Ford sales up by 230% – fastest growing brand in Malaysia

Yes, that’s right. Ford sold 3,458 vehicles in the first six months of 2011, a whopping 230% increase from the same period last year. This makes the Blue Oval the fastest growing car brand in Malaysia.

It’s no surprise that this big jump is mostly due to the popularity of the Ford Fiesta supermini, which was officially launched in October 2010 after several months of pre-launch activity. Sime Darby Auto Connexion (SDAC) imports the B-segment hatch CBU from Thailand, where it’s made at the AutoAlliance plant in Rayong.

Of the total figure, the Fiesta contributed 2,035 units, or about 59%. The Ranger pick-up truck, Ford’s biggest seller in Malaysia for a long time, racked up 1,183 units, or 34.2%. The rest were picked up by the Focus and Mondeo. SDAC recently launched the facelifted Mondeo and S-Max MPV, both powered by 2.0-litre Ecoboost engines.

“The exceptional market growth we are experiencing in Malaysia is testament of our commitment to our customers and to the region. These are certainly exciting times for the Ford brand in Malaysia. Over the past few years we have launched seven new or redesigned models to the market and consumers are clearly impressed with what we have to offer,” said David Westerman, Asia Pacific Regional Manager – Ford Export & Growth Operations

“But we are not standing still, and based on Ford’s strong commitment to this region we will continue to deliver a series of innovative, safe and environmentally friendly vehicles,” he added.

Read our test drive reports for the Fiesta and Mondeo Ecoboost here and here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Supertram on Aug 05, 2011 at 3:03 pm

Yep, Fiesta is a global success, but want even better sale Ford?

Bring in the F-150 and Explorer!

• racotua on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:55 pm

f150? can you afford the price and after that, the road tax? for what bring in a model with limited appeal but have to stock up on spare parts and train the whole country’s staff just to serve one buyer?

• antifordranger on Aug 05, 2011 at 6:08 pm

Nobody wants to buy a Ford Ranger without EcoBoost when F150 comes here.

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 05, 2011 at 11:24 pm

Please bring in the F-150 Raptor!!!!!

• The F-150 is just too large for Asian roads.
      The all-new Explorer is LHD only, it will soon go on sale in the Philippines, I believe this is the only ASEAN country to get the Explorer.

• kawan on Aug 05, 2011 at 3:26 pm

marvelous la ford..caya la..jgn beli inspira..

• Mr Wancer on Aug 05, 2011 at 8:57 pm

Different segment la bro….

Compare to Myvi, Jazz,Vios, City & Saga which is in the same segment see which one has the most value for money…

Saga for the masses and Forte for the enthusiasts :)

• LOL for trolling.
      ppl compared Fiesta with latio sport, swift,getz,jazz..
      Inspira? that car is in C segment with altis, forte, civic.
      got smoked with inspira is it… :P
      fiesta.. tested one in may. very good car, except the space is a little cramped.
      go for the ‘s’ version though. u wont regret it.
      unfortunately i was looking for a slightly bigger car. ~mazda 3 hatch~

• Peterpj on Aug 05, 2011 at 3:28 pm

Good job on the sales front SDAC…now please upgrade your service centre’s or introduce more authorised service centre’s to handle more cars as its taking much to long to service my Focus these days.

• bonceng on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:31 pm

yes i agree wit u.,.lack of SC even in klang valley…my neighbour own fiesta and need go to PJ for the service as Shah alam don hav..

• drMpower on Aug 05, 2011 at 3:34 pm

congratulation ford malaysia
    just dont screw up like the kia/hyundai of the 90s

mark my words for it
    u screw up, u are done.

again congratulation

• goldfries on Aug 05, 2011 at 3:34 pm

huuuwahhhh. lagi more poison me to buy.

:) Now….. can SDAC cope with the increased sale? cos even before the sale boost, people having been complaining about their sub-standard service.

• nabill on Aug 05, 2011 at 3:45 pm

the growth is basically bcause thy have a affordable rm80k range family car to compete….
    in this market , price sells……

• racotua on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:54 pm

and looks!!

• considering the Fiesta is price the same as the Jazz & Polo in UK & Euro but was selling cheaper here…..Good value at RM80K +- compared to rip off Jazz of rm110k (both jazz & fiesta made in tomyam land)

• Congratz…come and grab back your market share…esp from all those overprice japs. I want to see more quality car from ford on the road, too many japs already, eye sore. But please, maintain your good pricing to kill all those japs .

• Johndeep on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:03 pm

Mondeo: cool design, engine & tranny…yummy

Fiesta : warm design, engine & tranny…lack punch

S-Max : Clever design, engine & tranny…yummy
    S-Max being the best MPV in our market now, already in my shoping list for 2012

• antifordranger on Aug 05, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Ranger: Bold design but no EcoBoost… Boring
      F-series(F150,F250,F350…): Big block, got EcoBoost, interested.
      Falcon (Australia spec): Bigger than Mondeo, interior looks like limousine.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:10 pm

Bring the all mother of trucker – F150.

• septzz on Aug 05, 2011 at 7:50 pm

yeah! and the F150 SVT Raptor also! that truck is not for all but there’s someone who can afford it.

• Mr Cool on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Good for Ford, hope they will bring in the turbo version

• ffiesta on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Good job ford! Now please upgrade your service before my service session!

• can’t wait to see new focus 2012

• bobdbilder on Aug 05, 2011 at 5:03 pm

For many years, closing on decades, we’ve always had a thing for UK Fords. TX3s, Telstars and the Mazda alternatives. Then the Ugly Americans try to do their own, closed down AMIM and had a stint with the US Fords made in Siam. FORD/GM/ US had this fetish for selling trucks. Now back to UK Fords made in Siam but they are actual cars. Welcome back. Hope you stay around longer this time around.

• kamaji on Aug 05, 2011 at 5:15 pm

Yes I truly agree with you…especially TX3 was my all time favorite.

• the brand that almost bankrupt is resurrected ! now T&H is dying globally, cycle of life.

• my familyy once own a ford cortina….long long ago….

• and most family have their ford escort too during those days ppl make fun of corolla & datsun made from “milo” tin…but now, ppl worshipped those japs instead

• awannano on Aug 06, 2011 at 2:19 pm

Merkur XR4Ti

• kamaji on Aug 05, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Good to hear that Ford is making a strong return mainly from Fiesta sales.Next will like to see more newer models to compete with those overpriced jap cars.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 05, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Bring the Fusion to RHD market!!

• Paul Tan on Aug 05, 2011 at 5:46 pm

We have the Mondeo already, they’re the same class of car.

I’d love to have a Taurus here though! :D

• antifordranger on Aug 05, 2011 at 6:36 pm

We also need Falcon and F150 for Singapore… They got EcoBoost, and more interesting than any Fords sold here… Ford Falcon Ute (truck variant) better suited for Singaporean car parks, while F150 made for rich businessmen…

• wuha-wuha on Aug 06, 2011 at 3:21 pm

F150 in Singapore? Nah…all pick-up truck are Goods Vehicle.

I guess you going to fetch your migrant worker on behind?

• antifordranger on Aug 07, 2011 at 6:34 am

Is Singapore have excise duty for pickup trucks?

• exciseeeeeeeeeeeeeeee on Aug 07, 2011 at 6:39 am

I found that all pickup trucks in Singapore are more expensive. Why?

• antifordranger on Aug 08, 2011 at 6:32 pm

That’s excise duty for trucks.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 06, 2011 at 12:04 am

RM178K for a Mondeo, and u$20K for a Focus…i just cant swallow it as the same class…driven once from LA-Vegas, Fuel consumption is superb low. Cant believe it…

• RedBeanBun on Aug 06, 2011 at 12:08 am

and Ford Taurus is once upon a time out sold Accord/Camry in USA for the same segment…pity…

• Carl Wong on Aug 05, 2011 at 6:01 pm

Great, I like their 1.0L direct injection + turbo Ecoboost engines, powerful and fuel efficient. In the near future I would like to see 1.0L or even smaller engines with direct injection + turbo + full hybrid technology, it could be super powerful and very very very fuel efficient with super low emissions at the same time to achieve AT PZEV (advanced technology partial-zero-emission vehicle) in the California state of USA. The F1 engines will have a similar technology in 2014, which I can’t wait…!!!

• van hohenheim on Aug 05, 2011 at 6:09 pm

does the mondeo with ecoboost on sale already?

• must be on Aug 05, 2011 at 8:03 pm

s max launch when ?

• lestat on Aug 05, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Nobody mentioned Kuga? I want Kuga!

• Maserati on Aug 05, 2011 at 10:47 pm

Nahh..the only reason why Fiesta is selling is because its cheap and its not bad looking.

Other than Fiesta,I dont see Ford making a huge impact with the other models.

• Jimmy on Aug 05, 2011 at 11:20 pm

The most under-specced car at RM175 000 in Malaysia is ……………………………………………………………………………………………………….. To Cry 2.4.

Don’t worry boys, it is not your Mondeo which has so many airbags.

• Of course Because Camry is for rich but not so rich people and ford is for richer driver. Camry owners generally opt for a higher resale value and therefore willing to tolerate lower spec

• lovespeed on Aug 05, 2011 at 11:44 pm

from the majority of the postings, macam diberi betis, nak peha….

• Faddd on Aug 06, 2011 at 2:27 pm

We’re just over exited, that’s all, haha..! all in all, we welcome the Fiesta and future Ford models with wide open arms..!

• x-vios on Aug 08, 2011 at 12:17 pm

all models fall nicely into readily segmented market in Malaysia. businessmen won’t bring in odd models just because some people like it but most probably won’t buy it.

• GOH motors should re-launch Klang showroom

• “We can go there over bridges, under bridges, over bridges, under bridges, and when we get wet we hang to dry, Ooo Ooo.”

Damn! i just cant get that commercial song out of my head!!

• Apalalu on Aug 06, 2011 at 9:55 am

Dear sdac,
    Please reprice the mondeo n s-max. and also bring in 1.6 ecoboost models.
    Price them at around 130k(1.6) and 155k(2.0). at this price i believe you can
    get more sales.
    If it can be done with the focus, then u can do so with these two.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 06, 2011 at 10:35 am

Ford Focus RS….. The Renault Megane 250 RS is too lonely in its own market…. SDAC should just bring that in, let consumers decide.

• messi on Aug 06, 2011 at 12:25 pm

Nothing to talk about. just a 500 units per month. still long way to go if want to be no : 4.

• Well done Ford….The fiestas really brings back those 90s glory days of the Ford Lasers & TX3 and the 70s -80s ford cortinas back…well done!

• Faddd on Aug 06, 2011 at 2:22 pm

We want the Taurus SHO…….! Direct Injected-Turbo V6 engine….! huge HUGE sedan in this day and age….

Also bring in all those strong powerful model from FORD, Falcon (Australian), Mustang BOSS 302, Mustang Shelby Cobra, GT500, Ford GT (must be crazy to own one of these), Ford Galaxy MPV(UK), Ford S-Max (UK), 2012 Focus…….

Ford was once a strong brand in Malaysia, Cortina, Escort, Laser, Lynx, etc2..

• buskerhatesTnH on Aug 06, 2011 at 4:45 pm

1 of my cars is brand new fiesta sedan that i bought for leisure. It has 4 major problems:
    a) melting boot carpet
    b) miss-align rear door
    c) knocking front absorber (left)
    d) steering rack making some kind of noise

I went to do 10k servis, told them about the problems, but all they have to say is, drive a bit more, and come again later , hopefully, the problems is gone…

F@ck u ford….. people, please dont buy ford. go buy peugeot … their servis are better.

• Lim Kopi on Aug 07, 2011 at 3:11 am

Oh don’t worry buddy …. u still have to face these problems in the days to come:

1) Continuous crappy service by Sime Darby and staff

2) Continuous Reliability issues – like what you are facing now, its just the beginning

3) Spare parts rarity issues – and hence expensive to find and buy them parts

….. lastly, when your sick and tired of your Ford …. you will be have to sell your car at less than 50% of its original value (regardless of how new the piece of crap is), because NO ONE REALLY WANTS TO BUY A 2ND HAND FORD…..

I know this cos I used to own one …. Great handling though …. despite all that :)

• buskerhatesTnH on Aug 07, 2011 at 12:25 pm

mine is not so great in handling becos of the busted front absorber .

it’s a fast car… i really enjoy the 6 speed and double clucth system… but it is no use… i cannot drive it fast becos if i did, the carpet will melt faster due to the heat generates by the exhaust . and it will become a dangerous ordeal as the front absorber cannot withstand anything above 120kmph….

about the spare parts, my windscreen cracked recently, i dont have windscreen insuran as the salesman was stupid not to include it when he should. went to change it, and it will cost me close to rm3k….. so i settled with repair it… some uv light magic wut so ever….

fack ford…. go buy 1 and you’ll die having hyper tension… those who doesnt believe me, leave your emel so that i can give u some pictures (hi def as taken with dslr) to prove it…. fack ford, dont buy 1…

• Sime darby is crap on Aug 08, 2011 at 11:35 am

Sime Darby’s motor division (probably except for luxury segment) is full of irresponsible people. I got crap service from them for my Hyundai. Each time I told them a problem, they gave me 3 reasons it’s not a problem. And all 3 reasons for the one problem I brought up are to frustrate additional work to fix the car’s problem. It’s the same lame trick that 99% of drivers will fall for i.e. delay delay delay until owner gives up. Wonderful trick that works most of the time.

• capt jack on Aug 06, 2011 at 4:48 pm

bring in fiesta with 1.0L ecoboost engine.. that would be wooooo…

• armandd on Aug 06, 2011 at 6:06 pm

I can see the Fiesta everywhere nowadays..

• Piese Auto on Aug 07, 2011 at 3:29 am

the new ford models are just awesome! quality, good engines, nice design, low price.

• if you sell 100 cars last year and you sell 1000 cars this year then you also can be the fastest growing brand in Malaysia…. so if you go by absolute volume Ford is still no where…

not to mention the number of fiesta owners with problems…..

• Hmmmm… Of the problems with the car, my wife’s one, coming up to 8K, is still going strong. No problems as mentioned by other readers here.
    So I guess it’s your luck?

For the record, the car goes from PJ to Rawang daily. Not to mention having to endure the daily crappy Rawang road. And nothing has rattled so far. So it’s good… and we’re good with it.

I have a simple review of it on my blog here: http://kwan77.blogspot.com/2011/04/personal-review-ford-fiesta-16-s.html

• Cheng on Aug 08, 2011 at 10:48 am

invested so much in marketing sure will get some sales la… no need to scream so loud.

• Carl Wong on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:58 am

Ya the advertisement for Fiesta is still showing in the Cinemas..