Volkswagen Polo GTI launched in Sepang – Mk5 looks set to win lots of new friends

Volkswagen Group Malaysia today launched the Polo GTI at the Sepang International Circuit, in conjunction with the Scirocco R-Cup one-make race taking place there over the weekend. The Mk5 arrives in both three-door and five-door form, with both variants sharing common specifications and features.

The twin-charged 1.4 litre TSI unit that equips the car offers 180 PS (or 178 hp, if you will) at 6,200 rpm and 250 Nm at 2,000-4,500 rpm, and the Mk5 gets a seven-speed Direct Shift Gearbox transmission – with an XDS electronic transverse differential lock – as standard. Performance specs for the 1,269 kg hatch include a 6.9 seconds 0-100 kph time as well as a 229 kph top speed.

While the power output is 30 PS more than that offered by the 1.8 litre turbo mill on its predecessor, VW is playing up the Mk5’s frugalness in consuming less fuel even with that substantial increase in zip, with the car managing a claimed 5.9 litres per 100 km compared to the Mk4’s 7.9 litres per 100 km, an improvement of 24%.

There’s the usual mix of ABS, EBD and ESP, as well as hill-hold control, and the GTI comes with a sports suspension and 17-inch Detroit alloys, wrapped with 215/40 series Bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin RE001 rubbers. Features include bi-xenon headlights (the GTI is the first Polo to wear them) with cornering lights, LED daytime running lights and corner marker lights as well as a panoramic tilt/slide sunroof.

Inside the cabin, you get sports seats dressed in the familiar GTI tartan design (called Jacky, if you must know), and items such as electro-hydraulic power steering, electric windows, rain sensor, central locking, driver seat height adjustment, green tinted insulated glass.

Also on, cruise control, rear park distance control (PDC), a leather-wrapped multi-function three-spoke steering wheel with paddle shift and a RCD 310 radio/CD/MP3 player with USB/iPod/AUX-In connectivity.

In terms of safety features, the car comes equipped with combined head-thorax side airbags and twin front airbags, belt tensioners, belt tension limiters plus belt warning, head restraints designed to avoid whiplash trauma (each in front) as well as Isofix points on the rear bench seat.

There are six different colours to choose from, these being Candy White, Flash Red and Black as solid shades, Reflex Silver and Shadow Blue as metallic colours and Deep Black with a pearl effect.

Of these, the white, red and silver were the shades worn by the test mules that were serving on track as part of the launch and drive experience. I can’t, however, tell you what the Polo GTI feels like on track (no groans, please); my counterpart from Autocar Asean and I were supposed to be the last two out, but by the time it was to be our turn, the track closed for race practice.

What I can tell you is how the Polo GTI feels out on the road, albeit briefly – arrangements were made to get us both out for a short blast around the ‘hood. It turned out to be a pretty decent session; the weather had just begin to take a turn for the worse, but the roads just around the circuit gave enough space and length to stretch the car’s legs, with a good mix of sweepers and wide-ish corners.

There’s a decent amount of poke from the get go, and with the slippery conditions permeating there was even a chance to get torque steer going initially, standing on it. Managing to get up to speeds of 150 kph on the back roads, the car felt lively and willing to go. The steering feels nicely weighted, with turn-in crisp and rapid, and those who revel in information coming off the wheel will quite like this one.

Handling-wise, the car’s articulate character shines, and responds to ruffian behaviour like it loves it. Like its bigger Golf sibling, this one makes average drivers feel more accomplished than they are, and rewards better ones. Grip levels are high, and in-corner composure (and follow-through) is very poised when the car is set up cleanly. Nimble is the word that springs to mind.

All this ability to deliver such thuggery is tempered by the suggestion from the course terrain chosen that the Polo’s suspension is, for want of a better word, unyielding. The firm quality coming off it has great appeal (I love it for what it accomplishes), but you’ll have to savour the ruts and dips with equal passion, especially if you’re bombing along at speed. It got a bit hairy once during the run, but on the whole affects passenger comfort more than the car’s disposition.

Arguably, the person who buys a Polo GTI isn’t going to tick compliance in the boxes, but daily use might turn out to be an interesting affair, based on the initial take – the full session with the car when it comes should answer things better.

Based on the brief impressions, the Mk5 is looking like every bit the pocket rocket it’s suggested to be though. At RM132,888 for the three-door and RM135,888 for the five-door variant, you can imagine this one doing very well, and the three-door looks quite likely to be the kitten chosen by those who so want to take one home.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Not fully automatic aircond??

• I hope VW never bring this car to M’sia bcoz i bought my overprice 1.2TSI Polo already!bad news for Polo owners :'(

• vansgoh on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:53 am

yeah, agree… bad news for me as well… ha ha ha…

• _xXx_ on Aug 27, 2011 at 3:19 pm

nothing much u can do now. Huge loss is expected if u sell ur 1.2TSI.

• Actually i don’t really mind the resale value but the thing is Polo GTI is worth!with powerful 1.4TSI Engine + LED + bigger rims + black sunroof + many things…only 138K!my 1.2TSI Polo is fun to drive and quite fast but without the sport lights and i really hate the ugly rims!ahh why don’t VW just bring the GTI version for us!!!it’s too late now!

• Ayecaramba! on Aug 27, 2011 at 7:42 pm

:( Same here. Sigh. Good news for the public but bad news for the Polo 1.2tsi owners.

• De Ber on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:02 pm

The 1.2 is great by itself, no regrets at all.

• I love Polo GTI sedan on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:51 pm

I’ll wait for Polo GTI sedan, which will be CKDed in Malaysia.

• torque on Aug 27, 2011 at 11:31 pm

Won’t happen bro! I know since I work under VW…no way a GTi badge is gonna be CKD in Malaysia.

• Since when did GTIs come in sedan form?

• I love Polo GTI sedan on Aug 30, 2011 at 10:42 am

VW has a sedan version of Golf GTI called Jetta GLI, as the Jetta is a booted Golf.

• Jetta GLI is not a Golf GTI with a boot!!! There are significant difference between a GTI and its normal counterparts.

It’s not just the engine, you know?

• Jerry on Aug 28, 2011 at 10:09 am

Some say the Polo GTI is irrelevant that if you had the dough should plonk them down for the legendary Golf GTI instead. This view makes the Polo 1.2 TSI more sensible especially if you opt for an aftermaket ABT power upgrade package (RM7,200).

• torque on Aug 28, 2011 at 10:32 am

i don’t think that is very sensible Jerry since u will only be getting a power upgrade which cost u RM7,200. What about the handling (XDS), 17″ rims, sunroof, the bucket “Jacky” seat, the 1.4 TSi twincharger engine, front xenon with LED lights, media in…please count all those in and don’t u think that the Polo GTi is more sensible purchase bro?

p/s: Power upgrade with small 15″ rims is NOT sensible to me.

• Having a perfect balance of handling made the Golf GTI a Legend.

For Polo 1.2 TSI , i would said the handling of the car does not match the power of the car and you suggest to add more power !

Waiting for the VW sales person to give me a call for test drive when the units available in Penang

• sadasd on Aug 28, 2011 at 8:24 pm

if you buy 2 doors, please make sure you dont cramp your whole family in the car.

i always saw ppl do that in satria neo, and i look down on them.

you have a dream, and you ask your family to suffer while you so called fulfilled your dream of driving a 50k 2 door car. this is selfish and idiotic.

if you have a family, pls buy a civic/altis to ferry them, dont ever do that in a 2 door hatchback, thanks.

• go genting concern on Aug 30, 2011 at 12:01 pm

Anyone care to tell this car performance when climbing steep hill ? can go genting without hassle ke?

• VW Mania on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:56 pm

Is there any headrest for the rear seats?

• VW Mania on Aug 26, 2011 at 8:57 pm

Is there any headrest for the rear seats? If no then it would be very plain like Kenari seats.

• TIMOTHY DALTON on Aug 27, 2011 at 7:20 am

this VW is just beautiful Toy Car for City Quick Sprint for groceries and pretty cheap too, safety performance wise far greater than Civic Kia or even Hyundai of similar price range. Want quality and comfort, go Continental especially the Germans….theyre like Kjeldsen Butter Cookies over Tea!

• Thomlee on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:05 pm

Best affordable hot hatch evar!!

• nicely done vw :D

• van hohenheim on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:22 pm

for perfomance of less than 7sec to 100, i wont ask more for auto aircon

• I definitely want one!

• need to make more money.. need to make more money.. need to make more money.. need to make more money.. …

• How come when buy VW can get aluminium number plates instead of other car brand which provide plastic number plates?

• torque on Aug 27, 2011 at 11:34 pm

It’s personal order la bro, JPJ tak lepas punya. At own risk, cost RM170.

• shawal on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:46 pm

looks aside, its prolly the best hot hatch on sale, cuz of the price, the tech underneath ,and 7 sec century sprint!

• marco_polo on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:51 pm

For this price and performance, screw auto aircon and backseat headrests!!!
    2-door cheaper than 4-door, OMG THANK YOU VGM!!!!

• rosdi on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Two questions that went unanswered.., does it REQUIRE RON98?? and is that 6.9 second on RON98 or RON95??

Big bummer if it requires RON98.

• rosdi on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:08 pm

I found it here, http://my.volkswagen.com/vwcms/master_public/virtualmaster/my/models2/polo_gti/data_and_facts/technical_data.html

RON95 can be used…, but don’t expect 6.9 seconds.

• 4545er on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:10 pm

besides it’s also written 1680kg not 1194kg like Anthony said

• Paul Tan on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:38 pm

That is gross vehicle weight, what Anthony mentioned is kerb weight. That kinda almost 1,700kg number for kerb weight is something like a BMW 5-Series.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:53 am

Indeed, the 1,680kg number is gross weight, but just noticed there’s a discrepancy in the unladen (kerb) weight numbers – the release said 1,194kg, while the tech specs list it as 1,269kg. The former might be dry kerb weight, without fluids etc. In any case I am changing it to the 1,269kg figure in the story, to reflect that as in the official list.

• bobdbilder on Aug 27, 2011 at 10:42 pm

I think Gross Weight is the maximum weight a car can carry based on standard fittings. Bigger wheels means more load can be carried. This also means Gross Weight = car + people + cargo. Kerb/Curb is Car+1 driver+full tank fuel (EU)+full radiator. The 75kg difference is a weight of a typical driver which is part of the EU directive. Whereas they would state it lighter on a NAFTA brochure/owner’s manual.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 28, 2011 at 6:48 am

Ah, yes, bob, you’re right. Forgot all about the single occupant (driver) weight, BMW used to list the figure as such in the owner’s manuals, as in kerb weight +driver. Hence the 75 kilo diff. Thanks for jogging the memory.

• Ordinary Joe on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:36 am

Malaysia doesnt even have 98 la. 97 highest. Minimum is 95 for polo gti.

• lonelyobserve on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:53 pm

Any other rims from VW besides the default one?

• mystvearn on Aug 26, 2011 at 9:58 pm

Anthony, can I know what is your take on this Polo GTi vs Golf GTi. Is the RM70k price difference worth it? Or does the Golf GTi feels RM70k better than the Polo GTi? The Golf GTi also makes 0-100 km in 6.9 secs but uses more fuel than this. It seems that its pointless to get a Golf GTi now…

What about NVH levels?

Really hope you could do a full review and comparing it with its Golf GTi

• rosdi on Aug 26, 2011 at 10:04 pm

Golf GTi is bigger and badder lah… top speed cannot lawan one.. Polo GTi dont hold a candle against the Golf GTi.

• murad on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:18 am

mystvearn has a point, if you’re those who wants speed, hot hatch, european, not fetching family here and there with demand for leg space, i think the price hit the right note. on the lighter side, it uses less fuel, cheaper ROADTAX, cheaper insurance.

I will have to somewhat agree that this Polo probably had cannibalized some of Golf GTI market demand. But then again if you’re those who really want style, looked up upon and not being called because you can’t offered the real thing, you go for the alternative., then maybe the Golf GTI is a better choice.

It would be good that there is a head to head review from head to toe for both Polo GTI and GOLF GTI.

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHmYCjqikEs

Perfect video that sums up golf gti vs polo gti.
          Though the polo driver is a douche.
          The drag race gives a clear indication

• mystvearn on Aug 27, 2011 at 5:27 pm

I don’t mind being called cheap. RM 70k can use it to get another people carrier or for petrol and tyre replacement. For a normal day-to-day commute a 1.4l makes a lot of sense. Traffic jam everywhere. No chance to use that power.

On another note, Paul posted that Honda insight has overtook the civic this month in terms of sales. Everything is expansive now.. mpg matters.

That youtube video shows the golf gti superior. Also, based on the comments, there is a driver factor as well :P

• Downs on Aug 27, 2011 at 8:00 pm

70k can be used to get Exora for family rides and Polo Gti ofr urself. Hehe.

• murad on Aug 27, 2011 at 10:45 pm

agree, i’m targeting for a Golf GTI, but this really makes me think twice if that RM70K is all worth it, like you say I don’t mind being called cheap, but then again in Malaysia, for this price and performance, it’s really a steal. What car with this price gives this whole performance package? Even the Mazda MPS doesn’t come to this, and worst is the MPS is using run on flat tyres, it will cost a bloody bomb for that size for replacement.

• bro, go study more first before you cincai comment

• Nobody is gonna drive or maintain a vehicle at its top speed. Anything above 200 is dangerous for average drivers.

• TIMOTHY DALTON on Aug 27, 2011 at 7:24 am

totally agree with you. anything 200kmhr, get Audi TT….tested and proven, life savings too!

• murad on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:04 pm

agree, i’m very sure those speed demons does not know the meaning of danger, especially in our roads sometimes you see drivers just cut into your lane without any signal, warning or they just think that the road behind them is just them. For those Golf GTI owners they will probably be shaking their heads and probably calling owners of these new POLO GTI somewhat despicable as you’ll get people with this car tail gating them and attempt to tell you that i paid far less than yours and also match up to your capabilities.

For those who are enthusiastic about this car, it would be worthwhile to enjoy the fun factor of being able to break away from our daily average cars blink of an eye, quick 0-100, the maneuvering fun. going for top speed is something that you want to put at the last priority of this car, or don’t even think of it at least you want to continue to enjoy the fun factor in this car.

• azzy144 on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:40 pm

Anything above 120 is dangerous for most drivers. Hell, even at 40 km/h some idiots can crash into each other on a highway and then cause a jam.

And while it seems like a Golf GTI isn’t worth the extra cash, it’s a better car on a track. I won’t dispute that on a B-road the Polo’s gonna run rings around the Golf, but it just lacks that extra power and torque the Golf has on track. And the golf’s got more space in the back. Sprint to a 100 is the same, but after that any Polo owner’s gonna struggle to keep up with a Golf GTI driver.

• mystvearn on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:20 am

True but Top speed: Polo GTi: 228 km. Golf GTi: 238 km. RM 70 k for 10 kmh more and a slightly bigger car? Still makes the Golf Gti now scandalous to buy. Time for VW to lower the price of the Golf GTI to about RM 160k :P

• Danniel on Aug 27, 2011 at 2:16 am

You can’t compare that. Who will run on top speed all the time? and btw, you should know the Polo GTi engine is tuned to almost maximum while Golf GTi with a simple chip still gives you 250bhp! (4K for a chip, so think about it)

• Tarmiziali on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:50 am

the TSI engine also can be chipped to achieve 200hp plus in a lighter Polo body…

• giggle on Aug 27, 2011 at 10:44 am

you cant expect a 1.4 engine to perform like a 2.0.. no doubt it has twin charger but overly tune will run out of breath at top speed.

• droll on Aug 27, 2011 at 11:46 am

in terms of mod potential, the 2.0 in the golf gti will be much better. wider power band, higher top end, more mods, etc etc.

the little 1.4 will probably have a potential of about 240-250 max with a lot of serious work.

if you are only after pure performance on a straight line, get the polo gti.

the less sophisticated chassis also means it will be slightly slower than the golf gti around corners.

• The Seat Leon ‘Cupra R’ (which uses the Golf GTI engine) is officially available with 265PS. The Seat Leon ‘Supercopa’ was even officially available with 300PS..

But there’s a good reason why the Golf GTI has a de-tuned engine: More PS at higher rpm means less torque at lower rpm. For normal driving conditions the GTI is the better choice as it drives more ‘relaxed’. Not to mention the engine lifetime… ;)

• tarmiziali on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:25 pm

a more appropriate comparison is between golf tsi. Polo lightness vs golf indepedent rear suspension with same drivetrain. Polo gti or an extra 20k for golf tsi?

• mystvearn on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:24 am

Yes, I think this is more appropriate. Would be good to know if the plastic material in the polo is of less quality than the golf. Fuel consumption is about the same for both cars.

Though I think some people will care a 6.9 sec vs a 8 sec car. Golf TSi has a higher top speed despite the same engine. Maybe bigger body-more stable.

• yeah although polo’s gti faster on the straight, golf 1.4 can carry more speed & feels better on turn

• Nice and a more affordable hot hatch from VW now …..

VW owners out there, there is just so many complaints when it comes to servicing and maintanence …… but the 2nd hand car value seems to be holding on not too bad

Is it all that bad or just a few complaints only ??

VW is selling really well, can they cope with the after sales service ?

• vansgoh on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:02 am

it depends who you are selling to, the price will be different. i wanted to sell my car because of unwanted noise and since the VW technicians were lazy to fix them, the dealer offered me 100k, since the car only 4 months old, that’s mean the car price drop 2k per month. sound like i kena bully…

• Recent VW Penang experience:

Car : GOLF TSI

Problem : information system failed, airbag light on, no horn , no cruise control

Troubleshoot results : Spiral cable got problem and need to order.

After waiting 2 weeks, replacement parts arrive and fix but still encounter problem. After 3 days checking : “Sorry we ordered the wrong spiral cable !!!”

Do you guys think this should happen in VW ? or maybe it is allowed in VW Malaysia

• the squarish tail light just doesn’t fit such a powderful car… can’t they get a better design on the back? it looks like 70K hatch back.

• skiborne on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:01 pm

die civic die!

• thomlee on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:24 am

how can u compare this with Civic? They are completely different segments and for different purposes! But to my purpose, I will prefer the POLO GTI!

• paddle shifter?

• zaff1984 on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:20 pm

Price is almost similar to Civic 2.0, Altis 2.0 & Mazda3 2.0 price range, wonder how the competition even they are not in a same league.

• Those great looking 17-inch Detroit rims must be the main cause of it’s firmer ride. I wonder why does Volkswagen Malaysia decided to equip the Golf GTI with smaller, less shiny rims instead of the Detroit rims used in the Polo GTI?

Equip those Detroit rims for the Golf GTI as standard and the smaller rims from the current Golf GTI for the Polo GTI. Uhh do you get what i mean?

• Paul Tan on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:36 am

GTI rims are 17 inch Denver. Same size.

• mystvearn on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:14 am

I think you got it confused with the 18″ monza shadow?

• torque on Aug 27, 2011 at 11:47 pm

New Golf GTi now comes with 18″ Detroit rims, sunroof and touch screen player already la bro, don’t u know the newer Golf GTi with that rims u have to wait till next year March to get ur car…

• Hello123 on Aug 26, 2011 at 11:54 pm

I’m really glad VW come up with this polo gti.. now my consideration has been changed:) yay….

• turmalin on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:08 am

hmmm…. yeah they do compete on price but that’s about it… and why on earth would you want to compare cooking sedans/saloons (2.0 engine on C-segment car) with a hot version of a supermini…. mid-size car with mid-power engine (Civic/Altis/Mazda3) while the Polo Gti is a small car with high powered engine, 7 spd gearbox etc etc…. if you like it just buy it if not, can go shop elsewhere…

• Coolman on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:01 am

nonthing to compare when you mention German Made and Jap Made!

• hmm.. Golf GTI owners need something more to prove their value in terms of speed. As for comfort who wins??

• kjsaint80 on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:21 am

tis is really really cool!!!!

• kikco on Aug 27, 2011 at 1:53 am

when is cross polo coming?

• ah_lock on Aug 27, 2011 at 2:36 am

this polo gti looks very handsome to me… wow!

• loveit on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:09 am

woah the engine cover now look more proper continental finish..not like 1.2 tsi’s ahbeng look with wires all around..

• Quick, quick buy! before the gov realize they need to tax more on this super fast little baby…. huhu (not a vw dealer but still could be true)

• Ordinary Joe on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:44 am

Has almost everything the golf gti has for 70k less! Superb! If only i can get pass its cute-ness! Unfortunately for me, I’m a big bloke and driving this ‘tak kena’ la..

• Tarmiziali on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:46 am

I think It is a bargain really. In Malaysia, the only hot hatch we got is the Mini Cooper S which is way more expensive. And we dont have the Citroen DS3, Renault Clio and the polo’s seat and skoda cousins. So for those who want a hot hatch supermini, this is the best you can get in Malaysia.

Hmm…which reminds me, I wonder how does the owners of Neo Lotus Racing Edition feel right now?hihihi…

• klaka seram on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:37 pm

aiyahh!! still want to bring proton story here..

• Kenariman on Aug 27, 2011 at 4:35 pm

Proton LR has Ohlin suspension and AP Racing brake. Cannot compare in terms of handling…

• Neo R3 are for people who cant afford a real performance car and only know how to drive the car lolx

• mizzuddin on Aug 28, 2011 at 8:02 pm

good to hear that u can afford real performance car

but owning one does not mean u can squeeze all out of the performance…

do u know what i mean?

• Not fair to stereotype people based on the car and how much they can afford. Get a life! Btw, I’m not one of the satria neo owners.

• Tarmiziali on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:56 am

If you are looking for a new performance car, at this price, the only cheaper alternative would be the Satria Neo R3 RS or the Kia Koup. But I think in terms of performance both will pale in comparison with the Polo Gti.

• Even driving Polo Tsi in a heavy but moving traffic at NKVE pun dah inspiring and awesome….cilok mencilok turun naik 7 gears using DSG in manual mode…minyak jimat pulak tuh…fuh…what a sensation…kalau Polo Gti tak tahu lah macam mana nikmat steamnya….confirm kereta 2.5 liter (but heavier) and below boleh gigit…….damn…time to upgrade to Polo Gti….next year la :D

• sammo on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:19 am

cant wait for it to be CKD’d

• kuching on Aug 27, 2011 at 9:42 am

truly rubbish car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• fort minor on Aug 27, 2011 at 10:22 am

Wow.even more powerful than the 1.4 scirocco. Surely puts.me in a dilemma :)

• droll on Aug 27, 2011 at 11:51 am

everyone seems to be comparing speed (acceleration + top speed) but has anyone forgotten about the ride quality? the polo gti’s ride is not exactly soft or compliant. it is stiff. if you are going to ferry your family around, it may not be so appropriate. the golf would be a better choice (whether tsi or gti).

• xiper on Aug 27, 2011 at 2:50 pm

I guess above 80% of the POLO GTI owners are not getting the car as family car usage. That is the reason of GTI, performance is the main concern to most of the buyers.
      Just my 2 cents.

• droll on Aug 28, 2011 at 4:17 pm

i agree. so i don’tg quite understand why some folks compare polo gti vs golf tsi or golf gti. the golf gti has a wider talent. the polo gti is more focused. don’t forget the adjustable suspension in the golf gti. one touch of a button and it can stiffen up or soften.

for people on a budget but love driving hard, the polo gti is the obvious choice. i think we are getting a lot of kit already for the price.

• sadasd on Aug 27, 2011 at 3:47 pm

for that price, get a civic or camry to ferry family.

• murad on Aug 27, 2011 at 10:39 pm

it’s not target towards ferrying family around, it was never built or design that way. and it’s not a direct alternative to camry, civic or accord.

• murad on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Anthony, this maybe a lame question, does this Polo GTI has the famous gear change fart sound like the Golf GTI? I suppose it should as it is classified GTI.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 27, 2011 at 12:34 pm

That signature isn’t as evident as the Golf’s. Overall tone from the exhaust offers enough decibels at full clip on Sports mode though, even if it sounds less rumbly than the latter.

• Car for inexperience YOUNG CHICKOO.

• How old are you, Uncle? Speed knows no age. This car is for people who appreciate performance but has a limited budget around 130k.

• jackson on Aug 27, 2011 at 2:42 pm

have heard that at highway cruising speed, 110-150kmh, it is nervous. at lesser speeds it is also nervous and twitchy.

also the ride is not as forgiving. it crashes over bumps and ridges.

can anyone who has test drove or even bought the car, care to verify? i’m waiting test it.

• WEEKEE on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:46 pm

STOCK TOP SPEED

• SamuelSchick on Aug 27, 2011 at 6:46 pm

no auto climate control ?

• rosdi on Aug 27, 2011 at 7:04 pm

I would like to see a direct comparison between Polo GTI vs Golf TSI.. since the price of these two is quite close to each other so it makes sense to compare between the two.

• murad on Aug 27, 2011 at 10:34 pm

there is really nothing much to compare as VW intended them to be different, just the sprint of 0-100, one is 6.9 and the other is 8.0, Golf TSI is tuned to be everyday comfort car with performance in mind, which is why in europe this is like our average honda civic or altis.

Polo GTI is done with race minded, they don’t put Grand Tourer Injected for no reason, means the entire suspension, braking system, ECU, stability settings are all tune for speed and cornering, but that doesn’t mean the Golf TSI is lousy, it’s just that extra sand that tips the scale.

another thing is more leg space for Golf TSI

• but they said golf tsi 7 scirocco tsi still feels much better in corners?

• Glock on Aug 27, 2011 at 7:17 pm

Polo 1.2 TSi can do 190kmh, Golf 1.4 TSI can do 220kmh, 1.4 TSi in Polo? 70krm diff between Polo anf Golf GTI the list goes on forever, bare in mind a wet clutch DSG can take the beat compare to a dry clutch DSG. At this price is a fun pocket rocket, say maybe a step before going Golf GTI, also Renault Clio RS is coming, probably the only challenger at this price agains the Polo

• Geronimo on Aug 27, 2011 at 11:57 pm

From Oz brochure, the GTI runs ONLY on RON98 churning out 132kW power. That translates to about 177 hp. With RON95, it should level out as Golf TSI.

I think this figures needs to be corrected.

• Paparazi on Aug 28, 2011 at 1:13 am

Everything about money la, if rich enough get golf gti, if not get this!

• YeapyEvo on Aug 28, 2011 at 1:28 am

Wonder how does the 3 doors handle compare to the 5 doors version? In some car, 3 door have a stronger chassis hence contributing to a better handling

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 28, 2011 at 6:41 am

Drove both back-to-back during the session; nothing much to give between the two variants, though psychologically, the three-dr felt a bit tighter.

• Feeda on Aug 28, 2011 at 2:21 am

Used to own a GTI mark V, hell lot of fun, my first introduction to the German humour of what a hot hatch should be. Looks like wolf in sheep clothing and it goes around like its ass on fire. Now driving an AUDI A4 one excellent sport sedan, loving it but kind of miss the rascal character of the GTI. Audi launched the recent A1 and some how they seemed to miss the plot of a hot hatch. Who needs an overly expensive luxury hot hatch. Even the recent Golf GTI mark VI seems to be on the verge of looking like a lumbering family hatch, remember the GTI mark IV. Now back to this Polo GTI, err… must be a misprint 6.9 seconds to the golden mark, same as the bigger brother and cost around 130k, hmmm there goes my planned savings…. VW give us the polo with proper signature GTI tartan covered seat ( none of these luxury leather stuff),lowered sport suspension,18 inch rims for the killer stance and DSG to go. Yesssh sir I think we have a true successor to the original GTI then.

• rosdi on Aug 28, 2011 at 6:59 am

Buy the polo…, then do this.. http://www.abt-sportsline.de/en/tuning/shop/VW-Polo-6R0-Motortechnik_1708_1402_4/produkt/ABT-power-upgrade-5208/

• but the extra 30k dont just yield extra power, its two different setup, and a host of other features that comes with it, bi-xenon, drl, a different steering / suspension etc….

• Does it come with GTi seat with GTi badge on the seat? From picture I only saw a fabric seat.

• littlefire on Aug 28, 2011 at 10:18 am

“At RM132,888 for the three-door and RM135,888,”

Forget to add in five-door for the RM135,888… Really this is a hot hatch…

• Khoikoi on Aug 28, 2011 at 11:31 am

Can compare with mini one limited edition?

• compare? They are not on the same league, how to compare….

• Khoikoi on Aug 29, 2011 at 12:28 pm

Correct! What i mean in term of value for money. Resale value & fun car to drive.

• Nerraw on Aug 28, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Paid deposit for this yesterday, just to get into the queue for 2012 delivery. SA from VW TTDI assured me can get full refund on deposit if I change my mind :)

Big question: Would you trade your Golf GTI Mk5 2007/08 for this? You get a brand new, but smaller car, about 10k cash back, peace of mind for 5 years (warranty!) and cheaper road tax and better fuel consumption.

Or to phrase it another way, would you buy a brand new Polo GTI or pay 10k more for a 4-year-old Golf GTI Mk5?

• are you warrentan?
      Well, whether or not its better deal, only you can answer – whats the reason for upgrade? Too much repair bills? Or u like the new engine? Or u want the 5 yrs warranty, in exchange for smaller interior space? Btw, 5 yrs is only applicable if u service the car thru-out at an authorised sc. Cheers.

• Kevin Kaze on Aug 29, 2011 at 2:48 am

Yours should be Aug 2012 delivery my friend. Wait till neck long. Australia is 1.5 years waiting time which is the longest.

• Jihey on Aug 28, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Great competition comes from the same company not such addding some accesories than claim 10k expensive than base model.. ( like Lagi Best… ).. more to spend but you get diffrent engines, different driving dynamics and have a little racing pedigree to own.. happy to see such a lot of varians like this comes by the same model of vehicle, like 80`s..

• Jerry on Aug 28, 2011 at 8:10 pm

Some say Polo GTI is irrelevant and that if you had the dough you should be plonking for the legendary Golf GTI instead. In this view it makes the Polo 1.2 TSI much sensible especially if you had opted for an ABT power upgrade pack (RM7,800).

• Give it a break Jerry. You’ve said this many times before in the same post.

By all means, go get yourself the Polo 1.2 TSI with your ABT power upgrade pack. I’m sure VW will love you for that!

• TurboMan on Aug 29, 2011 at 10:43 am

I wouldnt do that if i were you.

U need the precious warranty on DSG equipped cars.

• the ABT is one of the worse value ECu upgrades in msia….both REVO and APR are 1/2 the price with good support and proven gains

the PGTI in msia, u are getting quite abit of extra equipment over the normal polo, and how can u comapre a 135k car with a 210k car?

• murad on Aug 29, 2011 at 3:33 pm

absurd!, it’s like an athlete taking steroids.

then again if you think Polo GTI is reasonably priced, and one should go for Golf GTI think again. Our consumption per capita doesn’t allow the majority to own RM135K car, let alone this is just the nett selling price of the car excluding insurance, in total this is equally priced on Camry 2.0E and Accord 2.0, having enough dough to buy Polo GTI now is a class above alot of people, and mocking people to go up to RM200K is not agreeable.

If Polo GTI is a reasonably priced car, VGM will plan to sell thousands and thousands.

• I believe Jerry is a sales person for ABT power upgrade pack.

Please put your contact number if you are doing business, and please… just mentioned one time will be enough

• VWWWWWWWW on Aug 28, 2011 at 8:52 pm

The brakes is Brembo or normal sprayed to red caliper? Previous generation got Brembo wording on caliper. Why this one no have print?

• droll on Aug 29, 2011 at 8:16 am

previous generation got brembo meh??? where did you get that information? the mk4 brakes are OEM with pads made by Ferodo.

i don’t expect the current Mk5 to be very different.

the calipers are painted red in traditional GTI history.

• buraaj on Aug 28, 2011 at 10:07 pm

with this u can get cute chick. i remembered the tv ads :P

• Volkswagen means people’s car in german, but overpriced here in bolehland. The sad reality is thousands are still stuck with beat-up saga and wira.

• droll on Aug 29, 2011 at 8:17 am

i honestly think this has changed and will continue to change. 135k for german hot hatch. i would have never imagined this to be possible 5 years ago.

• EDT for S’pore is now 1 year , selling like hot cakes in Euro n Aust . But a few reports of PGTI encountering DSG failures in YouTube. IMHO , buying a PGTI in M’sia is more worthy than S’pore . The 5 year warranty matters a lot compare with S’pore only 3 years .In addition without the Bi-xenon n LED , after currency conversion is about 300 MYR. I own a Polo 1.4 NA since Jan 2010 , so far the car is good.

• Bennett on Aug 29, 2011 at 12:07 pm

Amazing! 1.4L can smoke 1.6L MINI Cooper S. Much more better and value then the MINI ONE who just launched this month with Steel Rim and so call Limited!! Event those am MINI lover.

• Renault Cliosport = RM200k ?
    Polo GTI = 135k ?

In UK Renault is cheaper or similar price (+ – options).

Just to ponder

• the cliosport you guys mention is the current renault megane?

in my personal opinion and after i test out the Peugeot 308 turbo, i think the 308 is more worthy than the Polo 1.2 tsi and 1.4 gti.

talk about the price and comfort level la. still cant accept the size of a Polo. But if you talk about eco friendly and fuel consumption the Polo comes back on show again.

• murad on Aug 30, 2011 at 2:58 pm

agree, the PUG308 is an all rounder value for money.

the Golf 1.4tsi is a little overpriced, somehow I think VGM has got their product and pricing positioning a little out, just my opinion. Pretty much sure this Polo GTI would cannibalized Golf TSI, and where does Sirocco 1.4tsi stands at RM188k?

• Everyone knows Scirocco is more expensive because of the extra tax on 2-door cars in bolehland. What I don’t understand is how Polo GTI 2-door can be almost the same as the 5-door version. Where is the consistency?

I disagree with you that Golf TSI is overpriced though. If you look at similarly specced Golf TSI in Europe, it’s still more expensive than the Polo GTI. Because no matter how much extras the Polo GTI has, it’s always going to be a budget supermini.

Personally I would still rather have a Golf TSI. More space, more class, more comfort. A better car to live with.

• VW have a reason for launching a supermini in the market in this bolehland. They are starting to target Msia market now huhu. Lets see on the road, how many is driving alone? and how many is car-pooling all the time? Me myself also drive alone all the time seriously cos this is the culture 1 people 1 car. Thats why u see small cars is easier to sell in malaysia especially those lightweight 1. (myvi, vios,city,fiesta) Ford Fiesta 80k so small also many people buy what. This is the culture of Malaysians. No doubt. But i still think the peugeot 308 wins both of the Polo and Golf TSi in terms of price/performance. I driven it myself, very comfortable and the power of low range to high range also quite powerful.

• In Australia, a similarly specced Polo GTI costs very close to the Golf TSI. It’s the same scenario in Singapore.

• Unforgiven on Aug 30, 2011 at 8:40 am

Satria R3 Lotus RM115K still cheaper than Polo GTi…
    M’sian is proud of Proton, Proton is the best in M’sia…
    We need to talk about Proton until it is no longer in M’sia…

• Man we know the R tiga Lolo is still cheaper than the Polo GTI but VW is international brand ‘worldwide’ from 1st world country ‘ Germany ‘ with professional engineers…i know Proton is the best only in M’sia let’s imagine if Proton with high gov tax and see how many of us will choose the Proton over the Toyota,Honda or VW?maybe 3 or maybe 1…lolx

• ahshuy on Aug 30, 2011 at 1:57 pm

dear anthony lim

ur english too powerful ady lah, i can only understand 50% of ur article. :D

• Why is VW Golf GTI and now the Polo GTI that has attracted such cult following ? Is it all that great and worth the price we’re paying ?? Hmmm …..

• murad on Aug 30, 2011 at 10:40 pm

Test drive any of the hatches now VW offers, be it Polo or Golf, it doesn’t have to be a GTI, and you’ll find the true meaning of engineering in these vehicles, everything works in synergy.

• SapphireBlack on Aug 31, 2011 at 10:14 pm

Paid the deposit just yesterday for a chance to own the car next year! I’m really excited. RM135k for all these performance and accessories are by far what I deemed a recipe for success! Crazy? I certainly think so. I have never test drove the car but I’m sure the test drives of both the Polo 1.2 TSI and Golf 1.4 TSI are enough to convince me that this Polo GTi when it arrives on our shore next year would be GREAT!

A few things that I have set in terms of expectations are these:
    1) it would never be a Golf GTi and I have never intended for it to be
    2) it would never be a family car and I have no intention of it to be as well
    3) it would be my daily drives to work. Over the weekend, I’ll hop on something else
    4) it would give me a sporty and spirited drives with ability for some occasional passengers commute (only 2 passengers behind for max comfort). Occasionally, We still need to drives our friends for yum cha right ;-)
    5) it will give me the most value for money in terms of road tax, fuel consumption and power delivery! Perfect for me! Thanks VGM for bringing in the Polo GTi and pricing it so competitively!
    6) if I want to drives really really fast and not be afraid, I’ll chose the Golf GTi, BMW or others German Marques!

Overall, no point comparing Polo GTi vs Golf GTi. They r really targeting 2 different markets. I’m glad we have choices. And Polo GTi is my choice for next year :-)

• my friend told me the first batch will be giving out to customers on this october? why have to wait next year?

• 1st batch has all been sold out to those who pre-booked. Those who book now can only get their cars next year.

• Which dealer and did they extend to you the usual discounts?

• is it expensive to run and maintain this car?

• Depends on what you compare to…

The Cantonese always said when you eat salty fish then you have to stand the salty feeling.

I can said probably it will be one of the cheapest to maintain given this performance.

• Luqman on Oct 19, 2011 at 10:41 pm

-sales up for the VW-
    smart move Volkswagen ..
    you will really beat the japanese car for sure ..

• vwpologti on Feb 28, 2012 at 11:08 pm

I heard from one of the dealers that they a new stock of 2012 Polo GTIs coming in and delivery will be in April 2012 ? Any news on this ? 16 units I heard for the whole of Msia.

• 'Thom'LEe on Feb 29, 2012 at 7:57 pm

Yea, I also booked one during last year’s December. I was told that this year has two batches coming, one in April/May and another in July/August.

• Travis on Feb 09, 2015 at 3:58 am

The polo Gti is good car and goes very well for a 1.4 its very fast standard.