Budget 2012: Hybrid car incentives extended till 2013!

Budget 2012: Hybrid car incentives extended till 2013!This just in. Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, who is also Finance Minister, is reading his Budget 2012 speech at the moment, and he has already touched on something that involves the auto sector, announcing that incentives given to hybrid cars have been extended till 31 December 2013!

Here’s some background: In Budget 2011, the government introduced FULL import duty and excise duty exemption for hybrid and electric cars and motorcycles.

Previously, it was 100% import duty exemption and 50% excise duty exemption, Budget 2011 made it 100% exemption for BOTH import duty and excise duty. The deal, for hybrid cars with 2.0 litre engines and below, was supposed to expire on Dec 31, 2011.

This has led to huge growth in sales for hybrid models such as the Honda Insight and Toyota Prius, while Lexus took advantage of this incentive to bring in the CT 200h hatchback at an attractive price. Honda Malaysia and UMW Toyota will be happy with today’s announcement and can plan ahead from now, bringing in more of the hybrids.

The PM has already touched on fuel subsidies, and from what we hear, it’s status quo.

UPDATE: Here’s Honda Malaysia MD & CEO Yoichiro Ueno’s response to the Budget’s hybrid announcement:

As a pioneer in introducing the hybrid car to the Malaysian market, we are pleased with the government’s decision to extend the full exemption of import and excise duty as announced in today’s Budget 2012. We would like to convey our gratitude as this would continue to make hybrid vehicles more accessible for environmentally conscious Malaysians which showed a significant growth compared to last year.

The Insight remains a popular model among the hybrid customers as to date we have sold 3,800 units. These exemptions are certainly timely, as hybrid vehicles gain favor among customers, Honda Malaysia is looking into expanding its hybrid vehicle line-up in Malaysia by year end.

And here is UMW Toyota Motor MD Ismet Suki’s response to the announcement of the extension of the hybrid exemption:

We are delighted with the announcement by the Prime Minister. This shows that the government is committed to make hybrid vehicles affordable for more Malaysians. It would be exciting to see more hybrid vehicles on our roads and more people would be aware about the effectiveness of hybrid technology as a proven alternative to lowering fuel consumption and environment friendly.

The government is moving towards the right direction in promoting a “greener living” by reducing the CO2 emission with more hybrid vehicles on our roads. UMW Toyota Motor strongly supports this government initiative and will continue to promote hybrid vehicles.

We at UMW Toyota Motor would like to congratulate the Prime Minister on the successful budget announcement that is favourable to private companies and will definitely ease the burden of more Malaysians.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• F.O.C on Oct 07, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Good Move!! from Government on hybrid cars but if more “BOLD” tax exemption on petrol cars then I’ll be stunned hehehe……….

• prius cheaper pls…………………

• squall_shinoda on Oct 07, 2011 at 11:17 pm

Prius is a complex hybrid car with so many powertrain components including two expensive BLDC motor-generators. That’s why it can’t be any cheaper.

• AudiLover on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:40 pm

Tax from Petrol (billions ringgit) cars that support the huge subsidy for petrol..

• Hybrid SUV on Oct 07, 2011 at 10:34 pm

Please bring in Audi Q5 Hybrid launching in Europe soon at about USD48K.

• lchan on Oct 07, 2011 at 5:39 pm

SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEETTTTTTTTTTTT….100% exemption from all taxes.

• _xXx_ on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:00 pm

there’s one more dunno wat tax which is NOT exempted

• Carl Wong on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:22 pm

Sales tax of 10% I believe even national cars have it? And approval permit for all imports I think.

• lchan on Oct 08, 2011 at 1:04 am

oh..this is one of those tight arses who expects to not pay a single tax. obviously 100% exemption is on import and excise. pfttt…want to act smart….do it in a more constructive manner.

• wendy on Oct 07, 2011 at 5:40 pm

so paul, since the excise duty now is 100%, so insight prius and ct200 should be price lower next year rite? can u roughly calculate the change of price..bcoz i dont really understand bout all the tax thingy..

• Alpha on Oct 07, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Uhh,the excise duty remains the same.They’re just extending it.the 100%/50% was on Budget 2010.Since 2011 it’s already 100%/100%.

• TallPan on Oct 07, 2011 at 10:17 pm

“extended”….

• Yuzdi on Oct 07, 2011 at 5:45 pm

Instead of CBU units, can’t H & T assemble it here / CKD? Murah sikit meh….

• Carl Wong on Oct 08, 2011 at 3:48 pm

No difference in price anyways. For quality and finish of course CBUs from Japan are much better by a mile.

• seperlinky on Oct 07, 2011 at 5:50 pm

I want Porsche 911 Hybrid!

• downs on Oct 07, 2011 at 5:59 pm

Sure…if u can pay the full price. Tax exemption is for engines below 2.0 only.

• cmon crz!!! honda bring crz to malaysia plz

• crz u can start go booking.

i heard already open booking and price around 120k

after this budget thingy got change or not .. not sure

• R.I.P Steve Jobs on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:16 pm

agree with momo…bring the CRZ please…ketagih tgk crz kat youtube,,huhu :)

• Wisdom on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Full import n excise duty only rite?

Sales tax 10% still got rite?

Anyway, it still good for the industry. Even if they take away sales tax, i dont think greedy UMW & HM will reduce the price further.

If Prius minus 10%, price will be around 120k, will disturb Altis market. Anyway we all know both are not ‘value for money’ models.

If Insight reduced to 90k, will disturb City market.

Both will find excuses to maintain current price level (and make even more money). So thank you Najib, no need to remove sales tax. Extend to 2013 is good enough.

• paparadzi on Oct 10, 2011 at 8:26 am

Ever heard of “Approved Selling Price”? The car companies must sell at a price approved by the G, can’t go lower except for some discounts sometimes.

• women)noob on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:05 pm

Prime Minister + Finance minister = 2 different salaries? very capable human being !!

• kojaiz on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:09 pm

prius will be under 100k ? wow ?

• littlefire on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:14 pm

How about tax rebate for green diesel engine cars? Euro 4 diesel?!? Now we only have bio diesel only.. When we can enjoy better diesel powered cars?!? Which proven to be more mileage, cheaper maintenance compare to hybrid & electric cars?

• agree.. they should have introduce at least Euro 4 diesel as well. Have it in two different grades just like petrol.. I’m pretty sure more people will adopt diesel powered car after this..

• Wisdom on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Are u sure they give better mileage and lower maintenance cost?

• definitely better mileage especially at higher speed and lower maintenance compared to HYBRID car.. e.g peugeot HDi, VW bluemotion, provided euro4 and above grade diesel is used.

• Wisdom on Oct 10, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Combined mileage for diesel (e.g Focus TDCI = 7 liter per 100km)
          Combined mileage for hybrid (e.g Insight = 5 liter per 100km)

Reliable? time will tell…

• hanifhamzah on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:20 pm

good news for those who are craving for ct200h

• hanifhamzah on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:23 pm

good news for ct200h lovers

• bayousam on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:43 pm

A couple of months ago, when the Lexus 200H was launched and with the USD=RM3 and UKP=RM4.90, I did some research and calculations for these Duty (but not sales tax) -free offerings. Draw your own conclusions.

UK Price (inclusive of 20 percent VAT)

Lexus L200H Hybrid UKP23,500 (or 19,600 without VAT)

L200H Luxury Hybrid UKP25,300 (or 21,100 without VAT)

UMW Malaysian Price (no duties but INCLUSIVE of 10 percent sales tax)

Lexus LH200H Hybrid RM168,000 (or 152,700 without sales tax)

Lexus L200H Luxury Hybrid RM196,500 (or 178,600 without sales tax)

This works out to an exclusive Lexus Malaysia exchange rate specially for you of 152700/19600 and 178600/21100 respectively.

For those without calculators handy, that’s 7.79 and 8.46.

For comparison, the current RM/UKP exchange rate is 4.9!

Compared to US prices, the “Lexus Malaysia RM/USD exchange rate” averages about 5.5 for these Lexus hybrid models. Current RM/USD rate is 3.0

UMW Toyota sells the Toyota Prius Hybrid at an only slightly less cut-throat exchange rate of 6.8 to UKP, and 4.75 to the USD.

Meanwhile, Honda Malaysia, itself not known for underpricing things, brings in their Insight and Civic Hybrids at much more reasonable exchange rates of 5.8 to UKP for the Insight, (Civic Hybrid not sold in UK) and 4.15 to the USD for both the Insight and Civic Hybrid.

• tiadaid on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:10 pm

And you’re surprised? H & T has been gouging Malaysians for a while now, hiding under the banner of “tax”.

• but must remember currency exchange rate depends on bank…every exchange there will be 0-5% fee on top currency exchange…oso include transaction fee….

• tec96248 on Oct 08, 2011 at 11:30 am

Are you sure those selling cars price between UK and Malaysia is based on currency exchange rate?? hahaha…………then are you telling the living standards of UK and Malaysia are the same. Very very FUNNY! hahahaha………………………

• bayousam on Oct 08, 2011 at 4:38 pm

Sorry what I wrote was too complicated. Let me Simplify.

Suppose I have RM196,500 hanging around. I can take my RM196,500 to Lexus Malaysia, hand it over and drive off with the car of my desires, the L200H Luxury. It’s mine, all mine! I will be happy.

But suppose the story is a bit different. I have RM196,500, but before I can buy the Lexus from Lexus Malaysia, I am posted to UK. Never mind, they have the L200H Luxury there too.

Knowing my RM no pakai there, I go to Maybank KL and change my RM to UK Pound. At today’s rate, I get UKP40,100.

Then I fly to UK. Great lah, company paid!. First thing I do when I get there, is go to a Lexus showroom, hand the UKP40,100 to the salesperson, and say give me a L200H Luxury. But saleman says, you give me too much, here the L200H Luxury only UKP25,300, so here’s UKP14,800 back.

Wah lucky Mat Saleh salesman honest. Oso lucky got CCTV I guess. I drive my L200H Luxury to Soho to pose. It’s mine, all mine. I am very happy.

No only that, still got UKP14,800 cash. Don’t know what to buy in UK, so I fly back to Malaysia, go back to Maybank KL and change this UKP14,800 back to RM, and I get, wah, RM72,500, enough to buy Nasim Peugeot 207. So I immediately go out and buy one.

So, while I am driving back from KL to SS2 in my brand new all-paid-for Peugeot 207, it suddenly strikes me. I started with enough RM cash to buy a L200H Luxury from Lexus Malaysia, but with just that same cash, I now have a L200H Luxury in UK, and a Pugeot207 in Malaysia with nothing more to pay. How come? I stop thinking. Some magic has happened. Life is not very very FUNNY. Live is very very Good!

• u should just stay in uk, and keep the £14000

( i have a £ key in my keyboard, go figure) ;)

• Glabagila on Oct 10, 2011 at 11:01 pm

Stay as an illegal is it??
            Or can apply any special visa to stay permanently??
            If you have milions of £s, may be you can get PR status..
            Sort of UK my 2nd home thingy..

(Mine don’t have the £ key on the keyboard, no need to go figure — use char map & copy/paste)

• tec96248 on Oct 08, 2011 at 10:15 pm

hahaha, you are very funny. then you should also find out why other things selling much more cheaper in UK then in Malaysia and the other way round. you should also check it out how much a Tyre will cost here and there but the car is cheaper over there. The more you know and understand, u will feel funny about exchange rate for a car. hahahaha…………………………

• bayousam on Oct 09, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Are you UMW Toyota Motor MD Ismet Suki himself?

• Wisdom on Oct 08, 2011 at 10:25 pm

U know the answer.

The have removed all the tax except 10% Sales tax.

Should the real value of the CT200h Lux is mere 130K, plus 10% Sales tax, the right price would be RM143K.

But Lexus Malaysia (UMW) thinks Malaysian should be sucked dry…. so there u go, 200K and its yours, all yours…

• errr dont think most of you know this but, MITI sets the price for these cars, “to maintain the interest of local industries”….. UMW Toyota is also a GLC, so MITI and UMW kautim already.

• Wisdom on Oct 10, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Its to childish to say Miti sets the price.

Its more like whether Miti ‘agree’ with the suggested price. Lexus suggest 200K is ok. Miti says its up to you.

• littlefire on Oct 09, 2011 at 1:10 pm

You will need to pay for the AP also…

• bayousam on Oct 09, 2011 at 2:54 pm

I may be wrong, but I am under the impression that official franchisees don’t have to pay for APs. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

• Kevin on Oct 10, 2011 at 9:36 am

Why are you so suprised that Toyota cost so much more here than other place?
      It’s all in the supply and demand, really.
      If people are willing to pay a high price for a Toyota, they will continue to cost a lot more than other makes.
      Don’t forget that any company including Toyota are there to make money for their owners and stakeholders, and definitely not a charity organisation.

• prius~~

no wait…i’m getting a Tesla!! lol!

• Alvin Lim on Oct 07, 2011 at 6:47 pm

Umw Malaysia, when can bring camry 2.0 hybrid?

• Still waiting for 7-seater Prius Alpha.

• HM claims to be a pioneer in bringing the hybrid car to malaysians? WTF? Wasn’t the Prius here first?

• arcana on Oct 07, 2011 at 9:04 pm

i believe the civic hybrid was introduced here first before prius came into the market.

• civic hybrid came first.. lmao

• Carl Wong on Oct 08, 2011 at 3:56 am

Civic Hybrid came in 2007 but it was almost insanely expensive at first without the tax incentives, Gen 3 Prius came in only 2010? Not sure.

• Carl Wong on Oct 12, 2011 at 1:22 am

The initial price of Civic Hybrid is around Rm162K, then reduced to 129K with partial tax exemption in 2009 and reduced again to 108K with full exemption in 2011. Almost 60K difference for the taxes my goodness………..

• Kevin on Oct 10, 2011 at 9:38 am

Honda Civic Hybird is the first hybrid car sold in Malaysia.
      Please check your fact before posting.

• Type F on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:15 pm

Waiting for prius alpha 7 seater :)

• Crasher on Oct 07, 2011 at 7:17 pm

great news!!! Hopefully more companies will bring more Hybrids into Malaysia!
    Honda Cr-Z would be great!

• Frankly speaking, I don’t think H. Insight is the real Hybrid car. The technology is still not there and the fuel consumption is still relatively high. It is just an ordinary 1200/1300 cc car with battery assist. Price can be so low and I really doubt the quality of the battery and the out put of the car.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 07, 2011 at 11:20 pm

So are you going to bash BMW’s ActiveHybrid and Porsche’s hybrid technologies as well? Both of them are parallel hybrids like Honda IMA what.

• That makes me feel uncomfortable when see Honda using the same IMA system as BMW and Porsche but with 90++k only. What a big different. If Honda confident with this technology which applied on the Insight, they should increase the capacity of the engine and fight with the same segment of the hybrid car at least with Toyota Prius.

But it seems like they purposely make smaller engine with lower selling price to grab the hybrid car market from Toyota easily.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 08, 2011 at 7:25 am

Honda does battle with Toyota for the hybrid war, even though both uses different hybrid powertrains. Toyota is the first hybrid carmaker while Honda is second. They does battle head-to-head. The current (third generation) Prius is currently the most fuel-efficient petrol car when compared to the current generation Insight (as well as Honda Civic Hybrid), but it can still be tapaued by the 1st-gen Insight. The current Prius fuel consumption is 3.90 L/100 km combined, while the 1st-gen Insight can easily get 3.4L/100 km combined. Even the 2nd-gen Prius can only managed to get the same FC as the 1st-gen Civic Hybrid before being tapaued by the 2nd-gen Civic Hybrid. But then when the current-generation Prius was launched in 2009, the Prius clinched back the top spot. That’s the hybrid war.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 08, 2011 at 7:32 am

In addition, the principle of parallel hybrid is engine power + motor power = max power, while in complex hybrid, max power = engine power + MG2 (main motor) – MG1 (main generator and starter motor) in full parallel mode. That’s why Toyota have to use larger cc engines for better torque while Honda can simply use smaller engines. But Toyota still have their trump card which is the Atkinson cycle.

• Wisdom on Oct 10, 2011 at 1:51 pm

Atkinson cycle. Yup that is the point.

See, Toyota knows that typical buyer will look at the spec and found that Prius is using 1.8 engine while Insight only 1.3. The fact is, Atkinson cycle combustion format is very similar to 2 stroke engine (only more efficient), however the output have to be low, mere 90hp. Insight 1.3 normal cycle also produces around 90hp.

However price differences of RM40K is not justifiable between both model. UMW should consider lower price.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 10, 2011 at 10:11 pm

The Atkinson cycle is actually almost the same as the conventional Otto cycle. The difference is that the intake valve closure is delayed until somewhere just at the beginning of the compression stroke, while in the conventional Otto cycle, the intake valve has already been closed just before the compression stroke. As a result, the compression stroke is a bit shorter than the expansion stroke. It then translates to less stress to the engine for compressing the air-fuel ratio, contributing to more fuel-efficient operation, but at the expense of the power output of course.

• Carl Wong on Oct 08, 2011 at 1:25 am

It is the cheapest hybrid in the world at the moment as a mild hybrid. It is already 20-40% more efficient compared to normal cars depending on road conditions and most importantly the driver itself. People who always go flat out and want speed should not get it anyways. City driving should give 600km per tank, and long distance (without speeding) gives 800-900km with only around 32 litres of fuel!! So you use less fuel and go further with less emissions, good enough for you? Whenever your foot is off the throttle it will enter ‘fuel-cut’ mode, valves are closed and the petrol engine is not using any fuel. So when you’re coming down from Genting with only braking it’s almost not using any fuel at all, and the IMA battery gets fully charged :].

The combined torque of Insight is 199Nm, even higher than the 2.0L i-VTEC engine (Civic) with 188Nm. Actually just for fun lol it should make the 0-100km/hr sprint in around 10 seconds with S mode and ECON off, beats Honda City too (11 seconds). It’s not underpowered at all for most normal drivers.

• Wisdom on Oct 08, 2011 at 10:38 pm

Most off the review on the net also not really honest on their performance test.

The Prius was tested with ‘Power’ mode and recorded average century sprint around 10.4 seconds while Insight were tested under normal ‘D’ mode, 10.6 seconds.

Should the Insight tested with ‘S’ mode and Econ mode off, it could record 10 seconds flat. Surf around y’all.

No wonder i always saw these Insight blasting past me on the highways…

• Carl Wong on Oct 10, 2011 at 1:35 am

Ya I think most of the time D mode is powerful enough and fuel efficient at the same time. I think it’s amazing, faster when compared to Inspira CVT versions which take 11.4 seconds (1.8L) and 10.5 seconds (2.0L) from specs. Different segment I know, but I think Insight have a larger trunk with convenient fold-able rear seats being a hatchback.

• I bet the Japs (especially T) will never reduce their price significantly- the culprit is foreign exchange disadvantage and they’ll honor previous buyers of hybrid.

• squall_shinoda on Oct 08, 2011 at 7:38 am

Japanese economy is currently suffering from deflation that makes their currency more expensive than before. Therefore, even if Japanese companied have maintained the same cost or reduce it, the price still increases in overseas after the foreign exchange.

• Masked Ryder on Oct 07, 2011 at 8:09 pm

No import tax & duty but still got sales tax, AP & High corporate tax, how come AP King & sapu everything SD never bring in “”CHEAP”” Korean Hybrid ? Still looking for Japanese technology to “COPY” or what ?

• why must be 2.0 liters below? As long as it is a hybrid la, as if the Lexus RX450h will compete with local cars.

• Hybrid_fan on Oct 07, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Great news! Will UMW sell the Prius Plug-in hybrid in Malaysia? The price in US starts from $32,000 which is almost $7000 higher than cheapest available Prius.

• why so many thumbs down in this post? korean fans passing by i guess

btw not being a fanboy or what, i hope honda brings in crz,hyundai bring in sonata hybrid, and kia bring forte hybrid

• R.I.P Steve Jobs on Oct 07, 2011 at 8:42 pm

yep…why i get thumb down when i mention honda crz? :(

• bayousam on Oct 07, 2011 at 10:09 pm

How I see it – your comment added nothing to the discussion. A simple Thumbs Up to Momo’s original comment would have been more appropriate.

• any difference with your comment?

• bayousam on Oct 08, 2011 at 10:54 am

Yes. It is supposed to help minimise redundant and irrelevant comments in the future, but some people don’t get the hint.

• Carl Wong on Oct 07, 2011 at 9:07 pm

Forte have hybrid version? And Kia Optima hybrid.

• bunny on Oct 07, 2011 at 8:39 pm

faster bring in audi a6 2.0 hybrid !

• Khairul on Oct 07, 2011 at 9:05 pm

Honda Malaysia. Pls bring in the CRZ ……….i want booking!!! Yeahhh!!!

• Q5Hybrid2012 on Oct 07, 2011 at 10:58 pm

Q5 Hybrid will be released later this year. Hope Euromobil will being it in … I guess price around RM250K

• Expatriate VN on Oct 07, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Good incentive to Hybrid! However it should cover all makes without limit the cc. Big cc above 2.0, they are not competitor to our jaguh kampong. Gov should extend to all makes and cc.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 07, 2011 at 11:49 pm

When will gov revamp NAP to wipe out cronies vendors and AP Kings from automotive sector!

• the gov will wipe out NAP and Cronies vendors and AP Kings when PKR step into Putra Jaya. This is the ways to wipe their ass clean.

• tiadaid on Oct 08, 2011 at 9:27 pm

In your dreams, maybe. The only thing changing if PKR steps into Putrajaya is the face of the cronies.

• Kevin Lee on Oct 08, 2011 at 12:23 am

Audi A8 2.0 hybrid, some car to buy to enjoy S class luxury level, yet pay at taxed E class price :D

• Paul Tan on Oct 08, 2011 at 12:24 am

Audi says there will be no right hand drive A8 hybrid.

• Kevin Lee on Oct 08, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Damn, guess we’d settle with A6 Hybrid or Q5 Hybrid. Wishing for a Q7 Hybrid!

• Motokaki on Oct 08, 2011 at 12:45 am

Why Toyota never dare to bring in Camry Hybrid…our neighbour Thailand already have a lot…why Civic hybrid discontinued by Honda Malaysia…

• squall_shinoda on Oct 08, 2011 at 7:35 am

Civic Hybrid is currently discontinued to make way for the upcoming 3rd-gen Civic Hybrid which uses a larger 1.5L engine but has better FC than previous Civic Hybrid (but still cannot tapau the Prius yet). Plus, the Civic Hybrid in Malaysia is a CBU unit from Japan.

• Carl Wong on Oct 08, 2011 at 4:01 pm

The new Civic is coming early next year, year of the dragon. I asked a Honda sales advisor about the hybrid version he said they don’t know yet. Hopefully it will come here too. It uses new Lithium Ion battery, more fuel efficient and powerful.

• CHONG KAT on Oct 08, 2011 at 12:47 am

anybody here buy any hybrid mover. talking nonsense. back to the reality la. 99% malaysian can’t buy it. the budget have nothing special to malaysia automotive. wake up ma.

• Carl Wong on Oct 08, 2011 at 1:27 am

YES, one of my favorite announcement from the budget once again, and I like the dashboard of Civic Hybrid :).

• Told ya BN only created this trick to ensure Protongkat enough time to sell their EVs soon cheap enough below Prius or Insight price!

Anyway Tesla S would be great USD55K directly translated as RM180K here. Prius Alpha 7-seater surely a great buy if priced at below RM90K!

• Hopefully distributors like Naza can brings Peugeot Hybrid cars such as 3008, 508rxh.

• heard naza pug is testing those 3008 diesel hybrid…200hp + 500nm of torque wt Prius like FC, …hopefully those Pug diesel hybrid can be modified to use our lousy euro2 diesel. Diesel hybrid will make more sense, huge power but low FC

• Yup. If they can bring in, i’m sure the pricing will also be fantastic due to Gov incentive.
      More people get to enjoy good quality cars at reasonable prices.
      Green is definitely the way to go :)

• Halem on Oct 08, 2011 at 8:14 pm

Hello Zen, r u dreaming ? The only Hybrid for Forte & Elantra is LPI Hybrid, mean it run on LPG & Battery, even that is still in testing stage, Since the tax & duy exemption is only for below 2.0 model it is not viable to bring in Sonata & Optima, even the Camry Hybrid sole in Thailand is not available here.
    The exemption is for market testing purpose, paving way for P1 Hybrid, once it’s ready the exemption will be ceased.

• transformer on Oct 08, 2011 at 9:03 pm

tax incentive should include green diesel car with hi-tech engine which produce less polluting gases than the hybrid battery(from material transportation, production and disposal) itself…

• Carfan on Oct 09, 2011 at 10:10 am

Prices in US for insight and Prius are USD 20k and 30k respectively. Even with 10%sales tax this does not translate to RM98k and Rm139k. Is H and T price gourging? Record profits. Maybe transfer pricing issues? Do they have to buy APs too? Should someone point this to the consumer association and ministry?

• littlefire on Oct 09, 2011 at 1:07 pm

Yup, all imported car including those new & re-con need to pay AP.. If not mistaken currently the G charged RM10k per AP… So other additional charges should be the profit gained by the company..

• Lolipop on Oct 09, 2011 at 3:06 pm

Even it’s hybrid but still need to fuel up, and still benefits from the fuel subsidies..

• David on Oct 09, 2011 at 10:53 am

come on, Honda
    bring the Honda Jazz Hybrid In

• Zero or lower car excise duties should be extended to tested and proven fuel efficient non-hybrid cars (be it petrol or diesel hybrid below 2000cc cars).

Only then Savvy can try to beat its sales against Viva maybe with Savvy Hybrid…but still the winning odds is 93 to 1 ratio lah (Savvy 433 vs Viva 40,200)!!!

• good, time to change to CRZ!!!

• komqadim on Oct 11, 2011 at 3:24 pm

niat kat hati nak tuko kete konvensional ke hibrid…..tapi still mahal lagi walaupun untuk di beri pelepasan cukai sampai 2013…patutnya cukai yg kerajaan kenekan tuh yg kene turunkan lagi….at least 300persent 4 one car in malaysia…………………

• CT200h on Oct 16, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Hi All

So, will the CT200h price be reduced in 2012 since the excise is done? Need to know very urgently

Thanks

• CT200h on Oct 16, 2011 at 6:05 pm

Hi All

So will the Lexus Ct200h price be reduced in 2012 since the excise duty is gone by then?

Thanks

• probably the hybrids should be cheaper since we would be paying no excise duties. The magnitude of the difference would depend on how much the excise duty is on the first place. secondly is the manufacturer going to pass this saving on to the consumer? Thus the answer to your question is probably best to wait and see till next year before you sign the contract.

• sorry re-reading this article made me realise that the 100% exemption for import tax and excise tax is already exist in the 2011 budget and will be extended to 2012 budget as well. So the prices may not change after all.

• WHK9988 on Jan 13, 2012 at 11:23 am

I will keep my money for Audi A6 Hybrid and Audi A8 Hybrid. Hope they will sell at UK price plus 10% sales tax.