New Suzuki Swift Sport – 136 PS, 160 Nm, 6-speed manual

Click to enlarge image

This is the new Suzuki Swift Sport, based on the current generation Swift that was launched last year. To debut in next month’s Frankfurt show, it has emerged almost identical to the Suzuki S-Concept shown in Geneva in March.

Compared to Geneva’s yellow concept, we can see that the production SSS has lost both the vents behind the front wheels and in front of the rear wheels. No red calipers, the alloy design is less flashy and there’s a more subtle rear spoiler. But that’s about it. Like the current car, the Swift Sport doesn’t shout too loud, which is a good thing.

This is the Suzuki S-Concept, production SSS looks almost identical bar small details

Under the hood is Suzuki’s 1.6-litre M16A engine, coaxed for better figures. The high-revving twin-cam naturally aspirated unit now makes 136 PS and 160 Nm of torque, up from 125 horses and 148 Nm. Also important is the fact that max torque is now made at 4,400 rpm, 400 rpm lower than before. There’s also something else current Swift Sport owners will envy – the SSS now comes with a six-speed manual gearbox.

Handling wise, Suzuki says that the new Swift Sport offers “superior cornering stability and brisker, more responsive handling thanks to struts with internal rebound springs and an exclusive rear-suspension design”. Seven airbags (including driver’s knee) and ESP are among the safety kit.

In today’s landscape where a 200 hp hatch is no big deal, and many cooking variants are turbocharged or diesel powered, the SSS might be scoffed at, but we commend Suzuki for sticking with this formula. A high revving NA engine can be intoxicating for those who know. You may be going faster, but I’m having lots of fun getting there!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• kington on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:00 pm

the only hot hatch from Japan that handles well.

pity that the rear seats are quite useless.

• HirumaKecil on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:48 pm

Mazda 3 sport also good one what….

• sekzchan on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:46 pm

Mazda 3 sport only tuned suspension. Its a non high revving engine and not a high compression ratio engine. And definately can’t do 0-100kmh in 8+ seconds….

• farid laa on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:32 pm

yeeaahh..mazda3 mps…one with the turbo…

• TurboMan on Aug 12, 2011 at 3:09 pm

I drove the Mazda MPS once. The handling is miles away from the SSS.

It definitely has more power.

• simply say on Sep 25, 2011 at 5:31 pm

frend i really surprice that you drove this sss before and can conpare it to mps!!!

• HirumaKecil on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:04 pm

Nice one…

• Henry on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:07 pm

Nice. This car look good in bright colours.

I hope they come out with a turbo version.

• V-tec lover on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:11 pm

This is what i call Hot Hatch!!

• ajdar on Jun 05, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Its a warm hatch…not a hot hatch.
      but the handling is one of the best among japanese cars

• Okay, this is what i need.

• Silv3r on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:19 pm

Good move by suzuki. but the horsepower looks like a bit low.
    low hp with 6 gearbox. but at least it can improve the mileage. =))

• Jeffrey on Aug 13, 2011 at 6:51 pm

It may have low HP but try to outrun it in the corners or in b-roads like genting and cameron. U’ll be amazed.

• Asrul hezly on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Mine is M16A as well but 110PS. How to get increase to 136PS as SSS did? What parts they use?

• artworkz on Aug 11, 2011 at 6:41 pm

SS oni can take ron98, lower than that will make engine suffer to produce horse

• sekzchan on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:47 pm

urs is probably a sx4….the pistons and compression are different.

• bobdbilder on Aug 11, 2011 at 11:54 pm

Remap ECU + Cams + 4-2-1 Headers w/o the cat. Lessons from a Neo R3.

• rapidshifter on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:47 pm

hi-rev engine reminds me of…. … anyway this swift looks agile with good NA engine and 6 speed manual! cool…

• Dogbert on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:47 pm

High Revving NA engine manual transmission is a niche market nowdays but should still sell if the price is right.

Meanwhile, does anyone recall a 1.2 Turbo Diesel version planned for the Swift ?

• squawk on Aug 11, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Manual!!!! Good luck trying to sell it here though.

• sekzchan on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:49 pm

I own current sss in manual. Don’t think its hard to sell….want a shopping trolley? Get a T or H.

• Carl Wong on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:04 pm

Good, so much better than Myvi. Seven airbags even for the knee? Never seen that, amazing.

• batumudo on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:19 pm

R3 neo figures outnumbered SSS

• Littlefire on Aug 11, 2011 at 6:46 pm

Only in Malaysia, how about worldwide?

• sekzchan on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:50 pm

R3 neo is slower than sss in 0-100 figure….go check the specs first…

• bobdbilder on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:03 am

Specs mean nothing without the driver. Haven’t seen other than a Toyota Mark X 250 and its driver that could go faster. There was this Aston Martin up MEX hiway. Beat him at the twisties leading to Putrajaya toll. How much did he pay for that? Such a waste of car.

• TurboMan on Aug 12, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Haaa.

He probably had too much fun last night with chicks to have energy left to play with you on MEX highway. That car is a major chick magnet. Chicks who are after money, but still chicks.

Grow up my friend. You talk like a boy racer. And boy racers generally don’t drive Aston.

• bobdbilder on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:22 am

Cannot say. Specs almost even
        SSS = 8.9s on RON 98
        R3 = 9.3s on RON 97
        Calculated Top Speed
        SSS = 200
        R3 = 205

All depends on the driver. I could get a bit more with CAI + Port and Polish. Bring it on!

• Ask yourself which is more reliable and for tracking ? SSS can definately do higher than 200kmph

• drive then decide, my guess you will not want the R3 after that.

• ajdar on Jun 05, 2012 at 3:34 pm

bobdbilder, are you having a laugh?…that Aston martin can eat you anytime if he wants too..he is too civilised to engage in this budak budak game…

• What is their “exclusive rear-suspension design”.. A bit lazy to search here..

• Wow…that’s nice…but when will it come to our shores.
    Till today, no sign of the new 1.2 Swift.

• syazwan on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:28 pm

drool! wah lah weyh!!!

• VOLVO LOVER on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:30 pm

i love it

• Expatriate VN on Aug 11, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Time to introduce entirely new model!

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 11, 2011 at 3:08 pm

136ps was a rather commendable figure not too long ago….but the world has moved on. However that said, the swift would most likely sticker closer to the lower end of the sports hatch/supermini class (probably its sights are on the similarly spec’ed Renault Clio).

Commendable yes, but I would like to see this engine paired with the regular Swift 5 door which if you were a more spirited drive, the regular 1.5L comes out rather lethargic.

Suzuki has yet to come out with a matching Swift GTI successor. Even with the twincam 1.3 making only 100hp, the very lightweight chassis (only 820kg) makes for a very entertaining drive, especially ones shod with good tyres. The newer model is some 250kg heavier…. which makes a whole lot of difference.

• sekzchan on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:52 pm

Bro,

u try the sss and u will know. Prob can’t match turbo or supercharged car or cars with 2.4 cc above, but its sure faster than a lot of cars in our market….redline at 7200 rpm and and max speed at 200kmh fromthe current 1.6 sss plus 6 airbags, dun think many car offers that in the price.

• ajdar on Jun 05, 2012 at 3:39 pm

No point redline at 7200 if its way outside the peak torque…your just wasting petrol.
        Max speed at 200km/hr is nothing to shout about

• Jeffrey on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:08 am

Main point getting a SSS is more on the handling department (go-kart like cornering) :D

Unless u’re doing straight highways, then higher HP will be an advantage…

• scgtimk1 on Aug 16, 2011 at 11:19 am

Yup the Old Swift GTi will run circle on this SSS.

• Wow nice!

• Kumar san on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:07 pm

Awesome ride,love the looks,pretty racy i reckon..a buddy of mine has the current Swift Sport and i must say it’s definately a hoot to pelt fast! Well balanced and with a very benign chassis..always chuckable through corners and it holds it’ line well..nice.

So this latest version must be even better then,what more with more ponies under the hood..this should be a really good buy for a medium powered range hot hatch brand new so manual transmission fans like myself and others here can rejoice..i would not mind getting one when it’s finally launched here since most of the cars i own are manuals anyway.But It will be pricey though since it will be a CBU.Well done Suzuki.

Cheers.

• Seriously First?

• vw_fan on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:44 pm

This is a 2 door version. Aren’t the current ones 4 door?

Anyway I think this car looks great as a 2 door.

• Jeffrey on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:11 am

I think JDM Swift Sport will be a 4 door model. Like the current swift sport from Japan is 4 door, while those in Europe are 2-doors..

• kamaji on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:57 pm

Great package but how much.

• alldisc on Aug 11, 2011 at 4:59 pm

bugger….6 speed? half price of the then Civic Type R?

Fantastic!! a match for satria neo with 5MT

• beatnik on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Wow.. a lot nicer than the outgoing SSS! its a shame that no turbo engine offered.. nice car nonetheless!

• Littlefire on Aug 11, 2011 at 6:45 pm

In Japan, they have a lot of turbo or supercharge kit being sell..

• Jeffrey on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:01 pm

I am jealous ady…. :( hopefully the gearbox can be plug and play with my current swift sport… good job Suzuki!

• sekzchan on Aug 11, 2011 at 8:53 pm

reflash ur ecu and u should get 8-10hp with no mods…

• Jeffrey on Aug 12, 2011 at 12:03 am

Haha… increase hp is one thing, sumtimes it gets tired when doing high speed… :(

So a 6 speed manual is very well thought of move by suzuki….

• torsionbeans on Aug 11, 2011 at 5:15 pm

another torsion bean/beam rubbish from japan…very disappointed…

• asgard on Aug 11, 2011 at 6:41 pm

people over here want auto not manual

• Looking for auto? Why are you looking at hot hatches then? Poser!

• altecs on Aug 11, 2011 at 9:40 pm

I would like to rephrase your statement… “mainstream drivers aka pakcik, makcik, granny, sissies and sisters want auto in which this group consists of 90% of the world. The other 10%, the true awesome hot blooded drivers wants a manual and would settle for no less”. Now make your choice which group you want to be in.

A manual exclusive car is a statement from the auto manufacturer saying.. “true drivers only, posers please go away”.

Regardless, lets hope suzuki decides to bring this car here and slap on a decent price tag.

• The 90% does not apply in Europe, where the manual is the mainstream.

Also, I even saw quite a few Golf GTIs in its 6-speed manual form in the US, which was surprising when >90% of Americans cannot drive manual.

• Cervelo on Aug 12, 2011 at 8:28 am

Even with current Suzuki Swift 1.5 MANUAL tranny is damn good enough for me :)

• black king on Aug 11, 2011 at 6:52 pm

is the current SSS only drink ron 97 fuel?
    kering la poket =.=

• sorry…but isn’t it 135 hp instead of 136ps???
    please correct me if im wrong…

• ayoo , i hope proton neo will come out with its standard turbo.

• Mr Wancer on Aug 12, 2011 at 2:46 am

Makan this car slower brother for breakfast, lunch and dinner @ corners…till flipped 3 times :x

But one thing i like bout this car is it’s the strength of it’s A,B,C pillars…even though flipped 3 times but it looks like it have a mini rollcage inside…

A good car for performance + safety…

• armandd on Aug 12, 2011 at 2:59 pm

I would love to see a shootout between this new Swift Sport and R3 Satria Neo. My bet would be on the Neo though=).

• VOLVO LOVER on Aug 12, 2011 at 3:51 pm

this is so much better than stupid neo la

• Vendet on Aug 12, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Swift always surprise us with their eye catchy design. With Swift 1.5, 1.6 Sport now the new Swift Sport continue the greatness Swift predecessors’.

Wish to watch Swift Sport vs Mini Cooper Sport .

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Aug 13, 2011 at 8:54 pm

bmw 1 series better

• bluepunto on Aug 15, 2011 at 7:26 am

punto gt still the best

• WoW…. next SSS coming on sales now??

Have the fixed the steering rack sound problem?????????

After 4 years driving my swift, after 2 times change the whole set of steering rack, and after 9 times go inspection.. sound still there.. and now they study about more horses?? crap !

Most service center going to close now….. good luck with your new product Suzuki.

Sorry, i just disappointed with this brand big time.

• Tintu on Aug 19, 2011 at 2:07 am

thats all fine… but how long does maruti take to deliver dis car? only three months back i slipped away from swift to figo, jus becoz the dealer of maruti didnt even bother to show a phamplet of swift, and blindly replied that swift wud take 5 months for delivery so u can go for ritz. If dis sort of attitude retains with maruti, i am sure, ppl ll look other better options than swift.

• tecque on Aug 22, 2011 at 11:12 am

So bad…. Nothing to shout about… the Engine horse power still far behind HONDA’s 10 years old Civic EG6, engine B16A with 170ps…. HAHAHH….