Mazda axes the rotary RX-8 due to low sales and emissions

Mazda, the Zoom-Zoom brand famous for its rotary engined sports cars, has decided stop making the RX-8, the only rotary powered model in its current range.

Factors linked to the death of the RX-8 are falling sales and stringent global emissions standards, which are only going to get tougher. Production has already stopped in early July, and global sales will end later this year.

This comes after the Hiroshima based carmaker pulled out the RX-8 from Europe last year, as the high-revving 1.3-litre, twin-rotor rotary engined car failed to meet EU emissions standards. Without European volume, Mazda couldn’t justify selling the four-seat RX-8, a Mazda source was quoted as saying.

Sales has been diving – Mazda sold just 1,134 RX-8s last year, 49% less than in 2009. July 2011 year-to-date fugures dived a further 21%. The Japanese Yen’s rise vs the USD doesn’t help matters.

However, the RX-8’s demise may not be the death of the rotary engine. Sources say that Mazda engineers are still working on the next generation 1.6-litre rotary engine, code-named 16X. It will have lower emissions, better fuel economy, more power, and for the first time – direct-injection.

“The rotary is alive and well within Mazda. We are studying what’s the best way to come back to the market with the rotary,” said Jim O’Sullivan, CEO of Mazda North America.

However, with Mazda’s full focus now on its SkyActiv range of efficient tech, it remains to be seen when, if at all, rotary will be back. Farewell for now, and have a smooth spinning journey!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• CGS cat back exhaust on Aug 24, 2011 at 4:09 pm

This is a great car, too bad it has stopped its manufacture. But hey, don’t get discouraged, Mazda still has some tricks up its sleeve and will continue to develop a better car that’s may be based on this concept.

• kakakak on Aug 24, 2011 at 8:16 pm

the only reason less ppl buy this car is because of the funny rotary engine.

high FC, low torque, need to red line, consume engine oil…

if they put in a normal 2.5 engine, i’m sure they can sell more.

in fact i love rx8….. T_T

• squall_shinoda on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:16 am

The Mazda RX-8 actually has a lot better FC than its predecessor, the RX-7. It only consumes a combined figure of 9.0L/100 km (11.11 km/L), which is quite ok for a sports car with 238 bhp. In fact, that amount of power comes without the aid or a turbocharger, unlike the RX-7 that requires a turbocharger to generate 20 bhp.

• I agree with the decision to stop RX-8 instead of making non-rotary RXs

• squall_shinoda on Aug 25, 2011 at 11:18 am

At least Mazda is the only carmaker that dares to develop successful Wankel engines while other carmakers fail to do so.

• Albert on Aug 24, 2011 at 4:29 pm

Great~but i think hard to take care of the engine~ :D

• Use rotary as range extender for next mazda RX electric sports car..just kiddin

• Mazdaspeed Hydrogen RE on Aug 24, 2011 at 5:11 pm

New Mazda rotary engine will having 170hp at least, topping versions will be turbo.

• fariz on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:17 am

you don’t coupled a rotary with a turbo, or reliability will be a serious issue….

• Bobby on Aug 24, 2011 at 5:31 pm

my dream car once, but now reality kicks in asking to choose a car which is more affordable and practical~

• Mazda HAVE NOT stopped making the RX-8 officially…YES, they have stopped exported it to the US and Europe….it will still be made and sold domestically in Japan…Mazda have continually made and sold a rotary engined car for the past 40 years.

• theanswer on Aug 24, 2011 at 6:50 pm

nice car and unique too! the rotary makes rx8 (or rx version) so special. but maybe in future they can use normal piston engine+turbo+rear wheel drive for their next gen rx.

• uzer90 on Aug 24, 2011 at 7:08 pm

hope external body or design of rx8 stil will come in upcoming mazda model..this car is one of beautiful beast..good news for me as they said they will come with direct-injection and better fuel economy..that INJECT me with full of excitement..
    btw, that Jim O’Sullivan, CEO of Mazda North America..i thought he is the same the late jimmy O sullivan or The Rev, the drummer of avenged sevenfold that died 2years ago..lol..

• Thinkfirst on Aug 24, 2011 at 7:22 pm

The current specs already producing 245hp.

• Dont give up Mazdas i still love your cars!

• Good bye RX model !

• throw in the 2.3 disi from mps..will be a better and quicker car, not mention reliability..the rx8 chassis is sweet and very balanced..

• TurboMan on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:52 am

you think the 2.3 mps engine can fit inside the bay of an rx8?

I know cause i used to own one while working in aussie. The engine is really compact and the fact that its compact, it is mounted low down and behind the front axle, contributing to the balanced chassis. Not a big fan of its fuel consumption though.

Any other engines ( that is not as compact as a Renesis )in there would upset the balance and affect the handling for the worse.

• can anyone tell what rotary engine is?

• Carl Wong on Aug 25, 2011 at 1:35 am

Go green along with the world Mazda!!!

• desmond on Aug 25, 2011 at 5:57 am

i think Mazda is the only Japanese car manufacturer who produces fun cars besides Mitsubishi :/

• R.I.P

• isuzuki on Aug 25, 2011 at 8:33 am

Dun give up, Mazda! Pls.

• Ash Menon on Aug 25, 2011 at 9:38 am

I think for now it’s a good move. It’s just not the right market to be pushing something this ballistic. And Mazda still is known for it’s amazing driving experience and racing knowledge, so there’s definitely something up their sleeve.

• jolly_idiot on Aug 25, 2011 at 12:44 pm

Why? No more wankel no more spirit for Rx range.

• loveit on Aug 25, 2011 at 2:10 pm

good news to me…

• Pontiac on Feb 24, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Like this if u read this in 2013!

• Declan Kreitmayer on Dec 04, 2013 at 2:15 pm

It is a wonder car with amazing interior. It is very unfortunate that they’d stop manufacturing it now. People from all over the world will miss this car.