Hyundai Santa Fe goes the premium route – both 2.2 diesel and 2.4 petrol variants get the treatment

Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors has announced the introduction of a premium variant of the Inokom-badged Santa Fe, with both 2.2 Diesel and 2.4 Petrol seven-seater models now available in the new spec level option.

Externally, the Santa Fe premium gets a subtly enhanced exterior and interior, with a redesigned front grille, black gloss fog lamp rings and front and back skid plates part of the dress-up package. There’s also a chrome tailgate garnish and newly-designed 18-inch wheels for the variant.

Going the Premium route also bags you Downhill Brake Control (DBC); the system receives information from the wheel speed, steering angle and acceleration sensors, and through its hydro-electronic control unit maintains control and speed of the vehicle on steep declines without having to use the brakes. The DBC function can be activated through a push-button located at the gear area.

No revisions to the output of the engines, which are 174 PS and 228 Nm from the 2.4-litre Theta II petrol block and 197 PS and 442 Nm from the “R” 2.2 CRDi turbodiesel mill; both continue to work with the six-speed auto transmission.

The Premium Specification 2.2 Diesel is priced at RM169,258, while the 2.4 Petrol version goes for RM158,517 (both on-the-road, without insurance). You’ll need to be a bit patient to view one though – the variants will only be seen in Hyundai showrooms next week, starting October 7.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• This car needs the new fluid facelift.

• Jonnie on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:10 pm

Wanted to buy it but turned off by the low roof, especially for the 2nd row. Any owner care to share story bout this ride?

• I own a Santa Fe on Sep 28, 2011 at 5:29 pm

Good car. But be careful of:-
      – unethical sales person and their superior (likes to hijack car for preferred customers)
      – car seat noise that never failed to increase blood pressure on uneven road
      – service centre people who give you 1,001 reasons everything is normal for persistent problems (a frustration tactic that will tire the most owners).
      – 300,000km or 5 years warranty which is not what it is

Hyundai M’sia is not Hyundai Korea. Quality and service improvements reported in many news for the past few years does not mean there is quality and service improvement in M’sia.

• Agreed with you. I bought 1 recently. My windscreen cracked after the first service. Photos were taken to warranty dept. They rejected my claim stating it was caused by stone eventhough when I send the same photos to outside windscreen specialist, they said it was due to poor installation. My friend’s car of Japanese-made car got his replaced under warranty with the same origin of crack.
        All in all, don’t expect too much on the 5 yrs warranty claim which swing me to buy this SUV over other SUVs.
        And.. Yes the car seat noises drive me crazy too.

• Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2012 at 7:31 am

I suppose the next step is to sell this car off before it becomes a nightmare

• BeemerFreak on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:10 pm

Wonder why companies cannot do like what Audi Malaysia is doing now……. As in naming a new variant everytime there is additional spec here and there. Instead why dont they just bring in a well enough specced car and then have an options list to allow certain customisation

• umnoracist on Sep 28, 2011 at 1:45 pm

we want new hyundai avante/elantra….very slow laa SD

• Wow now comes with DBA, Having one of this Sante Fe, the engine is frugal , capable and efficient, quiet . The only drawback is its handling and that it has more body roll than a CR-V. Taking it off road is brisk and easy but not to an extreme level where you have to conquer huge boulders.

• err..... on Sep 28, 2011 at 2:01 pm

redesigned front grille?

• still lookin good~

• Smart

• Vince on Sep 28, 2011 at 2:21 pm

Anthony,
    Impressive diesel engine! I like it!
    Wondering its torquey diesel will suffer from our diesel “quality” like most modern diesel engines had….!

Thanks.

• with I badge the price still exceed Rm 150000???? aren’t it local assembly? can’t it lower than tat?

• carlito on Sep 28, 2011 at 5:18 pm

if mitsubishi can sell the pajero sports for RM160k then why not? the santa fe is a superb SUV. I am driving the 2.7 v6 and I have nothing but good things to say about it.

• err..... on Sep 28, 2011 at 7:40 pm

I can confirm you are those who buy the car for city drive and your offroad experience is those kampung road….
        this car is good but doesn’t perform well for offroad….

• It perform well on off road too but not to an extend of boulders terrains or an over degree slope. Muddy road, shallow river crossing, valley crossing and even hill terrain could be easily overcome. More than that , you’ll need a fully customised pick up tuck

• err..... on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:37 pm

err then must be I’m so useless cannot handle the car well compare to other suv…..

• squawk on Sep 29, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Could it be the tire choice?

• Why would you want to take this car off road? Think about your 18in rims, bodywork etc… Get a real off road car if you want to go off road.

• theanswer on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:44 pm

dude..everyone knows that mostly urban suv not really a true offroader. if u want good offroader..buy LR defender.

• theanswer on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:46 pm

mitsu didnt rebadge the pajero sports. still using mitsu logo.

• Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2012 at 7:32 am

Try selling your car to the used car yard. Bring the paramedics along just in case your heart skips a few beats

• Face looks like eMule. Still a depreciation disaster.

• David D on Sep 28, 2011 at 6:26 pm

Shut up and think. Santa Fe’s usually go for 90k for a 3 year old model, which means a depreciation of 70k. Who says it is that bad? Go buy a house if you’re worried about depreciation.

• Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2012 at 7:34 am

Those that have bought a kimchi will always say that the massive depreciation is acceptable. I was one.

So forgive them for being defensive

• finally 18 inch rims. 17 looks so ugly but could hsdm add 8 speaker instead of 6? 6 speaker ok for small car but big 7 seat suv shuold have at least 8

• theanswer on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:50 pm

lol..eveything u want extra..dont want extra spare tyre? usually they give 1..but dont u want another extra?

• Hyundai on Sep 28, 2011 at 9:46 pm

This 2.2 engine is powerful but the suspension setup are soft, you really can`t find the fun while driving this car. Only passenger like it.

• Jimmy on Sep 28, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Nothing much added, nothing special/exciting. ‘premium’ in what sense?? Pricing perhaps.
    Don’t use the word ‘premium’ lah. Try to elevate the image?

• zhangpeng on Sep 29, 2011 at 12:30 am

I wonder why they never made 6 airbags the standard equipment ???

• pelams on Sep 29, 2011 at 8:02 am

xcuse me..y diesel is more xpensive than petrol? mind to answer? izit becoz of the premium spec?

• Phillip Zak on Sep 29, 2011 at 1:53 pm

more expensive components needed especially when the compression ratio is double that of petrol .. fundamental can’t run.

• Sam Loo on Sep 11, 2012 at 7:37 am

Apart from higher tolerance for engine as mentioned, diesel engines at the moment does not have the volume game petrol engine does

• squawk on Sep 29, 2011 at 12:04 pm

No fluidic sculpture but I think it’s for the better. Don’t think such a large SUV will look great with that design language.

The engine’s been getting a lot of good reviews from foreign press. Have tested the pre-facelift. It has more than enough power. I’m not an audiophile but the audio was loud and clear enough for me when I sat at the back.

• Guys, I booked a 2.2 diesel in July and am still waiting, I called the manager yesterday and asked for a refund as I was fed up with the excuses. Today the SA visited my office with another story, apparently, there has been some upgrade, 18inch wheels, skid plates, new fog lamp etc. the new cars have been repriced ( 4k increase) but for those who ordered earlier, we only have to pay 2k, the rest is subsidized. I have had already made up my mind to cancel and am now confused!! How?

• I own a Santa Fe on Sep 29, 2011 at 2:34 pm

Read my comments above. My SA and his superior (authorised dealer) hijacked my car and gave it to a preferred customer. Maybe it’s happening to you. In return, they gave me a lemon. This is Hyundai M’sia authorised dealer’s service level.

• Sound ok but demand the car be delivered to you within 2 weeks.

• We’re giving 6k offer for new booking. you can cancel your old booking and reorder from us, the delivery will not later than November.

• Santa Fe Fan on Sep 29, 2011 at 11:55 pm

Hey, i am interested in your offer..which sales outlet are u from? contact no?

• I am planning to get one too.

Is it possible to get special offer if we have a group buyer for a santa fe?

If we can get 10 buyers, it’ll be 1.7 million business. we can have more bargain power then. Don’t you think?

Anyone who is interested, pls email me at :

[email protected]

• I guess this facelift is just to buy some time before new 2012 santa fe launched next year..this model is way too outdated to compete with the rest of the packs

• Saab 9-3 - SS on Sep 29, 2011 at 6:20 pm

diesel engine is d next trend in malaysia ……

i hope d bout to launched B5 diesel somehow will helps to “clean” a bit…..

i love d torque in most modern commonrail turbo-charging in Diesel….

am oso a Happy owner of VCDi too….

• korean_professor on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:22 pm

150k buy a korean car, i guess the guy must be insane or just work for Hyundai