New Hyundai Safe Drive programme includes 24/7 roadside assist, first year free for cars purchased from June 2011

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has introduced the Hyundai Safe Drive Programme, which comprises the following features: Hyundai’s 5-year or 300,000 km warranty, 24/7 Roadside Assist, Automotive Insurance and Customer Care Line.

Of the four components, the new one is 24/7 Roadside Assist, supported by MUI Continental Insurance and International SOS, an international healthcare, medical assistance and security services company. Hyundai owners in need of roadside assist can call 1300-13-2000 in the event of an accident (major or minor, doesn’t matter), vehicle breakdown or malfunction.

HSDM says that the programme covers malfunction “due to the owner’s own negligence” as well, although “third party costs shall apply in owner induced breakdowns”. In terms of geography, Malaysia and Singapore is within range. Services include a vehicle for hire or even a nearby hotel stay. Charges apply, of course.

“We offer high-end, high-quality values at a surprisingly accessible price and at values that customers have never experienced or expected. We are constantly thinking of ways of improving our services to satisfy the needs of our customers and there will be more surprises coming up for Hyundai car owners in Malaysia,” said Dennis Ho, MD of HSDM.

24/7 Roadside Assist is given complimentary for the first year to all new Hyundai vehicles purchased from 1 June 2011. The free service will be extended for subsequent years if the owner renews comprehensive vehicle insurance with MUI Continental Insurance via any Hyundai sales outlet.

For more details and info, contact HSDM’s customer careline at 1-300-13-2000 during office hours or visit a Hyundai dealership.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• strange that such critical features are only available for vehicles bought from 1 June 2011 onwards….. But again, are they really new ? If one has bought the insurance from MUI even in 2010, wouldn’t the roadside assist already available? I see huge difference how SD treats its German marques vs this Korean marque!

• sonataKL on Aug 23, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Very true, I was among the first few who bought the Sonata in 2010, apa pun tarak. Now they come out with such programme? Anyway, I don’t see anything new here:

*5-year or 300,000 km warranty – when I bought the car, its already there (altho the SA said I must take up insurance with MUI in order to get the full warranty, and bear in mind, its not everything covered under the 5-year/300k KM warranty, only the engine and gearbox).

* 24/7 Roadside Assist, Automotive Insurance – MUI is already their default insurance in 2010, my car is insured with them and I got the Roadside Assist / Automotive Insurance FOC.

* Customer Care Line – Already there since Day 1.

I really wonder what is New?

• teelim on Aug 23, 2011 at 9:17 am

Good move. But still can’t beat what VW is offering IMO.

• sonataKL on Aug 23, 2011 at 3:46 pm

VW’s programme looks good on paper but once you read the T&C, maybe its not that good. One of the conditions is you must service your VW at the authorised SC for 5 years. The charges @ authorised is so Expensive….

• Jimmy on Aug 23, 2011 at 2:36 pm

If your new car breaks down in the middle of the road, will this reduce your anger?
    New car hardly breaks down suddenly, better offer this at the fifth year of purchase (but then this will not be good in business world).

• Your MUI ms eugenie are lousie, better enggage experience person then this fat lady. Sorry this is fact not to let anybody down. MUI all hyundai sales are chit chating tis fact, please act now.

• 5 year warranty 300000 km bullshit on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:15 pm

This 5 year 300,000km warranty is not what it is. Only 2 parts are under 5 years/300k km warranty i.e. engine and gearbox. The rest ranges from 1,000km to 2 years only. And try servicing your car in non authorised service centre, your warranty voids immediately.

Hyundai Sime darby only tells you the good thing. They keep quiet about the terms and conditions.

And Hyundai service people can be so malas. They already in holiday mood and didn’t even bother (gave me hells lots of unreasonable reasons) to look into my car’s problems until after Raya, despite me making no less than 10 trips to fix the technical problem.

That’s Hyundai service, to me.

• wilson on Jun 18, 2014 at 6:03 am

Bull shit service center. Very slow respond everything take half hour to check policy between me and hyundai.cant fix the problem first. All must Policy first. Shit service