Proton P3-21A snapped on KESAS Highway near COE

Reader Chong Han Kim spotted this Proton P3-21A on test on the KESAS highway right opposite the Proton Centre of Excellence HQ.

There’s still loads of disguise on the P3-21A, so it should still be quite some time before the car is launched. Even the tail lamps are completely covered up with dummy lenses.

Look after the jump to view a gallery of all three spy pictures. You can also check out our previous story covering the P3-21A chassis frame teaser.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2516]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• exJAVANESE on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:10 pm

hmmm…i wanna imagine how the tail light look a like..

Mannnn…damn difficult!

• I think it’s sorta look like mazda3 rear lamps… but it has that lump slowly coming out below the signal lights joining the bumper…

• PeYn0 Fanz on Aug 11, 2011 at 7:37 am

even Civic 2012 and Merc C-class copy current Persona rear lamp…

So, that’s why P1 need to cover it first… make it fresh when they launch the car…

• stingray_skin on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:06 am

yeah they copy persona (proudly you said)

at least civic 2012 and merc only copy rear lamp, compare to p1 copy the whole body!!! (inspirahh..)

ngeh3x

• lancer jd inspira tu bukan copy la, rebadge. copy lain maksudnya. tarak baca ka?

• sepot_reem on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:12 pm

please la…
          have u ever heard the word RE BADGE ?

• failed.. this what we call “buat pandai”.. or in kedah we say “buat kepala tau~!”(same meaning laa)

• QUATTRO on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:14 am

when it will sell in malaysia ni….lambatnyer

• aiyoo. menunggu itu derita.

Bila nak keluar ni?

dah gatal tgn nak sambar Forte. Tp org kata Hyundai Elantra (new) nak keluar bulan 9 ni so tangguh kejap nak tengok mana better in term of value for money (price, interest rate, maintanance cost, engine capacity in Malaysia). Kalau spec overseas of coz la Hyundai Elntra lg berbaloi disokong good review majalah2 kereta, laman2 kereta USA, Eropah. Tup2 kereta yang ditengok di KLIMS hjg 2010 dgr cerita dah nak keluar. Tp lambat lagi bulan 2 2012. Bila boleh mula order pun tak tahu. Pikir2 baik tunggu sbb kalau beli kereta skrg rugi sbb dah masuk bulan september 2011 da. Baik beli model 2012 terus. Tp tu la nafsu ni tak larat menunggu lama2. Hope selewat2nya bulan Februari 2012 dah boleh launc Proton Tuah ni. and hope hjg tahun 2011 dah keluar spec rasmi Proton tuah ni dgn expected price + spec + gmbr betul2 punya. Spy shot pun jd la. Dan bulan 1 dah boleh buat pre order. Supya launch je plg lambat 2 minggu pastu boleh dapat kunci kereta kalau spec + harga berbaloi banding Hyundai Elantra dan Kia Forte. Insyaallah value for money (rasa2 max price below RM 82 K utk highhest spec 7 speed CVT + paddle shifter + ESP + 6 airbag. kalau enji 1.6 Campro CFE turbo tu memang berbaloi2 sgt2 sgt2 sgt2 sgt2 sgt2 sgt la. enjin da sama taraf ngan 2.0 N/A + leh dpt interest rate below 3.3%). Kalau harga high spec tu below RM 77, 000 konpem Proton akan kuasai pasaran Malaysia dlm sgmen high end segmen C. Kalau ada push start button mcm Forte/ Elantra lg best. hehe. Tau pun CVT tukar jd DCT mcm Volkswagen 7 speed. RM 90 K pun sanggup beli punya. hehehe. Hope sgt2. Harap berbaloi menangguh pembelian ni.

• quattro on Aug 13, 2011 at 8:03 am

interest rate bank bg 2.8 or 2.9 lah this time utk tuah…pasti laris mcm goreng pisang panas

• Duke Nukem on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:12 am

The tail light is a no-go for me.

• bonbon on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:12 pm

hope it will come with campro turbo..2.0 campro perhaps

• The most will be 1.6

• alldisc on Aug 11, 2011 at 10:02 am

the 2.0 is part of proton’s engine programme that was scrapped during tengku maheleel era.

3 programs, called SENG (small engine), MENG and BENG. only SENG remained to become the campro 1.3 and 1.6 engines. BENG (big engine) was actually a 2.0.

this is the reason why inspira uses mitsu’s sourced engine.

• Cheng on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:20 pm

hope it is not from proton.

• good job Chong HK..

• hamtaro on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Didn’t really like the tail light. hhmm…

• looks huge, perdana-sized ?

• anonymous on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:43 pm

it used exora chasis

• confused on Aug 10, 2011 at 7:10 pm

before other reader mislead your statement, let me clarify.

P3-21A chassis is one of the chassis that can be made from proton’s modular chassis system. The chassis is flexible to be manipulated without compromising rigidity, comfort, strength etc..

Exora is one of the car that is already in production using this modular chassis. Other is P3-21A,still in testing.

So, it’s quite misleading to say that P3-21A’s chassis is derived from Exora’s

• same platform : probable

same chasis : no

• khalil izzuan on Aug 31, 2011 at 9:23 pm

I think it they are maybe using “toyota celica” concept…

• civicEK on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:36 pm

hopefully this car will turn out good..

• racotua on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:40 pm

i wonder how big is this car in relation to the inspira and persona. anyone who has seen it can give some feedback? height, width, length?

• taboogen on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:51 pm

from what we heard it will be a bit bigger then current persona

• panda on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:54 pm

it’s persona replacement model. nuff said.

• Saw a couple of times near Juru (Pg ) Highway and the size is almost like
      Wira Hatchback.

• beste on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:15 am

i don’t think so
        many pics and videos shown that it’s bigger than current persona and waja
        most probably like inspira

• kenot on Aug 10, 2011 at 4:43 pm

hope the tail light will big enough with the body. not like saga FL with small tail light.

• Cik jah on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:11 pm

No point having a big tail light but only one bulb brake light….d rest for show only

• hang tuah on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:08 pm

the current persona’s tail lamp is a joke. so big but only 9 LEDs. has 2 red parts but bottom part for show only

• jl@ipl on Aug 14, 2011 at 2:36 am

Only 9 LED, but very-very bright. Get the job done with less cost. SO, the Persona’s price can be kept low.

Just my 2 cents.

• matkota on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:07 pm

exora chasis to become persona, don’t quit get that, if make 1.6, please remember to put disk brake on the rear wheel, looks very sporty..

• Aman Shah on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Looks Good…yaa i know its gonna be 1.6 turbo charged…but i hope we can change the blok letter become 2.0…or 1.9….wuuuuuu

• Wisdom on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Now if i didnt bother to repair my thrashed car, and just use tape to cover the broken lamps and rust all over the body…..

Walla…. its a prototype on testing. PT & paparazi will take spyshots and all….

• Savvy88 on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:16 pm

This is the true Waja replacement…

• Mienzz on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:37 pm

Persona replacement laaa…..

• MoFaz on Aug 10, 2011 at 7:07 pm

the size could be as big, or bigger than Waja, i heard the pricing is also around Waja price, 60-75k.. so it’s possible that Persona upgraded to Waja class.

• iskhalifah on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:31 pm

At that price, its no longer seems like a ‘persona replacement’ model.

I’m sure Proton will set the price similar to the current Persona price range. And good news that all variants will be equipped with CPS! (as told by a proton manager). Now thats value for money.

When that happens, ‘lagi xbest’ Myvi will be seen as super-overpriced.. (as currently it is overpriced).

• MoFaz on Aug 11, 2011 at 3:11 am

Saga BLM is replacement for Saga. price of original Saga is RM20k while BLM (now FL & FLX) starts from RM38k.
            clues: inflation, cost of raw materials are increasing, higher specifications, and R&D cost.

• alldisc on Aug 11, 2011 at 10:08 am

dont forget, the last Iswara was sold as high as 42K (1.5 Istimewa AT) while the Saga LMST @ keta kebal was sold about 36K during 2003-07

• Melon on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:35 pm

From the pictures, you can actually see that a portion of the tail lights are indeed round. Even though it is heavily disguised, you can still see 3 round lights. Unless this was also pasted onto the “real” headlights.

• MoFaz on Aug 10, 2011 at 7:11 pm

i think that’s a fake one.. final could be really different. we never know Exora head and tal lights during prototype and road testing, until very close to launch.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 10, 2011 at 5:44 pm

If still use Cam-Tak-Pro outmoded engine, then P1 engineer head should put on chopping board!

• MoFaz on Aug 10, 2011 at 7:03 pm

Toyota is still using 10 years old engine family in Vios.. should chop or ‘pancung’ all toyota engineers too? stupid basher don’t understand anything… tau nak bash jeee..

• dear MoFaz,

not that i want to bash proton or defend toyota, but even with 10 years old tech , vios’ engine is already equipped with VVT and it has proven to have better FC compare to campro. and maybe for the same reason people still buy pro2 myvi with sampan-like handling and limited luggage space.

• from Funtasticko :
          Ciri-ciri yang bakal ada pada P3-21A :
          Penggunan teknologi (hot press) untuk menjadikan struktur kereta lebih kukuh & ringan
          Auto wiper & Auto light (mungkin ni kot rain & light sensor)
          Bluetooth, USB and iPod connection & Navigator (GPS) – kemungkinan GPS ni built in sekali dengan Head Unit
          Auto cruise
          Airbag (6 airbag with curtain) – *mungkin ni untuk versi CFE full spec kot
          Advanced Body Control Module (BCM)
          ESP, EBD & ABS mungkin jadi standard kot (tak pasti)
          CVT VT2 6 speed untuk 1.6 IAFM+ & CVT VT3 7 speed untuk 1.6 CFE (yang ni mungkin ada paddle shifter) termasuk SAT button (untuk 1.6 IAFM+& 1.6 CFE).
          Lampu dengan dengan DRL (Daytime Running LED Light)
          Lampu belakang kombinasi LED (harap sangat style macam BMW/Audi punya kombinasi) – ni mungkin sebab trend kereta Proton sekarang memang lampu belakang LED
          Ruang boot yang lebih luas dari Persona sekarang (mungkin lebih kurang saiz Forte)

• Skema spastik statement.

Something we usually here from RTM or some government crap talk.

Only that they tried to implement it on car sales. As usual, Protong blind supporters usual “bombastik” words (Malay words borrowed from English dictionary; Manglish).

Why can’t you use the word “hot press” in Malay? Cause it sound very weird isn’t it? Hot press = tekan panas? Even the name Tuah is silly, why name it with idiot codename? Why can’t use proper acronym, such as Protong “Fortey or Kortey”? Or Protong Wannabe Korean?

What kecoh about LED = 10 years ago tech
            What kecoh CVT = 15 years ago tech
            What kecoh about ABS, EBD, Airbag = 30 years ago tech.
            What kecoh with Advance Body Control Module = you still need a living human driver to drive anyways.

Remove your over-protection if you’re so superior and compete fairly with the rest of automaker.

Same Tin Milo, different shape, size and colour. Powered by Malaysia No.1 Fuel Guzzling Engine! Bravo!

• Owh yeah before any of you smarty pants even try to correct me, it’s “hear” not “here”. Forgive me for my lack of “Manglish” humour.

And I’m very allergic to “skema spastik statement”! (Bulshitting at its best!)

• sukasuki on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:14 am

SYOH is having PMS.

• xmaw-cakap-banyak on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:31 am

go buy your self a BMW or merc laa.. not everyone afford to buy good high-tech car.. if you want to say “ask gomen to slash tax laa” then i gonna reply, ko pegi duk dlm gua laa kalau xnk byr tax.. xda tax xda pendapatan laa.. cukai pintu mls nk byr.. bil indahwater pun tertunggak lg mau ckp byk..

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:02 am

Then why automakers still using airbags, isn’t that an old technology, what if this future ‘outdated car’ will be good enough to beat any overrated Japenese or Korean cars, we won’t know the future, you might say the technology is outdated and so your mind.

• Malaysia Memang Boleh on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:18 am

Same old lame child, stop bullshitting, go eat some bull-shit or your own.
            Tuah is a name for the concept car, just a name, like naming pets with ridiculous name.
            Is the fuel consumption for Proton’s car that high, or people forget how to properly drive a car. Jangan jadi bodoh sombong adik kecil, nanti mak marah. Is SYOH having PMS, no ‘she’ already menopause 30 years ago, so can I consider car as an old invention, because the first car was produced about 100 years ago.

• MoFaz on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:34 am

SYOH dah kehabisan idea, fakta semua salah, Body Control Module pun dia taktau.. tok guru sesat mana la yang ajar dia. kesian, kesian… orang bodoh ni memang sombong, nak ajar pun tak guna dah. mencarut je dia tau sekarang ni..
            allergic konon, padahal dia la yang paling banyak buat komen spastik. takde plak dia allergic pada diri sendiri kan?

• alfie60 on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:40 am

Same shitty vendors giving $90M thru R&D budget recently to produce less shitty components and with a new Marketing guy ‘Chacko’ to hoodwink us that its less of a shitty car.

Call it what you may -crap,turd,manure its still the same shitty product.
            The basic rudimentary remote ignition key from them is still shitty.Goes out of shape even before we finish paying our 5 years installment.

Kunci start kereta pun tak boleh bikin betul lagi,talking about going global.
            I guess Proton is on a quest to brainwash the nation and the world that they are world class now,now that got a new spin doctor ‘Chacko’.
            I would love to smoke what those Proton boyz are smoking when they sit and plan about world domination!! Makaweed!! ;-)

• DewaSemut on Aug 11, 2011 at 10:13 am

I think this guy SY0H wants Proton to make cars that
            can fly in the air OR
            dive under water OR
            have cloaking device OR
            have missile coming out from the side OR
            can drive up to the tunnel roof.

• Wisdom on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:47 am

syoh and alfie60 getting worry when proton is improving.

Wonder when was their brain shuved into foreigners a$$

• wheeler on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:31 pm

SH0H,
            Dont think hot press can be translated. Hot Press Forming is a term refering to the technology of producing high tensile steel from a normal steel.. (ref: Star Motoring 1 Mar 2011)

• Kivatt00 on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:45 am

Details above are true…same info that i get from my friend inside…

• MoFaz on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:58 am

no prob MQB,
          to me each engine has pros and cons, which define unique characteristic to each of them. yes VVT is good in Vios but Waja is 200kg heavier than Vios, try put that 1.5 VVT in Waja and maybe 0-100kmh sprint will take longer than Campro, maybe the fuel consumption wouldn’t be as good as in Vios too.
          what this so called ‘expat’ failed to realised is engine usually replaced at lower pace than chasis. 10 years is common. and usually being used in many models to achieve economy of scale. just take 1NZ-FE from Vios, the same engine family can be found in more than 20 other models!

• cheku77 on Aug 13, 2011 at 2:44 am

Did you know that persona 2nd best fuel consumption after vios. Do you know how vios achieve that instead of DVVT. It use smaller tyre & weight less than 200 kilo.

• akinablue on Aug 15, 2011 at 4:03 pm

then compare with fiat la..fiat use vvt more than 30 years ago

• KarimSopian on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:14 am

After we chopped off the P1 engineer’s head, then we put you, Mr. Expatriate VN, as the head of P1 engineer and we’ll see if you can perform better & improve the so called cam tak pro. If not, i’ll be glad to volunteer to put your head on the same chopping board.

If you don’t agree with me, with all due respect, please don’t talk rubbish.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:01 am

KarimSopian konon, I think your crook mind is Karat-Socai! Expatriate like me, as a matter of management principle, never con rakyat by doing something craptriotic produce shitty car. Cam Tak Pro best place is throw into junkyard, not asking me to wast my time to improve this never-improve jaguh kampong.

Or send it to UK’s Top Gear for JC to use APC to roll over as a freak show!

• Wisdom on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:57 am

Karim, it seems he chicken out.
          I thought he would be willing to take the challenge & become the head engineer.

What to do. We got a bunch of ‘know it all, i’m all correct’ malaysian out there.
          ‘management principle’…… hahaha

• Hurm.. Finish it already laaaa

• saw it at tanjung malim highway.. got all around disc break and kindda big than the standard persona.. more braking power ?

• mfahd_88 on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:01 pm

bilela proton nk cabut sume koyok2 yg dorg tmpl kt kete ni ek?
    da xsbr nk tngk ni
    =.=

• anonymous on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:09 am

it will be launch in february next year.. InsyaALLAH.. just wait patiently guyz..

• brothrsaw on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:05 pm

looks like somth called the ‘forte’

• teamsleepnine on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:41 pm

Just your opinion la…my opinion forte look like vw passat cc….passat cc look like ….omai…here we go….

• satria on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:30 pm

Wahh..looks like good..When dis car will produce out??

• P-Rotten on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Proton n their stupid ideas and design. Engine will be.. as usual.. useless! Unless.. they get Mitsubishi’s help again.. HA HA HA. Imagine having to pay 70K for a worthless piece of junk with rubbish after sales support!

• Waja2003 on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:51 pm

I drive a 2003 Waja.

It never broke down on me before. Yes it has some accessories issues. Which make dont ?

Apart from that, its a work horse.

Look at the Korean cars after some years, everything fading and falling apart too.

• kitkat on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:08 pm

2003 waja not use CAM X PRO..aiyooo…

• xmaw-cakap-banyak on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:37 am

dont understand y people unlike your comment.. Waja officially use Campro in 2005 above if i’m not mistaken..

• bro,my uncle lexus harrier 2008 headlamp also fading laa,bcom yellow like shit..not even 3years..how come?lexus is korean too huh?nowdays all car use plastic,wether u take good care of it or not is the main issue~

• regret proton owner spotted

• KageSenshi on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:11 pm

you mean Proton ideas and ItalDesign Giugiaro design? XD

• pesal on Aug 10, 2011 at 7:01 pm

looks like the horror design…

• ikanbakar on Aug 10, 2011 at 8:35 pm

global car???…just wait n see..

• lujatnamlas on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:01 pm

Proton or not, still made by Malaysian. We all Malaysian. I’m owned a Gen2 since 2006. 150,000km miliage, from Perlis until Singapore i’ve travel with my Gen2. Until now, can driving 170km/h without any problem. Although some said Campro (Cam tak Pro) but for me, Cam tak Pro is Cam takde Problem. Just wait next year, we see if proton can make a good car at reasonable price. Kia just recently improved in design and quality. Hope, Proton will follow them.

• correct3x on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:15 am

true… A Malaysian should be proud with their own product… If you dont like Proton at all please just support their effort. If we dont make happen who else will…

• jl@ipl on Aug 14, 2011 at 2:50 am

Agree.

My gen2 was Jan06, millage about 130k, The Campro is problem free.

• greasemonkey on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:25 pm

Hope this will be the model that will ‘kill’ the korean wave that’s washing to our shore,P1 better to something about this,bcos I know alot of people are considering korean cars as their next purchase,due to the design and features.(they dun care abt resale value!).

• MoFaz on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:38 pm

but if proton could match the spec of korean cars, plus lotus ride & handling, with much cheaper spare parts here compared to korean or japanese cars, and better resale value than korean cars… they have the formula for success.

• I don’t need cheaper spare parts, I just want good quality oem spare parts that doesn’t break so fast..

• The Unicons on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:49 pm

Aiyo, have to wait until February 2012… Premium variants when and R3 variants? hahaha…. waiting for R3….

• alldisc on Aug 11, 2011 at 10:16 am

R3??

race.rosak.repair??

• The Unicons on Aug 13, 2011 at 11:01 am

you can’t even know ABC… your “R” mixed with english and malay word. hahaha… shame on you.

• chk4122 on Aug 10, 2011 at 9:58 pm

I am the “constributor” to these snap shot, thanks to Paul for published on Paultan.org.
    By the way, I am driving the Forte while taking these photos (my wife took it actually), so in term of size, it definitely similar to Forte, or a C Segment car. I would guess it should not be the Persona replacement. It should be between Perdana and Persona. New car maybe…

• BadBET on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:13 pm

thanks for the pic… and really like the word ‘constributor’ … catchy

• MoFaz on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:40 am

conspiracy + contributor = constributor.
        which means he ‘conspired’ with Harvinder to share the pictures here through his contribution. but still, thank you for the share chk4122!

• perdana is a D segment, persona is a C, so in between means C+ or a D-?

• alldisc on Aug 11, 2011 at 10:26 am

inspira is C-segment, along with corolla altis, civic, forte and chevrolet cruze.

persona does not belong to the same category due to shorter wheelbase, smaller dimensions all round and smaller engine capacities.

but persona is a little oversized in B segment. so which is which then? i say it is sub-C segment.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Persona is actually a C segment car due to its wheelbase, but is sold inside the B segment market to take advantage of more spacious cabin.

• sLayer on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:48 pm

C+

• Wisdom on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:01 pm

I have taped my thrashed car. I have covered all the rusty parts. One of the brakelight already hanging but that’ll do.

Please take my photo later ;p

• I really hope that it drives nothing like Campro engined..it looks promising.

• drMpower on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:51 pm

the back lights layout
    i thought we were shown something rather different during the motorshow a year or so ago?
    i mean of course it was concept but it cant be like this very different?

i like the horizontal lines like the teana and i wish they could do the same to the new car
    not exactly like the teana but more or less like that
    because i think these rounding led design for brake/running lights, or signal even reverse ones are no longer the ‘in’ thing

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EUduI9cPycU

to pault:
    mcm maner leh lupa pasal cerita Proton di BTCC?
    TQ.

• Mega/Liverpool on Aug 10, 2011 at 10:58 pm

Hmmmmmm
    Delightful to see Proton on the right path at last……….question remains:-
    Is it a boot or Hatchback? (Hatchbacks sell VERY well in the UK)
    What engines?
    Mike/Liverpool Uk

• ichi24 on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:42 am

not a hatchback, i’ll presume. this is the next saloon c – segment replacement for the aging persona.

• _xXx_ on Aug 10, 2011 at 11:05 pm

OMG, Potong bought the old (2004~2009) Mazda3…

• Proton TUAH its coming..

• My Mum drives a Gen 2 (A) 1.3 campro since 2005 with 100 hp and dad a Waja Campro 2006 1.6 with 110 hp. These cars are like a workhorses and have no problems even though they travel everyday to work. Very reliable engines. The 1.3 has more horse power than our old wira 1.5. Mum and dad says they could buy this new proton when it comes out. Well done Proton.

• as long u maintain ur car nicely,then ur car will perform nicely..vice versa..only moron ppl drive like crazy,dont take good care of their car then said they bought a junk~

• Bila nak keluar ni? dah gatal tgn nak sambar Forte. Tp org kata Hyundai Elantra (new) nak keluar bulan 9 ni so tangguh kejap nak tengok mana better in term of value for money (price, interest rate, maintanance cost, engine capacity in Malaysia). Kalau spec overseas of coz la Hyundai Elntra lg berbaloi disokong good review majalah2 kereta, laman2 kereta USA, Eropah. Tup2 kereta yang ditengok di KLIMS hjg 2010 dgr cerita dah nak keluar. Tp lambat lagi bulan 2 2012. Bila boleh mula order pun tak tahu. Pikir2 baik tunggu sbb kalau beli kereta skrg rugi sbb dah masuk bulan september 2011 da. Baik beli model 2012 terus. Tp tu la nafsu ni tak larat menunggu lama2. Hope selewat2nya bulan Februari 2012 dah boleh launc Proton Tuah ni. and hope hjg tahun 2011 dah keluar spec rasmi Proton tuah ni dgn expected price + spec + gmbr betul2 punya. Spy shot pun jd la. Dan bulan 1 dah boleh buat pre order. Supya launch je plg lambat 2 minggu pastu boleh dapat kunci kereta kalau spec + harga berbaloi banding Hyundai Elantra dan Kia Forte. Insyaallah value for money (rasa2 max price below RM 82 K utk highhest spec 7 speed CVT + paddle shifter + ESP + 6 airbag. kalau enji 1.6 Campro CFE turbo tu memang berbaloi2 sgt2 sgt2 sgt2 sgt2 sgt2 sgt la. enjin da sama taraf ngan 2.0 N/A + leh dpt interest rate below 3.3%). Kalau harga high spec tu below RM 77, 000 konpem Proton akan kuasai pasaran Malaysia dlm sgmen high end segmen C. Kalau ada push start button mcm Forte/ Elantra lg best. hehe. Tau pun CVT tukar jd DCT mcm Volkswagen 7 speed. RM 90 K pun sanggup beli punya. hehehe. Hope sgt2. Harap berbaloi menangguh pembelian ni.

• fuel cell phone on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:27 am

i believe this next p1 model will have the looks, handling & transmission that can impress us bolehlanders…

the only thing that p1 need to beef up is fc of the engine as well as design & quality of its interior…

…if this happens, i’ll be owning a p1 for the 1st time huhuhu

• ray_jay on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:03 am

Ah the ‘Wait! Don’t buy other car yet… we have a new model coming in 11 months!’ campaign has started by Proton

• Could be a replacement Gen2 though the shape is about gen2 style…dont expect much from a budget car…not to compare with cruze or inspira..they are in different world..this should be a kereta for rakyat mampu milik !

• Sufian on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:39 am

Actually saw this car 2 days ago in Shah Alam near the traffic light to Giant Section 13. Best thing, just 2 cars in front was an Orange coloured Ford Mustang GT with Black Racing Stripes.

:)

• edmund on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:45 am

i more interest to know how the interior looks like… any photos? :D

• squall_shinoda on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:59 am

I really hope that Proton will also make the Gen-2 replacement model based on this P3-21A. At least the consumers will have options to select whether a sedan model or a hatchback.

• kuching on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:07 am

CHEAP LOOKING BUT OVERPRICE LOCAL CAR. HEHEHE

• makeitmine on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:07 am

Whatever it is, it must be able to beat the Korean car in terms of safety, fuel consumption and performance. Else loads of the car will remain unsold overseas.

The current popular Korean 1.6L car features a gasoline direct-injection engine, producing 103 kW (138 hp) and 167 Nm (123 lb-ft) torque, mated to a new 6-speed automatic or a 6-speed manual transmission.

• tattoo sleeves on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:38 am

can’t wait!! cayalah!

• The Unicons on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:44 am

Paul Tan, some people say this P3-21A is not Persona R, any comment?

• anonymous on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:33 pm

actually for the 1st time it be called Persona R..proton name it like that for the new project to replace model..for example WRM (wira replacement model)..so for this new project they named it Persona R. And the real is P3-21A.it is a code for a this moderl..for the real name still not decided yet..

• quattro on Aug 13, 2011 at 8:21 am

please keep the Persona name and make sure ada kesinanbungan model…

• akupunya on Aug 11, 2011 at 10:23 am

this is Gen-2 facelifted la..apa susah sgt mau guess the car..

imagine gen-2. change all the lamps tu led…

itu jer proton buat…

• Expatriate VN on Aug 11, 2011 at 10:51 am

If this TUAH car come out with Cam-Tak-Pro engine by planned Feb 2012 next year, not only P1 engineer’s head are severe from the shoulder at the chopping board, but send few of TUAH to UK for Top Gear’s Jeremy Clarkson to use APC to roll over!

Want to produce global car konon, with Jaguh Kampong engine tech!

• roadrunner on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:52 am

if and only if…
      if that….
      if this…
      if Proton this…
      all kind of if…
      bored…

• Wisdom on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:05 pm

Boring…..

Next!!

• BadBET on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:30 pm

what happen to your proton car? what model you use

• Expatriate VN on Aug 12, 2011 at 9:53 am

Tissue box on the wheel Iswara (1996)
        Milo tin on the wheel Waja (2003)
        In total I used P1 car 12 year (1996 to 2008)

• BadBET on Aug 13, 2011 at 2:22 pm

your iswara & waja didnt use campro engine… why so angry with some thing you never own?

• squall_shinoda on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Chinese carmakers aggressively enter the world market with just conventional engine technologies. Are you going to say the same to them as well?

• autojohndoe on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:27 pm

Expate~~~

• wheeler on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:46 pm

do you really understand what does it mean with ‘global car’? google dude..

• MoFaz on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:50 pm

i’d love to see your head on chopping board instead.

• Mienzz on Aug 11, 2011 at 3:54 pm

CamPro engine is the first engine made by Lotus and Proton,FIRST made engine usually encountered with technical problem but already solved by adding CPS and IAFM+ module to the engine.Currently Proton will stop producing CamPro engine and will be replaced by the new engine codename Family-Y in 2014 (Some source said it may using VVT/CVVT and Alumnium block engine technology).Tak kisah la enjin CamPro tu jaguh kampung ke tak at least better have than nothing…..

• alfie60 on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:25 pm

The next you order mee goreng mamak and when he brings you a plate of dog turd,i hope you kata ..Tak kisah la at least better have than nothing…and eat it!!

Talking about Proton improving with these kind of low level of contentment and satisfaction there is no way Proton can excel.

Gua worry for lu bro.

• taboogen on Aug 11, 2011 at 3:55 pm

you sounded like short minded kinda person.. but hey thanks for still reading the update…

• squall_shinoda on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:23 pm

What an idiotic moron, only know bullshitting and talk cock. There are still plenty of carmakers using old engines and yet nobody condemn them for using the so-called “outdated” automotive technology. If you think that you’re so genius, then go away and build you very own car by hand, with an engine that is also made by yourself… and then try to sell it overseas. Can it sell? If not, then be prepared to be beheaded on a chopping board, or perhaps being blown with C4 to smithereens.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:05 pm

Are you be little the intelligent of most of KL/KLIA taxi driver experience with Cam Tak Pro Waja? Most of them said this engine is suck under power and gas guzzler.

Just because it is “compulsory” for most of taxi car to get from P1, they have no choice but to suffer this shitty car.

What make you believe that you are not bullshiting and talk cock? You are typical moron of the lowest level in this dumbass bolehland just to accept every thingy that is craptriotically made in bodohland. Shame on you low IQ, let you support and continue to feed the cronies vendors, AP kings and elite with their 4-wive lifestyle, and let they suck $$$$$ from stupid rakyat like you to feed their next 7 generation.

• alfie60 on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:44 pm

Spot on analysis bro. These Proton sympathizers have a feudalistic mentality.looking to suck up to some one and in turn these people would be take care of them.Naza and Proton vendors are rich because of this kind of people.Hamba mentality!! ;-)

• KarimSopian on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:18 pm

Walauweh Mr. Expatriate VN and alfie60. You sure know how to talk negatively ya. Kudos to both of you.

Please everyone, use your management principle please.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:24 pm

That’s why Proton is continuously working to make their Campro engines more efficient… from the basic DOHC with an obvious torque hole to IAFM and then CPS… then IAFM+. That’s what a progress means, even though quite left behind the Japanese and European. But do all your bullshitting and talk cock help the improvement? Nothing at all. You never contribute even a single cent for it.

Just look at Proton 6 years ago during the Mahaleel regime and compare it with now. Back then the quality was crappy with parts failing here and there after only a short while of ownership. I also used to bash Proton because of their unwillingness to change. Do you think most of the readers out there are hardcore Proton fans since 1985? Most of them used to be hardcore bashers, but then after Proton had proven their commitment to become better under DSZ, slowly and steadily the confidence of the rakyat has returned.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 12, 2011 at 9:49 am

“But do all your bullshitting and talk cock help the improvement? Nothing at all. You never contribute even a single cent for it.”

This is not talk cock and bullshitting, you can ask taxi drivers around KL/KLIA, many of them get mad with this Cam Tak Pro engine. You are dumbass to say I am not contribute a single cent for it. FYI, I purchased tissue box on the wheel Iswara way back in 1996 @ RM 37K (Langkawi that time around RM 26K), bought milo tin on the wheel Waja in 2003 @ RM 63K (Middle East free market price is RM 32K). In total I contributed this extra craptax amounting to RM 42K, how about millions consumers out there, the volume is come to perhaps average RM 8 billion x 25 years (P1 existence) with the bulk of it go to cronies, AP king, elite loughing all the way to bank, but rakyat have to open door paid toll.

U means by crunching alphabets jargon like IAFM + CPS + CVT + bla, bla, bla then can be very proud to shout at the world that P1 make improvement …….. the actual fact is base on good quality managment practice, preventive measures should be in place so that these problems shouldn’t exist in the place.

Shame on you still stuck in feudalistic mentality whorshipping shitty car like reincarnation of white blood princess.

• LULIAN JEE on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:28 pm

You remind me of this weirdo character found on paultan blog in the past… named JOE OOI. Endless whining. Anyone can remember him?

• squall_shinoda on Aug 12, 2011 at 3:52 pm

It’s because you’ve contributed to the wrong pocket and barked at the wrong tree and at the wrong time. You bought those cars during Proton’s dark age but you bark during their reformation age. Shame on you laa, you better cut away your balls…!!! Are you going to say that all guys in Proton are just the same old faces again and again? Every year Proton recruits newbies while the senior retire and the useless assholes are fired. The same thing happens in all organisations.

So are you going to say that you won’t be paying even a cent of the so-called craptaxes if you buy other brands? You still have to pay, in fact A LOT MORE. You’re neither an engineer nor an economist but rather a piece of shit who only talk cock with the brain located inside the ass.

I am not a very hardcore fan of Proton, but I am proud with the progress shown by Proton, and I believe most readers in paultan share the same sentiment with me. We were very pissed off to Proton during their dark ages, but after the new management under DSZ overhauled the whole stuff, we are proud to see the transformation. Even though they are still behind the Japs and Koreans, they still proceed consistently, totally different from 6 years ago under the Mahaleel regime. And you never deserve to call yourself a Malaysian if that’s the shitty attitude that you show.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 12, 2011 at 5:50 pm

“Are you going to say that all guys in Proton are just the same old faces again and again?”

– My answer is no, but for sure that TDM old chap is still at the helm as advisor and NAP also is still there, lack of R & D and jaguh kampong working culture – forget about DSZ or any new blue blood pump in is just changes at “cosmetic”, not macro level. On bigger picture, it is just another pet project by TDM to create skim cepat kaya for his cronies, AP king and ruling elite to enjoy super high lifestyle.

Anyway, I stop here not to elaborate anymore in this thread, eventhough I disagree with you, I respected your right of expression! Good luck for you able to argue intellectualy, despite your sentences lace with layman “less-than-perfect” words. Good try, we shall meet at other thread in the future, maybe fight fork and tongue on similar issue.

• quattro on Aug 13, 2011 at 7:49 am

onli if DSZ managing director keep listening to the basher, then proton will improve and getting better .. listened to the end user, not that pak menteri coz they dont drive proton on the daily life..they drove merc or bmw even the helicopter…

• MoFaz on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:01 am

who said it’s compulsory to use proton as taxi? i can see mercedes, hyundai and nissan as taxi. not just KLIA, even in JB there’s plenty of hyundai taxis.
          campro taxi underpowered? i don’t see they have problem climbing genting.
          gas guzzler? of course laaa… taxis are NGVs, for sure they’re not guzzling water.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 12, 2011 at 4:06 pm

Agreed. That’s why there’s a thing called NGV-petrol mode switch so that taxi drivers can switch back to petrol when the car feels underpowered. NGVs are underpowered in nature due to the smaller amount of energy at the same volume as petrol. As a result, an NGV taxi may need to burn about 8 litres of CNG to produce the same amount of power as in a litre of petrol.

• anonymous on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:37 pm

Don’t argue with idiots. They’ll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.

• areos on Aug 11, 2011 at 12:33 pm

Some people made very illogical dan stupid comments which only exposed them as mentally idiot.

• kamaji on Aug 11, 2011 at 3:15 pm

For once,can P1 bring those Goodyear girls during launching next Feb.

• Drebar on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:14 pm

Proton should bring this Tuah hatch version(new Satria?) and sports touring wagon. Both will looks similar to Cruze Hatch and Sonata Wagon. The European market would suits it well.

Anyway Proton don’t forget to include 5 years warranty with Free servis (parts and labour) plus extended option to 7 years!

• Sapa tau bila nak keluar ni?

dah gatal tgn nak sambar Forte. Tp org kata Hyundai Elantra (new) nak keluar bulan 9 ni so tangguh kejap nak tengok mana better in term of value for money (price, interest rate, maintanance cost, engine capacity in Malaysia). Kalau spec overseas of coz la Hyundai Elntra lg berbaloi disokong good review majalah2 kereta, laman2 kereta USA, Eropah. Tup2 kereta yang ditengok di KLIMS hjg 2010 dgr cerita dah nak keluar. Tp lambat lagi bulan 2 2012. Bila boleh mula order pun tak tahu. Pikir2 baik tunggu sbb kalau beli kereta skrg rugi sbb dah masuk bulan september 2011 da. Baik beli model 2012 terus. Tp tu la nafsu ni tak larat menunggu lama2. Hope selewat2nya bulan Februari 2012 dah boleh launc Proton Tuah ni. and hope hjg tahun 2011 dah keluar spec rasmi Proton tuah ni dgn expected price + spec + gmbr betul2 punya. Spy shot pun jd la. Dan bulan 1 dah boleh buat pre order. Supya launch je plg lambat 2 minggu pastu boleh dapat kunci kereta kalau spec + harga berbaloi banding Hyundai Elantra dan Kia Forte. Insyaallah value for money (rasa2 max price below RM 82 K utk highhest spec 7 speed CVT + paddle shifter + ESP + 6 airbag. kalau enji 1.6 Campro CFE turbo tu memang berbaloi2 sgt2 sgt2 sgt2 sgt2 sgt2 sgt la. enjin da sama taraf ngan 2.0 N/A + leh dpt interest rate below 3.3%). Kalau harga high spec tu below RM 77, 000 konpem Proton akan kuasai pasaran Malaysia dlm sgmen high end segmen C. Kalau ada push start button mcm Forte/ Elantra lg best. hehe. Tau pun CVT tukar jd DCT mcm Volkswagen 7 speed. RM 90 K pun sanggup beli punya. hehehe. Hope sgt2. Harap berbaloi menangguh pembelian ni.

• MoFaz on Aug 13, 2011 at 6:21 am

Forte vs Elantra?… forte dah lama la bro, launch tahun 2009. in fact, sekarang ni patutnya dah keluar facelift. korean cars memang nampak lawa sekarang ni. cuma masalah hyundai dgn kia ni 2nd hand value je, spare parts plak agak mahal. try research internet / forum dan tanya sesiapa yang pakai hyundai / kia skrg ni utk tau masalah yg mungkin berlaku nnt. hati2 sikit, kia sebelum ni lebih teruk dari proton, tapi mungkin sekarang jauh lebih baik :).
      maybe lebih bagus ko tunggu proton ni keluar, tak lama dah tu. aku stuju, kalo nak beli kereta tunggu awal tahun depan je. elantra atau persona r.

• mohd zakir on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:39 am

When can P1 launch this overseas and see
    what kinda response they will get and gauge if they
    can give the koreans a run for their money.
    What happened to India market? Still waiting
    as to how they can break into that competitive market.
    Hope that P1 is next on Khazanah’s list to hive it off
    as they are getting too complacent !!

• alfie60 on Aug 12, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Agreed. There is only so much a salary man like DSZ can do. Budaya in the GLC is ‘Dia nak sibuk-sibuk apa hal bukan company ni dia punya. This is talking from my experience running these company. We have seen what has happen to Sime Darby.
      Give it to an enterprising businessman he will take Proton to greater heights.
      Air Asia is a good case.

• The Unicons on Aug 13, 2011 at 10:35 am

Targeted 6 months after launched in Malaysia

• Sama Haga Maa on Aug 13, 2011 at 6:45 am

What eva d spec would be hope proton will sell its ‘GLOBAL’ car at similar price oversea n in Malaysia…Jangan jadi mcm waja, gen2 n pesona, jual kat A.Saudi 50% lg murah dr kat Malaysia. Please vote for anak di rumah disusukan, beruk di hutan kelaparan n not vice versa

• bongek on Aug 15, 2011 at 10:31 pm

TF: hi , i am TF, i am the owner of AA….now i got 20% of MAS,,,can i get another 20% in P1? aaaa? kenot? so how if i move everything to Betawi? so how?

• mr.proton on Aug 18, 2011 at 8:28 am

to Datuk seri syed Zainal.. please listen to the people’s opinion.. make sure this car look fantastic and more practical.. make sure the interior especially dashboard and instrument panel look more elegant and stylish otherwise it will be same like the T dugong which is simple dashboard but still can sell bcos of the brand T and the dual airbags as standard fitting. and the MOST IMPORTANT THING are the quality of the parts and after sales service which is very crucial in Proton. im so sure that if Proton can rectify this problems slowly the people will get back to proton.. and then i forgot… malaysian people like cheap car with more gadgets n stylo. try to maintain the price under RM60K. IT SHUD BE IN THE RANGE OF RM48K BASE LINE TO RM60K. or for the highline the highest RM62K.. this just my 2 kupang.. i hope datuk seri read this.. or mr. paul.. can u tell this to Datuk seri syed zainal..