SPIED: Hello, are you the new Toyota Avanza?

Here are some shots of a Toyota MPV circulating in Indonesian forums and websites. Taken from a factory line, these images are likely to be of the new Toyota Avanza. The rear shot shows it lining up behind a Toyota Rush SUV, which of course shares the same platform as the Avanza.

The compact seven seater Avanza may be over eight years old now, but it still rules the sales charts in Indonesia. It’s also a success in Malaysia, but the late 2009 introduction of the Perodua Alza has seen Avanza sales whittle down to a couple of hundred units per month. Toyota recently gave its IMV trio of Innova, Fortuner and Hilux a revamp, and it looks like the Avanza is the next!

The front end is quite similar to that of the Etios and Etios Liva in India, and that wide grille is also seen in the Corolla Altis 2.0, so it looks like Toyota wants the Avanza to have more of a “car look”. None of the three recently facelifted IMV models carry this look. While the changed face brings a more rounded and sculpted look, it remains to be seen in the metal if it gels with the Avanza’s boxy shape.

At the back, the more rounded theme continues, and the tail lamps now wrap into the sides. We can also see a new line on the profile between the wheels that sweep up gently, in addition to the current curves that highlight the wheel arches.

Besides the latter, more evidence that this is more than just a simple front and rear nip/tuck is in the different shape of the rear quarter glass/D-pillars, as well as the rear screen, which appears to have more rake on the new car.

If this is indeed the new Avanza, it won’t be coming so soon, if at all. UMW Toyota will be busy rolling out the refreshed IMV trio first (Hilux is already out, click here to read our report) and Malaysia already has the more stylish and modern Perodua Alza for this segment, so perhaps the Avanza isn’t top priority. What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ugly, but still will sell well. Toyota mentality mah!

• honestly, the front look ok, and the rear look alike the grand livina..

• mohsin on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Have you drive Avanza? No, right!
      huduh2 pun org still beli lg current Avanza! Kalau this new Avanza keluar for sure lg laku! Ada iras2 Wish (bontot profile).
      Compared to Alza, the 3rd role is extremly cramp for adults, but hey, it’s not happened in Avanza!
      Yeah2! I know 3rd role kuat lambung mcm naik kuda tapi better than Alza!

• Airbob on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:04 pm

mohsin! 3rd role itu apa dong?

• Anonymous on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:40 pm

mohsin, you are correct. so you are the best!!!

• Bro, yes. I drove Avanza before. I even sat in 2nd row and your 3rd “role” as well.

A better suggestion is, get a Proton Exora k..

• Area51LE on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:25 pm

Exora is underpowered, have to wait for the turbo version

• underpower? haha..your’re just another stupid basher…standard Exora do not have problem reaching 170 even with 6 adult on board..dumbass

• neo man on Sep 29, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Proton Exora has a CPS system some says the Cps system will make the MPV felt like a 1.8L engine even it is just 1.6L but i think the exora is better with 2.0 standard engine because it has a Huge body it need more power because we also want a power engine for a big MPV. NOBODY CARES what your KMH reach engine is engine I Drive a 2006 Alphard 2.4L standard N/A engine it Goes 180KMH usually i drive around 160KMH on right lane i still hav to horn people ask them to go out of my way 160KMH is more than enough for a 2.4liter engine compared to 1.6 170KMH is not enough. same like my saga BLM 1.3 engine it can reach 180KMH 4 adult on boards better than your sick dumbass 170 kam

• Exora on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Exora is really underpwr “kam”. Top speed doesn’t says anything. I drive a Tiara 1.1 GL manual 3 ppl can reach 155km/h lo.. so what..maybe if I put a 1.3 on my Tiara I might be on par with Exora. The sad thing about Exora (currently) it doesn’t have enough torque to pull the big MPV during up hill or acceralation.

I’m not bashing any proton cars, as I am really into Exora and I almost book it myself but because after twice I’d tested it I’m not satisfied with the engine power.

• haha..area neva know the proton rule of high ref engine lol…easily maintain high ref on the hill to see how powerful it is….

• For an affordable 7 seater, go buy Grand Lavina. Spacious, no bump, no roll, powerful engine with choices of 1.6 and 1.8, and for the sports minded you can have the Impul version. Price wise, although more expensive than Exora but worth everything.

• I wouldnt say GL as an affordable ‘spacious 7 seater’ but I agree the ride is more comfortable than Avanza.

• TallPan on Sep 28, 2011 at 5:28 pm

spacious? what are u, a gnome?

Might as well say, get a 2nd hand Wish. Price wise, although more expensive than Grand Livina but worth everything.

• theanswer on Sep 27, 2011 at 5:23 pm

i didnt see the fist comment compare avanza with alza. based on size yes avanza win..but level of comfort especially driver and 2nd row is not good in avanza. i never drive one..but sat in once to test..a bit uncomfortable (i’m 180cm)..the driving position also a bit weird..exora is lot better than avanza (push aside brand).

• sukasuki on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:06 pm

pernah tumpang avanza, kakak angkat punye kat kota kinabalu. duduk kat 3rd row dgn adik lelaki, kdua2 kami tinggi 172cm dan 180cm (my brother is taller than me), and hell cramp at the back seat. nasiblaa ade 2nd blower aircond, alza i guess dont have rite?

• Agent N on Sep 28, 2011 at 6:20 am

this is a new avanza with a longer and wider body

• sub_zero on Sep 29, 2011 at 9:46 am

like a wish? wish is totally different segment vehicle and you dare claim avanza have the same look? this is the most funniest thing toyoltafags even comment for! HAHAHAHAAHAHA

• temakol on Aug 18, 2013 at 10:56 am

avanza suspension is quite bumpy…not suitable for long journey which you know…Malaysian road not good….what to say PAN BORNEO. Tried Avanza vs Rush vs Innova. The innova suspension different from the two. Alza have sedan like suspension….so no wonder you will get the car feel when sit in it…no bumpy.

• Platform is still based on a van.

• wooo….many toyota fanboy here..seram wooo..hyundai the best

• William on Sep 27, 2011 at 5:12 pm

Suddenly a lot of toyota fanboy came in!! :O

I tot before that there is more proton supporter here??

• for ur safety dont give comment here…..u will be thumb down badly

• blue-traveler on Sep 28, 2011 at 11:11 am

Nope, KZM, if you notices, this past coupe of weeks there a lot more then usual P1 fan boys here, they bash every and anything that is not P1, even including when anyone comment how good is P2 sales base on fact. Guess election is very near.

One of my cousin got the very 1st gen Avanza, it was horrible, so was the resale price. Don’t know about the current make, as of now he have a Grand Lavina. It is good. And his kid sister just got her 1st car, just 4 days passed, an Alza. ( Well, her dad foot the bill, I guess the parents is giving her a hint; you want a free car, then must be the household driver, hahaha) Anyway I 1st sat in the Alza, 2 nights ago, it is very spacious, but abit low for a mpv. Just enough power to zip along. So I’m guessing here that the new 1.5l Myvi using the same engine as in the Alza.?

• Front looks like the Nissan Juke or Junk whatever…

• Nice…will buy 1…

• Jimmy on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:36 pm

KHURUS like a galah, trying hard to look FAT by exaggerating the front bumper.
      The most khurus non-national car in CAN-land?

• John McClane on Sep 27, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Better buy Proton Exora.

• MoFaz on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:18 pm

but please wait for Exora CFE Turbo with CVT… by November :)

• Exora Prestige VIP Style on Sep 27, 2011 at 6:37 pm

new exora is coming…i hope cvt,lotus rides,turbo,new bodykit, new colour
        price is rm80k? i hope so! cheers…

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Proton Exora is just a junk. Toyota Avanza is better.

• john doe on Sep 27, 2011 at 5:40 pm

i think paultan has been attacked by indon cyber troopers. too many ‘thumbs’.

• Yea.. super agree with you.. lol.. Indo national car… hahaha

• Alpha on Sep 27, 2011 at 7:04 pm

Better buy Mercedes-Benz R63 AMG.

• Exora is nice…..but its third row is too low. The third row of Rush & Avanza is high & better.

• sub_zero on Sep 29, 2011 at 9:55 am

your kidding right? drove avanza and exora, and exora is FAR spacious compare to crampy avanza

toyolta is screwing you left right, and they laughing all the way to the bank with your hard earn money

• astroboy on Sep 27, 2011 at 2:51 pm

Ugly.. :(

• Feast on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:54 pm

Wah, look at the number of thumbs down for those who gave negative comments about this car, just shows that Toyota will still be the best selling car here due to those who still stuck and yet to see huge changes outside. Feel sad for Malaysia.

• mitshi on Sep 27, 2011 at 2:53 pm

big boooooooo!!!!!!!!

• nvm… but atleast Exora are better than this huhu.. Nvm we see this new Avanze on the road 1st hehe

• new platform or “improved” ?

• i dont understand why i got thumbs down so much
      i’m merely asking whether this thing is based on a new platform or “improved” (as in the case of the new myvi)
      can anyone answer me?

• If the image were correct, sadly, this avanaje is another Toyota similar business model (also followed by other brands) FACELIFT. That’s why ya word was thumb down easily. Defeat mentality maa.

• greasemonkey on Sep 27, 2011 at 8:48 pm

Alot of toyota fans mah!So they are blinded emotionally and any words that they think offend or sensitive,they will not hesitate to bang you, my friend. come to think of it,it shows how insecure they are.cheers..

• it’s a van/people carrier …..how stylish u think it’s gonna get? it’s a car for the masses in indonesia/south east asia – so tough & reliability is it’s focus. it ain’t no mini wish/estima/alphard

• TallPan on Sep 28, 2011 at 5:31 pm

haha this guy also kena kao kao, even though his comment made the most sense on this page.

lol silly fanboys… don’t even know what they’re thumbing up or down

• userid on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:10 pm

Copying grand livina?

• instant hatred towards this car when I saw the front picture if this car..haha

• albag on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:24 pm

it looks nice… all it needs is some LED treatment…

• albag on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:59 pm

looks nice also receive so many thumbs down… lulzzz so many exora butt kissers…

• F.O.C on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:29 pm

Recently I find out a lot of ppl bashing toyota cars & I’m not pin pointing anyone. If Proton were to “dare” to compete head to head with Toyota without Government protection & still won the battle, I’m the first one salute them. No point being beautiful design & poor on certain aspect or even sacrifice safety. Example of Renault, their cars way to odd to accept but Europeans love it because of good FC & safety aspects. I’m not against Proton or Perodua but anti something because is a Toyota without looking deeply & undertake the engineering underneath then I personally think is not fair to them. My comment is to hope Paultan forum will be more sincere & honest comments, not showing anti product. Cheers everyone!

• Nissan on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:37 pm

like or dislike is depend very personal taste, why do we need to set a limit to it?

• ong chin aun on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:46 pm

YA, Fact is fact. honesty is the best policy. I strongly agreed with you. Respect and admire your boldness and courage to voice out. 3 Cheers !!!. However, some people still water run deep.!

• Starstreak on Sep 28, 2011 at 10:14 am

People start bashing Toyota, or in some cases UMW Toyota because the cars/Trucks they are selling are getting crappier (put reliability and Resale value aside) in terms of performance and features, and in some cases uglier facelift/New model for a premium price.

• lanovi90 on Sep 28, 2011 at 11:32 pm

really agree with Starstreak. Toyota design getting uglier since the introduction of dugong a.k.a vios.

• ben yap on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:36 pm

the mpv looks very daihatsu styling.

• vincent on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:38 pm

What’s up with the ugly bumper??! Yikes!!

• I guess this is another facelift if we judge from d pillar

• More Toyota blind faithful here and l don’t think Paultan.org was anti-Toyota/Daihatsu or any auto brand for that matter. I knew him and this young guy deserved my compliment.

For T-fans, love is blind but to say proton exora lack of safety than A van aje is too much- blind is inappropriate to describe such blatant love without clear fact over the product. High center of gravity mean safer?

Look at the new a van aje more carefully; nose job and slightly butt job qualified for newness? Old tech architecture bro regardless of the brand.

l like Toyota but not cheapo one mean for Asians-Africans.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:41 pm

Grandparents, old uncles and aunties will love this car, paul tan readers would simply flame it to high heavens because it doesn’t look like a ferrari. In the end, toyota will still sell truck loads of these, go figure…

• Razin on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:49 pm

Its a left hand drive!

• recond on Sep 27, 2011 at 3:59 pm

still butt ugly…. and i agree with most comments here, IT WILL STILL SELL. But why??? UMW suck!

• farisma on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:31 pm

better they fixed the ‘bumpy’ ride and avanza will be sell again tremendously..

• Expatriate VN on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:46 pm

This model if launch in Malaysia, will further cut into sales of MPV for other brand, especially jaguh kampong’s Cam-Tak-Pro MPV.

• I sense a heavy Toyota Camp here.. Instant Low Rating if it’s anything bad about it.

• Rosmah on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:56 pm

Not cool, not cool.

It looks as fat and fluffy as my body.

• gataitangan on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:58 pm

i can see many toyota fanboys butt hurt already

• hehehe on Sep 27, 2011 at 5:00 pm

Toyota has to roll this out as soon as possible because upcoming competitor Suzuki Ertiga will bite their arse :)

• Naz@AE111 on Sep 27, 2011 at 5:01 pm

at first launch, i thought the avanza was to not comfortable to drive with, but when i tried my friends avanza for a long trip, it’s totally change my thought on it, it was comfortable to drive in a long distance trip for a family vacation.. the thing i don’t like it was, it doesn’t have a aircond for blow on your feet, makes me sweat during on the long trip road.. hopefully this new avanza can give more benefit on the comfortable side and also reliability just its predecessor b4 it.. and the price also, please don’t make a hike on it..

• vincent on Sep 27, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Have your friend changed the broken a/c compressor? At least two of my friends have it change in few yrs time. :)

• blackjkx on Sep 27, 2011 at 6:07 pm

yeah, all 3 avanzas in my company a/c kong already..blow hot air only.
        anyway..its a-van-za… it a van maa…not mpv

• Naz@AE111 on Sep 27, 2011 at 6:19 pm

haha.. not yet.. but the car still 2 year old.. not seen any defected yet.. but saw someone avanza 2003 or 2004 model, got small gas leakage on they A/C pipe during washing the engine, and they saw a small bubble came out from it..

• William on Sep 27, 2011 at 5:10 pm

y seem like a lot of people thumb down for all the comment that say this car is ugly and anti avanza people ??

Suddenly so much toyota avanza supporter came in to paul tan!! :O

• It’s Indo national car..

• So true.

It all stated with the Kijang ;-)

• greasemonkey on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:03 pm

indon national car? Does this means that we have ‘traitors’ among us? WHY u all support indon? Be proud being M’sian,belilah barangan malaysia, support p1 &p2 &Naza.! Ha,ha,ha….(give it a deep thought guys)!

• shawal on Sep 28, 2011 at 11:53 am

Like milo here is a national drink, its made here but milo is nestle and it belomgs to d greedy dutch

• BadBET on Sep 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm

LOL .. every comment being thumbs down… its like thumbs down carnival.

• wow~~ so many people loss their mentality today XD

actually the interior also leak d … could find at cari forum d …

• theanswer on Sep 27, 2011 at 5:25 pm

someone (T fanboy for sure) just spend hrs in front his/her pc to to click the unlike icon many2 times.

• Aminlife on Sep 27, 2011 at 5:58 pm

I hope a lot improvement for this New Avanza?.

1) Air-cond -problem within 3 years ( asked previous avanza owner)
    2) super bouncy – seating at 3rd row..even driving at 80 mph (Experienced driving through highway North- South).

• inspirasi on Sep 27, 2011 at 6:14 pm

padan muka, toyota tau?

• the same concept on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:15 am

My dad bought 2 avanza.. 2003 edition and then trade in again in 2009. What’s the air con problem u have got? There is no such thing like u say as air con problem.

2003 edition is like a van.. bad handling, noisy, not comfortable.
      the newer edition have been enhanced with lots of sound proofing and directly boost for a more quiet cabin and indiretly towards a tougher body that contribute to handling… not sure whether they did improve on the suspension system. but the later version is a car.. 2003 version is a van to me..

• OMG….the front grill got a bit like T.Altis,,,not bad….but the rear not so attractive.Anyway,as long as the price maintain the same,i believed it still can sell well.

• sam witwicky on Sep 27, 2011 at 6:24 pm

mcm toyota Prius V je…

• Mat Mitsu on Sep 27, 2011 at 6:44 pm

Please don’t rate me down. Rear design got the touch of new Prado especially the rear light. Just wait and see what kind of “anak kijang” would UMW bring to our shore

• Oh come on.. Toyota fanboys are so gay. Admit it, the Avanza was not really a dream car. It sits between a van and an MPV but inherits none of their advantages. It rides like a boat, the NVH level is terrible and body roll is too noticeable. The only thing about this car is that the 1.5 engine deliver enough power for acceleration. The 1.3 engine? That’s the crappiest idea ever. Regretted selling the Unser for this piece of junk.

As for mohsin, I wanna ask you; have you driven the Grand Livina? That’s how driving a proper mid-size MPV suppose to feel.

• mohsin needs to sapot his “national car”.. cannot drive other brand la…

• theanswer on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:08 pm

u sold ur unser for these? u better upgrade to innova..not downgrade.

• Mat Mitsu on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:25 pm

But no matter what, this one already out of my wishlist.

• Yogi Manikam on Sep 28, 2011 at 12:46 am

Looks like van platform to suit Indon roads, good luck Toyota, this won’t help u beat Alza

• alldisc on Sep 28, 2011 at 8:33 am

perodua alza equals to toyota passo sette.

daihatsu owned by toyota. perodua pays royalties to daihatus.

no matter what, toyota still wins.

avanza was designed to suit indonesian needs, which translates to a whole lot bigger auto market than malaysia.

no company can afford to assemble a car that has small market sales – which is why UMW does not bother to assemble Wish, Ipsum, Picnic, Verso, BB, Gaia, Nadia, Raum, Noah, Estima or Alphard (all current Toyota MPV) in malaysia. it just not feasible from business point of view, no matter how much thumbs down they get in paultan.org

• kau tak hensem on Sep 28, 2011 at 3:35 pm

bawa je mpv boxy ke malaysia sure laku..noah boxy!

• MoFaz on Sep 27, 2011 at 7:05 pm

i thought Proton is coming with Satria Neo Artiga.

• MoFaz on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:59 pm

i was replying someone’s comment about Maruti / Suzuki Ertiga but that comment has vanished…

• shawal on Sep 27, 2011 at 7:07 pm

At least now it doesn’t look like a car for tofu and vegies salesman…

• nicer than the old model….more aerodynamic design…..hopefull will bring to M soon…i wanna book 1 ….to replace the old 2004 1.3 auto

• kesian gila on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:31 pm

I am pity you, after 7 years of struggle of your life, pay monthly instalment for your Avanza. And the new car that you going to upgrade soon is a brand new Avanza?

It show people like your would not even improve, guess your life no different like a failure. Admit it.

• autojohndoe on Sep 27, 2011 at 7:18 pm

Malaysian always says…

nampak macam ni… nampak macam tu… like this… like that…

• DtG4207 on Sep 27, 2011 at 7:22 pm

im not exactly a toyota fan but this is a huge improvement over the old avanza in terms of design (doesnt look like a van anymore). however, i find it weird that the rear bumper is so skinny…

• my comment sure 'like' more than 'unlike' on Sep 27, 2011 at 7:33 pm

BETTER WAIT FOR PROTON EXORA TURBO

• better buy Nissan Grand Livina.superb MPV !!!

• Mask Ryder on Sep 27, 2011 at 8:48 pm

Nightmare for Naza Salesmanm already they have headache with LOW Rondo sales, now this New Avanza !! Ai yah yah. Gementar 2

• Haha, nice one fanboys, thumb downs any comment that is bad about this car and thumb downs any comment that is good about Korean car. Wooohhh, the whole enviroment is soooooo friendllyyyy MANN!

• BeemerFreak on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:25 pm

Is it still rear wheal drive?

• twinklestar on Sep 27, 2011 at 9:26 pm

Looks good!

• if this price 60k-70k, alza and exora sales will be affected

• John Rambo on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:08 pm

At least Proton improve a bit the model. The basic Saga got CVT now. Coming soon Exora with turbo and cvt. This avanza oly facelit only. I bet they use the same engine ~ enjin zaman purba. But malaysian mentality you knowlah. Every thing about T and H is the best. If Proton, always tak kena, tak cantik, tak power, tak bessst punya.

• old engine is ok as long as reliable and efficient …

• Mubar on Sep 28, 2011 at 2:34 pm

i supported proton before with waga,,,, supported proton again with savvy… totally have to say. will NOT buy proton again. i’m getting a nissan next.
      its not about not supporting proton, but proton is screwing us malaysians…. we are actually subsidizing their sales overseas which is even cheaper over there… without malaysia support, proton sure cannot compete…

i say let proton die.

• Area51LE on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:20 pm

Don’t really like the rear, looks ugly

• nobody on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:27 pm

you loose your head if you drive one. the old one is better design. but sure it can sell in Malaysia. Toyota mah….

• satrian on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:27 pm

Haaaa………..This car la i saw the other day some where Klang Meru area..dark blue..they wraped the car but can see the rear (look like bigger version of myvi lagi best) and the sport rim (look like alza top model rim) on a Kontena Nasional car carrier……from that day im trying figure out wat car is this………

• evardowoo on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:30 pm

The front look like Pakcik bermulut BESAR.

• aduss3 on Sep 27, 2011 at 10:57 pm

cantik per!! naper buat kat indon lak??

• biaserlah..engineer toyota maner reti nk design2 ni..reti pasang jer.

• Great improvement in terms of outlook.

• alistair lim li wei on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:06 pm

Nice front design but the rear is kinda ugly. nevertheless,fit in a new engine and ppl will flock to buy it.

• sukasuki on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:14 pm

mana Expatriate VN? senyap jek? ke terpakse senyap sbb xbleh condemn national car negara dia??

• LE_buruk on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:27 pm

my old mitsu space wagon is better than this a-van-ja….

• Honda Power on Sep 27, 2011 at 11:41 pm

Looks like a fat bloated dugong on wheels. Front is ugly! Ha ha! Good Job, Toyota! Ha ha again!

• treblecase on Sep 28, 2011 at 12:05 am

If there’s anything more hideous looking than this “new Avanza”, please let me know. This makes the Proton Juara looks err..pleasant! Horrible.

• noname on Sep 28, 2011 at 12:14 am

better buy exora… toyota is now moving backwards…

• varrie on Sep 28, 2011 at 12:41 am

AVANZA AND INNOVS IS GOOD MPV. JUST THAT THEIR BODY WEIGHT IS TOO MUCH FOR THEIR ENGINE CAPACITY. IF TOYOTA CAN REDUCE THE WEIGHT WITHOUT COMPROMISING THE SAFETY, SURELY THE DEMAND WILL IMPROVE AGAIN.

• Cars for other ASEAN country. Not up for sg market. Fortuner only for them. Think

• Thumbs me down if u dare... on Sep 28, 2011 at 12:42 am

Typical indo design with a so called modern twist = uglyEST mpv. So improportionate, tiny tires, this suits more as a Tata nano EXTEND version, not a Toyota.

• Carl Wong on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:00 am

Honda Freed is better than this, you get automatic sliding doors at the back, it looks better inside out and more fuel efficient too…!!

• just that Honda Freed is over price with SOHC engine….

• alldisc on Sep 28, 2011 at 8:35 am

and this is the reason freed sells at an extra 20K more than avanza.

• vincent on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:03 am

Sorry to say but I feel Honda Freed is the biggest rip off car from Honda

• and it costs how much more?

• tattoo sleeves shop on Sep 28, 2011 at 12:18 pm

honda freed is overprice.. actually honda is overprice..

• Carl Wong on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Then what about Nissan Grand Livina? The price is almost similar, the body is lower which should be more stable and more fuel efficient.

• Simon Sez on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:09 am

It’s a VAN za.

• research on Sep 28, 2011 at 2:34 am

the ugliest car in the world. period!

• Agent N on Sep 28, 2011 at 6:18 am

its the full model change of avanza
    early nxt year launch

how do u guys like it?

• A-van-aje Angelina Jolie’s thick lips doing Myvi Lagi Best. T can do the same thing- Avanza Lagi Best. We proudly offer loyal Asians, Africans and South Americans+Mexico another Toyota awesome engineering. We give new sexy Angelina style thick lips bumper, a la Volvo XC60 or new CRV rear design while maintaining our proven chasis and ultra reliable small power powerfool 1.3l engine.

Together we build success for post-Tsunami Toyota. Thank you for the best product that Japanese can’t afford.

• samad on Sep 28, 2011 at 8:12 am

looks weird. But i think tyt have done the research especially for indonesia market. Market there is bigger than ours. So far not in my list. sorry.

• beatnik on Sep 28, 2011 at 8:21 am

It is still a ‘Van’ za!

• rear wheel drive is better in term of maintainance. FWD in term of efficiency in fuel….in term of maintainance wise more cost…..esp the front drive shaft dust cover….i still prefer the old technology doesn’t mean no improvement. its personal preference.”It show people like your would not even improve, guess your life no different like a failure. Admit it.” ppl who came out with the statement above shock sendiri thought he/she is so successful in life! get a life don’t taking care of ppl’s cloth!

• only one WORD… UGLY!!!!!!!

• Motor on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:10 am

Ugly!
    Just discontinue Avanza, and replace with current Rush by selling at Avanza price.
    I bet the sales will be better.
    New look is boring with odd new front design and rear design looks like Nissan Livina.
    No offensive, just my thought.

• Georgie on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:43 am

Toyota Rush is a different car segment. Doesn’t mean that the car is cheap, people will go buying it.

• avanza?innova?..freed??its just a cheap VAN for those who really2 proud to own a TOYOTA n HONDA..end of story~freed r worse,high price for cheap ride~

• taboogen on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:28 am

there is only 1 word to sum up all the comment above… its a … wait… wait wait

its a VAN…. an ugly one

• Innova or Van-aje is good MPV… even the MPV is not proper to describe this creature let alone GOOD.

• tattoo sleeves shop on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:39 am

still waiting for the Exora Turbo.

• jolly_idiot on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:55 am

Fugly!!! Toyota trying to make things funky for families? I can’t imagine an uncle who drive this with families. Unstoppable laugh for public.

Laughing to the car = Weird and funky looking family mpv

Laughing to the driver = Weird driver and trying to be funky family man.

Laughing on both = Such a great funky car with great funny buyer.

• Expatriate VN on Sep 28, 2011 at 10:32 am

– MoFaz says:
    i thought Proton is coming with Satria Neo Artiga.

– autojohndoe says:
    Malaysian always says…
    nampak macam ni… nampak macam tu… like this… like that…

– my comment sure ‘like’ more than ‘unlike’ says:
    BETTER WAIT FOR PROTON EXORA TURBO

-sukasuki says:
    mana Expatriate VN? senyap jek? ke terpakse senyap sbb xbleh condemn national car negara dia??

– tattoo sleeves shop says:
    still waiting for the Exora Turbo.

All the above are comments by hardcore P1 blind supporters: Ok, even in Avanza blog they still sembah P1 shitty Cam-Tak-Pro engine cars. These Blind supporters who believe that P1 give them crap-triotic shitty car but it is still OK as it is national car. They actually pay real money to support vendor cronies and AP King high flying life styles with 4 wives. The Blind supporters are incredibly stupid and the masochists have no idea that these vendor cronies and AP Kings suck them dry to the last drop of blood out of their jaguh kampong works. Some like “MooFart”, collectively own 5 P1 car some-more! Shame on you!

Of course this is not the MPV of my choice as it is entry level cheapor from T, which is not a world class car. Neither I will look for the so call the upcoming Cam-Tak-Pro but claim with Turbo power E-XO-lah! Shame on you! At least T is honest by telling all consumers in SEA that Avanza is regional entry level MPV to capture low income group market!

• autojohndoe on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:40 pm

wow… you so rajin to copy and paste our comment…

congrates…

now, i grant you the title… The Most Rajin Paultan’s Blog Visitor…

hey, even if you write hundred pages of comment… and it is only in this comment box… no one really for care what you say…

i bought a proton… it is my lost if my money goes to crony… not you… so, why bother?

I get car that serves me well… that is good enough…

unless, it is your money that i use… truce?

• autojohndoe on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:43 pm

and, even in toyota post you still kutuk Proton… so… whats the diff?

it is different post la… ceh…

• MoFaz on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:52 pm

this Vietnamese expat probably came to Malaysia to run away from war and communist in his country…. when he come here, he get 5-6 figures income but still talk like a child.
      since when having 5 cars is a shame?
      it’s only a shame when you buy Avanza while you can actually afford Viva only.

• Expatriate BD on Sep 28, 2011 at 2:07 pm

alo brother dont waste your time here lah… even me bangla oso working hard for malaysia

• sukasuki on Sep 28, 2011 at 8:42 pm

hahahaha. Expatriate VN, u surely have a lot of time to read all the comments above. i dont care what car brand as long as it can serve me well. FYI, i also experienced drive a merc SL320 with jammed power window, and i had to open the door for paying the toll. damn!! from that i learnt my lesson, that is whatever brand the car is, as long as it serves u well, u should appreciate it.

• Hadi75 on Sep 28, 2011 at 11:27 am

Ugly front…..

• shawal on Sep 28, 2011 at 11:59 am

The front is obviously inspired by a samurai’s mask, but this car is not in sold in japan, it will undergo a facelift in two years,
    Anyway, Bring over innova spec.v luxury! Its gt feeakin awesome interior

• buskerhatesTnH on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:40 pm

WTH is that?

seriously, are they goin to sell that sh1t ?

wow…. that’s an insult to human kind and all the related species ….

WTH…

• OK I have got a friend working In Toyota.. He is one of the main technician there and according to him The best ever car Toyota have produced and less problem Is Toyota Innova and The new Altis 2.0 .. Guess what , The most problematic car is Camry..

• Samarkand on Sep 28, 2011 at 2:08 pm

grand livina look like kembara but had a 3rd row seat. exora was underpower, alza was small size mpv for 4-5 person only. Honda freed also not good! better buy RM100K++ MPV such as innova, estima or alphard la! the malaysian should change their mind set as other international people! hahaha

• kau tak hensem on Sep 28, 2011 at 3:25 pm

paul tan reader dont like recond cars…i already mention i love recond but i get thumb down…
      imho…vellfire is better than alphard…
      anyway your comment is stupid…
      i dont like proton but i cant wait for exora turbo…

• ayamxxx on Sep 28, 2011 at 2:21 pm

better my alphard, got HID light somemore, haha

• blacky on Sep 28, 2011 at 2:23 pm

from front view and the side line that sweeps up can confirm the ez launched in china albeit tail lamp is different

• kamaji on Sep 28, 2011 at 6:07 pm

After reading all those comments up there, I finally sum up the following;
    1. fugly….I can agree to that.
    2. Bad car….Not really b’cos it’s reliable & basic MPV
    3. For low income group….Not at all considering the selling price of around 80K.
    4. Value for money…..Never.
    5. ride & comfort………Not my cup of tea.
    6. 3rd seating…………..Good for children only.
    7. 7-seaters……………..slightly better than Alza but should be more appropriate to
    classified as 5+2 seaters.
    So it’s all about personal taste & preferance.And for those who bash, you are not totally wrong in my opinion while to those who support, you are not wrong either b’cos it’s your hard earn cash anyway.

• i call Expatriate VN as nerd

• waja2007 on Sep 28, 2011 at 10:06 pm

I thumb up all comments that have the word “ugly” for this ‘Lagi Tak Best’ Avanza.

This is the ugliest vehicle in Paultan’s history.

• boyke on Sep 28, 2011 at 10:52 pm

tin can alert!

this car is so disgusting id rather walk than drive one.

why? coz when a car hits me at 40 kph i can at least still live, when a car hits an avanza at 40 kph, chances are ure dead :p

as i said, its a tin can on wheels

• Bravo ! Toyota just won 2011 most valuable auto brand !
    1.) Toyota – US$24.198 Billion.
    2.) BMW – US$ 22.425 Billion.
    3.) M.Benz – US$ 15.344 Billion.
    4.) Honda – US$ 14.182 Billion.
    5.) Porsche – US$ 12.413 Billion.
    Source : The BranZ Top 100 Valuable Global Brand.

• sub_zero on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:13 am

toyolta is conning you

you think japs give a care about you? NO

they don’t. they having dictate SEA auto market for how many years

by doing so, they give the most crappiest car and it’s spec so you all can enjoy with it

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand yet people still buying it, knowing it’s a crap. hail your 3rd world mentality

i guess toyota acronym truly live up to its name

The Only brand YOu can Trust Alot

• Mask Ryder on Sep 29, 2011 at 8:40 pm

Poor Sub_Zero, it must have really difficult to live with a Cheapo Korean Junk (Which can’t even get into 100 most valuable brand), yet still need to comfort yourself by Imagine it a Greatest car in the world.

• armandd on Sep 29, 2011 at 8:47 am

this is basically a van. better get proton exora.

• Another news from indonesia website ..http://www.dapurpacu.com/otomotif/toyota-avanza-2012

• JgnHrpGovJe on Nov 17, 2011 at 12:59 am

dlm pencarian keta 7seater…1st saya test drive Rush..pastu Avanza..pastu GL..Alza.. sterusnya nak test drive Exora tpi tak jdi sbb asyik teringat kata kawan 1 sekolah yg kebetulan terjumpa masa cuci keta Exora isteri dia, saya tanya lah kat dia ok tak Exora ni, dia kata ‘keta ni kalau naik bukit mcm taik!’. klau dah pemilik dia berkata mcm tu..mmmm…kita fikirkan sendirilah..harap2 P1 dpt tgk komen ni sterusnya buat sesuatu +…

• AvanzaVeloz on Nov 21, 2011 at 12:43 am

Hi Avanza fans!

Indonesia has launched:

– The All New Avanza &
    – Avanza Veloz

Take a look and enjoy! Wish coming to Malaysia very soon! Yay!!!

http://www.toyota.co.id/product/?page=product&model=Avanza

• AvanzaVeloz on Nov 21, 2011 at 12:53 am

Hi Avanza fans, Indonesia has launched The All New Avanza & Avanza Veloz, take a look:

http://www.toyota.co.id/product/?page=product&model=Avanza

Hope to see it in Malaysia very soon, yay!!!

• AvanzaVeloz on Nov 21, 2011 at 2:51 pm

Spoken to Toyota Showroom, The All New Toyota Avanza will be coming in mid of Jan, 2012. Estimated Price for high spec 1.5CC is at RM77 – 80K