Honda City SE with special bodykit to be unveiled soon?

is Honda Malaysia preparing to launch a special version of the Honda City soon? A contest running on their website seems to indicate so, as the URL of the contest page has the string “citySE” in it. Is there going to be a Honda City SE available soon?

The contest is called the “Guess The Car Parts” contest and it involves the contestant identifying four different car parts from a drop down list. Then you have to fill in a slogan. My guess some of the four photos are also a teaser for perhaps some bodykit accessories that will be equipped on the Honda City SE.

I don’t think this is the Honda City facelift which we saw recently as the design of the front bumper of the facelift is different – an X shape for the front end instead of a V shape. One of the photos for you to guess in the contest kinda looks like the front bumper and it still shows a V shape.

The three best entries with correct answers and best slogan will win an iPad 2. You can check out the contest page by clicking here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Malaysians want only small sedans like Honda City and Toyota Vios (Yaris sedan)…

• speed_lover on Sep 23, 2011 at 12:00 am

wrong..as most of the sedans (C segment) are RM100k++…not the best option for mid-income malaysians to buy it..so the B Segment was the only valuable choice

• Car Driver on Sep 23, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Wrong generalisation! Malaysians can only afford small Sedans. Generally Malaysians cannot afford Big Sedans Above RM100,000. With Salary stagnating and Car Price Increasing every year many cannot even afford this New City if it price above 100K. Even cannot afford compact car like Polo and Jazz price above 100k

• Kevin on Sep 22, 2011 at 8:22 pm

oh no, not SE… SE sounds so MYVI… cant honda think of other names??

• nebula87 on Sep 22, 2011 at 9:22 pm

Here comes the SE version….maybe next time will be Limited Edition…XD

• Honda conned Malaysian once again with this crap car!

• Honda Power on Sep 22, 2011 at 11:19 pm

The only Malaysian conned is you. You called Honda City a crap car? Which car do you drive? P1 or P2? You are crappy! If you cannot afford to own a Honda, then don’t call Honda City a crap car. My Honda City can beat any 1.6L car anytime.

• berombon on Sep 22, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Hmm..interesting indeed! This I want to see….err how about that new 1.5 P2 Myvee..you think you can handle that? From what I read in Paul Tan, that car pon buleh tahan jugak..you try,come back and tell us all later ya..

• David on Sep 22, 2011 at 11:53 pm

I dont think you can beat Neo…

• sam witwicky on Sep 23, 2011 at 1:28 am

kreta b-segment mcm ni pun bole jadi premium pulak dah!
          hahaha…padahal harga mcm sma dgn pikap..
          honda city or vios? MEH

• AkuLerTuh on Sep 23, 2011 at 4:00 am

agree with u Honda Power.!

• tiadaid on Sep 23, 2011 at 8:52 am

As a Honda City owner myself, I can say without a doubt that the car sucks. I don’t think I need to elaborate more on this as I’ve fleshed out all my problems over countless posts here on Paultan.

If you can afford to add another 20K, might as well go for the Polo. Much better in my opinion, but if you can’t, the Ford Fiesta’s a good bet. Honda & Toyota? Forget it!

• Kwame on Sep 23, 2011 at 8:57 am

Typical Honda fan. Full of crap. try owning a conti car and you wouldn’t want any more of those japanese crap.

• amirad on Sep 23, 2011 at 9:47 am

Wow! That’s it. I’m cancelling my polo gti and getting this smoking car. Don’t want to be beaten mah…

• Honda Power, beat it what sense? 0 to 100 km/h. Have you tried 100-0?

• kakeru tester on Sep 23, 2011 at 3:29 pm

ARE u sure…”My Honda City can beat any 1.6L car anytime” in ur wet dream or what…hahahahaha….

• anony on Sep 23, 2011 at 9:12 pm

in thailand, city and vios are being use as taxis…those cars are low end cars from each of their companies respectively

• Unimpressed on Sep 25, 2011 at 1:29 am

please do not hide this hilarious post!

• Littlebear on Sep 23, 2011 at 8:31 am

It is not Honda which conned Malaysians… Its the Malaysia government which has conned Malaysians with high tax rate for cars.

• Lagi Power Lagi Best on Sep 22, 2011 at 11:03 pm

City Stock-clearance Edition

• the same concept on Sep 22, 2011 at 11:11 pm

just give away the ipad 2 la… ppl buy cheap inokom i10 also got iphone4 free… ipad2 so cheap also kedekut want give away… aiy

• Roger Tan on Sep 23, 2011 at 3:26 am

Wouldnt that inch the pricing closer into the Insight territory?

• fuel cell phone on Sep 23, 2011 at 7:13 am

i think this strategy is to boost the Hcity sales against the “Tdugongs-of-many-variety”

• Excalibur on Sep 23, 2011 at 7:31 am

I would just label the new car as the City SiR, with of course some engine tweaks and performance parts (e.g. 17″ rims and sporty suspension), same as that white concept car displayed during the last KLIMS motorshow. The SiR is after all a Honda designation from the EG Civic days…might as well give it some life again.

• ur mother on Sep 23, 2011 at 8:39 am

give only ipad??? WTF???

at least give a car lah, cheapskate bodoh honda

• lazyf on Sep 23, 2011 at 10:03 am

hmmm SE…whats next?err…

• Merdeka edition or Raya Edition or New Year Edition.

or Mugen edition.

• After SE would me City Extreme
    :D

• I love Myvi SE and i hope Honda don’t copy P2 style coz Honda is so ugly this day!

• kirthisa on Apr 20, 2013 at 6:53 pm