CKD Volvo S60 T4 and T5 launched – RM220k and RM255k

UPDATE: Live gallery from the event added

Volvo Car Malaysia officially launched the locally assembled Volvo S60 this evening. The CKD S60 comes in two engine variants, a T5 and the new T4. When the S60 was launched back in April, there were two CBU variants offered – the 3.0 T6 AWD and the 2.0 T5. With the new CKD lineup, the range topping (and expensive) T6 is no more.

Both the T4 and T5 powerplants are from Volvo’s latest Gasoline Turbocharged Direct Injection (GTDi) four-cylinder engine family, and are part of the European downsizing movement, which can be summed up as: smaller cc + DI + turbo = more go and better FC.

The unit in the T5 is a 2.0-litre with 240 hp and 320 Nm of torque, pretty impressive figures that trump even Volkswagen’s TSI engine in the Golf GTI. The S60 T5 does 0-100 km/h in 7.5 seconds on its way to a top speed of 230 km/h.

The T4 may be just a 1.6-litre unit, but with a turbo bolted on, it makes 180 hp and 240 Nm of twist from 1,600 to 5,000 rpm. An overboost function raises max torque to 270 Nm in spurts. That should mean that it will be fast enough for most (0-100 in 9.0s top speed 225 km/h), while costing just RM90 in road tax. Combined consumption is 7.4 litres per 100 km. Both engines are mated to a six-speed Powershift gearbox, so it’s all the latest tech in one.

Volvo bills the S60 as its “naughtiest car ever”, so it comes with “improved steering, stiffer springs and bushes as well as more damping than any previous model”. The mid sized exec also comes with Advanced Stability Control and Corner Traction Control, which is a form of torque vectoring. By the way, our market gets the ‘Dynamic’ spec instead of ‘Comfort’. Find out what we think – read the full test drive report here.

It ain’t a Volvo if it doesn’t come with a full house of safety kit. The T5 features Pedestrian Detection with full auto brake, which detects pedestrians in front of the car and automatically applies full braking power if the driver does not respond in time after being warned with light and sound.

‘Njord’ wheels for the T5 (left) and ‘Balder’ rims for the T4, both are 17in items

Full braking works at speeds of up to 35 km/h. Above that, it slows down the car as much as possible, which could mean less serious injury, or surviving the crash. Collision Warning with full auto brake does the same, but for cars in front.

Adaptive Cruise Control with Queue Assist maintains a set gap to the vehicle in front and works from 0 to 200 km/h. This means that technically, the S60 T5 can “drive itself” in a traffic jam. City Safety and the blind spot warning BLIS are standard on the T4.

The S60 also comes with the new Volvo Sensus infotainment system, displayed on a 5-inch colour screen and accessible via steering wheel controls.

Five colours available, but signature Vibrant Copper has been dropped from CKD range

The S60 T4 is priced at RM220,000, while the T5 costs RM255,000 OTR without insurance. An accessory package worth RM10,000 will be thrown in the mix for the first 60 customers.

Live gallery after the jump. More pics from our test drive report can be viewed here.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2534]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jimmy on Aug 16, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Cheap price, not the car itself.

• theanswer on Aug 16, 2011 at 10:37 pm

the 1.6 turbo might be powerful enough but still expensive…if under 200k might be good.

• sick&tired on Aug 17, 2011 at 1:24 am

typical malaysian mentality! when i was reading the article, i knew someone would say that its expensive for a 1.6 liter! it may be a 1.6, but with the turbo, it outperforms most 2.0 liter cars.

• Malaysian governments are crazy!!! They sell high-powered-small-engined cars (such as EVO X) at very high price!!! And also sell B-segment hatchbacks at C-Segment price!!! MF expensive tax!!!

• _xXx_ on Aug 17, 2011 at 2:24 pm

ok, not expensive but that’s price you will see in mudah.my 2-3 years later….hehe

• Alpha on Aug 17, 2011 at 5:31 am

i wonder why ppl said it’s overpriced and deserved to be under 200k.i mean,even the S40 is around 170k.how can they possibly price an S60 under 200k??

• the s40 should be around rm140k – rm150k ideally in a perfect universe so that the t4 s60 can come in just below rm200k. but the universe is not perfect.

• Dennis on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:14 pm

I still think it should be under 200K, 1.6T with such low output? Why would I consider it with such price when I can get a Mondeo ECOTech with more space and power? I think Ford is a better build car while Volvo is Brand as a safer car.

• better build=safer.dat sort of answer why u shud get the volvo.look at the spec sheet first before comparing it to a mondeo.n no, i m not a volvo salesman

• Paul Tan on Aug 16, 2011 at 10:49 pm

The Balder rims remind me of these!

http://www.bmwmregistry.com/faq/M_System_II_Wheel.jpg

• the BM II has slightly concave shape and this Volvo’s look flat.. Volvo rims are never attractive in any of its releases anyway..

• Alpha on Aug 16, 2011 at 11:08 pm

Nicely priced.Going head on with Passat CC it seems.

• Agree.. At least u dont have to deal with the faulty DSG 7 speed gearbox for Passat CC 1.8T and Roc 1.4

• don^don on Aug 16, 2011 at 11:33 pm

damn i love this car! but why must they be priced over rm200k? :-( the interior could do with a slightly better look thought, it look so dated with too many buttons. but still, a top notch car!

• sutheshkumar on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:11 am

I dont get it, whats the point introducing the T6 if its going to be in the market only for a couple of months and now its no more?

• check history. it is a tradition of malaysia volvo to do that. the point is they are still here so i believe they are making money.

• rene leow on Aug 17, 2011 at 9:39 am

AP issues…they don’t get more than 100 units. Govt punya pasal..

• sutheshkumar on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Yup2, the same they did for the XC60 which is quite sad. Spec wise dropped when they removed almost everything, and the most important is the AWD system. It will be a nice thought if Volvo puts in the D5 in the S60, S80 and also the XC60.

• gracke on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:25 am

definitely a marvelous sport family saloon that what I am looking for, quality and performance!!! damn….but why the price that still hard to afford…

• car lover on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:32 am

Is this Volvo better than new c class and upcoming 3 series f30?
    Right now I am plan to buy BMW e60 525i year 2008,integer recond.
    Should I consider this S60?

• i think c class and 3 series f30 better! image+luxury brand+better resale value+better quality+better looking.S60 just like another Camry…

• geroge on Aug 18, 2011 at 4:49 pm

have u even been in a volvo?how can u say that this is same level as camry.dude pls crawl out of the hole u live in.scandinavian build and safety in on par with continental cars.

• if u want sumthing different,i say go for it.we oni live once.why not drive sumthing different?i mean just look at the features this car offers for 220k.it actually gives u performanc+looks+safety.dare to be different bro.support the underdog

• RedBeanBun on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:33 am

1.6L…220k?? although turbo charged….still…confused..arent it suppose to be cheaper?

• nabill on Aug 17, 2011 at 1:04 am

the c-class oso 1.8cc bt supercharged…and around 250k for base model….

this is gonna be like ALL volvos….Not Reliable Enough , SkyHigh SpareParts Prices,Not Many Can Maintaine it Unless its a company car…bt funky enough bcos its not a Merc/BMW/VW……….

• RedBeanBun on Aug 17, 2011 at 9:48 am

Volvo not in the same par with Merc and BMW :) so consumer not only paying for the engine, tech, but also brand power :) Same to woman buying a Prada bag then normal pasar malam bag..

• Wookiepedia on Aug 18, 2011 at 2:59 pm

Volvo, unlike most Euro makers, making C-segment sedans for European market.

• Just me on Aug 17, 2011 at 8:56 am

well, what’s the different between 1.6 and 2.0 engine for a normally aspirated engine? Beside paying higher road tax and all those similar stuff, it is just the engine output power right? if 1.6 Turbo can give you more power, better FC, greener than 2.0 normally aspirated engine, so what’s the argument here is all about? I think we should look at the whole car, what it give you in the whole package. BTW Proton can produce 1.6 car under 100K kakakakaka …

• gavin on Aug 17, 2011 at 1:06 am

If they had the D4 or D5 i would definately take this over the 320d.

• Made in Section 16, Shah Alam.

• Carl Wong on Aug 17, 2011 at 2:42 am

For European cars, how long does it take for a new version to be released? 10 years +/-??

• Azhar ariff on Aug 17, 2011 at 4:30 am

For a car that was designed in a country that puts a lot of emphasis on design and ergonomics, I think the interior dash layout is so, so wrong. The huge aircond vent smack in the middle of the dash looks so wrong, and the emergency button on the passenger side instead of on the driver is just not user-centric design at all. The driver either has one small aircon vent on his right, and another the size of a wind tunnel on his left. And the small screen recessed deep inside the cubbyhole? The design looks so dated the moment it leaves the dealership.

Nice rear lights though.

• they should have let u do the designing then.dats the signature floating centre console design for all volvos la

• Nice.
    Now, will we get the V60? That’s the one I’m looking forward to.
    No diesels with MT for this one either?

• marco on Oct 04, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Please check if 3 series or c class got blindspot information system, city safety, pedestrian detection system as standard features….check out the corner traction control….go for a test drive before u say anything….1.6 with 180 hp….still not enough?

• put the 1.6 turbo in s40 and sell it at the price of camry 2.0

• S40 is Corolla’s rival, NOT Camry’s!!!

• brand wise, the s40 commands a higher standing then the corolla altis hence the comparison with the camry.

• Platform Wise, the S40 is based on Ford Focus, stands lower than camry, hence the comparison with corolla or jetta.

• but people don’t compare platform to platform here.

• armang on Aug 18, 2011 at 8:39 pm

you mean like a pudu raya platform..he he he

• you are just comparing platform size and not brand wise

Please compare luxury or near luxury brand of the same.

Corolla, Civic , Camry or Accord badge , none of these cars are consider true luxury or near luxury badge but just ordinary executive cars.

Please compare apple to apple

• Corolla and Civic is not S40 rival yet .

Camry and Accord can be comparison to S40 but fall short of S40 due to brand image wise.

Perception cannot never change no matter what you say.

• Accord and Camry NOT S40 Rival!!!

The S40 is TOO small for that class, so it’s Corolla or Civic rival!!! You don’t read Wikipeda? The S40 is a C-SEGMENT car, while S60 is a D-segment car!!! So S40 competes with Corolla and Civic, and S60 fights Camry and Accord!!!

• C class and BMW 3 are also C class

Meaning comparing donkey corolla and Civic to them too beside S40?

In term brand image corolla and civic is not on Par with C class , S40 and 3 series at all .

Please compair apple to apple .

Even Camry and Accord is a class below S60 and S40 ., c class and 3 series too

• Hey kiddo! Audi A4, Volvo S60, BMW 3 and Merc C are D-segment, but Volvo S40, Audi A3 and BMW 1 are C-segment!!! Who says Volvo has no C-segment sedans???

• Dear CH.

SEGMENT DOESNT COUNT HERE.
            TOYOTA/HONDA HAVENT MANUFACTURED CARS WHICH ARE NEAR TO GERMAN/CONTINENTAL CARS.

YOU CANNOT SAY THAT:
            VOLVO S40 = TOYOTA COROLLA
            VOLVO S60 = TOYOTA CAMRY

YOU CANT COMPARE IN TERMS OF PRICE/SEGMENT/ PLATFORM.
            AND I WILL TELL YOU WHY!!

I OWN A CAMRY 2.4V. WHAT A MISTAKE IT WAS. RIDE IS BULLSHIT, SEATS ARE BULLSHIT, HANDLING IS BULLSHIT, EVEN THE TECHNOLOGY IS BULLSHIT. HONESTLY, RM174,000 FOR A PIECE OF RUBBISH.

USED TO OWN A HONDA ACCORD BEFORE THAT AND IT WAS MUCH BETTER THAN THE CAMRY BUT IT GOT STOLEN IN 3 MONTHS. BUT EVENTHO, RIDE WAS GOOD, TECHNOLOGY WAS ABSOLUTELY POOR!

WHEN I TEST DROVE THE NEW PASSAT, I UNDERSTOOD THE GERMAN/CONTINENTAL TECHNOLOGY. AFTER THAT, I TEST DROVE THE VOLVO S60, MERC C200, AND LASTLY THE AUDI A4. FOR A MERE RM80,000 MORE I WOULD HAVE A RIDE WHICH IS MUCH MUCH MUCH MORE WORTHIED.

NOTE THE KEY POINT HERE IS WORTHY! THERE IS NO POINT SPENDING RM175,000 FOR A CAR WHICH GIVES U NOTHING BUT HEART ACHE DESPITE WHAT SEGMENT IT IS.

ANYWAY, I HAVE DECIDED TO UPGRADE AND SPEND MY ON A AUDI A6 2.0TFSI. THE LOOKS, THE INTERIOR, THE RIDE, THE SEATS MAKE ME FEEL THAT PAYING RM345,000 ISNT A BIG PROBLEM. I PROBABLY WONT SELL MY CAR TILL IT HITS 15 YRS OLD.

CHEERS TO THE GERMAN FOR KNOWING HOW TO MAKE CARS.
            DOESNT MATTER IF THE PRICE IS TOO MUCH. IT ALL BOILS DOWN TO CUSTOMER SATISFACTION.

ONE CANNOT COMPARE THE JAPANESE EXECUTIVE SEDANS (CAMRY/HONDA) TO ANY OTHER BRANDS. SIMPLE BECAUSE THEY HAVE NOT REACHED THE TECHNOLOGY MARK. JAPANESE IS STILL
            VERY MUCH BELOW THE BASE LINE CONTINENTAL CAR LIKE (S40/A4/C200/320i/PASSAT)

why?
            DO THEY HAVE DUAL CLUTCH? DO THEY HAVE A SMALL TURBO ENGINES? CAN THEY REACH 0-100 IN LESS THAN 9s? DO THEY HAVE NAVI? DO THEY EVEN HAVE MORE THAN 2 AIRBAGS?????

BOTTOM LINE A JAPANESE CAR HAS NOT REACHED STANDARDS OF CONTINENTAL CARS. FOR A PRICE OF RM175,000…. I WOULD GO FOR THE PASSAT/MONDEO/508/S40 AT ANY GIVEN TIME. BUT THEN FOR JUST RM60,000 MORE I WOULD GET AN PERFECT BLEND IN A4/PASSAT CC/C200/320i.

HERE IS A SUMMARY FOR ALL YOU CAR BUYERS.

A TOYOTA= TOTAL RUBBISH
            A HONDA= A STEP AHEAD OF TOYOTA. STILL NOT FANTASTIC ENOUGH.
            A BMW = TOO MUCH OF TECH WITH A SUPERB RIDE HANDLING
            A VOLVO= FANTASTIC CAR WITH SUPERB SAFETY
            A MERCEDES= EXCEPTIONAL COMFORT WITH A HUGE PRICE TAG
            A VW= FANTASTIC CAR WITH A BIT BORING DESIGN BUT REALLY GOOD TECH.

AN AUDI= A PERFECT GERMAN BLEND WITH A REASONABLE PRICE.

P/S:I WOULD NOT EVEN WANT TO TALK ABOUT A KOREAN&Protons&Perodua
            DESIGN =fantastic.
            Technology= 0%
            SAFE&RELIABILITY = 0%
            BUT PRICED JUST RIGHT. THUS it is WORTHIED to get the. (saga/ forte/ myvi)

no offense. but these cars are HONESTLY really terrible.

conclusion:
            Buy german cars or take the cab.

• paganfarmer on Sep 05, 2011 at 3:36 pm

this is a typical malaysian who doesnt understand CLASS. i suggest u just take the s40 for a spin to understand. Prune juice is tasty, but you can’t compare them with french wines, even if it is only a Pinot NOir.

• Peterpj on Aug 17, 2011 at 8:55 am

I like the rear-end treatment, but the dash looks really dated and boring for a RM200k+ car (I hope its only in the picture and looks better in real life).

• Vincent on Aug 17, 2011 at 9:18 am

After XC60, S60 will be another remarkable product from Volvo…Interm of look and performance, S60 is a better choice then E90 and W204…

I was hoping it is around RM180K.

I know this is not quite posibble as the S40 alreacy price at RM170K….

Unless Volvo want to CKD the S40 with 1.6 turbo and price it at RM149K…

• Vincent on Aug 17, 2011 at 9:29 am

1.6 turbo with 180 HP and 240 NM is comparable to a NA 2.4 japanese car….

• Dennis on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:18 pm

Turbo engine still had turbo lag, 2.4 will gives you much better response.

I think the 1.6 turbo is great, just a bit pricey.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 17, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Not driven a modern turbo lately have you? Even with lag, the torque curves of these newer turbos are better than bigger NA engines (most of them don’t hit max torque until 3500-4000rpm) while new turbos hit max torque well under that. yes, the power delivery of a NA is more linear, but past 2000rpm you get so much more torque.

However, I might save a few bucks and go for the equally safe Citroen C5.

I think that one goes for 190k. fully loaded.

The T4 is more powerful but then again, its also some 30K more.

Hell even a Skoda Superb a few posts down seem a much palatable value than the T4.

Despite the price and corresponding heartstopping depreciation, its still heartening to see a good following for Volvo. I still miss their excellent 850 T5s. Thinking of picking one up…seems like an awesome deal for about 20k nowadays…..

• greasemonkey on Aug 17, 2011 at 8:46 pm

Bro,pls think twice before you get 850,car price cheap but maintenance will make you poor,unless you have alot of surplus cash to throw.Interior parts are breaking and falling apart,which are hard to find due to lack of used parts as this model almost obselete aboard.

• kenji1903 on Aug 17, 2011 at 9:41 am

hope Benz bring in their C180 Kompressor CGI, then the T4 will have a competitor, both 1.6 :)

but frankly, i stepped into the previous S60 before and the solidness beats the crap out of BMW and Benz… feels so safe inside :P

tough choice between the T5 and the Passat CC…

• Dennis on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:19 pm

Right, I agree based on product T5 and passat CC is tough choice, and I think T5 is better overall.

However, consider the services and support, I still go for VW. :)

• Henry on Apr 09, 2012 at 10:31 pm

Absolute right that make big headache

• Expatriate VN on Aug 17, 2011 at 11:02 am

EU brand but own by China yet the car is exorbitantly price!

• it has nothing to do with who owns the brand. it is still engineered in sweden and most components i believe unless i’m mistaken still come from sweden. plus, the brand name itself is european and hence, i think the price is more or less justified. i would prefer if the t4 price is a bit below 200k. but if the swedes think it is worth the asking price then it is up to them. again, it has nothing to do with the china connection.

• idiotic comment on Aug 17, 2011 at 5:14 pm

Your comment is so pathetic. Is it a must for a Chinese owned brand to be priced cheaply all the time? The pricing justifies the quality.

You probably don’t even understand the concept of business and marketing.

With your retarded thinking, you might as well just buy Tata. It fits your requirement of being cheap.

• Jonathan Lee on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:43 pm

Those silvery bits on the T5, are they standard? They look cheap and tacky.

• another “uncle” car trying to be “sporty”… is this the 2012 trend?

• _xXx_ on Aug 17, 2011 at 6:24 pm

http://www.mudah.my/Volvo+S60+2+3+T5+Auto-11110458.htm

I think the owner was paid the most 60k.

So the cost of a 7-year ride is approx 200k…still a nice car though.

• sfssd on Aug 17, 2011 at 8:09 pm

I like the Fjord wheels, haha very swedish name……

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Aug 17, 2011 at 9:23 pm

what so striking about the colors?

• mirror mirror on Aug 17, 2011 at 9:58 pm

I have test driven this car several times already, it is fast and comfortable but not quite as naughty as the 3 series. The car doesn’t like corners like the way a BMW does and maybe all I can say is that it is like driving a very premium Camry or Accord. If you like a bit of everything then this may be your right car.

• Rosmah on Aug 17, 2011 at 10:45 pm

S60 is neither here nor there. Better wait for F30 la.

• smooth on Aug 18, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Volvo always wrongly market their cars in Malaysia or Asia . Totally wrong pricing for the T4 . I am sure they cannot sell much ……. dissapointed !

• Jonathan Lee on Aug 22, 2011 at 4:11 am

It’s funny you should say that, since even the cheapest BMW 3 Series, with an anaemic 156bhp two-litre engine costs upwards of RM240k. The nearest competitor for the T5 in terms of price is a 2.2-litre Alfa Romeo 159 at RM195k, and as beautiful as it is, it’s a six-year-old car that’s off the pace. And surely, with such a premium badge as Volvo, you can’t expect the S60 to be priced to compete with the Camrys and the Accords, can you?

• Hi! Understand T4 comes with timing belt. Only advantages I could think was cost, weight and noice reduction, but is it a serious negative point? (Being belts are less reliable etc.) What other premium luxury sedans currently using timing belts?

By the way, mot Japanese car mfg throw in gadget upgrades with each promo/facelft. Does Volvo do similar proms for their cars after a few years? I’m interested in the T4, but missing some useful gadgets. Appreciate the advise. Thanks.

• Volvo supporter on Aug 16, 2012 at 4:28 pm

If i would consider a car in this segment, there’s a problem, i want a car that is safe and comfy, and powerful, and of course, if it can be well designed. The thing is, there are four choices, audi a4, volvo s60, merc c class, bmw 3 series…which one do you think suits my needs? Pls give some advice tq

• Richard Foo on Nov 10, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Had test driven the S60 T4 a few days back. All in all, it is a superb car. The pick up is good, ride and handling is superb. In terms of passive safety, this car top it all. Looking forward to upgrade to this Sweedish beauty. Volvo Malaysia is throwing in a 5+5+5 warranty , service package and on call service. I guess no worries for the next 5 years. After the test drive I am truly convinced this is the car I will own.

• IS250 on Nov 26, 2012 at 10:12 pm

I was wondering will Volvo continues keep its Swedish heritage and cachet after China Geely brought over?

• Rushdi on May 01, 2013 at 8:19 am

Test driven the car and was hooked. Happy owner since earlier this year.

• Rushdi on May 01, 2013 at 8:20 am

Test driven the car and was hooked. Happy owner since earlier this year.
    Doing about 9l/100km. Power when u need it

• Practical on Aug 07, 2013 at 9:11 am

CBU T6 is even better, price at Rm350k

This car styling is getting better. Performance is good if not great. Main selling point is the safety features. Head on collision at 110km/hr(on ABS), this baby WINS if collide with Camry or Accord.

• yusriaffandi on Jul 08, 2014 at 10:43 am

love to have one.