Honda’s 2.2 liter i-DTEC gets power and torque bump

Honda has unveiled the first details of its next generation 2.2 litre i-DTEC diesel engine, which so far hasn’t seen service outside of oil burner loving Europe. The 2.2 litre i-DTEC set to debut in the new European market 2012 Honda Civic hatchback will produce 148 horsepower and 350Nm of torque, up the previous 138 horsepower and 340Nm.

While power is up, emissions have dropped – the Civic i-DTEC is expected to emit just 110g/km of CO2, down 29 g/km from the outgoing model. Of this drop, 5g/km alone is attributed to the incorporation of automatic idle start/stop technology. The engine lubricant flow has also been optimized to reduce circulation friction losses.

So far the Ford Focus TDCI is the only oil burner C-segment passenger vehicle sold here in Malaysia. A turbodiesel Civic with 350Nm of torque seems like mighty fun, but I don’t think diesels will be offered for the ASEAN region anytime soon.

There might be hope for India though, but I don’t think the engine offered will be this 2.2 litre. Honda is said to be developing a smaller turbo diesel engine about 1.5 litre in displacement and it is likely that oil burner lump that will be offered for ‘developing’ markets.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• potato on Aug 15, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Isn’t this new 2.2 a drop in power compared to current 2.0 engine?

• Alpha on Aug 15, 2011 at 10:15 pm

this is i-DTEC,Honda’s diesel engine,not i-VTEC.

• Paul Tan on Aug 15, 2011 at 10:16 pm

diesel and petrol engine different.

• Alpha on Aug 15, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Paul,don’t u think an Accord equipped with 2.2L i-DTEC would be marketable in Malaysia??If I’m not mistaken,there’s no D-segment diesel cars in Malaysia as of yet.I don’t think a diesel Civic will sell well as its target market are young ppl/small family and usually thse ppl won’t opt for diesel.

• Paul Tan on Aug 15, 2011 at 10:50 pm

It would definitely be a very appealing car!

Wish there was a diesel Mondeo to accompany the EcoBoost Mondeo.

• The Mondeo is the best D segment car below the price of 200k. I fully agree , but will part and availability be an issue since its a fully imported model. I doubt our RON95 fuel quality would have slight effect on the engine too. If it is clarify that none of these will be a problem then getting Mondeo is the right choice

• antifordrangertdci on Aug 16, 2011 at 5:54 am

Wish there was EcoBoost Ranger to accompany the Ranger TDCi.

• Ecoboost ranger not wise for biz….more fuel consumption but less torque compared to tdci

• looking-good on Aug 16, 2011 at 7:10 pm

u can get a D-segment diesel in auto bavaria, 333k for the 520D

• noobs on Aug 16, 2011 at 2:20 pm

But nautral aspirated petrol and turbo petrols are different, too.

• Diesel on Aug 15, 2011 at 10:26 pm

fan shu la…

• Honda first diesel engine.

• Hadi75 on Aug 16, 2011 at 8:44 am

This is not honda first diesel…it’s the latest diesel engine from honda…

• squall_shinoda on Aug 16, 2011 at 9:04 am

Actually this is Honda’s second generation diesel engine, the N22B. Besides the horsepower, the other differences include slightly lower cc (2199 cc vs 2204 cc from the older N22A engine) to take advantage of road tax rate (the older B22A may be considered as a 2.3L engine in certain countries), slightly lower compression ratio (16.3:1 vs 16.7:1 From the N22A), slightly higher boost and different intake/exhaust port configurations (rear exhaust ports as in Honda’s current petrol engine families like the L and R engines).

• Diesel is not about hp… it is torque that counts. Current 2.0L K20A3 only has 160hp with 190Nm of torque. In this case, the new i-DTEC pawns the K20A3 easily with 340Nm despite having 138hp only.

• GTASA on Aug 16, 2011 at 5:58 am

Is turbo petrol having more torque than turbodiesel?

• Just me on Aug 16, 2011 at 11:00 am

I think turbo diesel is having more torque. The best thing about diesel is that the torque is available at low RPM, therefore give you more hp at low RPM.
        HP = (Nm * RPM)/7090. Lots of Jap car having nice numbers on the spec sheet, but it you look at it carefully, it is most of the time available at high RPM, like @4500 which is not realitic in normal driving condition.

• noobs on Aug 16, 2011 at 2:14 pm

I think turbo petrols are rich in power and torque compared to turbodiesel, because the turbodiesels are rich only in torque.

• Littlefire on Aug 16, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Only on high RPM, if u want economy:performance ratio, turbo diesel wins the day.. Besides that maintenence also cheaper compare to petrol engine…

• turbo-diesel engine should indeed has more torque. this is due to the higher calorific value of diesel fuel. the low power figure is due to the inherent design of diesel engine which uses compression ignition. though it allows greater compression for greater efficiency, it can’t be operate at speed as high as spark ignition engine. thus the lower power value. power depends on speed and torque. in face it is the product of those 2.

• not only turbo diesel, all forced inducted engine can be tuned to produce monstrous low speed torque. however, generally higher compression of diesel engine allows for low end torque at little expense of fuel. petrol engine might be able to emulate the high compression of diesel engine using DI technology with precise tuning though.

• Just me on Aug 17, 2011 at 10:37 am

The high torque at low rpm is a typical characteristic of diesel engine. That is because in general, diesel engine has longer stroke compare to petrol engine. But the rpm will not go as high as petrol engine. Bare in mind that hp is a derivation of torque and engine speed, that’s the reason diesel engine can’t archieve good hp especially at higher rpm. For a simple comparison, imagine you are tightening a bolt using a long torque wrench vs short one. the long one should give you a greater turning moment. Same as for Truck engine, it has much longer stroke to generate humongous amount of torque, but maximum engine speed is probably less than 4000rpm, may be just 3000rpm

• noobs on Aug 16, 2011 at 2:18 pm

Diesels installed in Le Mans car have a lot of power compared to regular diesels.

• More waiting :(

• bobdbilder on Aug 15, 2011 at 11:05 pm

The scale of the graph is a bit misleading as the X axis starts at 1000rpm and Y at 100Nm. Coz if they did it in full scale you see only a 3% hike in torque. Plus, it would be applicable to Euro 5 diesel. But the CO2 emission drop is the most wanting as it would put this car in a lower tax bracket and it would meet the future emission requirement in Europe.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 16, 2011 at 8:53 am

Horsepower-torque graphs are just like than, because the dyno measurement only starts about 1000 rpm more than the idle speed.

• firdaus on Aug 15, 2011 at 11:43 pm

c’mon honda malaysia, bring it down here & malaysia & let rakyat feels the torque rush, the fuel savings & decide!!!

• this honda 2.2L engine is nth in front of the hyundai r series diesel which the santa fe is wearing. 197hp 436nm compare to 150 hp and 350nm !

• bobdbilder on Aug 16, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Then why can the Sante Fe be beaten on Karak by a 145bhp/168Nm 1200kg car?
      SUV = SUX. Power beaten by bawls!

• My santa fe 2.2 d way more powerful than honda quoted figure hoho

• Carl Wong on Aug 16, 2011 at 12:57 am

Diesels are more efficient and have insane torque, how about a full Honda diesel hybrid??

• it is weird that green diesel and petrol hybrid are fighting for fuel saving tech supremacy but not much diesel hybrid is going on, at least at mass production state. even range extender engine used are petrol engine. weird… y dun combine best of both? clean diesel- electric hybrid?

• Littlefire on Aug 17, 2011 at 10:09 am

Yes u have it in Peugeot already… Check around the net..

• As usual, more ignotant msian rgrdg diesel…..diesel hybrid is coming by pug 3008 hybrid & 508 hybrid….as frugal as a prius but more power, 500nm of torque from both diesel 2.0liter hdi & its hybrid batt

• Gavin on Aug 16, 2011 at 1:51 am

By the time malaysia gets euro standard fuels and engines, the world has already ran out if petroleum.

And malaysians have themselves to blame to blame also by being ignorant as hell

• well we nearly got euro standard fuel save for the stupid 2M diesel. however, we are far ahead of united states of america u know? reason diesel aren’t selling well in usa, or actually car manufacturer do not bother of modifying their engine to cope with the fuel standard there.

• Government through RTD(JPJ) should consider tax based on emission+FC. The lower the emission and Fuel Consumption should get more favorable tax bracket. AT the end of the day, what matter is economic value of anything. IF BMW 520d can give a way more mileage than 1.6l petrol, let it enjoy the privilege of cheaper tax.

Put this 2.2 i-DTEC to Accord, CR-V, premium Civic or even Elysion will definitely give some impact of carbon footprint (though will vary according to the vehicle weight).

• bro
      my dad’s old 200e (w124) is still considered a luxury car and taxed just like the new 2000cc cars

i think taxation based on displacement is really really outdated
      if a ferrari f458 consumes less fuel and emits lower emission in contrast to a bmw X6, the ferrari should not only be taxed less but also be made cheaper
      :p

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 16, 2011 at 12:25 pm

I agree wholeheartedly on that statement. A CO2 based road tax system would work if the government is looking to reduce pollution.

The problem is in order to do that, they have to apply the new tax rates on new cars only. Not many people can just go out and buy a new car. Not sure how the current JPJ system would handle a mix of old and new.

But as per this new Honda diesel. seem a little backward. The rest of Europe and even Korea has current engines in service that would smoother the i-DTEC in terms of power and tractability. Just look at the french diesels, the BMW and even Hyundai’s R series diesels.

• cheng on Aug 16, 2011 at 1:06 pm

if proton cars produce the most CO2 then you can forget about it.

• the newest proton saga flx 1.3 cvt emit 185g co2/km !
          that 80grams more per km compare to this honda !

• squawk on Aug 17, 2011 at 11:30 pm

Forget it. There’s too much thinking involved. :-P

• kumpel on Aug 16, 2011 at 1:31 pm

CO2 based road tax will only make sense if we have a solution for plenty of old junks w/o cat and 2 stroke bikes with a lot of NOx, SO, C and HC emission. CO2 emission is nothing compare to these. Otherwise it will look stupid to punish “new but not very emission friendly” cars while those old lorries still running around with black smoke (C + HC)

• Ex-FD2 owner on Aug 16, 2011 at 10:15 am

wow..first diesel engine from Honda? very nice 1..got both torque and hp..honda is really good in enigne technology!!

• Gavin on Aug 16, 2011 at 2:06 pm

Hahaha you obviously live in the dark ages as everyone else, this is the successor to their i-CTDi engine

• in fact this is improved version of the original i-DTEC. 1st engine? wahahahaha

• If you are satisfying for the FD hp and torque, try VW 1.2 car. And you will know what is POWER

• YNNAD on Aug 16, 2011 at 10:53 am

Wah… that engine has more torque than a 2.5 Hilux….

• Toroto on Aug 16, 2011 at 12:32 pm

Please solve and curb the heavy vehicles such as buses and lorries which are emitting so much of black smoke. At times the smoke can even cover the whole view of other drivers at the back not to mention the pollution. Bring in latest Euro standard (even euro4 already outdated now) of diesel and mandate the use of latest standard of all new modern diesel models registered every year including commercial ones in Malaysia. The excuses of some commercial vehicles and fishing boats that don’t require high grade of diesels cannot be tolerate anymore to solve environment issue in this era… Currently, the emission of gasses by diesel engines in M’sia is far more toxic than petrol ones. Whoever drives diesel vehicle with current M’sian diesel standard shouldn’t leave their engines running too long during idle.

• PakAbu on Aug 16, 2011 at 2:35 pm

An open letter to SPAD, I guess?

• bobdbilder on Aug 16, 2011 at 10:10 pm

So who is going to absorb the additional cost of transport? The cost of foreign new technology will be borne by consumers.

We don’t burn fossil fuel as much as the EU. We don’t consume energy as much as the EU. We don’t have as much cars and trucks on our roads as much as the EU. We have more trees that the whole of EU combined. We don’t make our own engines as the EU does.

We have more trees than the whole of EU. We have hydro electric dams that operate the whole year round. We make solar panels to be sent back to Europe.

Why should we be bludgeoned by this misplaced standardization? Why should we be so much influenced by European Automakers to buy their Unique Selling Point?

• Wisdom on Aug 16, 2011 at 2:47 pm

Modern diesel/tdi engine is nice and exaggeratedly torquey. However they are anticlimax. True its attractive to senior driver. Young@heart and spirited driver wont settles in a diesel.

See the graph, for a good pull, the most you can squeeze is up to 4000 rpm only. Yes the car would go fast but it lacks that engine screaming sensation.

E.g, personally, i would like to feel fast and hear engine screaming up to say, 7k rpm to satisfy my need for speed. 4k rpm would be anticlimax.

• ben yap on Aug 16, 2011 at 3:20 pm

why Honda don’t wanna bring in the 2.2 here? i think that’s a good move to bring it here.

• Please stop believing the power declared in the statement!!
    The Japanese makes over-declare their vehicle power, and it totally a different story when you driving and accelerating. I owned a EL Civic 2.0, RN6 Honda Stream and even a Toyota Caldina GT4. None of the above meet my performance expectation, until I drive a VW Polo which is powered by a 1.2 Turbo engine.
    Hope to own a Golf GTI asap.

• Diesellover on Aug 16, 2011 at 11:07 pm

Hyundai Santafe offer 197ps with 442nm…

• Wow…msian are sure is ignorant about diesels….1st honda diesel engined?hahahaha…..no power above 4k rpm, hence cannot go faster?hahahaha( if u’re doing 120-130kph at 2k rpm…..200kph is at 4k rpm ler…) they sure don’t know abt diesels…..want to scream up to 7k rpm, yup…u sure owned an oil refinery..hahahaha