Isuzu D-Max – all-new model makes debut in Thailand

Isuzu has unveiled its all-new D-Max pickup in Thailand – the full model change version made its debut yesterday, ahead of the similarly-underpinned Chevrolet Colorado, which is expected to be introduced next week.

Not many details about the vehicle abound, but according to the Bangkok Post, the basic shape for the vehicle – which sits on Isuzu’s new i-Grip platform – in its extra and double-cab versions are pretty much the same, and that the new D-Max rolls in with significantly more heft in terms of overall dimensions compared to the outgoing one, even though no figures were available for it at press time.

The company says that the new D-Max’s body is 42% stiffer than the old one, and will help bring about improved handling and ride. In the double-cab, the larger dimensions of the vehicle bring about more legroom space for rear occupants, who also get more comfy seats at the back.

In terms of engines, three turbodiesel options abound – a 177 hp and 380 Nm 3.0 litre heads the list, followed by a 2.5 litre mill in two output tunes, the first being the familiar 116 hp and 280 Nm as seen on the current vehicle, and the other the VGS version offering 136 hp and 320 Nm. As for transmissions, there’s the usual five-speed manual, but the auto tranny is now a five-speed unit, bringing it in line with current expectation.

Among the features to be found on the new ‘un are traction control and a vehicle stability system, and there’s even an eight-speaker audio system, replete with surround sound. Sales of the vehicle, which will be available in 4×2 and 4×4 configurations, are expected to begin in early October in Thailand.

In related news, Isuzu also announced that it will be constructing a new plant in Thailand to bring up its production capacity to meet the increasing demand for pickup trucks and their derivatives. The new facility – consisting of new painting facilities, 2,000t servo press facilities and assembly/inspection lines – will be built within the Isuzu Motors Thailand Gateway plant.

The new factory, to be built at an estimated cost of 18 billion yen, is slated to begin operation by autumn 2012, and when it is completed, Isuzu Motors Thailand’s pickup truck production capacities in both its Samrong and Gateway plants will be increased to 400,000 units yearly.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• pg qayyum on Sep 30, 2011 at 6:27 pm

seriously. that car is so ugly.

• you’re fugly!!

• Lousy comment..

• I guess you’re no idea whatsoever about Isuzu’s position in Thailand. They’re no TWO after Toyota

• so two is better than one? lol j/k

• Considering most people worship Toyota like sacred no 2 in Asian Detroit I’d not bad. Bear in mind, TomyumLand got better engine than our lousy Toyota 2.5! Reason: many smart buyers already proud with powerful 2.5 Hilux IMV.

I’ll take anything from new Dmax or New Ranger 2.2crdi but not ugly engine Hilux.

• U have a point there… Karl.
            I almost strikeout Isuzu’s brand when they launch tht facelift not long ago. With this New one coming.. it is back in my evoke set.
            my friend from tumyam land.. says it is bigger than the current navara. well slightly i guess.
            malaysian needs to wait another 6 months at least before we can see it on our shore. :(

• Drust on Sep 30, 2011 at 6:57 pm

This is interesting! I would get one when Isuzu launch it in Malaysia. Nice nice!

• kitkat on Sep 30, 2011 at 7:07 pm

wow.. really appealing..

• drMpower on Sep 30, 2011 at 7:16 pm

from the outside, it is more to facelift exercise
    but the real new party piece is from the inside
    cool stuff
    now that they are assembling in thailand,i wishit to be priced nearer to 60k mark there or thereabout

• noname on Sep 30, 2011 at 7:17 pm

nice one.. much better looks tha the “NEW” hilux.. honda city copycat

• Supertram on Sep 30, 2011 at 7:24 pm

Aggressive front end which is nice but what with that oversize front wheel arch?

• F.O.C on Sep 30, 2011 at 7:29 pm

Damn it! And they just launch so called “new” D-Max” in Malaysia, treat us Malaysia buyers as “junk yard” , left overs then sold here, plus with ugly rims.

• drMpower on Sep 30, 2011 at 9:39 pm

what u r smoking, pal?

• lonelyobserve on Sep 30, 2011 at 10:10 pm

All the while Boleh Land is best in clearing people’s rubbish. I heard people complaining D-Max isn’t really low fuel consumption as per advertised, especially when driving in average speed of above 85km/h.

• guess uve never heard of the duramile challenge conducted by isuzu malaysia….all three variant of d-max were driven about 1500 km using roughly 1 tank full of diesel, and all were driven not by isuzu malaysia but by the owner of the respective truck itself…

• lonelyobserve on Oct 02, 2011 at 9:57 am

Then please state the average and top speed the truck during the challenge.

• 1. u should blame it on the G… for making us using a low quality fuel.
            2. u should get yourself a prius or an insight instead…(cannot afford, chotto)
            then, get yourself a viva if you want a vehicle with a good FC but want drive it like a ferrari.

• Mean loooking slipper, even better in black.

• hehehe on Sep 30, 2011 at 7:56 pm

OMG! This is piece of sheatty junk compared to Malaysia ‘new’ Hilux! The almighty 102ps non-VGT engine can smack all you Nabala Tritong DeeMax you know?

SARCASM mode switch ON here :D

• khairil on Oct 01, 2011 at 12:21 pm

from ur comment, i bet u never drove triton before. the acceleration could outpace hilux. frontier also have better acceleration than hilux.

this is based on my experience. for me, the worst 2.5 turbodiesel acceleration is D-max. very good fuel economy if driven 80-90kmh. but sluggish acceleration.

• Hadi75 on Oct 02, 2011 at 12:52 pm

Doesn’t understand what sarcasm means ke???

• the interior is very good looking for pickup truck

• Masked Ryder on Sep 30, 2011 at 8:09 pm

Now i know why Hilux remained Malaysia No. 1 pickup, nothing come close.

• campor on Oct 01, 2011 at 8:08 pm

“Brand power” and mentality thats why. Nothing to shout about.. if you put Tata brand on Hilux, do you think ppl will buy it?

• All Asean nations are treated as 3rd class customer.

• If you look at the area where the cab join the cargo bed it
    is sloping like the triton so the rear seat back will not be
    straight like the current Dmax. My Dmak 200K KM ,5 yrs old
    no problem ,just normal service. RM50 diesel can go
    400km normal driving.

• khairil on Oct 01, 2011 at 12:25 pm

i agree with u bro… my d-max last time, fill RM95 of diesel, from KL to terengganu, go around terengganu, then on the way back to KL, fill up at genting sempah. total, 850km. highway cruising 120-130kmh. damn good fuel economy..

but i didn’t enjoy driving it since it have such slow acceleration.

• Yuzdi on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:49 am

D-Max is fuel economy! It’s proven. Compared to other models. My company has used it since 2007 as replacement model to hilux which i high maintenance. Still in fleet.

• Lewis on Nov 05, 2011 at 8:49 pm

I agree. My dad’s 3.0 litre 3 years 160000km, offroad at palm oil plantation, no problem at all. I agree it is tough even better than others. Duramile challenge kuching 120km only 3.13 litre.

• francis on Sep 30, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Wow… Not bad isuzu… Im aiming for the upcoming Ford Ranger…this might change my mind…

• Head Hunter on Sep 30, 2011 at 11:35 pm

Damn it! I just bought mine last month. Takpalah, trade in saja..

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 01, 2011 at 12:53 am

VERY VERY NICE

• the dash looks luxury comparing to all previous dmax, nice….

• albag on Oct 01, 2011 at 8:11 am

interesting… i guess the number plate wordings play a huge role on pickup truck look… those with long words tend to make the ‘face’ bit long, juz like the Hilux when its launched not long ago, the plate was full of words…

while the isuzu plate is short, it makes the ‘face’ fierce and less smiley… which means it looks more tough..

• clement on Oct 01, 2011 at 8:18 am

angry bird inspired design? lols… looks angry though ! :P

• JSHING on Oct 01, 2011 at 8:24 am

I had been using the Dmax 3.0 for two years now… Its a very good car, working and leisure and very ecomomical… The only drawback I would say is the space ofr the backseat passanger… Its very crampy and the seat is not comfortable for long haul… I wish to see the new Dmax with a better seat and passanger space.

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JXeKSDpFjlg

• messi on Oct 01, 2011 at 9:02 am

The interior must be bigger than the HILUX if want to attract more buyer.

• Ahshuy on Oct 01, 2011 at 9:27 am

Did anyone notice the “iDrive” alike knob? Wow, that’s gonna be cool! Anyway, hope they have improve the riding experience, on paper seems fine, but even driving it on highway can feel the bumpiness and noticable vibration. Rear seats are really pain in the ass, stiff cushion, narrow headroom, straight-up (almost 85degree) back support cushion, “just fit” leg room(which claimed to be improved in this version, let’s see) and the car still hv a strange smell after driving it for almost 2 years. Fuel economic had seriously compromised overall driving experience, wonder where did 280Nm torque gone.

• Good looking design, exterior and interior wise is excelence, isuzu is a good looking truck, but the power wise need to improve if compare to Mitsubishi & Nissan, but better than Hilux a bit, looking forward for new Triton model.

• jay8393 on Oct 01, 2011 at 10:58 am

This is actually very nice! I love the new front, looks better than the Mitsubishi Triton in my opinion.

• Anti Nabala on Oct 01, 2011 at 12:27 pm

I’m thinking to trade in my myvi for a pickup next year, my first choice will be new Ford Ranger 3.2 but some say maybe come at the end of 2012. It has 200hp, and the 2.2 get the 150hp, but don’t know yet. and this Dmax looks quite nice compare to the current one. Actually i quite like the current one, just don’t like the hp, so low, although after modified it can better than Nabala, but don’t like the Nabala gang, so lan qiao…..

• Hadi75 on Oct 02, 2011 at 12:57 pm

What’s wrong with nabala???

• Yuzdi on Oct 03, 2011 at 11:00 am

It’s mother of trucks. I dun wan d mother, I like d daughter………..

• francis on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:42 pm

Anti Nabala..
      I have same thought as you did.. BTW do you mean Nissan Navara?
      But I think the Ford Ranger 2.2 with 150HP is enough for daily usage around Klang Valley. Somemore tax is lower compare to 2.5CC. the only thing Im worry is on the back seats comfort. Tested among the current double-cabs… so far Triton offers the best comforts.. in my opinion

• Expatriate VN on Oct 01, 2011 at 12:29 pm

A lot of improvement!

• Ha Gnih on Oct 01, 2011 at 12:53 pm

looking quite American there. A very positive improvement from the last model. And yeah, the new 5 speeder auto is also a plus selling point. Wonder what’s the price gonna be like? Don’t mind getting one for dad to drive up to farmhouse. Hahahaha

• Marcos on Oct 01, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Just wonder why all pick up now making harder to change a front bull bar……front bumper looks nice,but just ‘looks’ nice,it’s a piece of fiber,0 protection.

• if u wan 1000% frontal collision protection then bulldozer is ur right choice

• Looks aggressive

• Netcat on Oct 02, 2011 at 6:08 pm

Looks and interior is so so only, nothing much to shout.. More like a facelift than a full model change.. It depends on whaz improved under the hood to stop the sliding sales of d-max in malaysia..

• JonVu on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:36 am

Front looks like Decepticon. It’s aggressive! Isuze are one of those brand going to have language design on their vehicles.

• vincent on Oct 03, 2011 at 2:55 pm

Interior is nice for a pick up truck, I just hope that Isuzu had improve their safety. The previous model ranked poorly in EURONCAP.

• hockmeng on Oct 16, 2011 at 9:44 am

My Triton (2500 cc and manual – standard model) can go more or less 1,000 km in full tank (75 liter diesel) for average 95 km/h from Kuching – Sarikei – Kuching included using it for 5 days in Sarikei town (average 40 km/h), reasonable for me if the pickup can go above 1,000 km in full tank with 90 to 100 km/h, because of the road condition in Sarawak.

• Lewis on Nov 05, 2011 at 9:04 pm

Before I bought my Dmax, I had tried other brand. What I found is that, Dmax has toughest chassis frame. Others like triton can faces chassis twist easily. Plus the engine maintenance is lower than others as well. Engine is using latest commonrail as well compare to hilux. That is what I discover on pick ups in malaysia.

• I own a 2009 3.0 Dmax manual. After 2 years, i need to change its Overhaul Fuel kit, it cost me RM600++…is it need to be replace again n again?? IMO Dmax not really that good..acceleration is no so good compare to hilux 2.5….not smooth..

• Hi Paul,

I am planning to buy pickup truck for my personal usage within the city drive. Can you please suggest which one is better, specially on the basis of, comfort drive, fuel consumption.
    Colorado
    Dmax
    Triton

Thanks.

PS: when is new dmax coming to Malaysia?

• go for triton. Its the best package, many after market kits available unlike mumy truck nabala, and the cabin has better quality than nabala where in nabala u got 2 shout to speak with ur passengers in rain.dmax, wait for the new one leh, dont buy the current one. Not sure about colorado. And a simple advise…. If ur thinkin of buyin a truck, better get a manual,dont go for auto coz thats wat ladies like.

• nah, so Toyota need to redesign the Hilux again. with the new Ranger and the next Dmax here, it would be the rival of the nearly old-looked Hilux. hope to see the complete new design of the next Hilux :-)

• dave puerto on Sep 01, 2012 at 5:37 pm

how much into philippine peso if i’m goin to buy the new model of isuzu

• S H Thu on May 16, 2013 at 10:30 am

DMax, still needs it big cousin(GM)to lean on.
    Hilob,only the badge,nothing to shout about.
    Triharder,old man car,in the market too long.
    Nabala,mother trucker only on asphalt.
    Ford,too sissy,only for the ladies.
    CHEVROLET,the Hooligan said bring it on!Anywhere,Anytime.