CKD assembly of Volkswagens to start by November 2011

Last year, the news of Volkswagen working with DRB-Hicom to locally assemble VW models got many excited. Back then, they said that three models were earmarked for CKD assembly at DRB’s Pekan plant, and production will start from 2012 onwards. We’re nearer to that date now, and it has been revealed that things are right on schedule.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, at a breaking of fast function with DRB-Hicom employees, said that the Pekan plant will start assembling Volkswagens starting in October or November, and the initial batch will be 200 units.

“The first batch from the Pekan plant will test the response of the local market for the model, a number of which, according to plans, will be exported to Asean countries,” he told the crowd at the Sri Maulana Mosque in Pekan, which included DRB-Hicom MD Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil. Najib is the MP for Pekan.

It is understood that the first batch mentioned will be the D-segment VW Passat, which should be officially launched early next year. The next model is likely to be the Jetta, which is a sedan variant of the Golf. The Polo Sedan, a.k.a. Vento in some markets, has also been spotted testing here.

There’s a huge appetite for more affordable Volkswagens, and the launch of the CKD models are highly anticipated. How much do you think they’ll cost?

But before all that, Volkswagen is all set to launch the Polo GTI, which has already been spotted in KL. It’ll happen this week in Sepang, as hinted by VW’s Scirocco R Cup ad captured above. Stay tuned!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 4545er on Aug 22, 2011 at 3:48 am

golf ang polo included ?

• infinity on Aug 22, 2011 at 4:13 am

Really can’t wait for VW to reveal the prices!!

• It’s just simple spec’ car… Wonder how they will price it and can get customer hearts… What’s the impressive feature that outstanding korean or Jap’s car?

Just like the outlook and the VW brand and quality? CKD in Malaysia gives problems…

• well we all want many car maker to produce/make car here now u complain bout quality…..

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2011 at 9:58 am

the best thing is… CKD VW will not be sold by VGM, but by a different company (DRB lah, of course).

the reason is VAG wants to be no.1 car maker by 2015. the only choice is to widen their market presence and selling high end cars in malaysia will not justify that.

this is the reason for knocked down assembly, then only Volks Wagen will really become Folks Wagon @ people’s car.

• sharaf on Aug 22, 2011 at 4:14 am

Any idea when jetta’s rolling out?

• Alpha on Aug 22, 2011 at 4:16 am

Judging from the price of the current CBUs by VW,i do believe they will try to match the Japs.Most probably around 80k+ for Polo Sedan,120k+ for Jetta and 160k+ for Passat.

• Hahahaha…u wish!!!!

• murad on Aug 22, 2011 at 4:23 pm

The Japs are sleeping, and now they are only began to wake up. The Koreans have already brushed their teeth, make up, dressed up and about to leave home for work. Maybe profits are all that matters and if there is no competition why up the ante on specs? After all we believe in selling based on brand! forget about the DRL, this is Asia not Europe, why need more than 2 airbags? is it a need for vehicle stability control? 7 speed gear box? 6 would be enough here in Asia, as there is no Autobahn, anyway the list goes..

Good now in Malaysia, not only they have to compete against continental makes but also the Koreans now, there is left and right for them to bang their heads against the wall on how to get people to purchase their vehicles.

It would be interesting to see 2012 onwards how they compete.

• well not imposible….
        1. since it will be produce ckd-ed in malaysia no 30% import duty for non-ASEAN made car
        2. they can using some part made in malaysia/thai, can bring down some more price
        3. cost manufacture here in malaysia much less than europe…labor
        4. they had govt backing through DRB-Hicom(GLC)

• myself & i on Aug 22, 2011 at 9:50 am

great, a conti alternative at japs price =)

• Of these three, only Polo sedan sucks, Jetta and newly facelifted Passat looks good.

• These models not yet launch? I though they launched long time ago because I saw them before for a few times on Volkwagen Jalan Ipoh’s showroom.

• vw_fan on Aug 22, 2011 at 9:29 am

Not launched yet lar. What they have now is Passat CC not passat, Polo hatchback not Polo sedan and Golf (hatchback) not Jetta (Golf sedan).

• VW Golf is nice, but Golf R sucks (not a direct Mitsubishi Evo X rival)!!!

• the one u saw at Jalan Ipoh VM is tested unit brough here from India & Germany, test for 30k mileage

• Roffle on Aug 22, 2011 at 6:04 am

New Saga BLM?

• pelams on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:50 pm

u gt d wrong link

• Rizal on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:03 pm

i think not a wrong link.. it kinda look like BLM…a copycat..

• I think you are copycat coz u join this site and write something!anyway i saw 1 Jetta and it looks quite nice but i don’t really like is the Passat,Jetta and Polo headlights all looks like the same!last thing is BLM suck and cheap!

• although i agree what u said above the only thing that i can not agree is BLM..yeah it cheap and ugly but not suck…..most people i meet outside said BLM is good but when i read many comment here the other way around

• Passat, Jetta, Polo Sedan definitely is under heavy testing here in KL, heard the news that Passat will be ~180k once CKD in Pekan

• vansgoh on Aug 23, 2011 at 12:21 am

i think they have to test their car in kuching as well, the road is extremely wavy and see the car’s interior can tahan the road or not…

• this would be very good..

• the market become more and more competitive!!!
    the consumer will be the winner as well.. =)

• Bigger winner is gomen. Malaysian will still buy car no matter how expensive it is because of the tax

• MoFaz on Aug 22, 2011 at 12:01 pm

how many countries don’t have tax?

• jalan54 on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:36 pm

Its true that every countries have tax, but ours, extremely high!

• Singaporean tax for 4×4 pickups such as hilux or navara are also extremely high!

• I think not oni the 4×4.. Most of it are expensive.. Couldnt care less about the tax here.. Although the tax are high and people bitching.. Yet most people have at least one car per house.. And yet so many merc and bmw on the road.. This means if you want better car.. Work your ass off laa

• only car, alcohol and cigarette tax are high….what bout other tax?….most r low or very low….other part of the world car tax are low or without tax..but most other tax medium to high tax…….eg compare pendrive u buy with pendrive u buy from uk/us/eu/jap/chi…from that we can see tax level

• im expecting for polo sedan 1.2tsi……………

• yuhuu on Aug 22, 2011 at 7:39 am

look like saga.. errr..

• seancorr on Aug 22, 2011 at 7:48 am

Good stuff. More competition is good news for us customers. We want more features packed into the cars we buy!

• cheng on Aug 22, 2011 at 8:23 am

Polo sedan – I like. Can I book one now?

• I prefer new Jetta or Passat facelift. Polo sedan has an ugly butt.

• Yes….

Now d big question. How much lower will d price be compared to the CBU.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 22, 2011 at 8:33 am

That would certainly be welcomed news.

I would think the Passat would come in slightly under 190K and the Vento around 95K, or priced just under the current CBU Polo 1.2TSI price. Death knell for Toyota and Honda perhaps…if the current demand for Hyundai Sonata is any indication (checked last week and there is still a 3 month waiting list…….)

The Vento would certainly be a car to look forward to since there seems to be a hole left open for affordable continental B/C segment cars, with the hatch only 308 and related Fabia the only close competition.

The only problem yet to be seen is how these are put together or would it be bumper CKD (SKD??)….i don’t recall but didn’t VW a while back put in quite some investment in indonesia (or was it Thailand).

I hope VW will keep an eye out as I still have little faith in the build qualities of these CKD “manufacturers”. I really do like the build qualities of VWs, especially the interior fitments. Hope that carries through.

• Dun think so la, the passat they increased the price to another 30-40k.Once CKD the price will still aboved 200k.Trust me!!

• Paul Tan on Aug 22, 2011 at 11:51 am

That is passat cc. This is passat. They are different cars.

• jalan54 on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:39 pm

For what I heard the ckd passat is going to match the price of camry 2.4. Also Passat CC and passat is toally different car. You have to understand what CC means.

• murad on Aug 22, 2011 at 4:15 pm

yes many would not know there is a difference, the current expensive Passat CC is Passat Comfort Coupe, while those CKD are real size sedans.

• gracke on Aug 24, 2011 at 10:58 am

I wonder why so many people still can’t differentiate and confusing between Passat & Passat CC!!!

• Chilavert on Aug 22, 2011 at 8:37 am

hopefully the Vento will be around RM100K – RM120K. the cheaper the better :)

• jalan54 on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:41 pm

Do you know vento is a B segment car and it is actually a polo sedan version? So, currently polo 1.2 TSI is only selling 109k and it is CBU, how come the price for vento can be higher than polo 1.2 TSI???

• ABTguy on Aug 22, 2011 at 8:43 am

Hey, glad to be the first few to comment :D

I heard from Service Advisor from JB that the Passat will most likely be the 1.8 TSI version, mated to a 7spd DSG. So this should come with either 160 BHP or 180 BHP stage of tune.

Not as good as the one fitted into Golf GTI, both engine and gearbox. But hopefully they price it sub-RM175k level.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 22, 2011 at 3:01 pm

Err VW’s 1.8TFSI will only come in the 160PS tune……. No such model in the region with a 180PS tune 1.8 not even audi A4

• lchan on Aug 22, 2011 at 9:19 am

the cars they assemble here are so boring.

• Bring it on , I’ll be looking into Volkswagen in the future , no more Japs car anymore

• From the photo (the back of the car), it looks like Proton Saga with a VW badge.

• Is these cars desigh by Chinese, why it looks like very much a Chinese car? Look very cheap.

• Name , your comment is very childish

Please read up more as these cars are design by the German and not Chinese.

Moreover , most cars today are design to the taste of consumers preference.

• Germans on Mar 11, 2012 at 3:08 pm

Das ist eine Beleidigung!

• Unforgiven on Aug 22, 2011 at 9:59 am

If the Polo Sedan is 1.6 NA, they need to price it slightly cheaper than the 1.5 City/Vios.
    They may need to price it slightly above Peugeot 207 sedan.
    If they are able to do it this way, then they’ll be a winner in the B segment.

• bongek on Aug 22, 2011 at 2:36 pm

yeah,,correct..but looking at 207 features…ermm i think we can guess how feature for polo sedan,,,, hope i am wrong…

• Shaycoat on Aug 22, 2011 at 10:09 am

I prefer to buy VW Polo TSI hatchback. Will the car to be CKD also? surely the price will go down and down, perhaps in the range of sub 70K.

• Great…good start…Hope the price will reduce more….

• Unforgiven on Aug 22, 2011 at 11:53 am

Hope they are able to give us the good engine and gearbox for M’sian market…

But since they need to export to Asean market, we may not get the best…

• lonelyobserve on Aug 22, 2011 at 12:15 pm

With all said and done, the CKD VW models will be 30% cheaper than the CBU units, as per NAP, i.e. no import duty imposed. Period.

• that rite each toyota or honda car 30% cheaper here in malaysia coz most of them r made in thailand (no import duty for ASEAN made car)

• Pauli on Aug 22, 2011 at 12:21 pm

Some info on the Polo Sedan = Vento:

Price range: RM80K++
    Engine: 1.6L (not TSi)
    Transmission: 4-speed AT (not DGS)
    Rear suspension: Torsion

• Old tech for stock clearing assembling at Malaysia?
      Even Saga FLX uses 6 speed cvt!

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 22, 2011 at 11:07 pm

Fyi. There is no such thing as what you call a 6 speed cvt. Cvts have infinate gear ratios between lowest to the highest ratio. Manufacturers can put in 12 “speeds” if they want.

Dont think vw has anything with a 4 speed unless it came from a budget indian import.

If it was really 80k and manages to maintain the build quality it would be a real winner. Dont think it would be so cheap and dont think they would leave out a turbocharger.

• BeemerFreak on Aug 22, 2011 at 3:07 pm

VW group does not have a 4-AT in its dispossal anymore, it will either be a manual or a 6-speed AT.

• just leave 4-AT to toyota.

• sloth on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:11 pm

So is it going to be:

Polo sedan with 1.6 NA + auto tranny
    Jetta 1.4TSI (turbo only) 120bhp + 7spd DSG
    Passat 1.8TSI (turbo only) 160bhp + 7spd DSG?

• waters on Aug 22, 2011 at 4:21 pm

I hope so. Wouldn’t mind a Jetta with that spec! Hopefully with a 110-120K price tag. Lower the better!

• Gavin on Aug 22, 2011 at 1:45 pm

Just take the new volvo s60 price against the old cbu price and the difference should be the same margin

• skyjuice on Aug 22, 2011 at 4:42 pm

great.. now, someone leave me undecided which car to buy..
    Tuah vs Jetta vs City
    if I take city now, and turn out later Jetta is better, I’ll be miserable..
    if wait a while, and take Jetta, and turn out Tuah is better, – double miserable..
    now I’m pathetic..

• Unforgiven on Aug 22, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Jetta is at least Civic segment, based on your comment, the most you can go is only Polo sedan…

• i love tsi on Aug 22, 2011 at 5:47 pm

everyone excited including our PM’s and of coz me as the team mmbr of VW project here at Pekan.i want to share about the approximate price for these cars.u must understand that VW is aiming to compete with Honda and Toyota.the price won’t far differ from their targeted competitor ..

Polo –> Vios & city
    Jetta –> corolla altis & civic
    Passat –> camry & accord

i agree polo sedan looks like saga blm but believe me,their technology and quality are AWESOME..stay tuned everyone,VW will conquer the road next year… XD

• kakakak on Aug 22, 2011 at 7:13 pm

if jetta is below 130k, has TSI and DSG.

then i’ll not buy 308 turbo but i will buy this jetta. :) come come come

• i love tsi on Aug 22, 2011 at 6:00 pm

BTW , it is not CKD but SKD of Passat will be assemble by November 2011.mister Paul Tan should revise this matter…

• Weary & Wary on Aug 22, 2011 at 6:28 pm

Think very carefully first before buying a VW. VWM doesn’t bother responding to customers’ e-mails and messages. And some of their dealers really suck, especially Wearnes. Wearnes’ policy is “We Sell You a Car and then Screw You!”

Don’t get suckered into their 5-Year Extended Warranty. It’s just a marketing ploy. Buy one of their cars, develop a problem and you’ll know the meaning of consumer hell.

• Fully agree with your statement, buy VW and you will regret later.

• vansgoh on Aug 23, 2011 at 12:54 am

agree with you, i send my car to their SC to fix the unwanted noise, not fully fixed, and their technician don’t even know how to install or open the interior parts properly, they spoiled some of the parts, after i realized my car was ‘simply’ installed and spoiled, they pissed off me…!!!! that’s so call highly trained…

• Can you share your experienced with VW here.

• Wow, so I’m not the only person with a problem with VW. VWM is so arrogant. They are too high and mighty to reply to their customers’ e-mails. I write and write and not once do they condescend to reply.

And as for Wearnes, what can I say? They must be the most kiasu, Cina-apek dealer around. Don’t be fooled by their modern looking sales and service centre in Sg Besi. Don’t buy anything from them.

Better still, don’t buy anything at all with the VW logo stuck on it. Save yourself tonnes of misery.

• No One on Aug 27, 2011 at 4:28 pm

I rarely heard about VW’s reputation in Malaysia…if these are the respond I get I would not be surprise since they have been missing from Malaysia market for decades…besides their design are not convincing point for me to get one…

• Mask Ryder on Aug 22, 2011 at 7:19 pm

Wow ! Polo Sedan will killed of Forte Market, Jetta will killed upcoming Avante & Passat to Killed Sonata 2.4.
    It all over for the Korean.
    (Sound like craps ? fimiliar ? Same like saying Polo Sedan vs Vios/City, Jetta vs Civic/Altis & Passat vs Camry/Accord)
    Obviously VW is targeting Peugeot.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 22, 2011 at 11:19 pm

What are u trying to say??

The Polo and the Forte isn’t even in the same mkt segment.

I dont think you’d find a more value packed car than the Forte 2.0. Don’t get your hopes too high. Even the ckd vento wont be cheap.

The passat would most likely be still 30-40k off the price of the equivalent Sonata.

VW dont need to “kill” anyone with thier pricing. They can command higher pricing. Market positioning isn’t just about price.

• Johndeep on Aug 23, 2011 at 12:26 am

Kia is always cheaper so better choice,f likely city n vios will be killed by polo sedan. Jetta will be a better option than civic n altis and passat will be a best value than camry n accord. Unluckily s40 will be having hard time in future and sonata will be outdated design, season ends by 2012. 2012 camry if priced 15k cheaper than passat will still has hope, these batles in 2012 are interesting.

• i love tsi on Aug 23, 2011 at 3:12 pm

u should understand the car segment bro…

• BeemerFreak on Aug 22, 2011 at 9:45 pm

Btw where are the r-badged vws? The scirocco and golf r are still missing from vgm’s line up.

• Jimmy on Aug 22, 2011 at 10:19 pm

Entry spec Passat RM180k. High spec Passat RM198k. Jetta RM130k – RM150k. These are attractive prices. VW prices can go beyond highest spec Toyotas and Fords. Take care of the build quality and reliability.

• Selling price for CKD-ed VW Vento, Jetta and Passat sedan must not differ much than the Japanese duo (Honda&Toyota). Despite being famous Teutonic brand, VW business model nowhere near the Japanese duo, especially in after-sales service discipline is concern.

Aiming for premium pricing will never augur well with objective of penetrating bigger market of City-Vios, Civic-Altis & Accord-Camry buyers. VGM must adopt more UMWToyota business model; having both umw and dealers 3s instead of Honda wat, all dealers. Try to offer VGM 4S in Klang Valley, Penang and Johore as a benchmark for best customer experience.

If VW can ‘follow’ aforementioned pricing strategy, God willing, VW anytime become our
    common sight in our country. I love this brand but l salute Japanese brand after sales service.

• sranua on Aug 23, 2011 at 9:21 am

Don’t think so..it will be a good entry for Malaysian to have more options of Japs, Korean and Conti..but to say the VW will kill Hyundai still an early predictions. Need to wait until VW reaveal the full specs of the cars and compare it with Japs and Korean cars. Not to forget, the number of service centres, cost of maintenance and secondhand prices….Malaysian still have to take this under consideration before spending a second highest prices after a house.

• LooknSee on Sep 12, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Don’t dream to get cheaper for this car in malaysia….u never will as long our so call “Proton” still available here….

• Theng Bok on Sep 19, 2011 at 2:08 pm

VW PRICES WILL COME DOWN NEXT YEAR 2012. FOR ALL VW FANS, PLEASE WAIT AS WE ALL KNOW CKD PRICES MEANS MORE AFFORDABLE TO PUBLIC.

Of course, only salesmen would defy logic and said prives will not changed next year just to make you buy VW now and not wait :-)