Group Lotus plays entry level, forms factory kart team

Lotus is entering the kart world, and with this move the company becomes the first car manufacturer to have a presence at the entry level of motorsport, great for early talent spotting.

Competing under the ‘Lotus Racing Karts’ banner and forming part of the Lotus Motorsport division, Lotus Racing Karts will field a factory backed team, operated by Jefra Racing out of its headquarters near Treviso, Italy. With a racing pedigree spanning over 40 years, Lotus hopes that JR’s invaluable experience and leadership from Team Manager Franc Jerancic will form the basis of a truly competitive team.

The talents spotted and recruited by Jerancic will have all the latest homologated material at their disposal, including two new chassis models ‘Colin C30’ and ‘Jimmy C32’. Lotus Racing Karts will enter CIK-FIA international karting events for KF and KZ categories and the World Karting Championship for KF1 category.

The production of karts and components is licensed by Group Lotus to Wildkart, specialists in aeronautics precision engineering since 1996 and manufacturer of karts since 2002. Today, Wildkart is regarded as an authority in kart chassis and components, providing services and solutions to many karting suppliers and brands. Lotus Racing Karts will unveil their 2012 karts at the annual Autosport International event in January 2012.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Just great , so this is what Lotus come out with the millions bail out money pump in by Proton. Who to say we’re not suckers

• MoFaz on Oct 14, 2011 at 1:08 pm

Petronas also ventured in go-kart & motorcub racing to find new talents in motorsports. Vettel also “born” from go-kart. why so much fuss with Lotus’s venture??

• Expatriate VN on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Ya, being blind supporter’s attack dog, will attack anything and everything considered as bashers. Petronas also built Putrajaya, Petronas Twin Towers, Built engine, F1, bail out cronies bizs during 97/98 economics crisis, etc for the sake of one old man ego and legacy ……….

• MoFaz on Oct 14, 2011 at 3:59 pm

you stupid immigrant, do you understand the argument or not? it’s not about who build what, it’s about what they do for the future of the sport.
          it’s important to find new and young talents in sports. how many people can drive like Vettel? how many people can kick a ball like Robinho, Roberto & Ronaldo.. how many people can play rugby like Jonah Lomu?? the quest is to find them early before any other team, nurture them and polish them to be the best in their field. If majority of Malaysians think like you and condemning non-stop stupidly, no wonder we still can’t find replacement for Dato Lee Chong Wei and Dato Nicol David yet.

• tikus on Oct 14, 2011 at 6:41 pm

Just spend millions of Ringgit just to build up young talents….Mofaz u r damn right…Sportman r base on real talent not just dump $$$ and be come pros.Better spend in on school and other welfair.

• xptmsb on Oct 14, 2011 at 6:55 pm

school already free la bro…

• eichang on Oct 14, 2011 at 7:55 am

mini lotus…..

• Can we buy this? Sure its going to be cheaper than saga..nice :D

• SeriousSam on Oct 14, 2011 at 9:46 am

What lah..

Every type of motorsport event they want to participate
    But nevermind meh; “daddy” got money maaa lot of money

LoL

• xptmsb on Oct 14, 2011 at 12:38 pm

daddy money for they son.. ini nama kasih sayang.. bila daddy sudah tua, anak daddy lak jaga daddy… daddy mana yang tak sayang anak… betul kan ??

• SeriousSam on Oct 14, 2011 at 1:10 pm

the problem is both son and daddy live under some one else money

LoL

• squawk on Oct 14, 2011 at 10:17 am

Good move to seek out new blood.

• LE buruk on Oct 14, 2011 at 10:34 am

berjuta invest last2 kluar go cart ja…..ni pon x tentu champion lg nih…

• xptmsb on Oct 14, 2011 at 12:40 pm

kalau tak masuk, mcm maner mau jadi champion..

• MoFaz on Oct 14, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Lotus dah keluarkan macam2 kereta dalam 2-3 tahun ni. Indycar, rally car, evora, dan macam2 lagi tahun depan.

• Well this proves that Lotus is still a leading tuner.
    however i hope that Proton / Lotus will not ” bite off more than it can chew” !!
    Please remain focused on the restructuring plans cos at the end of the day we
    don’t want Lotus to be a ” Jack of all trades and master of NONE company ” !!

• PakAbu on Oct 14, 2011 at 11:57 am

This sounds like a branding exercise more than anything.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 14, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Another “divert attention” and syiok sendiri venture! Why suddenly this idea come out since recent posting never mentioned it is part of “restructuring plan” which is on schedule to achieve it success. Never mind that Lotus is liabilities to P1’s sugar daddy! Tax payers monies mah …………….. P1 blind supporters attack dogs will come out and crap with “lotus handling” in shitty car and still don’t bother whether Lotus is liabilities or assets!

No wonder Idris Jala from PEMANDU got one time commented about Bodohland will become bankrupt by 2019!

• xptmsb on Oct 14, 2011 at 12:47 pm

ppl like you will make this country bankrupt by 2019.. all negative.. they have something to do..

and you?

• MoFaz on Oct 14, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Another “divert attention” and syiok sendiri statement from thin VN Immigrant. only the bodohans would agree to this stupid immigrant who mentioned that he paid 5 figures income tax eventhough he works overseas. that’s bullshit. i don’t have to pay even a single cent income tax to Malaysia eventhough i earn 6 figures anually in SG.
      yes, Idris Jala mentioned that Malaysia would become bankrupt but he didn’t even mentioned Proton or Lotus. knowledge without wisdom will not be usefull for a person like you. your brain is just like a computer harddisk, you can store the data but you don’t have the ability to process the data. bodoh sombong.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:41 pm

Being directly benefits from largese master evil and part of “cronies elite clubs supporters” attack dog. If “1st gear” attacked mode not effective, then go to “2nd gear” divert attention tactic, if still not working, then go to “3rd gear” mode – try to fool and confuse around………….. If go for “4th gear” – ha ha, …. you will get from me “bloody nose” from “Killing with a Borrowed Knife” or “Stabbing the Enemy with his Own Knife”……

Idris Jala just mentioned on the macro level, if he furnished the list at micro level (which he don’t need to do so) or like our beloved Tengku Razaleigh mentioned in Undilah video – …. “tapi ada macam-macam masalah” or “but there are many problems” …….. then ha ha ha ….. so who is so idiots mindless like MooFart to be specific but end up being sue for defamations, or charged under repressive laws!!!!!!

• MoFaz on Oct 14, 2011 at 6:20 pm

you can’t even explain why you pay income tax here while your source of income is overseas, and you can’t even answer the question i asked you on AP issue. you just don’t understand a single thing. see, you’re just diverting attention and creating false or fake facts to support your stupid idea. now you’re putting words into Idris Jala mouth.
          stupid immigrant, why do you always look at things only from one side? Proton and Perodua cars are taxed too. as i mentioned before, more than 50k Saga already sold this year, tax for Saga is around RM12-13k, that’s more than RM600mil gov income from Saga alone. Even if govt give R&D grant to Proton amounting to RM100-200mil, tax revenue they get from Proton cars are still alot more than those grants.
          Without P1 & P2, govt would actually earn more from import, excise and sales tax on import cars. But, with P1 and P2, tens of thousands could have jobs. 20,000 people employed directly in P1 & P2, thousands more in vendors and OEM suppliers.

• Johndeep on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:13 pm

Should start checking who is this moron, always call our beloved land as such. Idiot

• Expatriate VN on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:49 pm

Let me educate you brainless – Bodohland is refer to those corrupted, cronies, rent seekers who benefits from Kleptocracy “fraud control” to enrich themselve at the expense of rakyat, also included those idiots mindless like you, if you consider you are one of them …..

I love my country call Malaysia, Bodohland is not mentioned in our constitution and not recognise by UN. Do you get it ……. pity your pea size brain.

• When the stupid Vinnan mentioned Bodohland becoming bankrupt by 2019 from Idris Jala, I dont think he ever meant Zimbabwe or USA. Now hes trying to damage control. Brainless fella.

Now tell me who’s the idiot here.

• Johndeep on Oct 14, 2011 at 5:11 pm

Not only me idiot, your word has made every Malaysian angry. Don’t act arrogant here by telling others brainless. Everybody is seeing you as idiot and anti everything come from Malaysia.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 14, 2011 at 6:18 pm

Pea brain, but try talk like you are true blue Malaysian …….. as your word represent all Malaysian …….. very pathetic.

• Johndeep on Oct 14, 2011 at 3:03 pm

I appeal Paultan to screen through such comments that instigate uneasy feelings that may ruin the harmony in our country. He intentionally created such words as a joke that by far telling the whole world that Malaysian are plain stupid.

Everybody should make a fuss of such attempt.

• Only a true pendatang will call Malaysia as Bodohland.
      Dey macha, how long has it been since your ancestors came to Malaysia?

Deserve to be yelled.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 14, 2011 at 6:15 pm

So you pendatang when did your ancestors come to Malaysia? Are you calling Malaysia as Bodohland? Then you better migrate back to the country of your anscestor!

You deserve to be kick out! talk is cheap……….

• gaduh sama ini Expatriate VN pun tarak guna.. otak dia sudah block sisi sana.. takrak nampak cahaya punya org.. sekarang dia mau kata org lain cakap inimcm “Are you calling Malaysia as Bodohland, Then you better migrate back to the country of your anscestor!.” .. tapi ini ayat “Bodohland” hanya dia saja yg cakap.. kita rakyat Malaysia tarak pernah ada sampai itu hati mau cakap ini ayat “Bodohland”.. kalau org yang berfikiran bertamadun pun tak sampai itu hati mau cakap ini ayat..

Expatriate VN.. saya ingat la.. awak pergi mana2 pun takrak negara didunia ini mahu awak la.. inat lg aa itu mahluk asing pun tak mau awak punya..
          itu PR pun tak mau awak la, memalukan PR sahaja,

• thebosssedangbercakap on Oct 14, 2011 at 12:06 pm

sell it cheap to malaysians la. give special discount for malaysianputras.

• syabas Proton on Oct 14, 2011 at 1:05 pm

Last year Lotus Racing F1
    This year Lotus Racing Kart
    Next year Lotus Racing radio-controlled 1:8 racing car

• go-karter on Oct 14, 2011 at 2:57 pm

hope this is for sale..the only lotus i can afford tho..

• mizzuddin on Oct 14, 2011 at 6:27 pm

get a life laa VN…

feel real sorry for u… must be real lonely…

• ezracopters on Oct 14, 2011 at 8:11 pm

wow..

most of professional racer was born thru go-cart racing.. Lotus is seeding and infesting Lotus-aura in the back of every possible champ mind. Brand Lotus – the real racing brand hahaha

• SeriusSAM on Oct 14, 2011 at 8:11 pm

wow

Expatriate VN currently PMS

LoL

• Bujang Lapuk on Oct 14, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Good to see Lotus looking to the grassroots for the next generation of racing drivers.