Problem with illegally parked cars? Roll over them then

Ah, yes, this is probably something we’ve all wanted to do at some point, maybe even every day – crushing the beans out of an illegally parked car.

Over in Lithuania, the mayor of the country’s capital, Vilnius, decided to send a very clear – and dramatic – message over this issue. Apparently, Mayor Arturas Zuokas and the members of his office had grown tired of the hundreds of complaints over illegally parked vehicles.

So what’s a responsible mayor to do about such irresponsible behaviour? Why, get a 10-tonne BTR-60 eight-wheeled armoured personnel carrier and roll over one such vehicle as an example. In this case, a blue Mercedes, which was supposedly parked on a bike lane.

“I want to point out that if you have a car and more money it doesn’t mean that you can park it everywhere. Recently there has been an increase in this type of parking violations, and it shows a lack of respect for others,” reports quote the mayor as saying.

Well, the mayor seems to have driven home the point. We’d suggest not trying this at home on illegally parked vehicles in your neighbourhood. Unless you can get your hands on a Soviet BTR APC. At which point, someone else might too, and the ensuing mayhem might not be too pretty.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Excellent. The city halls and town councils should borrow a few of those from the army.

• lkf0512 on Aug 05, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Unleash the Marauder… :-)

• BigFire on Aug 05, 2011 at 5:32 pm

THey shd use the B52 bomber blows up the whole street see where ter gonna park their ferrari and rollroyce!

• KeretaMayat on Aug 08, 2011 at 9:46 am

That was a dumb idea dude. I think You don’t get the point.
        If you blew up the whole street, your Kancil won’t be able to go trough the streets as well.
        And one more thing, Ferrari & Roll Royce won’t park by the road; they will always park it at the valet area of course :)

• sukasuki on Aug 05, 2011 at 12:10 pm

please make it at KL!! love to see our datok bandar dbkl drives it on the illegal parked car. hahahaha

• ray_jay on Aug 05, 2011 at 12:16 pm

Cerita sejuk, abang. Tak tahulah panas untuk orang lain.

• KeretaMayat on Aug 08, 2011 at 9:56 am

Panas untuk minoriti je.
      Tapi majoriti setuju.
      Tak percaya tengok la undian tu sdr :)
      So dengan adanya undian tu kita sedar ramai orang Malaysia lebih bijak dan bertamadun. yang tak suka kereta park secara salah. Sebab parking secara salah ni la antara penyebab jalan jam. Kita bukan duduk kat kampung nak parking tepi2 jalan.
      Kalau dah dok kat KL tu buat la cara dok kat KL.
      Pemikiran kena setaraf dengan orang berpendidikan, bukan macam kat negara mundur lagi :)

• cap ayam on Aug 05, 2011 at 12:17 pm

agree..not APC just straight buy M1A1 TANK,this is a good idea n nice practise at our nation..

• my first target would be around the curve…bloody stingy fellas doon’t want to pay a few bucks parking..

• Alpha on Aug 05, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Yeah!!I agree.All of them park illegally around the whole place!!2 lane roads are now jz a single lane.Bloody stingy!!The parking there wasn’t at all expensive.

• cap ayam on Aug 05, 2011 at 12:19 pm

not APC..in malaysia u terus buy TANK,so someone can get komisen and the TANK can fired to people to.

• blue-traveler on Aug 05, 2011 at 12:19 pm

Agreed! So when will we seeing these APC, borrow from our own army, I do believe we have some, since we, tax payers have paid for them through Bousted, running around and crushing illegal double, tripe parked cars around, KL, Penang and Johor. (^ ^)

• Edmond on Aug 05, 2011 at 12:21 pm

Really got balls to do it… Salute!!! I am not sure the mayor here got balls to do it or not, :-)

• sob sob on Aug 05, 2011 at 1:14 pm

dey aint got balls or to be exact, half past six to be qualified for the post. ball lickers notwithstanding.

• _xXx_ on Aug 07, 2011 at 8:44 am

fake one la…he would have been gunned down long ago if the show was real

• Lesson well learned!!!

• rapidshifter on Aug 05, 2011 at 12:26 pm

need this to those cars that illegally park at Mutiara Damansara…. front of the Curve

• mfahd_88 on Aug 05, 2011 at 12:28 pm

awwww..i really want to see him roll over the ferarri and rolls-royce
    :(

• seaedge on Aug 05, 2011 at 12:40 pm

i guess if it is Klang Valley,.. they going to be very very busy… the executer and the cleaner

• squall_shinoda on Aug 05, 2011 at 12:41 pm

The government should have DBKL and all other PBTs to buy a tank each and crush those double parkers (read: double fuckers) for being so selfish by blocking other properly-parked cars and making their drivers’ lives so miserable.

• meridien on Aug 05, 2011 at 1:06 pm

respek!

• Mask Ryder on Aug 05, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Good Awareness Campaign Advertisement.
    Very Creative Indeed, no wonder Lithuania is the country with fastest economy growth in Europe.

• Black Dog on Aug 05, 2011 at 1:39 pm

Even DBKL Hq cars are park haphazardly, nobody pays DBKL, MPPJ summons, ‘tak guna langsung’ council. Mana ada bola?

Seriously, I feel so tempted to just bang on those that park so selfishly, blocking completely the backlane & half of main road. WTF the police doing?

• polis also simply park when they stop by and write saman. I’d like to crash the police car and polis bike with APC ^_^

• Chris on Aug 05, 2011 at 1:52 pm

lets do this to the ferrari and rolls royce….what a cowardly mayor…

not to the 15 years old merc…

• KeretaMayat on Aug 08, 2011 at 10:07 am

Ferrari & Roll Royce won’t park by the road; they will always park it at the valet area of course.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 05, 2011 at 2:03 pm

Bravo!!!!! even Lithuania got a gutsy mayor!!!!!!

• labuyot on Aug 05, 2011 at 2:25 pm

pakai je C4…biar tinggal debu

• alpha999 on Aug 05, 2011 at 2:53 pm

well done, however, destroying someone’s vehicle ends up more work, not the mention, possible targets of getting hurt by angered owners

the bigger car they own, the lower IQ they possess

why not just clamp all 4 wheels with unique bolts and ask these stubborn owner to pay heavy summons to release them

or just take photos of these illegally park vehicles and post them on official government website for the public to view

• In KL should pick the car to scrapyard . Then use the money to buy more crane to pick other stubborn idiot car ! Then nobody dare to leave their cars illegally.

• mystvearn on Aug 05, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Clearly the mayor has been watching too much top gear :P

• The tough guys are not so tough after all.

• William on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:09 pm

If this thing happen in Malaysia I’m sure many people will say the government use the their power to bully the citizen blah blah blah……all this kind of complain…

• nonama on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:29 pm

believe me, it is just a show.
    In fact, some of our councils have been doing this, but not to this extent lah.
    If you see cars being towed around during peak hours, 99% is staged.
    For good reason, of course.

• Ash Menon on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:31 pm

The problem with this scenario is that if you are running over multiple cars, you may accidentally go over one that is idling with someone waiting inside! I’d rather fine the guy for the market price of the car.

• Cateyes on Aug 05, 2011 at 4:56 pm

In Kuching, folks here just do not know or couldn’t be bothered to park their cars straight therefore wasting valuable parking spaces, those who obey the rules and park straight have to pay coupons, funny eh?

• awg1031 on Aug 05, 2011 at 5:25 pm

really? or maybe it is just rare cases..we are instead lacking parking spaces in kuching just like how bad our roads there..

• Expatriate VN on Aug 05, 2011 at 5:02 pm

Good show with APC in Lithuania. But in Bolehland with crap P1 & P2 tissue box shell on the wheel, they don’t need APC, but change a bigger tyre for Hilux, Ranger, D-max, Navara, etc, then it will do a good job to crush these tissue box with ease!

• mirror mirror on Aug 05, 2011 at 5:07 pm

I think the mayor is overly dramatizing it, just use any bulldozer will do, no need for armoured vehicles.

• Carl Wong on Aug 05, 2011 at 5:34 pm

LOL NICE.

• paparazi on Aug 05, 2011 at 5:40 pm

i definitely join DBKL to drive this around city to crush of an illegally parked car.

• Citroen DS3 on Aug 05, 2011 at 5:59 pm

so why is it a conveniently parked OLD S-Class? why not a brand new unit? or a brand new ferrari or rolls as shown in earlier picture? Or even just a brand new Merc C or BMW 3 series? wonder if its all staged?? Sorry for being sceptic but I do think its all staged. Ngam ngam the guy who walked out as the “owner” don’t even look convincing

• Yeah looks fake. If he did it to the Ferrari or the Rolls Royce, he will probably get shot by the owner.

• elpaciko on Aug 07, 2011 at 12:39 am

of course it fake.. its just a publicity stunt… last time i check, its still a crime to demolish other peoples property, even though its illegally park…

• Mask Ryder on Aug 05, 2011 at 7:00 pm

Anthony, u forget to inform forumer here that this is actually a Staged Awarness Campaign.

It is actually a stunt for Swedish TV Series “99 Things you should do before you die”.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 05, 2011 at 7:52 pm

Is it? Sorry, wasn’t aware of it. Was just reading all the reports on the story, and they didn’t mention it. But thanks for pointing that out.

• Jolly_idiot on Aug 06, 2011 at 9:52 am

Those whO commented here. I doubt you guys never double park or illegal park before? This could happen to you too if dbkl do this.

• pelams on Aug 06, 2011 at 3:36 pm

drivers,if u need to double park/block other cars,plz leave ur fon no on d windscreen

• i’ve been through this, a car was parked behind mine. look like a solution, but then i have to wait for him to get to his car. personally dislike that waiting part. and the best of it? no sorry at all!

• squawk on Aug 06, 2011 at 9:30 pm

Fake or not, I’ve always thought about buying an old 4WD with bull bars and driving it literally next (on an atomic level) to double/illegal parked cars. :-P

• kocat on Aug 07, 2011 at 4:08 am

If this happen in malaysia.. U will crylah said gov crazy and make video with sad
    music background.

• broken_bracelett on Aug 07, 2011 at 10:34 am

The spokeswoman/secratary of this guy is my friend. They want to promote people using bicyle there and have a dedicated lane for them. So any car parking in the bicycle will be not tolerated.

• Wisdom on Aug 08, 2011 at 1:25 pm

From the video, their traffic congestion is not that bad. Infact, the road seems clear.

My concern, in the case of Malaysia in general, parent always doublepark or stop at the middle of the road, in front of school gate, waiting for their children came out from school. That is happening everywhere in Malaysia and they didnt do anything about it……

• vroom vroom on Aug 08, 2011 at 10:19 pm

Send few to seri kembangan please!