New Volkswagen Polo GTI snapped at a VW dealership!

UPDATE: Volkswagen Polo GTI launched in Sepang – read our full launch story.

It looks like the Volkswagen Polo GTI is already in Malaysia, so I suppose we can expect a launch very very soon. This Polo GTI with its protective layers still unremoved was snapped at Volkswagen Jalan Ipoh by reader Mansor J, who uploaded it onto our Facebook fan page.

This new high-performance version of the Volkswagen Polo has a twin-charged (supercharger + turbocharger) 1.4 litre TSI inline-4 engine under its hood which is able to crank out 178 horsepower at 6,200 revs and 249Nm of torque from as low as 2,000 revs. It’s mated to a 7-speed twin clutch DSG gearbox.

Wonder how much the Polo GTI will be priced at? The last generation Polo GTI was officially priced at RM138,888. Wonder if the new Polo GTI will receive a similar price tag. The current generation Polo 1.2 TSI goes for RM108,888.

While you wait for the launch, we have some stories for you to catch up on – 1) Polo 1.2 TSI test drive review and 2) previous generation Polo GTI test drive review.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• blackbox on Aug 20, 2011 at 8:41 pm

Will them bring in the manual version? I know DSG is fast and efficient, but I think Polo Gti should be fun and manual like previous version is more fun.

• Agreed wtih you.
      We want Manual!

• altecs on Aug 20, 2011 at 9:41 pm

So true. No complaints for DSG, but if they could offer a manual, (which will reduce the price a bit!) im pretty sure a certain car audience will start paying serious attention to this car. :)

• surewi on Aug 20, 2011 at 10:28 pm

The car looks boring, even Proton has better design.

• which Proton models that u referring to? all protong cars is bullshit in design n quality…kereta sorong is much better compared to Protong cars…

• what? on Aug 22, 2011 at 11:35 am

Kereta sorong? That is a tool. Can’t be compared with a car.
          How weak is your comparison ability.

• ha3 nice one. What else that sesuai to compared with? lancers? audis? Even Kia n Hyundai is waaaaaaayyyy better. Protong main ability is copy, adapt and rebadge others brands. Even Tata’s lorries were equipped with push start button (History Channel IRT Deadliest Road), proton apa ada? Dia nk buat keta hbs rakyat kena paksa beli…apahal

• hahahah then I like to compare VW with Produa, how cheapy this both crap?

• huh? really.? me also proton supporter(a bit laa), but i will never compare proton design with other car maker.. why? bcos proton doesnt have their own identity.. ;ast time when they design gen2, they said gen2 “Wau” shape grill design will be proton identity.. later then they change its design in just what, 4 years i think.. then they said proton car will base on tiger face but also then i dont see any tiger inspired in their car.. compare to other car maker they have their own identity for each of car..

• Kid buy ur Prton then…German cars didn’t match ur taste coz u cant afford it lolx…hahaha Proton boy!

• surewi on Aug 21, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Kid? Is that what your parent teach you when addressing your uncle? Please grow up.

• shh…kid don’t angry lah Proton boy…i know this little hot hatch is better looking but don’t jealous lah hahahaha :)

• surewi on Aug 21, 2011 at 9:43 pm

I am sorry for your parent.
            BTW, this VW is boring to me, I will get an Audi not this cheapo.

• Aiyer get Audi meh?cheap also…since VW and Audi is the same company!my cheapo 1.2 TSI also using the Audi engine i mean Audi r using VW engine!get ferrari lah LMAO

• surewi on Aug 22, 2011 at 12:28 pm

yadayada….1.2 TSI is lame and for poor kid.

• 1.2 TSI for poor kid?at least it’s faster than ur chicken legs hahaha smart man choose the 1.2TSI coz it’s less CO2,less fuel consumption and quite powerful for the small Engine!you don’t know about German technology so u say that 1.2TSI is lame!facts you need to have some knowledge of b4 you talk nonsense lolx

• surewi on Aug 22, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Hahaha what a poor kid, call Audi a chicken legs and thought his 1.2 lame engine is a king.

• go back home to sleep lah sohai kid wahahaha

• surewi on Aug 23, 2011 at 10:23 pm

Hahaha I am at home, are you still at the child care centre? sohai poor kid.

• anyway 1.2 TSI is still faster than ur legs and your toy car Audi!no one make the cars with the legs!don’t watch too much cartoon lah little boy!aiyoh kesian loh hahaha!

• surewi on Aug 24, 2011 at 12:13 pm

Hi sohai kid, your child care teacher never teach you ‘car is faster than man walking? and Audi is a car not a toy’. Never mind I will ask your parent transfer you to another child care centre which have better teacher.

• First 1. man can be walking faster than a car when is traffic jam,2. u can found the Audi R8 toy cars in some shopping mall,3. i hope u found my parent then u can transfer me to the child care centre if you can…if u can…lolx noob!

• i's father on Aug 24, 2011 at 11:10 pm

I will transfer you to another child care centre if you continue to reply uncle surewi comment. Stop and go and study your abcd…..sohai kid.

• siao sendiri…use the same acc and act like different people lolx omg

• surewi on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:22 am

I am tired of this sohai kid, will not reply to his childish comment again.

• irwan on Aug 21, 2011 at 3:34 pm

I also want to bash his statement but it does not give you the rights to ridicule someone because he/she cannot afford it, especially when you are generalizing all proton owners buy proton because they can’t afford German’s cars. Don’t be arrogant with your money.

• vansgoh on Aug 21, 2011 at 9:13 pm

or you can’t afford one for yourself…

• lkf0512 on Aug 22, 2011 at 11:52 am

This car might be boring but most Proton is NOT safe!

My girlfriend just had a tragic accident in Sitiawan last Saturday when she was taking her ride with her colleague driving to Lumut.

Guess what? That lousy car has ONLY ONE airbag on driver’s side!

Both my girlfriend and her colleague are now in ICU and unconscious since last Saturday cause both had concussion.
        My girlfriend, sat on passenger’s side which has no airbag, suffered worse concussion than her colleague!
        Her colleague even suffers multiple bone fractures on her both hands as the steering does not have collapsible mechanism!

Malaysian drivers need to be educated to NOT to take safety for granted!
        So KID, in what sort of manner that Proton has better design?

Exterior? Maybe
        Better engine? We’ll see
        Safety? No!

• pity your gf, btw any cars drove more than 160kmh involved in accident will may cause death…check you mind perspective 1st kid.

• lkf0512 on Aug 22, 2011 at 10:53 pm

I know driving any car at 160kmh is mindless but my girlfriend was hit by a car from the opposite lane who were trying to overtake without much thinking.

And who told you they were driving at 160kmh? Or you just take a wild guess?

Check my mind? I think you have no idea what my girlfriend is going through now.

All I am asking from Proton is more safety features in their cars!
            Is that too much to ask?

• Ash Menon on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:52 am

my prayers for your gf and her colleague, i hope they both make it out okay.

and seriously, xix, that was a douchebag thing to say. you didn’t even know details about the accident, you still want to assume that speed?

• so you buy a car based on looks ?…ha…ha…ha

• droll on Aug 21, 2011 at 3:03 am

i don’t think VW offers this car with a manual. the previous gen 9n3 gti had only one transmission option – 5 speed manual (you can plug and play a 6 speed gearbox from a few other audi/vw brands hehehe but that’s a different story). i believe this current gen 6r gti also comes with one transmission option only – 7 speed dsg.

this should appeal to a larger segment in the m’sian market (no doubt to ease the bad experience VGM had trying to sell the previous gen 9n3 gti @ 138,888).

this car will really upset the local market. as with the previous generation 9n3 gti, it gives the best bang for buck in terms of price vs performance. 0-100 in 6.9, brand new, 5 year warranty – where to find?

• Best bang of the buck when you first bought it but if you look at overall, I dread to think of heavy losses like the Korean cars.. Despite all those features and way ahead of others, this is still a B segment car in the category of Fiesta, Mazda 2, Vios, City. I think after first year this car will not even fetch 100k if new car is sold at 140k. Who will pay for more than 100k for a second hand B segment car more so a VW… Like the car very much but the resale value is just unbearable.

• kakakak on Aug 21, 2011 at 1:23 pm

its a hot hatch, it will have good resale value, look at those recon evo/subarus, their price wont drop

• you should check the used price of a 6 yr old golf GTI then you can qualify to comment about the resale value of VW cars ( hot hatch segment). no wonder your nick is dino.

it is still going for around 130k when a new GTI was 200k. that is a darn good resale value if you were to ask me. which is only 35% loss for 6 yrs.

compare that with a 6 yr old honda accord 2.4. new at 172k and after 6 yrs only selling at 72k. which is a loss of 58%.

• Pls don’t give this kind of sh*t here. A 4 year old gti going for 135k, 6 years gti going for around 130k? And since when 05 Accord selling at 172k? Who are you trying to trick? That’s the latest model price. What a load of sh*t. You talk as if you were the ‘king’, one of your puppet gave you this piece of info? Oh maybe another VW salesman here.

• He was talking about the 2.4 accord and not the 2.0.

A simple check in mudah n motortrader show the cheapest VW Golf GTI yr 2005 currently asking for 125k-130k.

Wake up from your dinoland!

• Jeff Lim on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:25 pm

Dino, it’s TRUE… 2005 VW Golf WALD GTI is selling AT LEAST RM125,000. RM130000 for a good one. VW GTI DOES HAVE GOOD RESALE VALUE.

• LOL Dino most stoopid people are at least humble, but not you. Every single “fact” you give is wrong. If you had the brains to do some research you’d realize all of king’s numbers are correct.

Are you the kind of person who thinks Hondas and Toyotas are the best cars in the world? Let me guess, you have a combover and you drive an Altis with wood trim?

• alldisc on Aug 21, 2011 at 10:16 am

the same 1.4 twincharge engine in golf and scirocco already produces 160PS. in this polo GTI, it has been tweaked to release 178PS. isnt that fun enough??

oh, btw this car is using manual gearbox already with dry clutch. no torque converter.

of course, everything is motorised.

magic. magic.

• I’m proton troopers/rangers/supporters. why la compared proton with VW, the fact is VW equivalent to Produa in EU, it’s mean too boring. So proton is like jaguars, it’s has big names perhaps with big wow factor to worldwide later.

• ha3 really nice one. compared jag with proton. can u tell us anything that is ‘fairly equivalent’ for both brands except their logo that both used cat as symbol. one used rimau the other used kucing laut.

• What fantasy world are you living in? I lived in EU, and I can tell you VW is known to be slightly expensive, but with excellent build quality and resale value. They’re not luxury cars, but unlike Proton they are still respectable and desirable.

If cars were furniture, VW would be Ikea, and Proton would be a dodgy looking kedai perabot ah seng with tables and chairs that break after 1 month of use.

• Ken Ng on Aug 20, 2011 at 8:42 pm

Wondering will it launch the 3 doors Polo GTi

• vw_fan on Aug 20, 2011 at 9:20 pm

Dont think we’ll ever see any 3 doors for this model due to high tax for this segment in Msia.

• paparadzi on Aug 21, 2011 at 12:27 am

Everything else equal, does a 2 or 3 door car taxed more than the equivalent 4 or 5 door car?

• Bob Vettel on Aug 21, 2011 at 11:06 am

No. It’s based on CC. The price premium is all profit margins

• chuakz on Aug 21, 2011 at 12:21 pm

malaysian gov excise higher tax for three door cars….that’s what the dealers say

• SaveTheEARTH on Aug 21, 2011 at 11:41 am

There will be a 3 doors version. 5doors selling for rm128,888. 3doors selling for rm138,888. This is what I get from the dealer. 5doors is more practical, if you want lifestyle go for 3doors. Normally ppl own more than a car 3 doors will be his/her choice as a fun or weekend car loitering around.

• ROJAK on Aug 20, 2011 at 9:26 pm

3 doors Polo GTi? wow

• I’ve ascertained via chats with sales representatives from a number of VW showrooms that VGM will indeed be bringing in the three-door version! Stay tuned!

• michael on Aug 23, 2011 at 3:22 pm

3 doors is selling RM132,888,while 5 doors is selling at RM135,888

• michael on Aug 23, 2011 at 3:25 pm

3 doors version is selling at RM132,888.Can check with me for more details.

• michael on Aug 23, 2011 at 3:13 pm

There is 3doors and 5 doors.The 3 doors is selling at RM132,888 while 5 doors is selling at RM135,888.If you are interested , pls call me at 019-3227818

• Ayecaramba! on Aug 20, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Pocket Rocket!

• 4545er on Aug 20, 2011 at 8:45 pm

urghhh..soo yummy

• all brought in from Germany?

• ultrajo on Aug 23, 2011 at 7:41 am

maybe from China or South Africa…wait…maybe from Gambang!

• michael on Aug 23, 2011 at 3:26 pm

the car brought in from Spain.

• The standard Polo is made in South Africa, not Germany. Not 100% sure about the Polo GTI, but I believe it’s the same.

• umpgambang on Aug 20, 2011 at 9:01 pm

May be I will prefer driving a basic VW Golf.

• Cowabunga! on Aug 20, 2011 at 9:04 pm

if it’s using the SAME DSG gearbox as the 2.0 GTi…I might consider…but I get the notion, that they put in a “lesser” version DSG gb from the 2.0.
    unless someone can confirm.

• Paul Tan on Aug 20, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Gti is 6 speed, this is 7 speed, how can it be the same

• droll on Aug 21, 2011 at 3:05 am

Golf GTi 6 speed DSG – wet clutch. Polo GTI 7 speed DSG – dry clutch. difference?other than the amount of oil each uses and the weight, i believe there might be some difference in maximum power rating.

you can find some information on the 7 speed dsg having a max torque rating of 250Nm (some might argue that’s why the stock polo gti comes in at 249Nm). however, some tuners have successfully pushed the engine beyond 300Nm. will it be reliable in the long run? tak tau lah. :)

• diablo on Aug 20, 2011 at 9:19 pm

is it a sunroof there?

• Vodka on Aug 20, 2011 at 9:22 pm

Wait! Is that a panoramic roof I see?

• Azrel on Aug 20, 2011 at 9:28 pm

I was at VW Jln Ipoh this morning. Was lucky enough to spot the car too. I was told that the price is RM125k for 2 door version and RM128k for 4 door version.

• RM125 for 3 doors? are you serious?

• Azrel on Aug 21, 2011 at 1:06 am

That was what the SA told me. If he gave the wrong info, blame him, not me. Lol

• I’ve called the SA from VW Jln Ipoh, he confirmed that the pricing is around 120-140k. Specs are not confirmed. The briefing/training will be held on next Tuesday, guess we will know very soon.

Oh ya, VWM is briging in the 3 doors and 5 doors. I would go for the 3 doors ;)

• teelim on Aug 24, 2011 at 10:09 am

I just checked with VW Jln Ipoh. The sales person told me the finalised price is RM132,888 for the 3 door and RM135,888 for the 5 door. Not too bad, but somehow, I think it would look just abit more attractive if it was priced below RM130k

• umpgambang on Aug 20, 2011 at 9:49 pm

This sound good deals. Want test drive it.

• Jimmy on Aug 20, 2011 at 10:13 pm

How can a 2 door version cheaper than the 4 door one? Impossible…

• marco_polo on Aug 21, 2011 at 9:43 am

Exactly…juz looks at Kia Forte and Coupe..it’s easily 15-20k more…

• Make no mistake here…2 door cars such as Polo or Fiesta are cheaper than the 4 door versions. Coupes of course cost more than the respective sedan…….

• Tony, that is true in other countries but not Malaysia. Aren’t you aware of our government’s extra tax on 2-door cars? That’s why the Scirocco for example is RM30k more expensive than the Golf, even though in other countries it’s cheaper.

• michael on Aug 23, 2011 at 3:32 pm

it’s true,anything can happen

• zaff1984 on Aug 20, 2011 at 10:30 pm

OMG that quite a nice price… I choose Polo GTI 4 door compared to Civic 2.0 anytime :)

• bongek on Aug 21, 2011 at 8:58 pm

this is what i call informative comment info,thanks

• Andrew on Aug 22, 2011 at 11:21 pm

sure or not… likdat i want to trade in my golf lor…

• Azrel on Aug 20, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Yes, come with sunroof,17″ wheels and GTI tartan seats. If possible, will post photos on this site. But am not sure how :$

• Mask Ryder on Aug 20, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Why lah the colour look like Taxi one ?
    Anybody notice the front vent resemble Kia Rio.
    Shame on you VW copying KIA :-)

• BeemerFreak on Aug 21, 2011 at 9:07 am

Rio was launched after VW launched to Polo, so who’s to blame now?

• Anti_Bashers on Aug 21, 2011 at 9:13 am

It’s red w protective covering u noob…read properly…vw copy kia?? Bashers like u will claim brad pitt copied ur face and Jennifer lopez stole ur grandma’s body…..get a life..

• The white areas are protective coverings, no way this comes in taxi-like colors, come on!

• Mask Ryder on Aug 21, 2011 at 11:56 am

It just a joke lah ! Offcoz i know the the white portion r just the protective film, do u think i would believe the x mark on the door handle also original meh.
      When i said Kia Rio copy VW vent nodody agree, when i say VW copying KIA people would come in to defence (See my tricks work like a Charm)

• I’ll wait for VW Polo GTI sedan.

• dsg known to have ‘meccatronic’ issues after a couple of years..its almost a 20k fix..i want manual..

• Citroën ds3 on Aug 20, 2011 at 10:04 pm

I love the car!! In Singapore now and already am on the waiting list for the past 2 months.. And 5 more to go.. Test drove it.. For the price.. Not much complain.. Real sweet a ride.. All in all… I was caught off guard the moment I was on the go…

• The waiting time for Polo GTI with DRL is 9 mts in S’pore. Cost 125k ,really envy being M’sians. The spec is also a stripped one compare with Euro or Aust. It came with RCD 310.

• galaxyniche on Aug 20, 2011 at 10:29 pm

this polo is awesome..

• rosdi on Aug 20, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Woohoo… the wait is finally (almost) over!… Looks like worth the wait… got sun roof some more… the HP is even better than mini cooper s!..

Hopefully come with the same 5 year warranty as the other VW models..

• lalala on Aug 20, 2011 at 11:21 pm

Previous Polo come with manual gearbox buat VW could not money for it… so I do not think they will bring manual version…

• Azrel on Aug 20, 2011 at 11:21 pm

I was there to sent my car for services and manged to snap some photos and video, but am not sure how to post it here. Yes, it comes with sunroof, 17″ wheels and bucket seat.

• http://www.sciroccocup.com.my/,
    according this website, polo gti will be launch on 26th august

• Yups, they are launching this coming Saturday in Sepang. Test drive only by invitation. Polo Gti on sepang track…… I’m not sure how much “poison” i’m going to get on that day. Just make sure dont bring any credit card or cheque book for downpayment. :P

• Ordinary Joe on Aug 20, 2011 at 11:31 pm

I’m sure its a great car, superb even. But the polo’s design is a just a tiny bit too girlie for me.

• droll on Aug 21, 2011 at 3:06 am

that can be fixed :)

• Ordinary Joe on Aug 21, 2011 at 8:34 am

Ok la… Its potential by Reiger… http://www.tunershop.co.uk/product_images/Rieger_VW_Polo_6R_GTI_p_p237543.jpg

• Crazyvtec on Aug 20, 2011 at 11:51 pm

125k get 178ps.. Impressive!!! Worth it.

• justin on Aug 21, 2011 at 12:39 am

Book one long time ago,price not confirm yet,one time say below 130k one time below 140k.with all the goodies from the picture above,led front light,panoramic roof ,the price could be in the range of 140k.

• who wants a kosong tin MINI one for rm138,888 anyway ? way to go VW !

• BeemerFreak on Aug 21, 2011 at 12:11 am

This pocket rocket goes from 0-100 km/h at a quoted 6.9 secs…..RM 128 000 is dirt cheap for a South African CBU car of that quality.

Driven one before in Singapore, quite noticeable turbo lag, and also slightly jerky during crawling speeds which area nature of the DQ200 DSG 7-speed. Immensely powerful though and gobsmackingly fast

• vw_fan on Aug 21, 2011 at 10:42 am

Should have little to no lag with this engine as the supercharger kicks in first. But depends on what you are comparing to as its still a 1.4 and for this displacement its one hellavy engine. I believe this will be a damn fun car to drive.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 21, 2011 at 7:39 pm

It is a damn fun car to drive….,. Turbo lag comparison was done with a Mk IV Golf GTi. Somehow i think it is the gearbox that is causing the lag in power and torque delivery

• Citroen DS3 on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:17 pm

Bro.. there are obvious jerk at lower speed.. for me, i believe is the setting on the gear ratio.. but it smoothen out at 3k rpm and above… this car do lover hi-rev.. i pretty much red line the test drive unit all the way

• Imbhotep on Aug 21, 2011 at 1:10 am

Seems not worthwhile for malaysian make this RM140k polo GTi colour like MALAYSIAN TAXI LOL!!Hahaha

• you are really ignorant, the white piece of sticker is a protective layer … not the color white. OMG !

• Ordinary Joe on Aug 21, 2011 at 8:19 am

White u see are protective covers la! Have been taken off yet…

• klguy on Aug 21, 2011 at 8:54 am

i gues the white color stuff on the hood is just a layer of protectant sticker to protect the carbon fibre hood

• Revolvolution X on Aug 21, 2011 at 9:07 am

Read properly. Those are protective stickers for all imported cars alike. Color is red, which is a sporty color for a pocket rocket..
      Even at 140k its a steal for the specs n performance…

• nighttrain on Aug 21, 2011 at 9:58 am

dude, where did you go to school? the white layer, you peel off la.. it’s a protective skin that you peel off. the car is ALL red with black roof, glass, maybe.

• Kok Chi on Aug 21, 2011 at 10:59 am

The white parts are protective stickers la… The car is red.

• Nice!! Compare this to the mini one LE aka the idiots mini. Anyone who has already bought the mini one should be feeling depressed and suicidal now.

• i like the car very much but it just too cramped inside -,-

• droll on Aug 21, 2011 at 3:10 am

man, those rims look sharp enough to cut! :)

• that rim has been around way too long, will downgrade to 16″ :P

• marco_polo on Aug 21, 2011 at 9:41 am

These r the same Denver rims from the previous gen Golf Gti…

• droll on Aug 22, 2011 at 10:31 am

they look the same. but i believe the offset and PCD are different so you can’t fit golf gti rims on the polo gti.

• Vodka on Aug 21, 2011 at 7:12 am

Based on specs on the net it only takes RON98. Unless the Polo GTi here is mildly retuned to take Ron95?

• crower on Aug 21, 2011 at 8:05 am

CR-Z killer.. For price.. :)

• RedBeanBun on Aug 21, 2011 at 8:10 am

so many enthusiasm…lets see the sales figure boost up :)

• Roffle on Aug 21, 2011 at 8:43 am

New VW Polo GTi looks like previous design not much change except the engine more powerful. I think Ford Fiesta Sport better than this one.

• Citroen DS3 on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:19 pm

oh come on.. not much changes in design? no offence, but i think you better get your eyes checked…

• BeemerFreak on Aug 21, 2011 at 9:10 am

If it goes for anything below RM150,000 it is a bargain. 0-100 in 6.9 s.

Drove this once in sg, the DQ200 7 speed dsg is still jerky at crawling speed and there is a hint of turbo lag when floored full. However this machine is still gobsmackingly fast.

• Andrew on Aug 22, 2011 at 11:34 pm

turbo lag? i think only apek driving will get turbo lag…not my 1.4tsi… what i need is better bubblegum… :D

• hanssen on Aug 21, 2011 at 10:07 am

New Volkswagen Polo GTI ?? Same old lady with a new dress??

• i_swear on Aug 21, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Speaking of the old lady, I think you don’t try to mess the old lady with Polo (see the add here)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qG4IaHgqH00

• DiEsE on Aug 21, 2011 at 11:04 am

I think this is the version that comes with the original fork lamps. I do hope they still got the solid blue colour.. :-)

• kereta kuda kepang on Aug 21, 2011 at 1:03 pm

not attractive the design. look cheap.

• eurohead on Aug 21, 2011 at 7:21 pm

then you’d probably need to stick back on your kuda kepang… more attractive

• kuching on Aug 22, 2011 at 11:56 am

agree not attractive at all. rubbish too many this kind of car on the road nowdays.

• kuching on Aug 22, 2011 at 12:00 pm

agree the design not attractive at all. At least kuda kepang have shape. too many boring car on the road nowdays. Junk

• Mask Ryder on Aug 21, 2011 at 1:57 pm

It’s joke only lah ! Offcoz i know the white portion just a protective film, do u think i believe the X on the handle & half white roof is for real it is ?

When i say KIA Rio copying VW vent people refuse to accept, when i said it the other way arround, people realised (Bingo ! Fact Delivered).

• for those that cant afford the real GTi….. its quite funny watching guys driving polos… like woosies who wanna be taken seriously….

• Cannot afford?

My (car-crazy) japanese boss has a Merc S-Class, a Porsche 911 Carrera S and a Polo GTI for town. And you know what? He likes the Polo (even out of town), it has already more kilometres on the clock than the Carrera S…

• kakakak on Aug 21, 2011 at 10:03 pm

polo maintenance cheaper than 911 ma, :) and 911 high mileage hard to sell, lol.

just kidding

is this polo gti so good? i should get this over 308thp?

• vansgoh on Aug 21, 2011 at 9:12 pm

as long as they love their own ride…

• What an analogy ??

Are you saying those who M3 couldn’t afford a M5 ?

Those who buy C-class couldn’t afford an E-class ??

Well, you should say those who can’t afford the real Lexus would change the Toyota Harrier to a Lexus badge but the steering still shows Toyota …. haha

Polo GTI has its own cult appeal

• jalan54 on Aug 21, 2011 at 4:19 pm

Its going to launch on the 26th of August. Its already announced.

• blackbox on Aug 21, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Will it come with paddle shifter?

BTW, it should be cheaper than previous Polo Gti. Since Our currency is higher now if compare to Euro and 1400cc import tax is cheaper than 1800cc. Unless the distributor try to make big money on it.

I think the engine tuning is almost the max for dry clutch DSG. Any remap in future might be a bit too risky for the gearbox. Not like previous Polo Gti in manual which you can remap to much higher hp.

• Sparc on Aug 21, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Why all the polo design look the same, very lazy designer the VW have, really boring like durian thailand. Yuck!!

• Lolx of coz all Polo is the same!so u think every Polo r different?some with durian head and some with rambutan head?don talk nonsense lah pls haha

• think to get type r or golf gti. Anyone can advice?

• It may be fast but the looks is still bland, not like renault clio or peugeot 308.

• Citroën ds3 on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:23 pm

right.. and next you will be saying Peugeot 308 turbo is better then the golf GTI?? ppuuhhhllleeeaaazzeee

• I meant renault Clio and Peugeot 308 has better looks…. understand….

• The Polo GTI will be launch during the Scirocco R-cup in Sepang Circuit on 26th Aug and the car can be test drive on that day (not on the track though). I am Going to VW Jalan Ipoh tomorrow, hopefully the car is still there.

• amirad on Aug 22, 2011 at 10:09 am

please..please..please.. VW bring on the manual.
    Understated/bland looks tends to age well.

• Citroen DS3 on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:20 pm

for this version.. i dont think there is a manual version.. dont know if they have added it ever since.. but since launch and test drove by UK’s motorshow.. it mentions it only comes in DSG…

• Citroën ds3 on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm

i believe it only comes in DSG with over-ride pedal shifters… which is even sweeter

• skypirate on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:22 pm

tell that to toyota bashers out there.

• rally_fan on Aug 22, 2011 at 4:54 pm

spent a couple of days with a plain vanilla 1.4 polo with 7 speed DSG.. very nice car to drive anywhere, even on the highway. only problem is the lack of power and the fact that the engine sounds a little rough at high revs. that fantastic gearbox does help that little engine though.

but good car to own for sure.

• joe_lucas on Aug 22, 2011 at 5:36 pm

1.4 lack of power? Isn’t the 1.4 a GTI? Or were you driving a normal 1.2 TSI?

• fadgeek on Aug 22, 2011 at 7:59 pm

i’m driving 1.2tsi & it cruising on the highway much faster than 2liter & i can even reach KL – JB in 1hour 30min..if this GTI i think can do 1hour KL-JB..it’s a VW TSI tech+DSG(the bet gearbox i ever experienced so far..

• The chances are your clock spoiled already.

• gen2 driver on Aug 23, 2011 at 1:23 pm

KL-JB (from google map) is 331km. That means if you do it within 1hour an 30 min, your average speed is 220.67km/h!!!!! This is your speed from the time you start your engine at your car porch in KL, MAINTAIN all the way to your JB car park/car porch

• surewi on Aug 23, 2011 at 5:50 pm

This kid thinks he can bullshit all the way with his 1.2tsi, what a joke!!!

• Andrew on Aug 23, 2011 at 9:24 pm

wah… 1hr KL-JB that is like aeroplane speed…. *pokes himself in the rib!*

• Price announced (From brochure)

3 Doors:
    Actual: RM 132,888
    OTR: RM 133,608

5 Doors:
    Actual: RM 135,888
    OTR: RM 136,608

Specs include:
    – Bi-xenon lights (LED DRL)
    – 17″ Detroits
    – Sunroof
    – ESP/XDS/ABS
    – RCD-310
    – Rain Sensor
    – Checked Sports seat
    – Sports Suspension
    – 5 years warranty

• loveit on Aug 23, 2011 at 6:46 pm

i hope the interior got something differ than the 1.2 tsi…rear aircon vent ke..

• darren on Aug 26, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Saw it this afternoon on the kesas highway. what’s interesting is not this car but on the trailer includes a pick-up and 7-seater MPV with the badges covered!