Audi S6, S7, S8 gets new twin turbo 4.0L V8 TFSI engine

Another big displacement normally aspirated engine bites the dust – this time it’s the normally aspirated 5.2 litre V10 FSI engine found in models like the Audi S6 and S8.

Audi will be replacing it with a new twin turbocharged 4.0 litre V8, making 420 PS and 550Nm of torque from as low as 1,400rpm all the way to 5,300rpm. This tune of the engine will be installed in the S6 and the S7. This engine is mated to a 7-speed S-Tronic dual clutch transmission. The S6 and S7 also comes with adaptive air suspension to improve the cars’ versatility in providing both comfort and handling.

In the S8, the same 4.0 litre twin turbo V8 is tuned to produce more power – 520 PS and 650Nm of torque from between 1,700rpm to 5,500rpm. This should be an absolutely cracker to drive! In the S8, the engine is mated to a regular automatic transmission instead of a dual clutch, which should provide a smoother drive. The auto has a total of 8 gears.

Other than your usual direct injection and turbocharger technology, the new 4.0 litre V8 also has cylinder deactivation where four cylinders can be shut off under part load to conserve fuel. To keep the engine sounding good under the cylinder shut-off mode, Audi uses Active Noise Cancellation where four microphones integrated into the headlining record the noise in the cabin and cancels out any intrusive sound elements using an anti phase broadcast through the car’s speaker system.

I wonder if Audi will extend the use of this new engine to the Audi R8 as well. Will Audi put this new 4.0 litre twin turbo V8 into the Audi R8 V10’s engine bay?

These new range of Audi S cars will be exhibited to the public for the first time at the 2011 Frankfurt Motor Show. This year’s Frankfurt show looks like it’s going to be seriously busy – it’s going to keep us on our toes for sure! Enjoy a small gallery after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• V8 Engine is powerful and sound good!

• ohnowhyme on Sep 01, 2011 at 4:58 pm

Why need Active Noise Cancellation to keep the engine smooth under the cylinder shut-off mode? i dun get it….

• maybe the sound of V4 is terrible..

• if audi going to put it in the r8, audi have to solve the cooling issue first if they haven’t solve it yet…

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 01, 2011 at 9:11 pm

Nah. Dont think Audi is ever going to replace that v10 in the r8. Its a low volume car and deserves a bespoke engine (not discounting the lambo mill). It also sounds amazing without the soundtrack muffled by turbochargers.

• kington on Sep 02, 2011 at 8:59 am

Agree, it also has to have an exclusive engine, else it’ll garner less interest.

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 01, 2011 at 7:53 pm

good engine. bad for malaysian road tax?

• Bob_B78 on Sep 02, 2011 at 1:19 am

I can see that the upcoming RS4 going to be fitted with the same but highly tuned turbocharged V8 instead of the natural-aspirated V8 found in RS5. Yummy……..

• sexy chicks on Sep 02, 2011 at 1:27 am

so where are those bmw fanboys?

• looking-good on Sep 02, 2011 at 4:03 am

u dun update or dun realize? beemer now also moving into turbo engine wat.~!!

• but audi already hv it a long time ago…geezzz

• Kiddo on Sep 02, 2011 at 4:43 pm

i’m not a fan of any german brand here but if you wanna say which company had turbo first, Audi is not the first. BMW made the first passenger car equipped with turbo way back in 1973, the 2002 Prototype. Peace.

• Dude..im not saying who have it first…i knw about those bimmer 2002 turbo…actually what i meant is most of the audi cars right now already developed and fitted with turbo…

Refered to the guy above,he said bmw is now moving into turbo engine but as far as we know audi already did it for many years…peace

• For the Audi fanboys, everything also Audi first. But one fact they try not to recognise is Audi can not stand on her own so have sold to VW.

• Only Audi has fanboys which most of them work as hairdresser. BMW enthusiasts are all man.

• do u have any facts about that??prove it to us…i knw a lot of professional ppl who own audi etc architect,doctor,qs,businessman…

most of them realize that bimmer is just for the typical richman in malaysia…thats y they are dare to change

• You are spot on— “they are dare to change”.
          No question about that hairdresser dare to change their hair style to pink, red, purple and one side long and one side short, the long side will cover one eye.

• But thats not a concrete facts…u did said ‘most’….so where is ur concrete facts???
            it is not only hairdresser,even architects,docs also dare tochange…

• looking-good on Sep 02, 2011 at 6:02 pm

r u not away, Audi sell better than BM & Benz in Europe and in China?? two great continent for luxury car market~~

i once read a foreign forum, which ppl said audi A5 is too comments on the road and they rather get a E coupe as is more rare~~!! hardly can imagine the same can happen here rite? :)

• Are you a joker or what? The fact is BMW sold more car worldwide than Audi full-stop. Don’t try to spin OK.

• Back to the roots: The first road legal ‘S’-Audi from 1990 (S2) was a turbo already (2.2l, 220PS)

• Next! Audi S6, S7, S8 will gets new 70cc single piston air cooled engine.

• I want to get one s6 in a month time if possible, any car dealers here want to advise how?

• You must order from audi or buy it in another country my dad buy from uk

• My dad will getting this audi s6 and ferrari 458 italia