Proton set to take on IRC champs Skoda in their home rally

The Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC) resumes this weekend in the Czech Republic, and Proton will be there at the Barum Czech Rally Zlin with their yellow Neos piloted by two-time FIA Junior World Rally Champion P-G Andersson and double FIA European Rally Champion Giandomenico Basso. This is round seven of IRC 2011’s 11 races.

Based in the south-east of the Czech Republic, some 300 km east from capital Prague and about 200 km north from the Austrian capital of Vienna, the 41st edition of the Zlin Rally will be contested through the forests close to the city of Zlin. The event will consist of 15 special stages with a combined competitive distance of 248.48 km. High-speed and tricky asphalt roads will be waiting for the drivers.

Rallying begins with a 9.36 km test along a super special stage in the town centre which will be run in the dark before day two takes teams through another nine SS totaling 133.4 km. The third and final day will feature six special stages with a distance of 115 km. The event will see 29 S2000 cars battle, 14 of which are Skoda Fabia S2000s, from a total of 123 registered entries. This is the home race for Skoda, the IRC champions.

“The roads on this rally can be quite bumpy with some broken tarmac, which is good for me – this kind of condition suits me quite well. I haven’t competed in Zlin before, but I have heard a lot about the rally. I’m looking forward to getting out there and driving again to chase a good result,” said ex-Suzuki man Andersson.

“The most important thing is to find a good confidence in the car on the bumpy surface. Barum is not like a normal tarmac rally, it is very specific. The bumps make finding the right set-up complicated so there is a lot of work to do with the dampers. The roads in Zlin can be especially difficult when there is rain,” said the experienced Italian Basso.

I went to the official Czech Rally website, and guess what greeted me? Hint, it’s not a Skoda!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Alan Wong on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:35 am

Go PROTON!!! GOOooooo!!!

• mnazri.tan on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:38 am

call me whatever, i feel proud when i open the link/website and greeted with Neo’s picture….a recognation….Just hope proton would carry on the momentun and start producing new Satria…the only worry would be that base on paul previous posting, satria only sell at about 300 unit a month…can proton continue satria ? all the best

• bongek on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:45 pm

maybe proton should start to sell it outside?

• Chicky on Aug 27, 2011 at 11:28 am

Proton will cease Satria Neo production next year (as well as Gen.2 and Savvy). Sad tho… but hoping for better replacement.

• binko on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:38 am

I went to the official Czech Rally website, and guess what greeted me? Hint, it’s not a Skoda!

hahahahaha..it’s a neo!

• wahoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo nice nice neo as greeting hahaha like it

• Yea Msians can be proud all day long over a picture posted in some website and cry all years long cos can’t afford good/decent/ quality car due to massive taxes/tariff/proton protection fees….ha3

• autojohndoe on Aug 26, 2011 at 12:59 pm

yea you can complain all life long over a tariff that who knows when will be lifted…

if you just like to complain… live with it…

• U are just another set of human who live under other’s blind rules. U just simply ignore what is good or bad things for u and forget that u deserve better…..while people in Czech enjoy access to decent cars….u only able to be proud with picture posted in blog….go get real car la dude….don’t waste your time be unpaid PROTONG cybertrooper…

• autojohndoe on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:18 pm

what is real car?

for me, a car is one item that can bring me one point to another…

while ppl in czech get better car, why dont you buy car from them? simple isnt it…

if you live in malaysia… accept the fact that you’ll live in its system until the day you yourself able to change it….

• autojohndoe on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:20 pm

plus… dont waste your time being unpaid Anti-Proton cybertrooper…

• Unforgiven on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Please be good and do the right thing… be fair to all…

• Citroën ds3 on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:16 pm

eh? don’t like? work harder la.. why only hoping for things to go away? why not work towards it?

• ha3 I m hard working…I m owned an import car…so u my friend dh dpt beli ka itu DS3..or masih mimpi lagi…

• FR Geek on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:44 pm

even we willing to work harder , still it has to be feel worth it than we all will feel fair …

• tiadaid on Aug 26, 2011 at 4:29 pm

If you can’t afford a decent car now, you can’t afford a decent car period. Yes, go ahead and reduce the tariffs if you want, but at the same time reduce the loan period and increase the interest rates. Last time I saw, VW UK offers an attractive interest rate of 7.9% for a 3 year loan on a Polo, worth around 60K++ without tax. Can you afford to buy a 60K car with a 3 year loan right now?

• Unforgiven on Aug 26, 2011 at 5:22 pm

3 is better than 9 years.
        The most should be 5 years, since after that a new model will be out soon…

• then no one want to sell their car here coz the profit from so little car can sell can’t cover their operation cost. then kill our auto industries including workshop, spare part dealer etc. so many people cannot ‘cari makan’..

• Dear my friend, I owned a 140k import car….jap brand….i just wonder how the unfortunate people outside there brought car…it seem that most of them are force to own proton or produa…imagine family of 5 squeeze in 2nd kancil…or even buying new car…how many portion or their income used for instalment…if proton can build a decent car…..if…

• Nicky on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:10 pm

cool! then what’s to complain? there will always be the less fortunate around the world. and Proton built decent cars, look at persona! saga! you want more “DECENT” you must have DECENT money lah, dont just complain. and you are saying the less fortunate should drive a camry? accord?

• Mazda3 on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:39 am

dear my friend, my point is y cant’ proton compete fairly in the market….if all those pesonas, sagas is decent car, wat is their indicators, safety rating, FC rating, build quality issue…etc….reduce the taxes would allow more choice of cars not just for riches but also to the unfortunate…those pesona may feel good for u but not to others…y u want to force them to buy it in the of national cars? how abt mahafiraun anounce national religion and you force to pay taxes just for to perform difference religion???

• no dear hes saying the average msian might be able to maybe drive suzuki alto, vios, or even polo a rm100k a SUPERMINI which cost less than rm70k everywhere else instead of just having to live with proton. wouldnt you want a rm70k polo?

• albag on Aug 26, 2011 at 1:37 pm

i wish some diecast makers can make a model on this car… autoart please?

• Hail yeah on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:30 pm

Why autoart only, BBR la. You should be happy if even maisto or bburago bother make it.

• DewaSemut on Aug 26, 2011 at 2:16 pm

Whooaaa… Bangga.. bangga…

• Citroën ds3 on Aug 26, 2011 at 3:14 pm

kudos to the Proton rally team.. at least now they are having the substance.. would really hope Discovery Turbo to start some rally segments to follow up with all this rally races.. not to say I don’t enjoy reading it off PaulTan.org and etc.. but it would be nice if got sound.. hahaha..

And hopefully this will start the birth of an heir to the Legendary Proton Satria GTi.. I really don’t think the Neo R3 is the rightful heir to that throne.. though i never sat in it before, it just does not evoke the same aura as the first Satria GTi… come on proton boys.. capitalize on this!! if Satria GTi can Aussie’s favourite hatchback at one time.. lets do it again!!

• yeah go proton go, btw salam aidilfitri to all and happy holiday.

• altecs on Aug 26, 2011 at 7:05 pm

That yellow paint job on the s2000 neo is just so….. majestic.

• asreh on Aug 27, 2011 at 8:48 am

is there any workshop that can tone-down the paint design so that it’ssuitable for normal neo, not overdone like standard/oem one? really like the eye-shadow-look alike design and tiger head on the rear fender