much much better.
    japanese come next.

• hondalover on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:29 am

combination of mazda CX7 + Volvo…copy cats!!wala wehh

• wingle? sounds like a brand of keropok.
    haval? sounds like a brand of kicap

• the haval H5 front grill remind me of the new generation of opel car…..are they copying it but for me the haval h5 is a handsome car though,,,,at 120k is quite reasonable for this bolehland country,

• De Ber on Aug 27, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Good video….tough stuff!

• ilfikluz on May 19, 2012 at 10:06 pm

in 2009 i have been buying a new Kodak camera that made in China….the pic taken was very nice but the camera can last for 6 months only! Now I have a Japanese brand camera that made in Japan and used it for 2 years already….it’s still in good condition. So do you believe a China brand bro?

• boddin on Sep 09, 2012 at 1:23 am

I bought Olympus u-Tough 3000 model in 2010, designed in Tokyo but Made in China, until now capturing good images, good condition as the camera model name given.

• David James on Oct 03, 2012 at 3:50 am

Its 300 Nm torque, i think Wingle 5 is more powerful compare to Isuzu Dmax 2.5 (176 Nm torque), Isuzu Dmax 3.0 (280 Nm torque) and Toyota Vigo 2.5!!!

• Will GET the Haval H7 in 2013

• Belinda Harris on Nov 20, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Does anyone know how to change the time that displays on the dash.