Mitsubishi Pajero Sport VGT to arrive later this month – 178 PS, 350 Nm, estimated RM173k

Another variant of the Pajero Sport is coming about – Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia is set to introduce the VGT variant of the big ‘un sometime later this month. As the acronym suffix suggests, the version will feature a variable geometric turbocharger.

The company says that the Pajero Sport VGT’s 2.5 litre commonrail diesel 4D56 mill, as such equipped, will feature improved performance, with higher levels of power and torque than what the current turbocharged oil burner offers (which is 136 PS at 3,000 rpm and 314 Nm at 2,000 rpm). No figures were mentioned in the release, but output numbers for the VGT version should very well be 178 PS at 4,000 rpm and 350 Nm at 1,800-3,500 rpm, a pretty nice jump indeed.

The seven-seater is estimated to roll in at around RM173,000, and will join the Pajero Sport GS 4WD and Pajero Sport GL 2WD in MMM’s lineup. That’s the GS in the pix above, by the way.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• artworkz on Sep 07, 2011 at 12:38 pm

auto tranny version is update too? use latest 5 speed?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 07, 2011 at 12:55 pm

MMM should be introducing the 5AT if it’s the 4WD that’s being launched – the 4WD VGT version in Indonesia (called the Dakar) comes with the 5AT, while the 2WD form still wears the 4AT. No details mentioned, so wait and see when the time comes.

• Fugly… Only engine is good…

• Fugly… Only engine good…

• snoid_zero on Sep 07, 2011 at 1:09 pm

This car is now available in the Philippines. Named as Montero Sport GTV
    Specs: http://www.mitsubishi-motors.com.ph/monterosport-gtv/specifications.php

• mmealin on Sep 07, 2011 at 3:12 pm

MMM should bring Triton VGT…

• ahshuy on Sep 07, 2011 at 3:25 pm

oh no~!!!

is there any upgrades available? :(

• nabill on Sep 07, 2011 at 3:34 pm

nice bt not great….the navara 2.5cc produces abt 400nm of torque….

• Fake Pajero… I prefer JDM real Pajeros…

• u get wad u pay for? MMM also offer the real Pajero. I doubt many could afford 1. Just learn to appreciate a good car will you? At least it has a name and you don’t.

• squall_shinoda on Sep 11, 2011 at 7:22 pm

The real Pajero is a 3.8L V6 petrol SUV with a price tag of about RM320k, while the Pajero Sport is basically the SUV version of Triton.

• artworkz on Sep 10, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Navara score lowest in crash test. mitsubishi is best handling for highway.

• Alberttee on Sep 07, 2011 at 4:09 pm

so will the triton at or m will also come with this VGT engine ?? waiting for this for a long time; it’s better than to come with the so called “limited” unit haha .

• sick&tired on Sep 07, 2011 at 4:24 pm

the current version which doesn’t have VGT is being sold for around RM160k. And the pathetic part is Malaysians would rather take that then the Santa Fe which has a superior engine, more equipment, better looking and to add icing to the cake cheaper than the Pajero sports!

• i think i’d rather go for santa fe or sportage or even the new sorento for looks and better engine

the mitsubishi pajero here (or nativa in the rest of the world) memang tak sedap langsung
      im speaking after 3 test drives in 2 years
      engine response is bad, with the price of the car i also did not expect a lot of body roll especially on tight turns at medium speeds, gear change is clunky, interior is dated,

the real pajero is over 200k RM
      haha

• artworkz on Sep 10, 2011 at 12:07 pm

how many owner suffer after own Kia and Hyundai SUV? go to goggle urself.

• Korean cars are expensive to fix. go get 1 yourself and feel the pain.

I agree with the slow response when accelerating from a stand still but the car offers awesome power and not bad handling once it starts moving. You could hardly judge it correctly if you do not own 1.

• Jimmy on Sep 07, 2011 at 9:42 pm

Want to sell well? Make it look like having Ninja King’s width. You are too slim, relative to your height.

• These are urban vehicles, have you ever pilot one between double parked cars in the city? Any wider, you will need your horn or many cars will have damaged side mirrors. For those that wants to double park, please have the courtesy to fold in your side mirrors. Not everyone drives a tiny car.

• SiloMan on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:23 am

I’ve driven the current GS. Hate the slow take off but once in motion, it’s a pleasure to drive. The new High Power version is great news. Whatever it is, the suspension and handling surprises me all the time. I actually enjoy taking it for a drift round bends as i don’t have to worry about it rolling over. It just feels planted. To me laaa …

• brian lim on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:18 pm

yup, the handling of pajero sport is awesome. i am the salesman here. pajero sport GS comes with 178hp @ 4000rpm and 350nm torque @ 1800-3500rpm. its fantastic to drive around and the fuel consumption is incredibly low. it will be launch on 22/9/2011. PM me for appt. tq

• brian lim on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:21 pm

gff

• navara’s 400 torque only at 2000 rpm bro…. new pajero sport vgt got flat torque meaning it maintain 350 torque from 1800rpm to 3500rpm .. think pls…

• Big Guy Loon on Sep 11, 2011 at 10:37 am

Mr. Tan Chong Motor, you gotta show the real machine of your Nissan Pathfinder 2.5dci now before the all the pies are eaten up by the Pajero Sports! Your 190hp and 450Nm Mother SUVer definitely outruns and give MMC a BIG fight to catch up in terms of sales, look and most importantly the performance of your MASTERPIECE machine! also the 7-speed AT!

• Bobby on Sep 16, 2011 at 5:37 am

Hi,

I am planning to buy a 4wd , 4×4 , i do not know the difference , does not know much about cars either .. but i am planning to get something like hilux … or its sis variant …

Can someone help me highlight their experience & knowledge please …..

Thank you so much …

really appreciate it …

please email me if can … bobbyperezkl(at)ymail (dot) com

cheers
    Bobby

• Bobby on Sep 16, 2011 at 5:39 am

by the way i do not have much reason for going for 4×4 , i am a little big size .. and i kinda ventured into real estate .. so i guess it wud be good to have 4×4 … n i am not a heavy traveller per se … and dont drive to test the stretch … :)

I am looking at a ” best value for money ” dollar sign is a concern …

• Pls advise the difference between pajero 3.8 v6 year 2011 and 2012 ?

Tq