New generation Toyota Camry Hybrid launched in Japan!

The new Toyota Camry has been launched in Japan today. You don’t have to look too closely to realize this is yet another ‘look’ for the Camry, different from the one in the US market, but similar to the the one teased by Toyota Ukraine, yet not identical. This is the Toyota Camry Hybrid based on the Toyota Ukraine “Aurion” design.

Interestingly, Toyota has picked the Aurion design for the Japanese market, while for the last generation, the Japanese market shared a design with the US market. Also, the Camry is solely with a hybrid power train in Japan – no other inline-4 or V6 options available.

This is in line with what other Japanese sedan manufacturers have been doing in their domestic market, for example, Honda Japan discontinued the regular Civic before its lifespan expired and continued selling only the Civic Hybrid.

The new Camry Hybrid’s Toyota Hybrid System II uses the 2AR-FXE 2.5 litre Atkinson cycle four cylinder internal combustion engine, which can produce 160 PS and 213Nm of torque on its own. This is coupled with an electric motor that can produce 143 PS and 270Nm of torque. Combined output via the torque split device is 205 PS, which is a nice number for a D-segment sedan.

There are some interesting aerodynamic features that Toyota have added to the body of the Camry Hybrid, such as the “vortex generators” shown above integrated into the wing mirror mounts, designed to help with cruising aerodynamics.

Airflow improving “aero-corners” are strategically placed in front of the front wheels and behind the rear wheels.  The new two-piece front grille design uses a smaller upper grille and a larger lower grille that improve cooling efficiency by enhancing aerodynamic flow via reduced resistance.

The Camry includes a new Hill-start Assist Control (HAC) feature that prevents the vehicle from rolling backward when starting up on a hill, a new Steering-assisted Vehicle Stability Control (S-VSC) system that adjusts power, the electric power steering and braking to retain driver control of the car, and brake lights that specially signal emergency braking to reduce the risk of a collision from the rear.

Anyway, we probably won’t see this launched here in Malaysia as the large 2.5 litre engine does not qualify for Malaysia’s hybrid tax exemptions. Look after the jump for an image gallery of the JDM Camry Hybrid.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yewyan on Sep 05, 2011 at 11:09 pm

d looks juz ok ok onli…

• Jimmy on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:40 am

Look carefully the front grill and the front fog lamps. Are they cantik?
      We Malaysian deserve more airbags and not a few small pieces of (low-cost relative to airbags) plastics to marginally improve aerodynamics kononnya (now new Toyota owners can tell their friends that they have these plastics which you don’t have, even though you have more airbags). This is what we call ‘CHEATING MONEY’! Can you hear, UMW?
      Now let me tell you another way of cheating: while others are offering 4 reverse sensors and six airbags, you can offer 8 reverse sensors with 2 airbags; see, both also have 10 items!

• Unforgiven on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:12 am

First you need to remove Proton, second you need to remove the protectionism.
        Else, pay more to get another car.

Look at it from the M’sia view and Global view, nothing is wrong with UMW but your own country.

• autojohndoe on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:15 pm

no la…

first, Proton…

then Perodua…

then Naza

then Inokom

finally… Modenas…

Its a long way to go la…

• yewyan on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:49 am

oh.. forgot.. i mean.. front is nice bt rear juz ok ok wor…

• kington on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:22 am

Yes Jimmy, like you we are also frustrated with the way Honda and Toyota are cutting costs.

But while our government seemed to have very loose regulations for cars sold here, it’s not the same story as say in Singapore where cars now have to comply with EURO 5 emissions. Here, the fredom is given to manufacturers to do whatever cost cutting they wish, as a sweetener in view of the protection level imposed for Proton and Perodua.

It’s a chicken and egg situation here.

• CKD boy on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:29 am

Please bring this Camry Hybrid and CKD here!!!

• Wisdom on Sep 29, 2011 at 2:35 pm

AhBeng is right with the vortex generator after all this while….

• chrisoys on Sep 05, 2011 at 11:09 pm

look like Honda Accord front & back!

• sagatron on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:23 am

toyota is a honda wannabe..huahua..

• I hate hatchbacks on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:26 am

Toyota is NOT a Honda wannabe, just like Lexus is NOT an Acura wannabe…

• Kiddo on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:12 pm

In fact, I believe all manufacturers want to be like Toyota, efficient in management, good in saving costs (sharing parts), cars are being sold in 90% of the world, flexible and responsive to changes and have a reputation of being reliable.

As for Lexus, I believe a whole bunch of other manufacturers like Infiniti and Acura want to be like them. Look at Lexus’ sales worldwide, especially in the US and compare to those of Infiniti and Acura, they’re no where near Lexus. Lexus is one of the greatest legends among the Japanese manufacturers.

• Kiddo on Sep 05, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Hmm~I know a lot of Toyota-haters and Kimchi-lovers would thumb this comment down but I have to say this Camry is handsome.

• no brother, we will support you!

• kington on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:27 am

To be fair, i think this cars looks pretty elegant, mush like the old Lexus ES 300.

Although many have complained that the current Camry is bland, i think it’s done considerably well in its ride. Soft, comfortable and yet still sturdy enough to give a more european feel.

The Accord still holds the card as the best handler in this class, in fact i like it more than Mazda 6 when it comes to handling stakes. Sadly, there’s just too much to give away in the Accord than the Camry.

• transformer on Sep 05, 2011 at 11:28 pm

front looks quite bling-bling….. reminds me of Detroit makes…
    just cant imagine how much downforce can it produce or at least how much decrease of CoDrag…. (IF) I would improve its wheels to reduce CoDrag, Channel air to improve brakes cooling so wont fade easily when driving down Cameron Highland….

* off topic, Sorry
    Lets pray for Japan as Typhoon Talas tooked at least 30 life’s…. and how many cars being scrapped off… after March Quake-nami, now super typhoon…..

Human has angered Mother Nature…. 2012 is nearer~

• nebula87 on Sep 05, 2011 at 11:30 pm

born js like his cousin…Lexus CT200h

• Pretty good design i must say.. Not too far from the old one yet maintaining the identity of its young brother..

• Feast on Sep 06, 2011 at 7:23 am

Overall a much improved design and quite like it. The only problem is I can see they try to inject some sportiness in it which is out of proportion.. Why on earth they put this Mazda designed fog lamp here? Totally not matching at all. http://www.mazda.co.uk/showroom/Mazda3MPS/overview/
      http://www.mazda.ie/aboutmazda/news/models/mazda6/

• seem like toyota is going to the eco way…..preparing for full electric car future….

• Dak's Quacks on Sep 05, 2011 at 11:34 pm

I am amaze at the electric motor that produces 143 PS !!

• another big slap to the americans.rly pity the design they’re getting

• Doctor treating midlife crisis on Sep 05, 2011 at 11:57 pm

This is sexy. Toyota is going to regain market share in the segment ! Congratulations to Toyota salesmen, your monthly dividend is going to be handsome.

And a note to PROTON INSPIRA owners, please stop changing your Proton badge to Mitsubishi. All of us know that as long as your INSPIRA car plate starts with WS*, WT*, WU* and WV*….you are driving a Proton but not Mitshubishi. Probably you are suffering from midlife crisis, because midlife crisis patient like to change their car badge:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Midlife_crisis

refer to the ‘characteristics’ column

‘pretend acquisition of expensive items via non-authentic materials or automobile badge replacement’

• I have seen people changing their front logo but their rims still bear the cat image. Also, their windows also printed with proton.

• mmmmm sound like a TOYOL SALESMAN who PRETEND to be a DOCTOR ….mmmmmm sound like u the one having a mid life crisis…..Sighhhhhhhh………………or is it u are just having your MAN-O-PAUSE symptoms…..mmmmmmmmmmm pityful……..go and see a real doctor…………

• nice wiki find!

• Unforgiven on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:14 am

I noticed a lot of Inspira owners actually remove the rear Proton badge…

Somehow this has been going on since the Proton Saga 1985 era…

• Wisdom on Sep 29, 2011 at 2:39 pm

Its their car

• mirror mirror on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:05 am

The interior looks quite good, the wood trim looks more decent.

• cam.shaft on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:05 am

seriously? i thought the US version was not very nice… after seeing this, i change my mind..

//cam.shaft

• sam witwicky on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:21 am

not bad…JDM! sorry la psl isu teana,umw,tc tmpoh ari…hehe
    but i still like d-segment wlaupn x mampu beli…huhu
    tiap kali tgk toyota camry mesti teringat lagu J-rock band Greeeen ….lupa la tajuk lagu tu…sayonaraaaa…

• BORING !!, nothing impressive , JAPANESE car market is doom already

• kington on Sep 07, 2011 at 2:55 pm

Boring looking cars doesn’t mean the end of an entire Japanese automotive industry. Diff carmakers do things differently.

For Toyota, all they want is to make sure their cars score credits in various departments and with its emphasis on long term sustainability of the vehicle, that should do.

So far we ‘ve yet to see an automaker that scores consistent disctinctions in all areas.

• nabill on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:32 am

that aero piece on the wing mirron looks like pathetic…..like those plastic add on’s u buy from brothers…

im jus wondering why u all surprised that it looks boring and dull….i mean since which camry generation actually made us WOW ?!

• thn go buy from brothers, and see whether it can help ur proton or perodua improve aerodynamics

• farghmee on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:22 am

why ah?
      that small piece at side mirror also wan to shout eh?
      ol’ gen2 already got.

ceh…japs gebang a lot.

• fique d on Sep 06, 2011 at 3:47 pm

hahahaha my persona sure gila aerodynamic stable liao coz it hv not one but three of these thing… hahaha gila punya lawak japs try to fool us… it might hv very little or placebo effect … what r u thinking… F1 car? busted…hehehehe can’t stop laughing…

• DeWei on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:42 am

Why the combined output is so low? 160+143PS = 205PS? Still prefer the Ukraine version.

• Kiddo on Sep 06, 2011 at 2:03 am

that’s because the revs of the max output of both the combustion engine and electric motor are different.

electric motors have better outputs at low revs and it decreases as the revs go up but it’s the other way round for the combustion engine. That’s why you can’t simply add up both the output.

• oleoresin on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:48 am

Amboi…. Klu Toyota je, cepat tul komen2 memuji ni kuar. Cuba klu kuar Exora hybrid, org2 yg tgh puji Toyota nilah yg mula2 kutuk dan tabur fitnah dulu.

For record, Prius tak leh beat insight. Insight dah bersepah kat jalan. Camry hybrid? Surely lagi mahal dr prius. Toksah kutuk amerika. Depa tak mcm korang, puji produk org dan kutuk produk negara sendiri

• resinoleo on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:17 am

err…you need doctor?

• Littlebear on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:27 am

Produk negara kita sendiri mmg teruk bro… Ramai yg pernah pakai produk itu sumpah takkan beli lagi…

• Eat your heart out. Exora size besar, banyak cup holder, banyak aircond vent pun tak boleh beat Alza. Apa banyak you cakap?

• moshi moshi on Apr 10, 2012 at 3:27 pm

tengok la harga…nampak sgt amoi sorg ni perodua salesman

• farghmee on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:29 am

oleoresin,
      bior kn aje.

insight or prius?
      insight lg chantek maa..prius tu dugong sintetik…kakaka

• as usual, expect many korean hardcore fanboys and trolls here

• Rovery on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:16 am

Most Korean fags will troll saying Proton better or copycat Honda design. Reality they are Korean fags.

• loveit on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:40 am

Sonata Hybrid much better la than this

• as usual, expect many TOYOL hardcore fanboys and trolls here

• Just like how you T&H fanboys troll Korean or Proton cars writeup.

Pot calling kettle black.

• usually is K-fag brought in Jcar into the Kcar topic…=.=’

example : ‘this hyundai is sexy…toyota is ugly’….sudden brought in to the topic…..

• “usually is K-fag brought in Jcar into the Kcar topic…=.=’

example : ‘this hyundai is sexy…toyota is ugly’….sudden brought in to the topic…..”

proves that many k-fags are former T & H fags

• sam witwicky on Sep 06, 2011 at 7:04 pm

are lightning mcqueen is mazda miata? baru lyn citer cars 2 td..hehe

• Farhat on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:40 am

Rear reminds me of the XV30 camry, but it’s alright.. Like many have said, Camrys look handsome. Japanese car designs do age but they are always high in stance and has this handsome look, no matter how old the car is. where as Korean manufacturers prefer the hypp design that may turn sour after a few years of ownership.

• Rovery on Sep 06, 2011 at 7:38 am

We Malaysians more deserves this kind of car not ugly Kia Forte, sadly 2.5L doesn’t qualify for Malaysia exemption hybrid’s tax.

• The JDM Camy sharing common stuff with Ukaine’s but USDM’s bumpers. In my personal opinion, fully Ukrainian model best for Asian if not selling alongside like Austalia.

For the hybrid 2.5 it costs RM112,297.66 in Japan without consumption tax (Y2.895m) whereas in USA, the 2.5 Hybrid XLE merely RM81,798.92, while the cheapest L variant, just RM65,546.53!

After browsing few Japanese sites, current JDM prices no more competitive compared to USDM.

Government should promote hybrid and exemption should be given to 2.5-3l engines as well, provided their FC is decent.

• Terrence on Sep 06, 2011 at 8:53 am

Korean looks better than Japanese car now..

• Unforgiven on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Not many Korean cars are coming, Hyundai Accent, Kia K5, etc, not really sure why…

• PakAbu on Sep 06, 2011 at 9:06 am

“Anyway, we probably won’t see this launched here in Malaysia as the large 2.5 liter engine does not qualify for Malaysia’s hybrid tax exemptions.”

That’s sad :(

• bongok on Sep 06, 2011 at 9:46 am

max 180km/h only?boringgggggggggg

• torres on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:03 am

Front abit like CHEVROLET CRUZE!!!!

• loveit on Sep 06, 2011 at 2:47 pm

nowadays japs are inferior compare to korean..that’s why all copycat design..

• VW_fan on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:43 am

I am a Conti car fan but I surprisingly find this Camry nice.

Toyota hybrids are pretty amazing drivetrains and they are definitely the leader.

• Its Altis or Camry? I’d says its doesn’t look like D segment… no doubt its looks better the current Camry but nothing really attract me.

• Expatriate VN on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:02 am

Anyway, we probably won’t see this launched here in Malaysia as the large 2.5 liter engine does not qualify for Malaysia’s hybrid tax exemptions.

– STUPID TAX EXEMPTIONS POLICY FOR HYBRID BASED ON ENGINE CC!

• caruser on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:38 am

Lets hope our Govt boys can put aside politics and so called national pride on Proton and start to give incentives or exemptions for all hybrid cars. Hybrid and probably diesel cars too are the future! The Govt will also save millions $$$ in subsidies too if petrol consumption is lowered. What are we waiting for???

• hanaf on Sep 06, 2011 at 12:52 pm

a bit of lexus ls..

• zanggief on Sep 06, 2011 at 1:51 pm

This hybrid model should be avail in the AP king’s shop instead of officially bring in by UMW. Overall is a good looking model, the rear look like the Korean Daewoo Epica…

• oleoresin on Sep 06, 2011 at 2:05 pm

Semua nak minta tax exempted utk camry nih sebab hybrid….

Negara kita menuju ke arah sosialis, bukan lagi moderate kapitalis. If pakatan pegang, mmg surely bertukar ke sosialis.

Sosialis means sama rata. Semua ada bantuan, subsidi. So seems tax rate juga akan rise utk accommodate semua subsidi nih. Bahasa kasar…. Org kaya mesti tolong org miskin through tax.

Org beli camry surely org kayas. So tax for this car juga akan rise lah.

Long story short, either BN or PR, jgn haraplah depa nak bagi tax exampted byk2. See the numbers, use your unuse brain rather your stupid feeling of… semua nak free…

Semua nak subsidi. Apasal tak minta gomen bagi kereta camry hybrid free, rumah free, petrol free, makan free, tanah free, kapal terbang free….

I need a doctor? Who need doctor now actually?

• autojohndoe on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:34 pm

i undi sama you…

orang malaysia ni bercakap penuh idea…

bila suruh buat… penuh dolak dalihnya…

serupa saja dengan politicians yang run the govt….

• sam witwicky on Sep 06, 2011 at 6:47 pm

while i read ur comment…i listen to Queen song title bicycle race…

• brand new cars on Sep 06, 2011 at 2:57 pm

looks a bit different with the US version, but still, classy..

• BMW - Be My Women on Sep 06, 2011 at 5:33 pm

lol.. side mirror still using old one.. not the L.E.D

• Kiddo on Sep 07, 2011 at 1:33 am

you have a side mirror that’s made of LED entirely? That must have come from Mars!

Anyway, if what you meant was the signal light, it’s LED, just now it’s a LED at the edge, not several LEDs like those on Audi and Benz.

• This looks pretty elegant.

• bibu bibu on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:02 pm

Lexus Feel <-------

• nolan on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:42 pm

really nice and macho styling should attract mid life crisis man…..like me.

• Not much diference from the current model except for the front and rear having not so agressive design , looks more like a facelifted camry. As for me all Camry models are very reliable and long lasting with very good resale value compare to the Koreans. The current model ACV 40 still looks good and classy, and I hope to keep it for a long time until my retirement.

• turbul on Sep 06, 2011 at 10:57 pm

A vortex generator has to be properly designed and placed in order to do what it is supposed to do, i.e. create vortex which could be used to ‘blast’ away dead flow region behind the side mirror delta which could cause water entrapment during light-rain days. Water accumulation at that area is regarded as a safety concern as it would block driver’s view of the side mirror, thereby increasing his/her blind spot. During light rain, water keeps on increasing at the dead spot region and can create a side mirror view blockage entirely. This is dangerous. Another use is for mitigating the side mirror wind noise. By ‘blasting’ the wake behind the side mirror delta, there is lesser pressure gradient between high and low regions. Cavity region is cleared away thereby lower pressure gradient hence, lower wind noise i.e. quieter. A vortex generator not properly designed, however, would act as turbulator! Instead of reducing noise, it would create more wind noise. Heavy resources need to spent to properly design anything to do with vortex so normally only big/rich companies can do it. Smaller companies simply copycat but if not careful, might get adverse effects.

ciao!

• Pendrive on Sep 06, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Look like a oversize Toyota Altis to me…boring. 1st Honda Civic now Camry..yucks!

• Peter Chen on Sep 07, 2011 at 12:37 pm

Disappointed design. Not much change from previous version. I more like the current design of camry. Anyhow, it’s time for me change my vehicle since I’ve use it for 4 years plus (camry 2.4). Maybe will change to sonata or kia sportage.

• YUCK DESIGN NOWADAYS

TOYOTA STANDS FOR BORING, UNEXCITING , RECALL , HAZARDOUS MANUFACTURER NOWADAYS

I DO NOT SEE IT A RELIABLE AND DEPENDABLE BRAND ANYMORE .

FURTHERMORE IT IS NOT AS DURABLE OR RUGGED COMPARE TO ANY CONTINENTAL MAKES HANDLING PREVIOUSLY AND PRESENTLY .

NOT WORTH A BRAND TO ADMIRE AND KEEP MENTIONING ANYMORE.!!

• LMFAO on Sep 09, 2011 at 3:57 am

LOL, you Sir can design and make your own car for your own satisfaction.

• wan forte on Jan 16, 2012 at 2:41 pm

even though i’m korean car fan…but i gotta admit that the new camry looks astonishing