SPIED: Proton GEN-2 refreshed, gets Persona LED lamps!

It looks like the Proton GEN-2 will be refreshed again. Our Harvinder Singh was turning off the NKVE into the Elite highway when he came across a trailer of GEN-2s. That’s nothing to shout about, but his eagle eyes spotted some unusual rear lights on the GEN-2s. They’re not the usual “crop circle” units, but look similar to those on the Persona Elegance!

These rear lamps, which include nine LEDs in two rows, first appeared on the Persona Elegance facelift model back in March 2010. Two months later, Proton gave the GEN-2 a refresh, adding the usual SE treatment that includes a black roof, but without the Persona Elegance’s new tail lamps. Click here to view a live showroom gallery of the GEN-2 in its present form.

Besides the new tail lamps, our spyshots reveal no black painted roofs or grey rims and door handles. And instead of “CPS 1.6”, the badge on the left side of the tailgate just reads “1.6”. Could we be looking at a new “base line” variant equipped with the 1.6-litre Campro IAFM engine? The current GEN-2 range is solely powered by the 125 hp Campro CPS, whether you’re buying High-Line or Medium-Line.

The wheels and the rear spoiler are existing items. More pics after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2511]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• bersih on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Puke. who going to buy this piece of junk?

• jalan54 on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:11 pm

there are still a lot of “clever” supporter out there… :P

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 09, 2011 at 3:12 pm

I would. If it came with a CPS engine, CVT and drop from list price $5k. I’d be reasonable.

Beyond the cheap plastics, I don’t really mind a Gen2 as a city car.

I would care less about new tail lamps. I wish proton would just give us a better steering wheel.

• AvayaCisco on Aug 09, 2011 at 6:32 pm

I totally agreed, the steering wheel is ugly and always blocking the instrumental view……steering wheel is the most touch component in a car and got to look good and feel good…….maybe they need a interior designer.

• nolan on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:09 pm

now your complaint is steering wheel…..don’t mind about the other low quality made…..?

• Evoque on Aug 09, 2011 at 7:01 pm

Pls get one then.. Proton needs u!!

• alldisc on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:31 am

me too… a car costing 60K but with 125hp is rare in malaysia. 1 gen2 cps MT please…

• my first car i drive is Gen-2, now i’m driving my mum BMW X1.. but still in love with gen2 than Myvi.. are you saying i’m a part of junk? also as others gen2 driver?

• akinablue on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:53 am

who dont drive gen2 doesnt know how good the handling is compare to other car..even better compare to honda city handling and muchhhhhhhhhhhh better compare vios and myvi. yes the look is bit outdated..why not p1 invest some money and upgarade this machine. make it as hot 4 door hatch with aggressive look and better interior design..be a bit different from persona. err..one more thing, pls dont use the current front seat.

• Peterpj on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:19 am

Yup, my first car that I bought with my own hard-earned RM was a Gen.2. I followed its pre-launch news/leaked photo’s on this site while still a student and bought the first batch of Highline models.

Today, i have a Focus (because after the Gen.2, its hard to find another car that drives well and I admit that the Gen2 has better road handling compared to the Focus). But I didn’t sell off my Gen.2 and still enjoy my drives with it and its funky character (hey, I like the round-themed styling, the crop circle tail-lights and the little analogue clock – the current iteration has lost so much of its soul)

• noobioe on Sep 01, 2012 at 12:25 am

my 1st car also gen2 and and now i also have mpv toyota wish 1.8 2005 and yet i admit gen2 handling much better than my wish..buy wish because need bigger car for bigger family but didnt sell my gen2 cause that my 1st love and it brings a lot if sweet and bitter memory in my life..

• Holly F on Aug 09, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Please define “junk”? Handling you mean? If it is a piece of junk, then Myvi is nothing, can’t even compare with a “junk”.

• MoFaz on Aug 09, 2011 at 6:39 pm

Proton sold more waja compared to Gen2, only 1600 Gen2 sold last year. Probably the stock for old tail light finished already, so they use the Persona tail light to save cost instead of ordering new stock. That’s why no news from Proton about this. maybe they don’t even consider this as facelift. but why CPS is missing? maybe now it’s IAFM+ with CVT?

• myself & i on Aug 10, 2011 at 1:06 am

what’s the differences between CPS & IAFM? which is more powerful? which is more feul saving? which is more modern? can fight vtec & i-vtec or not?

• MoFaz on Aug 10, 2011 at 1:25 am

CPS has more HP compared to non-CPS campro. 125 vs 110hp.
          campro vs i-vtec?.. depend on what category you want to ‘fight’ la.. CPS 1.6 = 125hp, i-vtec 1.5 = 120hp, but i-vtec is more fuel-efficient.

• alldisc on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:34 am

not necessary, i-vtec engines are fuel guzzler if it is pedal-to-metal driving.

• Littlefire on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:56 am

CPS is more modern, but still lightyears to fight wif i-VTEC interms of performance & fuel efficient.

IAFM is also good, but more towards fuel efficient but not performance..

So if u just want fuel efficient just get IAFM + CVT, if want performance get CPS + Manual… Or wait for Campro Turbo by next year.. If only u really consider buying Proton cars only..

• alldisc on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:39 am

both CPS and i-VTEC are 3-stage type variable valve timing system. just like Nissan’s VTC.

not as clever as continuous variable valve timing like Toyota’s VVTI, or Hyundai/Kia’s CVVT or Nissan’s latest C-VTC. but the increase of power delivery is linear, not really felt unlike in VTEC’s.

• diriku & aku on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:44 am

Bring your old city or new city (with paddle shift also can) then can try which one can beat my Gen2

• Littlefire on Aug 10, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Bro, City just 1.5L engine while ur Gen2 is 1.6L..

• Probably I’m the best person to answer your question.

Obviously CPS is more power full than the IAFM (but not that obvious just an extra 16hp from the previous Camtakpro 109hp). Bear in mind, you’ll never feel the 125hp in real life. Friction, energy loss, gear transaction, road condition, type of tyres used, weather, traffic condition; any engine will never reached its full potential.

ON THE CONTRARY, In terms of fuel guzzling capability, both engines are heavy drinkers (CPS is slightly heavier).

Not to mention multiple failures on certain engine parts such as my Gen2 CPS Water Pump and Thermostat valve in which from my experience cause me a Top Overhaul and tow truck service. Roughly min RM3000+++ (the car was just 1year and 8 months old~).

Other sub-standard quality (no need to mention all) such as the famous power window (failure on the actuator – the door buttons on the drive side etc).

The door locks for both models I owned (Gen2 and Persona) sometimes randomly open during drive. Althought rarely but imagine having a small children or having passengers sitting at the rear – when the door suddenly opened ajar while traveling on a highway.

The electronic buttons quality on the interior is sub-standard as well. Radio buttons, aircond buttons, gear knob (manual) all will first to ‘wear out’ in the first 12 months.

Chasis twisting is very obvious for Persona. You can actually hear the creaking sound at the front part of the car especially when you do turns or uphill/downhill turn. Or when you hit the road bumps even at slower speed. It could be either the front axle not tighten enough or the aircond pipe is rubbing against the chasis. I couldn’t careless.

Seriously, I don’t have the luxury of time to list down all the shitty quality I have experienced. But roughly I have to share this unpleasant experience to any potential buyers or owners so that they could make a good decision when buying our ‘pride’ national product.

Now I have sold both cars (to some unlucky buyers) and now driving imports. I say enough is enough!

• wow -,-

• confused on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:18 pm

non-CPS, no black roof and no grey rims? aww….

• Liverpool on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:21 pm

Yawn…………………….zzzzzzzz

• asgard on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:23 pm

maybe updated with CVT gearbox

• infinity on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:27 pm

I think proton is trying to clear its Campro 1.6 IAFM stock, as the only high volume car using this engine is Persona, which is due to be replaced next year. That’s why we have the Saga 1.6 and now this Gen2.

• Nazrul on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:27 pm

Interesting, I hope they juice the interior a bit, followed by the quality and still can maintain the “murah” word. This is cool, I usually visit paultan’s only to find any news that’s related to Proton. Keep it up Paul! And to you too Proton!

• Farrah Naomi on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:27 pm

i want to see the front of the car =,=

• Cool…but not so cool…..hmm…bolehlaa…….

• pentium4 on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:35 pm

Could be 1.6 L CPS with CVT or 1.6 IAFM with CVT?

• WALASiZO on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:39 pm

errr..my frens just did it to their cars…heh..:D

• Wisdom on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:45 pm

CVT?

• albag on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:52 pm

boring tin milo…

• alza owner on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:33 pm

p1 and p2 also milo tin

• tin milo, have you ever feel the gen 2 doors
      want to comment, , but know nothing.

• amirad on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:16 am

So 80s comment. Do you know that a gen2 cps weighs as much as an Altis 1.8 and Civic 1.8 despite being smaller.

• ben yap on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:56 pm

i’ve seen Gen-2s fixing persona lights before this came out.

• lazyf on Aug 09, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Persona Aeroback…err…

• Getting rid of old stock you see.. change new lamp, old lamps become the spare parts you buy from proton edar…. XD

• lazyf on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:14 pm

the old side mirror are still remain…thought they changed it into Persona Elegance side mirror… :-(

• racotua on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:51 pm

many have also changed the small gen-2 side mirrors to the larger, more visible persona side mirrors to their gen-2 already.

• alldisc on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:42 am

simple reasoning – they still have ample of stocks at warehouse. clear first then only fix persona elegance wing mirror.

• Proton troopers cuti ke hari ini?

• Unforgiven on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:10 pm

Balik kampung with Proton…

• jalan54 on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:10 pm

its still the same old gen2, nothing special and nothing to be excited on.

• insperut on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:16 pm

tak best…

• QUATTRO on Aug 09, 2011 at 3:54 pm

taktik tak laku..came on…move forward proton > we dunt wanna see any more gen2 lama di atas jalan malaya ni…

• must be clearance stock..persona r will be launched nx yrs, sape nak beli gen 2 lagi?

• kamaji on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Maybe for export lah….how they FL the Gen-2 here also tak laku.Ppl will buy persona instead.

• tattoo sleeves on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:37 pm

clearing stock..

• nolan on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:38 pm

can’t see the different…..the same old ugly Gen2…

• amirad on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:22 am

Buruk sangat ke Gen2 ni? Sitting side by side to 325i M sport, C200K, B180, Camry, Altis and Civic, the Gen2 CPS doesn’t look so bad. Is someone looking thru’ distorted cornea?

• farghmee on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:01 am

lain org, lain mata dia.

pd aku, gen2 ni mmg stylish, curvy-licious!
        exterior&interior.

apa kata kalu cfe letak dlm ni (^_^)

• nolan on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:06 pm

maybe stylish 6 years ago but not now……but nowadays people look for quality style comes second…..

• alpha999 on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:42 pm

are the doors now closed with thud sound like inspira and vios ????

• kawpoaaa on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Its only a minor update and not even newsworthy. That is why Proton never said a word about this.

You proton haters expects too much our local car manufacturer.

• Julian Lee on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:43 pm

BMW lights better

• Want BMW lights, Ferrari interior, Lamborghini engine etc…but price want cheap. Mana Boleh?

• malaysia boleh

if gen2 is priced at altis level, why not?

in taiwan, gen2 is same price at toyota altis, malaysia boleh!!!

• Expatriate VN on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:55 pm

“Same old wine in same bottle but new cap only”

• blackcipan on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:56 pm

maybe the old tail lamp finally has ammortised their cost with the vendor, so now can change already.

anyway, i see this as a run-out model for Gen2, maybe as a bye-bye model before P3-21A comes on stream next year. If only they fixed the driving position too…..

Anyway, some blog claim that P3-21A is not a Persona replacement, instead will only supplement the range at higher price, and Persona will remain in 40-50k category? Any truth to this Danny?

Finally, I also heard that the Persona R will come in hatchback too, but come at a later date and engineered by different team. anyone heard about this too?

• yup..it is rumored to be priced at rm65k-rm75k..lower than inspira..higher than the persona..

• sutheshkumar on Aug 09, 2011 at 7:19 pm

yup2, I heard from a disclosed source. Persona R (or as we know it now) is going to be another make-or-break model, not a direct Persona replacement.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 09, 2011 at 11:27 pm

Well, no one knows for sure :)
      But if it’s like what you say, Proton will have three rather similarly sized sedans in its range!

• alldisc on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:47 am

Persona wheelbase = 2,600mm

Inspira wheelbase = 2,635mm

Persona R wheelbase = 2,620mm??

thats very very close…

• rawfi on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:58 pm

dont really know what are they “thinking”

• SameSameButDifferent on Aug 09, 2011 at 2:59 pm

It’s proven this is the strength of the company..
    The molding can reuse, parts reuse….100% profit

• Is this the car that its handles drop off while in the showroom?

• babyboy on Aug 09, 2011 at 3:26 pm

boring..

• i think these are the GEN2 tat lying at port few years ago tat sent back to HQ for refurnishing…..

• GEN2!!!….buang jerr dalam laut!

• Evoque on Aug 09, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Agree..!! But no lar, can still sell to scrap-metal factories for other purposes.

• farghmee on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:05 am

no no..gimme dat.
      i wanna throw my manja yet kaputt k3ve.

• kenot on Aug 09, 2011 at 4:04 pm

what happend to Gen-2 after persona replacement introduce next year?it will stop production?or proton still sell it? or they will produce hatchback version from the persona replacement?

• Of coz not, they’ll take it apart and sell as spare parts for Gen2 owners few years down the road. It needs a lot of parts you see. Especially the door handles….

• does it even matter? lol

• DIRAMI on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:17 am

why not, anyhow its consider as a new model, a big deal for Proton as finally they replace the 2003 designed tailamp.

Someone please written on Today Malaysia on History in Wikipedia!

What next? new frog lamp design? or new seat fabric design!? fuyoh~

• what is the meaning of Gen-2 actually? I never knew what it means since the car came out back on 2004.

• Yes, it matter to me… my first car model future roadmap…

• i’m booking mine tomorrow,

wait a minute ….

• teelim on Aug 09, 2011 at 5:06 pm

Come on Proton, make a new car already.

We are sick of all these “facelifts/updates”

• "75 Plymouth Hemicuda on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:20 am

Yeah!!!…Perodua also!!

• The Unicons on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:00 am

Toyota Vios also just got the facelifted model. Hyundai i10 just got facelifted model. Toyota Innova, Hilux also….Isuzu D-Max….and many others….. facelited model launched!!!

• at least they are doing something..

• I using 2005 gen 2 A. It realible no major problem except clasic problem. power window can’t work.

it start smoothly.
    the negative part of gen2 she drink a lot of fuel. not economical.

• Evoque on Aug 09, 2011 at 6:59 pm

That’s the ‘major problem’ for every gen2 owner ie. fuel not economical & problematic power windows.

• alldisc on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:52 am

the other problem for early batches gen2… fuel tank too small. capacity 50 litres but when still have 5-7 litres left, the fuel pump cannot suck anymore. end up, stranded by the road side.

• umpgambang on Aug 09, 2011 at 8:31 pm

I agree..Proton b4 2008 doesnt produce good car yet… The 2nd generation Gen2 which come with CPS instead of normal campro have improved the fuel efficiency alot and more hp and quality as well.

• akinablue on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:59 am

not only fuel, but also sink too many power from battery..every year need to change battery..gila betul. but i love the car..handling is fantastic…

• kazos on Aug 09, 2011 at 6:01 pm

mau raya ma… kasi clearence itu stok. kasi la diskaun sikit. better balik kampung dgn gen.2 dpd naik si lagi best@ viva elite. hope interior ubah la.. itu door handle jgn patah lagi la ye… mcm gen2 sedia ada.

• kazos on Aug 09, 2011 at 6:05 pm

Mr. azlano kasi respons sikit ttg gen. 2 update nie, buatlah sesuatu atau jemput sekali chris bangle, peter schreyer tolong reshape balik design@ buat design concept baharu. baru la international…

• They need a new gearbox to increase sales. Saga FLX is one example.

• Azamiruddin (Kedah, Malaysia) on Aug 09, 2011 at 6:40 pm

I do like it, I have the first generation Gen2 CPS, and I would like to change my rear combi to that style, and external rear view mirrors too…

• madboy on Aug 09, 2011 at 6:53 pm

I thought they changed the Persona rear light to differentiate it with the Gen2. And now they make us confused again! Is it so difficult for them to redesign a new rear light instead of borrowing it from the Persona Elegance? Why not borrow from the Inspira?

• chris on Aug 09, 2011 at 6:54 pm

You gotta shittin me. Can change rear lamps but cannot change side mirrors? I just don’t get it. Oh wait, i do. Coz they are Proton.

• alfie60 on Aug 09, 2011 at 7:12 pm

Such simple mind,a mere update of back lights is enuf to excite the Proton worshippers

While these type of petty changes are made,the most rudimententary changes the shitty Proton have neglected or overlooked which is their remote ignition key. While we have to pay installment for 5 years for the shitty car,the marking on the icon of the open/close padlock gets erase just after over just a year. Surely the shitty Proton makers knows that the key remote is link to the number of the we open and close the shitty car doors and why is it made from some school kids eraser material.
    Bet you that the shitty proton keys cost more than an average BMW one.
    Ahh….if only one could be a Proton vendor life would be so good!! ;-)

• simasen on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:09 am

err..if u read throughly, the majority are bashing gen 2 generally..don’t see much proton fan boy either..

• Dani Protons on Aug 09, 2011 at 7:25 pm

I’m pretty sure these are for exports only. We haven’t been able to get our hands on any Gen2 to sell for months. This may surprise a lot of people, but the Gen2, like the Neo, have a steady following. Both the Gen2 and Neo have certain appeal to people who find that cars like MyVi and Vios to be plain boring. Just yesterday, my friend told me that he enjoys driving his Gen2 much more than his 2009 Civic.

• amirad on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:31 am

Gotta agree with you dani my man. Me and my buddies all drive neos and gen2s even though we have Toyotas and Hondas for the wife mobiles.

• alldisc on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:02 am

gen2 is pretty popular in the middle east countries, especially the younger generation. so, let them buy.

• WilsonSiew on Dec 09, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Me too thinking that those are for exports only. because i bought the last GEN2 CPS H-line back in MAY, which was told by the salesman that’s the final stock (dunno true or not).

• tukar lampu sahaja ma kena bagitahu satu dunia meh banyak pailang la ni.

• Is Harvinder driving the W211?

• fredtcm on Aug 09, 2011 at 11:08 pm

Think so but as afar I can see (the star emblem) the Merz overall built is for sure is better than ones in the trailer.

• PokokCerryMechanic on Aug 09, 2011 at 7:45 pm

Could it be the first force induction engine car by Proton with CVT?…

• I click Reload but it still is the old Gen2!pls make something special thx.

• makeitmine on Aug 09, 2011 at 8:28 pm

Come on Proton, Gen2 and Persona are no longer selling in Singapore.. meaning that Proton may be clearing Gen2 existing stock in the coming promotion.

Proton cars will not be able to sell overseas as now popular Korean (sorry I get bash if name the competitor) 1.6L car features a gasoline direct-injection engine, producing 103 kW (138 hp) and 167 Nm (123 lb-ft) torque, mated to a new 6-speed automatic or a 6-speed manual transmission.

CPS+CVT may be able to sell but pls don’t call it Gen2 but GenX.

• Naji$ Bin Tun RosMah Lazat on Aug 09, 2011 at 8:49 pm

it is still a gen 2 only?boringggggggg……………………

• the way i see it, its the campro engine that needs to be replaced. Now thats a junk. A clueless which resulted in total rubbish.

• DArkerMarker on Aug 09, 2011 at 10:16 pm

is that hari raya version???

Anywy, i’m dissapointed with such minor minor minor so-called improvement….

• Cowabunga! on Aug 09, 2011 at 10:28 pm

phase this car out already…..too many liabilities.

• Rosmah on Aug 09, 2011 at 10:32 pm

This is also the month of Han2

• Tenku Troll on Aug 09, 2011 at 10:38 pm

saper harvinder ni?

• MEHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

• Silentguy on Aug 09, 2011 at 10:45 pm

I don’t think proton will be tat dump to change the rear lights only and sell it …. Surely got something more then meet the eye…. The only thing is wat is it ….. Marketing :p

• yea right, u start the car, and you found its a turbo car?

dream on mate, dream on.

yea maybe you will found the door stuck after 2 days of driving, thats proton.

• dannyl77 on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:19 am

I think Proton is Clearing Gen 2 Stock… Make way for the New Persona R…..
    Throw in Special Discount ( RM 3k-5k ) ke , plus Free Service ke ( 3 Years ) , c/w CVT ke, Sure Boleh sell one leh ….. Mesti Best drpd Lagi Best…. :D

• RedBeanBun on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:20 am

The Waja with BMW-e60 stripe looks tail light is the best! :) They should use that in all Waja :)

• C’mon how many times this Gen-2 needs to be refreshed ?

The management of Proton should be refreshed/replaced, the vendors supplying lousy quality parts should be refreshed /replaced… not this ageing car.
    Gen-2 should be replaced

• Prismo on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:33 am

Another refreshed Gen2 quite boring i must say… but if they use at least 1.6 IAFM+ mated with CVT and price drop about RM5-7k, maybe i can consider to get one for my wife as a city car. It will sell but it will cannibalized Saga FLX sales……

• joker :p on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:50 am

is this a joke….?? wtf man… 1st – gen2 , 2nd – persona, 3th – gen2 cps, 4th -Persona Elegance, 5th – gen 2 Elegance is it??? (2 look a like car)

i dont knw wht after this… i guess the saga been the same like this… saga blm, saga fl, saga 1.6, saga flx next saga 1.6 flx… lol…. keep going on n on…. bla bla bla….

• myvi n viva lggggggg bykkkkk varian………………………….

• orion on Aug 10, 2011 at 1:18 am

oh lol… saga flx is different, new cvt gearbox, extra security features… please don simply bash… and dont make urself look like a fool…

• MoFaz on Aug 10, 2011 at 1:33 am

are you trying to make a joke, joker? If you want various version without changing/ updating interior / engine, look at perodua
      Gen 2 and Gen 2 CPS is not variants, Gen 2 CPS is replacing non-CPS version. All Gen 2 now only have CPS.
      BLM, FL and FLX are facelifts with various other upgrades.

Viva: 660BX, 660EX, 850, 1.0, Elite MT, Elite AT, Elite Ezi and last but not least, ViVA ELITE Exclusive Edition

• KageSenshi on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:35 am

tell that to porsche too …

• proton supporter will tell you, myvi lagi teruk.

so, this debate till kingdom comes.

but i must say, proton inspira is good :D

• pacifictuna on Aug 19, 2011 at 1:41 am

dude, go check how many different version of MINIs. there’s more versions than you can count with your fingers + toes….

• clutch basah on Aug 10, 2011 at 7:08 am

Hahaha..! Gen-2 dok tukaq lampu pun ada -100 comments. who says Malaysian hates proton??

• gen2 driver on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:03 am

I drive a Gen 2 for the past 5 years. When it’s time to upgrade now, it is very2 hard for me to justify car whithin rm70k-rm130k price range for upgrade. Gen 2 (1.6 m) is enjoyable to drive, and this is campro not CPS. Yes, the plastic bit could be a LOT better, the sound proofing too, its steering is crap, fuel consumption might be slightly on the higher side (bcoz its heavier than Vios and City) BUT the seat (ala suede) is comfy (wayyy better than current Vios), maintainence is cheap (original part), the engine performance on highway is excellent (easily up and down from 110km/h to 170km/h). The big problem was the first batch of Gen 2 i.e. 2004-2005 were crap in term of quality, BUT the batch after are really Good. The only reason to upgrade is for MPV, for status (BMW & Merc) or current car is already giving problems other than normal wear and tear….

• bongeks on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:16 am

RM70 Cheras-KL-Kuantan-Kemaman-Dungun-Kuala Terengganu @120kmh.Telan minyak byk sgt meh? Vios or City brape consumption?

• racotua on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:25 am

could be for export markets. could the trailer could be heading to the port?

• Wow! LED Lamps Gen2! Wow!

“Gen2 LED Lamps – Telor sebiji, riuh sekampong!”

• The Unicons on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:07 am

Might be the 1.6 IAFM with CVT? 1.6 CPS engines doesn’t comes with CVT, right?

• wheeler on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:30 am

Gen 2, a fresh attempt by Proton which suffers badly in terms of reputation due to poor assembly and fitting quality. The overall design is good though. I once owned a Gen but sold it as the family grow bigger. Love the ride and handling. The CPS is good ( and those who gave negative comments about CPS is just trying to belittle what PROTON proves they can do. Who? Probably non-proton salesmen..) Here is the case of phasing out the model (I guess before the new persona came in). Honestly if the cabin quality was good (driving position, blind spot, choice of plastics and NVH level) Gen is one of the best models PROTON ever had. And honestly of all the models, Exora and Ispira are the 2 which have quiet cabin – which again I think, PROTON should strive to do better in all model. All the best.

• DoDO man on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:14 am

A junk is a junk and nope, I am not a Perodua supporter or T&H supporters, I am in fact a Proton owner, I had drove the old Saga, Wira, Waja, Persona and none of it has given me any satisfaction that I had wanted. All the cars I mentioned had disappoint me in term of quality and performance and thumb down to you, Proton. I am just waiting to have enough cash and sell of my junky Persona to get other cars. Some of you may ask why I am still stuck with Proton after all these years? Simple, cause I am not rich enough to get other cars and P2 cars are too small for my liking. I have been telling myself all these years to give proton chance, maybe they had change and reinvent themselves but Persona is my last straw and that’t it, enough is enough.

• MoFaz on Aug 10, 2011 at 1:10 pm

you had so much money to change cars so many time? and if proton is not good enough for you, why change to so many protons?? why not stick with 1 proton, save money then buy your dream car?

• Izhar on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:18 pm

yup..save some of ur money and buy other car.

• pacifictuna on Aug 19, 2011 at 1:46 am

or you can get a used car… i believe a used continental wouldn’t cost so much to BUY. but it feels good minus high price for parts.

• there must be a reason why you name yourself after an extinct bird, the dodo.

• _xXx_ on Aug 10, 2011 at 12:09 pm

is this the recycled n recycled fried chicken in mamak stall?

• now saga has 1.6 L variant and persona is around too. cant see gen2 fitting anywhere in the market now.

• racotua on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:01 pm

they should tune it up and have a sporty version of it… but then, there is already the neo r3. hmmm…

• CalvinL on Aug 10, 2011 at 3:11 pm

should call as persona sport instead of Gen2 because it fully copy and paste + little mod.

• nasai on Aug 10, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Seems like it has retractable mirrors. Or were the cars’ side mirrors manually retracted?

• pesal on Aug 10, 2011 at 7:05 pm

bodoh ke bangang org2 proton ni…membazir je tukar lampu gen 2 tu…dh kereta org xnk beli…

• mamat on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:12 am

ape bende ni..??
    tuka lampu je? buntu akal? x de bajet?
    ape guna r&d? org2 bodo je ke keje situ?
    dah la tail lamp x lawa? baik bg name persona hatchback @ aeroback je..
    membazir name btul.. hampeh!

• Carl Wong on Aug 12, 2011 at 2:30 am

The Campro engine is a torqueless engine and don’t know how long behind for fuel efficiency. I still have a first version Gen-2, 5 speed manual version, fortunately. I like the handling and control since it’s a manual version. Fuel efficiency is good enough for a Proton I guess, I adjusted all the tires to 40psi and got 375km for around 34 litres, even with early shifts below 3000rpm. Obviously can’t compare to imports. And the one thing I hate is the turning radius which is horrible, comparable to a C segment compact.

• someone else on Aug 12, 2011 at 7:49 am

maybe this one IAFM 1.6 + CVT…mamat, kalo tukar2 aksesori, 2 x bodoh, 2 facelift namenye..xpe, nnt ko wat satu company automatif sndiri, pastu stahun skali kluarkn model baru & rekabentuk baru k..nk tgk brape byk duit ko kene invest utk wat sesebuah kreta, pastu brape lame plak ko nk dpt pulangan drpd duit yg ko invest 2…ramai kaki komen skrg kurang bijak tp blagak bijak (”,)

• gen2? its still aliveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!

i thought proton would have stopped producing this car since everyone goes to get a persona…

• Black gen 2 on Sep 14, 2011 at 7:15 pm

ermm.. bashers will be bashers (read: P2/ toyota/honda salesman)

erm, off topic:

Here what i’ve done to my august 2006 1.6 campro manual gen 2.

1.install sound proof for the doors, hoods & roof = rm200 jer and self install.
    2.install front and back chassis stabilizers = 200++
    3.install electrical stabilizers = rm150++
    4.change the air intake and bigger snokel = rm 500++
    5.install fuel rail pipe and fuel regulator = rm500++
    6.Uses 16″ sports rim.
    7.Uses dasboard covers.
    8.Still using stock engine and exzos system.

By investing rm1650++, my cabin is quiet and more comfortable (like driving luxury imports), my stock cd player sounds better , No rattling sound , No problem on my power window since day 1. The engine never fail with 1 ignition to start since i bought it till now. I change the dry battery after 3 years.FC erm… 7.6/100km@ 120-150kmph. Superb handling (Lotus maa..),Lights bulb till now never change.So overall Im satisfied with my Gen 2 since my purchase.
    FYI, did you guys know that you can remap/flash your campro ECU to better suits your engine setting thus giving you more power? and there’s a place you can do it below rm500? But thats for me to know la.. ^_^

Well, i’m just sharing what i done with my gen 2 just to make a point that you’ll get what you’ve paid for. If you want more, ask your wallet. Sometimes the car is just fine, only user is the problem.If think proton sucks, fine, just get another brand that suits your taste and wallet.

And for me (oh by the way,I own a gen 2 and my wife owns a neo) and others of happy but silent proton owner will be enjoying our proton cars.

back to the topic:
    It’s just a picture gen2 with persona elegance tail lamp. so? what’s the fuss? what’s with the bashes?

Just my 2cents.

“smart people improvise while idiots complaint.”

• I think proton should have a gen2 coupe rear wheel drive 1.6 manual CFE + CVT + TURBO…. It will be a legend car… The price must be reasonable…. People will love it…