Honda Brio debuts in India – set to take fight to Suzuki

Honda has given its Brio hatchback its Indian debut – the car was officially introduced two days ago, and enters the country’s most popular vehicle segment looking to chip away the dominance held by the likes of the Maruti Suzuki Swift and Hyundai’s i10.

Reports state that the 1.2 litre Brio will be priced between US$8,040 (RM25,635) and US$10,381 (RM33,100) in showrooms in New Delhi. Honda Siel Cars said that the competitive price has been achieved through efforts to control costs, maximising production efficiencies and minimising the impact of currency fluctuations, primarily through parts localisation.

The company says it sources 80% of the Brio’s parts locally, with an aim of increasing it to 90%, adding that Brio parts are already being exported from India to Thailand, where the model made its global debut in November last year, and its production debut in March; the company also provides Indian-sourced parts for the City and Jazz models it assembles in Thailand. The Brio is set to be sold in Indonesia next year.

Honda also said that it is mulling the possibility of exporting the Brio to neighboring countries like Bangladesh, Bhutan and Nepal in the near future, though it had no immediate plans to bring out a diesel version of the compact for the Indian market.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• taboogen on Sep 29, 2011 at 1:29 pm

wow so fast already 80% local content… sent this car to china.. they just copy it then rename… tadaaa… they got new car….

• dooby on Sep 29, 2011 at 2:39 pm

RM33K in India.

Hopefully it will be priced around RM43K here.

Thanks to our gommen and tax lah!

• research on Sep 29, 2011 at 2:56 pm

25000????????? what the murahnyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee :))))))))))))))) gonna replace my myvi x best with HONDA POWER!!!

• Carl Wong on Sep 29, 2011 at 6:00 pm

If it ever comes to our country Perodua will be doomed……….

• pengu on Sep 29, 2011 at 6:37 pm

frm the other day news brio spotted in msia..i can see many people dislike diz brio…
      so no chance bring into our market…maybe yes? i dont know…you cannot compare honda brio and myvi…viva,brio,alto baru betul…

• Dookie on Sep 29, 2011 at 7:11 pm

With the same price I would take Myvi rather than this ugly Brio

• Carl Wong on Sep 29, 2011 at 10:57 pm

It should be more powerful, more fuel efficient and most importantly safer too compared to competitors such as Viva, Picanto, i10 etc………..Cars from Honda are one of the safest in the world and the most fuel efficient. (Honda Insight, CRZ, Civic and so on have Euro NCAP ratings of 5 stars)

• my aweks love mayvi on Sep 30, 2011 at 12:28 am

Perodua Viva, Honda Brio, Kia Picanto, Hyundai i10, Suzuki Alto
        hmmm….mana mr toyota?
        i think this honda brio if coming to our shore..the price is rm48k?
        anyway honda always overprice..no manual transmission…no wonder laa mayvi & vios dugong laku..

• Mask Ryder on Sep 29, 2011 at 8:21 pm

Bring in this Brio n it kill the already weak selling i10 instantly.

• Ah Fook on Sep 29, 2011 at 11:00 pm

Any car with the “H” and “T” badge, people will buy lah! no worries!

• if this model bring to Malaysia….i guess honda will tag it between 60k-70k

• zeTgi on Nov 11, 2011 at 9:53 pm

which one better? hyundai i10 or suzuki alto?