Proton and Mitsubishi’s broad range strategic collaboration to benefit both companies

The announcement made earlier today by Proton and Mitsubishi Motors Corporation (MMC) that both automakers were in a detailed discussion to enter a broad ranging collaboration, with a firm focus on developing a powertrain joint venture, is a positive move for the national carmaker.

Proton chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Nadzmi Mohd Salleh said that in collaborating with MMC, there would be no need for either company to swap equities or exchange shares. “Both companies stand to gain with the economies of scale, which will lower the cost of development,” he said.

Entering the final phases of discussion, details about the collaboration as well as the investment in the JV should be finalised in the next two months. At the press briefing announcing this, six strategic areas of the colloboration were delved on briefly.

On the powertrain front, Proton is set to build engines for MMC, which the national carmaker is also set to utilise in its future model lineup. The benefit to Proton is that it reduces development cost and time and provides economies of scale with the joint volumes, said Proton managing director Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin.

“We have to make a decision on whether to invest in a new engine, or collaborate. The duration if we were to invest in our own engine would be 18-24 months, and we’d have to invest a lot of money. In working together, we’ll have greater economies of scale,” Syed Zainal said.

The MMC powertrain production is set to take place in Tanjung Malim, and the work will not just be for assembly but involve casting and machining processes as well.

“Besides the powertrain JV, the other step of the collaboration we are finalising is the opportunity to also do OEM assembly for MMC for its products. We’re talking about two products, and one of these could obviously bring down the cost structure for MMC, and we’d offer them a quick market for it,” Syed Zainal added. No mention was made as to which these models are, though it has been bandied about that the Mitsubishi ASX is one of them.

While increasing capacity utilisation in its plants would bring about additional revenue, it is yet to be decided whether Tanjung Malim or Shah Alam will handle the consignment production of these MMC-brand models.

Elsewhere, following on the broader strategic front scope, there was also mention of product and platform collaboration, with the co-utilisation of these aimed at further improving scale with joint values and stretching the commercial value of Proton’s products. This will also minimise the investment needed and also bring about the ability to tap into existing MMC JV partners to reduce the complexity of the collaboration.

Component sourcing is also to be improved, with joint sourcing and a commonisation of components tapping on existing component bins helping to reduce cost as well as improve purchasing power.

Meanwhile, in other news today, the company made the announcement that the facelifted Exora MPV was due to make its market debut in two months time. The long-awaited turbocharged 1.6 litre Campro mill is also set to finally make its way into the market, and also set to be introduced is a six-seater premium variant of the MPV called the Exora Prime.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• riderxdesign on Sep 15, 2011 at 7:55 pm

im aspecting proton would save up about RM70j to RM120j when they share parts n fully utilize tg malim plant. with that amount of saving they would benefit in making new non-core models and future line up replacement for the next 3-5 years.

*dont forget about india market n the new ones. these are actually the 1st step in proton global market…

• gud or not it just same old same old…

• i think most of u think a bit too much la…..let them do their job

• Hameed Koyakuti on Sep 20, 2011 at 9:21 am

Mentaliti orang yang masih tidak MERDEKA dan masih dijajah !!!

At this point P1 still begging to be the components manufacturing kuli for Japanese brand. P1 still has the KILANG mentality.

Mitsubishi never engage Lotus to develop their cars !!! So what does that tells you ??? The Japs does not trust you !!!! They dont even recognize your capabilities !!!! They look DOWN on you !!! They still believe P1 and Malaysians does not qualifies to give advice to the Japs !!!

So buck up P1!!! Merdekalah minda anda dari dijajah oleh Jepun !!!! Jangan jadi seperti Perutdua!!! Jangan ikut sangat telunjuk MD P1 yang juga bekas pekerja Perutdua !!!

Stand up to your beliefs and fly high !!!! That’s what indipendence is all about !!!!

Now is the time to sell Malaysian Made cars to the Japs !!!!

Dethrone all your zombie “yes man” management and directors.

• Peter on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:00 pm

With Mitsubishi, Proton is not JV on building engine, it’s call touch up. From the past, Proton trade facilities & market opportunity for the not-so-new technology. To sum up, I think the relationship with Mitsubishi is more on trading than JV.

• riderxdesign on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:09 pm

think the many people would greatly have working chance at the new production line up and doing mitsu parts. plus dont u read from the start? its not touchup ok….malas dah la aku nak terang..sama je utk korang yg cambest ni kan..huhu

• Peter on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:42 pm

Ok. 1st off, I don mean to be expert on topic, only debate no quarrel.
        I look at it this way, in term of technology what can Proton contribute which Mitsubishi has interest in or not yet achieve? Of course, something Proton did his own way like VIM, CPS which Mits also has its own way. So I think Mits won interest on that.
        IMHO, collaboration can be in many forms, which I think Proton play the role of providing facilities & other resources in exchange for technology & other expertise. In my own term, I call this trading or exchange. Of course, economy of scale mean spending less $$$ to achieve the expected result which is very general in any collaboration.

• kizwan on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:40 pm

Hmmm… This JV look interesting especially new engine collaboration. I hope this time, Proton not just a customer but instead, co-ownership the new engine. I hope what I read here is not just a bedtime story!

• Didn’t you read the article above?

‘with a firm focus on developing a powertrain joint venture’

They are developing a joint venture, not a powertrain. They are opening a business where Mitsubishi supplies the technical drawings and Proton supplies the factories and the workers, that’s all. They are not talking about engines that have to be developed in the future.

• kizwan on Sep 16, 2011 at 2:07 pm

Yes, I did read…carefully. I’m referring to this:-
            “We have to make a decision on whether to invest in a new engine, or collaborate. The duration if we were to invest in our own engine would be 18-24 months, and we’d have to invest a lot of money. In working together, we’ll have greater economies of scale,” Syed Zainal said.

Whatever they’re planning for the new engine, I hope Proton also co-ownership, not just a customer.

• Hadi75 on Sep 19, 2011 at 11:02 am

With firm focus on developing a POWERTRAIN JOINT VENTURE…

• SidewaysSyndrome on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:43 pm

From what i understand from the article, the first part of this collaboration is the JV between Proton & MMC to produce MMC engine. This engine will be used in Proton & MMC future model.

By doing this, its a win-win scenario for both parties since the cost is being shared by both companies.

• Forummers on Sep 16, 2011 at 5:04 pm

How do you know that Proton just do touch up. Do you know when they are going to release exora with CVVT?

• as long proton make money its ok rite…..if u have the choice bet “involve in F1″,” make car with high tax payer money aka ur money” and “contract manufacturing to make car for others” which 1 u choose?…u choose make car for others rite…….

• sub_zero on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:02 pm

Let see how many can provide constructive criticism, and compare to the mindless zombie who on bent spreading the hatred

• civicEK on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:34 pm

good luck proton!! :D

• kitkat on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:35 pm

kan elok dr dulu lg kekal kerjasama ngan mitsubishi jek
    but, better late than never kan..

• F.O.Ç on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:37 pm

Proton on the right track, thumbs thumbs up ALL the way! It is time for collaboration. Bring back the glory days,

• May I know when was the glory days of Proton? Are you referring to local or export?

• Hameed Koyakuti on Sep 20, 2011 at 9:24 am

What right track??? All this while, P1 had been the dumping ground for absolete Mitsubishi model. To name a few: Lancer, Colt, Mirage, Eterna, Town Box, New Lancer…….

Is this the track ????

• P2 Engineer on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:40 pm

Why Mitsubishi? Why not Mazda/Honda or any other manufacturer that can sharing the technology of fuel save engine and better quality of cars??

• rosdi on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:15 pm

Why not Mitsubishi?

• SidewaysSyndrome on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:45 pm

Ya, why not Mitsubishi? Are they not good enough? As far as i know there are only 2 brands that have EV cars in production. Nissan with the Leaf and Mitsubishi with its i-Miev.

• err... on Sep 16, 2011 at 1:15 am

from Mitsubishi point of view is that they’ve learned their mistake from the betrayal of Hyundai in GEMA project….so now let proton build it but not changing the name….as in calling the mivec as cps…..don’t think proton will do so like what Hyundai did….calling a 4B11T as ThetaII turbo and claiming it as own engine…..

• nebula87 on Sep 15, 2011 at 8:53 pm

c’mon proton, build a SUV by using ASX chassis plz…~~~ XD

• riderxdesign on Sep 16, 2011 at 2:26 pm

reskin that ASX to a proton! :D but dont just make minor facelift like with inspira, we had to wait for 2 more years for inspira to be reskinned.. T_T

maybe the new colt would be great if they both develop it to their own variants, just like ford n mazda did :D

• good partnership…one of the world worst car brand partnering Japan’s worst car brand…bravo

• BadBET on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:11 pm

Good plan, as long as the JV is profitable.

• At the end Proton still need MMC to help in its development but why is it Proton discontinued working with MMC initially!!It is so sarcasm!!!

• SP_Persona on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:15 pm

yeah!! proton exora turbocharged is going to make it debut in 2 months from now…. thnx proton!!

• rosdi on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:17 pm

Good news for both Proton and Mitsubishi!

• LittleMin on Sep 15, 2011 at 9:19 pm

Paul, any news when will be the Saga FLX 1.6 be launched??

• saga flx 1.6 SE on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:11 pm

Proton Kasturi

• SagaFiore on Sep 17, 2011 at 2:07 am

Saga FLX already launched with this special edition ‘swimming pool inside’. check this link out

http://www.bharian.com.my/bharian/articles/PROTONSagaFLXbarubeli14haribertakungair/Article

• From my friend who’s working in proton, it’s going to be launched probably by March 2012. But hey, anything can change in the near future right.

• littlefire on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Haha… In the end still goes back to his previous partner.. I still wonder where those so call hardcore supporters which always say P1 should be 100% made in Malaysia, even the gearbox will still be outsource from others…

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:55 pm

we want proton to develop their models, not simply take existing model from somewhere, modify few things and call it proton’s.. aka rebadge. they might not learn anything by rebadging.
      joint-development means that proton would be involved from initial design and technology development and they would learn lots of things. and as for gearbox, many other manufacturers are also using outsourced parts due to economical reason. Hyundai and BMW/Mini also used gearbox from Punch. Hyundai also developed their own 6-speed gearbox but now planning or getting dual-clutch gearbox from LUK of germany.

• dodgeviper88 on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:20 am

looks like in the past 26 years Proton still hasn’t learn anything as they still need their big fat crutches ala tax protection. Looks like back to square one for Proton. Has achieved full circle. So proud of Proton WOOHOO!!!!!

• teamslepnine on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:56 am

dude…..you know how to read man?
          its a partnership….can you explain which part that stated they going back to square one?

they are not rebadging….they are co-developing…..as far as i remember they are not co-developing back then…

• policeman on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:12 pm

They went back to square one when they released Inspira.

What can you expect from such a race?

• tell that to aston martin, peugeot, hyundai etc they also rebadge cars

• fahmi on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:41 am

Carmakers are like PC companies. They don’t design or develop all of their components by themselves. Example: Dell buy graphic card from ATI, CPU from Intel, sound card from creative etc.. and may build their chassis and mainboard internally.

You can use this analogy with the automotive industry. NO AUTOMOTIVE COMPANY in the world build their cars from scratch. Company A may buy gearbox from ZF, steering from TRW, suspension from KYB etc.. and build their engine and chassis internally. Proton is getting there, they have started designing their chassis not long time ago.. although a bit slow. You cannot expect Proton cars to be made 100% in Malaysia. It’s impossible.

• that maybe for desktop pc part sharing but not laptop/notebook….cuz there is only 4 or 5 laptop producer…apple, dell, sony, asus, acer, hp and etc r not not true maker of laptop..they only rebadge from original laptop producer from taiwan and factory in china….the big 3 r compal, clevo n quanta…they control 80% of market

• MoFaz on Sep 16, 2011 at 4:48 pm

brader… laptops also use processors, ram, hard disk from other manufacturers :)

• yeah i know….but u must now that processor, ram harddisk were installed by sony, acer, asus etc….not the original lappy manufacturer…..they make lappy without all that u mention…its customization by brand company aka rebadge n add all those thing…..well i just know that thing

• Paultan for Prime Minister on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:18 pm

I m tired of all this. Deadline is deadline. Give them another 2 years and open the market !

• teamslepnine on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:50 am

not as easy as that…..not simply open when proton is ready…there is “other” national car maker too you know…

..and how about used and grey import dealer?

• bongek on Sep 16, 2011 at 9:50 am

never trust their deadline until they death day arrive

• autojohndoe on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:30 am

when proton gone…

then you urge perodua to be out…

later naza…

then inokom…

then modenas…

it is a long list you know…

after all the list checked, get ready for other taxes get hiked… you know la… malaysian like subsidies…

• Jimmy on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:18 pm

Who designed the rear lamps and the rear aspect of Exora? Have you done a good job?

• Aroma on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:24 pm

‘No mention was made as to which these models are, though it has been bandied about that the Mitsubishi ASX is one of them.’

You mean another rebadge ? ASX? OH MY GODDDDDDDDDDD

• MoFaz on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:59 pm

did you fail you english test?
      it’s not a rebadge.. proton would do CKD assembly for MMC, and the output is Mitsu brand, not proton. similar to what Naza did with Peugeot nowadays, no more Naza brand for Peugeot cars.

• Expatriate VN on Sep 16, 2011 at 10:58 am

WTF, from rebadge 26 year ago, and now dowgrade to CKD assembly for MMC! What the P1 engineers doing in R & D, play computer game/see porno? All of this deadwood in P1 head should put on chopping table! All are FIRED!!!!!!!

• well u all already said proton is small n unprofitable…..they act like small car maker la…build car for others make money..profit rite…make engine for others profit jugak rite..make use un-utilise plant oso make profit rite..reduce cost of development oso can increase profit rite…..its gud for u guy rite (tax payer aka shareholder)..as long proton make money ok rite

• ya . useless company , 25 years , never get progress … go back to square 1 , give them too many chances already … open the market and let them close shop !!!

• wheeler on Sep 20, 2011 at 1:59 pm

read between the line: PROTON is the contracted assembler dude!

• SidewaysSyndrome on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:50 pm

Nope, not rebadged ASX but assembling the ASX in Proton facilities for ASEAN(?) market.

Then ASX should be cheaper since CKD in Msia.

• the same concept on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:29 am

ASX is not a good car though… problematic cars. hope proton not going to rebadge it. or if can, improve the quality!

• whats the problem, then?

• Yeay, P1 go ahead and just re-badge the ASX….its proven and well engineered car and price it at RM100k. Win – Win for us consumer, we got a cheaper ASX! Just like what you did wt the lancer, now we get it cheaper at 90k instead of 120k.

I hv no complain abt it, just as long i get a cheaper Mitsu (whatever the badge is)…go ahead and re-badge the Triton, Grandis…etc..etc…and reduce the price further by 20k-30k.

• Minority Proton Share Holder on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:32 pm

YES GOOD ! Please stop talking about pride Proton. BOW to the Japanese. As long as your share price increase, you are doing the right job. I hope one day you will sell off all the share to Mitsubishi Motor

• nabill on Sep 15, 2011 at 10:45 pm

a rebadges ASX makes sence for proton since it doesnt have a crossover in its lineup…bt for it to make any sence economically , it should be made to be exported as well otherwise its gonna be in small numbers…..hopefully p1 can put some of mitsu diesel engines as well and put them into curent lineup…specially exora !

• Dzulx on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Will be very interesting if paultan.org could publish independent article/analysis on this matter instead only quoting news sources. I believe your experience/knowledge will give reader a lot of insight.

• dirtyoldmen on Sep 16, 2011 at 2:41 pm

interesting suggestion but its ultimately pointless.

the commentators here already have all the expertise you’ll ever need. from marketing strategy, pricing, technical knowhow, etc. some can even give predictions! E.g. the fella who ends with “mark my words!”

maybe they can read but their comprehension skills?…. you be the judge.

• Naji$ Bin Tun RosMah Lazat on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:13 pm

A mom guide her small child to drink, eat, walk, learn and be independent for many years until the small child can be fully independent. After 25 years, the degenerated growed up child is too lazy to walk and want his mom to move him. This time is to move him from a Wheelchair……………. Forever!

• gemini on Sep 16, 2011 at 9:26 am

in that case almost every other country that protected their industries is just as guilty…this includes the US, Korea and Japan, just to name a few. you might be the type of person that keeps asking- ‘if they can do it why cant we?’… well ask that now-“if they can protect their industry why cant we?’ fair enuf?No?

and on the flip side- Proton, when the hell are you going to stop with this kind of aid/support? it is not sustainable. it distorts the market. it hinders your own growth and developement. when are going to stop acting like a car company and start BEING a car company?

• PROdigy on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:21 pm

This is nightmare!!!! Mitsubishi reputation will drop…

• riderxdesign on Sep 16, 2011 at 2:23 pm

then how about those other global car brands that venture or let their china partner ripoff or make a cheap manufacturing of their design/product? at least proton had won awards at global level and a good old friend of mitsu.

so when attaching with proton is a sin? prfffffffff!

• niceone on Sep 15, 2011 at 11:26 pm

it’s true, proton is left behind in almost every aspect on vehicle development compared to other car brands, but at least they are now moving in the right direction. kudos to the current management. more business, less politics! keep it up Proton.

• haha…..sudah 25 years failure. now continue another. 50 year… betul malu lah.
    dule JV degan VW kan baik….kami boleh pakai engine TSI.

• well VW has JV with other GLC rite…..the money still come to proton…..u wanna ride VW car or VW powered car…obviously u wanna VW car…..two birds with 1 stone…that indirectly help proton

• TSI is nothing , ev is the future!

• Hameed Koyakuti on Sep 21, 2011 at 2:24 pm

what EV future??? Letrik pun TNB sudah naik harga….Pagi petang CEO TNB menyalak2 to Petronas, mana gas, mana LNG ??? EV does not promise anything, we burn hidrocarbon to produce electricity, so where’s the future ???

Simple Equation:
        Petrol Car = Pollution during car usage
        EV Car = Pollution during power generation (upfront)

Some more the commodities to generate electricity had become more and more obsolete, the price of such energy will also increase. Even we can EV, how about other type of mass transport ie. plane, ship, train, tram, bus etc….

The future is renewable energy/self generating energy rather than EV……

My opinion only……….

• Cikgu Matematik on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:07 am

Imagine a MIVEC engine on Saga and Persona.Nice!

• I cant understand why so many people wth negative thinking comment in internet nowadays..

This news is a great one because many years ago proton begging to mitsubishi to use mitsubishi’s engine, now you see mitsubishi would use proton engine/powertrain..

People with negative mind talk a lot in the internet (including in this great blog) and they make us sick..

• Downs on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:42 am

Looking forward to the Exora Prime! Just 2 months away.

• rodimus on Sep 16, 2011 at 1:45 am

Good to hear that when they start to work hand in hand together again.

• So are all of the Japanese industries feeling the pinch of high yen rate?
    I bet there will be more investments coming in the next 1-2 years.

Blessing in disguise.

• Come on Proton, majority of malaysian expecting collaboration between Proton and VW and not Mitsu, Just imagine proton car with TSI engine and DSG gearbox, a truly global car for Proton.

• Do you know what happen on collaboration between WV & Suzuki ?

• bongek on Sep 16, 2011 at 2:14 pm

he know… but we are talking about proton, by default we as malaysian should blame proton first…right mr Nraj?

• There is no collaboration between VW & Suzuki!

VW holds some Suzuki shares, that’s it. Suzuki can use FIAT, Suzuki, whatever engines, if they make profit they simply have to pay dividend per share to VW.

• autojohndoe on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:34 am

and you think the german will easily give their engine just like that…

VW not look for JV… they expect majority stake if not full takeover…

dont you read what happen to Suzuki-VW jv?

• policeman on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:57 am

I bow down to your dumbassery.

• Nraj,

remember when Malaysian car
      with Renault, Citroen & Peugeot engine
      do U really think majority of malaysia (2/3 of Malaysian population)
      accept Waja 1.8, Savvy, Tiara & Bestari?

• No thx so proud Proton reject VW coz i don’t really want to drive my Polo but people think i’m driving a Savvy!!!cheap!

• Now that Mitsu is collaborating with Proton, people start bashing Mitsu too.

• rosdi on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:11 am

Don’t you realise MMC need Proton almost as much as the other way around? Yen has been raising like there is no tomorrow, this is killing japanese companies.. period. So when they can manufacture their cars here this will definitely help them.

• autojohndoe on Sep 16, 2011 at 11:35 am

malaysian will still malaysia la… lazy to read…

it is assembling cars for Mitsubishi…. not rebadging… dork!

• izzat on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:04 pm

haha..this story makes your website more famous than ever la Paul..haha..i didn’t see what wrong with collaboration between Proton and Mitsu..good move for cost, market and etc..they just bash when Proton do this but how about Perodua?.. :)

• riderxdesign on Sep 16, 2011 at 2:19 pm

eh mane boleh..perodua berkualiti gile2..global market tu beb..indonesia pun pakai model di design dan di buat di tempat kita..eh2..jangan kutuk perodua tau..jgn kutuk gak vw group..or lain2 group.. proton dan rakan2 je kite wajib kutuk :P

• izzat on Sep 16, 2011 at 12:39 pm

panas article ini..hahah..

• yangsfx on Sep 16, 2011 at 2:27 pm

Depending viewing from which aspect-
    From business point of view – save $$ and time lah.
    As an individual car lover who read car blog- P1 is a grade c student asking help (JV) from a grade B student loh.

• Lim Kopi on Sep 16, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Proton is like ….

Cannot find a man to be a proper husband ….

So have to become Perempuan Simpanan by a Sugar Daddy.

• Expatriate VN on Sep 16, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Well said, P1 is as good as former divorceee looking for …………..

• Johndeep on Sep 16, 2011 at 3:17 pm

This move bring fdi into msia, assembly hub for mitsubishi, why compliant? When jap assemble cars in Thai and indon everybody complained by saying they avoid msia due to our policy. This jv for sure will create more opportunities for msian.

• bongek on Sep 17, 2011 at 5:32 pm

they complaint ,becoz,they are malaysian…. they always assume everything related to proton is bad to country….. they think, they will make a better malaysia only if they become CEO of proton…..but they are not qualified for that position :(

• ah tan on Sep 19, 2011 at 11:06 am

actually they dont think…they just said without using their brain…IF THEY HAVE BRAIN MAYBE THEY WILL THINK 1ST BEFORE SAID….stupid malaysian COW…always look on NEGATIVE way….

• Expatriate VN on Sep 16, 2011 at 3:46 pm

P1 (un)learning curve always “down-hill-gravity-flow”. First they rebadge Lancer in 80s as Saga & Wira, later try to build world class factory at Tg Malim with capacity up to 1 million in 90s. But 1st phase 320K capacity already under-utilized.

This dumbass TM fella then introduced Waja a.k.a. “BMW of Asia” as truly 1st Bodohland design and built car, in which the 1st batch need to open door paid toll. Subsequent to this, they introduced small butt-less Sawi with German’s fat guy as main advert PR exercise with TUV certification design to compete with another jaguh kampong P2’s MyVi, but failed misery.

When VW group come in to explore for collaboration few year back in 00s, and carried audit, more than 90% of cronies vendors failed VW quality standard. Then to save their ass and job, DSZ argue that P1 should go alone without any partnership. This deadwood P1 never learn, but all is not stupid knowing that NAP big brother is behind to take care of their survival.

After “BMW of Asia” and Sawi episode, come back to square by rebadged Lancer into Inspira. Latest news for “strategic collaboration” with Mits is totally regression, from rebadged in 80s and now wants to explore as contract assembler for Mits CKD car, including practically as “OEM” to build its engines. It is therefore, better dismantle crap-triotic P1 like UK done on Rover and sell off its assets to highest bidder to safe jobs, abolish repressive NAP like ISA, kill all the vendor cronies and say bye-bye to AP Kings, then Rakyat can truly enjoy freedom to choose car at market price.

• Johndeep on Sep 16, 2011 at 6:44 pm

I wonder if you are my CEO, with lifetime complaints and full of -ve spots in your brain, what would happen to the company? Everyday reading your comments feel like putting a granade in your mouth and your keyboard. Keboommmm… New life to everyone on the next day.

• you are stupid enough not to mention proton’s international level success. what you are is what you think, think neg and so you are

• Your view on Proton is too narrow, you think they are only producing one variant of car.

Their hard core models (Persona, Saga and Exora) they built on their own.

• Lone Ranger on Sep 16, 2011 at 4:41 pm

what a hot debate here…..

from economics POV this collaboration will help us to boost up our developing economy. will provide thousands of new jobs and will increase Malaysians buying power. And this also will put us in the same league as Thailand and Indonesia plus our advantage having good and reliable manpower to major bar manufacturer.

from tech POV, this will enable us to share what we know (I know people will bash me like hell after am writing this point) but even Japs car manufacturer seeking partnership with us, it is a good sign and they are not buying Proton stakes but working hand in hand to introduce new engines will put Proton and Mitsu at a higher level than before. and I’ve been reading a lot about how JV between European car manufacturer with others that ends up with failure. we have to rethink should we JV with VW at the 1st place? When the JV fails like what happen between VM and Suzuki, we will not blame the foreign car manufacturer insted we will blame our local car manufacturer. its really an unfair judgement as we don;t even know what s going on in the business model itself till which lead the venture to collapse.

and my personal POV, been reading a lot bout other car manufacturer JV for the past few years. it shows that even big shots need to have partner to survive with current economic situation if not they also will have to close shop (direct translation to “tutup kedai”). What is wrong with the JV till most of you bash both parties like hell? And if you guys are really good in what you are saying why don’t you contribute instead of bashing what ever people is trying to do to improve their quality and position in the market.

well it is just my 2 cents. what i wrote here is based from my observation and my not so much knowledge about anything. (waiting to bashed after this as Proton salesman, Proton shareholder or blind supporter of Proton..:) )

• greasemonkey on Sep 16, 2011 at 8:39 pm

I agreed with you bro,what you say make sense. Not bashing blindly
      .Cheers!

• squawk on Sep 17, 2011 at 9:09 pm

It’s good news to some and a practical in the business sense. MMC is losing market share and need more alliances to keep them afloat.

But now ASX owners are sweating like how the Lancer owners were. :-) I wonder if Lancer Sportback sales will be affected by this too, especially after the announcement by MMM that there’ll be no further rebadging of their cars.

• makeitmine on Sep 16, 2011 at 4:51 pm

So what happens to Nissan-Proton collaboration? I think Proton is working for Nissan and Mitsubishi joint venture.

In mid-May, Nissan and Mitsubishi announced the official establishment of a 50:50 joint venture related to the automakers’ minicars that are sold exclusively in Japan. The establishment of the minicar JV builds upon an agreement signed in December of 2010 that expanded the scope of cooperation between the two automakers.

But what’s a JV without a name? How does NMKW Company, LTD sound? Though dull, that’s the official name of the Nissan-Mitsubishi JV. Here’s some additional info released by Nissan:

* The joint venture commenced operations on June 1, 2011, with 35 employees.
    * NMKV is based in Takanawa, a neighborhood of Tokyo, Japan.
    * NMKV’s current operating budget is 10 million yen (abt $124,640 U.S.).

NMKV aims to to unite the strengths of Nissan and Mitsubishi in the areas of vehicle engineering, development and parts sourcing. Currently, Mitsubishi and Nissan collaborate on some vehicles, including the Mitsubishi Lancer Cargo, Minicab, Town Box, eKWagon and Pajero Mini models. However, there are reports suggesting that NMKW could collaborate on a battery-powered electric city car.

• yangsfx on Sep 16, 2011 at 5:58 pm

All the P1 this and that; how would Mitsu owners feel about their beloved brand?

• pengu on Sep 17, 2011 at 12:09 am

wow! cantik! soalan yg bagus!
      kesian kat owner mitsu :(
      adoii….quack quack!

• fair54 on Sep 16, 2011 at 6:07 pm

Good News. Time proton to take their money back!

• stephen on Sep 16, 2011 at 9:29 pm

after so many years talking about ” I do it my way”….” I will do it with VW”….. ” I will do it with GM” ….in the end it is still stick with Mitsubishi,

its like a couple that broke up and start flirting around….in the end they get tired and back together.

• aiya what la…..relaxxx no need to get emo….nothing personal it’s just business…….

• dongrik on Sep 17, 2011 at 1:30 am

please think as a ceo of proton then we know how hard to give life to proton… And we’ll know its so easy to condemn coz its doesnt need to use brain!

• Minah on Sep 17, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Wow brilliant idea and a very good move by P1, they will conquer back their local marker share after this.

• Littlebear on Sep 18, 2011 at 10:54 am

In the end, PROTON still has to go back & rely on Mitsubishi…. How pathetic… After 20+ years & PROTON still gained nothing.

• whitefox on Sep 17, 2011 at 1:50 pm

May be these jV HAVE some connection to lotus also.

Imagine lotus plane to launch new car and this jv sure help in reducing cost since new part development is part of it.

If lotus can reducing cost by sharing some part from these. It sure good new for proton who already invest so many money on it.

Hope Mitsu learn from old mistake and treat proton like partner not worker like last time.

• twinklestar on Sep 17, 2011 at 3:05 pm

This joint venture will help Proton improve its engines at quality and performance of its cars!

Mitsubishi?I hope they’ll re badge the Outlander into a Proton.

• PROdigy on Sep 18, 2011 at 12:51 am

I am very disappointed with Proton. They have not shown any improvement at all after sooo many years of development!!
    Why so? Because their cars still cannot sell beyond Malaysia!!! Who wanna buy Inspira in other countries beside Malaysia? If Proton still keep doing this rebadge or reproduction or copying others’ technology… they will always be a car manufacturer that only concern on profit making rather than a car manufacturer who concerns on the cars they’re making.
    How good it can be for a car manufacturer that only producing cars for local use?? And what’s the point of doing so??

• DavidB on Sep 19, 2011 at 12:12 pm

you obviously have no idea what u are talking about. Proton just handed over electric cars for government use and testing, and their Saga now comes with CVT. Perhaps you are thinking of Perodua when you said Proton has no improvement.

You are forgiven if that’s the case.

• PROdigy on Sep 19, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Yeah.. you are rite!!! But did I said anything wrong? Isn’t it Proton still selling their cars for local use only?
        Saga with CVT…. great job!! Well done….. but who is gonna buy it? Still Malaysian…. Thailand? Singapore? Indonesia? Will they but it?
        All these technologies they are trying to impose in the new cars production still cannot get the cars sell in other countries…
        Well… what do you think?

• the point is CVT is belong to nissan,not proton technology..but i hope one day,proton can stand up with their own technology!

• Littlefire on Sep 19, 2011 at 8:23 am

http://www.malaysia-today.net/mtcolumns/43378-wikileaks-ringgit-rises-as-proton-flounders-malaysia-economic-update-for-may-2007

Malaysia-Today & Wikileaks strike back regarding Proton & other economies during 2007… Read it P1 hardcore fans especially the Quality Control part…

• kalau baca Malaysia-Today & Wikileaks memang la akan selalu berat sebelah. read and use your brain to analyse. then make your own conclusion.

• wheeler on Sep 20, 2011 at 1:56 pm

you said PROTON should move forward, so let the history be lesson learnt la bro..

• sfssd on Sep 19, 2011 at 2:02 pm

Feels like going back in time, dejavu?

Last time I heard, everybody was happy that Proton finally break free from MMC, that now they can stand on their own, and now this? people are happy they both joined together? it’s like a bad break-up comedy..

Honesty, I’m all for Proton, I like proton, I’m a huge fan of it, but I’m not gonna lie, this news is a little shocking to me….

• Whynot on Sep 20, 2011 at 11:08 am

Redo the headlamps, not so nice and seriously this time!

• wheeler on Sep 20, 2011 at 1:54 pm

collaborate or not, PROTON should improve on its innovation…

• caruser on Sep 20, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Can someone tell has Proton ever build its own engines? And now Proton is going to build engines for MMC??? This is all hogwash. Probably MMC engineers will be stationed full-time at Tanjong Malim and then Proton can later claim credit for the new engine.

• sroom on Sep 22, 2011 at 6:59 pm

What nonsense! Lotus is owned by Proton. When MMC refer to Proton engines, Lotus does the work for Proton. Danny Bahar always wanted to expand the engine division.. and he may get his wish fulfilled!

Lotus already designing engines for OEMs and Proton. Now MMC can realize having an excellent partner like Proton. Lotus may also be supplying engines to F1 teams too. Jaguar has already enlisted the help of Lotus to develop the XE. Lotus is potentially able to supply expertise on the new model’s aluminium construction, its production feasibility and chassis dynamics.

Must really thank TDM and others who have foresight in buying Lotus!

• Izhar on Sep 25, 2011 at 12:44 pm

agak2..berapa kos yang diperlukan untuk wat A-pillar???