VIDEO: Volkswagen up! concept cars unveiling – buggy up!, up! azzurra, cross up!, GT up!, eco up!, e-up!

Volkswagen revealed its six Volkswagen up! Concepts last night at the Volkswagen Group Night, just one of the few amazing presentations during what was a night showcasing the brilliant diversity of the Volkswagen group.

The world premiere of the two-door up! signifies the beginning of an entire series of cars: the New Small Family. Volkswagen is demonstrating – with no less than 6 exciting concept cars – how this family could be further developed based on the new up!.

VIDEO: Volkswagen up! concept cars unveiling – buggy up!, up! azzurra, cross up!, GT up!, eco up!, e-up!

Specially designed for the world’s beaches are the buggy up! and the up! azzurra sailing team. Then there is the cross up!, which was conceptualised for urban driving. The GT up! is a concept car tuned for the German Autobahn. Another concept car is the eco up! that is powered by natural gas and extremely clean to drive: The e-up! is a zero-emissions specialist with an electric drive.

The different brands of the Volkswagen group – Volkswagen, Audi, Skoda, SEAT, Porsche, and Lamborghini showcased their Frankfurt debuts at the Volkswagen Group Night. Each brand took their turn to reveal their showcars to the audience in their very own unique way.

In a way, this was probably one of the best ways to showcase how the Volkswagen Group runs their brands. Many of the cars have shared technologies and platforms, thus improving economies of scale as well as pressing the fast forward button on innovation and technology trickle-down from the high end brands to the low end brands. But each brand is allowed to have their own identity, and this is clearly reflected in the cars that each brand puts out.

We are currently working on putting up the rest of the debut performance videos online, as well as get you the full lowdown on all the various cars that the Volkswagen group have put out, including live photos from the 2011 Frankfurt Motor Show. In the meanwhile, sit back relax and enjoy the stream of Frankfurt stories being released.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• It remind me to EMAS

• nebula87 on Sep 13, 2011 at 7:42 pm

y so mny Proton Emas-look-alike of car?? XD

• Another foreign carmaker simply take our Proton Emas concept and badge with their own brand.

Proton you need to do something to stop this madness. Sue them and give them a lesson!

• u wanna be the Proton fans then go ahead, but the fact is:
      VW Up! debuted at the 2007 Frankfurt Motor Show.
      potong EMAS debuted at the 2010 Geneva Motor Show.

so, if Proton really wanna sue, then Proton will loss for sure!!!!!

• Alpha on Sep 13, 2011 at 9:45 pm

YAY!!up!up! and away!!!

• leebengsiang on Sep 13, 2011 at 10:33 pm

um @paultan o.0 one of the new b class that’s gonna be unveiled at frankfurt is here in malaysia o.o cycle n carriage,kl.They negotiated the price with my dad and its 25x,xxx circa

• helmi on Sep 13, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Lost my appetite on VW due to bad experience during Das Auto Motor Show in Bukit Jalil recently. I know VW is a good car but we have many other option in the market which is also good. Btw this model is ugly for me.

• Unforgiven on Sep 14, 2011 at 10:26 am

I drove there 3 times and parked 2 times (paid RM4), wanted to go in but the queue was crazy, gals bising, under the hot sun, gave up and drove home. The 3rd time just round outside.

• BOYRACER on Sep 13, 2011 at 11:24 pm

They forgotten 1 more model..up!up! & away..
    Anyway nice looking cars.Dont mind having if the price is right.Hmmm…in Malaysia,forget bout it..

• well they has plant in malaysia..anything can happen

• The up! will have the same price tag as the Viva (Daihatsu Mira) in Europe (9500 Euro). So I guess there’s no chance that it will come to Malaysia…

• asgard on Sep 14, 2011 at 1:45 am

the hip hop version shoud be called whattzup ! yo

• Unforgiven on Sep 14, 2011 at 9:48 am

If you are in Europe/US/China/Indo/Vietnam/Dubai, do you wanna buy for VW or Emas?

I can understand why you need to buy a Proton in M’sia.

• sleevesshop on Sep 14, 2011 at 11:27 am

any news on Proton EMAS?

• sleevesshop on Sep 14, 2011 at 11:35 am

saw Polo Sedan @ Putrajaya.. to me it looks like Proton Saga..