Test Drive Report: New Nissan Livina X-Gear 1.6 Auto

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) officially unveiled the new Nissan Livina X-Gear yesterday, while also giving the media a chance to sample the new crossover in a drive from KL to Penang and back. If you missed yesterday’s launch post, click here to view it.

In a nutshell, the X-Gear is a five-door version of the Grand Livina that we’re familiar with, decked with SUV style bodywork. While it’s shorter and has one less row of seats, the five-seater X-Gear shares the same wheelbase and tracks as the Grand Livina. Offered in a single spec – 1.6-litre auto – ETCM is pitching it as a spacious alternative to typical B-segment hatchbacks such as the Ford Fiesta, Mazda2, Honda Jazz and Suzuki Swift.

Read the review after the jump.

I started the first half of the journey from KL to Ipoh at the back seat. Headroom and legroom is very generous in the X-Gear, allowing me to file the launch story in relative comfort. By the way, the legroom pic from yesterday’s post was taken on the move – the driver was around my height (170-175 cm) and that was his correct driving position.

Test Drive Report: New Nissan Livina X-Gear 1.6 AutoNote that ‘correct driving position’ is backrest upright with elbows and knees slightly bent, not fully stretched, boy racer style. This is what we’ve learned from various driver training sessions by professionals, and not simply plucked from the sky.

In any case, I’d say that legroom is very good in the X-Gear, and there’s also room for feet to tuck below the front seat.

One significant change in the cabin is the deletion of the rear air con vent of the Grand Livina (GL), replaced by a cupholder that can transform into two. The central strip vent on the dashboard that’s supposed to direct air to the rearmost sections of the GL has also been omitted.

This rationale for this is that the X-Gear’s shorter cabin length doesn’t require the GL’s extra vents. Anyway, it’s not a crime for a two-row car below RM100k to not have rear blowers, and I didn’t miss them.

After lunch in Ipoh, it was my turn behind the wheel. The driver’s work area is instantly familiar, although things like the silver dial faces and black dashboard/interior (both introduced with the recently facelifted GL) lift the ambiance for yours truly. The headlining isn’t in black, so it’s not too dark.

The ‘Tartan’ fabric works well to break the monotony. Things like seat height adjustment and steering reach adjustment/audio controls remain on the wish list, though. I also found the wing mirrors to be on the small side, but maybe it’s just me.

With 105 PS and no VVT, the engine looks poor on paper. The auto ‘box is also just a four speeder. But the X-Gear driving experience is far from lethargic. A sensitive and responsive throttle plays its part, and the gearbox, while not possessing the silkiest change, is fault free in perceptiveness.

If it doesn’t compute, let’s just say that sometimes bare figures don’t tell the full story, and making the most of what you’ve got is important. For instance, I’d rather have the Vios’ good response over the City’s 11 PS, 4 Nm and extra gear ratio paper advantage.

The X-Gear revs freely and willingly, but it does get quite vocal in the second half of the rev range. If you’re wondering, the sound is more buzzy bee than sweet honey! So it’s a good thing that the X-Gear is doing around 2,700 rpm at 110 km/h, which is decent for a four speeder. Acceleration feels stronger than the Grand Livina 1.6, which is logical since it’s 105 kg lighter.

I pushed hard between Jelapang and Sungai Perak since the won’t be many curves after that stretch. The X-Gear’s EPS steering is light and easy to steer, but not very grounded and assuring at high speeds. This is quite a tall car with high ground clearance, and the body moves around quite abit at high speeds (above our highway limit) and when overtaking trucks. A more planted feel for high speed cruising wouldn’t go amiss, but bear in mind that we were driving way harder than most X-Gear owners will.

Handling and grip wise, it doesn’t fare too bad. The X-Gear is nimble when cornered hard, and held its line with determination in the S bends down the hill, despite the comfort biased Continental rubber. Carving corners isn’t what it’s made for, but given a choice between this and the (non Impul) Latio on B roads, I’ll have the X-Gear, which is quite a surprising discovery.

What’s more surprising is the ride comfort on offer. Perhaps it’s my bad memory, but I don’t remember the Grand Livina riding so well. Bumps, potholes, ridges and bad roads were absorbed very well – no thumping and harsh landings, the well damped X-Gear didn’t feel like a small Japanese car at all, to be honest! Definitely more compliant than the Latio, too. This quality makes the X-Gear a good urban vehicle.

Later, ETCM revealed that spring and damper rates are different compared to the Grand Livina. They are softer, since the X-Gear is a lighter car, and doesn’t need to be tuned to accommodate the bigger loads of the GL.

This doesn’t necessarily mean that the X-Gear rides softer than the GL, just that this is the most optimum setting for the car. Whatever it is, it works. This is no flash in the pan actually; the X-Trail is one of the better riding SUVs in its class.

To sum it up, the good ride comfort and easily accessible performance are big plus points for the X-Gear, along with the generous rear legroom and boot volume. It’s not the best equipped car around, though, and keen drivers are much better served in a Fiesta or Swift. However, those cars don’t double up as family transport very well, something the X-Gear excels in. Can’t have it all, so it all depends on one’s priorities.

The X-Gear will never outsell the Grand Livina, but is sure to give B-segment car buyers some good food for thought.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The bag compartment looks so cramped.

• putra_rider on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:01 pm

suddenly i thinking of sorento..

maybe this macho livina is targeted for young father age 30-45 with 3 young children..
    oklah..

• i fall under that age factor mentioned and coming with my 3rd baby but with my first impression, i would say Proton Exora would be a good buy. I prefers more with the number of passenger + space + value for money but at the same time, this car reminds me of SX4

• cheng on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:01 pm

hmmm…. so how? grand livina or x-gear?

• Woo King Weng on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:18 pm

Quite interesting, since price is 80+K, I think I will buy this over a Vios because got more room, 1.6 engine and can take bad road and floods in KL

• Don’t only look at the cc.. 1.6, see the horse-power also, only 102hp, compared with new city 1.5 but 120hp and a lot cheaper even the higher spec

• Rizal on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:20 pm

i would prefer suzuki sx4 hatchback, which i could see more sprited than x-gear.

• Yuzdi on Sep 08, 2011 at 10:09 am

Agree. I just bought SX4. Well known s Fiat Sedici in Europe. For comparison with SX4; luggage compartment more spacious, side mirror bigger (reduce blind spot), others luks the same to me. SX4 is European design. M not sure, SX4 copy X-Gear or other way. But, Japs always like to copy each other. S far s they can sell……

• turbo go go go on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:21 pm

seriously, why not just grand livina?

when do they wanna bring the nissan juke in????????????????

• you don’t like it don’t buy it, nobody is forcing you, frankly all suv with third row seats are stupid, never seen anyone sitting on the 3rd row

• Uncanny on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:34 pm

So this is an Ah Pek Grand Ribena that tries to be cool?

• murad on Sep 07, 2011 at 7:17 pm

It depends on one preference, to you maybe it’s Ah Pek, but to some it’s pleasant and has hit the right note between Grand Livina and X-Trail.

• megaman on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:29 am

that is because you are a BOY BOY.

• supersona on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:43 pm

a very good write-up, Danny! and kudos to ETCM too for bringing another model to Malaysia.. the more the merrier, right?

• tikus on Sep 07, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Danny…Does it using Keyless Entry like Latio Sport?

• very nice, i always think that grand livina looks very long.. this one is the right proportion livina..

• Lancer Nation on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Obviously Vios response is better than the City since kerb weight for Vios is 1050kg whereas City is 1150kg. 100kg difference. Some variants of the Vios is on 15inch wheels too.

• Rofflemayo on Sep 07, 2011 at 6:37 pm

“This is no flash in the pan actually; the X-Trail is one of the better riding SUVs in its class.”

• Nothing wrong there Rofflemayo. Danny is saying that X-Gear’s ride quality is not by accident, because Nissan did just as well with the X-Trail, which is one of the best riding SUVs in the class.

• Klbloke on Sep 07, 2011 at 7:11 pm

Now 1.6 without VVT tech and selling at 80k++? Tan Chong sure knows how to make profit

• So perhaps, to even it out, buy the car and but Tan Chong’s shares leyyy…

• bobdbilder on Sep 08, 2011 at 9:44 am

Not as much as how much they make out of the Sentra Sport that they still sell (in lots)?

But looking over the spec sheet, its not surprising. ETCM need to get something that leaps and shouts in more value than the Sentra. That is why the X gear is for; assaulting the senses.

• absar on Sep 09, 2011 at 10:56 am

I think it was CVTC (Continous Variable Valve Timing Control) engine. Pls double check

• nabill on Sep 07, 2011 at 7:59 pm

the ride is very subjective actually….other local site mention that the ride does transmit highway ridges to the cabin….

anyway it more choice to the consumer…bt did they REALLY have to make it look like a 4×4 and it actually isnt ????

• Isaac Cheah on Sep 07, 2011 at 9:50 pm

Well, even the much more 4×4 looking X-Trail is only a 2WD here too. We don’t get the 4WD version.

• Jimmy on Sep 07, 2011 at 9:51 pm

SX4 hatch is the best looking crossover under RM100K. This one is like a mini Rexton, the buntut ought to be more slanted like Harrier or previous Sportage.
    Wheels need to be bigger.

• dannyl77 on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:10 pm

I would have to say that its actually a quite nice looking car , or may i say Unique….
    But , The Features are a bit Outdated already le….. No Side Mirror Lamp.. Outdated Dashboard Design with Not much of Features… Outdated CD Player with No MP3, Outdated Rear Light… Nowdays LED mah, Rims design is recycle from Grand Livina one… No Volume control on Steering wheel…. The Dash Board is identical as Grand Livina… At least add on Some cosmetics on the Dashboard la… maybe Carbon Fibre trim ke or any type of the latest Material…..
    All i can see is that most of the Design & features of the Car are 2-3 Years back old already… if it was back in the year 2007 or 2008 , i would be very impressed with this Car….. Anyhow, Better Late than never….. :D

• “outdated” in style is one thing.
      certain things, from a practical point of view, have the older version/ tech being more reliable than the latest/ new.

for example keyless entry vs standard old lock and key… the more u rely on electronics, there is higher risk of malfunction or breakdown.

power window is another , the good old manual window up/down lever will almost NEVER breakdown in the lifetime compared to so called ” moderN” power windows.

some people view the fact of using proven technology as a strong point of NIssan, they dont give in to updating non essential details. ..thereby passing on maintenance savings cost to you. By ” recycling” certain components, they are shared accross models and that translates into economies of scale for consumers. eg steering wheel design whats the big harm if the x gear is similar if not the same as the GLivina?

if style and petty designs are important, then other brands such as Honda are the go.

NIssan is for the more mature buyer where the key components such as the engine and gearbox, low mainteance cost, cheap spares, and savings derrived from economies of scale manufacturing are passed on to you, the consumer. If u purely want the ” latest of the latest” and trendy designs, perhaps NIssan is not the first choice. But, if u want proven reliability, award winning engines, and economical motoring, then its NISSAN. that is for sure.

• I have to agree with above. I prefer a more practical approach than fancy gadgets. I have been uaing the car for 3 years. The high suspension and excellent handling are the main things i like about the car. Regarding the player, i have to agree that it is outdated. Jump pump in a few hundreds and buy a new one. No sweat.

• SP00001 on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:12 pm

basically, it’s just like nautica from P2 but from the review, I think I will persuade my father to try this car….

• Shaun on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:16 pm

Time to read the report properly John!

• asgard on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:44 pm

why cant they hv auto aircond system, the sliding switch is so 90s that even honda city 09 hv these, new proton doesnt use these thing anymore,
    suzuki sx4 and swift sport also doesnt hv auto aircond even though its cbu from japan,
    weird because the thai models hv that

• crazy sky on Sep 07, 2011 at 10:47 pm

wrong, totally wrong…. weird interior and exterior design, crap engine and aging gearbox… weird than the GL version

• mikey on May 23, 2012 at 2:26 am

Honda City has newer engine, newer gearbox. 1.5L selling for 90k.
      This one 1.6L selling for 82k
      If Nissan put newer engine and gearbox, they certainly wont sell at 82k. Probably 102k.

• kenny_lim on Sep 07, 2011 at 11:23 pm

no abs?

• michael on Sep 08, 2011 at 8:13 am

Can book already? Is the car in showroom already? Can test drive?

• Definately looks more rugged than d bread n butter GL. But s’how those carried over wheels just look too weedy for a crossover. SX4 hatchback looks better proportionally.

Still.GL sales will still better tis since most of us look for d biggest amount of metal for d buck paid.

• Spootid on Sep 08, 2011 at 8:48 am

Danny…

How’s the rear compartment…??? Is it a good ‘balik kampung’ car…??? Dying to trade in both my Wira and Iswara for this… but afraid rear boot compartment a bit too cramped compared to Wira Aeroback…

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 08, 2011 at 9:03 am

I’m not sure about how the boot compares to your Wira, but the capacity is 383 litres, expandable to 769 litres with the rear seats folded.

http://paultan.org/2011/09/07/test-drive-report-new-nissan-livina-x-gear-1-6-auto/p1030987b/

I suggest you check it out for yourself at the showroom.

• I did try out with my normal “loadout” (Baby stroller, several bags) at the show room — luckily the salesman didn’t kick me out, it’s identical if not bigger. The point is that it is deeper compared to Wira, so you could load in higher items.
      (Ex.: I am loading my baby stroller vertically instead of horizontally)…

• Spootid on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:07 am

I went to the Nissan showroom at Putrajaya Friday last week and I must agree with Hman… the boot compartment is identical if not larger thah that of my Wira… time to change my trusty old ride with the X-Gear…!!!

• megaman on Sep 08, 2011 at 11:20 am

WHAT? not fierce looking, not super VIP looking, no turbo, cannot take it for a race, cannot attract sexy chick, no room for modification, sumore cannot fit a kayak or a surfboard. WHAT DA HECK, I’m a father, I don’t need any of that. I’ll love this car.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 08, 2011 at 1:03 pm

X-gear looks good and is affordable, sx4 has bigger 16-inches rim and some more features but maybe not as comfortable or spacious, and is 8-9K more expensive, all are important factors for buyers of this car.

• EXACTLY! quite a number of newbie car owners never think further than just the superficial factors of looks and trendy conveniences…the mature buyer considers reliability and maintenance cost…u just compare the tyre price between 14″ and 15″ and 16″…for instance ? if u are on a budget, every 1″ tyre pricing will count.

i know someone who bought a toyota rush SUV because it ” looks good” . he had a shock when time came to change tyres – the price comparison between the Rush SUV and a Nissan sentra 1.6 stock rim of 14″…

if u are on a budget then think carefully…owning a car is not just buying it coz it looks good or because ” all your friends are drivning one”…

• we r not gays on Sep 08, 2011 at 1:25 pm

thre is one thing that i dont understand how come cheap latio has keyless entry but nissan sllyph doesnt have……

• Hi all,,
    read this news article about the launch of X-Gear in Malaysia
    http://www.sinchew.com.my/node/218751?tid=1

Read the 2nd last paragraph,, it mentions the fuel consumption
    is 13.8 Liter for every kilometer !!!

• Wisdom on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:42 pm

They should call it 4-Gear instead of X-Gear…..

• Leonardo on Sep 08, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Danny, the boot space looks smaller than a Persona. For 5 pax and full Balek Kampung luggage, looks cramped. Another thing, can 2 mountain bikes without the tyres taken out, fit in with the 2nd row seats folded down?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 09, 2011 at 2:24 am

Hatchback types will naturally have less cargo space than a booted sedan. Honestly, I have no idea on whether your bikes can fit.

• how about its fuel consumption?
    is it better than nautica/rush?
    for balik kampung event, maybe it’s boot space is not really that good
    if you are single then yes, but for family guy, i don’t think so
    children are usually on the second row, so the advantage of folding the second row for bigger boot is not applicable here
    and of course what’s the size of the tyres?
    if it’s same as gl there is no advantage of being as comfort as common SUV which usually has high profile tyres

• muffy on Sep 18, 2011 at 3:19 pm

Bro, you have to know the difference.. X-gear is not a MPV for family, this is SUV, for moderate number of ppl. if u are consider family car, this is not the rire one.

Yes, this x-gear looks more better than natutica/rush. mayb Sx4 suzuki is on d same level. just little differences only. but im not too sure about maintainance or realibility etc…

• Yogi Manikam on Sep 08, 2011 at 10:41 pm

If the xgear is small, then the jazz would be tiny and the fiesta, mazda2 microscopic. I’m afraid gray matter is not a plentiful commodity here…

• evardowoo on Sep 09, 2011 at 4:33 pm

nothing special

• draftboy on Sep 10, 2011 at 11:03 pm

Finally…no more ugly beige interior…..good move nissan…well done… but still lack interior design…

• even if Livina X gear cost Rm 50K, some stupid malaysian consisting 3000 of them avaerage monthly will buy a Vios. Even if the Vios cost Rm100k, they will still buy them . The 3000 is the average buyer monthly to buy a Vios

• alpha999 on Sep 24, 2011 at 11:46 am

cheapest vios RM 72k with very basic accessories….that RM 20k difference to better equipped X-Gear……given the current cost of living standards, i think more potential vios buyers will seriously consider X-Gear

• please ..please..keep on complaining on this car….so that i can get a discounted price on it next year!!!..huhuhu

• JeremyNg on Nov 01, 2011 at 3:37 pm

How about the fuel consumption ??

• JIMMY NG on Nov 07, 2011 at 11:58 am

Only one is.This car have to wait 4 to 5 month. so sad.How to waiting until next year, when customer in hot mood.

• pity to Malaysian, same model same spec offered at China is selling @ RMB 120k.

• mikey on May 23, 2012 at 2:22 am

This one you have to thank our gov for the taxes.
      Our gov need our taxes by the way at the rate they are wasting the nation’s money.

• JIMMY NG on Nov 09, 2011 at 3:47 pm

One thing,this car have to wait until 4 to 5 month.

• rocky on Dec 15, 2011 at 6:20 pm

this one is really empty can… looks nice from outside.. but when i went to showroom to test drive… look at the interior wah… sienz…
    82K… might as well something else la.. or might as well the grand livina.

the interior really cheap :(

• mikey on May 23, 2012 at 2:19 am

Interior certainly looks old fashioned. Like taken out from an 80s car.
    SX4 looks better but it is a bit too feminine for me.
    I think the exterior of the x-gear seems just “ngamm” for a not so young, not so old guy like me!
    Standard GL is too long.

Of course I wonder why it doesn’t have a more advanced engine and gearbox.
    But the 150Nm torque is pretty decent for a 1.6 car and it is not a heavy car.
    (I think Proton Preve is almost 200kg heavier. So, the non-turbo version will be a bit sluggish)

I have a Honda City now. Had more features than the Vios when I was deciding.
    CVT with paddle shifters. Useful? Not really. They aren’t that practical in day to day driving.
    Everyday I wonder when my CVT will start giving trouble. And these things are almost non-repairable.
    I haven’t had real problems with my CVT yet but I have heard many horror stories. I will avoid CVT cars as much as possible.
    So, I think a simple 4AT may not be such a bad idea after all.

Considering a sub or around RM100k car to replace my City.
    Mazda 3 1.6
    VW Polo Sedan
    Ford Fiesta
    Nissan X-Gear
    Toyota Altis 1.6
    Proton Inspira 1.8
    Proton Preve

I think X Gear will likely be my final choice unless I can find a good 2nd hand Altis.
    The cheapest among the non-Protons and is probably quite reliable. Though not that exciting. Not that I wanna race or pick up hot chicks.

• I love the 2-din player. it’s so old school. atleast i can replace it in the future unlike those installed in honda city, vios and mazda2(love mazda2 engine and performance, but no love loss there for the interior).

i’ve been having headache about getting a new car. then, comes NL X-gear. Immediately, i felt in love it. Gadget-wise, there wasn’t much but the interior felt solid and in place. Boot space was large, it felt u can fit in two human adults back there. I really don’t know why people want to complain about it? Engine-wise, it was responsive. Aesthetic-wise, for all i care, girls loved it (this, from a hot babe i noticed drooling over the car yesterday).

Danny, do u know the tolerant top speed for the car? i mean, before the car started shaking nonchalantly.

• amademe on Jul 27, 2012 at 8:45 pm

a little sluggish and slow response. top speed achieved only 150km/h by climb down hill. no pickup at all…many parts are made in china and vietnam

• Santa on Feb 11, 2013 at 3:04 pm

This car is brilliant. The old nissan engine is lively. The best cruising speed is between 110-130 km. Ride comfort in regards to B segment cars. This in my opinion is the best, have compared w vios n city n preve.FC the best achieved is 14.3km/l. Worst 7.5 km/l. Average abt 12.8 km/l. The more you push it the more enjoyable it is. Forget the stats, the real world driving exp counts here. Ride height is high but it takes corners with gusto. Overall good car for family…