Proton and Agensi Inovasi Malaysia sign MoU to collaborate on innovation activities in automotive sector

Proton and Agensi Inovasi Malaysia sign MoU to collaborate on innovation activities in automotive sectorProton and Agensi Inovasi Malaysia (AIM) today signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) for cooperation and collaboration related to innovation activities in the automotive sector.

The partnership will see Proton and AIM working together to promote and mutually assist each other in accelerating the development and commercialisation of innovative products and advanced technology in the automotive industry, to benefit both the industry and public at large.

The MoU specifies collaboration between both parties in the following areas: the promotion of innovation, in particular automotive-related advanced technology ideas; the utilisation of facilities to accommodate their personnel throughout the duration of a project; the exchange of information, publication and materials related to their project/s as well as joint-organisation of projects in relation to the promotion and development of innovation.

Under the MoU, Proton and AIM will establish a joint working committee that will be responsible for the implementation of mutually-agreed projects that will be undertaken.

In line with the company’s aspirations of becoming a global car manufacturer, Proton MD Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin said the collaboration would help to enhance and accelerate Proton’s research and development activities, not only for the introduction of new and exciting models, but in pioneering and commercialising advanced automotive technologies which would be beneficial in moving Malaysia’s automotive industry up the value chain.

The collaboration also underlines Proton’s commitment in support of the national agenda in transforming Malaysia into a high income and knowledge-based nation, as outlined in the Government’s Economic Transformation Programme (ETP) to elevate Malaysia to becoming a fully developed nation by 2020.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• PROdigy on Oct 03, 2011 at 6:08 pm

Thanks God….. Proton has finally realise that they have no innovative technology and their products are suck!!!
    Well… it is not too late after all. Hope they can surprise us after sooo many years of being a copy cat.

• inspirasi on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:50 am

why proton wanna be global? they should give us cheap and good car, thats all.

why would you use my tax money to go compete with toyota vw and lost badly?

you should be happy assembling car for mitsubishi.

• there is no such thing good but cheap..give me one good example baii.
        if exist, than pls look in details what make them cheap. you’ll find something u don’t like. nothing imbalance in this world.

• Airbob on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:46 am

baii… i think he meant cheap but worth paying for.. dont be so straight

• it is clear the said Cheap right? worth for money n cheap not the same baii.
            worth for money doesnt mean cheap, it can be expensive too. laborgini yang mahal tu vs ngn kualiti dia..cheap ke worth for money???

upsr lulus tak?

• inspirasi on Oct 04, 2011 at 6:56 pm

yes, its cheap and good.

like vios full spec selling at 50000, that is cheap and good.

• Malaysia's Biggest Rasuah Minister on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:11 pm

seriously? baii?

• inspirasi on Oct 04, 2011 at 7:04 pm

toyota is making cheap cars. yes, cheap carssssssssss.

loser like you all that are driving local car thought toyota is the best car, and you always wanted to buy that car.

look at my nick. guess what car am i driving?

• akinablue on Oct 05, 2011 at 9:26 am

typical japan wanna be fan..:-)
            hardcore toyota like hell..
            what car toyota make cheap?vios?etios?avanza? all those crap cars..
            i’d test drive p1 and vios,avanza..your cheap toyota car more lousy compare to p1. macam sampan i might say.
            so, i think people hate p1 just because their past history and most of the bashers never test drive the new p1 model e.g persona, saga, exora. as for inspira, it is mitsu dna..so i dont really wanna say it is p1. but the improvement p1 made on inspira make inspira way far better compare to normal lancer.
            and p1 need more telent to make them better. i know most of experienced engineer in p1 had left their position in p1 because other company pay better. i read one comment asking to sack DSZ. but hay, u dnt know how hard he trying to bring back p1 on track. actually he doesnt have full power in p1. there are other parties who more powerful and have veto not to implement what DSZ had planned. adios

• how much u pay per year? or you pay nothing after so many rebate?
        if you dnt want them to use ur tax money..dont pay the tax la..

people with mantality like you will never help this country become better place.

asyik nak dok kat takuk lama. langsung x nak berubah dan ambil cabaran untuk maju. KESIAN malaysia ada rakyat macam nih. lansung tak memberi inspirasi! bangang

proton never says they want to compete with those giant..
        pls provide prove or any statement to backup ur statement. dont talk rubbish.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:34 am

“proton never says they want to compete with those giant..”

– So, by your admission, it is fairly to say that “Jaguh Kampong” is the best title for P1!

• izhar on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:01 pm

market proton paling besar kat m’sia…mmg jaguh kampung lah…
            market mercedes paling besar kat negara buatannya..kire jaguh kampung kat negara tuh lah…sama jugak ngan manufacture lain…tuh ke maksud jaguh kampung????

• MoFaz on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:14 pm

VN immigrant,
            they just want to broaden their market size, not trying to compete head to head with japanese or korean yet…
            itupun susah nak paham ke?

• Hoochiez on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:43 pm

Mofart, apa cakap u ? P1 & P2 already dominating the local car sales, so broaden what market share again please ? If you meant globally, i think gotta wait another 30years perhaps ?

Sudah given protection to be jaguh kampong, but still cant provide the quality cars at affordable prices. Despite the protection, langsung tak capai apa-apa economies of scale. Tsk tsk tsk…. tak tau malu, as always.

• MoFaz on Oct 04, 2011 at 4:19 pm

hoochiez,
            i would suggest that you read more and more and more…
            who said proton want to broaden their local market share?? proton is now developing few models for global market, some are much bigger than Malaysia like europe and india. of course that’s means proton is no longer depending on local market alone, but aiming for the global market also.

• Hoochiez on Oct 04, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Hmmm…typical selective reading again by this Mofart. Did i not say “If you meant globally,….” ? To this end, so sure can penetrate the global market just like that ? Another 30years guess-timate ? The rate at which the eurozone crisis is escalating, what Europe market you were saying Mofart ? Looks like you are the one that needs to read more, but then again, i dont blame u laaa…cuz u like to read “selectively”, thus, this imbecilic comments and blind support…u must be crony…

Have done enuff reading to know that P1 is failed to deliver any tangible results for the rakyat to be proud of, no thanks to the incumbent ppl at the helm.

Amazes me how P1 cybertroopers are so “passionate” about substandard quality car and ridiculous prices – a “rakyat car” to con the normal hardworking rakyat more like it.

Apalah… 1971 launched NEP, 40years on, still need NEP….why ? Cronyism laa…what else ?

• MoFaz on Oct 04, 2011 at 6:48 pm

ayoo bodohnya.. that’s what you get when didn’t read.
            Lotus is under Proton, and fyi, Lotus is now developing EV car for city folks, for european market. Proton will have their own version running on small petrol engine for Malaysia and India market. then, there is Persona Replacement which due to be introduced in march next year, also aiming for global market such as europe and australia. Exora REEV, Saga EV also planned for next year.
            so, we should stop developing just because eurozone is in crisis? then, when they recover, what do you have to offer them if you stop now?? just because some people believe the end of day is next year, we should stop working now?? how stupid is that? opsss, i don’t have to ask, bashers are all stupid.
            typical bashers are similar.. u’ll just make me laugh with your level of knowledge and mentality.. ho ho ho ho hoochiesssss!

• Hoochiez on Oct 04, 2011 at 8:08 pm

Haha…no point arguing now la wif P1 cyber-mats. Rempits will always be rempits.

Mofart – simple only…my outlook says P1 will never be able to compete globally if they continue to be protected and with a blind eye to all the corruption and crony vendors….

You say with Lotus bla bla bla, AIM bla bla bla…they can grow their global market share rite ? Ok, care to say when you think/foresee the day it will happen (i.e. 5yrs, 10yrs, 15yrs, 20yrs) and by what % ?

Oh, btw, i discount for you la the past 27yrs of cronysim….dont need to take into consideration.

• MoFaz on Oct 05, 2011 at 10:23 am

wah.. now you think you’re a bomoh? can see the future? do you have the same premonitions about Hyundai or Kia in the past 20 years?
            I don’t have to be a bomoh to tell you that you’ll never progress. keep up the good work keeping your brain from working hard. I’ve heard a quote that Malaysian brains are expensive because majority of them are under-utilized, many brain cells are not used. You can sell your brain for a high price, because you don’t need it.
            Protection, cronyism, and scandals are happening all around the world, not just in Malaysia. You can read the world news, instead of just empty talks in warong kopi. Even the biggest companies, Samsung and Hyundai in Korea are not free from this problem. In Thai, the prev PM, Thaksin are also reported to favour his cronies.
            I’m not defending such behaviours but do you think that the only solution is to close Proton? if your son stealing RM50 from your wallet, do you kill him? why not? by killing him, that would solve all problems and will prevent any future problem too… so, what is the solution? teach him that it’s wrong to steal, punish him accordingly and warn him. That’s the same thing you should do to Proton. punish all the corrupts as a warning to the others. you should make police report if you have the proofs.

• Hoochiez on Oct 06, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Mofart – based on what you have written, likely you dont even have brain to jual.

You claimed to be well read all the time, yet, you are incapable of stating your position in terms of P1’s potential outlook. Sama je la dengan all crony running the gomen, say plans to remove AP/NEP by when when la… then always keep pushing back further….that’s why kenot give reasonable outlook for P1, betul Mofart ? Because outlook is so uncertain ?

How this bomoh crap came about, shows the extreme level of your “rempit-ness”. Your speak, uncannily reminds me of another “rempit-politician” who called for “pendatang to balik”…suspect related.

My outlook is simple….globally ppl bracing for recession, u think P1 gonna be able to suddenly gain global market share within the near/distant future ? Not to mention the “cancerous cells” that has yet to be weeded out from within P1 ?

Fart somemore la pls…. suspect crony…

• hu…don’t know how to to make your brain working properly huh?u malaysian or not ya? so pity…too low class mentality. if u r really immigrant..pls go back to yr country. ur brain not needed here.

ko tak bleh pikir realistik ke? mana mungkin proton nak head2head compete dengan company2 bsr mcm tu skrng ni. apa yg proton mahu buat adalah untuk tinggikan hasil jualan..untuk dpt untung lebih..bila dpt untung lebih..boleh la diarang salurkan peratusan yg lebh besar drp untung tu untuk rnd dan buat kereta yang macam korang nak. bila dia nak go global korang kutuk..bila dirang x masuk parasan luar korang pon kutuk..jaguh kampung lah..itu lah..ini lah..

ko ni upsr dpt brpa A? ke jenis budak2 langau yg cikgu tak bagi amik UPSR?

• Hoochiez on Oct 04, 2011 at 5:57 pm

WTH – judging from the way you write, you have the cheek to question my academic background ? You are hillarious…typical mat rempit talk. Go rempit la…

• inspirasi on Oct 04, 2011 at 8:05 pm

WTH,

i know you never paid any tax.

and we all know who is paying 90% of the income tax.

i’m paying 25% of my salary to the income tax. you are welcome.

• rear light on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:31 am

like u don’t want to upgrade yourself…this year amik UPSR and next year UPSR again n after next year UPSR again…screw u…

• PROdigy on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:48 am

How good could it be for a car manufacturer that assembling cars for some body else but selling locally only? You all should know which car am talking about.
        The market is indirectly forcing us to buy Proton….
        Think again, how much is our population in Malaysia? Are they expecting all Malaysian to drive Proton?
        Our country economy will not grow if local made products do not go globally. Otherwise, it just making profit from our pocket, and then the money is just rolling within the country. So…. how will the country be rich?
        Furthermore, if Proton keep assembling cars for some body else, they have no back bones!! Always have to depends on some one….
        At the beginning, Proton was using Mitsubishi as the base to develop, that we all understand, but after sooooo many years of development, it still depends on Mit. So, where are the developments?
        Other car brands are selling hot cakes globally. As for Proton, any other countries that Proton can sell better than Malaysia?
        Besides that, look at our menteri-menteri…. they’re still using those classic Perdana Limo…. and thier bodyguards and escort are driving the latest Volvo… more luxury, comfort and safer cars. Is this rite? That I leave it to all of you to think about……

• Hameed Koyakuti on Oct 04, 2011 at 7:58 am

If we traced back news on P1 2 or 3 years ago, you will discover they are just a bunch of bullshits announcing something without even want to commit to it…….

Sack Syed!!!

• http://agensi.innovation.my/

Save your time from searching it in Google.

• Aver_Eng on Oct 03, 2011 at 6:26 pm

Any one knows who is “Agensi Inovasi Malaysia (AIM) ” ? How would AIM helps Proton?

• nationalist on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:06 pm

Just my two sen. Innovation and creativity are vague, meaningless, marketing buzzwords. How do you define and measure innovation and creativity? Because it is not easily measured, it is sometimes used by the cunning to pull the wool over the eyes of those who might not be aware of it.

For example, there is a famous ‘Tan Sri’ who constantly places full page advertisements in newspapers touting how ‘innovative’ and ‘creative’ he or his organization is, but what did he actually innovate? This person had links with Proton in the old days, but thankfully Proton has moved forward since then.

From what I can see, AIM, thus far has just been promoting inventions by local universities. These inventions or developments have impressive sounding technical names but their value is hard for the layman to discern because we don’t understand what it is.

But it’s all good, it’s a good start. This is not innovation per se, it’s commercialisation. AIM might have an innovative function but I haven’t seen it yet as an average Joe. Or you might say it supports innovation by commercializing it.

Thus, what AIM may be trying to do is to apply local inventions, intellectual property to Proton engineering, manufacturing and products. There’s a lot more to be said about this but hope it goes well – any improvement big or small is an improvement.

• cornered on Oct 03, 2011 at 7:27 pm

it is as usual bumiputra agenda see here http://agensi.innovation.my/programmes/eco-system/bumi-initiatives/

• “AIM will work to ensure that the Bumiputera are given opportunities to acquire the skills and resources they will need to succeed in the global marketplace. Emphasis will be placed on making sure that the Bumiputera and Bumiputera firms are able to compete with companies from around the world.”

I felt insulted!! Why can’t all race compete on equal ground

• autojohndoe on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:12 pm

since it is MARA sub orga…

why did you feel insulted?

maybe, other race Trade Chamber can do the same with Proton.

• MoFaz on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:38 pm

Proton is one of the companies which invested and spent huge amount of money in R&D. R&D and innovation in technologies is what we need to achieve high income and modern status by 2020. Do you think Japan and Korea achieved their modern status thru agriculture??
        AIM main agenda is to generate innovative culture in Malaysia. That’s how Japan became a modern country very quickly, even quicker than the western countries. Japanese are not the one who invented televisions, air conditioners, cars and many other things. But by being innovative, they created better televisions, air conditioners and cars than their western counterparts. Now we see Korea emerging as a new super power thru innovations too.
        Next, a smaller program together with MARA, is to help bumiputra innovators to get the help they needed. AIM does not necessarily work on automotive tech only, they can explore innovations in many other sectors too like electric & electronics as I mentioned above. I don’t see any direct link that suggest Proton will only collaborate with the bumiputras. I wonder why you guys failed to see the bigger picture (generate innovations), but commenting so much on the smaller issue (bumi initiatives)?

• Yes, why only Bumiputra? Can’t they do it for all Malaysian? Who is the person that fails to see the bigger picture?

I ask becoz I am jealous of so call “fair” treatment in all kind of sectors. Bummer for me…

It’s still and always been an issue (albeit they trying to hide or excuse it). But I find it not a good topic to discuss it here so lets stop it already.

• MoFaz on Oct 04, 2011 at 4:33 pm

what i meant was, ANYBODY can get AIM help to commercialise their ideas. only on smaller dept, with MARA, they have bumi initiative.
            MARA has been around for decades! previously MARA involved more in vocational trainings, and small business for bumiputra in rural areas. only now they’re trying to nurture the innovative culture in bumiputras, get them to create or invent something, and help them.

• MoFaz on Oct 04, 2011 at 4:42 pm

please don’t simple accept whatever written here. do you own study first.
            AIM do for all malaysian la, bongok. the “bumi initiative” wasn’t even mentioned in the article above. it was brought up by some stupid basher who doesn’t know how to related 1 issue to another.

• bebek on Oct 04, 2011 at 8:41 am

so what?

• sound good..
      but doesnt mean non bumi cannot join..
      some people always see the negative side..
      pitty..narrow minded..only think their own perut..

• ohyeayea on Oct 03, 2011 at 8:19 pm

means more Rakyat money would be pump in for Proton. well done!

• RedBeanBun on Oct 03, 2011 at 9:33 pm

What….is….this…..about?

sounds like another cron project for Protong to throw money into some cronies…

Cam we check how much we spent in Savvy platform and now become….junk?

If they seriously doing it right, they would have do it right looooong ago.

• MoFaz on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:20 pm

saga is using savvy platform

• bobdbilder on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:49 am

If you do everything right, you learn nothing.

• rear light on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:38 am

savvy is not a piece of junk..it is quite good car n have all required features to be the best car in Malaysia (small, powerful engine, strong body,stability)..but somehow it didn’t work, maybe because of the maintenance cost..by the way, it shows P1 do their job and the R&D is working…

• PakAbu on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:46 am

It didn’t work because:

1) The design is an acquired taste.
        2) AMT

• RedBeanBun on Oct 04, 2011 at 9:38 pm

this is typical politician speech.

we do everything right, but the market is not right. So its the market problem, not the product problem. Face the reality. We keep doing things with no result, and yet we can to keep telling the whole world we are keep doing it just the world is not right about ourselves. It is time to see its ownself problem or the worlds problem.

Just like those under achievers claimed they do not have the “luck” to perform. There is no “luck” in this world.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:32 pm

Who is AIM? What expertise they have? What kind of R & D center they have? How many PhD, scientist, engineers at their disposal?

MoU Mou here, Moo Moo there, at the end create positions for the sake of create more jobs, but without any significant breakthrough in innovation!

• Innovation of getting more money thru, squeezing the cow dry!

• sam witwicky on Oct 04, 2011 at 2:55 pm

“MoU Mou here, moo moo there”
      hahahahhaha….i thumb up for that…cheers…

• MoFaz on Oct 04, 2011 at 4:50 pm

Saga EV was produced from collaboration between Proton and local companies, they also have another version of Saga EV by UTM students. wait until they finish testing it and you’ll get the result. Do you think you can sign MoU today and get the products tomorrow? such a shallow mind.
      u drank too much susu lembu, that’s why u like to moo moo here and there.

• research on Oct 03, 2011 at 10:38 pm

good move proton. although i’m not ur fan now. maybe in the near future.

• alfie60 on Oct 03, 2011 at 11:14 pm

Proton dont need collaboration to learn to make shitty cars and shame the blame. Dont spread the blame around. ;-)

• Loneranger on Oct 03, 2011 at 11:27 pm

it is a good move as proton is hearing whatever all the bashers has suggested to them though not through proper channel.

i do have question for all bashers, why do you hate Proton so much? Always compare with brands that have been in the industry for more than 50 years…

when Proton don;t do this and that….surely all of you bash Proton, but now Proton in putting lots of effort to ensure whatever Malaysian need is fulfilled but you can’t expect changes to happen within split second…what if you are a chronic smoker and someone ask you to quit smoking immediately, will you be able to do it?

lastly juz a word of wisdom from me….if you want things around you to change, you have to change first then only things will change…you don’t buy Proton but you juz bash like you are the automotive industry guru…..support Proton to change then only Proton will achieve its aim to be global player….

juz my 0.5 cents ……..

• inspirasi on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:49 am

look what ppl proton are hiring? what color are they hiring? then you know why we hate them.

• kozekx on Oct 04, 2011 at 8:18 am

oh yeah? then you should hate quite a number of companies that only take in people of certain color only. Of course they take the minimum number of people from other colors, but then that is a must.

• and what color would that be?

• MoFaz on Oct 04, 2011 at 8:51 am

proton is just like a gov sector. salary within proton is not that high, basic pay just around RM1-2k. that’s why other race become less interested to work in proton. similar issue in police & military

• I know of a particular that WAS very interested with P1. He applied and P1 burst his bubble with a dark color needle. But that was around year 2000+. I hope P1 have changed.

• Just look at Tan Chong Motors BOD lineup and did it ever occur to you why we accept and never hate it. Have you check Kah Motor etc?. Why can you accept even car from the furthest end of the world, if the color of the worker is your criteria for choosing car?

You just open up the very reason why you hate Proton. It is after all not about quality, it is not about design, it is not about the power windows of the yesteryears problem. It is about you and your racist minded.

And I hope it is only you.

• TANTINTUN on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:52 am

WELL said Duan. Welcome to paultan, a place where we supposedly talk about motoring, but instead you can find a bunch of stupid racist like “inspirasi”. They turned every single thingy into politics. Very tired!!

• VoidDance on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:04 am

There you go. You’ve solve the problem of why people hates Proton. It is all about race, nothing more.

Pathetic. I think you should go visit Proton and see how many colours are there among their workforce.

• agree with u bro..
          why not go and pay a visit to proton..then go and pay a visit to intel penang..then go visit produa..then go visit naza..
          see what colour they have inside!

• Loneranger on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:09 pm

if you want to talk bout colours, why don’t you look at a country which the majority is the colour where they are minority here…

are they producing GOOD or THE BEST products? yet what they do is to imitate what ever is in the market but with lower cost and for sure lower quality. it is not my words but proven all over the world their products have tonnes of quality issues.

again if you talk about colours, look at the other country where here in Malaysia they are the true minorities but look at their IT facilities and specialist. proven to be among the best in the world…

never ever talk about colours here coz we are living in a country the consist of many colours yet we are still developing fast. just a word of wisdom, without mixtures of colours you will never get 2 basic colours….its all about understanding each other and respect each others capability…..

juz my 0.75 cents

• RedBeanBun on Oct 04, 2011 at 9:55 pm

what “we”? its only “you” in this sentence.
        You represent no one but your self.
        I am a protong basher, and I am even a racist basher!!! You are the worst nightmare to this land.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:17 am

Loneranger – “lastly juz a word of wisdom from me….if you want things around you to change, you have to change first then only things will change…”

This is typical uneducated/uninformed bullshit brainless blind supporter thrash, somemore claim a word of wisdom, ptuiiiii. Blind supporter like you should change the word “you” to”P1″ in your statement and reword it as follows:

………… if P1 still do not execute change, then the subsequent change is P1 will be executed in the market …… and turn into oblivion.

How come despite consumers have to pay hefty price for over-inflated cars for all makes, you still ask them to change! If P1 can’t embrace change and still depend on NAP, just like current gov. Then come next GE 13 we change the gov, and get abolish repressive NAP, install open automotive policy friendly to consumers with good quality car at market price.

Why need to sign MoU with AIM, who they are and what happen to just recently signed MoU with Mitsubishi for “strategic collaboration” to assemble Mits car and as “OEM” to built engine?

• Loneranger on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:00 pm

Dear Expat,

How would Proton to be better if we as Malaysian didn;t even want to support each and every steps they take to change? Instead being bashed here and there….

People always say Proton is being pampered by protecting the market. Let me ask you, IF you are a father is your responsibility juz to make babies? would you feed your baby, give them the best facilities ie: food, clothes, education but somehow your children still not become what you what him/her to be? If that happens will you kick your children ass out of your home and take good children from your neighbor?

That is what govt is doing with Proton. As a FATHER, govt always doing things to improve Proton though it is not as good as the govt has planned. It is a RESPONSIBILITY for govt to upgrade and improve Proton’s quality.

Why is it always facts about high price and high tax again and again here? In fact if this you always called stupid govt, why did you work here or stay here in the 1st place? as an expat, you have tonnes of choices to go to instead working here and staying here in this stupid govt country. aren’t this stupid govt give you permission to work and live here?

Proton is changing dude…they are doing their level best to change but it will not take 1 hour to do that esp with closed minded people like you.

Let me answer you question pertaining to what is the relation between Proton, Mitsu and AIM. Proton and Mitsu is joining up to build engines by sharing knowledge they have and AIM is providing is providing consultation on how to innovate the prototype Proton/Mitsu has develop. Nothing can stand alone in this world dude. to be global player like Merc, BMW etc…Proton have to collaborate with many counterparts to ensure everything will work as planned. BMW and Merc also collaborate with their country govt agencies to build better car, better engine, better everything. when they got the expertise and knowledge, only then they have their own sub or team or division to do that for them but still they refer to govt departments and govt agencies to get feedback from the experts. Of course they will not disclose all this to the public. and yet how did BMW and MErc take to be in position as they in now? compare to Proton….

juz my 0.25 cents

• RedBeanBun on Oct 04, 2011 at 9:49 pm

that shows your quarter is totally no self independence.

1) Did you still feed your son when he is 25 years old? and how will you felt if you still need to carry your son to cross the road when he is 25 years old?

2) or did you ask your son to support you when he is 25 years old? Did P1 create any income back to the G yet?

• Loneranger on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:38 am

let me answer ur question dude :

1) at the age of 25 now, most malaysian nowadays still doing their study at Degree or Master level…besides all the PTPTN thingy, where would they get their money from? it is falling from the sky?

2) why did u say Proton didn;t contribute to the govt yet. in economics terms, return not only in the terms of direct profit but how 1 organization has contribute job opportunities where the money they got as salary will be used back to buy things that will contribute to gross domestic income, isn’t that what Proton has give back to govt?

• mizzuddin on Oct 04, 2011 at 3:17 pm

wonder what ur profession actually are…

success people don’t have much time to bring up silly things

u don’t come up with constructive ideas too accept narrow minded talks

• propaganda on Oct 04, 2011 at 6:44 pm

Because Proton should not been born at first place

We are not an advance country or a rich country, we shall attract more investor to invest in our country rather than spend all our country revenue to ‘make’ a non-profit GLC company.

Now all car manufacture already switch to our neighbour country, thanks to government protection for Proton.

• drMpower on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:23 am

lets start with something that the public may join
    for example concept design or something
    no doubt people all around with even the slightest idea of future proton
    will be able to offer their opinions

not that i am degrading what the designers at proton are doing
    but by including the public in directing the company will be a two or three prong attack
    while maintaining its popularity (or whatever it is there left), it also present a PR exercise
    as well as gathering a bigger pool of ideas in determining which way proton will be taking
    which also bears well with the people who actually buying the product – public

the management will just have to include the elements that they want in the designs
    and maybe reward the winner with 1/1000 of what kia pay schreyder
    the design could GEM. dont belittle malaysian talents. thats very low. please.

and the other thing i found out that proton is very severely lacking in EV technologies
    or hybrids or whatever they are calling it now. but before proton launch expensive cases, i shall inform that the knowledge are from sources with low degree of reliability
    apart from UTM guys, i cant remember any other universities are involved in developing electric parts for the EVs
    of course i know it is award based and several other important key elements are there but why not open up to others ideas?
    how hard in developing a unique, proton owned and patented EV with 4 machines at each tyres so that it becomes 4WD? i know that thing already exist but with involvement of all parties in this field, i am pretty sure sooner or later we will have our own system
    how about giving grants to develop embedded solar cells onto the bodies of the cars?
    power electronic controllers monitoring electric waste in an EV?
    very low loss brush-less DC motors?
    unique regenerative system that not only gather energy from braking but also harvest energy through friction contacts between the body and the passing air?

are u listening proton?

the very least now proton can do, although the gas is heavily subsidized, to roll out models with factory fitted NGV tanks.
    the importance of having this as factory fitted is the vehicles are to be bound with warranties and to ensure this, proton again has to do research
    people will be tempted to buy cars with NGV tanks WITH WARRANTY (competitive), and better this the tank is really best designed to suit the vehicles

• Or they could hire Theophilus Chin for exterior design.. which, they won’t coz of pride of xxxx..

• drMpower on Oct 04, 2011 at 3:14 pm

with respect to theo
        i think hes not an innovator
        i mean he doesnt really design
        but his job, although centered on effort about copy and paste is absolutely fantastic

what i was referring is more to the raw idea
        something close to the design language

that design must be the basic direction in term of styling of the next proton cars!

• Yuzdi on Oct 04, 2011 at 9:23 am

NGV tanks? Are there any NGV stations outside Klang Valley?

• mizzuddin on Oct 04, 2011 at 9:42 am

why don’t u make those things? i wonder…

• drMpower on Oct 04, 2011 at 3:18 pm

i am trying to voice out my idea on how this innovative activities can bridge proton and the public
        theres no point about asking what i should do or whether i am the one who should be doing all the things i mentioned

currently, for conventional engine, combustion engines, proton clearly is left behind not only by those big names in germany and italy, but also by asian counterparts
        theres nothing we can do about it

but EV presents a whole new platform
        nobody really understands it before and proton is right there competing with the other german/ italian/ european/ asian big brands
        this is an opportunity NOT TO BE MISSED!

• PakAbu on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:21 am

The NGV tank is very doable. VW is doing it with one of their Up!s … I think .. where the tank is “hidden” under the seat — saving boot space. Maybe a bit tricky to do this with existing models, but the EMAS concept has similar raised floor as VW’s Up!.

If Proton make EMAS reconfigurable (just like what VW is doing with Up!), where there’s an electric version, NGV/CNG version, small petrol engine version, small diesel engine version, sporty version, elongated/wagon version etc etc… they should be able to cover many bases. I looks to me that the direction Proton is taking too. But being a GLC, last minute decisions by those higher up have always spoiled whatever was planned.

• drMpower on Oct 04, 2011 at 3:34 pm

right pak abu
        if got NGV tank installed by proton
        then its covered by warranty
        which will please many

but of course it must not be just small time welding job

they need to get the design right.
        homework
        homework
        homework!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:24 am

You dream on! This is weak bureaucrat projects exclusive for vendor cronies and AP Kings. They are not real biz enterprise that can respond to market change. Either they increase selling price, or ask sugar dady (gov) to give tax rebate or other incentive like R & D grant to make sure they make monies. P1 should cut cost, reduce perks for top executives, increase efficiency, increase R & D, produce new model (not facelift) if existing already outdated, improve quality, etc. in order to survive and relevant in the market.

• MoFaz on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:11 pm

VN immigrant,
        when toyota or honda do facelifts to city, vios, avanza and all other models, you praise them like they’re perfectly created by ‘gods’.
        when proton do facelift, you bash. why the double standard?
        come on, Karamjit Singh in his CAMPRO Satria Neo already beat plenty of Subaru WRX, and Mitsu Evo in rally. bring your beloved City or Vios and challenge him if you dare…

• Erm.. MoreFast, I don’t think VN praise them recently when they merely did a ‘facelift’.

Not sure but we can always check it out. (I am lazy now)

I think VN is just fed up with all these wrong doings.. Maybe he have gave up on the world once he thought that can be changed. I am in the middle of it, and you are on the bright side of it. :)

Cheers!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:54 pm

The problems is you have them vs us attitude, where and when I praise T & H including Nissan all the time, just to recoup the past comments on their facelifts: Dugong facelift, City boring facelift, Nissan Serena C24 already behind 2 generation (Japs already C26), crap old Sentra junk, facelift Tiida yet China already got new model, etc.

If anything I respect any facelift for any makes, including P1/P2, it is a normal mid-life facelift (normally one or at most 2 time). But not facelift here and there like P1 alphabets crunching CVT, FL, CPS, VIM, IAFM, etc, despite the model is already outdated (either the car or the engine itself). It is same to T’s Hilux engine, at around 102 HP for 2.5L diesel is craps! Shame on all these craps facelifts, not forgoten craps by P2 for “product differentiation” @ limited editions, special editions, extreme editions, Sport Editions etc, despite basically based on one MyVi model only, limited in name but there is no limit on the nos of car they sell.

• tec96248 on Oct 04, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Almost all cars manufacturers around the world have their models having midlife change or facelift at least once and having few variants. so what’s the problem? almost everyone of us in this world have to leave with it. if can’t accept it, then you shouldn’t talk about car anymore or may be shouldn’t be in this world. Because the car always and still need a round steering to control.
            …….haha………..amateur = u.

• drMpower on Oct 04, 2011 at 3:31 pm

i think the approach of the p1 with the mild/ simplest facelift exercises is adjusted to our people preference
            our people react very well to those facelifts and i dont see that as a problem at all. it may be a problem with u but the people like it and they are buying it
            so no problem.

as for other makes, it is impossible to compare here and other parts of the world
            and the facelift models are brought here after thorough sales survey or whatever. they need to do some homework as well whether the model can be sold here or not.

they cant keep up with the latest models, i think it has nothing to do with our people or the government
            its their marketing strategy and everything
            of course we the people would like options and also we dont want to be getting crap models if the people outside are having good ones

whatever work outside doesnt necessarily work here for a very good wide range of reasons!

• barang saya besar on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:37 am

The collaboration also underlines Proton’s commitment in support of the national agenda in transforming Malaysia into a high income and knowledge-based nation, as outlined in the Government’s Economic Transformation Programme (ETP) to elevate Malaysia to becoming a fully developed nation by 2020.

==============================================================
    LOL exactly how will this contribute to a higher income nation?
    Wishful thinking.How to achieve anything in 9 years when after
    25 years Proton still needs govt protection.?
    Only way is to JV with an established player and move forward.
    Sack DSZ and his Real Madrid team cos Lotus is milking P1’s coffer dry.
    At the current economic condition, demand for upmarket cars
    will drop and Lotus will have a hard time sustaining in this niche market.
    Its not that Lotus cannot turnaround but it’s just that the timing is off !!

• just close shop ,don’t waste the money , shit car and shit company

• akinablue on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:44 pm

if the company is yours..go a head..otherwise shut ur mouth up.

• elite on Oct 04, 2011 at 7:53 am

looks like proton is signing up for more govt grants

• KageSenshi on Oct 04, 2011 at 8:19 am

haha . seems like the bashers flocks here after they could not bash the previous 2 APRC posts ..

• Lots of talk. Lots of potential goobledygock. Doubtful any good will come out of it

Potential $$$ down the drain, maybe.

Potential to GET somewhere, maybe.

One can only hope… but one cannot be blame for being extremely skeptical…

• xxWWWxxx on Oct 04, 2011 at 9:53 am

After having been taken for a costly ride back in the late 80’s and early 90’s with substandard proton cars, with a list of problems spanning few paragraphs, i have given up all hopes from proton. there is just too much inferior highly over priced replacements from them. no more being a sucker here…. the ride oledi cost me thousands in repair, and does not justify so called malaysia own brand. also, despite with all the gomen protection, majority of the ppl hv to buy the low quality substandard local cars, and foreign makes even costing 30K british pound is taxed highly ridiculously insane to cost more than RM350k…. totally no justification. simple calculation brings in only abt RM150k why tax so f%^& ridiculous to RM350k? So, whatever u wan to sign MOU or MOO, doesnt matter to me, cost u hv sucked me before, dun expect me to be sucked in again for another time…HAH!

• rear light on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:58 am

1) i hope proton can sell their car cheaper, while keep on designing handsome looking cars..well, i know the price right now is quite acceptable (with saga blm, persona), but if there is a chance to reduce the price, i hope they do it..

2) pls put cvt trans into saga 1.6, and if u can, pls change the dashboard design..

3) hope proton can use other car’s interior as a base design (i.e fiesta’s dashboard) for now and redesign it..by this way, u can save cost and time to find a nice design, n u can always have up-to-date design..for the exterior, i have no complaint, as now i think proton already has the capability…

• U have a very constructive suggestion.. (I admit most time I am destructive or pessimist). AIM should take in ur innovation/ideas and make it happen. Then god speed to P1..

Are you reading AIM!!!?

• abangsahar on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:27 pm

proton should include mass malaysian public in this “innovating” thing, as the end product will be for them to buy. set up a promo/PR/ads whatever to get the ideas and start doing research to fit it into future proton cars..listen to your future customer (like the one when u put teh tarik hanger in Exora coz Malaysian DO need it).

• autojohndoe on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:35 pm

bla… bla…. bla….

coming here and talks like perfect achiever… where in reality, all are talks…

• i agree with expat vn…

• inspirasi on Oct 04, 2011 at 6:59 pm

because you are mute and so you appointed him to speak on your behalf?

• yes..whats wrong with that mr.inspirasi? r u mad? chill la bro…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 04, 2011 at 3:27 pm

Inspirasi racist to the core ……… Your head should be put on the fish monger’s chopping table, being chop, severe from shoulder, and let it roll into the drain…………………..

Put it into the rights perspective, P1 should get rid of all vendor cronies and TDM, they are weak but opportunist bureaucrats to the core, not real free enterprise, If P1 ever want to improve substantially. No amount of MoU-MoU here, Moo-Moo there can help them if these useless bunch of vendors cronies treat P1 as their gravy train, providing unending supply of vitamin $$$$$$$ to enrich themselves.

If NAP want to protect P1 like Japan or Korean, then do it like their way; that is without cronies and AP Kings! This of course will be a “sensitive” issue that the dead-brain uneducated blind supporters like MoFaz try to avoid at all cost. Being attack dog, he should be get “internal memo” from top to do his attack on anything and everything consider as bashers. If ask him to make any criticism on cronies and AP Kings, he might get his head roll, also into the drain! Cari makan apa boleh buat …….

• drMpower on Oct 04, 2011 at 3:48 pm

obviously TDM has angered u in some way
      that old man has nothing to do
      and ah i am not under anybodys payroll
      just want to clarify that before u slag me off full banana just like u did with mofaz

mofaz has got a point u know
      been following him quite sometiime here in paultan

the vendors are there for the business opportunities given by the government to ALL malaysians!
      it was suppose to be great decision benefits all. proton and socio economics but in the end, it wasnt what we want
      makan atas angin or whatever that has nothing to do with the government or anybody was or still in it
      they were given time space and opportunities, time and time again and they screwed up so nobody should be blamed except themselves!
      and now pak syed decided its enough and head started to roll few years back
      thats why they were having consolidation of vendors etc etc. the point of such exercise was to get rid of bad vendors
      so now the numbers are less and the quality improves

u have got to agree on this

as for cronies and APs, again those are opportunites afforded to ALL malaysians to do business in car sales
      of course they got bumi slots and all but as far as the ground sales are concern i see the non bumi companies MORE than the bumi
      of course this again makan atas angin thing but come on, screw all those who sell
      NAP already taken memo on this AP thing and will start to be abolished in due time. so no point criticizing for no reasons

actions are/ were taken to rectify these. so i think theres no valid point to argue on anymore.

• Hoochiez on Oct 04, 2011 at 6:03 pm

NEP – NAP – AP will be abolished in due time ? Hmmm…not with BN in power, ever. Period.

• drMpower on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:21 pm

come on my friend
          thats more to your political alliance rather than motoring news

i am waiting for the supposely gigantic announcement by azmin ali
          about how their plan on motoring issues
          the news was quite big about how he wanted to announce ‘alternative measures’ by the end of last month
          but it never come

shrink-ed balls?

• Hoochiez on Oct 05, 2011 at 7:41 pm

It’s no rocket science to realise the dire state of our country, being ruled by practices of racism, persecution, selective prosecution, abuse of power, corruption etc.

This has inturn plague the industrial policies meant for the betterment of our automotive sector. P1 has failed to deliver – period. If you cant even win over the hearts of your own local born bred customers, dare you even talk about global expansion ? Dont make sense.

I suppose what we seek is “change/reforms”, NOT “repackaging”. This applies to the current incumbent fed gov, and P1 should be treated no less different. Time for damage control limitation, time to go back to the drawing block, time to stop the pilferage of our national coffers into P1 and the many other gomen projects, time to plug the leakages.

In times where the global economies are on the verge of collaspsing, we are still hell bent on injecting funds into P1 ? Is this in the name of “nationalism” or “protectionism” ?

• inspirasi on Oct 04, 2011 at 6:54 pm

you know what i said is truth, and the truth hurts. so you wanna chop me, lol.

hey, your forehead has a big L.

• inspirasi on Oct 04, 2011 at 7:01 pm

expat VN, you big L.

this whole country is on the fish monger chopping board.

and i’m telling you, you are a cruel POS under your skin, look at your words…..just look at it, will you teach your son to write those?

i’m sure you will, thats how murderers were borned. you must be a big loser because you can spend your working hour typing all these BS.

good luck, and no promotion for you, so you dont have to pay income tax this year again, lol. good good.

• mizzuddin on Oct 04, 2011 at 5:04 pm

Expatriate VN do have good reason to hate Proton and we all know what it is…
    cronyism, AP King, GE, government etc, NAP, racism….

but mate… being negative will never make any good… u’ll make everyone hate u even if what u say is true…

• Expatriate VN on Oct 04, 2011 at 9:04 pm

Wah, “throw cat among the pigeons”, there are so many “angry birds” out there, especially ins ……

mizzuddin, you have a good points, however I offer no apology to all these bunches of blinds “angry birds” supporters! Let them be “angry birds”, whilst I administer bitter medicine to them!

• tec96248 on Oct 05, 2011 at 10:51 am

Mate,

You are not alone to hate P1. You can be ensured that more people did buy P2 with higher price for a small little car. Hate it is just wasting time and stressed. Simple way like others, don’t like it, don’t buy it. This will eventually giving them lesson. That’s the reason no.1 player in no.2 shoes and no.2 player being the top player for 5 years and seems going to be again this year. So why frustrated? You are just spoiling the fun of motoring and cars.

• MoFaz on Oct 05, 2011 at 11:03 am

VN immigrant,
      I support Proton for the very reason it was established, which is to bring the nation into the high-tech industries and become a modern country by 2020. Proton’s contributions to our economy is not small. As I said before, 52k of Saga already sold this year, if tax for each saga is RM12k, that’s about RM600mil income to the Gov just from Saga! we haven’t even touch about how many workers, how much salary, and how that salary help our domestic business grows.
      But, I also do not condone the wrongdoings. There are 2 ways, 1 is by being radical and bashing all-out while being prejudice, giving unfair judgement just because you don’t like it. like you VN. And another 1 is by being positive, and give constructive criticism like drMpower and few other fellows here. History has shown us that many people do not like the radical path, unless there is really no other way. We still believe that Proton can be steered to the right direction. but they need all of us to push them to be better, not pulling them down.

• boboiboy on Oct 04, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Proton car ride and handling much much much more better than jap car.

• Jack Leong on Oct 05, 2011 at 11:50 am

look at it this way, at least P1 managed to close the car technology gap from 20 yrs to 5-10 yrs. good luck to them as the world sprints ahead.

• Jack Leong on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:30 pm

and i hate the comment section. why can’t my comment appear at once after i click submit? =(

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 05, 2011 at 2:44 pm

Because everything needs to be moderated, Jack. You can imagine all sorts of shenanigans and not-so-pleasant hijinks happening here if things were left unregulated, can you not? If everyone knew how to keep it from spilling over, then we’d much prefer the comments going up straight, but that’s never going to be the case, so here we are …