Lexus GS F Sport to be unveiled at SEMA in November

Lexus is set to unveil the F Sport version of its new GS sedan at the SEMA show in Las Vegas on November 1. The GS F Sport features bolder exterior design elements than its civilian counterpart, and these include a new front bumper design with larger side grilles, as well as a dedicated mesh design for the upper and lower grilles.

At the rear, the F Sport gets a grey metallic finish to the bumper diffuser, and on the GS 450h F Sport there’s an additional chrome moulding on the bumper’s lower section. The package also includes a rear spoiler and – exclusive to the grade – dark metallic finish 19-inch alloy wheels, wearing staggered width rubbers – 235/40 in front, and 265/35 series at the rear.

As for the interior, it gets matching door and seat upholstery finished in a new Garnet (deep red) shade exclusive to the F Sport. Other features include aluminium trim elements, 16-way adjustable F Sport front seats, a black headliner and pillar finish, dimple perforated leather steering wheel and gear knob covers as well as aluminium pedals and scuff plates with the F Sport logo in black.

Performance-wise, all the GS F Sport models are fitted with larger, 356 x 30 mm ventilated front disc brakes, of which the hat section of the braking system’s two-piece rotor is made of aluminium, to reduce weight as well as suppress heat deformation.

The F Sport also gets a retuned front and rear suspension, supported by Adaptive Variable Suspension to maximise body control and steering response. The front and rear shock absorbers have been modified to optimise AVS damping control, and uses low viscosity oil to improve efficiency by reducing friction. The rear shocks have also been inclined further to the rear, and the lower bushings have been made larger and stiffer.

The AVS features two damper setting controls – Normal and Sport S+, the latter for greater body control and precise responses to steering when cornering. Switching to Sport S+ mode automatically increases the difference between inner and outer shock absorber damping.

At the same time, the Variable Gear Ratio Steering automatically reduces the steering gear ratio by about 10% while the electric power steering increases steering assist torque by about 4%, to sharpen handling and optimise steering feel.

As for drive modes, the car has four – Eco, Normal, Sport S and Sport S+. In Sport S mode, engine speed and throttle response are adjusted to give a more engaging driving experience. Switching to Sport S+ combines the enhanced powertrain output of Sport S with co-ordinated control of the GS’s Vehicle Dynamics Integrated Management system.

The last includes the AVS and EPS plus, where fitted, the Lexus Dynamic Handling system, Variable Gear Ratio Steering (VGRS) and Dynamic Rear Steering (DRS), the trio being seen as standard on the GS 450h F Sport, making it the world’s first hybrid vehicle to feature an integrated four-wheel steering system.

The handling system monitors vehicle speed, steering direction and driver inputs, and calculates the optimum angle for all four wheels. With VGRS at the front and DRS at the rear, the system can independently control front and rear wheel steering angles to greatly improve turn-in response, rear grip, stability and overall agility when cornering.

The DRS monitors vehicle speed and yaw rate, steering angle and speed, and lateral G force to determine the required rear wheel steering input, up to a maximum two degrees – at most speeds below 80 km/h) the front and rear wheels turn in opposite directions, while in certain conditions above that speed, they turn in the same direction.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• amirul on Oct 26, 2011 at 10:59 am

its streering like alza…if i’m not mistaken

• Fiction hero on Oct 26, 2011 at 10:59 am

Still Toyota….ugly as usual…overpriced and low quality

• i’d seriously choose this car over bwm 5 series..
      kalau pakai 5 series pun bwk kat bandar siapa lah nak tengok sangat..
      kalau pakai ni….all eyes on u for sure…

and im not a big fan of performance anyway..
      luxury and comfort is the main point for me…
      so this car over 5 series definitely

just my 2cents

• lover on Oct 28, 2011 at 6:39 pm

“bwm 5 series..” what is this? an audi or what?
        But everytime got tapao by 5 series especially in front of your girl friend is awkward feeling.
        just my 3cents.

• Oh dear..look ugly.. Should improve on the design outlook. Rear look like BMW. Front look like old car. So weird..

• BeemerFreak on Oct 26, 2011 at 1:56 pm

This is true Japanese engineering not some lousy Mazda prank. From concept to production Lexus kept its design. Let’s see whether can Mazda pull off such an act

• kuching on Oct 26, 2011 at 2:24 pm

attention to lexus!! please remove word “sport’ and replace with ‘sedan’ for better understanding.

• kuching on Oct 26, 2011 at 2:26 pm

attention to lexus!! please dont put word “sport’ but to replace by ‘sedan’ for better understanding.

• this is a sports sedan.do u even know what u’re talking?

• kuching on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:29 am

just remove the ‘sport’ from ‘GS F Sport’ as the car not a sport one. u useless. Change it with ‘GS F Sedan’.

• kuching who do u think you are?do Lexus really care about u?lolx

• kuching on Oct 27, 2011 at 9:35 am

i..who do u think u are? just comment on the article, no need to comment on the other people comment. useless

• who do u think you are? hahaha attention to lexus??? please bla bla bla useless Lexus wont care about you useless!

• magic on Oct 28, 2011 at 7:35 am

kuching also dont care about you stupid i. what type of car u r driving? how many car u have? who is lexus without existing and potential customer? Dont worry if they do not care our comment because we also dont care with their products.

• Don’t siaoz sendiri…u ask me what type of car i’m driving?the most stupid question i have ever seen in my life ! tell u now i’m driving a ferrari LOLX u said ‘ we do not care ‘ maybe only u but WE some people still care about the Lexus and bought them!

• Gavin on Oct 26, 2011 at 2:28 pm

This ass was first or sonata’s

• Gajen on Oct 26, 2011 at 5:54 pm

omg..drooling..i wonder if they have the f sport package for the engine like air filter, sway bar etc..the exterior and interior are stunning!

• Jerry on Oct 26, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Lexus is back to form with the new GS. Look at the dash! It’s even better to look at than a 5-er’s. The four-wheel steering system is a revelation.

• heard gsf will use lfa v10, omg plis no!!!

• coolcar on Oct 27, 2011 at 11:28 am

will take lexus anytime than bmw..

• FUYOTA FUES on Oct 28, 2011 at 1:02 am

the lines of the front doesn’t connects the side and doesn’t match the rear!
    the front is FUGLY!!!

• lover on Oct 28, 2011 at 10:09 am

Audi will beat the hell of this lexus..huhuhu.

• GrandSavrify on Oct 03, 2012 at 1:13 am

Impressive design, luxurious interior and gorgeous price