Harvinder and Julie explore the wonders of Taiping in Episode 5 of Travel Safe and Save with PETRONAS PRIMAX 95 XTRA!

Last week Harvinder brought Negeri Sembilan to your computer screens as he checked out the local Seremban market, visited Cape Rachado and experienced The Dusun. For Episode 5 of the travel series that goes to off-the-beaten tracks, both Harvinder and Julie visit the lovely town of Taiping.

The duo travel to the town which is famously known as the wettest town in the peninsular with the feisty little Ford Fiesta where they check out the Kuala Sepetang Charcoal Factory which has been around since the 1940s.

The hosts continue their journey with a stop at the fishing village in Kuala Sepetang that was formerly known as Port Weld before checking out the Taiping Casual Market as they try out a rather special beverage called “Doremi”.

They finally retire at Adeline’s Villa, a close-to-nature resort in the midst of the Gopeng rainforest. You can also check out episodes 1 till 4 of Travel Safe and Save with PETRONAS PRIMAX 95 XTRA here.

Check out an image gallery and more information on the locations after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2500]

The Kuala Sepetang Charcoal Factory has been in existence since the 1940s and it makes use of the mangrove trees planted around the factory. The factory which is run by Chuah Chow Aun allows visitors to experience the process of producing charcoal.

Kuala Sepetang Charcoal Factory
Kuala Sepetang,
Taiping, Perak.
Tel: +6012 573 9563

View Larger Map

During its heyday, Port Weld which opened in 1877 was used to export tin ore via cargo ships. Opium, preserved vegetables and tobacco were also traded in the area. Activities increased when a railroad was built in 1884. Port Weld is now called Kuala Sepetang and is primarily used by fishing boats.

Port Weld Fishing Village
Kuala Sepetang,
Taiping, Perak.

View Larger Map

The Taiping Casual Market offers an array of local delicacies and most interestingly, it is divided into a Halal and a non-Halal section. The Casual Market is also famous for a special beverage called “Doremi” which is a mixture of barley, coffee and tea.

Taiping Casual Market
Jalan Panggung Wayang,
34000, Taiping, Perak.

View Larger Map

Located in the rainforest of Gopeng, Adeline’s Villa allows visitors to get close with nature and the orang asli. The villa which is located away from city life also offers nature-based activities such as white water rafting, caving and so on.

Adeline’s Villa
Lot 13302, Mukim Teja,
Kampung Geruntum,
Sungai Itik, 31600,
Gopeng, Perak.
Tel: +605 359 2833

View Larger Map

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• infinity on Aug 04, 2011 at 8:20 pm

I do not understand why from all of the episodes so far, the fuel consumption doesn’t seems to be good. I am from Taiping, and if i do such travelling as above using my Gen2 1.3 (which is somewhat underpower), i reckon that i can do in less than 8.0l/100km.

This Ford Fiesta which is supposed to give good fuel consumption with its dual clutch, direct injection, and what not, only manage to do it at 9.4l/100km. Could it be the petrol??or maybe the driver??

• capt jack on Aug 04, 2011 at 10:07 pm

yeah. i own a ford fiesta 1.6 hb, driving almost all the time in penang island but still i manage to get 8.6l/100km looking at my trip computer. @_@ i guess they must be using a brand new car for testing which is why they are so poor in fuel consumption.

• i think its the driver

• Harvinder Sidhu (Member) on Aug 04, 2011 at 11:05 pm

Dear all, as mentioned before the consumption includes driving in heavy traffic and we also have heavy loads at times.

For example we need the sound man and the director in the back seat, not to mention heavy production equipment.

At the end of the day, the figure reflect genuine numbers that we have not tampered with. Thanks!

• julie <3

• ezwan shah on Aug 04, 2011 at 10:26 pm

i managed to get 400km for RM50 by using non-national RON95 fuel. I m driving an old model national car.

400km : RM50 : 26 liter of RON95 fuel.

Equivalent to 6.5 liter / 100km

• ronan4896 on Aug 04, 2011 at 10:49 pm

yeah, i got sedan. the fuel consumption is good at RM0.11~0.13/km.
    learn to tame it. ;)

• PETRON on Aug 05, 2011 at 8:16 am

i just changed to the new petronas fuel….(previously was sheLL)
    the mileage was drop but the car got more punch

• tokmoh on Aug 05, 2011 at 10:02 am

Nice episode. Makes me wonder, I heard people do put charcoal in car to absorb smells, will any charcoal work, or a specific type of charcoal?

That Adeline Villa… just checked out its price. Quite pricey wor -.-

• sukasuki on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:49 pm

i use ordinary charcoal to absorb durian smell inside my boot. and also some daun pandan. :D

• tokmoh on Aug 05, 2011 at 8:33 pm

Does that mean that pebble stone-like charcoal sold in hypermarkets will work just as good as these wooden charcoal?

Aah yes, daun pandan too. thanks for the tip :)

• these two got chemistry. should appear together more often.

• Iylia H on Aug 06, 2011 at 12:55 am

damn, that annoying ‘lala song’ when harvinder is harvesting lala keep appearing in every episode! and now it’s stuck in my head. and it’s playing over and over again since last night, when i first watched this video.

So paul, i’d be glad to sing you this song if you were to feature the lala harvesting snippet again in the next episode.

do consider my offer yah! hahah