Volkswagen Polo Sedan, Jetta and CrossTouran at JPJ

Reader Kamil Hafizi spotted a whole fleet of new Volkswagen cars yet to be launched in Malaysia at the JPJ complex in Putrajaya, and uploaded them onto our Facebook page. We’ve got a white Volkswagen Polo Sedan, a blue Volkswagen Jetta and a brown Volkswagen CrossTouran.

We’ve seen the Polo Sedan and Jetta being tested on the road before, but the CrossTouran is new, and if launched here would represent Volkswagen’s first foray into the people mover segment. The CrossTouran is essentially a Touran with an offroader styled bodykit. The Volkswagen Touran/CrossTouran is a Golf-based MPVs that can seat 7.

From the images we can see that both the Jetta and the CrossTouran have TSI badges, which indicate these particular units are powered by Volkswagen’s 1.4 litre TSI force inducted direct injection four cylinder engine. The Polo Sedan has a 1.6 badge at the rear, which indicates a normally aspirated 1.6 litre four cylinder.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• All these cars look boring.

• sagatron on Sep 25, 2011 at 5:52 pm

agreed!!!!

• sagatron on Sep 25, 2011 at 7:02 pm

and VW boss, martin winterkorn absolutely jealous with the new hyundai i30…just look at the video…its the rising of korean carmaker…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YpPNVSQmR5c&feature=player_embedded

• Fitipaldi on Sep 26, 2011 at 7:41 am

definitely is…in 5 years or so…Hyundai, Kia cars are gonna beat those Japanese brands…Toyota, Honda…

• sagatron on Sep 26, 2011 at 9:11 am

if im not mistaken, hyundai is the asian carmaker that gives headache to VW…and the japs even cannot give a headache to VW…huhu..bye2 T, H and M..

• Just me on Sep 26, 2011 at 9:45 am

Different price/status/class dude. Not all apply looks/taste the same, some from cameron highland, some from China, some form south africa. It depends which one suite you. But don’t buy local, losy taste.

• Steel on Sep 26, 2011 at 12:13 pm

Yeah right…even Proton also gives VW headache right?? Dream on and continue driving your exclusive SAGA.

• theanswer on Sep 26, 2011 at 11:28 am

only in msia hyundai/kia is struggle bcos of msian mindset. outside they’r quite competitive..not big as T but still can compete especially in US.
            some ppl might look at kia/hyundai is inferior to vw but thas only in msia..bacos vw is a local car in europe..especially when they have to compete with merc,bmw,audi in germany.

• orang kaya raya on Sep 26, 2011 at 7:30 pm

u just see the lousy lineup, after sales service and warranty of Hyundai and Kia car in Malaysia

• he is not jealous, he is a great chairman, willing to learn from everthing and sensitive to all the automobile manufacturer!

somebody here must have this openness to learn, but not only “syiok sendiri” and keep saying that the Korea car is poor..

• Unforgiven on Sep 26, 2011 at 9:24 am

I thought in M’sia, Proton is the coolest?

• I think he’ll say the I30 is good looking but is a cheap crap car lolx cant beat the GTI at all!technology plus quality.

• http://jalopnik.com/5844809/watch-volkswagens-ceo-complain-about-hyundais-superior-interior

Even VW can’t do what low end hyundai can ok…

• Feast on Sep 26, 2011 at 10:51 pm

Just because he looks at it means he got jealous? What a narrow minded person you are.. He was there and what’s wrong with looking at other cars? And what u expect him to say in front of all the media? You expect him to say this is a piece of crap? Grow up..

• murad on Sep 26, 2011 at 9:24 pm

You can say all boring you want, but at the end of the day, they will still take plenty of market share from this and that brand.

• freako on Sep 25, 2011 at 6:02 pm

indeed the price also boring

• lonelyobserve on Sep 25, 2011 at 6:32 pm

Most of these cars are meant for developing countries. Can’t blame more.

• OMG…front might look boring…but the Jetta rear lamp look nice…macam New T.Camry 2012 rear lamp shape.

• Yogi Manikam on Sep 25, 2011 at 10:51 pm

Couldn’t agree more, the only thing desirable is the badge. I wonder how are the prices of VW spare parts?

• I drive a Polo hatch and i think the Polo sedan is so ugly especially the rear remind me of the cheap Saga BLM!Polo hatch is sexy but Sedan looks weird!anyway i saw a Jetta in real life and it’s quite good looking for me!with Rieger or OEM skirt will be more awesome!i think Altis and 2012 Civic cant beat the Jetta outside and inside!

• nebula87 on Sep 25, 2011 at 11:58 pm

Yo my fren, this is sensitive….*saga blm*

• stephen on Sep 26, 2011 at 12:50 pm

oh well many car that start off as Hatch and then convert to Sedan ends up with mixed feeling…. Fit –> City; Latio hatch –> Latio Sedan; Peugeot 207 hatch –> sedan ……the list might just continued…… I seen this Polo Sedan on the road….yes it is not nice for the back but personally I believe it look nicer than those name I mentioned.

• Fitipaldi on Sep 26, 2011 at 7:46 am

whats the OTR like for each models?…thanx

• alldisc on Sep 26, 2011 at 9:11 am

IMHO these are the cars that VW will assemble in malaysia by DRB factories.

strong rumours said these cars will be sold by a separate company than VGM – most likely a DRB-owned one. the reason – VGM will focus on high end specced VW cars but the other company will sell people cars (folks wagon?).

this means the jetta will be competing with japanese 1.6/1.8 directly including mazda 3, altis, civic, forte and the likes.

VW group is targeting to be no.1 car maker in the world by 2014 and they need big volume sales. selling high end sporty cars in limited numbers here will not justify this ambition….

• stupidC&I on Sep 26, 2011 at 10:53 am

I’ll choose forte and sonata anytime that have both best in class great engine and handling…

• korean might be good in design a car nowadays (of-course by the help of German Designers) BUT dont says they have a good handling car….

• mizzuddin on Sep 26, 2011 at 6:08 pm

crappy handling laa

• encikpadil on Sep 25, 2011 at 5:53 pm

love the car,hate the tax…

• alldisc on Sep 26, 2011 at 9:17 am

if these cars are the one to be assembled, there is not much to worry on taxes.

of course, the protectionism given to P1/P2 means other cars prices will be jack up high still.

• kenot on Sep 25, 2011 at 6:13 pm

jetta look nice. look like Audi A4. other model just ordinary especially Touran

• taufik on Sep 25, 2011 at 6:17 pm

this is uber cool
    das auto

• taufik on Sep 25, 2011 at 6:18 pm

this is uber cool
    das auto

kill those japs

• Han!h on Sep 25, 2011 at 6:44 pm

VW really want to make it big here…seeing lots & lots of Golfs & Polos here :D

• taufik on Sep 25, 2011 at 6:50 pm

i hate double post

• RedBeanBun on Sep 25, 2011 at 7:13 pm

i was told by VW sales man Passat will be launched at RM180K..

• 180k is for passat 1.8 cc , not very sure but it will launch first followed by 2.0 cc a year later. Anyway ,the jetta sports is selling like hot cakes in S’pore with 3 versions – base ,comfort and sports. Only sports came with RNS n kessy. I will wait for Bettle turbo.

• Jimmy on Sep 25, 2011 at 7:42 pm

Better than Civic/Altis, Vios/City and Wish/Stream.

• Ordinary Guy on Sep 25, 2011 at 7:48 pm

Wish the polo sedan is priced below Rm 90k … the omission of the 1.2 TSI engine is the greatest turn off thing for me. I like the driving dynamics of the Polo hatch but I find it a bit claustrophobic …. just have to hope la

• Dreaming …the prices of VW cars will not less than 100K here.

• The SA said the Polo Sedan will locally assembled in Pekan.
        The price is around RM70k-80k, Same price tag with City and Vios.

• jalan54 on Sep 26, 2011 at 1:48 am

Do you even know that the polo sedan is ckd??? That is for sure less than RM100k. I bet they’ll match the price of city, vios, fiesta, mazda 2 and so on.

• tiadaid on Sep 26, 2011 at 6:51 am

The Polo Sedan is around 80-90K according to the VW salesman. But if you want it around that price, you’ll have to give up TSI & DSG lah. Give and take.

• Downs on Sep 25, 2011 at 7:49 pm

I love VW and I’ll probably be negged for this, but the Polo sedan looks like Saga FL.

• nanashisan on Sep 25, 2011 at 7:50 pm

ckd??

• Only Polo sedan sucks!!! 1.6 NA engine let me vomit!!!

• bystander on Sep 25, 2011 at 8:08 pm

i thought passat was going to be launched soon too…..a little bit disappointed….saw in mag the china version longer wheel base passat is much better looking than European version, why no news on it?

• TopGear on Sep 25, 2011 at 8:08 pm

the front part, all looks the same …

• VW = Proton in germany.

only in places such as bolehland where ppl pay premium price for them

• ohtdpg7w on Sep 26, 2011 at 12:15 am

bolehland? where the heck is that

• jalan54 on Sep 26, 2011 at 1:50 am

Yes, they are proton in German, but the quality is much much better compare to proton…

• stupidC&I on Sep 26, 2011 at 11:01 am

quality good?you must be joking….

• jalan54 on Sep 26, 2011 at 12:21 pm

You sound like you own a vw vehicle? Please share your experience you are, but please don’t make sound like a dick if you are not… Thank you!!!

• Unforgiven on Sep 26, 2011 at 10:06 am

Just drive a Proton if cannot afford to pay the premium price…

A lot of people also kinda proud of driving a Waja/Inspira…

• forgivU on Sep 26, 2011 at 7:23 pm

yeah, if so vw = proton in germany;
      then what would be proton standard in germany? lol

those that never driven the TSI & DSG have no idea but keep complaining, how selfish…

• Trans on Sep 30, 2011 at 8:01 pm

consider these CKD VW as immitation VW at immitation price!

• hardcore jetta fan on Sep 25, 2011 at 8:11 pm

Where’s Jetta R?

• All this car would be selling below RM100k under Proton badge if VW acquired Proton 5 years ago

• bystander on Sep 25, 2011 at 8:16 pm

this is the one i’m talking about!
    http://www.carenthusiast.co.uk/vw/vw__passat_china__2011__003.jpg
    http://www.carenthusiast.co.uk/vw/vw__passat_china__2011__001.jpg

• Frustrated on Sep 25, 2011 at 8:21 pm

VW makes bloody good cars. No doubt. Scirocco gti is the dream. But pretty much gave up dreaming of owning any one of them due to the not-so-people prices.

• few days ago, kia optima (k5) was there..

• bystander on Sep 25, 2011 at 8:30 pm

sorry, not the longer wheel base passat, it’s the cheaper mid-size passat! but i really prefer this look, especially with all the LED lights all over the car!

• pricing will decide if all these VWs r cool or not

• simple analogy.

you copy and paste a text. then, u change the font, the size, make it double spacing and you got the same text but different style of writing.

and it comes from the same text.

#siblings and boring.

• Based on South African VW-Honda case, new Jetta and Civic 1.8 sedan or Polo Sedan-City was priced competitively at R222-220k (about RM86.2-RM86.7k) and RM61k+ for smaller B-segment sedan.

VGM will never witness decent sale and disaster to existing dealers if the PRICING is so alien to reality of oppressed Malaysians buyers.

Bye bye to VW brand if they regard their brand is so prestige like Big Three, Mercedes-BMW-Audi-Lexus.

• nighttrain on Sep 25, 2011 at 11:40 pm

dude, VW own Audi. I think they know what market segmentation means.

• don’t you know that jetta will be priced around 135k? its about the same price as civic 2.0

• Forestcat on Sep 25, 2011 at 9:32 pm

I think i like the vento, seems a prctical everyday car and you have confidence in the VW brand….

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 25, 2011 at 9:34 pm

Honestly, didn’t expect the Jetta in. Wonder how vw would slot this in. Even if this goes for the same price as the golf tsi it would be precariously close to the expected Passat entry price of 180k. Which only means one thing, we can now expect the Passat to come in higher.

The normal price buffer between a marques’ C and D segments typically spread over about 20- 30k. I’m expecting the Jetta TSI to come in above the Golf TSI..which means the passat would be closer to 190k.

with the polo sedan coming in with an NA 1.6… means only one thing. Its definately going to be way south of 100k. Would give the Vios and City a run for thier money as well as an alternativr for the similarly priced Forte 1.6SX. Thats a good thing. If VWs current interior build quality is anything to go by, thats an excellent car for the money. Most likely some equipment would be missing like a full complememt of airbags though.

Looks like vw is really serious with this market judging from the almost full range they are bringing in.

• The Jetta retails lower than the Golf is several countries around the world so I won’t be surprised if it comes in lower than the Golf TSI.

Do some research and you will find a price of RM140k bandied about but the Jetta will have some key specs omitted. HIDs being one of them. You can already see that the Jetta in the pictures does not come with projector lamps.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 26, 2011 at 1:41 am

The Jetta’s price has been confirmed by representitives from VW including salesmen from Wearnes and Federal Auto to be RM133,888. Passat shall be around RM180,888

• Unforgiven on Sep 26, 2011 at 11:11 am

It’s quite a good price, how come the bumper of the Jetta looks like the older model?

• Unforgiven on Sep 26, 2011 at 12:25 pm

That’s the 2011 model instead of the 2012 model…

• blue-traveler on Sep 26, 2011 at 11:25 am

thanks. for the fast price info

• OMG…hard to believe this Jetta was cheaper than Golf 1.4 TSI…I really hope it can happen.

• Tunasandwich on Sep 26, 2011 at 7:04 pm

133,888 for the Jetta or 138,888?

• jalan54 on Sep 26, 2011 at 1:54 am

dude, jetta, polo sedan, passat are ckd version!!!

• No point VGM wanna promote these sedans if the price not in the same bracket of Civic, City or Vios.

• sptan on Sep 26, 2011 at 5:37 pm

Depends on whether you want a car or just the brand… test drive either a polo or golf, You will find out.

• stupidC&I on Sep 25, 2011 at 10:18 pm

should just sell these cars to china and india…..we deserve something better!!!

• sptan on Sep 26, 2011 at 9:15 am

China and india already had better cars than Malaysia AND BETTER PRICE…..wake up!!!!!

• sptan on Sep 26, 2011 at 9:17 am

China and india already had better cars than ourss AND PRICE….WAKE UP!!!!

• JasJos on Sep 25, 2011 at 10:31 pm

Should bring in the Sharan instead of Touran which is so small for a MPV.

• woklt on Sep 25, 2011 at 10:35 pm

jetta is good.
    just not sure about the price…….
    You guys know la….Tax….is the main problem.

• Anwar on Sep 25, 2011 at 10:57 pm

I’ve seen a real Jetta, bought by a relative in Singapore. The actual car is a lot nicer than the pictures here. I suspect it was limited by the camera used (handphone?), lighting and location. So why not reserve our comment until we see the real car.

• good price for polo sedan is important, this is world class car for masses, its time for malaysian to have better alternative

• ventus on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:12 am

u really think it is a world class car huh. vw marketing has done a good job.

• Again, kudos to VW marketing. The public really believes your message. Of course with all the money you’re dumping into advertising, even the most hardened skeptic will be a believer. Money buys many believers!

• nighttrain on Sep 25, 2011 at 11:44 pm

boring, archaic 90’s look, and possibly premium prices… and minimum specs too. then they’ll blame the govt about the inflated prices..

• Jimmy on Sep 26, 2011 at 10:23 pm

You are accusing Toyota, aren’t you?
      RM170k D-segment with 2 airbags only, which car is that? I guess it is Passat ya? Or Accord 2.4 or the V6 Nissan what(suddenly forgot the name)?

• In South Africa, the VW Polo is divided into four namely;
    Polo Vivo Hatch
    Polo Vivo Sedan
    Polo
    Polo Sedan

http://www.vw.co.za/en/models.html

• I quoted the Polo Sedan, not so inferior Polo Vivo. FYI, even Polo sedan cheaper than City.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 26, 2011 at 1:44 am

Nice to know that we will be getting the Jetta with 160bhp and 240 NMof torque instead of the more meager one of 122bhp and 200NM. Look out for the all red TSi sign for that.

The cross touran however will get the 140bhp 220Nm version of the 1.4tsi due to its all silver TSi badge. this tune is only special for the touran.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 26, 2011 at 3:34 pm

There’s two versions of the 1.4L TSI engine, one with supercharger and turbo (160ps), and one with only the turbo. I think the CKD Jetta uses the latter, output should be 122ps and 200Nm. Adequate, but nothing to get excited about.

• The red TSI badging means it will be the higher output engine. Lower output TSIs get the silver badging.

• Trans on Sep 30, 2011 at 9:48 pm

No, The jetta gets the SOHC 8V engine as found on the Beetle which is an engine from the early 1980s. You can find the specs on USA VW site. VW will not CKD with TSI engines. Malaysian mechanics will not have skills to diagnose it!

• Car Driver on Sep 26, 2011 at 11:08 am

Thought Jetta will be around 100k if assembled here. 133K out of reach. Will look elsewhere into soon to be released Elantra. TSI and DSG is not desirable if too expensive.

• As I lived in Germany for sometimes I think all of you should not be too obsessed to have a VW’s car….basically all those makcik and pakcik use this Polo, Touran etc to go to the market and groceries shop ….,it is VolksWagen (Kereta Rakyat) if you don’t know the meaning….for me, Audi, Mercs, BMW are my target even i know i can’t afford it!!..at least I know that brands is something like Honda or Toyota compare to Proton or Perodua in Malaysia..but no VW….so don’t be caught by their marketing strategy and you have to pay more to own VW.

• VW brand definitely below the sister, Audi positioned to take on Mercedes as well as Bimmer. But the brand was “little” premium compared to its cohort, like Vauxhall/Opel, Ford, Renault etc like UK or many part of Europe.

In Euro their network like our Honda/Toyota here.

• I don’t mind to drive a Germany ‘ FIRST WORLD Kereta Rakyat ‘ good handling,high technology,safety and world popular brand car!not like P1 or P2 only know how to rebadged and make expensive cars but low quality!

• Since you lived in Germany I dont think you have driven the local P1/P2 “kereta rakyat” before. And since you lived in Germany you are not qualified to give comments here about our local cars.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 26, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Direct injection is nice but can it take our sulphur-laden petrol? What is the lifespan of the turbo? Can it handle the high temperature in MLY? How reliable is the DSG gearbox? All of these questions will come into play when VW starts to sell more cars.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 26, 2011 at 9:34 pm

What i can say so far is reliability is quite good…… my scirocco is 3 years old, doesnt seem to suffer from any mechanical problems.

• Wait till it does, it will cost you arm and leg to pay for the spare parts. Believe me, the parts cost more than BMW/Mercedes parts!

• ventus on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:20 am

Once there are more cars on the road, then it will be more visible the issues that the owners face. There will always be good and bad cars in the same batch manufactured.

• lf the engine same power as Golf TSI the price shouldn’t more than RM120k for lesser variant and RM130k maybe acceptable for full-spec 1.4TSI with red paint moniker. Price range in the same region of Civic-Altis for Jetta and Teana-Accord-Camry 2.0 RM139k-159k is necessary for Passat 1.4TSI 122ps BlueMotion Technology or 1.8TSI.

1.8TSI 160ps rather less appropriate if VGM consider the logistic reasoning. Better to carry the same engine instead of too many engines. Having said that, for the purpose of market penetration, offering 122ps 1.4 alongside existing 160ps 1.4 is good idea.

Better offer cheaper price with slightly lower spec/detuned engine in order to woo more buyers.

• Zaifman on Sep 26, 2011 at 3:41 pm

Go Volkswagen!

I kind of like the simple utilitarian looks of VW cars. I believe some Hyundai (I do love their new design choice) cars are overdone in terms of styling.

Yes, some people above are right, in Deutschland, VW is like Proton but thanks to exorbitant taxation, we have to pay a premium for otherwise a people’s car.

• Masked Ryder on Sep 26, 2011 at 4:14 pm

Polo sedan below 90K would spell dead for Forte ! i mean German car same price range as Korean ! Wohoo ! Even the up comming Elantra 1.6 will be a hard sale, unless it drop below 70K, which is impossible.

• Korean now world largest car manufacturer. They used to be more or less “Malaysia” but now, with advancement in technology like chip, lcd, shipbuilding, automotive, consumer electronic, smart mobile phone- Korean inferior than Japanese is something of the past and they’re catching up in entertainment too- l saw both Chinese and Malay love their movies/dramas not to mention their songs as well.

Their diesel technology ahead of the Japanese, thanks to Japanese-American dislike diesel fuel.

Back to Polo sedan with 1.6 archaic technology, should not above RM80k! If you’re buyer, you must compare your ride and Toyota or Honda; their network of 3S scattered everywhere while VW only one every state, average. How to enjoy your ride?

• err..... on Sep 26, 2011 at 11:18 pm

world largest car manufacturer?wow now only I know man!you so smart

• Redrules on Sep 27, 2011 at 12:25 am

They became huge because their 70 million odd population supported their products even when initially it was crappy. Now they have improved, again because its their population’s support. When will Malaysian ever going to learn?

• Unforgiven on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:55 am

M’sian also supporting P1 for the past 20x years…

Jst most that felt the quality became worst after time, especially the Wira/Gen2 era…

Lesson learnt to move away from P1 after that? Right?

• Imran on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:26 am

so i guess you own a korean car and become so defensive..
        if could afford.. then why not go for continental car..
        oppss maybe you couldnt afford

• the empty polo for 90k will knock the fully loaded forte? get real.

• Medic on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:52 pm

Of course a polo at 90k will plumett the forte.How can Korean tech stand up to German?A conti car anytime better in QC,FC and reliability.I used to like honda,owned a civic for 6 yrs before getting a Vw.

The difference is like day and night.Question is,can u afford one?

• wow, you really believe all that marketing talk huh… ok, your choice then.

• droll on Sep 26, 2011 at 4:43 pm

i just hope VW improves their quality.

http://www.autoblog.com/2011/03/17/jd-powers-2011-vehicle-dependability-study-names-lincoln-best-b/

i know the stats above are for the US market but if we assume the manufacturers go to great lengths to ensure qc is consistent, then we can use the data above as a proxy for malaysia.

• droll on Sep 27, 2011 at 8:21 am

those who have never experienced vw’s quality should troll the local polo and vw club forums. not all the cars are bad of course but there are some pretty serious issues (mechatronic fail, car shuts down while driving at high speed, turbo charger fail, etc) on brand new cars.

• tattoo sleeves shop on Sep 26, 2011 at 5:43 pm

the car looks so simple.. nothing special.. but maybe the engine n quality r reasons people will buy it.

• why do i get this feeling GTI badges will sell like hot cakes? =/

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Sep 27, 2011 at 12:47 am

boring? well what do you expect? alfa romeo design meh?

• ventus on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:28 am

I agree with BMW POWER FOREVER. It is afterall VW, what do you expect from VW designers? It is not like design is a strong thing for them. Some may just say it is lazy work but VW fans will say there is continuity. To VW, it is more evolution than revolution. So you get cars that look the same from the bottom till the top and from one generation to the other (with the exception of the Beetle).

• taufik on Sep 27, 2011 at 1:36 pm

beetle got ckd or not?
    need to kill those myvi lor
    lol

• umnoracist on Sep 27, 2011 at 2:26 pm

VW is cool!

• I own Gen2 and I drove Audi and VW….I think you the one should shut up

Man

• Sometimes the look doesn’t really matter.
    What does matter is whether can you afford to own one? Or just TCSS?
    Keep on dreaming, kids.

• Trans on Sep 29, 2011 at 11:58 pm

sure looks like immitation VW. Like China ipad vs Original Apple ipad!

• And yes, it is getting VW SOHC 8 valve engine from the 80s (Golf Mk1) too!

• joepassat on Oct 10, 2011 at 3:40 pm

Already got passat, jetta and cross touran brochure, first shipment will be cbu at ckd price… Jetta using same engine and dsg like golf 1.4 tsi, passat using 1.8tsi and cross touran using 1.4tsi…

• autobizz on Mar 06, 2012 at 11:26 am

nothing special. with that price tag, there is lot more choices.