Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI gets more kit, price up by RM5k

When we test drove the Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI late last year, we liked the car’s solid build and great drivetrain, but were slightly disappointed at the low spec appearance that wasn’t “as advertised”. One year on, things have been rectified and Volkswagen Group Malaysia is now offering an enhanced Polo that looks better and has more kit.

Volkswagen Polo 1.2 TSI gets more kit, price up by RM5kThe main ingredients at play here are the addition of the 17-inch ‘Boavista’ alloys and fog lamps for the exterior, which means that the actual car now looks like the one in the ads.

Comfort equipment have been added too, including a centre front armrest and the RCD 310 audio system with CD player, USB adapter cable and MEDIA-IN mobile device interface. The latter is an upgrade from the basic RCD 210 set given previously.

With that, the Polo’s price is now RM113,888, which is RM5,000 costlier than before. Read our take on the Polo 1.2 TSI here. For those looking for more performance, VGM recently launched the 180 PS Polo GTI, available in both three- and five-door form.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kambing Gurun on Oct 13, 2011 at 7:01 pm

How about the interior? Especially the blank buttons on the dashboard.

• Can’t compared with India or USA price,did you know that Denmark is higher tax rate than M’sia?and USA petrol price is much more expensive than M’sia! in India VW Polo is NA ‘ Exterior and Engine ‘ check out the headlights coz they are different,India one is white cover and M’sia one is black cover!the most important thing is if u have money u can buy whatever you want if u’r poor u can only afford low tax car like Proton and Perodua that’s all.

• Medic on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:45 am

Don’t want so many blank buttons,can always buy Polo Gti lar…stupid comments.

• Is this considered the Polo Sport?

• Im expecting to have these new polo in a week from now

• maliq on Oct 13, 2011 at 7:24 pm

I just went back from India and i saw a lot of this vw polo.. but most of them are the diesel version.. if compared the price with malaysia, in india it cost about 457000 rupees which if you convert it to ringgit is about RM32,000.. its funny how expensive we have to pay for the same car.

• You cant compare the price directly as both Polo selling in msia and india are totally different. First of all, it is manufacturing in india itself, quality wont be the same, as well as tax structure. Engine and transmission totally different too, we get 1.2 twincharger petrol with 7 speeds DSG. Meanwhile, india spec can choose between petrol and diesel, both are NA engine with output of 75hp, 110nm and 180nm respectively(0-100km/h takes more than 14s), match with 5 speed manual gearbox. Price wise, highest spec which has similar accessories selling at RS 604k and 610k, add up the tax of 10% ++ depends on state, the price come out almost half of the RM120k we paying in msia. Overall, we still get better engine, transmission, build quality (CBU from Germany), and better spec list of course.
      ps: I had been staying in india for 2yrs.

• price correction for Polo Highline selling in india:
        1.2 diesel – rs706,200 (showroom price excluding tax)
        1.2 petrol – rs604,200 (showroom price excluding tax)
        both are 3-cylinder engine, front disc, rear drum brake

• torque on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:25 pm

Sorry bro…our Polo ain’t from German but South Africa. Only the Polo GTi are directly from Germany.

• FYI, The Polo GTI is from Spain, not Germany.

• torque on Oct 14, 2011 at 1:16 pm

If the car from Spain, how do you explain that my AP stated the Polo GTi is from Germany?

• Torque – I don’t usually look too deep into the AP, afterall its completed locally. The best way to check the country of assembly is to look at the VIN, e.g. WVWZZZ6RZCYxxxxxx. This VIN will show the car is assembled in Spain, but got shipped to Bremerhaven in Germany before heading to the East. Cheers.

• Actually, no Polo is made in Germany.

The left-hand-drive Polo is made in Pamplona (Spain), the right-hand-drive in Uitenhage (South Africa). It is also prduced for local markets in Pune (India), Anchieta (Brasil) and Kaluga (Russia).

http://www.volkswagenag.com/content/vwcorp/content/en/the_group/production_plants.html

• torque on Oct 16, 2011 at 2:32 pm

You r right Kent, further investigation with my buddy reveal that the Polo GTi is made from Spain then sent to Germany before ship it to Malaysia. Thanks!

• Wish – you got the engine setup wrong, the 1.2 Polo offerred in Msia is not the twincharged, its a turbocharged – basically a SOHC 8-valve engine with direct injection and a turbocharger. It makes 105 PS at 5,000 rpm and 175 Nm or torque from 1,550 to 4,100 rpm. Cheers.

• i just browse the internet to see the indian version of vw polo.
      found out it has a pathetic specs and its does not even have a DSG or TSI,
      damn..its even has worse spec then a myvi

• They have already offered this upgraded version under the name “polo Sport” few months ago. Nothing new here.

• Good move VGM, polo owner definitely wont mind to spend 5k more to get those attractive accessories for better look, meanwhile adding practicality to daily usage..
    By the way, I got the info from SA which VGM no longer taking order of Polo GTi, all quota had been fully booked, hope HQ Germany allocate more units next year.

• torque on Oct 13, 2011 at 10:31 pm

Yes, its true!! Polo GTi is NO longer open for booking (VW SA told me). Kinda silly that only a month of its launch suddenly they close the door for booking…might as well don’t sell if you couldn’t deliver the goods.

• jalan54 on Oct 14, 2011 at 1:58 pm

You have to understand it is because of the high demand in the worldwide market. That is why they don’t have enough cars. I heard that they’ll be more Polo GTI coming in next year, is just that not sure when.

• Even if you book now, order will come on May next year

• marco_polo on Oct 13, 2011 at 7:45 pm

Now the price diff vs polo gti is smaller d…get the gti or none at all….

• If the diesel Polo offered here, l’ll take the diesel if the price below RM70k. That’s how silly we’re due to protectionism. India’s diesel better than ours.

• confused on Oct 13, 2011 at 7:59 pm

No DRL like Golf?

• alpha999 on Oct 13, 2011 at 8:14 pm

smart move to increase VW employee salary ….

• Downs on Oct 13, 2011 at 8:51 pm

The article doesn’t make it clear whether this will be the standard Polo sold from now on, or whether it is an optional upgrade. So which one is it?

• tokmoh on Oct 13, 2011 at 9:38 pm

Do not like. Such unnecessary price increment, all these things should be an option rather than forcing down the customers’ throat.

Just checked that previously the Polo used 195/55 R15, now increased to 17″, heavier, might affect comfort and fuel consumption slightly, pricier to get replacement, just for show off. Oh sure there’s demand for 17″, but what about those who don’t want it?

• When indian tourists see us berlagak in this tin-can, they will be dumbfounded wondering whatever happened to Malaysians .Coz only the peasants drive it in India……..Das Auto My Ass

• I guess the same way a German tourist would think about Malaysian in Merc or Beemers here also. Most taxis in Germany are these cars. So whats the big deal on people driving the car of their choice? Are they using your money to buy it?

• Johndeep on Oct 14, 2011 at 8:53 am

They also berlagak, a small and old car with driver and the boss reading news paper in the back seat.

Dont bullshif here if you’ve never been to India.

• Medic on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:59 am

A hotel attendent earns $800 rupees/RM 80 a mth,an engineer earns $12,000 rupees/RM1.2k a mth…no need to talk bout the meagre peasants income.Use your brain how can an average joe in India afford a car that costs RM 60k?

If you can’t afford the polo here or don’t like it for whatever personal reasons,just shut the F*** up..don’t simply bash here &there!!!

• Tubik Racer on Oct 14, 2011 at 1:53 pm

how come Mr.Taxo got so many thumb up?
        ini mesti Volkswagen Up! pnya pasal laa….

• goreng on Oct 14, 2011 at 12:48 pm

Ellooooo, altis in thailand just a taxi, vios in indonesia also as a taxi maaaaaa…..here, altis and vios owner berlagak mcm pakai turbo, stiker TRD la konon, dgn polo tercirit nak kejar….huahuahuahua

• sarcasm mode on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:09 pm

sudah tiba masanya kebangkitan truck pikap segment…bring the ford f150 then hantam saja the dugong,citi,korola,polo,wak kempro,bee em dabeliu,mayvi,bieberrari..baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh..huaaahahaha
        okey2…to vw bile nak bw msuk amarok?

• jalan54 on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:03 pm

FYI, This “tin-can” you referring to is euro NCAP 5 stars, the “tin-can” that you driving how many stars??? Or you don’t own any “tin-can” at all???

• Taxo ass peasants they can have better cars anytime maybe better than urs! janganlah kau tengok orang rendak u little useless pondan! Das Auto owners and boss is richer than u this little thing!once again more people and chick love Das Auto than u this little kid :)

• Paying that kind of price for a myvi like car is like calling your regular Walls ice cream Baskin Robbins

• Medic on Oct 14, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Dude comparing polo to Myvi just show how retarded you are.This is the cheapest conti CBU car u can buy in Msia.If you’re not driven a conti car,go test drive one…then hope fully your brain can then evolved a bit more.

• Medic on Oct 14, 2011 at 12:15 pm

But if you can afford to eat baskin robbins,will you ever go back to Walls?Aren’t you just envious of the people lining up to buy their fav baskin robbins ice-cream.Why don’t you just ride a bicycle to work..then can suck on your walls ice cream on the way.

• Don’tlah so angry! maybe you got millions , so you won’t mind buying pisang for RM10 each.
        But there is such a thing called “value”…… In Malaysia people pay Toyota price for a Kanchil, BMW price for a Toyota , pay Lamborghini price for a BMW.

That’s the reason why most people will never even get to smell the smoke of a Lamborghini.
        The government is systematically downgrading its citizens. There is no reason to defend the pricing of this shit volkswagon.

Do you know that volkswagon’s sole agent is SYED MOKHTAR, who also controls AUDI, HONDA, CITROEN, SUZUKI etc etc etc. This fella is working hand in hand with the government to fleece you and me.

Unless you are related to Syed Mokhtar or Najib and gang, you should be apalled to pay more than a 100k for this shit car!

• jalan54 on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:09 pm

May I know what car are you driving? How much are you paying for your cars?

Do you know even if you are driving a national car, you are actually paying much more for what you suppose to get?

Like it or not, the stupid damn tax thing has been there for more than a decade, what can you do about it?

• STOP SUPPORTING THE PEOPLE WHO ARE DOING
            THIS TO
            US. THIS IS A FREE COUNTRY. YOU DON’T HAVE TO VOTE FOR BARISAN NASIONAL IF YOU KNOW THEY ARE SHORT-CHANGING YOU.
            I AM VOTING THEM OUT, JOIN ME….I WANT MORE BANG FOR MY BUCK. TO GET THAT BANG , I SAY LONG LIVE ANWAR IBRAHIM! MAY ANWAR BANG THEIR ASSES FOR FOR DEPRIVING US AUTO LOVERS THE TRUE PLEASURE OF OWNING GOOD CARS

• jalan54 on Oct 14, 2011 at 6:16 pm

Please don’t get me wrong, I’m not supporting BN and in fact I support pakatan rakyat all the while, but I know the fact that this tax thing will never go down in one night even if pakatan rakyat take over.

There will be a lot of damage to the market if they take away the thing or even reduce it too much. What they can do is that they can only reduce it slowly from time to time, so I would say even if pakatan rakyat take over, maybe it will take another 5 years or longer to reduce the tax till a reasonable rate.

So, what can we do now to buy the car we love if we can’t wait for another 10 or 20 years? Work hard and earn more, don’t you agree?

• you are sick taxo…i am for Pakatan Rakyat but I don’t think it is wise to bash syed mokhtar..he is a humble man who helps a lot of poor orphans…so what if he owns vw…you are sick mentally…buat malu penyokong pembangkang je……takyah cakap politik laa kat sini….nak undi pergi undilah….maybe you are UMNO cybertrooper…buat malu pembangkang je

• jalan54 on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:11 pm

Also, no one actually saying that the price for these cars are cheap, what we are trying to say it is reasonable compare to other cars.

• Malaysians is smartest carbuyers. Majority of the new carbuyers thinking that Polo is super luxury beside Vios, City, Altis, Civic, Camry. So justify 4 time of Indian’s Polo price (yes their gasoline engine is inferior but is it significant? If new Polo sedan sports 1.6 NA engine and priced at RM80,000-RM90,000 do you think justify with the technology?).

• We don’t have to compare car prices in Malaysia and India. The Polo GTI is a luxury car in europe too. The GTI is nearly as twice as expensive as the 1.2/60hp there, the 1.2TSI is RM 20.000 more (in one single car market). So don’t blame the Malaysians as most GTI’s and TSI’s are sold in Europe and not here… ;)

• Typical sales man…..

• Unforgiven on Oct 14, 2011 at 10:18 am

They should offer the upgrade with the same price.
    Else the Polo sedan won’t be cheap anymore.

• PoloLover on Oct 14, 2011 at 10:42 am

CKD Polo Sedan is coming and i guess the suggested price is close to current Polo.
    So, add in more accessories to justify the price increase for the current ones.

• paparazi on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:25 am

i know those who wish to own VW car don’t mind and afford to pay for, but don’t you think all this should come together for free?

• jay8393 on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:36 am

Good move by VW Malaysia to upgrade the equipment level of the Polo! Bravo!

• sickofit on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:41 am

Hiyo, why are there so many stupid Malaysians ah? No wonder economy down! Keep criticising about VW and saying good things about Toyota and Honda?

Drive the VW Polo and then you will surely want to buy one, that is if you have money la .. most of the people commenting only driving Kancil but act like big shot! Typical la!

• goreng on Oct 14, 2011 at 12:23 pm

They scare la to test drive, bcoz they dont want to feel that their car like kuda kepang…haahaha

• jalan54 on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:16 pm

Then we should ask how about those who drives honda jazz, the price is almost the same as polo…

• mujahid on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:34 pm

polo mmg lagi power, lagi best….. yet i bought vios interm of practicality….. so i don see the reason why people keep condeming….. suit it wth ur need…

• goreng on Oct 14, 2011 at 10:21 pm

Practicality but lack of safety, ajal maut ditangan tuhan tp ikhtiar kena ada…..

• kau tak hensem on Oct 15, 2011 at 12:02 am

i agree with mujahid..but vios is crap…honda citeh also crap…
            kalau la polo sama rega dgn dugong dan maintenence sama dgn dugong sapa la nak beli bios lg kan?kan? mesti polo lg laku..come on vw…at least rega polo tu kasi sesedap rasa…toyoduck vios mana ada best…design je mcm gundam tapi performance & handling mcm powerpuff girls…hampeh!

• tiadaid on Oct 14, 2011 at 7:31 pm

Test drove the Polo TSI recently, then when time to go home in my Honda City, feels so down…

• RavingRabbits on Oct 14, 2011 at 1:21 pm

Its a marketing ploy to increase the gap between the polo sedan which would be coming out soon and this polo hatchback. Seriously guys, look at the big picture, they are trying to justify the high price they gonna impose on the polo sedan when it launch, 90k? No problem! Since its cheaper than the polo hatchback than 20k!

• jalan54 on Oct 14, 2011 at 1:53 pm

This RM5k is not only for 17 inch wheels and interior upgrade, but also upgrade of safety features.

Previous polo doesn’t have esp, asr, edl, edtc and so on. But now it has all these safety features, which I think it is really worth it!!!

• booger on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:12 pm

If they stop taking Polo Gti orders, then the Polo Gti’s on the road will have very little depreciation, just like the Golf Gti’s when they were first introduced. Especially since its the most affordable Gti in the market today… sigh.

• Botak on Oct 16, 2011 at 7:23 pm

from published rate, it increase RM5K, but the fact of different is RM11K of recently (last week) some VW showroom offer RM6k rebate of previous stock!