Perodua sales up by 85%, orders for new Myvi hit 25k units

Last month, it was reported in the press that Proton has overtaken Perodua to be the top selling car brand in Malaysia, with the former on top in both June sales and first half of 2011 figures. However, that period coincided with the final months of the old Myvi’s lifespan, as well as the Japanese earthquake and tsunami, which obviously impacted Perodua much more than Proton.

Well, it seems like P2 is back with a vengeance, and armed with its new “Lagi Best” Myvi, has sold 16,500 units in the just concluded month of July. That’s a whopping 85% higher than what they sold in June (8,900 units), giving Perodua an estimated 32% share of the market. The Rawang based company expects this momentum to continue for the rest of the year.

“We are thankful to our customers for their continuous support for Perodua. We are also grateful for their patience in waiting for the delivery of their vehicles as we sorted out the production backlogs,” said Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh. “In the case of the Perodua new Myvi, bookings has already reached 25,000 orders and about 10,000 units have been delivered to our customers to date,” he revealed.

Besides the contribution from the Myvi, sales of the Viva and Alza also improved in July from the month before. However, Perodua’s year-to-date sales is still 14% lower than the 111,500 units sold from Jan-July 2010.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• good job!

• PeYn0 Fanz on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:19 pm

Strategy Raya Promotion.. just to attract buyers…

kamon la…after raya sure menyesal beli kereta ni..
      better get more spacious and bigger boot car … selesa balik kg…

ptuiiii… perutdua cannot tipu me..

• perutdua banyak lanci skarang!!! perut semakin kenyang!!!

but eventually ppl will realize that they bought this ugly overpriced piece of old crap. otherwise p1 wouldn’t have had a chance to overtake p2 for the 1st half of the year.

perutdua got no chance to cheat me too!!

• Wisdom on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:49 am

Is that a beat-up Alza on your avatar? Nasty..

• yup, its my neighbour’s beat up alza which he was once so proud of.

• akupunya on Aug 04, 2011 at 3:10 pm

hahaha..overpriced car are selling like cucur pisang in Malaysia..
            Why? Malaysian mudah kena tipu maaa….akakakaka
            Japang jugak pandai…kasi cantik sikit, tak apa harga mahal…
            adhoiii…

• lkf0512 on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:48 am

Indeed…good job to both P1 and P2.

As consumers, we should realize that we have the power to make bargains.
      We are the ones that end up paying money for their products.

Bargain for more from P2 as town cruiser!

Bargain for more from P1 as driver’s car!

• i think flx is a better twon cruiser than myvi
        boot space for weekend shoppers, plus a fuel saver due to cvt tranny

• OMG, sales up…Lagi lagi BEST…good job P2…

• Expatriate VN on Aug 03, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Whatever P1 bashers crap about MyVi’s Lagi Best, sales statistic will ultimately show they are the best in its class. Good job to P2 (i.e. at Jaguh Kampong level only).

• Unforgiven on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:57 pm

Jaguh K is good enough in M’sia.
      I wonder how many country is using P2 badge when Indonesia is using the original Daihatsu with factory coming up.
      Do you think UK wanna continue to use P2 or Daihatsu?

• Faddd on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:36 am

AFAIK, the 2011 Myvi is designed in house by Perodua, since they have their own styling studio there, and it’s far different from Daihatsu Boon or Toyota Sirion, so the Indonesians get the all original 2011 Daihatsu rebadged from Myvi. And I don’t like any Perodua in particular but at least I know something.

• Braaakkkk on Aug 04, 2011 at 12:28 pm

in house was design by daihatsu too…not by perodua itself.japan version Boon is only for inside it ownself country.South East version for asean region are different version design.
          it was Myvi rebadge from daihatsu Sirion,not daihatsu from perodua myvi…just it launch at malaysia first before at indonesia.
          Perodua is still totally controlled by daihatsu from design,engineering and management,just assembly work by local….

• those bashers commenting like the myvi buyers use their money to pay for the car..and people has their own choice, if u hate myvi,doesnt mean other people have to follow ur opinion..

• kuncisudu on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:43 pm

those basher post their opinion here, so can the suppoter. this is free country. nobody ask anybody to follow anybody.

• 16,500 buyers are Justin Bieber biggest fans.

• altecs on Aug 03, 2011 at 5:57 pm

Proof that with a “good” company image you can sell a product with success regardless of the product specifications. *cough*facelift*cough*

Although I myself do not find any charm in sampan suspension technology, I would like to congratulate perodua for their high sales. I hope one day they could produce more driver oriented cars. Anybody still remember how great a car the kelisa was? I still do.

• alpha999 on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:21 pm

in FACT, myvi is one overall proven reliable piece of overpriced crap with good resale value for many average hard earned rakyat

any other make is either landed in long history of bad resale value, inconsistent quality or out of reach premium priced vehicle for many average hard earned rakyat

• simasen on Aug 04, 2011 at 8:39 am

kelisa was awesome man..still have and driving it everyday, wouldn’t trade with any other car..but the model afterwards was dissapointing ie. viva, myvi..its just not worth the money..

IMHO, its not myvi who have put the perception that p2 cars are good, reliable and cheap to maintain..its kelisa and myvi are riding the wave only (people think like this “bigger sibling of the awesome kelisa, must be good too”)

• Faddd on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:39 am

Yeah, I remembered when I first drove my friends kelisa, it was quiet, comfy (all the bumps are nicely dampen) and quick, I put it on 1st gear and it moved like it’s on 2nd…!

• wow so gempak

but sorry to say evetho it is supposed to be a new model,it is the same car with the same name even the feeling on the ride is the same..but good job getting ppl excited to buy it

• maserati on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:03 pm

My goodness! 16500 units in july! Good job p2. Its good to know that msians appreciate quality. You see p1 fanboys, its not the price, its not a silly cvt gearbox, its quality that ppl recognize.

Ppl dont mind paying more when they know they will get good stuff.so byebye proton. So much for ur 1month glamour at the top.

• that because the figure is the accumulated booking from the previous 2 or even more months that P2 lump sump deliver in the month of july. do you really think P2 can deliver in average of 15,000 permonth?

• DIRAMI on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:09 pm

but how sad Exora sales for 2010 only capture about than 25,000unit

25,000unit for 12month? that’s only about 2,000unit a month?

GOVERNMENT should buy Exora and turn into Ambulance and Kereta Mayat!

• gtmaniac on Aug 04, 2011 at 8:06 am

Eh.. what does exora have to do with sales of Myvi? Direct competition?

How many first time car buyers/graduates can even afford an Exora as their first car? Or better yet, how many youngsters would even choose Exora as their first car?

And u should be thankful should the GOVERNMENT decided to turn Exora to Ambulance (it’s already exist)/Kereta Mayat (never seen one yet). Imagine if they do so with a Myvi.. how to squeeze in the coffin?

• squall_shinoda on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:34 am

I don’t think the Alza is long enough to be made as kereta mayat…

• MoFaz on Aug 04, 2011 at 1:39 pm

Alza is already a coffin, just burry them in Alza. ngehehe

• VoidDance on Aug 04, 2011 at 8:35 am

Are you comparing the sales of Exora with Myvi? How smart… Bravo.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:16 am

Exora is different segment laa idiot… if you want to compare, then compare with the same class.

• tattoo sleeve shop on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:00 am

aiyak dirami, cannot compare myvi n exora la bro.. different segment, different buyer..

• Celicazz on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:30 pm

why not? I believe they can… malaysia boleh, aren’t we?

• Cik jah on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:00 pm

What quality?? I currently using a Myvi….and there is nothing special about it..its just a car to take me from point A to B and nothing more..!!!! Like other makes it has its share of problems too…so dont think so highly of P2 products…

• Why you din buy Proton la… You’ll appreciate their “quality”.

• Cik jah on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:37 pm

When did i mention about P1 quality..u must be one of those idiots P2 salesman

• Littlefire on Aug 04, 2011 at 8:33 am

How about u buy 1 Saga and also ur Myvi, drive annually & bring both to service center n c which 1 is more expensive & problematic?!?

By the way, ur Sage need to change timing belt which i am going to tell u in the end, you will pay more in term of maintaining ur Saga compare to Myvi..

Sorry, but if 1st generation Myvi really sucks.. Ppl wont rush to buy the 2nd generation 1…

• TFazuin on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:57 am

Dude, timing chains are cheap only up to 200K KM, ask a frequent traveller how much it cost to get it aligned and fixed. Its the whole cost of the timing belt for the periods you don’t pay :)

• littlefire on Aug 04, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Bro, u forget to add 3 times timing belt workmanship… If add in the end which 1 expensive?!?

• Wisdom on Aug 04, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Myvi with its faulty power window switch and warp disk brakes is a well known fact.

• Friction on Aug 05, 2011 at 11:03 pm

totally agree…. FYI.. my ngam2 2yrs old persona… is now an eco-friendly car… it collects water whenever it rains… perghhh!

• Well done P2

• johnny on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:08 pm

Keep on improving the products and make our auto-market more competitive !!!!!!!! Make we the users benefit more hahaha

• Troll on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:10 pm

Wow.

• LatukBandar on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:18 pm

lagi best…. untuk poket kornie.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:20 pm

I think P1 more konies..

• Friction on Aug 05, 2011 at 11:11 pm

actually untuk P2 utk pocket org jepon yg pernah jajah kiter dulu…
      P1 baru uuntuk kronie… haiz…

• Henry on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:24 pm

It is not the best of times, but WOW! with this kind of numbers Perodua must be thrill to bits.

• Proton supporter, Spin what ever you like, Myvi is in fact “Lagi Best”….daripada Proton.

• ada myvi?pernah bawak persona?
      saya ada myvi, and pernah bwk persona..
      proton 2x better..menyesal jeee beli myvi..

• i have persona too. M-line (M).

Handling much better than Myvi but many problems (linked to greedy and bad ass vendor) such power windows, engine “blow-up”—-> replace new camshaft…. something like that… two times change IAFM…. oil detector malfunction….and many more…

for some reason, lots of my friend myvi’s do not encounter this problem or maybe not yet. At least their head not spinning around to cop duit due repair their car just in 2nd year. Me? Lots of money to hold pride driving persona…. thanks proton….

psst: Warranty? Ask others proton owner after 2year coverage, even extended to 5 years…. it is ALL bullshit…..

• i have a persona too.. this is the 4th year.. but i dont have any major problem like yours.. my engine never blow up, never replace any camshaft, power window is working perfectly.. i dont know how you handle your car.. mine is great.

i bet you didnt do maintenance regularly. give any car to you sure got the problem also.

• i am following the black book bro. Ist IAFM i got free, camshaft also free but i have to pay upah around rm700. 2nd IAFM i have to pay because over than 2 years but hey i extend to 5 years, however proton say something like “only cover 2 years”… i do not understand very well….power windows etc. After that i never go to proton services anymore and for some reason, it’s ok for now. And cheaper too. Just for now. In the future, maybe another broken pulak….

• means that ur driving skill sucks

• under warranty and you pay the upah?….conned…

• prolover on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:08 am

u should drive saga FLX or the Persona Elegance. and than u know who’s the sampan now. Eventhough i’s a good product, i just can’t believe that the sell the beat up old technology with a very high price. Even the EPS system already being used in Proton Peti Ais(JUARA).

• Fubar on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:40 pm

I think most ppl buy them coz other cars are too expensive with their over taxation. Try to lift the tax on the H and T or other alphabet and it’s bye bye P1 and P2.

• Celicazz on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:27 pm

in korea, their imported cars weren’t tax much, but there’s AP like policies as well to limit foreign cars… so, same as malaysia as well

• Just me on Aug 04, 2011 at 12:01 am

I’m fully agree with you, malaysian always like to denial. Same like those in politic! Try to put P1 & P2 on level fighting field woth other brand and see who come out as winner. Just look at Thailand and Singapore, both selling our national car. But how many on the road?

• MoFaz on Aug 06, 2011 at 2:41 am

the last time i read about it, proton was 10th in thailand. proton sell more cars than suzuki and hyundai in thai at that time :) singapore market is very limited la bro.. only 50,000 cars per year are allowed.

• freeze on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:45 pm

meh

• dirtyoldmen on Aug 05, 2011 at 8:07 am

You come accross as a lonely sad person seeking attention.
      Didn’t get enough love as a child, eh?

• timlin on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Its good to be true.

• satria on Aug 03, 2011 at 6:48 pm

Ada aku kisah sales P2 tinggi???Wtf….
    For me, I will support P1 forever…Shit to P2..

• Quality is questionable,i bet you’ll get creaky dash board,power window failures,creaky suspension all in a mater of time..After warranty over,engine and transmission will fail.The percentage of these happening is so high that you have to be extremely lucky,not to get a defective car.Good luck to all new Myvi owners..if it’s me,i’ll dump in a bit more $ for a korean car.

• Celicazz on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:27 pm

dump ur money right into craps. the koreans are almost equals to ours.

• peYnoob on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:56 pm

LOL, best joke of the year!

• DoDO man on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:36 am

Hey Celicazz,

Ur statement is one of the dumbest and silliest ever. If Korean are almost equal to ours, they won’t be top 5 in the world where P1 and P2 can’t even dream of a top 10 automakers. Both are still re badging Japanese products and lack of creativity to create new products. Korean are now view as an equal to Japanese and their cars has been scooping well recognize awards all around the world ( not some silly Frost & Sullivan award). Even most of the critics and car reviewer around the world are applauding Korean’s car while our P1 and P2 remain a Jaguh Kampung

• Faddd on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:45 am

You know why? because Koreans are machines…..they never sleeps or eat (maybe just a cup of instant ramen and that’s it), and did I mention they never sleep?

Yeah, go figure.

• what do you expect from a guy that worships an old model like the celica? more than 10 yrs already but still no replacement. even at its launch the newer celica lost badly to the old dc2 integra, mitsu FTO and S15 nissan silvia.

• Unforgiven on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:20 pm

Is there a way for us to change the P2 badge to Daihatsu?
    I mean what’s the point of using P2?
    It’s not something that we are gonna be proud of.
    We should be bersih and use back the original badge.

• Citroen Zx on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:22 pm

cakap besar

• whatever on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:26 pm

Jeremy Clarkson said: P2 are only think of making money instead of built quality car. Best Joke of the Year.

• LatukBandar on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:02 pm

that’s a statement, not a joke. A statement is a fact.

• same goes to other car manufacturer in our country … abang adik punya

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 03, 2011 at 7:52 pm

Why bash P2 or P1?? at least there is competition among the 2. I can only imagine if P1 is still the only car maker around, I wouldn’t think they would buck up and come out with new technologies like CVT or Turbocharged cars

• BN=barang naik on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:12 pm

lots of proton die hards will be butthurt!…wakakakaka

• Eyesore on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:58 pm

not really tbh… if p1 stop deliver SAGA to customer for 2 months and deliver all order in the 3rd months… wallawei…. 16,000 SAGA sold in the 3rd month!!!! what an achievement…. lol… perodua has done this before… so this is just a marketing strategy to fool the customer that their car is a hot selling one…. lol let see the sales figure once all the stacked order from may n june has been cleared…. then we will now how hot it is actually….

• Thats right! While p1 is working hard to improve on their models like saga, p2 only can use marketing tricks n scam to fool the ppl. They are trying hard to keep the level of excitement over a so called new model!!

Shame on p2!!!

• squall_shinoda on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:20 am

Correct, I agree with you. The only thing that Perodua knows right now is to recycle the same models over and over with different tags because they’re running out of new models.

• Wonder why most of comment in here understand,

in july – myvi sold = 16,500

if you read it clearly, it stated that perodua sold 16,500 (myvi + viva + alza).
        if you average it would be 5,500 each. or max for myvi is 6000 to 7000 which is nothing to be shout about as that is around saga monthly sales range.

• lagi best wo oo

• boyLosong on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:19 pm

RM concious consumer wil think more than twice before hop into Lagi Best.

• kuncisudu on Aug 03, 2011 at 8:40 pm

whats the point of having P2 when waht they do is just copy daihatsu? why not let daihatsu themselves sell the passo here? better quality and originality.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:21 pm

Kinda agree with you. But make sure the daihatsu is priced the same as P2…. Oh yeah btw it is Daihatsu Sirion/Boon and Toyota Passo. Passo is for the toyota badged car.

• john die on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:08 pm

maybe u should ask the same question to GM..y they use holden instead of pontiac or opel in australia…i think it is the same scenario rite?maybe some of u can find the logic behind it..

• john die on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:10 pm

btw..it is not daihatsu passo..it is daihatsu sirion i suppose..cheers

• vxxxxxx on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:12 pm

you got to divert this question to the govt WHY?

If Malaysian have a choice, they don’t need Proton and Perodua.

• MoFaz on Aug 04, 2011 at 12:38 am

yes, you have a choice. who force you to buy P1 or P2?

• Littlefire on Aug 04, 2011 at 8:35 am

Yes, for lower inccome we have to force to buy P1 & P2 due to lower tax & AP compare to others!!! If really all are in open market & fairly price do you think P1 & P2 will survive?!?

• yeah.. perodua ‘copy’ daihatsu, like vauxhall and holden ‘copy’ opel, and lexus harrier ‘copy’ toyota harrier.stupid lexus,don’t even think of a new name. all stupid car company.

• Kiddo on Aug 04, 2011 at 2:53 am

you are the stupid one, pal! The so-called Lexus Harrier is the RX series, not Harrier. Funny!

• lonelyobserve on Aug 04, 2011 at 5:43 am

Toyota already avoids controversy between its model and Lexus model since Lexus introduction to Japan home soil about 5-6 years ago. All current Lexus models have no Toyota badged models sold in Japan, except Lexus GX, which is Toyota Land Cruiser Prado.

• Just me on Aug 04, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Lexus was initially created for US market to differentiate a luxury version of Toyota. For some model, you will see the L badge in US and T badge in Japan. It is probably same for Infiniti and Nissan, Acura and Honda.

• donadoni on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:02 pm

truth be told. no matter the design p2 will come out. it always sell coz ppl are crazy

• Citroen Zx on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:33 am

people are generally driven by fear more than desire which takes some guts & risks tolerence. That means people have that kia su (afraid of lose), kia si (afraid of die) mentality. They want to play it safe till the level that they lose out alot of adventure in life. Look at citroen 2nd value, C5 when new year 2002, RM 170K, today, 9 years after that you can buy it at RM 29K (17% of new price) from dealer. Imagine what is the dealer trade in price. RM 22K (12%) perhaps?

Mind you that this car has 8 airbags and Euro NCAP crash test 5 star. And magic ride carpet with even 7 series or S class cannot compete. Those who drive Citroen knows what I mean. Ask your self, to follow the crowd, play it save , get yourself a lagi best or enjoy the cheap good quality of french masterpiece? Fear drives you or desire? only u can answer. For me I will follow desire and get a second hand C5. The world if full of choices. Peace =-=

• Friction on Aug 05, 2011 at 11:24 pm

A friend of mine shares the same thought once…. so he eventually went for a citroen.. yes it’s true.. comfort level, safety features… first class but, any car which is almost a decade old… will give u tons of problem… it is just crazy…!

• Citroen Zx on Aug 06, 2011 at 2:14 pm

this shows that you are fear driven… then u should get the lagi best.. and don’t complain

• jolly_idiot on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Seems lotsa P2 basher here. But i doubt these P2 basher here actually a P2 buyer as well.

• Ha Gnih on Aug 04, 2011 at 1:16 am

They bash because they feel like it. Just like how they bash Vellfire drivers like me, and yeah, I doubt they have even driven a Vellfire before. But this new Myvi is really easier on the eyes. Both inside and out. Bought one for my mom for her daily commuting to the market and she loves it as well and mileage is not bad. I’d give a thumb up for this one.

• Do you really have to tell people that you own a Vellfire?

• Ha Gnih on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:26 am

Previously I was being bashed by some for stating the difference between Starex and Alphard/Vellfire. By the way, are you jealous ? :)

• Faddd on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:51 am

Jealous? far from it, feel sorry for you that you compensate the size of your genital with a bread van….

Come on, it’s a freaking van…! what’s the big deal, whoop dee doo I drive a Vellfire, nobody gives a flying f**k about it.

Probably can bury it with you also in the grave if you like it so much.

• Girlfriend, please. Nobody here gives a rat ass about your Vellfire. But it amazes me that you managed to make everything has to be about you.

• whats the big deal bout a boxy vellfire? even a w211 E200k or F60 5 series looks more cool, prestigious, luxurious and more comfortable than that ugly van!!!!!

• A : what car do you ride?
          B: myvi jer
          A: ohh…

A : what car do you ride?
          C :saga baru,.flx tu
          A :wallawehh..must be very smooth maa cvt all that..bla2 bla2..

• Wisdom on Aug 04, 2011 at 10:43 am

People here getting fed up with ur vellfire story. U think driving vellfire so cool, in fact looks like train operator….

Yeah myvi suits your kind…..

• autojohndoe on Aug 04, 2011 at 1:09 pm

you drive a vellfire?

wow!!!!

then… what?

• what? vellfire?
        bwahahahaha hahaha
        i don’t think it’ll give you prestige sorry

• Kambing Gurun on Aug 04, 2011 at 12:41 pm

I have both P1 & P2, but I still bash P2… So your assumption is faulty…

• RedBeanBun on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:15 pm

I just cannot believe it….

• Puzzled on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:24 pm

A Myvi caught fire last night near Phileo Damansara.

• Wisdom on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:48 am

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/8/3/nation/9227848&sec=nation

Looking at the car condition, it doesnt involved in accident and i dont think the owner is a mod-type (std wheels, no sticker). So the fire could happen on any std myvi?

• ken block ford fiesta on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:37 pm

i dont care what the sales figure show, i will definitely not going to buy this car. Boring liao this car!! Ugly summore!

• shawal on Aug 03, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Wow , who said Malaysians are poor ,we’re quiet prosperous ~!

• lagimahai on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:01 pm

they purposely post their sales figure frequently to make people believe it is best car……………………but is not,

i rather buy any saga flx or persona …rather than this overpriced……..

• Wisdom on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:30 pm

Saw a few lagi best on the road…
    Honestly, the old one seems more refine. The new one seems stripped down and smaller.
    With such high output, i wont be surprised if some of these units facing built quality problems…

• lalala on Aug 03, 2011 at 10:57 pm

Good job but more sales doesnt mean better car.

Man utd has more fans worldwide but barca kills them almost every time they play

• not everytime la bro…the last one they lost…XD…does that mean p1 will beat p2 in eventually????…hahahahah

• kuncisudu on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:00 pm

yes, myvi is a best seller, not the best car. to be a best seller, you just need a good marketing.

• This means nothing..it just prove that Perodua have a better image among car buyers in Malaysia..but it doesn’t change the fact that myvi is a total rip off..even though proton did not sell as many saga as myvi, it doesn’t change the fact that saga has more to offer than myvi..sales figures are subjective..even Ferrari sales is less than myvi but that doesn’t mean that myvi is a better car than ferrari right? Peace :)

• Hehea on Aug 03, 2011 at 11:39 pm

Long live Great Wall Motor! erk.. wrong place. :p

• Sambal Belacan on Aug 04, 2011 at 12:52 am

This is definately a “female only” car coz it is so feminine. Any guy who droves this car will be consider by other as Ah Gua.Haha!I think this new myvi will sells like hot cake in Thai coz there got so many Ah Gua. But sadly, Nissan March already win Thai Ah Gua hearts.lol

• lonelyobserve on Aug 04, 2011 at 5:54 am

See the original Toyota Passo and Daihatsu Boon in Japan. Both cars are marketing for female customers. Here Perodua people try to redesign the car body to impress the Japanese that people in Boleh Land can make femine car into uni-sex car.

Ah Gua is siutable for those guys care the car like his wife, not for people who own it for slaving or torturing purposes.

• EdZai on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:26 am

pfff…. even my “Girlfriend” thinks this new Myvi looks ugly~!

• runner on Aug 04, 2011 at 2:48 am

We should say thanks to p2 because bring Toyota’s tech into their car. Without that, sure p1 never change their product. Im talking about quality especially. Look at p1 product before persona or DSZ join p1. Really disappoited!

• AvayaCisco on Aug 04, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Am still dissappointed with the quality built of Saga….look so cheap

• Friction on Aug 05, 2011 at 11:35 pm

Fren, my 2 year old Persona… can collect water under driver seat whenever it rains… i wonder what can u say abt that???

• I am not fans of perodua….however….

My opinion, perodua is better choices than problematic proton….. i know there some trouble with perodua models too… but less less less than greedy proton vendor which backbones of Datuk/Dato’…….

They steal our money with pride and joy.

• zainal abidin on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:52 am

Did you know the same vendors that supplies PROTON supplies their product to PERODUA too?

• You said “some” vendor. Not All. That’s why perodua less problem than proton.
        I am wondering this “some” vendor must be VVIP

VVIP that suck our money handsomely.

• ntahpape on Aug 06, 2011 at 9:49 pm

and do you know that the parts supplied according to their spec which different between P1 and P2? do you think same vendor will supply same part with same SPEC to different carmaker??dont talk like u know everything…

• Even if they (vendors) were all the same, P2 got the whole (good) different quality system compared to P1, and they follow it very strictly. Not like the other side, law (system) is to be broken! Some more, P2 people were trained to follow the system right from they first started working, very young. It’s inculcated in them. Pst.. pst… do you know DSZ has been fishing them one by one?

• A cvt doesnt save u much fuel if it’s ‘engine’ itself is not good. So y not choose an old junk 4 speed auto engine with better fuel saving and consistency. Assuming if u dun need a large boot. X-D

• Sometimes I keep thinking Perodua or Toyota just manipulating the figure…why? because I don’t see much of their ‘new’ MyVI and Vios car on the road but the figure keep telling otherwise..I monitoring it since last years and if let say it’s true they got such 5000 or 10 00 or wahtever figure it should apply or show with the car on the road..but none!!

One example is if you look at a Perodua branch at Jln Semarak you can see that these new Myvi is just on the showroom with no buyers ( I monitor it for about 2 months) so how come the queue is long when there is no takers?…

yes you can say that this figure come from MAA…but does this figure being audited?? I doubt about it!…same case for MyVi and Vios…no new car on the road ( I travel from KL – Putrajaya- Damansara every day but the figure keep ‘boom’ every month.

Man

• Bolehland on Aug 04, 2011 at 1:07 pm

Salesman do outdoor sales,not must at showroom to make deal.many car salesman have door-to-door service.

• mohsin on Aug 04, 2011 at 8:36 am

OMG!

• komenturg on Aug 04, 2011 at 8:55 am

this little car takes one from point A to B, with some degree of safety features. it wun break the 100kmh in3.0 seconds, wun give u 25 km/l FC, but is ez on the parking and tight streets where ppl triple park etc. nothing fantastic but good enuf for day to day use. reasonable amt of practical usage, low on road tax etc… however, ppl at P2 could consider the next step of new models to include 6 speed auto, better anti roll when cornering and dashboard plastics. not to say the current one is bad, for this price it is ok lah, not spectacular… just ok. but if these newer items r included in, this will be a big plus point to sell. ur launching of the 1.5 myvi late august / early sept with the same 4 speed auto is not great, kind of dissapointing…. 4 speed auto is so backward, like in the 80’s

• always want to lift tax on import cars but then want fuel subsidy as well.

• bongok on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:16 am

saga flx will make Lagi Best eat $hit later hahaha

• people want good fuel economy, p1 still long way to go to match p2 efficiency.

my saga 1.3 just calculated to have 9.16l/100km or ard 26.9 mpg. thats poor

• Myvi is a safe and lame choice when buying a car. How many of us would come up with sentences like “Simple-simple cukup la, beli Myvi sudah” or “I drive Myvi only” when it comes to Myvi?

People would ask you more questions even if you drive Hyundai i10 than Myvi. That is how boring this car is.

• hahahha da agak dah, mesti ada yang nak beli punya… i saw some new myvi on the road, but seriously difficult to differentiate between the old and new myvi…haha

• Beh tahan on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:31 am

Aiseh, buying a Perodua is anytime better than a Proton. Besides the quality and reliablity you are also doing yourself a justice by supporting good corporate governance. That’s why Perodua hesitates to merge with Proton. What for? Proton full of hanky panky stuffs and corruption especially in the parts supply. Lousy quality parts = Lousy car. Don’t know whether it’s the management’s fault or the government…….

• Friction on Aug 05, 2011 at 11:42 pm

your comment is not really correct… it is Perodua who actually want to merge with Proton… tht’s all i can tell u.. let me give u some hint.. Marketing strategy?

• Cheng on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:51 am

why P2 and other car’s quality are so so only in bolehland?

because they only have to be a little “bit” better than P1.

• farizY on Aug 04, 2011 at 9:55 am

Proton should come out with a successor to Savvy, and pack it with the latest tech and design……despite the spec improvement (cvt,ABS, EBD, airbags as standard) on Saga, the car doesn’t quite have the international look, it somehow look cheap…….improve on those, learn from Kia and Hyundai…..

• savvy got thrashed in the market by viva-myvi combo. i think proton now knows better to stick with affordable sedans and mpv

• Chris on Aug 04, 2011 at 10:02 am

I’m driving a Viva BX here, yeah, the cheapest one, with 5 speed manual. I’m not too sure about a 6 speed auto though, the car is so small and compact a compact CVT gearbox should work better.

It doesn’t really matter whether the CVT gearbox is durable, since there will be people like me who only commute 20km to/from work everyday. 2 more weeks and my Viva will be 7 months old, and I only did 4100KM in it…

Current Viva is 6th Gen Mira right? I’m quite interested in the 7th gen Mira. Longer stroke engine with more torque, CVT gearbox, etc. Current Viva claims 18++km/L mileage, but I averaged 15km in town and 17km/L out of town… 7th gen Mira claims 24km/L, I might just get 20km/L out of it!

• off-topic

2012 Toyota Camry – http://twitpic.com/60eixo

• paparazi on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:19 am

who know what’s the show behind, their strategy la to show us so many people buy.

• tattoo sleeves on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:50 am

wow! good job P2. But for me, i still prefer Saga over Myvi.. my wife bought a saga fl, so far so good!!! :)

• MCdog on Aug 04, 2011 at 12:25 pm

Pity us ;-)

• ayamxxx on Aug 04, 2011 at 12:49 pm

Eventhough Proton come out with 1.6 cc saga, FLX CVT gearbox at 1.3 saga, not most people will have faith & put their hard earning money on Proton Saga,

Cz it is the 1st time they had experienced using the CVT gearbox, I don’t think they have 100% confidence with dealing the CVT as they had no experince before.

Secondly, the QUALITY, People said that Proton had improve in their quality,
    But why there are a lot of problem with Proton consumer on IAFM system, Satria Neo CPS rattling dashboard sound, 32bit ECU Persona. Why??

• accord on Aug 04, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Perodua cars problem since Kancil untill Myvi (before Myvi Lagi Best) is overheating problem…. that coz me more than RM 1k to rectify the problem… :( what say u????

• to be fair, the question of why also need to be asked regarding the never ending problems of leaking gearbox, brake caliper rattling, and hot cabin by exhaust as this still happen to new models.

• coco_nuts on Aug 04, 2011 at 1:54 pm

My Fellow PTs,

Big news new MYV selling like hot cakes?
    Big news 4 Star Rating for New MyVI (6?) and Alza?
    Big news for no.1 spot in the market?

Me wondering, which star cluster the MyV (5)? MyIV (4)? MyIII (3) belongs?
    Just another MILO tin can like the Toyota KE 10?

Wake-up Malaysian…we deserve better deals from Dia-kiasu @ Toyo_da for our hard earned MYR fiat monies. Don’t simply inflated the price and the demand story for their fat bonuses.

Teach them a lesson, they way you teach PROTON…that the customer is the PayMaster!

Then only you will see the Malaysian market getting the same spec with the JDM customer, not stuck with 4 speed auto for ages.

• amingo on Aug 04, 2011 at 10:04 pm

hem proton learned already.. perodua..still not learning..

• wuha-wuha on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:00 pm

But with budget of 50k what choice did we have other than P1, P2, Chinacar, Suzuki Alto, Kia Picanto and Hyundai i10?

• RedBeanBun on Aug 06, 2011 at 11:12 am

The root of all evil is the policies and the policies maker. Free up the market, and P1 will improve, P2 will improve, and rakyat have more choice.

• wagenise on Aug 04, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Good Job for the nation. :)

• Sonic Boomz on Aug 04, 2011 at 1:56 pm

Wah.. why p1 and p2 bashing each other here?

You are brothers ok!

Both also idjits!

haha.. reply me if u terasa pedas!

• AvayaCisco on Aug 04, 2011 at 2:27 pm

Basically I think both P1 n P2 is overpriced in Msia. Overseas they are selling cheaper…really amazing. Probably even cheaper than in Langkawi

P1 need to improved on it’s egonomics and both exterior n interior design of the car
    Especially the steering wheel of P1 is really really super ugly, the touch is no nice and keep blocking the view of intrumental panel. This is the most touch place in a car and it got to be nice.

P2 needs to improve it’s pricing and safety structure of the rear of the car

• maserati on Aug 04, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Saga is a piece of crap. Handling good? So what, everybody race with u ah? Engine sucks and plastic quality is rubbish.

If sum1 said p2 has loads of sales bcuz of marketing then y cant p1 do the same? Rubbish excuse.

MU has alot of fans but barca beat them ? Yeah how about other clubs? Is barca the only club u can think of?

• BN=barang naik on Aug 04, 2011 at 5:07 pm

lots of jealousy reply towards P2..at the end of the day its the sales that matters…P2 may be a 2nd national car but their sales definitely not 2nd..wakakaka

• P1 is for people who like to drive the fake Mitsubishi and wearing a pasar malam sunglasses!P2 is for { P } lesson and women.

• Wonder why most of comment in here understand,

in july – myvi sold = 16,500

if you read it clearly, it stated that perodua sold 16,500 (myvi + viva + alza).
    if you average it would be 5,500 each. or max for myvi is 6000 to 7000 which is nothing to be shout about as that is around saga monthly sales range.

• correct! as i mentioned somewhere in the previous topic, P2 like to make small thing sound really2 big. be careful with their tactics!

• Hey c’mon, best seller cars only the manufacturer happy.

I work in engineering industry, I understand well that very high volume production may tend to overlook the quality of each car. Although the % of faulty cars remain similar (for eg. 10%), but the number of faulty car on the road increased tremendously !! 10% of 25k faulty cars vs 10% of 2.5k faulty cars is really a big difference in number.

aihhh… why consumer so happy and tend to buy best seller car? and why so happy that you are driving the best seller car? Best seller = boleh nampak everywhere = so damn boring and nothing so special besides it is best seller.

• I own Saga, previously Myvi. Both have their positive points, yet both have their weaknesses. So for me, no need to bash this automaker and that automaker, because most of the bashing comments looks so negative. I wonder if ppl are paid to give comments on this website by certain automaker. What I mean is, be fair to other people. if you drive/drove the car, then give a sincere comments on it, so other people will get a valid info. If your comments are based only “my friend told me”, or “I think”, then think again to post it here.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 06, 2011 at 11:09 am

I drove Saga for 6 years. SUCKS!
      I drove Waja for 9 years. SUCKS!

• Izhar on Aug 07, 2011 at 12:52 pm

All my family own a proton and perodua
      My sister – 8 years old 1.3 WIRA power window problem in average every 3 year, acceleration quiet bad especially when air-cond turn on..but for my sister, it is ok for go-back office.
      My first brother – a 10 years old 1.5 ISWARA..he bought secondhand(a ex-KL TAXI)… the suspension quiet stiff..maybe bcoz it is a TAXI before. but the cornering superb..His wife own a kancil lampu bulat..as a small car with 850cc, it is ok for going to work.
      My second brother – a 18 years old 1.5 SAGA…still running until today…1 year weekend travel kota bharu – sg petani and 9 month weekend travel melaka- kota bharu…change spare part for regular maintenance..His wife have own a kancil before…no major problem, and change to Kelisa and it was a good car. buy another car, PERSONA..have change IAFM once (under warranty).
      My mother – a PERSONA, no major problem but the audio switch at the steering will always get confuse.went to service center and the problem still occur…just abaikan..use the button at the radio console…past 3 month..been stolen at Proton service center..and now driving my brother Kelisa.
      Me – a 10 years old 1.3 ISWARA so far so good..no major problem..only the cabin quiet noisy..(maybe bcoz of 10 year old car) been weekend travel Dungun – Seremban for 1 1/2 year….for me a proton or perodua still a good car for the level of its price…
      our driving habits, skills and caring of the car will effect our pockets for the problems and maintenance..
      ENJOY DRIVING…