Chinese brand Hawtai to partner Proton after Saab failure?

When Youngman recently bought a stake in troubled Swedish brand Saab, we raised the question on the former’s relationship with Proton. Youngman has been Proton’s partner for quite some time now – Proton provides models for Youngman to rebadge as ‘Lotus’ in China – but does it need the Malaysian anymore, now that it has Saab?

Chinese carmakers are all looking to expand, and acquiring foreign brands is a short cut of sorts to absorb better design, quality and QC. Before the Youngman-Saab deal, another Chinese carmaker was in the picture. Beijing based Hawtai threw in US$172 million for a 29.9% stake in Saab back in May, only for the deal to fall through as they did not obtain all the necessary consents.

This swingers club story has now been updated with reports from China saying that Hawtai will work with Proton, which is no longer the apple of Youngman’s eyes, remember?

According to “inside sources” the two companies (Hawtai and Proton) may be pairing up to take on the Indonesian market and have had “multiple high level meetings” at Hawtai’s HQ in downtown Beijing. While no one knows what’s going on in the boardroom, Hawtai bosses did let slip in a media interview last month that they were in contact with an overseas company regarding a possible joint venture.

Logo of China’s Hawtai Motor, not to be confused with the Malaysian biscuit maker

“In one respect, Proton has to improve its development in the Chinese market, and Hawtai are planning to enter the Indonesian market to expand overseas sales,” China Car Times quoted a source as saying.

There’s bound to be more flirting and proposals to come, and we’ll keep track of the goss (damn, I feel like Perez Hilton now!). To see, the fruits of Proton’s union with Youngman, click here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• dick10 on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:16 pm

Milo tin with Hwa Tai biscuits.. what will happen when you mix them?

• Expatriate VN on Aug 17, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Milo tin = 1 to 2 star NCAP rating
      Hwa Tai biscuits = Your poor body meat become bits and pieces like biscuit!
      Accident (Milo Tin + Hwa Tai biscuits) = Milo tin on the wheel kemek until the driver body meat become bits and pieces!

• MoFaz on Aug 17, 2011 at 3:58 pm

as expected, we’ll see many spastic comments coming from this so-called expat, alfie and syoh in any post related to proton. brace yourself, and just wait for more to come soon!

• i’m missing to tease SYOHH.. hahaha.. =P

hey syoh, where are u?

• Expatriate VN on Aug 18, 2011 at 9:15 am

What you mean by “brace yourself”? Brace for more obnoxious methane gas from the ass of MooFart! Very childish, shut up your mouth.

• hmmm…..just as predicted………..here we go guys………..

• addendum to my last comment….just like to add the word ‘brace yourself’ hahahha

• sukasuki on Aug 17, 2011 at 4:43 pm

so called “Expatriate” (or a.k.a PATI) VN is so butthurt for any news regarding proton. maybe he cant register himself for 6P biometric registration programme or failed to get blue IC card and still holding red IC card with 71 country code.

• KarimSopian on Aug 17, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Kesian aku nengok kamu nih.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 18, 2011 at 9:48 am

I don’t need your “kesian”, I have good income to take care of myself and paid 5 figure income tax to our gov. Stop your childish comment.

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2011 at 9:56 am

waaa… 5 figure tax tuu… i wonder why he called himself an expat while he is Malaysia working in Malaysia? dumb?

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2011 at 11:40 am

we’re not kesian for your poorness.. we kesian because of your brainless and childish act. you keep crying for attention like a baby.. it’s time for you to think like a grown-ups!

• KarimSopian on Aug 18, 2011 at 9:29 pm

Couldn’t agree more. Ingat kita kesah kamu bayar tax 5 figure? Citpodah. Big pocket, but small brain. Name calling & takde adab. Lowest level of human being. Kesiannnn diaaa….

• sukasuki on Aug 18, 2011 at 3:11 pm

5 figure income people dont talk cock.

• then y u need to complain bout proton since u has good income and pay 5fig tax? suppose u check out BMW, audi or Merce……the price tag of those car suit ur good income and pay 5fig tax……i think u in wrong car brand to look boy..proton only suit people who income not gud and pay less than 5 fig tax or 0 fig tax

• BadBET on Aug 18, 2011 at 9:36 pm

expat is funny… hehe I always welcome funny people
            before this he said he use iswara and 2003 waja, but he bash campro like hell (waja 2003 use mitsu engine, just wonder why he hate campro so much since he didnt own one)…
            now he said he has 5 figure income…
            let him be , we need this kind of people to entertain us.

• BadBET on Aug 18, 2011 at 10:39 pm

5 figure tax income and still come provoke us the ‘rakyat marhaen’ – why? :p

• Expat : if you have good income, 5figure tax to pay, then buy yourself Merc or audi laa~ no need to give bad comment on proton.. i’m driving BMW(my parent car), soon gonna buy either Toyota or Honda, but i never bash people who buy Proton.. i never condemn them..

• Hmm Hwa Tai biscuits taste really yummy if Hwa Tai mix Sotong is really yucky!

• When FAILURE meets another FAILURE that’s how I see it.

It’s like a student with an “E” mark on his exam paper, met someone who has an “F”!

Haha.

• Now you have an amputee with right leg left, and an amputee with left leg left, tie themselves and try to run… What would happen?

• Okay let’s tied them up for good.

But let’s say one of them wants to go to the toilet (to shi*) and the other one wants to sleep (to have s*x)?

Or perhaps they should shi* and have s*x together.

Crap.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:27 pm

Haiz, Hawtai Motor, r u so blind to make a deal with P1, better make a deal with Hwa Tai to make biscuits. Hwa Tai biscuit + kopi O panas, nice to eat.

• autojohndoe on Aug 17, 2011 at 1:08 pm

are you jealous that no chinese car maker wants to make business with you?

• Expatriate VN on Aug 18, 2011 at 9:12 am

What make me jealous? Very childish comment! Please grow up.

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2011 at 9:58 am

and you think your comment about kopi O + hwa tai biscuit is not childish comment? please grow up la dude.

• autojohndoe on Aug 18, 2011 at 1:27 pm

OK la… not jealous…

Are you butthurt that no chinese car maker wants to make business with you?

haha…

• MoFaz on Aug 17, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Youngman, Haw Tai… and even MG Rover wanted to rebadge Savvy and Gen2 back then but unfortunately MG was defunct in 2005.
      VW wanted Proton too…
      Other people see what Proton has. only blind basher like this stupid expat failed to realise that.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 17, 2011 at 6:07 pm

MooFart …….., you with your goblin red eye punch your computer keyboard with vengeance spill out all the hate craps. You are P1 idiotic blind supporter of highest order, lack of decorum to deal with expat in intellectual manner.

Yes, agreed with you 100% other people like VW, Haw Tai, MG, etc back then, now and in foreseeable future see what Proton has. However, sad to say P1 including you blind supporter can’t see what other like VW, Haw Tai, MG, etc can give to them to be a world class player.

What Proton can see is to be Jaguh Kampong producing shitty cars in this Bodohland under NAP, protecting AP Kings and cronies to enrich themselves, and of course you stupid blind supporters still worshipping this shitty cars like white blood princess! Haiz, I still have to repeat same thing to this chap that no amount of monies and time can re-educate him.

I better concentrate on more “fruitfull postings” and ignore you!

• cmon laa.. other car maker wants proton because of lotus.. If they got proton, then they got Lotus also..
          just want to ask, what did you see in Mini Cooper? my answer, i see a German Auto and technology.. Mini was used to be british owned, but now, the german are owning them and now i see that Mini has lost their “British-sm” in their car, replace by “Bimmer-sm or Germany-sm”..

if other car maker gets 51% of proton share(as wanted by VW last time), then Malaysian has lost our only car makers that we can proud of, built by malaysian..

even though proton cars are “tin milo” as you said, but did you know that Proton cars Factory is most advance in the world.. Discovery Channel once did a documentary on proton plant in Tanjung Malim.. Yes, i admit and agree that proton cars are lack in qualities.. but at least give support to proton..

one question, are you BODOHAN? you are staying in this “Bodohland” so you are one of the BODOHAN right? if you are not satissfied with this country, you are pleased to move to singapore.. there, you can get far more cheaper car with low import tax and duty..

• squall_shinoda on Aug 18, 2011 at 11:38 am

jazz, the cars in Singapore are very expensive too due to their COE to limit the number of cars on their roads. And after 5 years car owners will have to renew the COE again if they wish to own their cars for another 5 years.

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2011 at 12:11 pm

COE is for 10 years, not 5. if you sell your car before 10 years, you’ll get back certain amount of the COE, but currently COE is even more expensive than the car.

• i know, i singapore have COE.. last time my cousin stay in singapore, she always said, she can buy any car she want because the car PRICE(read carefully, price of car) is cheap.. but include the COE, it become very expensive.. COE wasnt apart from tax.. it just like a license to buy a car..

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2011 at 10:57 am

VW want 51% of Proton, seems like they only want to “conquer and command” which is unacceptable to many people, they do not want to be ‘dijajah’ again. look at British auto companies… all gone to foreign owners. MG Rover is now defunct. 30,000 jobs lost when MG and its chain of suppliers collapse. It wasn’t clear if VW would actually transfer the technologies to Proton or they would revert Proton back to ‘rebadging’ factory.
          Youngman and Haw Tai are just ‘beginners’.. their annual sales only 30,000 units out of 18 million sold in china. merely 0.0017%. Proton is the tech supplier and thus has ‘higher’ bargaining power.
          Proton produced about 45,000 Persona for local market last year, while Toyota produced 80,000 Vios for Thai market. I believe, it could be around 150,000 units produced if including exports. Toyota also using the same engine family in 20 other models around the world. with bigger volume, Vios should’ve been cheaper. But the Open Market Value (OMV) of Persona is cheaper than Vios. Japanese cars are overpriced. Maybe that’s why Youngman and Haw Tai are interested in Proton because Proton could produce cheaper car even with smaller volume. with big market in China, with good marketing, sales and distributions, Proton could be successful.
          for a Malaysian working in Malaysia and calling himself an expat, no wonder ‘si bodoh’ failed to understand the business.

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2011 at 1:15 pm

sorry, Youngman and Haw Tai hold 0.167% of market share, not 0.0017%

• VW revives Skoda from a lousy car maker into one of the main income source of Czech republic and thus creating job opportunity. MG died in hand of few British business man and like u say 30,000 British lost their job. At last SAIC (if i’m not mistaken) bought the right to reproduce crappy cars like TF.

You be the judge. Is globalization neocolonialism or is it a legitimate way of technology transfer and business making?

• squall_shinoda on Aug 19, 2011 at 9:05 am

True, wak segan did revive Skoda like that… but does it really turn Skoda as the main income source of Czech republic? No. Of course the government got the huge amount of tax from Skoda, but the majority of the money flows outside to Germany, to Volkswagen. True, Volkswagen did create job opportunities to the people of Czech republic, but they are just like “slaves” working for wak segan. That’s what we call as economic colonialisation aka penjajahan ekonomi. It’s actually the same like when the British brought up the Chinese and Indians to work in rubber estates and tin mines in Malaya, where almost all the money from those rubber estates and tin mines went to the British pockets.

• well how bout MG? is it any good for it to die just like that? Compare lada to skoda. russian always maintain pride and keep lada a loner for quite sometime now (until alliance with renault of course) and it cost russian government billions. Yes money flow to volkswagen group and germany did tax the company. but so is skoda. compare the 2 situation. which make more sense? skoda had become a major player in automotive market. and no it is not the same with the british colonial era. economy monopoly maybe, but it still help czech economy nonetheless. a win for 1 side and a bigger win for the other side? or should it keep losing money and hope for government support or just fold and kill a strong economy potential? is it a case of all or nothing when it come to economy? especially when u aren’t ready to provide all? btw when u say slaves, did u refer all proton worker as slaves of malaysia government? or even worse, had u been referring factory workers as slaves in general to the government? mind ur words please. 10 years ago u’ll probably be assassinated in usa if u refer that to an african american.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 19, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Of course it is bad to let an automaker die just like that. But neo-colonialisation is even worse, as it only benefits one party while the other party suffers. Look at what happened when some major banks merge due to acquisition, what happened to workers of the weaker bankers? Many of them lost their job or retired earlier than supposed to be, because the newly-formed bank did not need too many workers as a result of the merge.

Let me tell you something, I said the above not to encourage carmakers to be too manja with the government and addicted to government’s protectionalist policies. I only want win-win solution so both parties can still active together, not killing a rival and make it as a second brand to look as if there’s a competition. That’s why I prefer joint ventures and partnerships so that all parties can benefit together. Look at the Renault-Nissan partnership, that’s a very good example of how they partner and benefit each other without killing each other. Nissan buys some stakes in Renault and Renault buys some stakes in Nissan. Then the same guy named Carlos Ghosn is appointed to be the CEO for both companies. They share their engines, platforms and technologies for cost-effective operations of both parties. That’s how Nissan was saved from their doom and at the same time Renault gains better exposure to new markets.

If you’re disputing my use of the word slave, then let me tell you something for clarification. All workers work for their bosses, unless if they’re self-employed. If their bosses are among themselves, then of course everyone will be happy, as they still have their own pride, unless if the boss is like Hitler. But if their bosses are fro the acquiring companies, then do you think they will be happy? No, because they have lost their pride. If you still insis of the acquisition, then can you tell me why Malaysia insisted to acquire Guthrie and Sime Darby from the British some time ago? And can you tell me why the diplomatic relationships between the two countries became strained after the acquisition?

• Well you are right in renault-nissan. however such merger could only taken place because both are highly elite major player in the industry. both have own advance technology capabilities. when it come to large cars and engines, nissan had the edge. when it come to smaller city car technology, renault is the better 1. both are top 10 car maker in the world. therefore the marriage seems a good perfect match. how on earth would u expect such partnership from happening to volkswagen-proton? would it be proper to drop some top figure in proton if it is acquired? why not since the run the company to no where? if proton can be strong under vw after a while, and if the people inside proton or government wanted to acquire it back, why not? we did it with sime-darby as u said. it just need effort there? are you phobic of lack of effort of our own people? and on pride. it just need effort there? are you phobic of lack of effort of our own people? how proud can you be when you tell people around you that u work for a company that losses money and need government protection every time? sure, if ur boss isn’t your own people, there are less pride there. but should we? one should be very proud working with a great and capable boss should he/she? i wouldn’t argue that things would be complicated if what you mean is national pride. but in term of achievement pride, working for a profitable technological advance company is the way. yet, hoping on others’ back could mean we are followers, or we take it as a stepping stone for greater height than the stone could ever be. you be the judge.

• blue-traveler on Aug 18, 2011 at 11:44 am

Hear hear, VN. total total agreed with you. Forget about these BN cyber punk. Anything umno/bn/p1 says, they take it as a given law. They are all blind-sided by the many cheap old tricks shown to them, while the other hand is relieving them of their money, and future. And all the while telling them that this is best that can get/have and not to complain. And most people in this country don’t understand why all countries wants FDI and the expats. How our govt through its “Ah Pom’ style of policy making is throwing the country backward by the years and years. I would tell them to read the recent edge paper, but i believe, most would answer; what? edge? Or no such thing. or don’t believe everything printed or see. Denied. denied.

Like when CVT first came out on local Honda, many P1 supporters said, Huh!? lack power, not real car…etc. Now when P1 uses it, wwooo, totally good thing man, CVT is the way to go. Wait till when P! come out with its own EV car in 2 to 3 years time, reread some old post by them on the issue and compare to what they will post…something like – enough range la. complain what..

Is P1 totally bad? No. But it should have admit it wrongs years ago and hung up its misguided pride and JV years ago. Thou the words- better late than never, comes to mind, Still it should choose it partners more carefully. Not just anyhow , just because top up says want to JV and expand. Like it could have look to subaru, yes with toyota, but so is daihatsu. It have the tech but no enough expo to market. On the other P1 have govt money to burn, in marketing. Do you know that P1 have a very beautiful very ex 3 stories sales office in downtown turkey. wonder how much it cause to rent. the 12 days there, I didn’t see a single P1 on the road, asked the local guide, he said, ( I was with a singapore tour group and swear its the truth) Not a good car, no one he knows buys it. a few on the road as cabs. Travel so far to end up seeing a p1 taxi.

• Eyesore on Aug 18, 2011 at 12:06 pm

I never heard that P1 refuse / did not admit the quality problem during Mahalel era as their faults. As far as I know, they have acknowledge the issue and has since then strive to improve the quality. Nowadays you can see that the most problematic part back in 2000 which is power window is given a lifetime warranty… do you think they dare to give that kind of warranty without any improvements? The quality of proton’s cars are much better these day. Heck sometime i would say better than P2 and some japanese cars. it s you who is ignorant and refuse to admit P1 improvements…

on the back up by govt, if you care to check it, the rnd grant given are reduced yearly, in near future no more rnd grant would be given.

• blue-traveler on Aug 19, 2011 at 11:48 am

Agreed that the current govt under N is doing all it can and mostly in the right way. ( I support him,). but still 60% of its own old gang don’t want to. As for P1, again yes, under the current management, it is being push correctly. However, and here’s the real deal, my/our holding company have interest in some tooling, m&e and test tool supply companies. 2 of them have on and off deal with p1. guess what! It is old style business at mid and mid-high level as usual. Just more stealthy and creatively, to point that it is giving my dad heart burn just to attain these 2 companies Q meeting and sign off on its annual a/c. He has even begin to think that it is better for the holding to leave these company. If you still don’t understand; the kickbacks are still there, and still over order tools that its ever needs. And this is right from the horse’s mouth, or hand in this case.
            As for the taxes on the cars. AP. It was to be off by 2010. Guess what? its 2012 in 4months time. The next dated 2015, Gone! Now its 2020….? Can’t confirm yet. Who suffer. The 2nd largest income for Malaysia. (Combine). Palm oil and food industries. Any of these items exported to apac. are being tax higher than other apac nation. ( to maintain its close market for car, Malaysia have to pay some form of penalties. Example; Thai taxes us heavily on our palm oil product, etc) Less income for all of us and govt via less taxes, for it to spend. Do read some world news or business news ok.
            P1 saga. the 1gen saga was the very 1st car i drove after passing the driving test. it was my grandma wet market car. Dad got 1 for her on the very 1st month. No matter what say, I like it, as it is my 1st drive. Current saga. company have 2. No complain. it is what it is for the price. but staff prefer myvi.(have 3). Wira, no one wants. ditto on Waja. Waja entitle staff op for Vios/City. top up themselves. Gen2, can’t say as have not drove nor sat in them before.
            It is not I dislike P1, rather what it stand for now, not what it could have be, due to greed and lack of responsibilities to the people. Instead of creating a huge industries for this nation, it went the other road. (See Thailand and the huge work force and industries it has just from this.)
            It is just sad, and I don’t like bullies and don’t support people who abuse the system for their own greed at the expense of innocents people money and future. And I know that it is the “only” option for many due the lack of good public transport here, and AP prices, so many many many will continue to support it as it is their life line to work and thus income to live.
            There, I have say my peace. No more will I say on this issue.

• abdul latiff on Aug 18, 2011 at 7:21 am

VW wanted P1 but P1 tarik harga, jual mahal, ego and kepala besar !! End up VW decides to invest in Indon instead. So who was the biggest loser here!! Now you JV saja dengan jenama ciplak !!

• squall_shinoda on Aug 18, 2011 at 12:38 pm

Tu bukan tunjuk besar kepala tapi tu nak tunjuk yang kita ni bermaruah, masih ada telur. Sebabnya membeli syarikat besar ni sama la macam cubaan nak menjajah ekonomi negara lain. Just look at Guthrie and Sime Darby back in early 80s, asalnya kan syarikat British… bila PNB pulun beli majoriti saham diorang time ops Dawn Raid dulu, kan sampai habis renggang hubungan M’sia-Britain. Sebab maruah negara yang pernah menjajah kita tercalar kaw2 pasal pembelian saham tu. Dalam bidang automotif lak, satu demi satu syarikat automotif British bungkus, sampaikan Lotus pun kena beli dgn Proton. Even Triumph sekarang pun dah lebih rupa motor Jepun drp motor British.

• apasal erk org pandang rendah dengan jenama2 dari china? diorg ekonomi terbesar dunia after US,.

• sukasuki on Aug 18, 2011 at 3:18 pm

why proton want JV with hawtai? its simple, bcoz youngman already backstabbing proton. and proton is desperate to penetrate China market.

if you saying about quality, when the heck china cars has good quality??

its all about profit and capitalism. enough said.

• hawtai? macam nama biskut je.. :)

• North_Boyz on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:37 pm

Gen2 version China market…hurm~~

• awg1031 on Aug 17, 2011 at 12:38 pm

“Logo of China’s Hawtai Motor, not to be confused with the Malaysian biscuit maker”

nice one.hehe..

• actually.. Looking at their cars.. Its better than youngman.. But maybe still not a compliance to most of Paultan’s reader ‘standard’ tho

• squawk on Aug 17, 2011 at 11:25 pm

Youngman is an established truck and bus manufacturer. It was also part owner of Detroit Electric before the MBO.

• PakAbu on Aug 18, 2011 at 11:51 am

Looks like they don’t have “small” cars yet… maybe that’s why…(?)

And… they have diesel engines …. including a small 1.5 l one!

• makeitmine on Aug 17, 2011 at 1:10 pm

This is the best news ever for Proton. With the Chinese partners, it will create demand for Proton/Lotus new Gen engines and parts.

Chinese partners may help Proton manufacture parts/assembly of new models for export. With SAAB in the picture, Proton will be able to sell more range of vehicles and penetrate more markets.

After buying SAAB, I think they will need Lotus Engineering to help extract some value technology from SAAB and use it for collaboration with Proton!

• bro..SAAB with Youngman…so maybe Youngman dont need Proton anymore… Then suddenly came Hawtai Motor talk to Proton…so what is the connection between Proton and SAAB??

• cayenne copycat

• drMpower on Aug 17, 2011 at 1:56 pm

hawtai
    youngman
    kueyteao
    whatever they are called
    if not for the lucrative china market and maybe very low labour job
    nobody would bother to even know who they are

• BadBET on Aug 17, 2011 at 2:06 pm

as long as the JV is profitable, then why not….

• What? on Aug 17, 2011 at 2:41 pm

hamtai

• copy cayenne

• klguy on Aug 17, 2011 at 3:23 pm

mayb hawtai can jv with hwatai :P

• ThePolygon on Aug 17, 2011 at 3:56 pm

I hope it’s a real partnership rather than a slow takeover…

• William on Aug 17, 2011 at 4:08 pm

Next time when buy a proton we can get a pack of HWATAI biscuit :D hahahaha

• a rebadged hawtai for perdana replacement maybe?

• i think hwatai will use tg malim as their assemble hub for indonesia market…err

• areos on Aug 17, 2011 at 4:34 pm

Proton should extra careful. Its relatively unknown even in China. It has recently penalised by China Asoc Auto for fictitious sales figure. Hawtai yearly sales nothing more than 16,000 units (instead of claiming 81,000 units). Its capabilities also questionable. Good luck Proton.

• Jason on Aug 17, 2011 at 7:14 pm

Yes Areos, I agree with you!

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2011 at 11:09 am

Current Haw Tai portfolio is quite limited. They do not have much experience yet. They want Proton because they need more models to offer to China market. even with smaller volume, Proton could produce car cheaper than Japanese, and Proton has Lotus too! in China, everything should be BRANDED but CHEAP!
      Proton in the other hand, need Chinese manufacturer to increase its exports and gain more volume for economy of scale.

• VoidDance on Aug 17, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Yeah, just bash till no end.

Did you guys ever look at Hawtai’s line ups? There are pretty decent.

• i second tat.

not just pretty decent, but also yummy..the luxury vegetable cracker really kickass..ni pasal biskut kan?

• Macam nama biskut je… xD

• patron on Aug 17, 2011 at 5:29 pm

if proton just export the car to china its ok lah. but please dont JV with china company. most of them made TOTAL CRAP CARS like DADI TREKKER & SHUTTLE. its been sold here in malaysia under “malaysian” name. DONT BE STUPID!

• understand the china-ese’s understanding of ‘trademark’ and ‘ownership’ , it is a very hard thing for proton to decide their direction.
    however, when talking about collaboration with china-ese make, it is a good thing to look forward to. renault-nissan ceo , carlos ghosn once said ‘china is the answer for cost cutting’. i think proton with their very low volume-high cost situation should look into this, therefore making the car cheaper to be manufactured. of course, some critical parts should be inspected and done in malaysia, but some injection-moulding material should be done in china since the cost is lower.

• alfie60 on Aug 18, 2011 at 12:41 am

China is renown for its cheap cost and low quality product while our Proton vendors are known for high cost and low quality product/parts. No way the government would let their 300 odd vendors to the mercy of the chinese partners.The Persatuan Pembekal Proton cartel will never allow the government to let this happen.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 18, 2011 at 9:45 am

“Mind your words”! Because it is directly scud-ed or C4-ed on Mofaz a.k.a. MooFart retard mine, he already warn “brace yourself, and just wait for more to come soon!”

Better put up gas mask, not to protect you from police gas canister, but from his dumbass farting.

Back to the issue, most of world class players from Japs, US and EU have JV with Chinese in the form of assemble their cars in China, or introduce local sub-brand to overcome “trademark” and “copycat syndrome”.

Talk about cost cuttng by source components from China! Dream on until the cow come home. This is the source of income for shitty local vendors.

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2011 at 11:36 am

hahaha, it’s nice to see you loosing your mind. can’t you keep your cool? expat konon.. you don’t have other points and had to resort to name-calling game? ahahah, you can’t pull me down to your level.

• where r your iphone 4 come or made?ur ipad?……the this tactic well known use by opposition to maroon gov…pure hatred

• patron on Aug 18, 2011 at 12:42 am

wht do you mean of ‘trademark’ and ‘ownership’? they mostly copy 99.9% of body work from other company mostly japs. and if the cost is cheaper there, why chery assemble their car here in JB??

• LatukBandar on Aug 18, 2011 at 8:29 am

i bet it is cheaper to assemble toyota and honda in Laos, but why thailand? Cost is not everything. Many factors can influence the decision:

1. Market share (future growth)
        2. Politics (Connection)
        3. Geographic (port?)
        4. Eco system (car parts manufacturer)
        5. Resources (Rubber, Rare earth, metal)
        6. Human capital

There must be some unknown reason to us why chery choose JB over thailand. Cost is 100% not the main factor.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 18, 2011 at 9:50 am

To the best of my knowledge, Chery assemble their car in JB to gain CKD status over the CBU unit which have higher tax.

• ur totally wrong….suppose they can do that in thailand…….coz AFTA no import tax cbu/ckd car from ASEAN…
          http://www.maa.org.my/info_duty.htm

• ur best of knowledge is not enough..boy

• akupunya on Aug 17, 2011 at 6:51 pm

proton 26 years, hwa tai may be less than 5 years, but proton car just like hwa tai cars. bad design, outdated tech and beca specification. am I bashing proton? No it is not. It is a fact!!

• drMpower on Aug 18, 2011 at 9:34 am

with due respect
      i think u are the last caveman on planet earth

i said ‘with due respect’
      its in the geneva convention
      look it up

• Jason on Aug 17, 2011 at 7:13 pm

Good Luck to Proton. I hope it will make its mark!

• I say go Proton..Hwatai cars looks nice….I’ll but that mini cayenne if it is priced below 60k…

• Dak's Quacks on Aug 17, 2011 at 7:24 pm

We’ll soon see “Assembled in China” Proton selling in M’sia. LOL…

• Hawtai technical partner is Hyundai, they too rebadge Terracan & Santa Fe.

Any more Milo Tin Hwa Tai biscuits joke ? :-)

• Lol, why is every car from china looks alike with other? Like this one, it reminds me the Audi Q7

• now a proper company with real capital, willing to buy our sad Proton…maybe this sad excuse of a car manufacturer can finally make profit!

• alfie60 on Aug 18, 2011 at 12:57 am

Bro lol,its not about Proton finally making profit but about Proton shitty vendors still carrying on making profit for supplying shitty parts and components for the last 25+ years and another 25 more years to come.
      Proton dont have to make profit since they influence the NAP policy thru indirect taxation they are taken care off.
      The day our shitty Proton vendor can make good quality parts/components,their will charge Proton equivalent to Rolls Royce price and proton selling the the cars at Ford prices. ;-)

• Expatriate VN on Aug 18, 2011 at 9:30 am

Mind your words! This MoFaz a.k.a. MooFart chap is whorshipping shitty vendors like white blood princess, apart from you, I and SYOH also warn by him with “brace yourself”! See what next farting coming out from this dumbass.

Saga, selling at 45+-K in bolehland, is already sell at Ford Focus/Lancer prices (i.e. entry level specs), you can check Middle East car websites. However, don’t be surprise if you find out Saga sell for less than RM 20K in the same website.

• rich mid east countries subside the cost of the car, so it becomes that much lower for their people
          dont be so blunt in comparing

• blackrythms on Aug 18, 2011 at 11:53 am

so true….by da way…who is dat expatriate?

• MoFaz on Aug 18, 2011 at 11:51 am

this bodoh expat definitely never been abroad… not all middle east are cheaper, olny in certain countries. Saudi Arabia doesn’t have import tax. Open Market Value (OMV) for Persona is about RM30k+, that’s why you see Persona and Waja around RM30k in their websites, dumbass..
          OMV for Vios is also RM30k+, but Toyota sold it at RM63k in Thai. Camry made in Thai sold for RM140k in Thai, but only RM80k in Arab! who do you want to blame? Proton also?
          no matter how much money you spend in college will not improve your knowlegde if you think you’re already the smartest guy.

• Mr Mofaz merajuk,

Ok lah, we give you a break, because its Ramadhan.

Yes! Protong adalah produk terhebat!

Kita mesti berbangga dengan produk Protong!

Protong lebih hebat dari Ferrari, Lamborghini, Porsche, Buggati Veyron combined!

(Now, ask yourself, does that sound right to you? Tak betul kan? Memanglah tak betul, benda yang tak elok ko cakap elok, benda busuk ko cakap tak busuk)

Hahaha.

• mofaz mean for paultan reader to brace ourself from ur in coming bashing and hatred comment from top to bottom of every paultan blogpage articles not the other way around..i think u should know what it mean..”sarcastic comment”

• Ash Menon on Aug 18, 2011 at 1:23 am

I’ll try my best to not make biscuit tin jokes. Oops.

But so far Chinese involvement in car brands has been pretty fruitful. Volvo’s running guns blazing into the hybrid market, and generally the brand seems to be picking up in strength. Saab was saved from a likely death (although still very tentative right now, I’ll admit). And the China brands, while not being of amazingly high quality, are actually pretty decent for the price tag. There are many ways that this Proton Hawtai deal could go bad, but also a few ways that it could work. Hoping for the best.

• Mienzz on Aug 18, 2011 at 3:13 am

Last year,DSZ already mentioned that Proton will find/collaborate with foreign partner to develope a new Diesel engine and surprisingly Hawtai motors are the manufacturer of clean Euro-IV Diesel engine powertain development in China,their Engine (all of them equipped with Variable Geometry Turbo) also co-developed by VM Motori from Italy.Maybe Proton can have a technology transfer (Diesel engine) with Hawtai

• Alifz on Aug 18, 2011 at 3:42 am

Maybe Hawtai is interested to buy APX design which now ends up at Proton bins centre lol..

• abdul latiff on Aug 18, 2011 at 7:11 am

Proton once again is a bastard with a screwed up DNA. Come on Proton and DSZ why stoop so low?
    You look so desperate and wouldn’t it have been better if you had just done a JV with MMC or VW instead !!
    25 years and we get this !!

• HwaTai Biscuit Tin and Tongkat Proton?

Of course bang it loud lah! Empty tin always make the loudest noise!

“Proton CVT! CVT! Telor Sebiji Riuh Sekampong!”

• farghmee on Aug 18, 2011 at 10:16 am

alah..perodua cvt xde pn?
      kalu ada, sure super duper gile babeng bes..
      muahahaahaha

• There’s no need for Perodua, Daihatsu/Toyota to upgrade their current engines and gearbox.

Even the 1.5cc Carburetor Engine Toyota Corolla 1980’s is more fuel efficient than the current 1.6 CamTakPro Engine.

Perhaps Protong should paired it up with Lorry/Heavy Duty Gear Box (18 speed gear box), maybe, just maybe it could be in par with Toyota Corolla 1980’s engine efficiency.

Haha.

• Stephen on Aug 18, 2011 at 11:08 am

although what have done in past, we can’t fix it.
    but if the previous administration have the confident to push for VW as Proton Partner.

it can have a chance to have the new Saga and Savvy left hand drive offer to China. Skoda’s entry level car is a common sight at China due to the cost….and with VW/ SAIC backing it….its popular.

Proton will face a number of challenge at china by engaging smaller player in china market. Maybe its just me, whenever I have a chat with local China Chinese, their remark on their local brand are poor…. its just like how we refer our Proton. Poor quality, not reliable….especially towards smaller company. They will prefer company that come with big support like VW/ SAIC/ Honda/ Toyota / GM related stuff.

So good luck proton.

• smooth on Aug 18, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Proton itself almost cronic …… oh no … not with the chinese this time ……. sad for proton shareholders if this materialize …….. And i feel that Proton does not care as long as they are protected by the government …… Poor :)

• alfie60 on Aug 18, 2011 at 2:02 pm

How many times have we heard over the years that many suitors were interested in the JV with the shitty Proton company but NEVER NEVER EVER happen.
    Big names were mention such VW but never concluded. Big HYPE but BUGGER all at the end of the day. The only part of Proton that was laku for people to buy was M V Agusta.

Now all the big car manufacturer all no longer interested in them, any story about other shitty car manufacturer like Hwa Tai interested in them is like BIG BIG news. ;-)

• albag on Aug 18, 2011 at 2:02 pm

i love drinking milo and eating biscuit during my tea time… (:

• Me too. Especially “milo” from Tanjung Malim, delicious! Yummy!

• Proton main Bantai….

• patron on Aug 19, 2011 at 11:56 pm

if this happen, proton will get screwed up front and back! wth..

• Hameed Koyakuti on Aug 22, 2011 at 12:48 pm

As reported before, P1 does not have a clear direction or long clear planning.

Flip back the new 3~4 years ago, u will notice P1 talk is cheap, just throw news to get the share price increases. All the targets were not achieved.

Syed Zainal had ZERO achievement, nothing 0 !!!!! Opsss, got one, the INSPIRA…..