MINI Coupé launched – only in 1.6 Cooper S form, RM250k

BMW Malaysia today introduced the all-new MINI Coupé – the car arrives in a single engine form, in this case the Cooper S guise. No surprises with the 1.6 litre turbocharged car’s output figures, with 184 hp at 5,500 rpm and 240 Nm at 1,600 to 5,000 rpm, with overboost taking this to 260 Nm at 1,730 to 4,500 rpm.

It’s the brand’s first model to adopt a three-box body structure, with a strikingly stepped rear end setting it apart from the rest of the MINI family, with the low-slung silhouette and expressively styled “helmet” roof adding to things. Speaking of the roof, it’s painted in a contrasting colour as standard; a new take on Sport Stripes is among the additions available as an option.

Elsewhere, an active rear spoiler, fitted for the first time on a MINI, is also integrated in the boot lid. The spoiler pops up automatically when the Coupé reaches a speed of 80 km/h, with the four-part control mechanism returning the spoiler to its rest position at speeds of under 60 km/h. This visually striking mechanism serves to reduce lift at the rear axle, optimising both aerodynamic balance and grip levels of the new MINI Coupe.

Inside, the Coupé – which sits on 17-inch Conical Spoke alloys – features typical MINI style cues, among them the large centre speedo and a rev counter positioned directly behind the steering wheel, and the interior comes finished in a Carbon Black shade, replete with a Black Chequered interior surface.

Oval recesses in the roof liner help create extra headroom for taller drivers; the absence of a rear seat bench means you get more in the way of boot space – the boot features a 290 litre capacity, with a large, high-opening tailgate and a high through-loading system that can also be opened from the driver’s or passenger’s seat.

A host of exterior paint finishes are available for the Coupé, eight in all, these being Chilli Red, Pepper White, Spice Orange, Midnight Black, British Racing Green II, Eclipse Grey, Lightning Blue and White Silver, while the roof is painted as standard in a contrasting colour, with a choice of Jet Black or Pure Silver to pick from.

The retail price (on the road, without insurance, with the MINI Tender Loving Care service package) for the MINI Cooper S Coupe is RM 249,888.

There’s also an optional MINI Connected package, which allows iPhone users to stay connected when on the move. An onboard monitor allows passengers to receive RSS news feeds as well as Facebook and Twitter posts, displaying them on the on-board monitor and have them read out using the MINI Connected voice output function.

Included in the RM14,988 MINI Connected package is a 10-speaker, 480 watt DPS amplifier Harman/Kardon HiFi loudspeaker system and Radio MINI Visual Boost with a 6.5-inch high-resolution colour LCD screen.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• anak malaysia on Oct 21, 2011 at 10:57 pm

that’s awesome

• Bennett on Apr 25, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Totally agree! Going to own one this year christmas my dear friend! Yippe!

• Thomlee on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:10 pm

Can’t believe it launched this fast, I think recond will sell soon and would be half the price. It looks great!

• whatthe.. on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:13 pm

Who the F will fork out RM250k for this s***??! I don’t understand

• in few days u’ll see this piece of s*** on the road.. believe me.. like the 4door mini, i saw it 3 time in one day just a couple week after it launch.. now i saw the car almost everyday.. soon we’ll see this car also on the road..

• HirumaKecil on Oct 23, 2011 at 10:32 am

Bye Mini… Hye RCZ….

• BeemerFreak on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:18 pm

Wow that is quick, now launch the new M5 and 528i quick too

• thebosssedangbercakap on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:56 pm

For what, malaysian market only caters recond car, new cars are overly taxed.

• HirumaKecil on Oct 23, 2011 at 10:51 am

Bising2 tax mahal pon bersepah gak bm 5 ngan merc e-class second kat kedai used car… Camry, accord,bm,merc many of them just 3yr and kena jual oredi… Orang Malaysia ni bising je xde duit… tapi keta tukar 3-5 tahun sekali….. Thailand kereta murah pon still asia tenggara malaysia gak paling banyak keta baru register tiap2 tahun…. Indong rakyat ramai, ada kilang toyota lagi kat sana… still jugak kalah ngan malaysia…. FD2 type r negara lain mana ada… malaysia ja ada selain jepun…. Kenapa honda bawak masuk kat malaysia ja? Sebab dia tau dia boleh buat untung maaa…. NAtas jalan pon bersepah keta mewah.. Sapa yg dok bising2 tu bukan apa.. cuma marah sebab dia x mampu beli ja… kalau seekadar mampu pakai myvi tu pakai la Myvi jgn nak beli City pulak.. tu yg jadi masalah tu… Kebanyakan rakyat malaysia ni Sanggup berhabis duit nak beli kereta… Beli kereta pulak nak yg mahal2 ja… Nak murah macam mana lagi? kalo Vios jual 50k nanti orang bising lagi Myvi ngan persona kena jual bawah 40k pulak.. Semua tau nak komplen ja… Usaha la lebih sikit… Kalo sesapa yg cakap “aku dah usaha tapi x mampu gak nak beli BMW sebab mahal sangat” hah.. orang macam ni la yg dikatakan x reti nak ukur baju dibadan sendiri… pakai Myvi pon ok ja.. pakai persona pon apa salahnya… pakai kancil pon selamat jugak kalo bawak elok… Yg jadi masalahnya ada kancil drive macam drive myvi, ada myvi drive macam drive civic, ada civic lak sibok dok cucuk bm5… Yg bm 5 lak dok x puas hati kat M5.. Ohh.. Macam tu bila nak sudah..,. memang la rosak keta tu… kalo ada persona drive macam drive persona… kalo ada myvi tu jgn la dok drive macam civic…. Tu yg keta dok rosak tu.. Bukannya keta xdak kualiti tapi kita yg selalu lupa tahap keupayaan kereta sendiri… Kancil tu untuk drive 100-110 ja.. yg dok tekan 130-140 tu memang la barai…. kalo pakai Persona tu drive 140-160 tu dah kira bagus dah tu.. ni dok pi cucuk civic 180-190 memang la jahanam… RX8 pon kalo dok drive macam drive Zonda rosak jugak…. renung2kan la…

• SimulateMan on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:28 am

Komen ko mmg terbaik bro. Aku kat highway tu jenuh duk kena high beam dgn geng2 mayvi. Bukanya aku tak bagi laluan, tapi sabar la sikit sbb aku nak potong lori. BM5 pun tak high beam mcm tu. Dowang siap slow down dgn berhemah, pas dah setle aku motong, dowang pecut balik. Apa nak jadi la dgn dowang nih.

• Apsal marah sangat ni bang?

• farizY on Oct 25, 2011 at 10:31 am

Sabar bro…sabar….;p

• LOL!

• statistician on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:40 pm

I em thinking of getting a blue one but honestly, their blue colour looks weird ! So I think Persona is still better !

• will-kill-for-exclusivity on Oct 21, 2011 at 11:45 pm

ugly and awkward

what next

the Mini submarine, pickup and amphibious..?

• TurboMan on Oct 22, 2011 at 2:50 am

I agree. Not a big fan of the shape.

But well, to each his own!!!

• Bulukun on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:53 am

The shape is nice what. Even looks tougher in that shape. I like.

• Using this kind of price, better buy BMW

• not another mini again!!

• Thumbs me down if u dare... on Oct 22, 2011 at 1:22 am

How come there are no teasers or info lately on cars coming to Malaysia? They just show up in surprise Lol.. Tomorrow the crz, next month a 3rd gen smart …lolz

• Jeremy Chia on Oct 22, 2011 at 7:02 am

I must be the only one who thinks this is ugly!

• thebosssedangbercakap on Oct 22, 2011 at 8:22 am

anyone should paintbrush this mini with a kain pelekat, because it looks like it just got slammed by a fat elephant just like the kain pelekat brand, cap gajah duduk. damn you must be toying around if you buy this car.

• Hadi75 on Oct 22, 2011 at 8:22 am

BMW is milking the MINI name…

• sammo on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:15 am

looks like a mini wearing a cap (reversed)

• RAMZI HASSAN on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:22 am

BEFORE COMING OUT WITH ANOTHER MODEL, MINI SHOULD OVERCOME UNSOLVABLE PROBLEMS WITH THE CLUBMAN. I SENT MY MINI CLUBMAN TO AB GLENMARIE FOR THE 3RD TIME DUE TO RAIN WATER LEAKAGE VIA THE AIR BAG PILLARS WITHIN THE WARRANTY PERIOD & WAS TREATED LIKE DIRT!
    I LIVE IN KB & AM NOW STRANDED IN KL LEFT HI & DRY WITHOUT ANY TIMELINE WHEN MY CLUBMAN CAN BE RETURNED. ITS BEEN 4 DAYS NOW (SENT WED 19OCT, NOW SAT 22OCT) AB GLENMARIE SAYS THEY WILL ASK SOMEONE FR BMW TO LOOK AT IT ON MON 24OCT.
    MORAL OF THE STORY: DESPITE ALL THE FANCY BRANDS & SUPPOSEDLY WITH CUSTOMER-CENTRIC TAG LINES, THE PEOPLE AT AB GLENMARIE ARE INCOMPETENT LOOKING AFTER THE VERY BASIC REQUIREMENT OF CUSTOMER CARE. I.E. IF U CANT FIX A CUSTOMER’S ITEM WITHIN A REASONABLE PERIOD, U MUST AT LEAST PROVIDE A REASONABLE ALTERNATIVE DURING THAT FIXING-UP PERIOD, SO THAT THE CUSTONER CAN GO ABOUT CARRYING OUT HIS OWN BIZ.

• Ramzi – you can ask for a courtesy car, thats what they gave me, so you dont need to wait there. if you need the MINI Manager or the MD email, let me know, and you can ask them directly. Of course if you deal with the clowns @ AB Svc Ctr, they wont have the balls to loan you a car. They are afterall just workers, and do not want too much trouble….

• RAMZI HASSAN on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:05 am

TQ Kent, even d Mini mgr x pickup my calls. Wasted lots of energy taliking to Nordin, Prem, Customer Care, etc., asking for courtesy car which they replied none! These very people are backed by Alfa, Hyundai, Ford, Car rentals, etc & yet they wont walk the xtra mile!
        Pls let me hv the MD ‘s email or Dato Lawrence or Dato Bakke. Tqvm.

• TENGKU ZAWIAH on Oct 22, 2011 at 1:01 pm

Pricey given d sub-std car with wet problems & lousy after sales.

• damn sometimes AB drive me up the freakin wall, I feel your pain brother!

• Mr. Kent, the problem is not the ABC service centre no “balls”. It is due to the MD and big big boss squeeze their balls. Haha.. Mr. Ramzi Hassan should bring the car direct to the MD and have meeting. Ask him firmly to get replacement. Else ask the MD exchange his car to you..ahaha

• statistician on Oct 22, 2011 at 5:05 pm

In this case, better you trade in your MINI for a Proton.

• DAS AUTO on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:21 pm

buy VW Golf!!!!!!! :0

• German Hell on Oct 23, 2011 at 11:29 am

VW is the same or worse. They just wanna sell cars.

• statistician on Oct 23, 2011 at 4:05 pm

Hi Paul this guy is using my nickname statistician, pls ban him

• RAMZI HASSAN on Oct 22, 2011 at 4:23 pm

i am really considering my next line of action: a drastic, impactful one!

• Irfan on Oct 22, 2011 at 1:31 pm

I was seriously thinking about having a Mini. But, after this info, i must think again & again & again……
      Let us know of the outcome, will u?
      I think u should form a royal society against cruelty to customers! RSACC!
      How about that? I will join & become yr supporter.
      Let’s us all make our voice heard! After all, we are all customers to/for each other.

• Irfan on Oct 22, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Must think many2 times b4 buying one after this incident. I m pretty sure that there are numerous other instances where these clowns short change customers.
      How about forming a society aptly called ‘Royal Society Cruelty Against Customers’ RSCAC?.
      U hv 1 Ardent RSCAC here! After all we are all Customers for/to each other!

• RAMZI on Oct 26, 2011 at 6:40 pm

Hi Readers, just to update guys/gals. Early morning, Tue 25Oct: i went & met a newly-assigned service advisor & sales manager who both turned out to be very helpful & customer-centric. I requested to see my baby in the workshop & it turned out that somebody in the assembly plant somewhere in Austria forgot to complete the piping system for the rain-water run-off. This caused the water to seep thru the 4 Airbag pillars of B & C pillars!
      It’ll take at least 2 weeks max 3 weeks to get the parts & fix. As i was thoroughly disappointed, i was ready to just get the car out of the workshop & drive off & maybe return when the parts are available. God Almighty! A lady returned at that instant & saved everybody a lot of pain!
      I was loaned a spanking new 7000+km 323i & told BMW/Mini to take their time.
      Howzat ???

• Thumbs me down if u dare... on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:28 am

It just doesn’t fit with a particular lifestyle..

It’s a two seater, with a boot space as big as sedans.. It just looks weird too – a pure mini body with a contrastingly designed top.. I’d go for the original gen 2 BMW mini.

Price wise is ok, ppl would still buy it, but I doubt it would be as popular as the original since this is more of a niche product. But its still a subcompact coupe, can get a 2 seater roadster with more bang for bucks..

• Kyoshooo on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:29 am

This is nice! Especially the blue colour one. Like!

• Bulukun on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:49 am

Ok, this is what we call CAR!

• KL Stray Cat on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:00 am

Tough call between this and the RCZ Pug !!!!

Both would be something the wife would drive :-)

• TENGKU ZAWIAH on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:12 am

What is WORST than paying a HIGH price for a sub-standard Car accompanied by poor, shoddy after sales-service??? It’s high time that the MDs take a good, hard look at the micro-level!
    Dato’ Lawrence, Dato’ Bakke, please listen to the voice of the Customer.
    Regards, Tg Zawiah Tg Ibrahim.

• Khoikoi on Oct 22, 2011 at 11:40 am

Yummy…

• droll on Oct 22, 2011 at 2:24 pm

overpriced piece of metal. ugly, and auto bavaria has overpriced it lah.

• zaff1984 on Oct 22, 2011 at 2:27 pm

i think this car is unique, chic and cool. IMO the market for this car is a niche, maybe targeted for women buyer… just me 2cent.

• skiborne on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:11 pm

Scirocco’s better

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 22, 2011 at 9:34 pm

buy rcz better

• Ford Fiesta far better than Mini Coupe

• LE_buruk on Oct 23, 2011 at 3:52 am

lot of MONEY for a MINI car…..only crazy rich uncle can buy this…

• I like the design..it is not beautiful..but it is considered as provocative design.. RM250k for two seat?? That is an awful lot of money for me..but to those who have deep pocket..” I want One!!”..anyway i believe in Malaysia, based on our culture, practicality would dominate the buying sense… therefore i think Mini Countryman has more appeal..

One more thing about this Cuntryman..do u know that there no emble of “Countryman” at this cross suv…??

• Despite for the fun and joy of driving, I believe the very original Mini was built for affordability, now with high price tag like this it is totally wrong.

• Yup. The original was built for the man-on-the-street (or woman for that matter). It was to be AFFORDABLE and space efficient while packing a decent economical package.

The Mini of today is rather maxi already and I guess due to the marque’s hallowed name, is capitalised upon by BMW and positioned as a premium brand. More money in their coffers from those willing to pay for what was supposed to be a budget brand!

The Minis today are nice cars but sadly, have left their original formula once the marque was bought by BMW. But let’s look at it from another angle. If BL or Rover Group knew how to make money from Mini, they wouldn’t have sold the brand to BMW right?

• i think minus the tax, this car could be an alternative to saga for most malaysian

• You need to be mentally very stable to buy this, no?

• taboogen on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:59 am

so the spoiler will pop up at 80kmh and come goes down back at 60kmh.. so what happened between 60kmh – 80kmh…. it got confuse?

• KL Stray Cat on Oct 24, 2011 at 10:12 pm

What it means is that it will be activated when speeds reach 80km/h…and will stay open until the speed drops to 60km/h and below.

• DArkerMarker on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:27 pm

it looks like it just turn-turtle and had its roof collaspsed inward…..

With that kinda money, there are better cars out there…..

• farizY on Oct 25, 2011 at 10:29 am

enough is enough, Mini (BMW) should have stayed true to the original mini, but sadly, they did not…..only one word describe this car, UGLY……might as well get a Nissan Silvia S15 for RM80k………

• sfssd on Oct 26, 2011 at 1:40 am

Good God, what would they come up next…….-_-“

• Bennett on Apr 25, 2012 at 7:32 pm

A best coupé i ever seen, a best christmas gift for me this year. Thanks you MINI!

• RaphaelR on May 08, 2012 at 7:06 pm

This is an awesome car. Handling is superb, as always with a mini. Its really fun car to drive and i just love it.

• RaphaelR on May 08, 2012 at 7:11 pm

An awesome car! Handling is superb, as always with a mini. A super fun car to drive. The only down side is for this price range, you can only fit two people. And if you’re any taller than six feet, the roof will feel a little cramped. But for me, if you have the money and you really love it, why not. Its a great car and i love it.