Honda Malaysia halts CKD plant due to parts shortage

Honda Malaysia has announced that it its Melaka plant production will be halted effective today due to parts shortage caused by the floods in Thailand. Supplies from Honda Automobile (Thailand) Co. Ltd and other major suppliers which supply to Honda Malaysia have been interrupted because of the floods.

“We apologize for the delay of delivery and we appreciate the understanding of our customers. We are doing all we that can within our capacity to recover the production here in Malaysia as soon as possible,” said Mr. Yoichiro Ueno, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Honda Malaysia.

This means there will likely be supply issues with the CKD models, which include the City, Civic and Accord. CBU models such as the Insight, Stream and Freed are not affected, except for the Honda Jazz which is CBU imported from Thailand.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• taboogen on Oct 25, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Hermmm if open factory in
    Thailand – flood
    Indonesia – earthquake
    China – Hard to penetrate if no JV
    Malaysia – They said tax too high
    Singapore – even worst no land to spare

hahahaha

• msbr91 on Oct 25, 2011 at 4:59 pm

haha.. I think Malaysia is the most suitable country but the problem is the stupid tax implied by the goverment.. Hope when the goverment change one day the tax will be reduced..

• drMpower on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:03 pm

china is impossible to penetrate if u go without JV. worst still the copyright thing over there isnt at all convincing. thats why u got one thing front end honda the other end mazda

malaysia is said to be high tax. but it couldnt be that high to prevent them coming here. spare me the politics. please.
      it must be labour cost. its not we have high labour cost. it because places apart from us, others in this region give low cost to them. thats why they go there. politics wise they are no better. so please again, leave out the politics.

• MoFaz on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:27 pm

labour cost is 1 thing, another one, as i mentioned in other post, car makers need volume, but our vehicle market is almost saturated. Malaysia is the 2nd highest vehicle-to-population ratio in Asean after Brunei. According to ” List of countries by vehicles per capita”, in 2008, Malaysia has 334 vehicles / 1000 people which is double than the next highest (Thai). Compare this with vehicle-to-population in;

Thailand: 165/1000
        Indonesia: 77/1000
        Philippines: 33/1000
        Vietnam: 13/1000
        Myanmar: 7/1000

I took a data from MAA, from 2005 up till June 2011, about 3.1 mil cars registered Malaysia. that’s 1 car (of less than 7 years old) per 5 person in working-age population (between 15-64yo).

• drMpower on Oct 25, 2011 at 7:10 pm

so it has very little thing to do with tax.
          i mean of course people see tax incentive is one of the factors for investment, but given a bit high price versus high risk of earthquake or flooding, the choice is obvious i think
          volume of the cars i imagine would be all of asean because it cant be per country anymore. now that asean level free trade is in place, the manufacturers are catering the whole asean volume

now that saturation is near, we should be seeing a 10 year or 20 year car replacement policy?

• haha.. well.. is not really about politics but what i mean is the govermnet policies.. In Malaysia tax is so high.. I just hope that they reduce it.. Just want a better Malaysia..

• MoFaz on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:06 pm

even their home country, Japan is regularly hit by earthquake and recently tsunami too. you won’t get anything if you didn’t invest bcoz you’re too afraid of everything. should people stop working now because of the rumor about the end of the world next year?

• kc8ch on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:09 pm

if rule out mother nature concerns, which one is most nonsense to be true? stop blaming that we are not competitive enough to other asean countries. it is like slapping your own face, and you scream out for pain. never want to learn. :(

• GNNBACCB on Oct 26, 2011 at 10:47 am

Singapore has too much tax for every cars (including pickup trucks).

• honda, toyota no stocks. Only P1 and P2 available. :)

• Leonardo on Oct 25, 2011 at 4:52 pm

If Toyota Malaysia is smart, they will go all out to capitalize on this issue to convert the Honda sales to Toyota sales.

• messi on Oct 25, 2011 at 4:53 pm

When you encountered a new problem, you will become better in future. Life always learn from mistake and short coming.

Thailand will emerge as a winner after this dissaster.

But in Malaysia, we know the problem but keep on doing to be on Power.

There is the different between malaysia and others.

• i dont think floods are something new for thailand, i dont think they have learnt anything from previous floodings, we in fact, learnt a lot, the lesson was it’s important to protect the capital from floods like these and now we have smart tunnel, ever recall any flooding in kl after that?

• catdog on Oct 25, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Setuju. Nyamuk seberang laut nampak, gajah depan mata tak nampak!

• imoloq on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:17 am

How many roads flood last week when it rained every day? Saw many stalled cars stuck in more than half a meter of water.

• Act of God we cannot comment as well planned Japan also cannot win the tsunami big wave recently.

Thailand must not also bully Cambodia on the ancient Preah Vihear temple along their border. Probably, the flood will make Thailand repent and able to respect their poor neighbour too.

• civicEK on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:08 pm

CKD pun mahal lagi haiyaaa honda honda..

• mahal lagi bagi engine SOHC. VTEC pun VTEC tipu. Sebenarnya tak ada VTEC, hanya guna nama VTEC tipu kita orang!

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Thanks to our so-called visionary ex-PM and his rojak car company that is now back to re-badging cars, we have a rojak auto industry that only serves the domestic market. We also have to pay crazy high excise duties when buying foreign brands so that the rojak car company can compete. If we had a choice, we would rather not own any car made by that rojak car company that once ridiculously claimed to be Asia’s BMW. Anyway, the point is…even if the workforce is less educated compared to Malaysia, even if she suffers natural disasters, foreign car brands still prefer to set up shop and invest in Thailand or Indonesia. Why? Maybe we can ask that visionary ex-PM for an explanation. Wait, Malaysia is a victim of an international conspirary, right?

• catdog on Oct 25, 2011 at 10:16 pm

Kita slalu tunjuk salah orang lain, tanpa disedari 3 jari lagi tunjuk ke arah diri sendiri. Kadang2 kita patut kosongkan fikiran, bersyukur atas apa yang ada, mudahan hidup lebih tenang…

• Whatthe on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:28 pm

Koreans now happy. KIA and Hyundai assembled in Malaysia.

• With latest tech engine, 6 speed gearbox, better features, 17 inches sport rims, assemble in M’sia(higher overhead), yet can sell cheaper than those japs crap.

• David Loong on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Taxation is the easiest form to raise .

• November on Oct 25, 2011 at 5:44 pm

still waiting for exora turbo.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 26, 2011 at 2:31 pm

Still waiting for Exora Cam-Tak-Pro turbo? See how much power can churn out by this old engine. Exora almost same size and weigth with Innova, yet 2.0 engine already perceived as under-power! Dream on ……………

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:12 pm

clearly you don’t understand how the turbo in Exora will work. Plus, Innova is 2.0 NA engine with old 4 speed gearbox, while Exora will have CVT.

• Honda keeps making lowsy cars and engines these days:
    Honda might as well halt for good!

• Honda will lost totally the share.. Toyota still got UMW sales.. P1 and P2 earn the share. After flood. P2 sell all MYVI there.. haha. Hondo no cheap low end car to purchase. Honda now quality also bad.. Similar level to P1 and P2 already

• Honda Power on Oct 26, 2011 at 12:52 pm

If you don’t like Honda , just be happy driving your crappy Proton or Perodua!

• Kereta made in Thailand nak jual 90k, now this is the retribution,haha! Padan muka Honda THE POWER OF FLOOD

• Honda no hot selling rubbish car such as avanza, unser, fortuner etc.

• Oh yes I forgot, honda have a bodoh car call Jazz. Stupid people pay >110K where you can get a much higher tech fiesta for some 30K less!

• In Indonesia, Honda Jazz is a cheap car while City is a bodoh car. We need to pay 110K for an Indonesian City but Indonesian Jazz is priced around 70K. Why?

• GNNBACCB on Oct 26, 2011 at 10:46 am

Only a bodohman would gave such commment…

• Honda Power on Oct 26, 2011 at 12:20 pm

The only bodoh one is you! Do you own a Honda? Go and drive your katak puru engine car, you moron! Mana ada i-VTEC tipu? Katak puru tipu adalah! Do research first before you post your stupid comments!

• Honda power, who’s said honda less problem? have you read gen 8 club forum? you can find out the truth behind honda car. maybe you can do some research there, before you posting some comment!!!

• Expatriate VN on Oct 26, 2011 at 2:28 pm

Blame it on squarely NAP – not car manufacturers!

• Unforgiven on Oct 26, 2011 at 12:34 am

If you don’t like the Japs car then just buy your Proton. You should know why we are paying so much for the car. By right we should be getting Altis/Civic 2.0 for RM80k. You should also know where the additional RM50k is going. Unless you really believe the money is going into the right pocket. Just think deeply.

• bobdbilder on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:19 am

No. I really do not know why anybody would pay that amount for a 1.5l CVT car?

If people know the money goes to the wrong pocket why they keep giving? Now that would be idiotic really. There’s a version for 90K and for what? More plastic.

Compare Toyota = UMW/UMNO, Honda = Private. Why Private still more expensive than arskisser? The banks and insurances are the ones that laughing.

In these times, paying so much for a depreciating asset is absurdly digging your own grave.

• Honda Power on Oct 26, 2011 at 12:29 pm

Go and drive Proton or Perodualah!!!!!

• commentar.j on Oct 26, 2011 at 12:55 pm

“..paying so much for a depreciating asset is absurdly digging your own grave.”
        (ntahape2 la statement ko ni)

alahai. yang ko ni pon satu. ko cakap macam la ko tak beli kereta. memang la kalo ko labur duit kat kereta ni takkan langsung ada pulangan, lain la kalo ko bawak kete ko tu pegi bukak kedai kat pasar malam ker, hape ker. cakap skali skala pakai la akal, der.

biar la kalo deme nak pakai kete mahal2 pun, ape ko susah. bukan pakai duit ko pun. takde sebab boleh jadi ‘sial’ la kalo beli kete mahal2 nih. tak paham aku ngan statement ko tu.

• Honda Power on Oct 26, 2011 at 12:25 pm

Those who posted comments saying bad things about Honda cars are the REAL MORONS and BODOH people! If you want to bash Honda, then just go and drive your beloved POTONG and BERUKTUA and sing praises about how ‘good’ these cars are! Jaguh kampung want to compete with world giant! Ha ha ha ha!

• Honda Power on Oct 26, 2011 at 12:28 pm

RSI and Alex, please stop posting baseless and stupid comments about Honda. Why don’t you bash Toyota and Nissan? Are you Potong and Beruktua salesmen? If you don’t like Honda, you can always drive Mercedes or BMW. Tengok you mampu belikah!!!!!!

• Honda Power on Oct 26, 2011 at 12:49 pm

People like RSI and Alex have no sense of sympathy at all. Honda Malaysia halted production because of parts shortage and you are happy. If your house is flooded, will you be happy? This year has not been a good year for Honda. First, it was the Japan tsunami and earthquake and now it’s the floods in Thailand. All these natural disasters have affected Honda’s production. Nobody wants this to happen. Let’s say you own a car assembly factory and it has to be closed because of parts shortage, will you be happy? I am sure you will be devastated and sad. Have a heart for those who are maffected by the floods in Thailand, whether directly and indirectly. Sympathise with them and you will be blessed. I hope both of you can stop posting baseless and senseless comments bashing Honda after you have read my lengthy post here. By the way, I am a proud owner of two reliable and good quality Honda cars.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 26, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Ya, it is good that you a proud owner of 2 reliable and good quality Honda car, unlike some moron blind supporters attack dog proud of collectively own 5 P1 car!

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:59 pm

reliable and good quality? 2yo girl died due to short circuit in Honda’s PW switch! that’s even more terrible than P1’s PW problem.

• Honda Power on Oct 27, 2011 at 12:36 am

Aiyah, that incident was an unfortunate rare case. One in a million kind of thing. The 2 year old girl wasw just unfortunate. Why didn’t you mention about Toyota’s stuck accelerator which had caused death to people? Please be sensible when you post your comments.

• Honda Power: Honda no more performance car already. all pupus!
      So might as well not exist anymore.

• Expatriate VN on Oct 26, 2011 at 2:24 pm

To all those moron think that the risk of flooding, earthquake and tsunami will deter investor to invest in certain geographical locations!

Dream on, these risks is small compare to the mother of all risk for car manufacturing – Bodohland’s NAP termasuk konco-konco vendor cronies and AP Kings ……………………

• MoFaz on Oct 26, 2011 at 9:14 pm

this expat dog never stop barking..

• Honda Power on Oct 27, 2011 at 12:41 am

The one who never stops barking is Mofaz. Ha ha! Always talking nonsense and bashing blindly!

• Ahmed on Oct 26, 2011 at 7:11 pm

I think besides potong and beruktua lol , rest of the brands are ok. Your national car is rip off and poor quality. By the way potong and beruktua are for working class and proud and ego idiots. Mostly. Thanks .

• tec96248 on Oct 27, 2011 at 2:01 pm

beruktua is better than potong in terms of quality, which the sales volume indicated and the consumers preferred. there’s good and bad quality for other brands too. Don’t curse the working class people, because everyone is working unless you are not. after all bosses are working too, hahaha……….

• Why can’t Japanese assemblers out source parts from Malaysian parts manufacturers?

• somewhere, somehow, p1will always survive. Even the mothernature support her. wow!

• Fiction hero on Oct 27, 2011 at 1:07 am

It is time to sell your City and buy new Ford Fiesta.

• Honda Power on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:19 am

It’s time to sell your Potong Sawi and buy mighty Honda City! Wakaka!

• Skunk2 on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:35 am

yeah..honda city is crap..i hate auto tranny..i like fiesta too,but i hope SDAC bring the fiesta 1.6 duratec ti-vct manual..1.4 biase2 je…kalau la ade mountune & milltek performance di malaysia, sure can upgrade the fiesta performance..anyway i still waiting for chevy sonic turbo & proton persona r turbo hatchback…ehem!!

• Hello fellow readers, do you notice why honda is greatly affected by the flood
    this time??

Ans: Because all the important parts, like engine, gearbox and etc are made in THAILAND. Someone still believe the important parts from japan

• Must import CBU for the timebeing

• AkuLerTuh on Oct 30, 2011 at 10:22 am

Hah! stupid komen for “bodoh” statement by low mentality person. this kind of person not belong here! Paultan put comment area for all users is for changing some idea and positive comment. I really dont understand anti-honda mentality still around among us. The company (Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd) in difficult situation now. Honda Malaysia is concern to All the Honda Customer. Its difficult time for them. We should feel sorry for them and maybe can bring some idea what they should do and the next action can be made. I know because everyone of Honda Staff feel the same way. What about workers at Honda Pegoh? When the production stop (maybe few section at factory), what happen to the workers? some of them married with kids to take care of, we should feel sympathy to them, not give such as negative statement. What if this condition happen to you? Think deeply..