Another version of the new Toyota Camry – is this ours?

Two days ago, we posted on the new seventh-generation Toyota Camry that made its debut in USA. However, we all know that there are various versions of Toyota’s popular D-segment sedan, and what we may be getting is likely to different from the North American car.

Now, here are some official shots of another version of the new Camry, released by Toyota Ukraine. We can see that the front and rear design of this car is totally different from the US version. This set of pics reveal a Camry with a “baby Lexus LS” front end, which features a grille with more slats and more chrome, which is what buyers from our region (plus China and Russia) generally prefer.

And while the side profile is similar to what we’ve seen from the US, the rear end is once again completely different. While the US car has those distinctive “boomerang” lamp clusters, this one is more “full” in shape, and both sides are connected with a fat chrome strip. Even the rims look familiar.

Inside, there’s lots of wood with glossy finish and metallic accents. They go on to a dark grey cabin, and the overall look is quite classy in a traditional way. We have a feeling that this Camry we see here will be the one ASEAN is getting.

A quick look at the teased brochure/price list reveals two variants for the Ukrainian market – a 2.5 litre inline-4 making 180 PS and a 3.5 litre V6 making 277 PS, both with 6-speed automatic transmission. Hope this means our Camry will also get a 2.5 litre with 6-speed AT to replace the current 2.4 litre with 5-speed AT.

Do you prefer this over the US version? Gallery after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jeremy Chia on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:45 pm

Honda Accord wannabe

• looking-good on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:19 pm

r u the Jeremy from topGear?

btw, why it doesn’t come with LED day time running light? its a must for modern car design now~~

• sagatron on Aug 26, 2011 at 6:27 pm

toyota must be a fans of honda..now its look alike accord…the previous ones looks alike civic…aiyooooooo….toyota, the power of dreams…

• kington on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:15 am

Looks are rather subjective and with so many models that have passed us since the birth of the automobile, certain cues are due to be found in different models.

But i think the design cues from Honda and Toyota are pretty much different.

• pigsy on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:05 am

mana ada looks like accord…

• OMG…This is Camry, not accord lah…This far nicer than the current Accord.

• airitamgoh on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:49 pm

this one looks better.

• kelas sebelah on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:44 pm

setuju :)

• alldisc on Aug 26, 2011 at 6:02 pm

most likely. easy to check. if ukraine was getting the 6th gen camry like what we get now, then most probably we will get the same spec like theirs.

• russiaguy on Aug 28, 2011 at 11:06 am

I don’t think so, Ukraine is getting the USDM 6th generation Camry.

• Iylia H on Aug 26, 2011 at 7:01 pm

agree… but more like a mere facelift…everything look a 100% similar to what we’re having now… except for the redesign front and back portion

• kington on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:17 am

Designs these days need not be revolutionary, an evolution is good enough. Bear in mind that when when you expect designs to be evolutionary, model life cycle will have to be extended else they wouldn’t have time to carve a new one.

• yes, this better be ours..dont want the europe’s

• Alpha on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:50 pm

The front looks very Accord-ish rather than LS.But generally looks better suited for asean market,imo.I’d prefer if Avalon is sold here though.

• Capital B on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:54 pm

I’d prefer this version than the US version. The American Camry is a bit daft looking. It wants to look like a muscle car while trying to look luxurious. Hyundai got it right, not Toyota. Maintain the current chrome front grille is a good move. It does look like a refined gentleman’s car, not a brat from “the hood” who just bought his first car.

• albag on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:55 pm

pretty sharp and neat shape… can see that it will once again conquer the market here… the wooden interior is just a turn off, suitable for apeks i guess…

• TallPan on Aug 27, 2011 at 10:03 pm

omg…… the wood…. i can’t… resist…. it…. i….

…. must…. be… turning…. into…. an…. apek….

lol seriously why do apeks like wood? are we driving furniture here? even modern furniture also has so little wood nowadays… any apeks care to comment? seriously la, enlighten the rest of us

• I like wood if its not fake..this must mean im a 24 year old apek…why i even like the slabby sides which it seems, is so ugly and “uncle” to many readers. Wooh bless me

• Lonely driver on Aug 29, 2011 at 11:34 pm

I am a big apek cause I like this design. Wood must be real then nice and class.

• Arrif on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:56 pm

this 1 look better than the US version we got earlier..

• jolly_idiot on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:56 pm

The front look like new accord to me at first glance.

• Devin Rascal on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:56 pm

I prefer US version. Look sportier than this.

• Lagi best on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:57 pm

I’ll prefer this than the US version!

• looks like the current gen of camry O.O

• Jerry on Aug 27, 2011 at 3:23 pm

The new car is said to be smaller than the outgoing model after customer feedbacks.

• Ko Chun on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:05 pm

wow.. this is good. better looking than the US version.. the rear looks awesome. looking forward to our ckd camry.. :)

• Camrylover on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:10 pm

Exterior is of very safe design. Typical of toyota. Interior looks better than current.
    Hope umw will bring this version to our shores instead of the US version

• Sean Lim on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:10 pm

This version is a lot better!

• kenji1903 on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:11 pm

the fronts seems like a photoshopped version of the Lexus GS :x

• looks like a baby lexus LS

• Nizam on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:17 pm

This one is better than the US version

• Somehow, I think the current version looks the best. You guys said so as well on your Camry/Accord/Teana review. I tend to agree. Why mess with a good design?

• ahshuy on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:22 pm

anytime this over US version

• zaff1984 on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Most likely this is our version. I think.

• Daniel on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Looks more like a facelift

• This one looks more like it. Will please the usual suspects.

• sagatron on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:23 pm

haha..i thought it was honda accord when i saw it first time……

• Jonathan Lee on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:24 pm

I don’t know why Toyota likes to use that reddish brown wood in every Camry. The fact that it looks fake is almost without question – it’s also so old-fashioned it’s not even funny. But then I am 20…

The US version looks better, specifically the SE. Much more edgy and sporty looking.

It’s also good that Toyota kept the dimensions largely similar and has instead looked at increasing interior space by making everything slimmer.

• gracke on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:25 pm

It’s definitely looks like Honda Accord! Not much different than previous model…..Wonder what engine base they will use.

• sumtimes i pity US always get the uglier designs

• cam.shaft on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:27 pm

looks more like a facelift version of the current Camry.

Toyota needs to try harder to compete with the likes of the Korean and now, Nissan. If they wanna capture younger execs.

//CaM.ShAfT

• Kiddo on Aug 26, 2011 at 6:14 pm

I suppose I’m a 21-year-old apek then..haha..I love the Camry over the likes of Accord and Teana (Cefiro at its time) since 15.. XD

A lot of cars are “sensual” buys, but those who think and consider a lot of other factors will still opt for the Camry, or generally, Japanese imo.

• Alanore on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Ya… this one looks more like it, won’t be surprise if we get the beige interior.

• TheInsider on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:29 pm

Ok. just a slightly better I could say.

• aznil on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:31 pm

much nicer than the previous one….

• drMpower on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:32 pm

if not for the backside picture, i thought toyota is crazy and launch another facelift for the current camry!
    the USDM version a bit modern and different, imho

• now this is what that will put sonata in fear !

• afoka on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Front more like accord..except the grill similiar to lexus.

• Milton on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Still looks out dated. I’ll book one on my 58th birthday. Thank you very much. lol!

• RedBeanBun on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:54 pm

I will go all out to get a 5 series at 58 if possible :) at least to remain at 5.

• Unforgiven on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:36 pm

I prefer the US version, just like the Gen8 Civic…

• autojohndoe on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:38 pm

it looks not much different…

• Ini barulah betul!!

• mirror mirror on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:44 pm

This is more like it but I don’t know why they like those hideous glossy interior fake wood.

• notorius on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:45 pm

ah toyota, safe design.. not exciting enough

• Still boxy again!!! Only bodohman will buy this car!!!

• The front looks good… but the rear looks horrible! The rear of the US version looks better compared to this.

• Yup..definitely prefer this over the US version. Its much more classy and has more of a premium feel compared to the US version. But perhaps Toyota Malaysia should bring in more variants of the Camry here, so that consumers can choose either a more luxury spec-ed car or a more sporty-looking car or a combination of both….for example, if you check out the Toyota Australia site, there are like around 5 versions of the Camry there, including the Hybrid variant..

• neurra on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:49 pm

now we’re talking

• Personally, I preferred this version over the North American’s version. Overall the design is not that bad, just not as attractive as their competitor’s offerings. At least this design had the luxury sedan appearance. My 2 cents.

• accord…!!!!!

• I prefer this one..still got the cue of the prev model..which will makes it still look good years to come..

• aimantakkisah on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:56 pm

hater: dood… this one look very lexus la….too boring la…toyota out of idea ke?

dood: but lexus is still toyota right ?

hater: but korean still got better look than this japs..

dood: hmm.. which one u gonna buy ? this japs(camry) or the korean?

hater: none . i can afford boleh-brand only la..

dood: so, why complaint so much?

hater: who cares ? haters gonna hate .

• Cambry on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:56 pm

This is much better than the US version

• Azamiruddin (Kedah, Malaysia) on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:00 pm

A bit from Lexus….nice one…

• sri hartamas on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:01 pm

Asian buyers would most probably prefer this version over the US one.

• kenot on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:03 pm

this is much better for asean market

• Jeffreyee on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:05 pm

Yeah, very much prefer this version. Need more chrome to be Executive class. First version of US ones was worst than our current camry. Especially the red one with the look alike Subaru front bumper. Bravo, hope Umw brings this model in. Heard that it will be assemble at Shah Alam.

• Gajen on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:06 pm

2006 camry looks so much better than this,2006 camry’s grill is much more detailed,this on the other hand,the girl is just horizontal lines..the rear is nothing special..quite disappointed,the interior is solid though,the japanese are really losing out to the koreans,the optima will be a bomb

• Abu Amir on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:07 pm

This version is better than US version. I like it.

• JonLing on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Personally I prefer this version than the US version. This has more maturity and sophistication in it, somehow the US version looks a bit rush, in terms of design. This is more well thought for me. and it looks like this is a more probable model for Toyota to introduce here, coz Camry is all about class and luxury in this region.

and thankfully, the meters also sport a different design than the US version. Similar to the gorgeous design of the current Camry, just in black colour scheme this time. the US version is wayyyyy too plain for its own good……whew! what a relief…….

• anonymous on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:08 pm

This is definitely much better looking. More Lexus feel..

• hawtai beloney on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:08 pm

i like both. maybe the us one better

• kwing on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:08 pm

tis looks boring..

• profiler on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:11 pm

is this really new seventh generation model? looks like facelifted!!!!

• nimusy89 on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:13 pm

thinks the us version is better…

• that’s more like it!

• Expatriate VN on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:14 pm

I prefer JDM version over USDM

• front look very accord like..

• jeffreyee on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Yeah, I like this version better. Executive front and back.
    Hope Umw brings in this version instead of US version. US version for the red colour with Subaru look alike front bumper look fugly.

• gosh, this is so asian. personally, the us version looks better.

• irwan on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:25 pm

This is so much better than the US one.

• Now….if you compare this with the US model…I will give a thumbs up at least! But still…it is a dull look, hopefully it gives me a different view while it is on the road.

• JeffLim on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:26 pm

This version is WAY Better than the US Version. The front looks more LEXUS’ish. Rear, 10x better looking than the USA Version. VERDICT: Good but NO CIGAR!

• Bg009 on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Still, I’ll no doubt to the reliability of Toyota… In terms of design, OUT…

• ilovecamry on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:28 pm

front very Lexus 460 look

• bongek on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:28 pm

happy holiday Danny

• This is better than the us version, but still not that good yet, must improve.

• ABTguy on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:30 pm

I think so man …. more old man looks for Asian :D

• Chilavert on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:35 pm

not much differences with current camry but this is definitely waaaayyyyyyyy better than the US version of new camry.

• aimantakkisah on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:36 pm

……………

• putra_rider on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:37 pm

accord front? at least better than the other one before.

• PokokCerryMechanic on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:43 pm

Now that a Camry. may not look much but its still better (lookwise only)

• klguy on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:45 pm

looks like its meant for the Apek generation. will sell well

• beng chai on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:47 pm

wei uncle..laju betul lu bw camry heh…

• accord….!!!!!

• This is more “palatable” than the US version. In fact its more than that. The exterior are magnificent and “big” looking, few years down the line this will still stand up among the competitors. Guess this is our version as its not too different than the current version. Just keep our fingers crossed until the curtain is up.

• Well done….Thats it, the New T.Camry.

• mrBMW on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:49 pm

I like this one!

• looking-good on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:50 pm

now this look like a camry……

• kapilharesh on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:50 pm

i’d take this any day. Way better than the US one.

• kapilharesh on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:52 pm

i’d take this one any day! Way better than the US one. Looks more executive.

• squall_shinoda on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:59 pm

I can smell 9th-gen Honda Civic inside this Camry…!!! Looks like even Toyota also has already running out of ideas for new design.

• huayeang on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:00 pm

Wow! This version of Camry definitely looks bette than the American version. Well done Toyota. Really really hope that this version will be used in Asian market including Malaysia :D

• Chimera on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:00 pm

Hmm… interior look fine :-) .
    just bumper too bulky muscle.
    current facelifted camry much smooth classy look,
    but better than newly launch Camry US version.

• The front look like ACCORD i think becoz of the big GRILL.Overall shape look like the LEXUS LS and interior is so much better than the current one.Is not a bad design but is not great either, still cant beat the KOREAN.

• Altisan on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:13 pm

No wooden interior plz…

• J@CK LIM on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:20 pm

The rear is awesome…

• M0Faz on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:20 pm

Toyota Salesman unite!

• cheng on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:34 pm

too old fashion. the US version is nicer.

• Stefan on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:34 pm

my fren in UMW told me the new camry adopt the design that was previously a rejected sketch of Lexus GS. after seeing these pictures, i can see why it was rejected by Lexus

• uncle sam on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:37 pm

I love this car. I can see all the uncle-ness in it. oh yea… the wood panel. Uncle just wet his pants again.

• terkejut boboy. ingat Honda Accord yang di-facelift-kan.

• skiborne on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:43 pm

can anybody answer me? why all of camry drivers drive like hooligans and with that kiasu attitude? sheesh,

• skiborne on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:43 pm

i want peugeot 508 instead of this cheapo

• caruser on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:17 pm

That’s one too many chrome grills on the front. Exterior… still looks the same with old camry mah. Interior …may pleased those over 50 years lo. Toyota are still not able to produce a good looking car that do not look out of date after 3 years!

• Safe Drive on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Yup, it’s the same old design for ASEAN allright. Just like the old one minus a bit of makeup here and there. Cheers and have a nice holiday for all!

• Yawn,…..ZZzzzz

• First time l think this Lexus LS wannabe Camry will be a winner again. Bring a hybrid too

• TORRES on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:45 pm

If im the BOSS of TOYOTA i’ll sack the DESIGNER!!!!!!

• busted on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:57 pm

much better

• Jerry on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Utterly predictable design. Asian customers will like no doubt.

Does it has aero stabilizing fins which are found on USDM models?

• Expatriate VN on Aug 26, 2011 at 6:00 pm

In Vietnam, current Camry, they offering both JDM and USDM version. So, they have best of both world.

Why Malaysian can’t do the same! Lousy UMW Toyota!

• Landen on Aug 26, 2011 at 6:13 pm

Due to the uncle-ish design, almost certain Malaysian will get this one.

Not sure about the marketing, I believe car-maker can sell a stylish(younger if you will) design to older folks, but harder to sell an uninspiring(on the safety side?) design to younger crowd.

The Camry, fine design but lack of wow factor, I think Toyota can do better than this.
    Look at the new GS mature yet exciting.

Majority of the resources are with Lexus?

• Robert888 on Aug 26, 2011 at 6:29 pm

Compare to current 09~11 design this design look better,

however hope the “cost reduction” program which always adopted by local T won’t affect so much on the CKD’s version.

• better looking than the us version. prefer this one. Looks like lexus..

• kitman on Aug 26, 2011 at 7:04 pm

accord new fl?
    uncle look
    boring look

• Fei Chai on Aug 26, 2011 at 7:32 pm

So much like Lexus! Not bad

• Andrew on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:01 pm

Front looks fine, but the rear lamps…….
    Not so tempting……
    Interior keeps all things cool and nice…
    Convenient choice for daily traveling…
    1/4 of my vote goes for it ( executive car range)

• actually i prefer the headlights from the US version..couldnt they have maintained the lights with this grille maybe?

• Haha accord wannabe. Back design nicer than accord la. Shud have better specs but accord still my way 2 go.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:35 pm

this is what would probably become the replacement of the current Asian camry.

I find it odd that we didn’t get the US Camry in the current generation….especially pitted against the quite larger US Accord.

I have a LS460 parked right in front of me now and boy does this camry apes its bigger brother.

It would be a tough fight with the Sonata gaining ground, the Optima due to be launched, and the impending replacement of the ageing 407 with the new 508 and not forgetting the slightly more premium local CKD Passat.

That D segment is getting awfully crowded. That would make it a total of 9 D-segment “non-luxury” cars between 140-190k

Not that I am complaining. Choice and a bit of competition is always good for consumers.

• Mask Ryder on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:55 pm

JDM Version look the Best, hopefully UMW Choose it over this, spare the wood trim please (have it as optional if anybody like it).

• Simon Sez on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:10 pm

This is better than the US version for sure.

• nuraizat on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:15 pm

love this one better!. instead of previous camry… hehe

• Nicky on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:13 pm

Lexus LS460 headlight?

• i thought its accord face-lift model…rear looks ok la…interior looks like conti cars & lexus…

• Jimmy on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Baby Lexus is better than elder Civic.
    The butt lamps need to be reworked, too sharp and too non-square or whatever you call it.
    Don’t repeat the story of Civic vs Altis; NO only-two-airbags, NO 4-speededr, NO dinosaur engines.

• Jimmy on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:50 pm

Jap cars: Nissan’s interior wood has the best look and feel, ya? Unfortunately they are not confident at telescopic steering.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:52 pm

This looks much better than the USA version, no matters those beautiful girl’s girl friend normally looks….so the comparison will take place and looks better…hahaa…but this car really look like Accord feel abit..

• maliq on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:20 am

there is nothing wrong with the car. it still look nice, only that it does not give me the extra special feeling like the current camry in malaysia when i first saw it. Im thinking of changing my camry, but maybe i will go to lexus.. Upgrade a bit

• Looks more like a facelifted of the current camry. I have owned the previous camry
    ACV 30 and now having the current camry ACV40. I have no intention of changing to this model for sure.

• Mazda freak on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:39 am

the look can’t even beat the current Mazda 6. fail big time T brand.

• This is much better looking than the USDM. I’ll keep my money for this and please bring this model to M’sia as soon.

• thisiszul on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:13 am

better than US version..but i still hate the wooden panel..sometimes look like accord from the front..overall ok..we will see what we have maybe in september..

• boboi on Aug 27, 2011 at 2:32 am

I think this Camry will help Toyota to ‘grab’ into some of Accord lovers since the front styling is almost similar. The next step is to try to impress these customers hopefully with the handling and stability of this Camry so as to ‘keep’ this segment of customers to be brand loyal. Great move Toyota. Same as the US version which is quite similar to Honda Civic.. Toyota is shouting: Try me and u may just fall in love with me!

• RedBeanBun on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:12 am

the sale of Accord in Msia is so far away compare to Camry…

• pascash on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:39 am

US version looks like a Corolla injected with large amounts of steroid

• maybe malaysians have put in their heads specific designs for each class, D segment cars can be sporty but not too sporty like C segment cars.
    for example camry headlamps should be big, not small and sporty like altis, the bumper also needs to be big, the bottom part for foglamps should be unified to the other side, not copy the lotus bumper design which is weird on the camry. the body also have to be quite bulky, sturdy look tough and big, not slimmish

maybe this is not an issue for americans but in china there is prefernce for longer wheelbase cars.

different people different taste

• huayeang on Aug 27, 2011 at 10:20 am

No matter what, Camry still hold its own unique beauty and reliability, same to Accord. Accord, Camry and Sonata will dominate M’sian market for the entry level D-segment category:D

• Uncle Toyota on Aug 27, 2011 at 11:32 am

Finally! Toyota listened to my countless emails and designed the new Camry to look like the Accord! Yippee! They also made the butt look so ugly that people whom I pass on the highway will pity me instead of trying to tailgate me hahahah!

Buy! Buy! Buy!

• MouMouRen on Aug 27, 2011 at 11:32 am

Looks like LEXUS LS for me… Anyway, nice camry…

• Mike K on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:22 pm

Toyota management, if you are reading this comment please consider to bring this version instead of the US version, this looks much better for the market segment and since more medium/medium-upper class people are coming from mid 30 and early 40s they might still prefer a sporty luxury ride, please give us the dark interior and also if possible minimize the wooden trim. thanks for listening. :)

• satrian on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:56 pm

There is no Accord design at all lah…….i dunno hw they can say there is Accord DNA…..may be they all driving Proton kot,……heheheh……be frank im driving the current Camry 09 model….for me wat i can say there is some Camry 2002-2007 cues at the rear side profile,2007-now generation camry cues at the roof and rear door. Interior more to the 2011 toyota mark x and the front side proile too (the curve). The front more to the current Altis.Its TOYOTA design language i guess………

• rear lamps look like a facelift of the fugly 2003 camry. jap designers have lost it. the best looking camry ever will the be current version.

• Jerry on Aug 27, 2011 at 2:21 pm

I do realize the new Asian Camry has a hint of Chevrolet Epica in the rear combination lamps. I have always find the current car’s Euro-influenced styling too butch and aggressive. The Japanese people value low key and humility. These values have once again found their ways onto the new Asian Camry with its “squared off, slenderized” stance. Makes the car less aggressive, more benign. By the way, which one of the two designs is JDM Camry?

• At first I thought this is a Lexus ES.. cause it looks like the outgoing Lexus ES didn’t they?

• I see the return of b!g butt camry.

Young wankers need not apply.

• sick&tired on Aug 28, 2011 at 2:36 pm

toyota is playing it safe it with the camry so much so that it looks like the previous generation! i would love to see a shootout between this camry, hyundai sonata and kia optima.

• here comes the old camry

• i can see a lot of uncles commenting here..

• Jack Leong on Aug 29, 2011 at 2:14 pm

facelift after facelift…

• transformer on Aug 29, 2011 at 9:52 pm

nothing new to be excited about, just dull as usual…..
    Toy know for play safe and save cost by re-cycling old tooling and jigs for at least 2 generation model or more…. same to its engine(same block with diff tune and maybe with some extra new bits….. Toy just play safe, too safe that its…..

ok ok… 2nd hand value…. if anyone cares about 2nd value, better off to real estate and not a car that will depreciates…..

• YOU MAKE A VERY GOOD COMMENT! BUT A LOT OF CONSUMERS ONLY WHAT TO HAVE GOOD SECOND VALUE. WHAT MOST OF CONSUMERS WILL ASK IS GOT SECOND HAND VALUE? NO PROBLEM? AND NOW ONE MORE CAN USE PETROL RON 95? THAT WHY “T” AND “H” CAN SELL THEIR CAR WITH EXPENSIVE PRICE BUT WITH ALMOST “KOSONG” FEATURES.
      ANY WAY I NOTICE THE NO “SECOND VALUE” BRANDS GETTING MORE AND MORE ON THE ROAD ESPECIALLY KL… MALAYSIA CAR CONSUMERS START TO KNOW WHAT THEY WANT…

• IN MY OPINION, TOYOTA DESIGNERS STILL VERY CONSERVATIVE AND THIS NEW TOYOTA CAMRY TOTALLY NOT OUTSTANDING AT ALL. IT JUST LOOK LIKE BIGGER SIZE TOYOTA ALTIS. ANYWAY THE ONLY THING I LIKE IS THE STEERING WHEEL DESIGN. SECONDLY WHAT I MORE CONCERN IS THE FEATURES THAT WILL OFFER TO MALAYSIA MARKET. AS WE ALL KNOW EXISTING TOYOTA CAMRY IS EXPENSIVE BUT”KOSONG”. LESS SAFETY FEATURES COMPARE TO OTHERS.
    WHAT TYPE OF SUSPENSION THAT THIS NEW VERSION WILL HAVE? ONE OF MY CUSTOMERS DID TELL ME HE HAS TOYOTA WISH AND EXISITING MODEL TOYOTA CAMRY 2.4. BUT IN TERM OF STABILITY TOYOTA WISH IS BETTER THAN THE LATER. EXISTING TOYOTA CAMRY ROAD HOLD IS SO-SO ONLY….IN TERM OF QUALITY ALSO HAVE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS….

• typical toyota…no imagination at all…boring boring toyota…the only toyota that stir some excitement in me is ft-86. the rest just plain boring. boring car for boring people. enough said

• SUN-VISOR on Sep 03, 2011 at 7:35 pm

Mine is 2004 Vios…. Very satisfied with ride handling & NVH…..
    Last month, borrowed my cousin’s Forte… drive from KL to Penang…. ride handling so…so… NVH suck…. suspension tik-tik sound… instrument panel got rattling noise….
    Sure will buy this Camry next year…. I heard it will be launched July 2012….

• Good to have customers like you. Does not take much to satisfy. Every few years just change the shape slightly with the same internals and you will be satisfied.

• Joe tan on Oct 01, 2011 at 10:16 pm

My next car for sure!