DHL in talks with Proton regarding electric vehicles

Two weeks ago, national carmaker Proton handed eight electric vehicles (EVs) to the government for running trials with various ministries, which included three Saga EV and five Exora REEV (Range Extender Electric Vehicle) models.

As Proton works towards mass-production of these EVs in 2013, they have an interested fleet customer already. Global logistics provider DHL is exploring the possibility of using Proton EVs in Malaysia. DHL Asia Pacific business development VP Christopher Ong said the company has already initiated talks with Proton.

“We are still in discussion with them and hopefully we will be able to test one of their electrical vehicles, maybe early next year,” he told the media briefing yesterday, adding that this move was in line with the company’s strategy of reducing its total carbon emissions up to 30% by 2020.

Mr Ong hopes that the government will play a role in reducing our carbon footprint, suggesting measures such as imposing carbon tax to encourage people to reduce their CO2 emissions, as well as partnering with the industry to develop facilities for EVs such as charging stations. These would help accelerate Malaysia’s target of reducing carbon emissions by 40% by 2020, he points out.

Curious on how Proton’s EVs work? We’ve exclusively driven the Proton Exora REEV prototype already, click here to read the report.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• nice~

• ah pie on Sep 28, 2011 at 11:14 am

bila la nak mass market ni… asyik kluar berita promo je… lama2 nnt abis air liur aku.. dah tak meleleh lagi. jadi, sementara air liur aku ni meleleh… cepat la…

• MoFaz on Sep 28, 2011 at 11:16 am

Exora RE-EV is good for DHL. it was reported that Exora RE-EV could reach 1000km with fully charged battery and full tank of petrol. should be no problem for DHL to reach even the most ulu place in peninsular :)

• Ultraman on Sep 28, 2011 at 11:30 am

Mr Ong is right. Petronas can modify the existing NGV stations to EV station. Using NGV to power up the generator, i think EV’s output is much better than NGV vehicles.

• get power from TNB should be cheaper than burning NGV…… Better yet… solar anyone?.

• your idea is good.. modify some petrol station, add the EV charging station.. if we want to do like in foreign country, put the charging base at parking lot special for EV car, then we’ll see some stupid people with turbocharge-wannabe engine car go and park at the EV charging base.. put charging station at certain petrol station is a good idea..

• Having you saying that.. i wonder how long will it take to recharge.. If NGV the lines can be up to 50meters.. i also wonder hong long the queue for EV huhuhu

• tristan lau on Sep 28, 2011 at 12:26 pm

on the temperature part, the higher the charging temperature, the color goes green
    if i get them right, when the battery temperature reached 0, it will explode XD

• Prismo on Sep 28, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Hand over 1 unit Exora REEV to me for testing purpose.. I also can give a feedback once a month to proton. ;)

• khairul on Sep 28, 2011 at 11:38 pm

i also want… also can give feedback to them as well…

• Encik Crab on Sep 29, 2011 at 12:08 am

Proton is one of DHL’s KEY customers in Malaysia.
      Is Proton one of your KEY customers too?

The move is logical. We welcome that.
      Cheers.

• ThePolygon on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:44 pm

I wonder how much is the charging time per vehicle if they were to stop and charge at petrol stations installed with electric charges. Would it be better if they have some sort of battery swap technology?

• agreed…. swapping is faster….

• MoFaz on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:12 pm

the battery is expensive, if swapping is so easy, your battery might get stolen very easily too.
        if what they reported is correct, Exora REEV could travel 1000km in single charge, with full tank of petrol (20litre). that’s more than 9 hours drive. surely you’ll stop to rest during that journey. the quick-charge will only take 30 minutes. still ok right?

• biggie on Sep 29, 2011 at 8:15 am

30 minutes quick charge, make no sense for anyone to build a charging station, where pumping a full tank of petrol will only be 5 mins. There will be a mighty long queue at every charging station.

So its time for car parks to come into this charging business as oppose to converting petrol station to charging station.

• MoFaz on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:32 am

it’ll make sense if you compare price of electric vs the price of petrol. and who said you have to go to petrol pump to charge the battery? Gov or PLUS could prepare special parking space for EV cars in R&R areas, you park your car there and charge it for 30 minutes while you have your lunch or coffee break. only then you go to petrol station to fill up your tank. easy kan?

• pencuci tandas on Oct 01, 2011 at 6:18 pm

charge at our own house is more easy i think..using 3 pin plug..hihihi..

• ayamxxx on Sep 28, 2011 at 2:23 pm

Proton still got quality problem.
    Afraid if this one is affected as this is the 1st time the comeout with an electric kind of car.

• KarimSopian on Sep 28, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Well, Proton won the “Best Range Extender EV” award at the Royal Automobile Club (RAC) Future Car Challenge in England with this Exora REEV. That’s something that we can be proud of right? They will improve with time in one way or another.

• ayamxxx on Sep 29, 2011 at 9:57 am

are u sure quality is improving?
        then why there is so many people complain the quality of New Persona, especially the break system, the rattling sound make on Neo CPS, the problem of engine dead on 32bit ECU campro

• we do not hear alot of MERC, Bemmer owner complaining right.. Simply because of the ratio of customer.. How many people drives a Proton and how many people drives other brands..

• i jumpa ramai orang compliant pasal mercz or bmw gak, bukan bagus sgt pun

• haihh on Sep 29, 2011 at 2:49 pm

chill la bro. Even lambo also got burnt down to ashes la wei

haihh

• ChunDai on Oct 05, 2011 at 8:19 pm

naik basikal senang, jimat duit, tak payah beatur… mcm tahun 70 an best…

• the best of hybrid car like this is it save much our fuel bill. n maybe might save our roadtax etc..

but the great drawback is the facts that its battery pack is so so high! try imagine it kong just after warranty period – 1 yr or 3 yr depend to model ..

this real happened fellow, read it on newspaper. but forgot is it honda ( civic ) or toyota insight hybrid.

rm10000 man! after paid so much 4 deposit and installment, how much we could afford for this battery cost?

• spinning on Sep 28, 2011 at 10:00 pm

toyota insight hybrid!!! u made my day dude…seriously…

• yeah. i admit made mistake. its either insight or prius actually. sorry 4 inconvenience.

• rohde & on Sep 28, 2011 at 10:51 pm

savvy amt repair kat proton rm15k rilek jee

• tattoo sleeves shop on Sep 29, 2011 at 9:01 am

wow toyota insight hybrid !! toyota jv with honda haha..

• Expect even slower delivery from DHL if they use Protongkat cars.

Already now DHL-Dua Hari Lambat (two days late courier), after fixing repairing the faulty Protongkat cars two days later (Dua Hari Lagi-DHL) so in total it’s 4 days late late delivery!

• Expect even slower delivery from DHL if they use Protongkat cars!

Already now DHL-Dua Hari Lambat (two days late courier), after fixing repairing the faulty Protongkat cars two days later (Dua Hari Lagi-DHL) so in total it’s 4 days late late delivery!

• KarimSopian on Sep 28, 2011 at 5:53 pm

What exactly are you trying to say Mr. Ajaw.. Peninglah.
      DHL, a company with good reputation, is looking at the possibility to use Exora REEV as their transportation. I think that is a good indicator that Proton is on the right track with their electric car project.

• Expatriate VN on Sep 28, 2011 at 5:15 pm

Where to fit in Range Extender EV component and battery into Exora?

• Rinnegan on Sep 28, 2011 at 8:37 pm

@Expatriate VN : I usually refrain from giving comments but this time, I’ll make an exception. You might want to reread this article, the author even gave links to their report for Exora REEV. Why don’t you check it, instead of showing to the entire readers here on your extraordinary level of ignorance and stupidity. Be fair in giving criticism, don’t just butt in and become another @$$hole!

• MoFaz on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:06 pm

biasalah dia tu, vietnam mari. dahlah bodoh, sombong pulak tu :)

• Expatriate VN on Sep 29, 2011 at 12:21 pm

It is better for you dumbass to refrain from giving trash showing your lowest level of stupidity to the world! Shame on you!!!! You even can’t understand my Question! Are you local low class U graduate non competent in Inggeris?????

My question never make any criticism, but just ask about the location of these components, and I am well understood about their functions/operation as write-up by author! I try to do search for it even in Google/Wikipedia, and so far there are no graphic(s) sketches for these components location. Does the battery is position at below seat (chassis platform,) or ahemm, take up boot space like that crap P1 taxy car, put NGV tank at car boot!

The worst kind is you dumb assh00l, back up by this uneducated MooFart P1 non-redeemable Bodoh sombong attack dog!

• If you said so, then you should be asking “where is the location of …” rather than “where to fit …” which to many readers is like questioning the suitability of Exora.

• MoFaz on Sep 29, 2011 at 6:22 pm

hahaha.. baru usik sikit dah mengamuk. ntah hapa hapa la mamat ni. meluat btol aku dengan perangai macam bagus ni. dia tak tau ke Saga EV dulu tu prototaip je.. memang la segalanya main letak je. tujuan buat prototaip tu hanya untuk menguji segala komponen berfungsi atau tak. lepas tu barulah design dan install dengan lebih terperinci.
          ni aku dah cakap dalam bahasa melayu. kalau dia tak paham jugak memang sah dia orang vietnam yang tak sedar diri menumpang di negara orang.

• akinablue on Sep 29, 2011 at 9:17 am

apa bangang la mamat nih? dia ni tahu membaca ke tidak?

• maybe the proton can invent to produce a mass volume battery production..then the user just change the battery at the EV station..just like our cooking gas..the user only pay for the electricity and minor maintenance of the battery..but the battery is not owned by us..sure can solve the charging time problem..proton should do this b4 other people do..

• mizzuddin on Sep 28, 2011 at 6:15 pm

anybody knows the fate of the Modenas CTRIC?

why don’t they use belting beside the chain?

• brlis23 on Sep 28, 2011 at 8:25 pm

they need to change the display showing the battery indicator because it looks so cheap and ‘made in china’ before going for mass production…. hope this humble suggestion helps proton to be the worth car to buy and the world car!

• Amryl Malek on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:39 pm

Where are we getting the electricity to charge the electric cars? As of now, the current electricity generation comes from coal, gas, hydro and diesel. All of these are non-sustainable. Even the much touted solar cells require a lot of energy to manufacture, while at the same time utilized rare and dangerous materials (such as cadmium, germanium and arsenide).

Another question to ask is how much energy is lost from power generation to the car as compared to fuel combustion? How efficient is the energy being transferred from first point (power generation) to the last point (wheel on road surface)? In all probability, it takes more energy to move an electric car compared to the normal car.

• MoFaz on Sep 28, 2011 at 10:50 pm

all those are already debated in international level. those who could use internet wisely could find the answer you seek. let me make it simple for you;

1. yes we’re still using fossil fuel to generate electricity. but technology is getting better and cheaper. soon we’ll be getting electric at more stable price because the resources are free. solar is ‘super massive’ energy source. in the future, you could even generate and store power at your house, charge your EV car and travel for free!
      2. generating electricity in power plants is far more efficient compared to burning fuel in combustion engines. besides, if you’re using natural ‘earth power’ such as solar, wind and hydro, you’re not burning anything to get the power!
      3. EVs are significantly more efficient in converting their energy into mechanical power or to move the car. your car will move easier with 100hp electric motor compared to 100hp engine.

• alias on Sep 29, 2011 at 6:40 am

Don’t worry, I will invest one. New business ma.

• why is it “battery charge states”…??

• Carl Wong on Sep 29, 2011 at 2:22 am

REEVs are very interesting as well, a 3rd kind of hybrid electric vehicle as compared to Toyota Prius (full hybrid) and Honda Insight (mild hybrid) in a different form. The electric motor is the main power source while the petrol engine/generator supply power for the electric motor and charge the battery? What battery is it using, nickel metal hydride or the latest lithium ion/polymer? And what is the cost, around RM100,000?

• sub_zero on Sep 29, 2011 at 9:51 am

for god sake, what the heck Danny Tan post this entry about? a picture so you can bash?

go READ AND FULLY COMPREHEND WHAT THE AUTHOR IS TRYING TO SAY

3rd world people :x

• Carl Wong on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:39 pm

Hello? Please learn some manners and improve your English before using the internet. Read comments of others 10 times and understand them first before condemning others of bashing. Did you even pass your English? I suggest taking IELTS, it’s a very complete test on not just reading and writing skills but listening and speaking as well.

I said they’re interesting and it’s the third main kind of hybrid technology. I was just asking a few questions about the car. Actually I would even love to have one in the future. How is that bashing?

Mistake on my part I know, I should have read their report for the car first. And I’ll answer my own questions………..
        They’re using lithium polymer batteries and targeting a price of less than RM100,000 which should be quite attractive. 1000km per tank/charge is still great for today’s standards..!!!

• MoFaz on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:03 am

well, maybe u should know also that the tank capacity is only 20litre. based on info i gathered so far, fully charged battery could bring you to 140km, the remaining 860km is on petrol (petrol engine charging the battery) that’s 43km/l.

• Carl Wong on Sep 30, 2011 at 1:43 pm

Better than Chevrolet Volt already with only 40 miles of EV mode, and even in USA it’s very expensive.

• ChunDai on Oct 05, 2011 at 8:23 pm

Ride bicycle… Its environmental friendly… don’t need to charge… no worries about EV rates… just ride… ride.. to your final destination :)

• clemenza on Sep 29, 2011 at 8:24 am

oh god!!!! this is bad news for proton basher!!LOL..pelik betul, masih ade lg yg nk kondem proton,DHL pun nk bincang dgn proton..ni bukti proton kereta yg diakui jenamanya

• Monty on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:08 am

“Mr Ong hopes that the government will play a role in reducing our carbon footprint, suggesting measures such as imposing carbon tax to encourage people to reduce their CO2 emissions”

don’t give the government ideas la Mr Ong! why, because car manufacturers are downsizing their engines with forced induction, so engine displacement based tax not so profitable; then you want to add another tax to vehicles?? carbon tax my a** lah!

anyway, back to topic, proton is heading in the right direction, and if DHL wants to test a fleet of proton’s EVs, then it would surely help proton in their EV R&D, which is a good thing.

now don’t hate something blindly when you haven’t experienced it yourself.

• mizzuddin on Sep 29, 2011 at 1:23 pm

downsizing engine capacity with force inductions are proportional to CO2 emissions too…

good idea emission based tax is

• Qozh Moreno on Sep 29, 2011 at 11:06 am

banyak jgk yg bodoh bg comment yg bodoh without reading the author’s article… meh sini jumpa aku dulu…

• From my several experience with proton, I can say never buy the 1st 1000 of newly launched proton cars.

• ah pie on Oct 02, 2011 at 10:50 am

for once i thougt that REEV dont need ev station. but from the name Range Extender… it is just to extend the battery usage range… not to fully charge the battery and replacing an ev station.

• bhahar84 on Oct 09, 2011 at 2:58 pm

superb, go Proton… ni baru betul2 leh kate Malaysia Boleh!!