BMW F30 3 Series unveiled: four engines at launch, three equipment lines, market debut in Feb 2012

BMW has unveiled its sixth-generation 3 Series in its sedan form, and the F30 will roll in with plenty to offer aficionados when it makes its market debut beginning Feburary 11 next year.

At point of launch, the car will be available with four engine choices, all TwinPower Turbo units. The range topper is the 335i, with its 3.0 litre, 306 hp and 400 Nm mill leading the way. Next is the 328i, which sees the 2.0 litre petrol TPT unit offering 245 hp at 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 350 Nm at 1,250 – 4,800 rpm.

The remaining two are diesel jobs, these being the 320d and the 320d EfficientDynamics Edition. Both run a 2.0 litre commonrail DI variable geometry turbocharged block, with differing outputs – the 320d ED Edition puts out 163 hp, while the 320d offers 184 hp, both at 4,000 rpm. Torque figures are identical, with both offering 380 Nm at 1,750 – 2,750 rpm.

The F30 will come with a six-speed manual transmission as standard, with an eight-speed automatic – a first in this segment class – available as an option for all four engine choices; both the manual and the automatic models are equipped with Auto Start-Stop function.

In spring of next year, three further engines will be introduced for the car. The first is the new 320i, which will be the second model to be powered by the new-generation 2.0-litre four-cylinder petrol engine – figures for the TwinPower Turbo unit are 184 hp at 5,000 rpm and peak torque of 270 Nm at just 1,250 rpm.

The other two are turbodiesel models, the 318d, which will have 143 hp at 4,000 rpm and 320 Nm from 1,750 and 2,500 rpm, and the 316d, with 116 hp at 4,000 rpm and maximum torque of 260 Nm, again at between 1,750 and 2,500 rpm.

Further engine versions are set to follow, including a six-cylinder diesel unit and a slew of xDrive models – the 335i xDrive, 328i xDrive, 320i xDrive and 320d xDrive all-wheel-drive models will go on sale in the summer of 2012. Next year will also see BMW’s first full-hybrid 3 Series making its premiere in autumn with the introduction of the ActiveHybrid 3.

The car is larger than the outgoing E90, with a wider track (front increased by 37 mm, rear by 47 mm) particularly prominent, and increased length (by 93 mm) and augmented wheelbase (by 50 mm) being just some of the numbers.

The increased exterior dimensions also bring about increased interior space, with rear passengers set to enjoy the benefits of extra legroom; there’s 15 mm of additional knee room and 8 mm of extra head room to help things along. Despite its larger dimensions, the F30 weighs up to 45 kg less than the E90, depending on model.

Exterior shape-wise, elements include the new BMW face, with flat headlights reaching along as far as the kidney grille, and an accentuated width, which helps to improve the car’s presence. Aside from the merged headlights/grille design, the F30 replaces the central air intake of the E90 with two larger intakes, positioned underneath the headlights to the outer edges of the front end.

On the sides, highlights include flanks that are shaped by a double swage line made up of two character lines running alongside each other, helping to reinforce the silhouette’s dynamicism, and the back features richly contrasting light surfaces that give the rear end a fresh dynamic perspective.

Interior features include a driver-focused cockpit, angled towards the driver by seven degrees, with the four main circular dials (fuel gauge, speedometer, rev counter and oil temperature gauge) dressed with a black panel display.

The F30 also features more interior storage space – for example, larger pockets in the front doors now mean space for drinks bottles up to one litre in size, and two large drinks holders are now integrated into the centre console ahead of the gearshift lever, among others. Boot space on the F30 is also up, with 480 litres of capacity, 20 litres more than that of the E90. Additionally, 40:20:40 split rear backrests mean the ability to carry longer items.

The F30 will be available in three equipment lines, in addition to the entry-level version. The Sport Line, Luxury Line and Modern Line, as they are called, will allow customers to personalise their rides and adapt it to their individual preferences, with exterior design elements and selection of materials and colours available for each model. Next year will see an M Sport package with special exterior and interior features joining the fray.

The M Sport package includes a lowered M Sport suspension, featuring a 10 mm drop in ride height, which works with firmer suspension and damping as well as harder anti-roll bars, and also featured are 18 or 19-inch M alloy wheels. A further option is an Adaptive M Sport suspension, with electronically controlled damping.

The package will be completed by an M aerodynamics package, which can be specified separately, featuring special body parts and by chrome tailpipes, exclusive exterior paintwork and interior trim to match – the last has sports seats boasting distinctive cloth/Alcantara upholstery, trim elements with blue accent strips, an M Shortshifter (in models with manual gearbox), M door sill finishers, an M driver’s footrest and the new M leather steering wheel.

An electromechanical power steering system EPS (Electronic Power Steering) – which uses an electric motor to provide steering assistance and which only operates the EPS when steering assistance is actually required – comes as standard, though an optional new, purely mechanical variable-ratio steering system is available, offering a more precise response to input and sharper handling. In the case of the 335i and 328i, a Servotronic function for speed-sensitive power assistance is standard issue.

The F30 wears a larger brake system, with lightweight sliding-calliper brakes with large vented discs, and at the front the use of aluminium for the callipers bring a further reduction in unsprung masses. If that’s not enough, one can plonk for the optional M Sport brake system, with aluminium four-piston fixed callipers at the front and two-piston fixed callipers at the rear, replete with blue paint finish.

For wheels, the 335i and 328i run on 17-inch Star-spoke wheels, wearing 225/50 R17 tyres, while the 320d and 320d EfficientDynamics Edition diesel models ride on 16-inch V-spoke or Streamline-style alloy wheels, wrapped with 205/60 R16 tyres.

Alongside Dynamic Stability Control (DSC), which offers ABS, ASC, DTC, DBC and CBC, along with start-off assist, brake drying and an electronic limited slip function for the rear differential under its operating umbrella, the new 3er will come with a new Driving Experience Control function as standard specification on all models – four modes are available for this one, namely COMFORT, SPORT, SPORT+ and a new mode called ECO PRO.

The latter, as its name suggests, supports an extra-efficient and economy-conscious driving style. It does this by changing the accelerator mapping so that the same pedal travel delivers less power than in the standard mode.

Also, in this mode, the Optimum Shift Indicator for manual models and the transmission control strategy for automatic models are modified, so as to bring forward upshifts and to delay downshifts, while intelligent energy and climate management reduces the mechanical power consumption as well as the consumption of electrical systems. All of which enables additional fuel savings, depending on individual driving style, of up to 20%.

Elsewhere, the F30 is loaded with tons of ConnectedDrive tech, from driver assistance systems to infotainment. New to the car is the latest-generation, full-colour Head-Up Display, and aside from this the likes of Lane Change Warning System, Lane Departure Warning System, Active Protection safety package and Advance eCall are items on the list.

Other CD-related tech available for the car includes BMW Parking Assistant, Surround View (with Side View and Top View), Active Cruise Control with Stop&Go function, Speed Limit Info including No Passing Info display and Real-Time Traffic Information (RTTI). Elsewhere, new Bluetooth office functions allow internet-based services such as weather and news, as well as calendar entries and text-based messages (SMS and e-mail), to be viewed in the Control Display of the iDrive operating system and read out via the Text to Speech function.

As with any new BMW, we’re expecting the F30 to debut as a CBU unit first with CKD/SKD to come later. Please enjoy the photo gallery that we’ve uploaded after the jump. They’re of medium res for now – we’ll upload hi-res galleries later as the BMW Press servers become more stable.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• looks like 5 series

• OMG…the rear look like New 5 series…cool…the front also cool…

• Lim Eng Tat on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:26 am

Will this F30 also breakdown ever so often as the E90 (current 3 series)? I got many BMW 3 serie owner friends who affirm the Banyak Masuk Worksyop theory. Its not a theory anymore but a fact. Some of them every month also go into worksyop. Why pay so much for a car when your car has a super high probability of breaking down in the middle of the highway and you have to wait like a “commoner” for the tow truck to come in the blazing hot sun?

By the way, I am not any Audi or Mercedes salesman as BMW fanboys will come up and counter claim.

• coolcar on Oct 17, 2011 at 12:50 pm

Ya right, a hooker will never say they are a hooker. And somemore why all your friend’s car breakdown in the middle of the highway? I will definitely don’t want to be your friend, so bad luck one. All my friend BMWs never once breakdown in the middle of the highway after driving for 6 to 7 years.

• coolcar on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:42 pm

oops..5 of my frens bmw juz got into workshop..maybe u are rite..now i have to save money to buy audi or merc..

• Lim Eng Tat on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:56 pm

oops sorry the above is me, try to disguise coolcar but to no avail.

• coolcar on Oct 19, 2011 at 9:23 am

I hope autobavaria gives us a good bonus this year. Not only do we have to sell cars, we have to defend BMW in online forums. Wah, so hard lah being a car salesman.

• lover on Oct 21, 2011 at 1:29 pm

hahaha,,defend???!!dare to proclaim as defending??so funny..juz few comments consider oneself as hero ar?wake up lar dreamer of beemer

• hahahaha, good comment..those bimmer fan really dumb to consider themselves as hero

• Gajen on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:43 am

buy a merc is you are a rich ahpek,

buy audi if you had a bad life.

• coolcar on Oct 18, 2011 at 4:47 pm

Buy BMW if you are young and energetic.

• lover on Oct 21, 2011 at 1:30 pm

gajen..u are from bangla?

• Gajen on Oct 22, 2011 at 4:29 pm

lover..u from bangla, then you ingat semua orang pun from bangla kah. stupit.

• lover on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:57 pm

eh,how u noe im from bangla?all bangla tot who have audi is having bad life..so u must be bangla..which part of bangla?

• Gandalf on Oct 01, 2012 at 1:10 am

I am a owner of E90 320i Sport for the last 4 years. I never had a single breakdown. Either you are a liar or jealous of BMW drivers since you don’t drive one.

• as usual , BMW doesnt look nice on photo . must see real car only can say it is good looking or not .

• Nice..this will sell well here in malaysia..the current face-lift c-class has a new competitor…

• mr zero on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:27 pm

This is nice, especially the front view.

• dpillai on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:31 pm

Paul

Thanks for the update. You are really super fast. Just caught the live streaming on BMW FB thanks to you.

Looking forward to seeing the F30 in the flesh. Cheers!

• Forget about cheap ActiveHybrid 3 Series!

It will be a 6 cylinders enginer + eletric motor! Definitely not a under 2.0L category…

• TORRES on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:35 pm

Better looking than the f10!!!

• Your mama' on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:36 pm

Meh’. Boring, give me a Passat CC anyday.

• coolcar on Oct 15, 2011 at 10:04 am

This car for the young and dynamic, not a conservative mama like you.

• eh coolcar..passat memang lebih bagus drpd bmw lar..bmw sekarang banyak teruk

• BeemerFreak on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:46 am

is it cuz beember is getting more mahal, so you xleh afford?

• the 4 cylinder passat? gee that kinda money for a 4 cylinder? why not just buy a toyota? same same

• Larry on Oct 18, 2011 at 3:15 am

I owned a Passt. What sold me was the looks. It ended up falling apart after 4 years. Electrical, tubro, radio died numerous times, wouldnt start, on and on. Sold it and bought a Subaru. Also own a 1999 BMW 323. Almost no issues for 10 years, original muffler, battery, clutch….a wonderful car that still looks good and holds up over time. A quality piece of engineering.

• bsnnightrunner on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:42 pm

1st impression… cun yet macho. girls pls dont buy haha.

• Juzztin on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Fast update there, Paul! Btw, I think BMW has a true gem in the new 3 series. Both its exterior and the technologies featured in the F30 are captivating. Really looking forward to its production in 2012!

• car lover on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:43 pm

270K for 320

• mirror mirror on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:45 pm

ah…a bigger 3 series, is this anywhere near the dimensions of the Mazda 626 or the Perdana? The 328i looks interesting, too bad no six pots, or else it will be perfect.

• theanswer on Oct 15, 2011 at 12:30 am

u mean? perdana is a big or small? to me it’s quite small..especially on the inside.

• according too the article, the increased length of 93mm over the 4531mm e90 brings it to 4624mm which is longer than the perdana v6’s length of 4610mm but shorter than the 4735mm current mazda 6.

this new 3 is no longer compact in size.

• policeman on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Why is the front sagging? It needs a facelift!

• Xefron on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:49 pm

as usual,i can only drool when every time the new 3 series model comes out.thumbs up if u are like me.LOL.

• Simon Ng on Oct 15, 2011 at 12:14 am

You are not the only one. Till now, I cannot even afford an E46.

• you got my thumb down because of your “i can only drool” attitude. if you want something, go get it. do something

• Black Dog on Oct 15, 2011 at 12:01 pm

Like stealing someone else’s car?

• usaha tangga kejayaan. ’nuff said

• yeah, usaha to steal rakyat money….i will join B.N so tat i can bcome rich n powerful n owned tis new car!!

• Xefron on Oct 15, 2011 at 7:33 pm

you got my thumb up because i know what u mean :) maybe i should put the word “yet ” but from another perspective, honestly for me it is too expensive.

• kitkat on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:50 pm

i love BMW gear knobs…

• tishaban on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:52 pm

The front needs some getting used to but then again pictures don’t do justice. It’s not as handsome as the F10 at first glance IMO.

I wonder if BMW Malaysia will price it cheaper than the outgoing E90. The Euro has fallen significantly in the past few years plus most of the range are now 2.0l engines.

• James Anderson on Oct 15, 2011 at 10:02 am

it will be more expensive than the current version. has car prices gone down over the years??

• thomstho on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:52 pm

The bonnet does look sporty. Nice,

• This is me new year resolution. Can’t wait for local launch.

• khylie555 on Oct 15, 2011 at 12:11 am

This is what we call Lagi Best.

• In these photos, the car looks very good, very moody in a sense of way. I approve it, hehe!

• Nice!! …the interior does look very unmarket and comfortable…better than the e90.

front design looks good to me, while the rear is just a cut and paste of the f10 5 series.

i wonder how much will the entry level 320i cost…260k maybe?

• yawwwn….zzzzzzzzz..

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 15, 2011 at 1:22 am

Baby 5 er..

• It doesn’t look too bad. I don’t really like the ‘tahi mata’ though. lol. makes the headlights look weird.

• hmm.. i still prefer the current e90 lci.. somehow the new f30 looks less elegant

• vince on Oct 15, 2011 at 4:21 pm

The new F30 have many type (sport line,luxury line ,modern line)

• everything is nice but why traditional parking brake?

• FFVIII-2 on Oct 15, 2011 at 1:15 pm

It is still a sporty rear drive car la. You can do drift and slide with the traditional handbrake

• calvin ng on Oct 15, 2011 at 6:32 am

Is it me or the car getting older…

Its still sporty… but dont look young… i got a little feeling like bmw moving into merc zone… the a pillar look too straight and rhe hood look too flat low… does not show the muscular of the bmw hood…

I bet audi a4 still rule the day…

• agreed, bmw opens itself up to competition with the i4 2.0 engine – another trespass and we’re going to move on to porches.

• enrico on Oct 15, 2011 at 8:00 am

Driving experience control, lane change warning system and lane departure warning.g system are copied from the current Audi a4.

• Hackerz on Oct 16, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Agree. A4 has had these technologies since 2 years ago.

• yup..can find bmw copy lots of feature from audi and merc

• bimmerfreak on Oct 17, 2011 at 1:51 pm

im a salesman of bmw..the car cost rm289k for 320i..but this car is not as good as previous model according what test drivers said..

• BeemerFreak on Oct 18, 2011 at 1:48 am

Everybody copied the I drive system. THE END.

• catdog on Oct 15, 2011 at 8:51 am

macho nice handsome…. dunno can afford or not? can anyone tell how much we should allocate money for car, saving, and house?

• Merc=Real Euro on Oct 15, 2011 at 8:54 am

The front is ugly….period…just like the 5 series…
    I hope this model is more durable and reliable compared to the last model.
    Again with BMW that is a wishful thinking eventhough you pay a premium price…

• FFVIII-2 on Oct 15, 2011 at 1:18 pm

At least is much better to drive than the motorized supermarket trolley called Mercedes Benz

• RJ282 on Oct 15, 2011 at 2:45 pm

I agree. I’ve a W212 and it’s the biggest piece of crap I’ve ever driven or been driven in. Whilst am more of a VAG fan nowadays, I’ll take this over the A4. No more crap mercs for me ever again.

• Merc=Real Euro on Oct 15, 2011 at 3:58 pm

call it whatever….merc is at least more durable….
        BMW is too busy coming out with gimmicks wheN THEy can spend more time on testing all components properly…

• mookie b on Oct 15, 2011 at 5:05 pm

no larr…audi is better..

• TurboMan on Oct 15, 2011 at 9:10 am

Where is that straight six egnine?

• you make me sad brother – 328i with a 2.0 i4? talk bout shooting yourself in the foot by opening yourself up to competition.

the i6 is the smoothest most well balanced engine ever created by man – sad day for us bmw guys

• sammo on Oct 15, 2011 at 9:10 am

oh no…the front looks is not nice. it looks like a like a person biting on a chopstick across his mouth ^^

prefer previous,

• kecohlebih on Oct 15, 2011 at 9:48 am

ni.. berapo hargo ni… pakcik nak boli… boleh trade in beska bughok pakcik ni tak ?

• coolcar on Oct 15, 2011 at 9:53 am

I think C-class and A4 have to gulung tikar already.

• i bet u cant afford these german brand b4..so don jump the gun saying audi and merc not good..u are juz a typical malaysian like katak di bawah tempurung..audi and merc are much better than bmw..

• surewi on Oct 17, 2011 at 9:52 pm

Here come the leg wobbling Audi’s salesman again, their trademark: look down at people.

• Jean Raven on Oct 15, 2011 at 10:31 am

They finally got it right looks wise..both front and back..And with an excellent engine specs to boot too. This will be a hit!!!

• Bob_B78 on Oct 15, 2011 at 11:52 am

It could have looked better if the head lamps weren’t connected with the front grill.
    Better buy the latest C class ler…..

• my dad works in BMW.. he said the current models are the ‘cost-cutting model’ and he said it is more costly to produce i6.. hence replace with turbocharged instead of i6. the later i6 models, it will be very expensive

• my dad works in BMW, he said the current models are the ‘cost cutting’ model. it is expensive to produce the i6, hence replace with turbocharge… the new i6 model will be priced expensive.

• disappointing new design….better get the last batch e90 LCI now….

• ugly new design…. especially the front headlamp and the pop-up i-drive screen.

• Now this is difference. 2 litre turbo charged rear wheel drive, nice!!!! Thumbs up!

• Maserati on Oct 15, 2011 at 4:55 pm

awesome car! This is so going to be one of the best sellers again!

• surewi on Oct 15, 2011 at 6:15 pm

So, as merc salesman, die lah no more bonus for us in the next few years.

• surewi on Oct 17, 2011 at 2:03 pm

trying to be bm sales man but auto bavaria said no budget for hiring me as their sales dropped a lot due to better merc..audi..lexus and VW..

• stephen on Oct 15, 2011 at 8:09 pm

if that iPHONE dock support iPHONE 4S. First thing come to my mind.
    we can have the feeling like we are talking to the car.

just like KNIGHT RIDER :P

• Trend on Oct 15, 2011 at 11:22 pm

bmw is follow the market trend to move the “signal” light to side mirror…

• venven81 on Oct 16, 2011 at 9:32 am

oh ya they have. those bimmer freak who said “no la we would never follow merc la bla bla bla”, wot r they gonna say now i wonder… hmm.

• lover on Oct 21, 2011 at 1:28 pm

they gonna say ”bmw is the first who design it!!”but juz dropped the plan afterwards..its merc and audi who are followers!!” this is bmw fan character..

• Aman Shah on Oct 15, 2011 at 11:48 pm

this is what called lagi best…not like tht stupid myvi wth bad handling..nway…2.0l turbo wth 245hp? damnn kalah new mercedes ni..but comfort x blh lwn merz la

• Johndeep on Oct 16, 2011 at 8:32 am

Comparing F30 with Myvi is plain stupid. How do you feel if I were to compare my R1 with your Modenas capcai?

• Brian Jong on Oct 16, 2011 at 2:24 am

Wait for M3 coupe and M3 sedan

• spyrers on Oct 16, 2011 at 5:53 pm

Can’t wait to see it on our shores. Hopefully, there is no price increase. Eyeing the 320d. Superb!

• amirad on Oct 16, 2011 at 11:37 pm

I noticed that most 3 series are driven by makciks and gals. What’s with this 3 series. Even wife also keen on 3 series. I’ve driven (someone else) 320 and 325 M Sport and the drive esp. the 325 was excellent. A six speed manual beemer which will most probably not find its way here sound tantalising.

• http://paultan.org/2011/10/14/bmw-f30-3-series-unveiled-four-engines-at-launch-three-equipment-lines-market-debut-in-feb-2012/077-f30-fb/

this pic, doesn’t it look like the Jap Mitsu/Proton Inspira!?!? aiks!

• coolcar on Oct 17, 2011 at 12:37 pm

You mean because both of them have 4 tyres?

• yatlao on Oct 17, 2011 at 7:51 pm

to be honest..bmw really lagging now..but no worries..the malaysia has many die hard fans who still stick to ugly bmw..if bmw give them poo poo they will still think its tasty to eat..

• headlights looks like audi.. which looks like inspira… hahahaha

• farizY on Oct 18, 2011 at 9:11 am

Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeettttttttttttt!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• nice to see for a change on Oct 18, 2011 at 11:38 am

Yahoo! Manual transmission as standard. It’s so nice to see this for a change. As a person who prefers to drive manual cars (ya ya, yes even in KL traffic), I’ve gotten really fedup with how the distributors here neuter the manual choices down, in response to our “local market demand”.

• albag on Oct 18, 2011 at 4:24 pm

i think all it needs is to add a number plate in the front, to complete it with a ‘mouth’… then it will look nice…

• walao..not interested in this design..fugly

• yatlao on Oct 22, 2011 at 4:36 pm

‘not interested’?? but after 7days you still dig the back page to put comment, you must be dumm.

• hey yatlao..pls mind ur word..im not regular reader of paultan, juz bump into this blog so i read frm latest to next several page..use ur brain b4 talk, if no brain then shut ur mouth..when brainless ppl talk, they like barking..whats wrong if i don like bmw..come shoot me?

• Sorry I am actually a leg wobbling audi salesman pretend to be a not regular reader.

• ilove1m on Oct 21, 2011 at 1:25 pm

wont buy this over rated car..toyota better..at least more reliable

• yatlao on Oct 22, 2011 at 3:23 pm

Stick with your vios or Innova.

• iloveim on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:53 pm

yup i will, as i love car im driving..i bet u are juz driving proton while drooling when see bmw and complain bout ur own car dumbass

• love them or loath them, it is still a beemer no matter what! i started out with a 318i in the early 1990s..good quality car but underpowered of course..since then i had the privileged of sitting in the 318i, 320i, 328i and recently my sister’s 323i and another sister’s audi a4 2.0 quattro..all are good vehicles with their own merits and demerits..i myself drive a c200 k..the bmw is a nice car to drive, the mercedes is a nice car to sit in and the audi is a nice car to own..horses for courses as i always say..it is sad that they no longer offer non-turbo normally aspirated in-line sixes in the lower range as the engine is real beauty as i also own a 5 series..guessed due to growing pressure to conform from the environmentalists as well as other social groups, they have no choice but to accede to current trends and styles to downsize and meet newer emission control requirements..externally the car looks good, a shrunken 5 series no less..but the interior dashboard looks a tad fuzzy and incohesive with the foldover dashboard near the front passenger side..otherwise not a bad job..

• Niki-Z on Jan 23, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Good job, Paul. I’ve been looking for a 325 for weeks but the ’09 onwards E90 seems a bit pricey to spend on a used car. Better settle for a brand new F30 and the 328i met all the criteria for a mid-age couple to ply KL-KB-KL frequently. Looks doesn’t matter much but the handling is. Tired of commuting with the S Class (for just one or two person) due to its bulk, but it still offers better choice than my W211 or W124. The S Class handles better. Can’t wait to test drive and buy this beauty. The wider tracks and longer wheel-base surely provide more comfort than the E90.The handling doesn’t have to be razor sharp like the E90, as long as it can take us to KB in four hours or less.