Nissan to supply Fuga sedan to Mitsubishi in Japan

Click to enlarge.

Nissan and Mitsubishi have yet again expanded the scope of their OEM supply agreements in the Japanese market. From next year, Nissan will provide the Fuga luxury sedan to Mitsubishi, to be rebadged and sold by the latter, and Mitsubishi is to provide its MINICAB-MiEV commercial mini EV to Nissan, also sometime in 2012.

The two new OEM project agreements are part of the core agreement signed in December 2010 to expand cooperation between the two companies, and follow on a prior agreement for Nissan to provide the NV200 Vanette compact van to Mitsubishi (rebadged as the Delica D:3) beginning this October, as well as the establishment of the NMKV minicar joint venture, which was announced in June 2011.

As an interesting aside, the Fuga was being bandied about as the Perdana replacement for top-level government use only, though speculation has pretty much dissipated with the announcement of the impending Proton-MMC collaboration. To think it could somehow pop up again in the picture, as a Mitsubishi, is improbable, all very far fetched.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Charles on Sep 22, 2011 at 5:11 pm

New Proton Perdana = Fuga/Mitsu rebadge?

• Expatriate VN on Sep 22, 2011 at 5:44 pm

Maybe waite another 5 year after this Fuga become 2nd generation only rebadge to Perdana bcos P1 can’t afford to share R & D cost, as there is no model from P1 to reciprocate this “exchange of car” agreement.

• MoFaz on Sep 22, 2011 at 9:22 pm

nissan fuga = mitsu xxx = proton perdana,
      mitsu miev = peugeot ion = citreon c-zero = nissan xxx….
      peugeot/ citreon also rebadge ASX and outlander from Mitsu

rebadging has become the world trend.. even peugeot which already more than 100 yrs old had to choose this way. sigh.. :(

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2011 at 2:23 am

Lotus masuk F1.. guna engine Renault. Renault ada link dengan Nissan.
        Proton buat kerjasama dengan Mitsu, Mitsu pun ada deal dengan Nissan.
        agaknya memang Proton nak Nissan kot??

• helion prime on Sep 22, 2011 at 5:15 pm

Now, where are the people who spat on Proton’s name when they rebadged Lancer for Inspira? Mindless bashers….

• Kutilyoyo on Sep 22, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Well, at least both world are renowned brands. I suppose there is technology to be exchanged and shared here rather than just switching brands on the models.

• MoFaz on Sep 22, 2011 at 9:25 pm

Peugeot/ Citreon rebadged ASX, Outlander and Miev.. no model swap!
        but i heard last time that Mitsu is taking Exora and Persona to be marketed as Mitsu in 3rd countries.. we have yet to see that happening.

• BD'sMaster on Sep 22, 2011 at 6:59 pm

don’t simple call others as basher la….
      Nissan n Mitsubishi are exchanging their cars….
      and from observation mostly ppl complain bout lancer to inspira is not becoz of rebadging….what proton mainly did was just bumper swap and a tuned up suspension(which isn’t hard to proton….they can simply custom a suspension system for an old saga for the VIP program) and adding a gearbox cooler which can be done in any accessories shops out there….ppl were expecting some major look change such like saga blm to blm fl type….
      calm dude…..1Malaysia…

• littlefire on Sep 23, 2011 at 11:07 am

I think is the another way around.. Where is all the hardcore supporters which support 100% made & design in Malaysia cars? Huh?!? When Gen.2 & Waja came out they hu-ha P2 no use only know rebadge… Now when they rebadge back (P1 inspira) they claim as sharing platform, improvement bla bla bla…

“Change soup but not the medicine…” P1 will have to go back where it started, and i already said it that P1 can only rebadge back due to it’s limited market and sales volume it is too costly to produce n design their own…

I believe a lot of “mudah lupa” hardcore supporters are here.. Just trace back those comments during Gen.2 & Waja era.. haha.. I shall keep my laugh now..

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2011 at 1:44 pm

yes, limited market if proton just stay in Malaysia. but proton had their plan to go global next year with new persona, saga, emas and probably exora turbo too. those are not rebadged models, exept for emas which i still don’t know for sure whether they will co-operate or just rebadge Mitsu’s. in the last report, they said they’re sharing parts with Mitsu for Emas.
        Waja and Gen2 era is very important. that’s when they learned to build cars and engine from ground up. within 10 years from that moment, they have improved and their latest models such as persona, saga, exora has better quality than the old saga – wira time. wait for new persona / tuah / P3-21A….

• Unforgiven on Sep 25, 2011 at 10:44 am

How many years more? Blueberry to be as good as blackberry?
          P1 to be as good as Hyundai/Nissan?
          AX is better than GA?

• taboogen on Sep 22, 2011 at 5:32 pm

japs aso rebadge… mit and nissan learn from the best… menguntungkan.. tak perlu membazir

• sub_zero on Sep 22, 2011 at 10:52 pm

hey, even subaru rebadged 1st gen Toyota passo as Subaru jutsy.

as long the purpose of getting more revenue from rebagde model i would mind.

• bongek on Sep 23, 2011 at 5:07 pm

but not for malaysian people …. they talk about rebadged in dewan rakyat!!! hehehe

• Vyseus on Sep 22, 2011 at 6:23 pm

Xde basher attack lak?

• Anyone please bash this rebadge and collaboration agreement.. Pliz! Pliz! Pliz!

• the same concept on Sep 22, 2011 at 7:38 pm

Proton to CKD nissan fuga and sell at south east asia. Rocks!! but i dun think i will want a proton badged rm150k fuga. i would rather go for nissan teana.

• Put Evo X engine into Fuga to cut emissions lah…

• Don’t believe what P1 feed to the papers. This IS the new Perdana and will be build in TCM assembly plant without t

• Charles on Sep 22, 2011 at 7:39 pm

If rebadgin makes business sense by all means go ahead. Why waste development funds just to satisfy some ‘so-called’ patriots who wants a locally designed and manufactured car but bleeding Proton due to poor sales. 1 leecher (Lotus) is more than Proton can handle and they dont need to satisfy proton fanboys egos.
    The Inspira is a well made car, irrespective if its a rebadge or bumper swap. I would swallow my ego for profits…..wouldnt you? Money talks.

• Mitsubishi-badged Nissan Fuga will kill Lancer Evolution X’s sales…

• irrelevant, fuga is a luxury sedan, class D. evo X is a sports sedan.

• Vyseus on Sep 22, 2011 at 9:28 pm

Re-badge is the current trend, it helps to save R&D cost, it helps to generate more revenue as the car taken to re-badge are usually car that are doing pretty much well on sale. Proton make a move like this got bash and I don’t give a 2 cent about it. As long as it is reasonably price, I’ll buy it.

• What happen to “ubah gaya hidup, naik basikal” slogan?

So, Nissani Fugga > rebadge luxury sedan for Mitsu > then, rebadge to Protonggg as Perdana Replacement? This Japs are clever clever clever! Protong “kena tapau” twice if not thrice! (now that Nissani has joined the fray).

I guess the government guys just realized that import cars are far more superior in quality and fuel efficient than “milo cars” from Tanjung Malim. That must be a slap on the face. Ouch!

Higher ups should only be given Toyota Prius or Honda Insight as official government car.

Medium level government servant should be provided with Protong Juara refrigerator.

Low level government servant should be provided with Toyota Alphard or Toyota Camry as most voting power comes from them too (about 1 Million government servants in Malaysia).

My advice to the government, if you want higher votes in the next G.E. please don’t make this silly mistake.

Haha.

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2011 at 2:22 am

we knew about this long,long,long,longgg time ago la. u’re the one who didn’t know. or maybe you just too nyanyuk to remember?
      earlier this year, it was reported that Nissan Fuga could be the replacement for Perdana. Proton would rebadge Fuga just for gov officials only. it doesn’t matter whether Proton get it from Mitsu or Nissan, it’s the same car!

• autojohndoe on Sep 23, 2011 at 8:31 am

kah kah kah….

advice to all the people who wants to join govt…

think more about car than others…

do you think this country development rely only on car?

• sukasuki on Sep 23, 2011 at 10:46 am

my advice to govt, please dont bother about SYOH advice because he surely will not put his vote for the current govt.

• Charles on Sep 22, 2011 at 11:24 pm

#1 – Fuga and EvoX is 2 entirely diff segment.
    #2 – what has rebadging a car has to do with GE? perplexed……

• autojohndoe on Sep 23, 2011 at 8:34 am

SYoh… no need to talk so much to justify your needs…

just write…

“I WANT IMPORTED JAPANESE CAR AT LOW PRICE… ”

short and simple… no need pusing2….

• Proton case:

Nissan Fuga listed by Nissan for rebadge… Proton apply…Nissan agree… MoU signed..

then for Proton Emas…
    Proton offer to Nissan > Nissan say ok, but must use Nissan Platform > Proton say ok > MoU signed… (win win situation)

Mitsubishi case..

Nissan Fuga listed by Nissan for rebadge.. Mitsu apply and offer Mitsu MINICAB-MiEV model to N… Nissan agree…they signed MoU…

Nissan Case…

Fuga did’t hit the target sale…so they willing to let go for rebadge plan.. as long as they can makan $$$ from royalties… :-p

so its wrong to say Nissan Fuga > Mitsu xxxx > Proton Perdana Replacement…
    Proton doing direct deal with Nissan regarding Fuga… not by Mitsu…

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2011 at 1:48 pm

i’m wondering why nissan take miev when they already have leaf? and why would they take emas from proton too? nissan would have 3 models of small electric cars! unless what proton offer to nissan is the SUV one….

• Unforgiven on Sep 23, 2011 at 10:25 am

Actually I don’t think Mitsubishi is better than Nissan for car branding.

If I need to get a Fuga, I’ll get the Nissan badge instead of Mitsu badge.

Anyway, I’m sure we have a group of people may prefer a Proton badge on the Fuga, LOL!

• i think Proton Perdana (fuga) will have a better look…Proton cars nowadays look great…but quality need to be upgrade more…

Proton should collaborate with Nissan and Mitsu to develop the new engine.. :-p

• MoFaz on Sep 23, 2011 at 1:28 pm

because you get RM20k “discount” if you buy proton badge for basically the same car!

• Unforgiven on Sep 24, 2011 at 9:54 am

Correct, we have people buying blueberry instead of blackberry.

Some people carry LU instead of LV. In fact to me Coach also affordable if cannot afford original LV.

Which category of ppl are you? It’s pretty understood now. Lol!

• xshiro on Sep 23, 2011 at 12:27 pm

have seen a nissan fuga at proton coe…proton might sell this car too…maybe …

• Nissan rebadged 3 kei car from Mitsubishi – Minica, Townbox, Pajero Mini
    Mitsubishi rebadged 2 sedan from Nissan – Wingroad, Fuga
    So soon Proton could even rebadged Wingroad and Fuga as Proton!

COOL YOOO