Marco Simoncelli dies in Sepang after MotoGP crash

Honda rider Marco Simoncelli died today in a horror crash during the Malaysian MotoGP in Sepang. He was pronounced dead at 4:56pm today at the SIC medical centre.

The accident happened just minutes after the race began where the Italian’s bike went into the path of Colin Edwards and Valentino Rossi on turn 11.

Everyone who saw the incident knew this was not going to be good when it was observed that Simoncelli’s helmet got knocked off in the collision. He suffered serious trauma to the head, neck and chest.

“When our medical staff got to him he was unconscious. In the ambulance because there was a cardiac arrest they started CPR (cardiac pulmonary resuscitation). Immediately in the Medical Centre, with the help also of the Doctor of our staff at the Clinica Mobile and local Doctors, he was intubated and it was possible to take off some blood from the thorax. The CPR was continued for 45 minutes because we tried to help him for as long as we thought it was possible. Unfortunately it was not possible to help him and at 16:56 (local time) we had to declare he was dead,” said MotoGP Medical Director Michele Macchiagodena.

Colin Edwards, who was also involved in the crash, had a dislocation of the shoulder and had it fixed under anesthesia. According to Macchiagodena, he is doing fine.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Freddie Leong on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:29 am

To Marco,rest in peace. You will be greatly miss.

• alldisc on Oct 24, 2011 at 4:07 pm

he will not be forgotten for making motogp more fun to watch. pretty aggressive i must say but that is simply racing.

RIP.

• Prismo on Oct 24, 2011 at 7:46 pm

yea… just before the crash, Marco look like pushing harder to defend the 4th position from rizla suzuki rider. Maybe the other reason the front tire slip at turn 11 was due to he ride aggressively using hard compound front tire meanwhile the others rider was using medium. When i saw Colin and Valentino crash into him and the helmet was coming off, I’m shock and I said to my wife “oh boy that’s was a bad sign”. He will probably dead but i’m still hoping that he will be okay, but…

Rest In Peace Marco Simoncelli. His nickname was “Super SIC” and he’s died at “SIC” (Sepang International Curcuit) . He is my favorite rider and has a potential to replace Rossi in the future.

• Typical 3rd country happens :(

• exJAVANESE on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:40 am

Requiescat de pace marco simoncelli

• tokmoh on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:40 am

RIP Marco.

Just wondering, is this the first death in Sepang for any event held there?

• jay8393 on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:44 am

Yup, first since SIC opened in 1998.

• izzat on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:46 am

1st fatality in SIC since 1999..RIP Marco~

• Firza on Oct 24, 2011 at 10:23 am

i tot Sepang Drag Challenge pernah ada fatal crash….hemmm…..must be a rumor……

• MotoGPLover on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:09 am

1st fatality in SIC
      1st in MotoGP since it’s introduction in 2002

• jay8393 on Oct 25, 2011 at 9:30 am

Wrong info there. There was a fatal crash in 2003, a Japanese guy riding for the same team as Simoncelli as well.

• 2nd fatality in motogp
        2003 – daijiro katoh

• tokmoh on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:55 am

Thanks guys. This is the darkest day for motorsports and for SIC indeed, just so fresh from the Indy crash which costed Wheldon’s life.

I just found out in the paper today he’s the same age as me, which makes it even sadder. To think that he’d only lived as long as I did, and just how much more he could’ve achieved, is very sad.

But you died doing the thing you loved despite its risk, and for that, I salute you as a man!

• BMW POWER FOREVER on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:44 am

whoever that clicked “happy” is an awful awful person. goodbye simoncelli, rest in peace.

• Yeahjamal on Oct 24, 2011 at 6:01 am

True indeed…the most disgrace thing is when they “booed” after the race was canceled..when the red flag is up.. its a bad thing..and throwing bottles on the track does not change anything… please show some respect … as a malaysian and a racing fan i am ashamed… .. awful sportsmanship displayed

we have lost a world class raider… dear marco… may u rest in peace..you will be missed..

• theanswer on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:13 am

i understand the fans reaction. yes, they should respect marco..but it was a motor race. the risk is there. in 1994 san marino f1 race..aryton senna and roland ratzenberger died..but they never canceled the race..schumi won the race eventually.
        Moto gp should think about fans or spectators too..they paid a large amount of entrance fee.

• donno on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:55 am

The problem is not everyone at te track that day knows what exactly happened. The spactators were kept in the dark of what is going on. My friends in UK told me that they know it was cancelled a full 15minutes before the spactators at the track. Most only know by using 3g internet. Alot of people are still waiting in their seats at 5.30pm. Why can’t the organisers announce by the PA system the race is cancelled because of the unfortunate crash and ask the crowd to pray for the best for Marco (as at that time it was still not sure he will survive or not). I’m sure all the spactators will understand…

Godspeed Marco, we will miss you.

• 99chan on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:51 am

this? is the only reason i watch motorsports. otherwise its no different from croquet.

• autojohndoe on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:31 am

you still happy if one of your family facing the same tragedy… well, i hope you still will…

• klguy on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:19 am

99Chan, u ar an @ssh@le.

• HirumaKecil on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:46 am

U sure don’t have a heart… R u Android????

• tokmoh on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:58 am

Bah, he’s probably among those Chinese who just watched the kid being ran over by a van, twice. And eventually the kid died in the hospital, such tragic loss. Those bystanders are terribly disgusting people.

• hondasan on Oct 24, 2011 at 2:19 pm

allo…racist its here…

• odi862 on Oct 24, 2011 at 3:11 pm

I don’t think tokmoh meant to be racist here hondasan. It was a tragedy that happened in China not so long ago that involved a little girl that was ran over by a van. More than a dozen passerby just walked passed the poor kid before someone call for an ambulance. I hope there is no such thing happen in Malaysia.

• MoFaz on Oct 24, 2011 at 5:18 pm

dude.. the incident that tokmoh mentioned was in China… okla, specifically China chinese. ok?

• tokmoh on Oct 24, 2011 at 6:29 pm

For your reference of the incident I’m talking about:

http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/10/21/us-china-girl-idUSTRE79K0HM20111021

• john die on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:18 pm

duduk bawah tempurung ke??its not racist la u idiot…

• SaveTheEARTH on Oct 24, 2011 at 10:51 am

Dig a hole 99chan, you need a hole squeeze you head into this as@h@le. Like Sadam Hussien and Gaddafi they put their life into a hole to hide.

• neutral on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:50 am

to 99chan:
      you are cold blooded bastard. the hell is openning the door for you!

• Estimosis on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:57 pm

Those who thumb ups 99chan, pray you not going to face what simoncelli family, friend and fan had faced….then you know..

• this is the dumbest statement i’ve ever heard..

• 99chan on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:54 am

this? is the only reason i watch motorsports. otherwise its no different from croquet.

• Kazuhito on Oct 24, 2011 at 1:00 am

RIP Simoncelli.

• ken dan on Oct 24, 2011 at 1:21 am

This new good for the people always racing one………

• speed kills…

• Ryan (Fan of Motogp) on Oct 24, 2011 at 1:52 am

Marco Smioncelli is a great & agressive rider, is talented, but today is a really shock day for me and others of his fan in the world, Paul, he serve Repsol honda team only effective in 2012, 2011 still remain as a Honda Gresini Team rider, this is after Daijiroh Kotoh, who also died in the motogp race in year 2003 suzuka track, same team, Honda Gresini.
    When the SIC and dorna annouced to cancelled the race, the small part of Malaysian Fans is doing some uneducated and stupid reaction, throw the mineral water bottles, umberlla, KFC pack & pizza hut to the race track & shouting “we want the race”, Dorna will not simply cancelled the race if without any serious matters was happend, i’m a fan of motogp fan for more than 15 years, after the suzuka Daijiroh Katoh accident in year 2003, today i can feel something really serious accidents was happened, because i saw from the big screen from SIC, i pray for it, dont repeat the 2003 accident, but around 5pm, SIC was annouced that Marco was pass away after the accident, I just sit from the frandstand opposit of Marco pit.
    For those small parts “Malaysian fans” is really doing the embrassing jobs, everyone in pit or garage are get shock’s after the reaction from those “fans”, inclusive of Casey Stoner him self, Repsol Honda Crews, Toni Elias, the Dorna camera man behind men, the Aoyama japanese fans with me, the black shirt guard from SIC (garage area), the umberlla girl, the VIP whose sit in pit / garage area, the dorna or FIM officer is just feel really really shock from the reaction from the “Malaysian Fans”, I see from my own eye from my area, those who throw the “sampar: like competition, see who can throw as far as possible, if can throw inside the race team garage is consider as “hero”, really embrassing and uneducated (yer zhong), some of them is from secondary school or those mat rempit.

• ttooyyoottt on Oct 24, 2011 at 3:24 am

I was there,, not only Malaysian throw rubbish to track,, Japs, European tourist oso throwing thing,, not their fault,, they dunno anything,, the sic didnt announce what happen.

• SIC announced around 5.00pm, later got 1 marco fan cries in the grandstand infront of me.

• LP560-4 on Oct 24, 2011 at 2:15 pm

Although you don’t know anything, why should you throw things?
        It won’t change anything.
        Please be civilized and matured.

• hanna on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:43 pm

totally agreed…we dont have to throw things to show our angry…
          only stupid people do that…

i was there watching all the monkeys attitude.. people are dying and they behave like damn s**t

• Johnny on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:18 am

And u r what? Some “cultured European fan” r u? Ur branding those people as “Malaysian fans” was equally as bad. They can be anyone. They might be Singapore fans, Indonesia fans, anybody. There is no need for u to label them as “Malaysian fans”. Yet your assumption and stigma calling them as “Malaysian fans” reflect a much worse attitude in u.

• u are the 1 of them, i believe you have join them to throw the rubbish to the track, shouting and try to destroy the grandstand chairs, pull the organiser flag and shout “we want the race” , r u there? have you open your blind eye to see what was happening during the red lag? “why put your name “Johnny”? cultured of european is you, if you are Malay sure have malay name, if you are chinses, sure for no “johnny” name, if u r indian also without “Johnnny” name. if u not there and dont know everything, just keep quite.

• khylie555 on Oct 24, 2011 at 3:56 pm

You are totally racist.How can you proves that only Malaysian throwing rubbish?And your English is full of mistakes,so it means that you are not from Europe.You are not that civilized either for making such remark.Kurang Ajar betul.

• Ryan (Fan of Motogp) on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:45 pm

Are u there at SIC? you are the real monkey who like king of monkey, ganster, unmatured, uneducated, shoutingmay and destroy the grandstand chairs, may be your life is full of rubbish, that why you keep protect those idiot monkeys, i can understand.
            My english is bad, i wont denied, but you can understand and then make “janaham, sitan, hantu punya comments to attack me, isn’t it? that why…true motogp fan will not act like monkey like you, if u are the 1 of them, then it really make a big difference.

• Johnny on Oct 25, 2011 at 3:25 pm

Did i mock ur name u f**k? U acted like some civilized “Ryan (Fan of Motogp)” yet ironically ur statements are all just the opposite.

• Ryan (Fan of Motogp) on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:41 pm

Born like human, talk, act & behave & like animals, dog and mouse is more higher grade then you if you want to compare, simply like to f..k, howcome already spoilt like this?……no words.

• Wallstreet on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:29 am

I believe Malaysia is only one of very few countries that we can see this kind of stupidity. Not only they are obviously uneducated, they are the moron at the highest level. The same which I saw on Youtube on what happened where I saw whole incident of everyone asking the guy to remove his MU shirt in a Liverpool vs Malaysia game. For me the whole bunch including they guy in MU shirt are moron. As a Malaysian I really feel embarrassed.

• epl lg lembap lg xbest on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:07 pm

both loserfool & manure fans are useless..better support la liga laa..
        anyway rip marco…………………

• arch747 on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:41 am

Dude,
      check the fact first before comes down to conclusion like this. it was the organiser’s fault. they never informed the fan what eaxtly is happening. only after 30 minutes, the organiser announce that the race is cancelled;
      1) without telling the real reason, either simoncelly is seriously injured or he died, and
      2) even the the speaker system is bad, u cant actually catch what was he talking. luckily i was listening to the GP radio.

I can understand why the fan react in such a way. ticket cost them rm135 and coke as high as RM8 per can. u got to watch 1 lap of motogp? btw, like i said before, if the organiser tell the fans clearly whats happening either thru a clearer speaker system or just a simple message on the big screen which is lcoated all over the area, it would have been different.

just dont make a conclusion like that without checking your fact first. EVER.
      p/s: RIP Marco… :-(

• HirumaKecil on Oct 24, 2011 at 10:12 am

Also consider that many fan come all around the world… They spend so much money for airplane, hotel and food.. suddenly the race was canceled after 2 laps… of coz averybody upset and angry.. and they dont know yet that marco was deid… If they know maybe it will be difference….

• I think we can all appreciate the frustration from the lack of info. Everyone was irate I’m sure. But to actually and deliberately throw rubbish onto the track.. that is STILL an uncivilzed action. Still UNJUSTIFIED. Still backward mentality.

• Fully agree. It is crisis time after the crash and the fans expect to be told pronto??? Just because the fans paid, does not give them the right to throw into the tracks. I just hope that the clean up crew did not miss anything. Else, the rubbish may cause another accident next time.

• tokmoh on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:11 pm

From what I read in the paper, it’s said the organiser cannot announce his death until his family had been informed.

Perhaps, the organiser needs to refund the tickets to the fans. This sure reminds me of Formula 1 US GP 2005, when only Ferrari, Jordan, and Minardi raced, as the rest of the teams using Michelin tyres unable to race due to tyre failures which can be dangerous. Eventually, Michelin admitted its their fault, and paid for the compensation. But this being Malaysia, plus this being a racing incident, I’m unsure whether the spectators will be compensated at all.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2005_United_States_Grand_Prix

• Feast on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:38 pm

The organizers are probably in the dark as well as they still need to wait for the outcome and make a decision on the race. Even if they delayed the announcement, it does not warrant those hooligans to throw things. One thing is obvious, organizer only stopped race for a very good reason which is out of their control. Will they just cancel the race because they can’t wait to get to pub for some beers? I see those who throw objects are no different with gangster punching a guy for not giving him the service he paid. Sad to see this is happening in Malaysia.

• You are absolute right, the organisers are to be blame for not announce the whole thing after freak accident otherwise the fan would understand real situation. RIP Super SIC.

• HirumaKecil on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:51 am

When Daijiro died i’m crying coz he is my fav rider…

• Daijan is my hero too, forever “No.74 Movistar Honda Gresini”.

• ya lar… organizer should inform the fans. Who are motor GP without fan??! .. even if they cannot inform about the death, they should have inform that there was serious accident involving who and who… dont keep the fan in the dark!!

• gavin on Oct 24, 2011 at 2:21 am

in slo mo looks like he had already passed out before veering into the path of the other two motorcycles

• Any body saw what actually happened to him before hit by Ed? Or did he make a mistake and try to recover?

• Kokopai on Oct 24, 2011 at 7:48 pm

Look at this clip
        http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/othersports/motorcycling/8844269/Marco-Simoncelli-dies-in-MotoGP-crash-in-Malaysia.html

• Mat Mitsu on Oct 24, 2011 at 2:26 am

RIP Marco…

• First class facility with 3rd world mentality I believe below than that..thats why.

• dzulx on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:56 am

Wonder why you put blame to SIC?

• awg1031 on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:57 pm

what 3rd class mentality has anything to do with this? does this mean your 3rd class mentality can’t digest this situation or even the above article? so sad with your way of thinking..

• Verne on Oct 24, 2011 at 3:53 am

Anyone knows what happened exactly before the collision? Why was Mraco so low slung on his bike?

RIP Marco. It’s a sad day for MotoGP and racing.

• colin v on Oct 24, 2011 at 5:11 am

saw it from home, heard the crowd too. very unhappy but then in was told by a friend who was there, the organiser should have explain in plain local language on the situation and most Malaysian will not reacted that way if they know how serious it was. Bear that in mind, some of them don’t follow the sport that much, and for the tickets price SIC is selling, expect the rowdy crowd at the grandstand. Really sad, couldn’t imagine he had to go that way.Heartfelt for Edwards & Rossi, bet this will taunt them forever…. purely racing accident. RIP Marco

• Prismo on Oct 24, 2011 at 7:02 am

He’s was my fav rider. RIP Marco.

• jul2305 on Oct 24, 2011 at 7:14 am

The actions from some of the crowd really embarrass Malaysian’s as a whole…All the Boo’s, shouting, monkey noises, bottles thrown onto the track… It should be understood that if a race is canceled, something serious happen and we ass humans should understand..But sadly,we still have a long way to be a civilize society….
    Marco, may you RIP…God bless…

• Double thumbs up…the same group of monkeys will bang table if their food is served late….

• MrDDR on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:32 pm

In this case they will bang if their food not be serve at all

• Ryan (Fan of Motogp) on Oct 25, 2011 at 12:13 am

monkey get lapar without panana..i saw the monkeys use leg to bang the chairs, and act like hero……ai….

• Ex-biker on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:22 am

RIP Simon, u will be greatly missed. One of the most talented, exciting & promising young riders in these recent years. The Moto GP will never be the same without u.

• Vincent on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:52 am

RIP…

• buskerhatesTnH on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:55 am

RIP…. i was there.

sad to see malaysians behaving like bunch of moron by throwing bottles and cans into the track…

• sammo on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:15 am

RIP…another death within weeks…sad

• Master Pain on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:19 am

The only italian who can replace valentino… Rest in peace, marco

• lazyf on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:32 am

Rest In Peace…

• This is a high risk sport. Anyone in this sport should always anticipate this kind of accident, hence there is no shock or surprise unless this happened in a world chess tournament.. then you should be shock and surprise..

• arch747 on Oct 24, 2011 at 9:44 am

Dude,
    check the fact first before comes down to conclusion like this. it was the organiser’s fault. they never informed the fan what eaxtly is happening. only after 30 minutes, the organiser announce that the race is cancelled;
    1) without telling the real reason, either simoncelly is seriously injured or he died, and
    2) even the the speaker system is bad, u cant actually catch what was he talking. luckily i was listening to the GP radio.

I can understand why the fan react in such a way. ticket cost them rm135 and coke as high as RM8 per can. u got to watch 1 lap of motogp? btw, like i said before, if the organiser tell the fans clearly whats happening either thru a clearer speaker system or just a simple message on the big screen which is lcoated all over the area, it would have been different.

And oh, its not a ‘small parts’ of Malaysian fan. those who show their dissatisfaction at the grandstand facing facing the garage pits were streched from the starting gridline all the way until the last garage pit of the last 125cc team. I know coz II was there sitting somewhere in between.

just dont make a conclusion like that without checking your fact first. EVER.
    p/s: RIP Marco… :-(

• Wallstreet on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:55 pm

No matter how much you paid, its nothing compare to a lost life. Whatever happen, IF you are a CIVILIZED good citizen, you should not be throwing things in ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. I really mean ANY CIRCUMSTANCES which include not getting the expected services somewhere. If I did not get the services I paid, I will make a complaint but in whatever situation except for self defense, I will never get physically involved. We just should not bring ourselves down to the level of acting so uncivilized.

• thirtyone on Oct 24, 2011 at 3:08 pm

The organisers cannot inform the crowd as they need to inform family members first. Only the father was there. The rest of the family needs to be informed first, whichever part of the world they are in. Imagine if immediate family members heard of the death thru TV news. Fans already know that there was a very serious accident. Then there was a race cancellation – Put 2 and 2 together, you get your answer, don’t need all the explanations that the crowd is clamoring for. The organiser not explaining the situation IS NOT AN EXCUSE for such humiliating behaviour. Period

• Hiii….all,

I agree gavin said if you watch closely Marco Smioncelli looks like he already passed out or had fainted and fallen off his bike before crossing into the other riders path…..please look at the video carefully……

Malaysian fans didnt know that Marco had died. When the organizers cancel the race. The organizers need to investigate what had happend. This is serious……Its very unfortunate that Malaysian acted that way…………RIP Marco…..

Just my 5 sen opinion

• Bob Tahar on Oct 24, 2011 at 10:46 am

Maybe he already feeling uneasy before the race and losen the helmet strap… I read everywhere… everybody shcoked how the helmet came off… it shouldn’t happen…

In this kind of accident… should the helmet remain intact???

• i think he wearing helmet bigger than his head..i read from somewhere…he wear bigger helmet due to his afro hair style

• dzulx on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:01 pm

he passed out before? but he didn’t hit anything..
      strange coz he was still holding the bike although losing balance…
      Wondering why he was losing control in the first place? tyre not hot enough?

• Metal guru on Oct 25, 2011 at 8:30 pm

Why didnt he let go. I wondered if the Rizla knocked into him on the way through but he looks frozen – half off the bike as it careens into Edwards and Rossi. Tyre compounds matter. A great talent. A lovable character. Too young to go. And long to be remembered.

• oligopoli on Oct 24, 2011 at 1:48 pm

looked like he passed up before rossi and edwards hits him. his body already on the ground but still he hold onto his bike. i was puzzled why he did not let his bike go, as he is experienced riders. maybe something happened, we don’t really know.
      RIP marco. condolence to your family.

• donno on Oct 24, 2011 at 10:11 pm

Why everyone thinks that Malaysian MotoGP only malaysians go and watch?

It is the only MotoGP round in SEA period. I was there on the unfortunate weekend, there was a lot of spectators from Indonesia, Thailand and Singapore, not to mention throngs of westerners.

If you were there at the K1 grandstand, the atmosphere was fun and lifely. We did the “wave” one after another, among us we can see huge groups of Thai’s and Indo’s with their matching t-shirts…

It only got unruely when all of us were kept in the dark on what is happening… It was only the second lap, and not all of them saw what happened on the wide-screens, as the accident happened on one of the more remote sections of the track. Some did not even realise there is an accident that is causing the red flag situation.

The organisers didn’t need to announce his death, just explain the circumstances of what happened to the spectators thru the PA system, i’m sure all will understand. To the spectators the race was cancelled without any reasons nor explainations given to them. Not all spectators know the sport in depth, when i chatted with some of them, some don’t even know who is marco, and nearly everyone thought the premier class is still 500cc!!

• rider on Oct 24, 2011 at 10:00 am

RIP ……..simon
    m’sian fans that throw rubbish is a disgrace to the country. Nothing is more important than a life. Thou they paid to watch the race, but remember, you can’t buy a riders life back to life……..

• they didnt know what was happening larr .. organizer should have inform the fan in the first place. every year they struggle to sell race tickets, but when fan are there, they were treated like a second class citizen. they have the right to know everything happened during the race, they bought tickets for that!.

razlan, please take note!

• Wallstreet on Oct 25, 2011 at 1:47 pm

So you are implying that even if they didn’t know what’s happening, the got the right to throw rubbish into the track??

• Apparently he skidded off entering turn 11 and while sliding to the left, his front tire suddenly grips back the tarmac, causing him to veer to the right onto oncoming Edwards and Rossi. Truly tragic.

You can finish your race up there. RIP Marco.

• mosar on Oct 24, 2011 at 10:14 am

1. The organizer, race stewards & directors doing a good job of red flagging the race immediately.
    2. Cancellation of the race needed to be done. Its the correct decision.
    3. The organizer should have announce the situation better to the undiscerning spectators. For seasoned follower of any motorsports event, they know if a race was redflagged & cancelled, a fatality had happened, but for casual viewers, they wont have any idea about it.
    4. Sepang should have a better PA system.
    5. The organizer should’ve have explained the gravity of the situation, perhaps explaining the rider is in critical situation. Having said that, I think its not proper to announce the death of Simoncelli on the PA.
    6. The spectators should have behave better. Throwing rubbish on the track wont do any good other than to emberassed themselves.

• mosar on Oct 24, 2011 at 10:35 am

its a sad day..i was there..and my thought lingered all through the night thinking about the accident..felt sorry for Simoncelli, his family & his team..

as what the others had said, when he lost control & the bike veered to the middle of the track, its a little odd that when his body didnt seems to has any movement at all..like he’s already passed out or black-out…maybe be need to wait until the full investigation concluded…

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Oct 24, 2011 at 10:48 am

As usual, SIC is sleeping on the job, offering little information to the paying public. Anyone who has attended a race in Sepang knows how uncomfortable it can be with the heat, traffic, parking, etc. This could happen anywhere, not only in Malaysia. Yes, it was a tragic accident, heartfelt condolences to Simoncelli’s family, but if you didn’t know about it and was told the race is cancelled, how would you feel? Such an unfortunate event….

• im not the motor GP fan… from the video posted in PaulTan u can c Marco’s Bike is white color, he is in front (1st position) at 0:02 of the video n follow by Blue n Red…
    but after the video zoomed in to Edwards n Rossi (at 0:07 n 0:08) …u can c the Blue n Red bike aldy overtake the Marco…i personally think something is happen to Marco b4 the accident happen…

RIP Marco

• Prismo on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:11 pm

nope.. Marco at 4th. 1st, 2nd and 3rd position was an orange/red repsol honda. Behind Marco was a blue bike of rizla suzuki at 5th position. 6th was edwards and 7th was rossi. When Marco was skidded, rizla suzuki rider be able to avoid and overtake him but unfortunately edwards and rossi was unable to avoid and rammed into him.

• SaveTheEARTH on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:02 am

People respect respect respect. RIP Marco.

• Leonardo on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:15 am

A talented and sometimes ‘wild’ rider. Reminds me of Hamilton in F1. I guess every rider knows the risk every time they are on the starting grid.
    Even with the most expensive helmet, it got ripped off from his head. For the everyday rider, using the normal fiberglass helmet, some don’t even bother to tie/buckfle up their helmets. Cannot image what happen in an accident.
    RIP Simon.

• Carl Wong on Oct 24, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Die la. Your own life is your own responsobility, if you don’t value it no one else will, and don’t just blame others but the ignorant rider which could be yourself. On our roads a lot of riders still don’t know how to wear the ****ing helmets correctly, how much does one helmet cost anyway? I don’t even know. And I have never seen the riders show signals correctly more than 3 times in my entire life so far. Even under aged children ride motorbikes, and their parents don’t bl**dy care either.

• Rip… My 1st time to motoGP, n I saw this just happened after 1st lap… Well, I will still supporting this game for sure

• how the hell his helmet knocked off during the accident?
    i think a thorough investigation are needed to prevent these ever happen again

• Sonic Boomz on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:40 am

boom! headshot!

• neutral on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:48 am

R.I.P…

for those whoch click ‘Happy’: i think we shouldn’t call you human being anymore… bxxtxrd maybe…

• pelams on Oct 24, 2011 at 11:50 am

even with rider gears + helmet, he RIP. speed kills.

• rally_fan on Oct 24, 2011 at 7:33 pm

speed doesn’t kill. you can die falling of a bicycle going 5km/h and hitting your head on the kerb.

When you consider the speed, and the amount of riders falling off in MotoGP all these years.. the actual number of fatal accidents is very rare. I believe all safety measures have been taken as much as possible.. but this is motorsports, and yes, people do die in accidents from time to time. The important thing is how motorsports goes on in future and what lessons it learns from these incidents.

• stephen on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:40 pm

There’s a lot of argument about why Fans react badly. I believe it do bring a bad image of our country to those race team member. Those who is on the pick get shocked by people demanding a race will not care which country the fans come from. They will just say people from Developing country or Region still need a lot to learn about the rule in moto racing be it F1/ MotoGP etc…..

since its a norm for someone to start enjoy a sport. They should know the sport well enough. When a race was cancelled… it must be having something bad that either risk the life of the racer like bad weather or something seriously bad occur. Yes, those who pay a lot feel bad for it but if they understand the rule of the game. It will be better to understand what is going on. The key is just that educating the fans about all the rules is still a long way to go even the sport have been around so many years since the days they started motoGP at Shah Alam Batu Tiga.

Anyway I do agree if so many comment the PA system is bad…they better fix it. It seem to be a norm in Malaysia. Whenever I am in a train/ LRT/ transportation hub…. it always have this problem. Its either the user love to mumble or the sound was so blur you cannot get what is going on. Plus they should announce it promptly why since this is a serious incident.

Not saying those who ill manner in the track are 100% responsible for those incident but its just all party. Hope SIC learn it and fix the problem for future.

• Mojak on Oct 24, 2011 at 12:48 pm

SHAME MALAYSIAN MOTO GP SEPANG

• exJAVANESE on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:07 pm

dude…shit always happened no matter where…we can’t expect that will be happened though…
      Anyway, Ciao ‘SuperSIC’..Rest in peace brother…

• Lemans24 on Oct 24, 2011 at 1:02 pm

I was there yesterday at K1 grandstand. the mood was cheerful until the accident. everyone was kept in the dark what is happening. the tv screen is so far away so couldn’t see any notifications (just some blurry images). heck we don’t really know what happen. i waited for one hour hoping for the race to be restarted. and angry fans starts to throw bottles. i really fear for everyone sitting at the front.

SIC people was very stupid. why don’t they just announced of what happened through the speakers. i didn’t know about simoncelli has passed away until i arrived at carpark and that after i phoned my brother at home to watch tv!. people pay to attend the race and this kind of stupidity must be avoided in the future.

Motogp has lost one star yesterday..:(

• I was there…i dun mind about the cancellation of the race & got my RM BURNED away.. but what that i can say SIC / Organizer communications with fans failed badly…we’re kept in DARK what really happen…whether if there’s any re-start or not or situation of Simon… speaker @ Flea Market also functioning much more better with higher quality of sound…
    Press / Media just wrote whatever they like without accessing what’s the roots of the probs…cheap marketing to increase their circulation…to SIC / Organizer -PLEASE BUCK UP-….my condolonce to Marco Simoncelli family & team members..we’ve lost a great rider but not his charisma on tracks…RIP Simon 58 (1987-2011)…

• Pak Abu on Oct 24, 2011 at 1:30 pm

Not die peacefully but succesfully die….. Now we have first victim since SIC open. Why need to cancel race? Org mati tetap dah mati. Org yg hidup kena race sampai menang lah. Stupid organiser. Tiket yang kami beli bukan utk tgk org mati. Nak tengok sapa menang.

Now who going to pay back our money?

• fuyo.. on Oct 24, 2011 at 3:08 pm

very stupid pak abu!!!!fucking u damn shit asshole!cbe ko yg mati kat situ,pastu bia org sume sambung race lggr ko.

• Stupid remarks by u….only think about your RM….very disgusting….shame on you…

• Najib bin Tun Rojak on Oct 24, 2011 at 4:14 pm

ur the one who should R.I.P
      Damn u…

• seriusSAM on Oct 24, 2011 at 5:17 pm

wow..

I never thought tanjung rambutan mental hospital allows their patient to go online

• Amende on Oct 24, 2011 at 5:27 pm

Pak Abu cakap memang la senang, tapi ni melibatkan soal keselamatan keseluruhan. Race event sekarang ni mengutamakan keselamatan, safety is paramount pakcik. Zaman2 pakcik dulu memang la orang mati pun kemungkinannya race tetap diteruskan.

Bila dah ada kawan kita yang mati di trek, kita nak sambung race pun serba salah, perasaan sedih ada, terkejut ada, macam tu la perasaan riders yang lain. Organiser nak teruskan race pun tak berani sebab faktor2 tu mungkin menyebabkan fokus rider terganggu dan akan akibatkan lebih banyak kemalangan.

Kalau pakcik taknak rasa rugi duit, jangan pi tengok race moto, pi simpan duit menabung buat pi haji.

• Your family member should die and u will know how it feels.

• exJAVANESE on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:13 pm

duit bole dicari pakcik….sume tu dunia pakcik oii….

• Usually a lurker on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:22 pm

I suspect, this is a different Pak Abu from what we usually see here. The usual Pak Abu postings come with an avatar.

I could be wrong though..

• cenge on Oct 24, 2011 at 10:44 pm

Pak Abu Toh…

Orang nak tengok race ko nak tengok race tapi tak paham apa apa pun cuma harapkan ada duit je nak beli tiket tapi perangai mengalahkan orang duduk dalam gua.

• izzat on Oct 25, 2011 at 12:01 pm

Pak Abu, Klu ko jatuh moto..org wt xtaw truskan jalan je..pe ko rasa?..otak mane?..pk duit ko je..aku pn de c2..hormat la ckit..ko nih msti slh sorg yg dok kotorkn track lps dpt taw race cancel kn?..payah ko nih..100 org lg mcm ko..ranap negara~

• confused on Oct 24, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Paul, you better get the Team name correct.

• 99chan on Oct 24, 2011 at 1:43 pm

who would have thought going full speed into a corner and topping at 300+kmh on the straights would end with someone dying?

• RIP Marco Sic….great loss to motogp & motorsports….

• Carl Wong on Oct 24, 2011 at 4:32 pm

Rest in peace. You think your money is more important than the life of the racers (who are humans)??? Can you take the money with you when you eventually go to the ‘other world’? Enough said..

• every sports got their own risk la.. even to the spectator..

• Mulyadir Fitri on Oct 24, 2011 at 7:27 pm

Exactly why I stopped going to MotoGP races at Sepang. The last time I went, some morons got onto the track during The Doctor’s victory lap. You didn’t see this happening when F1 at Sepang got stopped midway in 2009. Although after that the rain cleared, the audience remained disciplined and did not demand the race to be restarted. It’s good that they offer relatively cheap ticket prices for the MotoGP, but with that comes a whole new set of problems.

• donno on Oct 25, 2011 at 7:41 am

The difference is during the F1, the race was posphoned.

On this year’s MotoGP, the race was cancelled outright after 2 laps.

A lot of the spectators didn’t even realise there is an accident as not all of them saw what happened on the wide-screens. Even if they knew, they don’t know how serious the accident was. The if that was told on the PA systems, rather than just keep all of the spectators in the dark, i’m sure things would come out better than what happened.

• tokmoh on Oct 25, 2011 at 7:10 pm

2009 F1 race was stopped. It was red flagged half way as the rain was too heavy. Then they all waited and waited for the rain to subside, but it was too dark to continue, so the race was stopped.

• skiborne on Oct 24, 2011 at 7:40 pm

WHO EVER BLAMES MALAYSIA FOR THIS IS PURELY IDIOT AND HAD GRUDGES WITH MALAYSIA… FULL OF THIS PEOPLE ON YOUTUBE COMMENTS NOW

• Malaysian Boy on Oct 24, 2011 at 8:42 pm

Agree.. Your comment is embarassing.. Poor English.. And since when Ryan is a chinese name??

• Race in Peace marco… :'(

• hahaha things that happen in the motoGP just another proof most of Kaki Motor either a Mat Rempit or Mat Reput just another low life creature with no respect to human being with sickly mentality and attitude…….

• BadBET on Oct 25, 2011 at 9:01 am

people make fuss over marco’s death, but keep quite + didnt give sh*t when our ‘ops sikap’ show 289 deaths…

• Fuyiopo on Oct 25, 2011 at 9:45 am

At least he died from doing something he loved most. R.I.P marco from Canada.

• farizY on Oct 25, 2011 at 10:22 am

I’ve always thought that someday, he’ll win the MotoGP championship…but then this happened…….he will be missed by fans all around the world…thanks Marco for giving us priceless entertainment, we all loved your gutsy riding style…and not to mention your sempoi personality……

• RIP #58. The world has lost a future MotoGP Champion. He has actually had many falls this year itself due to his aggresiveness. It is very unfortunate that his bike turn inwards instead of sliding all the way and that caused the collision with Colin and Valentino.

It has been noted that Marco wears a size bigger helmet to accomondate is bushy hair and this could be the reason why the helmet ripped off. Another speculation is that Vale’s front tire ran over his neck (Tire marks on his neck).

The real reason the race was cancelled was due to the whole Medical team were giving thier 100% to resusitate Marco for almost 45 minutes at that time and it is not possible for them to handle any other crash or incident at that very moment if it happens.

• Metal guru on Oct 25, 2011 at 8:38 pm

Thanks to the gracious and kind people of KL for their welcome and service to this race visitor. Sad the event hurt so many people.

• sean ZX10 on Oct 27, 2011 at 8:33 am

lesson to riders…let go of the bike when the bike crash. Don’t hang on to the bike. It was riding 101…don’t quite understand why simoncelli hanged on to the bike. If he let go of the bike, the bike would be sliding to the side of the track but he mysteriously hanged on which made front tire gripped back and pull the bike across the track smashing into Colin & Rossi. It was a sponsored bike unlike us whose shitting our pants buying our bike. you spent no cents so its fine to let it crash…what a mysterious act.

• Leoquinn on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:35 pm

Good bye Super Sic_REST IN PEACE!!!!!!!!!!!!
    We proud of you!