McLaren gets investment from Singaporean billionaire

This just in – McLaren Automotive has announced that Singaporean billionaire Peter Lim has made a “significant investment” in the UK sports car manufacturer. Mr Lim is the 8th richest man in Singapore according to Forbes Asia. He also operates a chain of Manchester United-themed restaurants and bars across Asia.

“Peter Lim’s track record in Asia as a highly respected business leader adds further quality to our board in this highly competitive business environment at an exciting time for the company,” said Ron Dennis, McLaren Automotive and McLaren Group executive chairman.

Wearnes Automotive is the official dealer for McLaren cars in Singapore. When the Wearnes appointment was announced in February this year, there were already rumours of Peter Lim looking to invest in McLaren, but everything was denied at that time.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Do you think we will see more exotic cars in Asia, since more and more Asian billionaires are investing into high end production cars?

• crucial government tax on Aug 19, 2011 at 10:11 pm

sohai!!!

• M0Faz on Aug 19, 2011 at 10:17 pm

Everyone is buying a piece of UK. Hahaha…

• kington on Aug 20, 2011 at 8:36 am

I think the biggest joke was how Tata owns Jaguar. India strikes back at UK. Just as how Proton bought into Lotus.

• BadBET on Aug 19, 2011 at 11:24 pm

those mega rich people sure is bored. They already have every thing, and have to find other way to amuse them self.

eg; buy gold ship, invest in car development, buy football club etc

we on the other hand, every day fighting over which is better.. proton or perodua

haha.. it suck to be poor

• Bob Vettel on Aug 19, 2011 at 11:48 pm

If it sucks to be poor, then either work harder or try to be someone’s crony!

• BadBET on Aug 20, 2011 at 12:30 pm

I don’t think it is enough just to work hard to be billionaire, you need some kind of connection to play in that league. Every billionaire is some one else cronies.

• Jaguar, Land Rover News on Aug 20, 2011 at 1:39 pm

Think innovative, make innovative products and who knows sometime you may be a billionaire. If you can’t do that then invest in some innovative company.

• i feel u….

• Proton on Aug 19, 2011 at 11:58 pm

So its consider as Singapore first national car?

LOL 25 years slower than Malaysia

• CHONG KAT on Aug 20, 2011 at 9:49 am

but 25 times faster car than malaysia

• Proton on Aug 20, 2011 at 5:01 pm

Kiasu Singaporean, do you ever heard of Lotus Hennessey Venom GT?

• Ash Menon on Aug 21, 2011 at 9:20 am

Also 25 times more expensive. And furthermore, you wanna drive where wei? Korang punye pulau tak sampai 5cm panjang pun.

• sukasuki on Aug 21, 2011 at 1:39 pm

pagi2 tekan minyak dgr bunyi ekzos pun xbleh, nanti singapore authority saman sbb noise pollution :D

• may be 25 yrs slower then us but the tech in the car is lightyears ahead of ours XD

• Bujang Lapuk on Aug 21, 2011 at 1:11 am

Lol its proudly British :)

• looking-good on Aug 20, 2011 at 12:20 am

oh ic….so?

• WooTS on Aug 20, 2011 at 12:31 am

but is a mclaren ! haha.

• van hohenheim on Aug 20, 2011 at 12:42 am

BadBET says: those mega rich people sure is bored.
    BORED!!! u mean BORED?? are u insane? even mega rich people found this world is not enough for them, there are so many thing to be discovered. even if u give me 1trillion dolar, its still not enough, for example car, i want a bugatti veyron ss, bugatti veyron, mclaren f1, mclaren mp4-12c, ferrari 458 italia, ferrari ff, ferrari enzo, ferrari scuderia, porsche carerra gt, merc slr, lexus lfa and many more!!! that not include property yet! in this world u will hard to say enough!! if they do bored,then why they wish to be mega rich???

• BadBET on Aug 20, 2011 at 12:37 pm

did you really only read the first sentence? read my whole post and if you need explanation over a simple statement just let me know.

chill bro, why the attitude?

• Imbhotep on Aug 20, 2011 at 1:30 am

Viva Mclaren…

• rich man always like big toys… like our tony friend, he likes airplane, F1 cars, and most recently… football..

• albag on Aug 20, 2011 at 8:01 am

lulzzz… malaysia got lotus, singapore now got lotus… who’s the boss now?

• albag on Aug 20, 2011 at 8:01 am

lulzzz malaysia got lotus, singapore now got mclaren… who’s the boss now?

• Alan Wong on Aug 20, 2011 at 9:51 am

Singaporean should buy a bit of KIA and a bit of SUZUKI… Merge them and make national car called…. KIASU

• Black Dog on Aug 20, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Sooner or later, Big Ben, London Bridge & the Princess will be for sale, Fire Sale!

It’s Karma

• pelams on Aug 20, 2011 at 2:35 pm

does tony fernandes has the will too?

• ko malu saje... on Aug 21, 2011 at 12:15 am

What he has accomplished is bigger than this dude :)

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 22, 2011 at 12:29 am

What he has accomplished is thanks to his crony buddies. Considering the fact that Peter Lim did not receive any preferential treatment from the Singaporean government or any other government for that matter, his accomplishment is bigger in the sense that he is a self-made billionaire, not a hand-down-by-cronies- billionaire.

• Jerry on Aug 21, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Now Lim ought to apease his countrymen with a COE CAT-A friendly McLaren supercar. Laugh-out-loud!

(CAT A COEs are required to register new cars with engines 1.6-litre and smaller, hence are cheaper to buy.)