McRae to drive for Proton in IRC’s Rally of Scotland

Proton is handing its APRC rally driver Alister McRae a chance to compete in his home race – the RACMSA Rally of Scotland, which happens this weekend (7-9 October) and is the second last round of this year’s Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC). He will take the place of regular Proton IRC driver Giandomenico Basso, lining up beside teammate PG Andersson.

McRae, the younger brother of rallying legend Colin McRae, last competed in the IRC one year ago. He finished second in the inaugural Rally of Scotland in 2009 and will be bidding to emulate that performance in his homeland.

“It’s always nice to come home to compete again. Obviously, I have good memories of rallying in this part of the world and it’ll be great to see the (Scottish) Saltire flags out there flying high. We had a good finish here a couple of years ago, when we finished second in the Proton. But the competition is going to be really tough, there’s a good, quality entry for the rally,” McRae said.

He will be up against 17 other drivers in Super 2000 machinery out of an exciting 38-car entry. The rally features 15 stages over a competitive of distance of 196.96 km. If he does well, McRae will be bringing momentum into his next assignment, the APRC’s China Rally, where he will be fighting Proton teammate Chris Atkinson for the Driver’s title. McRae leads Atkinson by seven points going into the season ending rally after a podium finish in the recent Rally of Hokkaido.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• dirtyoldmen on Oct 04, 2011 at 11:42 am

is the danny tan in the co-driver’s seat?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Oct 04, 2011 at 12:20 pm

My, what a sharp eye you have. It is indeed our wonderboy!

• Danny Tan (Member) on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Alister’s thumbs up was for me not puking my lunch out after his terror run!

• BadBET on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:30 pm

im so jealous of you…

• Fridzmax on Oct 04, 2011 at 1:48 pm

Haha,

How about the ride, Danny? Ada rasa nak terkucil tak? hehe

• Danny Tan (Member) on Oct 04, 2011 at 3:29 pm

It was thrilling :) It left me amazed at how fast rally drivers think and react. There’s so much movement and action going on, unlike in F1.

http://paultan.org/2009/12/16/we-ride-with-alister-mcrae-in-the-proton-satria-neo-super-2000-rally-car/

• sub_zero on Oct 05, 2011 at 10:52 am

glad that you did some coverage back then, and even more, it’s be 2 years and MEM & proton almost succeed by now

• rally_fan on Oct 05, 2011 at 8:54 pm

danny tan is now an honorary co-driver ;)