Honda City Special Edition launched – limited to 500 units

We guessed so last month, and now Honda Malaysia has launched a special edition Honda City, the “2011 Honda City 3rd Generation Special Edition”, to give it its full name as per press release. Just 500 units of this City SE will be made available.

No mechanical changes, just aesthetics. The SE gets a full Modulo aero kit set that includes a front under spoiler, side under spoiler, rear under spoiler and duck tail spoiler. Besides those, SE owners get to choose a special number between 001 to 500 for their car. This number is then engraved on the door sill plate (side step), like ‘City SE 001’ for example. SE numbers will be obtained upon registration of the car.

Additionally, City SEs will come with “advanced nanotechnology solar control film” for all screens and windows. Available only in Polished Metal or Tafetta White, the City Special Edition is priced at RM92,890, which is RM2,500 more than the standard car. Honda Malaysia points out that the add-ons are worth over RM6,000, so you’re getting a good deal.

You can check out the City SE at any Honda dealer from now.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• honda fan on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:18 pm

Sure this car can beat Myvi Extreme …

• kington on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Of coz can lar, but when what you want is a lil more headroom space and lower maintenance costs, I’d take the MyVi Extreme.. manual.

• albag on Oct 05, 2011 at 8:04 pm

lulzzz u fap to vtec every night?

• toyota diehard on Oct 06, 2011 at 3:13 pm

Better buy Vios, really value for money
      – low fuel consumption
      – silent cabin
      – good nvh
      – all the material inside&outside very tahan lasak not like proton/perodua
      -cheaper than city,forte,inspira
      – very2 reliable…still strong even after 10 years (korean car sudah hancur by this time)
      – very sporty with bodykit (no more dugong like)
      – and finally its a TOYOTA, very reliable car maker..

• fatcat on Oct 06, 2011 at 4:59 pm

once a dugong always will be a dudong in the design of the car

• Calvin Foo on Jan 11, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Dugong? can’t agree more!

I personnaly called it Mee-Ku Car. You know.. During CNY, the Steamed roundish bun with thick red colour outside, white inside.

• kau tak hensem on Oct 06, 2011 at 7:33 pm

woi toyota diehard…kau mmg kena buli oleh geng ford & chevy kalau kau tgl di amerika..hahaha…

• KissMeAss on Oct 09, 2011 at 12:23 pm

Did u use ur brain before u speak?It’s a totally different type of car..and u take it to compare with each other?Come on man.. -.-“

• azrul on Oct 09, 2011 at 9:53 pm

great car !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• emily on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:19 pm

stock clearence ma …..

• This is extremely doesn’t make sense. Almost RM100k to get a B segment 1500CC car which is same engine capacity as Myvi and even smaller than 1600CC Saga????

Better top up RM10k for C Segment car for better stability cruising on the highway instead of this.

• critic_A on Oct 05, 2011 at 9:24 pm

GET AN INSPIRA!!

• Trust me, when accelerate, this “sporty City” will be left far behind compared to the 1600CC manual Saga taxi! 90++k??? What a disaster!!!!! Better get a real C segment car la.

• the SE 003 sound like new brand for other man use product..

• “Honda Malaysia points out that the add ons are worth over RM6,000, so you’re getting a good deal.”

Good deal my arse!!!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:23 pm

“the City Special Edition is priced at RM92,890, which is RM2,500 more than the standard car. Honda Malaysia points out that the add ons are worth over RM6,000, so you’re getting a good deal.”

– Perhaps RM 2.5 K is the cost, RM 6K is the selling price! What a bull-crap of Special Edition with this addition of spoiler thinghy! Or try to rival our Junior Jaguh Kampong MyVi by come out with Edition-this-and-Ediiton-that crap! Very boring!

• GeGaLa on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:28 pm

Just for modulo BK, Nano Tech Tinted Film & ‘special’ number..prrffthhh..!!

• Andrew on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:30 pm

Great to hear it

• labuyot on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:33 pm

tunggu city facelift

• whatever…

• Sleepwalkerz on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:38 pm

Yummmyyy….should have it in black colour also lols.even better in matt black

• wauuuuu…sooooooo special~~hahahaha

• Shooosh. on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:43 pm

Guess they’re trying to get rid of the old models before the new ones come in?

• teelim on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:45 pm

waste of time

• Kambing Gurun on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:46 pm

The most awaited story! It’s time to bash ‘H’ guys!!!

• Subba Rao on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:46 pm

I will definitely add another 10k+ and buy a Civic. Not going to make much difference in the loan anyway.

• Evoque on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:03 pm

If u wanted to add extra funds, thn u shd go for Altis 1.8E not even 1.6 as 1.8E are entry model for new 7-speed gear box.

Suits u well if u r not keen on leather seats as one of the added features. H.City just underpower hence more pressure on ur right foot.

• taboogen on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:48 pm

why the front end looks like the kit from toyota vios…

• buskerhatesTnH on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:53 pm

stock clearance edition

• Stock clearance should lower the price or maintain the price with adding extra spec….But this totally different…so dear man.

• F.O.C on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:56 pm

Very obvious HM is clearing old stock & launching new facelift City!!

• steve paul on Oct 05, 2011 at 2:43 pm

This car better than forte2.0 in terms of everything? often going up cameron highland which of tis car better to drive?

• kington on Oct 05, 2011 at 2:52 pm

On a long journey, the Forte seems more relaxed with a lil’ more space, though the City feels more sprightly with its 5 speed box (3 gears + 2 OD gears) compared to the facelifted Forte’s new 6 speed unit.

• korean_professor on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:57 pm

2.5k for crap, what’s the point??

• sammy on Oct 05, 2011 at 12:58 pm

“Available only in Polished Metal or Tafetta White, the City Special Edition is priced at RM92,890, which is RM2,500 more than the standard car. Honda Malaysia points out that the add ons are worth over RM6,000, so you’re getting a good deal” Honda fans will believe watever Honda Malaysia says….poor things as if a made in Thailand car is not overpriced already, the new car is just around the corner!

• khusyairi on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:03 pm

In business perspective, It just marketing strategy/ gimmick by Honda.
    Nothing new.

• honda trying to clear the old stock for upcoming facelift?
    with the customer allowed to choose its own 1-500 number, will that lead to a situation where certain numbers are not taken up,hence car not sold? emm….

• policeman on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:08 pm

Wow! Special Edition for special people.

• cruel on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:14 pm

Well. My wife just about to book standard Honda City last Monday only for me to suggest her that maybe she should look at Ford Fiesta before deciding. Now with this SE coming I think her decision definitely will be this Honda City SE.

• vincent on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:00 pm

Tell your wife go get a Fiesta, don’t compromise with safety!

• Evoque on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:06 pm

Pls ask her to test drive few times 1st. Dont rush in getting a H.City and year end are coming too, plenty of offers awaits her. The NVH in H.City is lousy compared to Fiesta.

• vincent advisor on Oct 05, 2011 at 8:07 pm

ur wife a japanese housewife? if so, city is a great choice, more vibration on the road.

• ask your wife to test drive the honda city, and ask her to power up/down the front windows a few times, for her to see the side panel expand and contract. Cheapness, amplified.

• arena84 on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:14 pm

Biasa je i tengok honda city SE nih…

• black king on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:20 pm

clearing the stock, perhaps? :D

• Thought they will have facelift, but it is special edition. Or the trick where they will release new facelift after clear all existing stock available for the current model.

• seancorr on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:31 pm

Modulo kits never did sell well so they launched the SE to sell all those old kits off to get ready for the face lift City in 2012 which is also a car with a face job done onto it. *Yawns*

• Jack Leong on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:35 pm

honda also nak buat lagi power lagi best? O.O

• umnoracist on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:50 pm

lg power lg best tukar enjin wooooo..ini city enjin lama juga

• bento on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:42 pm

i’m waiting for Honda CIty 2011 Deepavali Edition

• yeocp on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:44 pm

Oh, last batch of City before launch of new Facelift model this year.

• Stock clearance..

• jalan54 on Oct 05, 2011 at 1:49 pm

Almost RM93000 for a B segment car and nothing much special about it, seriously!!!!

• seems Honda want to follow P2.

• kington on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:07 pm

It’s a massive marketing strategy these days almost every car maker is doing it.

But my concern now is, you have the City and Vios bumped up in size and price to where the Corolla and Civic were, and these 2 are now have cabin spaces just slightly smaller than the Camry and Accord.

I don’t foresee any problems for them to bring in or introduce new and cheaper models to rake in market share, like how the upcoming Brio and Etios will become the cheapest Honda and Toyota you can buy, but what happens to the Camry and Accord?

• I think Honda should offer cheapest version of City with Manual transmission and wheel cap only. Thus, this version can fight with Vios J.

• LatukBandar on Oct 05, 2011 at 2:12 pm

I’ll wait for my personal Honda City SESE or Honda City SE2

SESE stands for Secondhand Edition + Special Edition

• Bryant on Oct 05, 2011 at 2:19 pm

I personally think nothing special and good to shout for this special edition with only body kit, tinted flim and a engraved plate with numbering. But people who looking for something extra with more value for $ can go for it.

• Will Kit on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:43 pm

They just seems like over purchase the Modulo body kit and to get back their investment on it since most people who buy City will go for the after market Mugen, Airmaster and etc….Cheaper!…What a lame Special Edition….

• albag on Oct 05, 2011 at 2:22 pm

LOL oh well Honda…

• Medic on Oct 05, 2011 at 2:23 pm

Such a ‘lame’ SE…bored with all these revisions & SE.Consumers want real improvement in drive train,engine,handling…not some stupid bumpers &spoilers.The door sills numbers is the biggest joke of all.Is being 001 any special?Only idiotic ‘cave men’ will get excited…Wake up honda,before you close shop.

• RolandGoland on Oct 05, 2011 at 2:23 pm

lol siap letak nombor code lagi tue. padahal cuma body kit je, LOL lawak

• YEAH RITE! on Oct 05, 2011 at 2:33 pm

GOOD VALUE, SIGN THAT NEW CITY COMING??

• BadBET on Oct 05, 2011 at 2:33 pm

2011 Honda City 3rd Generation Special ‘Appearance’ Edition… nice

• what???

• Just bring in the new car instead

• Ultrajo on Oct 05, 2011 at 2:54 pm

Have to clear ‘old stock’ dulu bro, cosmetic upgrade=impress honda fans=price upgrade=stock clearance
      if not, have to give discount (“in your dreams” said Mr. Honda) to clear stock…

• Holly F on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:21 pm

Gotta wait for another 2.5 – 3 years.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 05, 2011 at 2:56 pm

Now T & H with their Vios and City, were infected by Jaguh Kampong DNA, also come out with sooooo many type of Edition-This-Edition-That ………. No thanks for this marketing gimmick to clear old stock or boost sales!

• autojohndoe on Oct 05, 2011 at 4:03 pm

Jaguh Kampung Neo positioned well in Group N rally in Hokkaido…

• MoFaz on Oct 05, 2011 at 6:35 pm

even smoked plenty of Subaru WRX and Mitsu Evo!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 06, 2011 at 10:31 am

Yah, you can smoke out, then send Saga to smoke out and beat flatten other models in term of sales in any part of the world!

• sukasuki on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:07 pm

u have to admit this type of marketing hype strategy works well. especially in our BolehLand.

• wilsbrother on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:02 pm

get a city SE 007 be the james bond lolz

• Kok Chi on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:09 pm

Another stock clearance exercise… Just to clear the way for the facelift. Japanese brands still take consumers as fools. Next year VW gonna whack them kau kau…

• The Enthusiast on Oct 05, 2011 at 4:13 pm

Some more, select VW models will be assembled in Malaysia. Cheaper VW? Now thats’s tempting!

• beskut on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:38 pm

before this they offered 4.5k for the modulo set
    now they offer 2.5k for the modulo plus the tinted plus special
    really butthurting the previous owner who bought frm them

• it say only 500 units sold, not not that the number must be within 1 – 500.

Eg 4, 14, 24, 34,44, 444 will be excluded and replaced with 688, 638, 888, etc.

• autojohndoe on Oct 05, 2011 at 3:59 pm

do you know how to read?

“SE owners get to choose a special number between 001 to 500 for their car”…

where does the 688 comes from?

• Johndeep on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:37 pm

…what’s wrong with ” 4, 14, 24, 34,44, 444 “?

• The Enthusiast on Oct 05, 2011 at 4:04 pm

Believe it or not, there are people who will actually buy this simply because of its ‘Special Edition’ tag.

• William on Oct 05, 2011 at 4:21 pm

JAMES BOND will get angry when someone brought the SE 007 XD..jk..jk..

• chinz on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:04 pm

thailand old stock throw to malaysia market! like the recently isuzu D-max

• fahmiyafeii on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:06 pm

stock clearance.. thai already have New facelift, malaysia will follow in 2 -3 month time..

• E-View on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:09 pm

HONDA Sales and Marketing Program in Malaysia:

1) Facelift old design cars

2) Change Head lamp and Tail Lamp (All New)

3) Change the Body Kit (Special Edition)

4) Recall for technical issues (Upgrade)

5) GOTO 1.

• WOWeyyy on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:09 pm

this is like what air asia said…”now every one can fly”…but this one…”now everything is SE”…hik hik hik

what is it with special skirting???—kedai ah beng also got lots cheaper.

nano tinted??—-tinted kedai ah beng also cool what.

‘special’ edition number @ door side plate??? unless u drive without your door at all…so everyone can see its number..now thats SPECIAL!

• i_swear on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:55 pm

Agree with you. Somehow nowadays Vios, Myvi and City coming SE edition like plague.

• For all the looks this one has, they should put in a close ratio manual shifter.

• lousy shit on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:30 pm

SE = stock extinguishing edition… or sapu edition.. lol..

• imran on Oct 05, 2011 at 5:31 pm

woow! it comes together with special SE number! extremely great!!
    who is the lucky person to get SE 007?.. haha

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 05, 2011 at 6:31 pm

so not pretty

• hippo on Oct 05, 2011 at 6:40 pm

For this price, better top up and get Altis. You won’t regret, quality is much much better, with new engine and gear box

• skyjuice on Oct 05, 2011 at 6:54 pm

ok.. SE 007 will be nice..
    wait, who gonna book for SE 444? =P

• Flat Black Fiesta on Oct 05, 2011 at 7:00 pm

ape2 jela honda….yg penting ford fiesta lg best

• Naz@AE111 on Oct 05, 2011 at 7:28 pm

what so special about it??? i think honda is starting to ‘ikut2’ perodua… hahahaha…

• Honda Power on Oct 05, 2011 at 7:51 pm

Yeah, stock clearance before facelifted City is launched at the end of this year, possibly in December. It’s very obvious. I am sure people who book the City now want to get the facelifted City. Wakaka!

• skiborne on Oct 05, 2011 at 7:54 pm

apa benda lah kau buat ni honda

• critic_A on Oct 05, 2011 at 9:28 pm

critic_A will get nothing but inspira for that price!!
    2.0 mivec, cvt invescs-III, pedal shift, lotus-handling and so on~~
    long live proton!!!

• Masked Ryder on Oct 05, 2011 at 9:39 pm

I too don’t understand why a 1.5 B segment City can outsold a C segment Forte.
    Infact it cost more to own a City, something wrong with Naza & KIA image & repo ? ? ?

• shitty car + shitty bodykit + tinted film, and they have the balls to call it a special edition? icing on the cake is that some idiot in hongdah malaysia approved the idea to give each of the 500 units a special plate with serial number.

absolute bollocks.

• Line up of Honda City in Thailand

http://city.honda.co.th/city/main.html

• bobdbilder on Oct 05, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Honestly, it is expensive ainit? 92K for a car 1,5 auto with more plastic than normal. People who buy this should not complain why food is expensive nowadays. They don’t have the right to. The US double dip is just around the corner, and Greece…? Did anybody learn anything from 2008?

• mat sabu on Oct 06, 2011 at 11:47 am

HOW ABOUT BUYER FRM LANGKAWI?

• People on Oct 06, 2011 at 2:22 pm

The world economy is bad. Gov shud help ppl to relieve the burden, but we are sufferring becos of expensive petrol even tho we are one of the petroleum supplier in the world. The cars are so expensive becos of the gov tax, why we cannot complaint? Any reason? We work everyday but our salary cannot cover the expenses. People who are rich getting richer while who are poor getting poorer & we still cannot complaint?

• Fluid on Oct 06, 2011 at 9:57 am

Another Limited Stock Clearance Edition???

So looks like T, H and N brands are all the same…

• Uncle Honda on Oct 06, 2011 at 10:23 am

inspira would be a better choice.

• critic_A on Oct 06, 2011 at 3:31 pm

uncle honda, ur smarter than all of those ppl who r giving us thumbs down!!
      Inspira rocks!

• kau tak hensem on Oct 06, 2011 at 7:29 pm

inspira mmg berbaloi…tapi aku ttp bersabar dari hari ke hari menunggu persona replacement…inspira biasa2 je…

• Earl Ku on Oct 06, 2011 at 12:05 pm

Next u will see Acc shop selling those side plates and u can etch whatever number u wan

I want super edition 8888888888

• pronoton on Oct 06, 2011 at 2:46 pm

kalu ade yg beli city ni dpt no SE 001 adekah no plat keta die SE 001 atau tu sekadar no kat sill plate saje?

• kamaji on Oct 06, 2011 at 5:52 pm

Inspira more value for money but in reality ppl still love this overprice B segment.

• ahboon on Oct 07, 2011 at 11:44 am

@ honda, we’re always ahead of ourselves ;)