Toyota Hilux facelift launched: 5 variants, RM73k to 107k

UMW Toyota launched the facelifted Toyota Hilux this afternoon. The refreshed Hilux first made an appearance in Australia two months ago, before showing up at the 2011 Indonesia International Motor Show in July alongside refreshed IMV stablemates Innova and Fortuner. Check out our IIMS Hilux coverage here.

In Malaysia, five variants are offered – the Single Cab 2.5 M/T, the Double Cab 2.5 STD M/T, Double Cab 2.5G M/T and A/T as well as the range topping Double Cab 3.0G A/T. Prices are as follows:

Click to enlarge price list

As for the changes, the front end is all new, and looks more premium than before. There’s a new chrome bordered radiator grille with a raised centre section for a “3D look”. This section is connected to the flowing lines of the bonnet. The headlamps are new, as is the bumper. For the Hilux 3.0G, the bonnet air scoop has been redesigned with a wider opening.

From the side, look out for the wing mirrors with turn signals, which can be electrically folded in the 3.0G. The overfenders might not look any different, but they’re actually chunkier, and arch higher than before. 2.5G and 3.0G variants receive newly designed alloy rims. Nothing major for the rear, just new combination lamps. Another improvement is the adoption of the short pole antenna in place of the old school pillar antenna.

Inside, the facelifted Hilux comes with a revised dashboard design that clearly divides it into upper and lower zones. The interior colour is now darker, too. A main change is the use of the Camry style four-spoke steering wheel for the 2.5G and 3.0G, the latter getting buttons for the multi info display and stereo.

Speaking of that, the 2-DIN head unit (with USB and AUX input) introduced in the pre facelift 3.0G is now in both the 3.0 and 2.5G. Toyota’s DVD-Audio Video Navigation (AVN) system with a 6.1-inch colour screen and reverse camera (as shown in our pics) is on the options list, along with a sports bar and solar film.

Also, the 2.5G auto now gets a shift position indicator on the dials, which are Optitron only for the 3.0 (with added amber highlights). There’s also a new flush type overhead sunglass holder.

No difference in the drivetrain department. The Hilux 3.0 is powered by the 1KD-FTV D-4D commonrail diesel with 163 PS and 343 Nm of torque from 1,400 to 3,200 rpm. This engine comes with Variable Nozzle Turbo, VNT.

All 2.5-litre variants are powered by the carried over diesel engine with 102 PS and 260 Nm of twist from 1,600 to 2,400 rpm. Both are matched to a four-speed ECT automatic. 2.5G buyers can opt for a five-speed manual, which is standard on the Standard and Single Cab.

As usual, the Hilux comes with part time 4X4 with shift on the fly. From the default 2WD mode, 4X4 High Range can be selected at speeds of up to 80 km/h. To get into low range, one must be below 8 km/h.

Live images from the launch event is after the jump. Forgot how the old one looks like? Click here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• UMW is over confident for their product, the 2.5l version still using the old version engine, not using the thailand new version 2.5l VGT engine….haiz……

• Geecy on Sep 21, 2011 at 11:39 pm

If only they put the new 2.5L VGT engine, their sales record will surely reach another height. But perhaps, their present sales figure had already blinded their forward vision.

• nabill on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:31 am

thy know their customers maybe are not that tech savvy(traditional) and dont have to get latest tech to stay with the brand…thy have an image to die for…and strong reliabilty…they can stil sell this with even a 1.5cc vios engine trust me !

• agreed, they take us for fools!

• Ha, ha look at that tiny low gear stick. Nobody uses that anymore, Navara is just a switch of a button. Memang kuno punye.

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2011 at 4:28 pm

and what is navara sales like?

• desmond on Sep 22, 2011 at 6:44 pm

Does it matter? When people see Toyota, they see the GOD of cars..like they will never break down, sky high resale values, super low spec etcetc.. Saga>Myvi but Sales of Saga<Myvi.

• toyxta.. moving backwards!!! that their latest slogan!!!

• pr3m_GTR34 on Sep 21, 2011 at 7:58 pm

NAVARA the Best ~

• nebula87 on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:23 pm

“Uncle, u wont sesak next time if u buy Hilux with GPS in it…”

• artworkz on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:25 pm

106 hp?

• Not on par with North American Toyota 4Runner-based TACOMA.

• noname on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:38 pm

hilux with viva elite face??

• With new facelift, this new Hilux looks great. everything both the interior and exterior is just awesome.

Personally, I like the new grille look :)

• pierre cardin on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:45 pm

no update under the hood? then I choose coming triton new engine…

• Still No Power Boost for 2.5 Sad Case

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 21, 2011 at 8:50 pm

another car which looks better pre-facelift. those side stickers are too kitschy.

• Still No Power Boost for the 2.5 model SAD

• encikpadil on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:11 pm

kasi improve la engine performance tu sket, wat malu je ngan navara/triton, gila kedekut toyota ni…

• lonelyobserve on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:20 pm

Really a crap! The 2.5L engine remains with old underpowered, no intercooler turbo diesel engine. UMW keeps cheating people’s money.

• policeman on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:29 pm

But why do people still buy them? Are they morons or is there something we can’t see that is so great in the Hilux?

• Masked Ryder on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:21 pm

Set to sell like hotcake ! Offcoz Thief target too !

• hurm.. i like what i’m seeing..i guess T going to hold it spot for this range..good looking car

• Not another JUNK from Toyota again !! This Hilux aged century ago. 4 speed ,102 ps ., ugly looking no changes and still sell at around 90K + for standard. Get rid this JUNK once and for all. Bring in the all new Ford Ranger 2.2 diesel, 6 speed auto with loads of gadget !!! Hilux is just a crap good at nothing but for reliable . Playing conservative by fooling customer ,even any manufacturer can do it stuff the car with old technology and there it goes a reliable car. Refinement , affordability and efficiency still plays an important role !!.

• gdsob on Sep 22, 2011 at 10:05 am

Being brand agnostic, you do realise the target market for this are for people who use this as a workhorse. And some will buy it for the trucking trend… For the majority, reliability IS a selling point. Horsepower means nothing without torque.

Affordability goes hand in hand with reliability, refinement (secondary on a workhorse – look at the Range Rover Defender), efficiency (no view so will not comment and make me look like a dumbass).

So please think before making any hare brained comment because by the looks of it, I don’t think you’ve ever owned many cars in your short life.

Just my 2 cents.

• Maniam on Sep 22, 2011 at 10:36 am

With horsepower, you get higher torque. That is always the case with diesel engines. Not the same with spark ignited engines. The reason why we don’t get the vnt 2.5 here is because it will take sales away from their premium 3.0 variant, as you know UMW is well known for underspeccing their vehicles.
        1) I dont blame the unavailability of vnt/intercooler here, it sounds coarse with our fuel.
        2) hate the brakes, umw if you’re reading this, shame on you for giving us the setup meant for entry level models. We want the 320mm setup!!!
        3) rims? Cant see it clearly. We want 17″
        4)come on…. Optitron for all “g” models
        5)save money, give us an option to “unpurchase” the tacky decals
        6)….. That’s all.

• lonelyobserve on Sep 22, 2011 at 10:55 am

For your information, Hilux 2.5L’s torque is below 300Nm. Talk about torque, still a big crap, as towing capacity is limited due to low torque from the engine. Try ask UMW how much the towing capacity can Hilux handle, 2000KG, 3000KG or 5000KG?

• gdsob: How sure you are that I don’t owned or droved many cars in my life before. You ain’t my immortal. If yes then your a fool of an immortal’s devil . Making yourself a joke over here. I drove this Hilux ever since it launched back then till I sold and exchange with an all new Sante Fe and CR-V. I do agree its reliable, but it is not perfect either !!. Exhaust pipe cracking just after half a year and Coolant reservoir need changes after 4 years.

And do you mean HILUX buyer are WORKHORSE ? Than you equivalent of a jerk. Off road or on road is non of your business. I still see Hilux are used more frequent on highways and paved roads. Please do some study what is the relationship between HP and TORQUE !!. People buy Hilux is because its a TOYOTA and I still do see Mitsubishi Triton is comparable in terms of reliability to Hilux. I drove these two before. I would obviously go for Triton. And someone like you would still think that only Pick Up truck are meant for off road only. I still use my CR-V and Sante Fe conquering muds and rocky terrain. You would not imagine how good that SUV are when they handle off road as compare to pick up trucks. Thanks to their front wheel drive with optional 4WD Traction and stability control. Hilux just gave me too much wheel spin and torque steer. At 96K for this HILUX its way too expensive. Why there aren’t much Range Rover Defender ? Do you know how much does a range rover cost ? Its more than 400K. You are really a dumb as your are comparing a plastic and a gold. Range Rover off road capability is fantastic, but would you buy a 500K ++ vehicle for off road ? Use your brain !!. Continental diesel engine are extremely efficiency but they do cost more to maintain as well. Since our diesel quality are not to European standard i suggest you to stick on to petrol. Someone like you are way too optimistic. Please explore deeply before you judge others !!

• gdsob on Sep 22, 2011 at 5:56 pm

Dude you’re seriously contradicting yourself by putting reliability as the reason for people to buy this machine. Read your post. Reliability is relative by the way compared to others which means it’s a better machine. Again read your post.

On the workhorse, read my post – I said target market which there will be other who are using it for the trend…

On torque vs HP, I didn’t make any comparison but to drive the point that on Trucks, Torque (read: twist) is supreme… Which explains why you don’t see high revving super sporty trucks in the standard market.

On the Range Rover, it’s 145k (double cab) – research before commenting please.Not judging but clearly the statements are rants and not facts.

I think your post pretty summed up the earlier assumption….

• Hilux? reliable? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aZF8N9NItHI&feature=player_embedded

• Hope Volkswagen would bring in the AMORAK

• tkw60 on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:38 pm

same old turbo for the 2.5L diesel…..but anyway a very nice mean look for the new hilux.. price also nice…

• Jimmy on Sep 21, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Just witnessed a vehicle turned turtle 3 to 4 weeks ago.

• HirumaKecil on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Kalau Toyota tu, toyota jugak.. tax free pon harga tetap mahal….

• think on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:09 pm

a useless facelift really…toyota nowdays doesn’t goes into improving their powertrain but only changing the outer panels..still the old 4-speed auto….think..

• sam witwicky on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:23 pm

so this hilux is lagi power lagi best?
    meh…

• Expatriate VN on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:27 pm

Another facelift coverage! Boringgggggggggggggggg.

• Woo King Weng on Sep 21, 2011 at 10:53 pm

Like Honda, Toyota is losing the plot too. Did they look to the Honda City grille for inspiration?? Same old, same old…still no intercooler, still no VNT for the 2.5L. Probably the weakest diesel engine in whole of pick up market, bleh!

• gopal on Sep 25, 2011 at 6:45 pm

would u buy Hilux if they come with intercooler? if no… just put your mouth into toilet bowl.

• So “Fresh” , Never saw this car before woh, but it looks like already 10 years old? haha sarcasm, 2nd facelift for a old junk? Nice move Toyota, best of luck.

• when is the new fortuner launch? i hope umw bring the 3.0l VGT ! stupid UMW!

• BeemerFreak on Sep 22, 2011 at 12:33 am

haha i like that.”stupid umw” They should also bring in the new wish from japan. look at the amount of grey import wishes around, it is profitable……

• taboogen on Sep 22, 2011 at 8:26 am

if umw bring wish in.. then what happend to those grey importers… gulung tikar is it.. even i hate T, but they have brain to think about others… typical malaysian… what I want what i want… dont really think if i want this.. what would happened to other people…. cheh… samo old same old malaysian…

• Recycling campaign again? No thanks. Rather opt for new Triton.

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2011 at 8:26 pm

triton is sales is half of what hilux is doing. go on… go make triton sales higher. they need you.

• gopal on Sep 25, 2011 at 6:48 pm

go n buy your triton lah bro…. if not afford… go n put your mouth into toilet bowl

• Mat Mitsu on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:04 am

If they use the same powertrain for a new fortuner, it will make my decision more easy. Go for a new pajero sport VGT, and I will remain as Mat Mitsu :-)

• Brader, they are using the same engines. I checked with UMW. No engine & drivetrain upgrades for Fortuner also. Just cosmetic. New Pajero Sport VGT looks like good value for money. Tapi dia punya build quality, reliability & maintenance OK ke?

• albag on Sep 22, 2011 at 7:59 am

wow… im sure its gonna top the sales again regardless of the so-called engine upgrade… malaysians are easily fooled in the car market, as long as u have new bumpers and new look, they sure tend to feel proud to own one… coz its a NEW CAR yo~!!! besides that, its a toyota…

• For pickup user…pls park carefully with ur big vehicle. I hate it when side by side with them.

• taboogen on Sep 22, 2011 at 8:07 am

99% of this so call truck will be on normal road only.. to soft already.. bring back to old hilux

• Even the cheaper Nissan calibre has vnt n 5 speed transmission, only stupid thing is that Nissan bring this calibre only every end of year.

• The Calibre is a 2WD Navara. Nevertheless it is still powerful double cab spacious and comfortable pickup. Now who needs a 4WD if you are only driving on surfaced roads.

• Starstreak on Sep 22, 2011 at 10:09 am

To maintain reliability thats why they put the 2.5 non intercooled turbo? If that the case Toyota diesel engine must be crap in terms of reliability, because they cannot accept Malaysia’s “Dirty Diesel”. From what i learn, Diesel engine can use dirty fuel with no problem.

I always wanted a Manual Hilux 2.5l with VNT Engine, but heck UMW Toyota continue to sell this 2.5l Expensive JUNK! and a 3.0 4-speed auto.. I’m sticking with Ranger. Ranger’s lead the Way !

• lonelyobserve on Sep 22, 2011 at 12:59 pm

Next year we may have full model change Ford Ranger. Smaller engine with more horsepower and lots of torque.

• Honda Power on Sep 22, 2011 at 11:36 am

Front grille inspired from Honda City? Ha ha!

• pl4y3r122 on Sep 22, 2011 at 11:49 am

lame shit !!! still de same old ting.. people still buy dis ting cause of higher resale value..
    navara is so much better in all kind of view.. but sad case lower resale value den hilux.. just cause its a nissan..

• lonelyobserve on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:01 pm

No, people pray Toyota as god. So more people pray, the higher resale value regardless of the quality from the vehicles.

• this is not for commercial.. more to styling pick-up….boring..

• Ricky Ong on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:32 pm

look like only facelift

• ZenZarray on Sep 22, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Toyota is keep cheating people,But still people are still buying it.
    Same goes with Perodua….but it’s far worse then Toyota. Rebadge car + High price =Malaysian Suffer. The strategy of both are the same they change the looks abit there…abit here then people buy..most people who buy is the one just buy without knowing the reality happen in the auto world and then also mentality..”most” not all malaysian are still stuck with Toyota good not slalu rosak…low cost maintenance..cheap parts..and etc. then talk bout other brand for example…Honda good but spare part mahal coz not many use Honda…then most like malaysian to bash is Proton they are stuck with the mentality of Power window problem and the CPS engine suck..how long must we keep this mentality?
    “Sbab Sebuah Vendor Buat Hal,Rosak satu car manufacture”

• alistair lim li wei on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:43 pm

What???? same old engine?? sounds like a case of cheating skool kids.

• Vince on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:46 pm

What’s hapenning? UMWT has yet to wake up!

Look at Pajero VGT engine and specs. for goodness sake, please wake up to the call of your loyal supporters.

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2011 at 4:34 pm

and whats pajero sales like?

• sam witwicky on Sep 22, 2011 at 5:44 pm

i agree with ALLDISC..tak banyak olang beli pajero vgt..
        we still doom…3th world country la katakan…leceh ler..low spec kasi sama kita…higher spec or new engine mesti kita plg ketinggalan…hampeh nye…

• zanggief on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Perhaps this is TYT business strategy, start with lower end product then add in popular 2.5vgt to add new price for that. If just base on FL model then additional of price may not be attractive.
    Still the navara is the powerful for 2.5 range, hopefully can see VGM can in the latest more powerful 2.0 with 8speed n 420nm…

• alldisc on Sep 22, 2011 at 8:30 pm

navara – most powerful
      navara – 6 speed manual
      triton – most futuristic
      d-max – most fuel efficient

hilux – the most trusted brand. the best selling 4WD pick-up for the past 5 years.

• pickup driver on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:32 pm

cause all of them still thinking old way… i agree toyota really reliable but technology in Malaysia really damm low compare to western country.. market now also have reliable with high technology for us to choose.. why still T…. really dun understand..

• toyota fans on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:56 pm

1KD-FTV engine have alot of problems…such as, head crack, injector

• Why Toyota Hilux is not offered in Japan?

• Toyota resale value is crap. Try trading in your Toyota with UMW. They screw you good. This is one stupid facelift. Go to Toyota Thailand’s website. Their “new” Hilux have got new 2.5 VGT engine and 3.0 comes with traction control. UMW screwing us as usual. I say wait for New Ford Ranger. Go to Ford Australia and download the brochure. Quite changgih kawan kawan. But I hope Ford Malaysia dont screw us like UMW with low end option of new Ranger.

• alberttee on Sep 23, 2011 at 1:25 am

from the people reaction on the comment ;I think a lot of people(including me) are not appreciate the toyota strategy ;maybe after few year their main customer layer are getting old and out , they will get a lesson of neglect the potential customer sound .High price with low tech ,malaysia boleh!!

• Little girl on Sep 23, 2011 at 2:00 am

Hai. Hello. My name is lissa. First of all, wow… Really there is a lot of positive and negative comment here. Well ah.. I think i do have my own opinion. Mind if i would like to share too.
    In my opinion, all trucks have their own behaviour that suits the personality of the driver themselve. Comparing this new version trucks so called, urban trucks, each of them do have their own advantages. Such as triton with a little bit of speed and handling. Sure it is comfort too due to the internal size. Navara for fure everyone knew for the speed and high hp under the hood. Hilux, big size, small hp but high torque yet spacious internally. D-max with it fuel saving engine.
    No matter how good it is, everyone have their choices to isnt it. To have all in one will sure cost a lot when it goes for price.
    Not to say the disadvantages of all trucks, i think here are some of it. Small gear box, un realiable rear differential, auto transfer box failure under water, non protective gear box, abs failure, eletronics sensor failure, lag turbine under 2000rpm, exhaust bend recirculation back pressure, electronic short circuit due to submerge, and etc.
    To have all in one? The undestructable truck. What can we call it? Toyota+Navara+Triton+Dmax. The ‘tonatrimax’? I really want one.
    Just a thought. No offences guys.. I Love my 1996 perodua kancil. Small, cute, fuel saving, low cost maintenance, yeay! Thank u for reading. ;-)

• sam witwicky on Sep 23, 2011 at 11:33 am

hye lissa….i know u gonna say like that…
      but imo…toyota still kedekut…nuff said….

• Champ on Sep 23, 2011 at 8:19 am

Toyota : moving forward
    UMW : moving backward
    What a chemistry!

• Spot on brader, I reckon Toyota should review UMW distributorship exclusivity – like what BMW did to Auto Bavaria. Competition is good for us consumers.

• alldisc on Sep 24, 2011 at 10:40 am

with our tax structures, even toyota japan cannot do anything much when it comes to sales. it has been proven for toyota customers in malaysia since 1980s that all they want are sensible cars that are reliable.

others need not apply.

• Starstreak on Sep 23, 2011 at 5:36 pm

= Not Moving Anywhere

• aku nak tunggu ford ranger 2012….macam best jaaaa….Apa-apa pun kita sebagai pengguna memang selalu yang kena….aku paham apa yang korang tulis….tak kan korang tak paham kot….

• chicco on Nov 16, 2011 at 9:02 pm

hilux good for me, but always stolen, hijack or tow by thief. pls upgrade security system.

• Toyota Hilux 2.5 is like a bullock cart. Underpowered. But stupid malaysians will still buy it because of ‘reliability’!!!

Do you think the others are not relaible??

I drive a Perodua Kancil by the way:)

• Bogokasuh on Apr 05, 2012 at 11:45 pm

Wtf? still fuckup the same old engine? Please update the engine!

• borneo offroader on Aug 13, 2012 at 10:59 pm

why the issues with Toyota..? go ahead with your love affair with your vehicle of choice without lambasting others for their choices of vehicles. Hilux sales is better than all other double cab brands combined… the majority couldn’t be wrong, you know. And, worldwide where the environment is extremely demanding, peace time or in war zones… most probably you’ll see Toyotas.

• baram mania on Oct 14, 2012 at 8:34 pm

i trust toyota…. No other brand can beat it.

• baram mania on Oct 14, 2012 at 8:39 pm

Toyota Hilux is everywhere…. Mine is vigo champ 2.5g a/t. I can go anywhere in rural areas of sarawak.

• doodle on Oct 16, 2012 at 9:49 pm

juz wanna say.. u all cant afford a T tats y u all so noisy.narrow minded as well.agreed with baram mania..no problem with T when it comes to offroad.its all about d skills u noob.