Hyundai i30 – first images of Frankfurt debutant revealed

Hyundai has revealed the first photos of its new-generation i30, which is set to have its world premiere next week in Frankfurt. The shape was previewed in an official sketch last month.

The C-segment offering is designed and engineered at the Hyundai Motor Europe Technical Centre in Rüsselsheim, Germany, and the company says that the new-gen i30 represents a further evolution of the unique Hyundai ‘fluidic sculpture’ form language.

The car features the Hyundai family face with its signature hexagonal-shaped front grille and the jewel-like design of the headlamps, together with distinctive daytime running lights. Elsewhere, a strong character line runs over the front and rear wheel arches all the way to the tail lamps, and a softer, lower character line rises up the car’s flank to create a play of light and shadow, a fundamental feature of fluidic sculpture.

No specific info or technical attributes on the new offering as yet, so it’s on to Frankfurt for all the necessary to emerge.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• the current i30 sold here is so overpriced, its harder to spot on the road than supercars

hope SD will revised the pricing with this, if it ever brings it here….

• agree that the current i30 too expensive..
      but this new i30 look so sexy.. SD should update the model and revised the price.. =)

• sagatron on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:36 pm

this is babe magnet machine!!!!damn….

• Superb.Nice.

• Ur own money ur own choice!u can buy whatever you want and don’t listen to some poor people!

• breAL on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:43 pm

lol dude..look at the price, look at the specs, its just not worth it, not to mention the dull design…..hopefully they ll bring this new I30 over here soon , put it at forte price range and kick those japs into sense

• MazdAstina on Sep 07, 2011 at 4:49 pm

the i30 is like a woman, simply beautiful & elegant at the same time, turn your back on her and she turns her agressive side.

• Razor on Sep 07, 2011 at 4:50 pm

dislike th grill on the front.. But SD should rethink of the price.

• Yeah the designers tried to hard and make the front looks so busy with full of lines and curves. Looks like Chinese opera singers make up.

• turbo go go go on Sep 07, 2011 at 4:51 pm

this is Peugeot 308 Turbo!!!!!!!!!!!!

lol

• This does not look anything like the pug,it’s just better

• turbo go go go on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:44 pm

well, get a glasses.

• turbo go go go on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:28 pm

turth is hard to swallow, lol

• so wat if it look like a 308 fl
            , which means its good looking,

• sick&tired on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:25 pm

you eyesight must be as good as your spelling!

BTW its truth, not turth.

• First of all its “get a PAIR of glasses.second it looks like your the one having a hard time swallowing the truth.park the i30 and pug side by side,i bet you 9 out of 10 people would say the i30 is far more outstanding in design.n get ur English right before u comment

• turbo go go go on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:23 pm

it simply showed that i have better things to do, than typing long comments in paultan during working hour, and drooling over a korean car, which is clearly a cheap knockoff of a peugeot 308, which has better handling, image and engine.

get a proper 308thp if you can afford it. a copy is a copy, no matter how well they did it.

u’re neither a fashion designer, nor an english teacher, and you cant afford cars above, be it 308 or i30. lol. prove me wrong.

• french cars are absolutely crap and unreliable…this hyundai looks nicer truthfully..the 308 here sold cheaper than jap cars..yet their owners talk like their driving premium (third world mentality/semua euro cars sangat bagus,solid) yup bagus masuk workshop..just a cheap euro, quality well below jap cars..

• turbo go go go on Sep 08, 2011 at 12:14 pm

french cars are crap, thats why toyota market share in europe is 1% only,

it seems like european prefer crap. lol.

well, enjoy your crappy vios and enjoy your low FC, bad handling, and good resale value, which is all similar to a…..myvi.

hahahahahah

• Haha.bro,ur right,I m not an English teacher or a fashion designer.But I do have access to test-drive most cars because I work in the automotive industry.I can tell u something,the 308 turbo has numerous turbo related issues.I met one guy who owns one,within 4 months the turbo unit malfunction.as for the build quality,sorry it does not feel anywhere as good as it’s European counterparts.so get ur facts right first

• http://www.peugeot.com/en/products/cars/peugeot-308.aspx

this does not look anything like pug

• yalah…plenty of cock eyed fellas that cant see straight. it is an elantra sister.

• IMO it looks closer to my Mazda3 hatch.. look at the front side curvy body above the wheel arch.. and the door design..

this can really be a great buy if SD priced it below 110K for 2.0L..

• john die on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:52 pm

i try to spot on any pug elements but failed…enlighten me pls…

• Gangga Negara on Sep 08, 2011 at 6:17 pm

Not the current Pug 308 in Malaysia, is the facelifted 2012 Pug 308.

Google for 2012 Peugeot 308 image (U will see the similarity).

• Rosmah on Sep 07, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Everything is so twisted it makes me squirm

• alldisc on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:01 pm

another hot seller from korea. like sonata and forte.

sarcasm.

• Uncanny on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:15 pm

It does have an uncanny resemblance to the facelift Peugeot 308.

• wolfsburg on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:15 pm

This is such a gorgeous piece of sheet metal!!

• Unforgiven on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:26 pm

I’ll get this as a second car, if the price is right…

They need to price it below City/Vios/Fiesta for the 1.6…

• wolfsburg on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Please wake up… This car is a segment higher than those you mentioned…

• Unforgiven on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:06 pm

Why should I when most M’sian are still sleeping?

Do you know how bad is it if you need to sell off a 5 years old Korean car?

Do you know how bad the sales for i30 in M’sia?
        Do you know i30 is much more expensive than a Forte?

Please wake up!

• Halem on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Agreed,

Korean car must price 1 segment lower if there intend to have a healthy sales figure.

Eg.
          Sonata = Altis, Civic price range.
          Forte = Vios, & City price range.

or else it would end up like current i30 sales figure.

People buy Korean car out of price & not love, that the fact.

• SUPER SIEN on Sep 07, 2011 at 9:48 pm

another short sighted Malaysian
            you pay extra 20-30k of course you second handed value will be higher no matter when!
            and mind you are you car dealer? you buy car thinking to sell in even before you enjoy it?
            i believe you drive Proton since you are so worried about your second hand value.

test drove one before you start commenting!

• john die on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:54 pm

so that mean u are typical malaysian..dont dare to change….so u please wake up

• good one..got money buy it no money buy your jap crap!

• aiya here all show korean love but what’s shown will remain in this blog.

rmb the sales figure published few weeks ago?

• Kiddo on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:26 pm

It somehow reminds me of the Mazda 3 hatchback, especially its fog lamps..but it’s a good thing, cuz the 3 is one handsome car.

• Jeremy on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:30 pm

The curve reminds me of Mazda 3 hatchback!

• Masked Ryder on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Without a doubt Mimic Peugeot 308.

No supprised at all.

• kerja24jm on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:42 pm

kan best kalo kereta nie cap Proton/Perodua..lol :O

• Car Driver on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:52 pm

My saliva dropping. This is very appetizing..I30 or Elantra?

• klguy on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:58 pm

its taking forever for SD to bring in the Elantra….not sure how many decades we hv to wait to see this one here

• DiskoStick on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:14 am

fyi, Elantra will be introduced to the market in Oct’ 11. 1.6 and 1.8 variants.

• Victor Lee on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:27 pm

like hyundai velostar

• Vince on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:29 pm

Uooooh! So much of the C30 in the shadow!

Much preferred the surefootedness of a Volvo lah!

• Awesome sexy , instant attraction to most =) Can Malaysians have it ?

• LOL ok maybe doesnt looks like a peugeot but i feels it has the shadows of a mazda 2?

• stephen on Sep 07, 2011 at 8:07 pm

it do look like a pug…. the latest update of Pug with some tweak of the curve The front bonnet do look a bit different with the sonata like front but it cannot avoid.

which is why Apple cannot stand Samsung and sue Them….remember. Apple sue HTC and MOtorola mostly on Software related item in android BUT for Samsung they are not just focus on that but the look and Feel

• sick&tired on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:30 pm

the front fenders does have a hint of Mazda 2, but overall i think it looks better than the mazda 2.

• Simon Sez on Sep 07, 2011 at 7:38 pm

is Hyundai starting to name their cars like Apple? from i10, i20, i30, i40.?

• stephen on Sep 08, 2011 at 7:18 am

LOL soon you see Apple sue them for copying the naming scheme.

• don^don on Sep 08, 2011 at 8:21 am

they’ve been doing that for their Europe lineup. probably to identify their cars easier. when it comes to car naming, i think car manufacturers has lost their touch and creativity, it’s like naming them like robots, the cars have no soul when you name them like the bemmers, 3 series, 5 series, 7 series, no creativity. we need some unique names for cars, like the INTERCEPTOR!!!

• Drebar on Sep 07, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Proton Tuah Espire should be delayed for redesign (already outdated) if really wanna become Global car eg.against Hyundai design, both exterior and interior wise.

• transformer on Sep 07, 2011 at 8:56 pm

Its looks so Gorgeous!
    Its looks so Fierce!
    just wished its interior plastic feels premium rather than spartan…..

• sick&tired on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:29 pm

i have driven the new sonata before and the interior quality is comparable to that of the toyota camry. Obviously in terms of interior quality, the Europeans are ahead.

• nice

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 07, 2011 at 9:53 pm

bastard child of the mazda 2 and 3

• Somehow I found Kia Koup more garang and this one looks like gurly.

• RedBeanBun on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:51 pm

why SD wants to kill AP-King to lower price? dont u realized the mid to high end is SD, and AP Kings hold all near High end to mid range, and Protong owns lower end?

Its Protong, AP-King (Kia+PUG), and SD (Hyundai+BMW) holding a big market share if you check it out.

Those who said Toyo is to Japanese? think again, biggest UMW share holder?.UMW is GLC!. and why UMW only bring in certain model and let AP King earn the Harrier+Estima+Wish re-con for a long time? That is AP King cash cow for a long time before turning to Kia and Pug.

Go figure out

• Vellfire_Hiace_Tubik_boxy lovers on Sep 08, 2011 at 1:33 am

harrier estima wish?
      where is vellfire 3.5? no vellfire no life :(

• Feast on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:04 pm

Strong Mazda DNA in it…but Mazda is moving to another level now towards their new Kodo design like this awesome Shinari http://www.autoblog.com/2010/08/30/mazda-shinari-concept-debuts-new-face-of-the-brand-in-style/

• Waiting for thumb downs from hater and hardcore T&H supporter. Its really fun to see every comment about the car that is positive being thumb downed.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 08, 2011 at 1:03 am

Can we have turbocharged power please. A car this sporty needs a turbo lump, say peugeots 1.6L turbo with 156bhp and 240 Nm

• Vellfire_Hiace_Tubik_boxy lovers on Sep 08, 2011 at 1:36 am

any news bout suzuki kizashi and ford focus 2012 enter our shore?
    kizashi c or d segment?

• Maserati on Sep 08, 2011 at 7:51 am

hahaha…this car good? You gotta be kidding me…you people say this car is good just because it looks good? Do you know how crappy Korean cars are? Yea their soundproofing might be a tad better than the japs,but guess what,the only think the KOreans are good at is the soundproofing.

The other stuff like engine technology and drivability are so many decades behind the japs.And on my daily commute,I see more ferraris than i30.

Nowadays Korean cars are trying to price their cars like JAPs,but what they dont understand is that Korean cars dont have that brand value yet.People would be more keen in being seen in a Jap car than a Kimchi car.Jap cars are more prestigious than wannabe cars from Korea like SONATA,Forte etc etc…

Most Malaysians buy Kimchi cars based on price alone ,not love.Thats a fact.But kimchi cars are terrible to drive.Just go and drive a Forte ,then you will get what I mean.Try driving it at 140-160kmh then get in a Jap car and do the same.The difference is like heaven and earth.

So this i30? I dont see many people buying this piece of crap soon..

• BeemerFreak on Sep 08, 2011 at 10:19 am

Shut up and think. This is not the first time I am replying this fool to a Forte comment. Hey i own a 1.6L forte as well as a 2.0 VW Scirocco Sport. I will never trade my forte for any japanese car priced below 140k. The ride and handling at high speed are quite excellent, and this is with the comparison with my scirocco. COme on dare you to say the Rocs handling and drive suck!!!!!!!

If you are biased towards japanese, please start your thread else where. We are here to acknowledge and appreciate. Every car has its strength and weakneesses. Too bad you seem worse than a car, only weakness i can see in you.

So try to think more and talk less, fool

• Unforgiven on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:24 am

I think the current Elantra/Avante from M’sia is also a good car, but so what?

How many people is going to buy? Especially going through the experience of 2001 Elantra/Sonata?

What is wrong with Korean cars in M’sia?

• Unforgiven on Sep 09, 2011 at 11:52 am

Forgot to also mention about Getz/Matrix, eventually sux big time by our local player too…

I like the cars, but just cannot accept the local player that’s handling the Hyundai/Inokom…

• Forte can be compared with a scirocco? Pls don’t insult Scirocco owners..

• BeemerFreak on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:54 am

Happen to only own both of these cars, what else can i compare with? my bicycle?

• If you have nothing else to compare then don’t compare….so if one own a Myvi and Scirocco, he will have to compare these 2 as well??

• Halem on Sep 08, 2011 at 12:49 pm

The soundproofing of the real Japanese car are good, try CBU Japanese car not Stripped off CKD.

As i said earlier People buy Korean out of price no love, Some even try to entrice reader here to buy Korean out of protest against Japanese car price, which i doubt it work’s base on last month MAA statistics.

I would not call Korean Car total craps just what u pay is what u get, just like their electrical appliances.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 08, 2011 at 8:59 pm

Good judgement, maybe you should teach maserati some sense. CBU Japanese cars like the toyota Mark X is indeed really good. However it is also priced beyond the reach of many

• DiskoStick on Sep 09, 2011 at 12:19 am

priced beyond reach AND it’s been USED in Japan. Yet ppl like to buy a 3 or 4 yrs old imported USED car in high price, accompanied with a 5 – 7 yrs loan or so, ur car will be a decade old by the time ur loan was settled.

• SUPER SIEN on Sep 08, 2011 at 9:54 pm

i quote you “People buy Korean car out of price & not love, that the fact.” from your earlier post.
        this is what you think and it is definitely NOT THE FACT!
        and your MAA statistics did not represent the minority.

i love my korean-made car!

• droll on Sep 08, 2011 at 8:15 am

looking very smart. i can’t help but see similarities between the front trapezoidal mouth and audi’s design. and the interior image’s pedals – aaaaah, they remind me so much of VW’s pedals in their sporty cars (GTIs, Rs).

well done hyundai. smart looking car!

• it’s shaped like a 308 but doesn’t look like a 308 at all …. jeez
    get over it guys

308 has been for awhile

hyundai cars have the “current” look but not everlasting style.

• stephen on Sep 08, 2011 at 2:40 pm

I think just no point to point out it LOOK LIKE…. we are not saying it is exact copy
      but people don’t get it and think this is purely negative remark until we have clown like JOJO who come out claim japanese car is sooooo great and european car is crap.

People will claim it is not copy because they all thought 308 is a car out in 2010….in fact it have been around for 4 yrs if I remember correctly.

• Jerry on Sep 08, 2011 at 9:33 am

I had an epiphany – designing a modern car has to be one of those boring jobs around. And all cars look alike. Driving in one has to be the antidote then. :)

• anti-first on Sep 08, 2011 at 10:54 am

LOL that’s one heck of an epiphany!

for all we know future cars may be bought because of its interior and not because of its exterior since the exterior seemed to resemble one another.

and maybe even, people may not care how the car looks like but instead focus solely on the driving experience!

• Jerry on Sep 08, 2011 at 12:38 pm

I agree. Driveability and reliability are more important issues than how a car looks from the outside. A beautiful design is a bonus. ;)

• Jaybond on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:11 am

Hyundai cars have come of age and has definitely has the upper hand in the styling department compared to the Japanese. Looking at the soon to be launched Toyota & Honda models, their styling seemed lacking in flair and dynamism. Maybe the Japanese has got better mechanicals/technology, but it won’t be too long before the Koreans are catching up, and they are doing it pretty fast.

• jalan54 on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:46 am

Its a nice car, but wonder what engine and gearbox they are going to use.

• Wow ..nice job Hyundai! anyway, a lower price compared to the Japs (ala Forte) will sure move this i30

• anyway, if choosing btw this i30 and a 308 pug….will definitely choose the i30, heard soo much horror stories from 308’s owner (my fren included)….

anyway, my experience wt my current 2005 hyundai is very good….after 6 years, no problem at all and will buy another hyundai again if price is right

• Shame ! Shame ! 2012 Peugeot 308 for copying Hyundai i30 & lauched it earlier than Hyundai, making people confused & though that Hyundai copying Peugeot instead.

Somehow the link i post earlier never published, u all can google the 2012 Peugeot 308 image to see it by ur self the similarity (esp front portion).

• stephen on Sep 08, 2011 at 2:45 pm

If 2012 308 is a copy…it will not be copying i30 because it is just copying its predecessor….2007 308 and even 307…

its a design evolution ….. just like how Bimmer keeping certain element in their design.

i30 on the plus side do keep something… the engine bonnet look like those of Sonata.

• Read my posting in Reversed manner ;-) Got it.

Offcoz not 100% Just as how Waja copying VW Bora & Pedana copying Alfa nose.

Remember those school day when copy homework u must too be a bit creative to change here & there a bit lah ! if not definately caught red handed.

• Definitely a head turner car when it’s on the road, seriously.
    Waiting for new Elantra! One word, AWESOME!

• Good look and if SD-Hyundai tuned this car using Lotus, l’ll bet this car easily beat Vios if SD price it wisely.

• nolan on Sep 08, 2011 at 9:36 pm

this is very nice !!!!…….nicer than Japanese cars…..Vios and City look outdated right now…

• stephen on Sep 10, 2011 at 5:13 am

Hyundai motor started in 1967….1986 start entering US market. 1983 to Canada.

really make me wonder how long it take for Proton to expedite their pace. To be a force to recognized. ok lets think positive…when their new model based on Tuah get roll out.

• sabinzas de joe palooka on Sep 17, 2012 at 12:18 pm

Sexy design…but sorrrryyyy….alwayz say NO to korean made cars…Fellers out there…do admit the facts tht korean cars are craps…