Mitsubishi Pajero Sport VGT – 178 PS, 350 Nm, RM167,375

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has unveiled the Pajero Sport VGT, a higher powered version of the seven-seat SUV. The launch ceremony was held at Midvalley Megamall this morning, and display units will be at the mall’s Centre Court all weekend.

The big news for the Pajero Sport VGT is under the hood. It is powered by a 2.5-litre DI-D commonrail diesel engine, which is essentially the same as the unit powering the standard Pajero Sport and Triton, but with Variable Geometry Turbo (VGT). With those variable vanes, the DOHC 16v engine puts out 178 PS of power and 350 Nm of torque from 1,800 to 3,500 rpm.

The non VGT turbodiesel in the Pajero Sport GS and GL does 136 PS and 314 Nm, so we’re looking at a substantial improvement of 42 PS and 36 Nm. Max torque in the VGT is also spread across a wide range, compared to the 2,000 rpm peak of the non VGT engine.

The drivetrain improvements don’t stop there. The Pajero Sport VGT comes with a 5-speed INVECS-II automatic, which has one extra forward ratio over the GL and GS. Like the four speeder, the VGT’s gearbox also comes with sport mode, but there’s the addition of steering paddles shifters. The long magnesium paddles are the standard Mitsubishi items as found in other models, which works well.

Power is transferred to the surface via Mitsubishi’s Super Select 4WD system, which has four modes: 2WD High Range, 4WD High Range, 4WD High Range with Locked Centre Differential and 4WD Low Range with Locked Centre Differential. Changing between 2WD and 4WD high range modes can be done on the fly at speeds of up to 100 km/h.

Equipment wise, the Pajero Sport VGT comes with a 2-DIN Kenwood touch screen head unit with GPS. The colour screen of the ICE also doubles up as display for the reverse camera, which is standard. Besides that, the VGT comes with cruise control with buttons on the steering and automatic air con, which are already on the Pajero Sport GS.

We noticed that the front seats look different, and MMM confirms that the design has been revised for more support. They’re leather wrapped, by the way.

The Pajero Sport VGT is priced at RM167,375.80 on the road without insurance, which is about RM5,000 costlier than the GS 4WD variant. Seems like fair value for the extras, which is why MMM is looking at a 50% increase in sales volume for the Pajero Sport range with the addition of the VGT.

Live gallery from the event is after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• pierre cardin on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:42 pm

then, I choose this over new Toyota Fortuner… good job MMM….

• Land Rover on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Wah… challenge T.Hilux wor! :p

• Gavin on Sep 22, 2011 at 2:47 pm

Nice upgrade.

They should now go for refinement and NVH, i think these engines are essentially old engines with the commonrail system grafted on

• komenturg on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Hi Paul, there is no mention whether it is 4 speed auto or otherwise… if they still give us 4 speed then it is still old technology lor

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:48 pm

It is mentioned in the story. “The Pajero Sport VGT comes with a 5-speed INVECS-II automatic, which has one extra forward ratio over the GL and GS.”

• zanggief on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:03 pm

MMM is ahead of it rival but let see FL Fortuner has this VGT mated model or still old engine…

• AlfaRomeo=FerrariCousin on Sep 22, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Fortuner Facelift will come with the same OLD engine…at a price of RM181K! Hmm, choose wisely ler…

• lonelyobserve on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Good. Overkill the over-rated, under-powered Toyota Fortuner.

• hisham on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:32 pm

Is the price OTR or not??

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:46 pm

To answer the question, as stated in the story: “The Pajero Sport VGT is priced at RM167,375.80 on the road without insurance, which is about RM5,000 costlier than the GS 4WD variant.”

• Black Dog on Sep 22, 2011 at 4:16 pm

Now also cannot read, if Science & Maths change back to BM, lagi susah!

• Jebat6666 on May 03, 2012 at 3:11 pm

gua keje naik kapal, bpuluh kapal jepun & korea gua naik.. tak ada sorang pun kapten 2 mereka yg fasih bahasa inggeris.. negara mereka 10 tahun lebih maju TANPA bhsa inggeris.. lu sedar atau lu tlebih perasan?? abih hebat sgt lu dgn bahasa tu lu jutawan ke?? Skrg China mningkat naik, lu ingat dia org pakar bhsa inggeris??

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:39 pm

WOW! Why a frame-based SUV needs paddle shifters is anybody’s guess…this must be a world’s first!

• b’cos in M’sia, some drivers are even too lazy to use the turn signal lever, let alone using gear knob….

But seriously, what’s wrong with having paddle shifters? convenience at fingertips (literally)…

• Geecy on Sep 22, 2011 at 10:41 pm

Not a sport car why would you ever need paddle shifters.

• reeds on Sep 23, 2011 at 8:02 am

they give the paddle just use it lah. Even it is not a sport car. haiya, cannot understand u la bro..

• i didnt know paddle shifters are meant only for sport cars…

• messi on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:42 pm

Well, this pricing range is beyond most malaysian.

When are they intend to put this engine into our old triton and sell at below 90K?

• ok who farted?? photo P1040403b.jpg, mata juling, all eyes on the gal far left :-D

• andil on Sep 22, 2011 at 3:57 pm

photo P1040403b: gal on the right, who u gonna pinch & stop grinning :-P

• TOYOTA FOREVER on Sep 22, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Seems like my loyalty towards the Toyota Fortuner is shakin…
    Love the paddle shift and can’t wait to feel my back stickin on the seat when the VG turbo kicks in..

• models_only on Sep 22, 2011 at 4:41 pm

have u ever wondered why every time a new car model is launched, the ugly chairman, MD, CEO always sebok to pose for pictures besides the car? let the pretty models do their job lah, why all u old men sebok2 posing along? in a way, it brings the car aesthetics 10points down! i really dont get this part of the act in the automotive world…

• Phillip zak on Sep 23, 2011 at 12:40 am

Refer to Hyundai Sonata launch last year and you will notice the difference in Management…

• Mat Mitsu on Sep 22, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Confirmed. I’ll go for this over fortuner. MMM, count me in…

• sick&tired on Sep 22, 2011 at 5:20 pm

wow, hyundai santa fe already had VGT since 2007. yet malaysians would rather buy this, even though the santa fe is a better looking car and has a better engine.

• l3ryan on Sep 22, 2011 at 5:32 pm

Toyota should learn how to properly do a “facelift” from Mitsubishi…

• BeemerFreak on Sep 22, 2011 at 5:42 pm

Hey Anthony, Anyplans by MMM to bring in the outlander? That would be a proper mits SUV to complement the ASX and the Pajero(3.8L).

• why the engine cover is so dirty?

• autojohndoe on Sep 22, 2011 at 6:38 pm

some of the visitor here too lazy to read la… mau kena suap saja…

read first than ask…

• Downs on Sep 22, 2011 at 7:07 pm

As an owner of a current Mitsu, I just have to say that the ICE unit is horrible. Touch screen is unresponsive, slow, hangs, radio reception is not good, and non-user friendly. I’m a tech-head and even then I find it hard to use. iPod/iPhone cable costs about RM200+, Bluetooth module RM600+, TV module RM1400+. Only thing good about it is the reverse camera and the GPS is bearable (though far from great).

Apart from that, I love my Triton Bold dearly. And it’s really not Mitsu’s fault but Kenwood’s.

For those comparing the Pajero Sport to the Fortuner, I say go for Pajero Sport. More comfortable, more power, more value for money.

• lucifah on Sep 22, 2011 at 7:23 pm

i agree wholeheartedly

the Kenwood in my ASX (no GPS, no BT) unit is pretty limited in usage

the interface is very poor – if u have a very large mp3 library (say, more than 100 la), u have to scroll down one by one to look for it. in other words, the interface is very distracting

mitsu should have kept the MMMC (mitsu multi media center) for the CBU ASX. it even has setting for the car, not forgetting steering wheel controls

• Redrules on Sep 23, 2011 at 6:28 am

Not only that, now they have the cheek to offer GPS and BT with the same Kenwood unit in this mod. The Kenwood unit in my ASX is good only for listening a single channel radio.

• yeah, i completely agree. the lousy old fortuner only beats the pajero sport in one thing….the high price. Costs a fortune for an old junk!!!

• theanswer on Sep 22, 2011 at 7:41 pm

hurmm..paddle shift for big suv?

• Impressive features =). Does it comes with more air bags , traction control and stability program ?

• syukirosan on Sep 22, 2011 at 9:18 pm

arrrgh, my dad bought pajero sport gs 3 weeks ago, heck i know this will be coming out soon

• Jimmy on Sep 22, 2011 at 10:35 pm

What about putting Panoramic sunroof at RM5000 as optional?

• aberttee on Sep 23, 2011 at 1:27 am

where’s the triton vgt??

• wah this is good but still less powerful than sante fe 197hp and 441nm and 6speed box. paddle shifter? haha, how i gonna use it

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 23, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Different beast lah.

People shopping for a heavy duty Pajero Sport isn’t going to cross shop with a unibody Santa Fe (which its main competition is the CRV and the Mitsu’s own Outlander/Pug 4007 which we don’t get here) or vice versa.

• so heavy duty with paddle shifter? what is that. i thought cr-v competitor was tucson not 7-seat sante fe. or does you’re wrong about it

• Tombolog on Sep 23, 2011 at 5:54 pm

Old version of mitsu triton please! the facelift one was so ugly.

• snoid_zero on Sep 23, 2011 at 7:08 pm

our version of this SUV comes with a new honeycomb front grille and its look better.

• so Paul / Danny.. is this engine drive on timing chain or or timing belt?

• kuching on Sep 26, 2011 at 9:57 am

Landcruiser Prado model 96-02 looks better and tough than this tin mitsubishi.

• AllHailProton on Oct 01, 2011 at 6:33 pm

My satria R3 will smoke this.

• whenever i see a new mitsu launch, back on my mind I could only think ‘when proton gonna release the rebadged model of this mitsu’. Still can’t forgive mitsu jap for letting proton rape lancer

• why didnt you say Bugati Veyron will smoke this?… stupid boy comparing SUV and R3…

• Fadelia on Oct 07, 2011 at 2:09 pm

Want to buy or Test Drive for Pajero Sport VGT or any Mitsubishi motors?
    just come to our showroom Auto Pacifica Sdn Bhd, Miri

Fadelia,
    (Sales Consultant)
    +6014-8895068

• David Chong on Apr 30, 2012 at 4:23 pm

I’ve just bought the Pajero sport VGT. Just wondering how come the alarm sound is disabled which is the same with my 3 other colleagues new units too.

• pradep on Dec 13, 2012 at 5:24 pm

i bought mine at bangkok one yr ago. Beatiful suv. I travelled from changmai to melaka non stop execept for fuelling and breaks n took me nearly 60 hrs. You dont feel tired.but keep on drinking red bull. Noe looking to instll gps to the touch screen panel.I wonder the same brand of existing dvd player has got it. A lot of differences between the ones sold in malaysia. Can ger a lot of accerroy in thailand

• Viege on Mar 04, 2013 at 10:40 pm

rather you compare apples with apples than comparing an Orange with a Butternut…. cant believe this guy compares the Suv to a Sport car, amazing

• Ryan Vida on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:42 am

Do you where i can buy the Honeycomb grill for my Pajero Sports here in Malaysia?

• Ryan Vida on Aug 22, 2013 at 12:43 am

Do you where i can buy the Honeycomb grill for my Pajero Sports here in Malaysia? Please let me know!